Who Uses This Software?

Project managers, QA managers, business analysts and software testers who need an integrated requirements, test and defect management system to manage the end to end software testing & QA lifecycle.

Average Ratings

99 reviews
  • Overall 4 / 5
  • Ease of Use 4 / 5
  • Customer Service 4.5 / 5
  • Features 3.5 / 5
  • Value for Money 4.5 / 5

Product Details

  • Starting Price US$9.99/month
  • Pricing Details 1 concurrent user, unlimited named users and projects
  • Free Version No
  • Free Trial Yes
  • Deployment Cloud, SaaS, Web
    Installed - Windows
  • Training Webinars
    Documentation
  • Support Business Hours
    Online

Vendor Details

  • Inflectra
  • http://www.inflectra.com
  • Founded 2006

About SpiraTest

SpiraTest is an integrated Requirements and Quality Management solution that manages your project's Requirements, Test Cases, Releases, Defects and Issues in one environment, with complete traceability throughout. After defining your project's requirements, you generate the test cases and test steps that validate the functionality. The test execution modules allows users to run through the tests, logging defects/issues as they go. SpiraTest is Fully Web-Based. Free 30-Day Trial.

SpiraTest Features

  • Hierarchical View
  • Move & Copy
  • Parameterised Testing
  • Requirements-Based Testing
  • Security Testing
  • Supports Parallel Execution
  • Test Script Reviews
  • Unicode Compliance
  • Assignment Management
  • Dashboard
  • Escalation Management
  • Issue Auditing
  • Issue Scheduling
  • Knowledge Base Management
  • Project Management
  • Recurring Issues
  • Task Management
  • Audit Management
  • Complaint Management
  • Compliance Management
  • Corrective and Preventive Actions (CAPA)
  • Defect Tracking
  • Document Control
  • Equipment Management
  • ISO Standards Management
  • Maintenance Management
  • Risk Management
  • Supplier Quality Control
  • Training Management
  • Change Management
  • Collaboration
  • Prioritization
  • Reporting
  • Stakeholder Defined Attributes
  • Status Tracking
  • Task Management

Suggested Products

SpiraTest Most Helpful Reviews

Way better than Excel, Testuff, and other lower price point Test Management tools.

Reviewed on 18/10/2017
Dave F.
Practice Manager
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: Test data management without the risk of irreversible or unaudited changes.
A cloud accessible test management tool for my test team

Pros: The ability to group test cases, the folder hierarchy, test sets and test runs per release. So glad the all tests with tests steps view was added (Table view) Customisable reports are very useful once configured/scripted correctly (although the interface/mechanism is too complex for non-developers/non-technical people. It is far from intuitive)

Cons: Data imported to the Excel template via the Excel add-on should arrive in a format that could be immediately exported back to Spira. This would facilitate faster creation of duplicates with minor amendments, such as copying large tests sets to be rerun in a new release. Reporting. It's difficult to find the report you want without having to run one to see the story it tells. A snapshot of the report with generic data would be handy. Failing/blocking a test should start creating the incident. These should be seamless. Select existing incident should be an option there also. There should be a way to clear results from a step, not just select a different result. There needs to be a X by Y grid matrix of requirements to tests in Reports The Export to Excel option should work for multiple selections The data structure should be made available within the Reporting UI to facilitate customised report writing. A drag and drop UI would be a big improvement, as would a sample view to see the impact of your changes with dummy data without having to run the report The name of the current test should remain on screen while the steps for it are visible. As the last step scrolls off the screen the next test name can then appear.

SpiraTest compares very well to other well known project management applications.

Reviewed on 29/10/2008
Howard C.
Software Quality Assurance Engineer
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money

Comments: SpiraTest compares very well to other well known project management applications.
SpiraTest beats Quality Center in the ability to create different workflows for multiple incident types, and workflow customization is based on a simple interface rather than on VBScript. The ability to link project artifacts together seems much easier and intuitive the Quality Center. Best of all, SpiraTest has a tool to communicate with Quality Center if you need to work in both applications.
SpiraTest also compares well with Pragmatic Software Planner. Information is much more accessible in SpiraTest, and everything actually works. Software Planner loses points for having a more rigid workflow, a non-intuitive interface, and for features that just don't work, like custom reports.

Pros: You can't beat SpiraTest without paying a lot more (and even then you might be disappointed).
- Surprisingly easy set up.
- Fantastic ease of use once you get used to the workflow paradigm (change status, verify newly required fields, then update).
- Traceability: We love how all project components can be linked together.
- Test case management: Create individual steps for each test case, and link steps from one test case to another to prevent step duplication. Create a test run, and send information to your automated testing software. Software testing heaven.
- Workflow management: custom workflows by project or even by incident type. Cusomtization is implemented by interface, not language.
- Support: Inflectra support has been fantastic in helping us migrate data into SpiraTest from our previous system.
- Meets our needs: Our consulting firm needed a one-stop app that would work for multiple long- and short-term projects. We found SpiraTest, we tried it, and we love it.

Cons: Enhancements to current features, rather than new features, seems to be the rule:
- ability to create and administer user groups on a project level instead of only at the application level.
- mass updating of multiple artifacts (change all incidents with this type to that type)
- update workflow transitions by user type instead of altering each transition.
- Workflow takes a little getting used to; transitions must be performed in the following order - 1. Select the desired status, 2. Fill out ALL the newly required fields (check all the tabs), and then 3. Update.
- Custom fields are hidden on their own tab in the lower half of the main pane. It would be nice to have the option to place some custom fields on the main pane.
- Would be nice to be able to hide fields that aren't desired for a certain project.
- Would like the ability to assign certain SysAdmin rights on a project level.
- Would like a few more report cusomization options.

Overall it's good an makes test management and running a lot smoother

Reviewed on 22/6/2017
Hanna D.
Test Manager
Information Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: The history features of test cases are nice. The ability to link requirements to test steps is nice (allthough could be improved as it is lost on clone). The tracking of progress is nice and ability to create incidents from a specific test steps helps a lot. All the different types of reports that are available to generate are also quite nice.

Cons: The lack of branching/versioning of test cases. This is a big con for us and we're hoping that it will be looked at in the future. Another problem is the linking of requirements to test steps, it feels like it's lacking a bit; it should be possible to 1. Clone a test case and keep the requirements on the test steps (currently they're lost) 2. If a requirement is just linked to a test step the result should be possible to link to that, currently if a step not at all related to the requirement fails the requirement will also fail. Also we'd like a report where it's easy to see the traceability and result of test run and requirement, e.g.:
REQ1 PASSED
REQ2 FAILED
Currently it is possible to get the requirement and what Test case it is tested in and then print out all of the test cases to see the results. We'd just like a bit of an easier report/tracking here. If possible it would also be nice to add a comment to FAILED, maybe what test case failed (if it is tested in more than one) and perhaps even incident numbers of some sort.

Vendor Response

by Inflectra on 23/6/2017

Thanks for the positive feedback on SpiraTest, including the ability to link requirements to test steps (most tools limit the link to just test cases). We do plan on adding requirements/test case baselining functionality, we already support test case and requirements versioning and history tracking.
The linking of requirements to test steps and the corresponding reporting was added recently and we shall be enhancing its reporting and tracking in future releases.
You can report a reason when a test case / test step fails (in fact you have to), and we already include built-in defect creation and linking during the test execution process, so we're not sure what the reviewer meant by that part.

Nice Product. Easy to use ,everything can be tracked in one application..that's awesome.

Reviewed on 20/6/2017
Ambrish D.
Manager-Test & Quality
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Its simple and reliable use as compare to industry leaders in this field. Good value for money and excellent support. Also its capabilities to integrate with other tools.

Pros: 1-I love the feature to track the bugs. Its so simpler and the enhanced feature of embedding screenshot makes my job lot easier. 2-The reporting section is also good and the available formats to extract reports make my team as well as dev team more comfortable to understand the generated reports. 3-Enabling us to manage the requirement also plays an important role in putting this ahead of some competitors . Its very easy to track requirements either by release or by test cases. 4-last but not the least. Excellent customer Service.

Cons: As I do not see any major flaw in this but yes something needs to be updated/enhanced to make it more user friendly:
1-Allow to delete User. Currently it only allows to disable the user.
2-Flexibility to add our own status to Requirements.
3- few UI issues in reporting.

We Use it Everyday

Reviewed on 2/12/2016
Hugh S.
Project Manager
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We use SpiraTest daily. We use it as a repository for our requirements and use the workflow to help move them through the review and approval cycle. There are some issues with the workflow that need to be fixed by Inflectra but overall it helps us to be more efficient.
We convert the requirements to test case shells and the test team writes the test cases based on the shell. It makes it very convenient to be able to have the requirements and the requirements tied together. When the test cases get executed SpiraTest helps us see where we are in the test cycle.
Additionally, we use the incident management to track bugs and other issues that arise during the test process.
Overall we like the product. There are some outstanding issues that Inflectra needs to address, but the customer support has always been very responsive and being a small business the price of the package and support has been affordable.

Pros: Affordable and has lots of features.

Cons: Some quality issues. The software is well thought out, but it takes a little bit of time to learn its operation.

Read More Reviews