SpiraTest

SpiraTest

by Inflectra

Who Uses SpiraTest?

Project managers, QA managers, business analysts and software testers who need an integrated requirements, test and defect management system to manage the end to end software testing & QA lifecycle.

What Is SpiraTest?

SpiraTest is an integrated Requirements and Quality Management solution that manages your project's Requirements, Test Cases, Releases, Defects and Issues in one environment, with complete traceability throughout. After defining your project's requirements, you generate the test cases and test steps that validate the functionality. The test execution modules allows users to run through the tests, logging defects/issues as they go. SpiraTest is Fully Web-Based. Free 30-Day Trial.

SpiraTest Details

Inflectra

http://www.inflectra.com

Founded 2006

SpiraTest Pricing Overview

SpiraTest does not have a free version but does offer a free trial. SpiraTest paid version starts at US$33.33/month.

Starting Price

US$33.33/month

Pricing Details

per concurrent user, unlimited named users and projects

Free Version

No

Free Trial

Yes

Deployment

Cloud, SaaS, Web

Installed - Windows

Mobile - iOS Native

Mobile - Android Native

Training

In Person

Live Online

Webinars

Documentation

Support

Business Hours

Online

SpiraTest Features

Automation Testing Tools
Hierarchical View
Move & Copy
Parameterised Testing
Requirements-Based Testing
Security Testing
Supports Parallel Execution
Test Script Reviews
Unicode Compliance
Audit Management
Complaint Management
Compliance Management
Corrective and Preventive Actions (CAPA)
Defect Tracking
Document Control
Equipment Management
ISO Standards Management
Maintenance Management
Risk Management
Supplier Quality Control
Training Management
Change Management
Collaboration
Prioritisation
Reporting
Stakeholder Defined Attributes
Status Tracking
Task Management

SpiraTest Reviews

Showing 5 of 99 reviews

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
3.9/5
Customer Service
4.5/5
Features
3.7/5
Value for Money
4.3/5
Xavier E.
Quality and Test Architect Lead
Government Administration, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 1/2/2019

"You don't need to spend a lot of money in a Test Management Tool - Use SpiraTest"

Pros: Great usability. It has a lot of features, easy to configure and customize. We need to migrate our projects from HP QC/ALM to SpiraTest and it has a great tool to migrate everything (releases, traceability, requirements, test cases, executions, ...). We've tested in some projects and works great.

Cons: It needs only more BI or reporting customization, but I think is enough now for most projects. Some other integrations will be great, like some tools for exploratory or acceptance testing (Microfocus Sprinter, ...).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 1/2/2019
Dave F.
Practice Manager
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/10/2017

"Way better than Excel, Testuff, and other lower price point Test Management tools. "

Comments: Test data management without the risk of irreversible or unaudited changes.
A cloud accessible test management tool for my test team

Pros: The ability to group test cases, the folder hierarchy, test sets and test runs per release. So glad the all tests with tests steps view was added (Table view) Customisable reports are very useful once configured/scripted correctly (although the interface/mechanism is too complex for non-developers/non-technical people. It is far from intuitive)

Cons: Data imported to the Excel template via the Excel add-on should arrive in a format that could be immediately exported back to Spira. This would facilitate faster creation of duplicates with minor amendments, such as copying large tests sets to be rerun in a new release. Reporting. It's difficult to find the report you want without having to run one to see the story it tells. A snapshot of the report with generic data would be handy. Failing/blocking a test should start creating the incident. These should be seamless. Select existing incident should be an option there also. There should be a way to clear results from a step, not just select a different result. There needs to be a X by Y grid matrix of requirements to tests in Reports The Export to Excel option should work for multiple selections The data structure should be made available within the Reporting UI to facilitate customised report writing. A drag and drop UI would be a big improvement, as would a sample view to see the impact of your changes with dummy data without having to run the report The name of the current test should remain on screen while the steps for it are visible. As the last step scrolls off the screen the next test name can then appear.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/10/2017
Begonia B.
Senior Software QA, team lead
Medical Devices, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2/5
  • Ease of Use
    1/5
  • Features & Functionality
    1/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2016

"Love version 4 but we are unable to work with version 5"

Comments: My rating above is for Spiratest version 5. We have used and loved Spiratest for the last three years but we are considering stop using after seeing version 5 features. We upgraded to version 5 months ago and we have to downgrade it because we found it unusable. I was hoping something has gone wrong with the upgrade and we started a trial version hosted by Inflecta so we could create a brand new project and work with any problems and issues with tech support. It turns out the original upgrade was working fine and what we thought were bugs turned out to be features. We can't work with projects that force our test cases to be ordered alphabetically. To upgrade to version 5 will cause us to spend a lot of time creating custom fields and assigning numbers so we can see the test cases in the order we like. In addition, we will need to write code so we can have a report that doesn't list the test cases in alphabetical order. It doesn't make sense to us to spend time and resources trying to make the new version work like the previous version. I am not opposed to software changes and I am always happy to see improvements in new versions but this is a showstopper for us. We are in the process of deciding whether we need to keep to paying our annual fee if we are not going to continue upgrading the software. Sorry, we loved your software but you lost us here.

Pros: The colors

Cons: See my previous comments

Vendor Response

by Inflectra on 14/12/2016

Hi Begonia

Sorry that you didn't like the changes in v5.0. Unfortunately for every user that liked the way the old folders and test cases worked, a much larger number really didn't like them and found them cumbersome and confusing. That's why we did the redesign in v5.0 and most of our users are much happier. But as the old saying goes, you cannot please everyone!
If you really need it to work the old way, then probably staying on v4.0 makes the most sense.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2016
Howard C.
Software Quality Assurance Engineer
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2008

"SpiraTest compares very well to other well known project management applications."

Comments: SpiraTest compares very well to other well known project management applications.
SpiraTest beats Quality Center in the ability to create different workflows for multiple incident types, and workflow customization is based on a simple interface rather than on VBScript. The ability to link project artifacts together seems much easier and intuitive the Quality Center. Best of all, SpiraTest has a tool to communicate with Quality Center if you need to work in both applications.
SpiraTest also compares well with Pragmatic Software Planner. Information is much more accessible in SpiraTest, and everything actually works. Software Planner loses points for having a more rigid workflow, a non-intuitive interface, and for features that just don't work, like custom reports.

Pros: You can't beat SpiraTest without paying a lot more (and even then you might be disappointed).
- Surprisingly easy set up.
- Fantastic ease of use once you get used to the workflow paradigm (change status, verify newly required fields, then update).
- Traceability: We love how all project components can be linked together.
- Test case management: Create individual steps for each test case, and link steps from one test case to another to prevent step duplication. Create a test run, and send information to your automated testing software. Software testing heaven.
- Workflow management: custom workflows by project or even by incident type. Cusomtization is implemented by interface, not language.
- Support: Inflectra support has been fantastic in helping us migrate data into SpiraTest from our previous system.
- Meets our needs: Our consulting firm needed a one-stop app that would work for multiple long- and short-term projects. We found SpiraTest, we tried it, and we love it.

Cons: Enhancements to current features, rather than new features, seems to be the rule:
- ability to create and administer user groups on a project level instead of only at the application level.
- mass updating of multiple artifacts (change all incidents with this type to that type)
- update workflow transitions by user type instead of altering each transition.
- Workflow takes a little getting used to; transitions must be performed in the following order - 1. Select the desired status, 2. Fill out ALL the newly required fields (check all the tabs), and then 3. Update.
- Custom fields are hidden on their own tab in the lower half of the main pane. It would be nice to have the option to place some custom fields on the main pane.
- Would be nice to be able to hide fields that aren't desired for a certain project.
- Would like the ability to assign certain SysAdmin rights on a project level.
- Would like a few more report cusomization options.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2008
Hanna D.
Test Manager
Information Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/6/2017

"Overall it's good an makes test management and running a lot smoother"

Pros: The history features of test cases are nice. The ability to link requirements to test steps is nice (allthough could be improved as it is lost on clone). The tracking of progress is nice and ability to create incidents from a specific test steps helps a lot. All the different types of reports that are available to generate are also quite nice.

Cons: The lack of branching/versioning of test cases. This is a big con for us and we're hoping that it will be looked at in the future. Another problem is the linking of requirements to test steps, it feels like it's lacking a bit; it should be possible to 1. Clone a test case and keep the requirements on the test steps (currently they're lost) 2. If a requirement is just linked to a test step the result should be possible to link to that, currently if a step not at all related to the requirement fails the requirement will also fail. Also we'd like a report where it's easy to see the traceability and result of test run and requirement, e.g.:
REQ1 PASSED
REQ2 FAILED
Currently it is possible to get the requirement and what Test case it is tested in and then print out all of the test cases to see the results. We'd just like a bit of an easier report/tracking here. If possible it would also be nice to add a comment to FAILED, maybe what test case failed (if it is tested in more than one) and perhaps even incident numbers of some sort.

Vendor Response

by Inflectra on 23/6/2017

Thanks for the positive feedback on SpiraTest, including the ability to link requirements to test steps (most tools limit the link to just test cases). We do plan on adding requirements/test case baselining functionality, we already support test case and requirements versioning and history tracking.
The linking of requirements to test steps and the corresponding reporting was added recently and we shall be enhancing its reporting and tracking in future releases.
You can report a reason when a test case / test step fails (in fact you have to), and we already include built-in defect creation and linking during the test execution process, so we're not sure what the reviewer meant by that part.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/6/2017