Who Uses Paymo?

Small and medium project-based businesses (Advertising and Marketing Agencies, Web Development and Design Agencies, Non-Profits, Architecture firms, Law firms, Universities, Virtual Assistants etc.).

What Is Paymo?

Paymo is a modern and intuitive work management solution for small businesses and reamote teams that bundles advanced task management, planning, scheduling, time tracking, collaboration, and invoicing. This means that you can keep track of the entire lifetime of a project - from creation until getting paid - without having to use and pay for several apps.

Paymo Details

Paymo

http://www.paymoapp.com

Founded 2008

Paymo Pricing Overview

Paymo has a free version and offers a free trial. Paymo paid version starts at US$9.56/month.

Paymo video
Play
-thumb
-thumb
-thumb
-thumb
-thumb

Starting Price

US$9.56/month
See pricing details

Pricing Details

Free for Schools, Universities and Colleges. Free version for 1 user.

Free Version

Yes

Free Trial

Deployment

Installed - Mac

Cloud, SaaS, Web

Installed - Windows

Mobile - iOS Native

Mobile - Android Native

Training

Live Online

Documentation

Support

Business Hours

Online

Paymo Features

  • Agile Methodologies
  • Budget Management
  • Client Portal
  • Collaboration Tools
  • Cost-to-Completion Tracking
  • Customisable Templates
  • Gantt Charts
  • Idea Management
  • Kanban Board
  • Milestone Tracking
  • Portfolio Management
  • Resource Management
  • Time & Expense Tracking
  • Traditional Methodologies

View full list of Project Management Software

  • Collaboration
  • Electronic Signature
  • Employee Activity Monitoring
  • Live Chat
  • Meeting Management
  • Remote Access
  • Remote Support
  • Softphone
  • Task Management
  • Time Zone Tracking
  • Video Chat
  • Web Conferencing

View full list of Remote Work Software

Paymo Alternatives

More Paymo alternatives

Paymo Reviews

Showing 5 of 399 reviews

Overall
4.7/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Service
4.7/5
Features
4.5/5
Value for Money
4.6/5
Krystle chanel K.
Owner
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/6/2020

"I finally found the one!"

Comments: It is important to note that Paymo isn't idle in enhancing its software. Not only that, but new features are thoughtful and integrated seamlessly with the tool. I appreciate this because I have used other software that seem to have their priorities mixed up when releasing enhancements; adding things that don't move the needle ahead of things that do.

Pros: After years of using project management software for both myself and companies I've worked for, I found the right tool for the job for my personal, small business as a marketing coach and online entrepreneur. Until I build a team, I'm using Paymo for myself, and other tools are not always price-sensitive for a solo user. I appreciate that Paymo provides an option to pay for one user until I'm ready to grow. A particular feature I was looking for was the option to view all projects on a single Kanban board. In the rare case that I found this option, it was a significant upgrade to acquire. But Paymo offers this and it's super easy to use! Other features I love:
- Time-tracking/timesheet: Visual representation of where my time goes. I use the in-app timer every day.
- Flexible viewing options: I can easily switch between list, table, board, and Gantt views, with easy to use filters that allow me to see exactly what I want. No custom reports or views need created - which can be time-consuming and inflexible (enterprise tools).
- Note: The user experience of the Gantt chart was also what I was looking for. It is drag and drop and allows you to adjust your timeline from within the view.
There's so much to love about Paymo! And that is saying a lot coming from someone who has researched and used as many tools as I have - including enterprise solution, Workfront. Paymo is definitely worth giving a try!

Cons: I wish there was a way to invite collaborators/reviewers like there is in Asana. If I want a coaching client to be able to collaborate, there is no way to do this without paying for another user.
This is superficial, but, the name! When I tell people about Paymo, they immediately think it's a financial tool, not a project management tool, based on the name. I would hate for this to hold Paymo back in the market.

Vendor Response

by Paymo on 30/6/2020

You sure did your researh, Krystle, thank you for the review :)

Actually, we're working on an improved client portal with in-app access to guest users, so they can collaborate with you on the same page. This is our #1 priority atm, so stay tuned!

As for our name, this goes back more than 10 years when we started out as a time tracking and billing tool. The purpose was to use the app and GET PAID MORE, hence Paymo :)

Hope this helps, thank you again!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/6/2020
Jelena J.
Founder
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 1/7/2020

"My time and sanity saver!"

Comments: I've increased my productivity with Paymo's Kanban board view, combined with Table view, and saved TONS of hours on admin, invoicing, timesheets, client and project management. Just this time saving alone pays off the monthly subscription. Sanity and nerves saving is the bonus! :) Why? Because Paymo helped me maintain good client relationships, timesheet transparency and great records&data representation for a client. So when a client comes up with a random question about a specific task, Paymo's records make finding (and presenting) a specific information or record so much easier, transparent and more reliable.

Pros: Paymo has been a lifesaver in many business management areas: project management, client management, time tracking, accounting. With built-in budgeting, time tracking, expense tracking, estimate calculations, professional invoicing and getting paid online (and on time!), different project 'views' (list, table, board for kanban, gantt), extensive filters, dashboard and insights, resource scheduling, live time reports, client portal - and all that in one app - it's a sanity saver! One of the things I also personally quite appreciate is the professional and clean look of the invoices (and how easy it is for clients to pay them online). With a click of a button, you can add the unbilled time/fees for a specific time period and/or projects to an invoice. Paymo does all that heavy admin stuff for you and it has saved me a lot of time! Cherry on the top: all invoice items are presented so neatly and professionally, so that my clients can see exactly everything I've worked on for them and what I'm billing them for, as well as how much time is tracked for each project and task. And Payoneer, in addition to PayPal/Stripe/Authorize.Net payment gateways is a big plus! It's brilliant. The moment I first tried it, I could immediately feel that Paymo is the tool designed for actual freelancers in mind, whether you work on a project basis, or a pay-as-you-go basis. It's not complex, and all the features it has are just *right*. Exactly what I need. And it's getting even better!

Cons: I wish the app was just a little bit faster, but I read somewhere that they already have this improvement on their roadmap. Still, if you ask me, it's totally worth the wait for every new feature and improvement their team is cooking for us :)

Vendor Response

by Paymo on 10/7/2020

Thank you, Jelena <3

Speed improvements are already something that we're addressing. Stay tuned for more goodies such as a task calendar view, improved mobile app with team collaboration features and guest access.

Cheers,
Marcel

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 1/7/2020
Jovana V.
Director
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/8/2020

"Pay-me-More with Paymo"

Comments: Though I still use other apps to track status of my projects, Paymo is irreplaceable for invoicing and time-tracking -- and most importantly these two functions are tied, so you are constantly reminded that time is ticking. It's simple and neat, and it takes little time to get familiar with the basics.

Pros: My two favorite features are invoicing and timer. Invoicing is neat, the design is simple and clean and your clients will like it. As for timer, it's dominating your screen, so it saves me from distractions of all kinds. Overall, what I like the best about this software is the blend of simplicity and feature-rich functionality.

Cons: Perhaps, the pricing can be more sensitive to freelancers, or adding a layer with less feature but more affordable. But nothing else, really.

Vendor Response

by Paymo on 14/8/2020

"Pay-me-More" is actually close to "get paid more", where the acronym comes from - thank you Jovana :)

Just to be sure, if you're an NGO, you can benefit from a 50% discount. Just write us at [email protected] and send us a proof of your NGO status.

Other than this, be sure to check our other time tracking tools as well: https://www.paymoapp.com/time-tracking/

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/8/2020
Cameron N.
Founder
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    2/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    1/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    1/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/1/2020

"Monopolize you cause you can't export ANYTHING easily"

Comments: Would NOT recommend it to anyone who has even the slightest of "outside the box" process for projects or billing/invoices.

Pros: Yet another system that after several months of use only did what we needed it too at 75% of the way, then AFTER buying into the "huge discount" and special they had going, did I find out they do not allow refunds at all! If you put ANY data into the system and ever need to export it for any reasons ...find a data entry person and hope you didn't enter a lot of information because unless you are a developer that can setup custom API's...your info is stuck in their system!
You can enter clients, companies, etc. and change view to "Table" and see it in table mode, but that view still only gives you the general company information, NOT the contacts for that company and that is 1 of 2, yes that is right 2 places in the entire system of everything you may have entered where you can download/export that view into Excel/CSV file....everything else is PDF if you are lucky!!
If you are a VERY small, VERY basic bookkeeping/accounting freelancer (NO TEAM, just you and very basic billing) - fine, it may work...but if you have more than 1 person in your team other than you, have different rates or even the SLIGHTEST out of the norm billing or cycles...GOOD LUCK!!! I am furious with this system after being told what it could do and I explained in detail, and "oh yeah, that is not a problem at all"...only to find out, everything I explained about what we needed, went in one ear and out the other just to make the sale...now I have a barely usable system and wasted $$$$!!

Cons: Can't export anything unless you have a developer standing bye.
System is very "inside the box" thinking even after being told it would easily do what I had explained that I needed it to do
support seems to take longer than usual and they are quick to respond with an answer that has NOTHING to do with what you originally asked (bots maybe?!?!)
Can't get a refund, no matter how many lies they told you to make the sale in the first place!!!

Vendor Response

by Paymo on 28/1/2020

Hi Cameron,

Sorry to see you disappointed. Our goal is to help you improve the way you work, not to sell you on something.

Indeed, you can export client, project, user lists, as well as time reports in csv format - invoices and Gantt Charts are available in PDF only.

However, due to the fact that there's no standardised data structure for project management data, the only practical way to export it is via our API.

And no, we're no bots, and don't force anyones hand to make a sale.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/1/2020
Neal B.
King of All Cosmos
Graphic Design, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/6/2020

"Paymo has grown, evolved, and expanded alongside of the needs of our business."

Comments: Seriously, everything! I mentioned time tracking earlier but Paymo also does project management, client management, invoicing, estimation, Zapier integration, scheduling, team tasking...and the list goes on and on.

Pros: Time tracking is seamlessly integrated into our current designer workflow. This allows us to calculate the actual time spent on the job so clients understand where their money is being spent. It also allows us to identify where we need to increase project costs (9/10 times it's with 'customer correspondence').

Cons: We've been with Paymo for over 10 years so it was a bit of a kick when they started charging for functionality like Gant Charts. We've always loved the complete 'soup-to-nuts' service that Paymo offered so when certain items were put behind another paywall it definitely stung a bit. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Vendor Response

by Paymo on 25/6/2020

Loved the "(9/10 times it's with customer correspondence)" part, Neal :)

Besides Gantt Charts, the Business plan also comes with a Team Scheduling module, 100 GB of storage, and priority support.

We found this plan to be more appealing to larger teams, that's why we've decided to include it in a separate plan.

What specifically do you need from Gantt Charts, the ability to set dependencies or see task deadlines on a calendar?

If it's the latter one, then I have some good news: we're going to launch a task calendar view in the near future, so stay tuned!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/6/2020