Bloomerang

Who Uses Bloomerang?

Nonprofit organizations who focus on individual fundraising.

What Is Bloomerang?

We have pooled together the latest in best practices for donor engagement and retention to create a simple, cloud-based donor management solution that helps nonprofits decrease donor attrition and increase revenue.

Plugging in the latest technologies and delivering them with a clean, modern interface, Bloomerang will be the first donor database you'll actually love to use!

Bloomerang Details

Bloomerang

https://bloomerang.co

Founded 2012

Bloomerang Pricing Overview

Bloomerang has a free version and does not offer a free trial. Bloomerang paid version starts at US$19.00/month.

Bloomerang video
Play
-thumb
-thumb
-thumb
-thumb
-thumb

Starting Price

US$19.00/month

Free Version

Yes

Free Trial

No

Deployment

Cloud, SaaS, Web

Mobile - iOS Native

Training

In Person

Live Online

Webinars

Documentation

Support

Business Hours

Online

Bloomerang Features

  • Accounting
  • Committee Management
  • Donor Management
  • Dues Management
  • Event Management
  • Fundraising Management
  • Member Database
  • Membership Management
  • Social Media Management
  • Volunteer Management

View full list of Charity Software

  • Campaign Management
  • Donation Tracking
  • Donor Management
  • Event Management
  • Gift Matching Management
  • Mobile Giving
  • Online Giving
  • Payment Processing
  • Pledge Management
  • Receipt Management
  • Recurring Giving

View full list of Donation Management Software

  • Alumni Management
  • Auction Management
  • CRM
  • Campaign Management
  • Contribution Tracking
  • Donor Discovery
  • Donor Management
  • Event Management
  • Gift Matching Management
  • Grant Management
  • Membership Management
  • Mobile Giving
  • Payment Processing
  • Pledge Management
  • Recurring Giving
  • Volunteer Management

View full list of Fundraising Software

Bloomerang Alternatives

More Bloomerang alternatives

Bloomerang Reviews

Showing 5 of 603 reviews

Overall
4.7/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Service
4.8/5
Features
4.3/5
Value for Money
4.6/5
Jeff M.
Director of Mission Advancement
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2019

"Excellent for Most Non-Profits"

Comments: At a prior non-profit, I switched them from Raiser's Edge (desktop) to Bloomerang. I gained a ton of features and saved quite a bit. The conversion was painless. I've only had to contact support a few times and they have always been extremely helpful.
In my current role, I set them up with Bloomerang as their first database.
I have also recommended it on multiple occasions.

Pros: Bloomerang is intuitive and easy to use.
Creating and reporting with custom field has never been easier and really allows you to customize it to your needs rather than using a standard field for something else.
The ability to create embedded forms is a lifesaver.
The integrated email capabilities save me from having to purchase another solution like Constant Contact. Plus, these interactions are automatically recorded in the donor/prospects data file.
The integrated DonorSearch option is convenient, useful and cost-effective.

Cons: If my organization ran a ton of events, I'm not sure this would be my optimal solution.
Currently, there is only one level of access - so I can't let a Board Member in to look around because any accidental changes they make would be permanent. I know that Bloomerang is working on this though.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2019
Autumn Z.
Director of Marketing
Medical Practice, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/9/2020

"Recommending bloomerang for Nonprofit Donor Management"

Comments: We particularly like that we can easily manage all transactions and interactions seamlessly through integration with Outlook and sending emails, letters, etc. directly out of the system.

Pros: In the time that we have used bloomerang, we have appreciated a number of things about the software. The interface is extremely user friendly, we see regular product updates, there has been excellent customer service and communication, and the customer support through the chat interface is absolutely fantastic. Data has been easy to manage, reports are easy and reliable, and the ability to send beautiful emails, integrate with our website, and manage campaigns through the system is a real game changer for our organization. They worked hard with us to implement integration and onboarding in a reasonable time frame as well.

Cons: Occasionally, I will run into a more advanced feature that I'd like the system to do, but it's a rare occurrence. The one thing that I really wish bloomerang had was a more robust event ticketing function. The current interface doesn't do everything we would want to do, such as discount codes, and there are generally too many limitations to be able to use bloomerang for event ticketing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/9/2020
Fernette E.
Owner
Civic & Social Organization
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    1/5
  • Ease of Use
    1.5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    1/5
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/3/2016

"Limited Options and Poor Customer Support"

Pros: We sought this vendor because of its simple platform and reduced cost.

Cons: There are so many negative experiences, it's hard to identify what I liked least. 1. Revolving door customer support. Sales was very attentive, but after we purchased, we had difficulty getting ahold of our customer support. At one point she said she only worked 2 days a week, and then she called from a noisy street. Customer support didn't know about integrations with other products or setting the platform for automation, so it took weeks to allow her to put me in contact with engineering. He answered in a helpful email that took 5 minutes. Constant Contact support is much better than this - it doesn't matter to me who I get on the phone if they are knowledgeable and nice. Other platforms definitely have their support personnel better trained to answer questions. 2. Inadequate documentation for support - Videos, no Texts. As is common I think for startup companies, Bloomerang filmed short videos, but neglected proper text documentation. Our donation director would watch videos, then have trouble finding appropriate parts if she had any questions. Good tutorial documentation has text (that can be searched) and also screenshots to help people know what to do. 3. Poor default donation forms - the donation forms were ugly and not what someone would expect for a donation software. We had to go with MailChimp anyway and so there was the added cost. Bloomerang is definitely not a good option for emailing your list (others have mentioned). 4. Poor search of the donation database. If you wanted to select a list by a certain demographic - like donors of a certain amount or from a different state and some other feature and then email them, then Bloomerang couldn't do it. Although they will take some customization of the donor entry, we often found that adding different client details couldn't be searched. What is the point of adding more details if you can't find them later? We had used another platform with better search capabilities. 5. They do not search for duplicates or common typographical errors. As a result, you may be charged for a much higher number of people that are not truly in your database. Other mail lists like Constant Contact search for duplicates and also make corrections in email addresses (like a missed period between gmail and com). Nothing like that in Bloomerang. 6. They do not stand by their product. There is no customer satisfaction guarantee. Although we stated a desire to cancel the product entirely after the first year and asked the rep not to process our direct deposit, she did it anyway. Bloomerang told me that their policy is not to refund any money even though we will not be using their product at all. I was not contesting the 1 year that we already paid into, what I didn't want to do was pay for the future year because we would not use it because it had so many missing needs. Just using an integration with Mail Chimp would serve us better than Bloomerang. The communication piece with Bloomerang is extremely weak.

Vendor Response

by Steven on 28/3/2016

Hello, Software Advice community! I'd like to address you, the reader of this review, directly rather than the author, whose review is largely punitive rather than constructive. Bloomerang absolutely stands by its product, which is why we did not allow this customer to break their signed agreement. We did, however, offer to pay for their third year in full.

You can see from the feedback on this site that a vast majority of our customers (whom this reviewer condescends) are satisfied.

I'd like to address individually some of the more dubious claims found in this review:

"Revolving door customer support."

Our support team currently consists of seven, US-based internal staff members. Their schedules are as follows (all times are eastern):

Jason: 9am-6pm M-F
James: 9am-6pm M-F
Diana: 830am-530pm M-F
Kristen: 830am-530pm M-F
Daniel: 11am-8pm M-F
Ron: 9am-3pm (3-5pm in another department) MTRF
Susie: 11am-4pm T-F

Our last turnover in the department was voluntary and occurred in June of 2014.

Furthermore, our phone system routes support calls to a dedicated phone on each of our reps's desk. They do not give our their cell phone numbers to customers and do not take calls after hours. Calling from "a noisy street" would have been impossible.

Lastly, our support reps are incredibly knowledgeable, not just in the Bloomerang product but in the nonprofit sector overall. For example, Ron has been working with nonprofits since 1987 when he became Executive Director of the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame. Kristen holds an MPA in Nonprofit Management from Indiana University.

"Inadequate documentation for support - Videos, no Texts."

This is simply untrue. Our knowledgebase is filled with text-based documentation, including screenshots and videos. Anyone wishing to see for themselves can visit https://bloomerang.freshdesk.com/support/home and log on with the username: "demo.wayne" and the password "grace123".

As for the rest, I invite anyone interested in Bloomerang to learn all that they can about the product's functionality by reaching out to customers who have left constructive reviews here. Transparency is one of our core values, and anyone wishing to discuss this review further - or any of our business practices - can reach out to me or our CEO, Jay Love, anytime day or night. Contact info is readily accessible on our website.

-- Steven Shattuck, VP of Marketing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/3/2016
Michelle P.
Executive Director
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/9/2020

"Bloomerang has everything we need."

Comments: Bloomerang has changed how we keep track of almost everything and put it all into one place. We are very pleased with it, and we are still learning more good things.

Pros: Bloomerang has amazing customer service. As a small non-profit selecting our first DMS, we reviewed many and then took the plunge and signed up for Bloomerang. Our chats and emails asking for help always receive prompt responses from knowledgeable people. There is no substitute for that level of assistance. We also love the ability to customize our data and all of the other things that can be done with Bloomerang. We have left behind our old systems for keeping track of donations, volunteers, trainings, newsletters, and more!

Cons: We are getting better at creating reports that show what we want to track, but this is an area that feels a little convoluted, probably due to my lack of experience. I have received excellent help from Customer Service to get what I need, though. I have a feeling that the large number of steps it sometimes takes to create a report is necessary and can't be changed. I would also like a smoother way to keep track of people who sign up for a free class, and then to track who actually attends the class.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/9/2020
Amanda S.
Associate Director for Philanthropy
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/8/2020

"The reporting is Amazing"

Comments: I've had a great experience and I am really enjoying this CRM more and more as it integrates with so many third party apps.

Pros: The reporting feature is by far one of the best parts of this software. I can segment donors, analyze year over year data, and run fundraising to date reports with such ease. There is no need to export data and run analytics in excel when this software does it all for you. I am also a big fan of the bcc feature that allows me to append emails to donors directly to their constituent files.

Cons: As an arts and culture nonprofit, we have a membership component to our fundraising structure. I feel that bloomerang's ability to really provide for a membership program is weak. We've made it work with some custom fields but it's not ideal.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/8/2020