Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4.3/5
  • Customer Service
    4.5/5

About Unanet

Software for professional services firms to help manage their projects, people and financials in one integrated system

Learn more about Unanet

Showing 51 reviews

Lynn W.
Director of Business Resources
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/4/2018

"Became a Unanet user in 2015, and am still loving it as a total project based accounting solution!"

Comments: Unanet's ease of use and flexibility has allowed me to be much more productive and timely in delivering reports, processing monthly billings, accounting reviews, month end close, and many more activities!

Pros: Unanet is extremely user friendly! My favorite aspect is the ability to review project performance data in real-time. This functionality makes it easy to provide our customers with data they need to determine project funding, spend plans, run-out dates, and so much more. In my career, I have used several project accounting systems, and Unanet outshines them all in terms of ease-of-use, flexibility, and customer support!

Cons: My one drawback is the absence of purchasing functionality, however, since Unanet is rolling that out soon, I really will not have any "cons" to speak of!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/4/2018
Cathryn C.
Associate Director, Operations
Information Technology & Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2019

"Good product for Government Contractors"

Comments: Timesheet and Expense functions are excellent to use. With the implementation of invoicing, we are able to generate invoices faster and eliminate many possible human errors working with spreadsheets previously. Using an automated system definitely helped us passing a recent Government accounting system audit.

Pros: We utilize Unanet timesheet, expenses and invoicing functions. These functions are very helpful in streamlining our business processes and provide required/validated controls as a Government contractor. There are also many resources available to support users, such as Knowledge Centers, Help files, frequent webinars, Unanet University, etc.

Cons: After using the software for four years (including recent two also on invoicing), I still couldn't troubleshoot certain issues myself and sometimes unsure of certain data flows. Hopefully my confidence grows as I continue using the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2019
Frank B.
CEO
Defense & Space, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/10/2019

"Very Poor SW Update Test and Verifcation Before Release"

Pros: Product is fine as long until an update is release

Cons: Can not trust an update will "work" without extensive problems and loss of past functionality. It recent "update" timeslip functions that a junior SW tester should have determined didn't work (resulting in a quick update) were not found prior to release. MAJOR issue is that Government Cost Plus reports and invoice function DOES NOT WORK. After a week of "so called customer service" - No answer other than it is being worked..... Blogs indicate that multiple users are having similar issues. How can a basic function not be verified before release?!?!?!?

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/10/2019
Kathleen K.
Staff Accountant
Government Administration, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2019

"Great Software"

Pros: Unanet is very user friendly and on the off chance you can't figure something out their support team is right there to help you and in a timely manner. Unanet allows you to attach documents to everything so we no longer need to keep track of things in different places. You can attach award and mod docs to the contracts, bank statements to reconciliations, checks and invoices to AP Vouchers and AP Payments. It's a great way for everyone to have access to the things they need.

Cons: Some of the updates they add change the information for my custom reports and you need to make adjustments to get the same information after the update is live. However the system exports a template so you can make the changes easily without having to recreate the whole report.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2019
Ed H.
President
Defense & Space, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/7/2017

"Essential capability for government contractors. Unanet has been key to our success."

Pros: Integration. Unanet combines time/expense, project management, billing, and financials all in one system. No import/export of data between systems. When an employee logs time or expenses, the cost automatically rolls into your billing, accounting, and project management functions. DCAA Compliance. Calculates indirect rates and applies to billing. Enforces DCAA timesheet rules and JTR travel rules. Using this software enabled us to consistently get invoices approved by DCAA in less than 5 days, and got our incurred cost proposal accepted without an audit as "low risk." Report and Invoice Formats. Very customizable in all aspects. I'm told they are much more flexible than competing systems. Two months after we implemented Unanet, we received our first CPFF contract as a small business. If we did not have Unanet, we would have hired at least one more overhead person, and probably several more. Unanet has been a key factor in our business success.

Cons: Learning Curve. With power comes complexity. Unanet is no exception. Rollout was difficult, and there were a lot of setup decisions to be made without a full understanding of the functionality implications. We got the budget version of rollout services; I don't recommend that. Flexibility. Unanet can be too customizable at times. Sometimes I wished they would just say "here is the way to do this" instead of giving so many choices for how to implement some functions. Accounts Payable. Less than fully developed Vendor Invoice reporting, especially lack of ability to link to projects at invoice level. Costs incurred via invoice also do not appear in T&E reports, and now way to budget and control vendor costs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/7/2017
Ruth B.
HR Manager
Professional Training & Coaching, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2019

"Unanet Solves Many Requirements"

Pros: I like the ease of entering hours worked as well as paid time off.
It is easy to view accrued paid leave time making it a simple solution for planning.

Cons: There seems to be a disconnect within certain sections.
1. If a new pay rate is entered and saved in error, it has never allowed the option to delete the error and revert to the original entry.
2. The designation on the People – Profile - Hire Date is misleading. It should be titled Paid Leave Accrual start date since that is what its function is. Our company starts accruals for new hires effective the first day of the pay period they are hired in.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2019
Verified Reviewer
Human Resources Director
Defense & Space, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2019

"Highly Recommend Unanet"

Pros: I love the real time data you receive from Unanet. When a time sheet is updated, you automatically see the data within your project reports, etc. This allows for managers to view the most up to date data on hours and funding. This also allows for faster completion of time sheets which leads to quicker billing times.

Cons: The learning curve. There was a learning curve coming from another product but we were all able to quickly pick up the system and begin using it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2019
Verified Reviewer
Project Controls Analyst
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2019

"Solid Accounting and Project Control Software"

Comments: Good experience with project budget management, project reporting, corporate accounting, invoicing, accounts payable, time keeping, expense reporting. The integration of all these functionalities has sped up invoicing, reducing days sales outstanding, reduced costs in terms of project budget overruns, and generally made the finance teams’ lives easier.

Pros: Unanet is very intuitive relative to other ERP/project control/accounting software solutions that I have used in the past. It is very easy to navigate to the information you are looking for, and Unanet is robust enough to display it in just about any configuration. It integrates all the most common business functions seamlessly (accounting, invoicing, project reporting, timekeeping, expense reports, etc.), and has greatly expedited our workflows.

Cons: Although Unanet has very robust reporting capabilities, it only gets you part of the way to the goal when it comes to reports and summarization. Most reports are simply a wall of numbers of revenue/cost line item by reporting period, and it takes time to digest that information and/or translate it into a format that works well for presentation to non-financial employees or leadership.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2019
Jacob D.
Vice President, Operations
Management Consulting, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2019

"Excellent Tool for Project Time Tracking"

Comments: Unanet has allowed us to better manage our projects through time tracking. We have been able to better understand how our staff is spending their time.

Pros: Unanet is a great tool to track project-specific time. Very easy to assign staff to projects and establish time budgets.

Cons: The reporting module is a little clumsy. Some options are not intuitive but you can usually solve the issue using the extensive help module.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2019
Suzanne A.
Associate Director, Operations and Administration
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2019

"Unanet is easy to work with"

Comments: I like using Unanet. It's fairly easy to learn to use the interface, but there are some items that should be reviewed by developers. Sometimes customizations or changes that need to be made are difficult to figure out on your own without calling customer service because the places to make these changes aren't intuitive to find for an average admin user.

Pros: It's easy to customize and setup new users.

Cons: Interface is generally easy to use, but there are quite a few parts that are not intuitive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2019
Arturo B.
Sr. Financial Analyst
Government Administration, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/7/2017

"A great innovative product that is much more than your average project accounting system"

Pros: Unanet is a true ERP system that can be used to combine several business units into one. Most project accounting systems are typically only used by accounting departments. However, unlike most systems, Unanet is built to allow access to just about every department in an organization with its role based capabilities. I like the fact that every person in the company is given the capability to create and save their own reports in addition to having personalized dashboards to satisfy specific business needs. The system is only as good as the data it is being fed. That being said, in order to optimize the system's value, its essential that the entire organization buys into the system and utilizes it like a true ERP system.

Cons: Unanet has very strong project accounting reports to manage projects efficiently. However, I would like to see a bit more from the financial side of the system. For example the system does not have a cash flow statement which is essential for most organizations. That being said, I am impressed with the current financials in place as it was just introduced 2015. I believe in a few years the system will be nearly perfect for any organization as in continues to innovate its capabilities.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/7/2017
Nabeel C.
Finance Manager
Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/3/2018

"Unanet is an innovative tool that looks like the future of financial softwares"

Comments: Unanet is an amazingly powerful software that is way ahead of its competitors in its user-friendliness and its intuitiveness.

Pros: Unanet is an excellent project accounting and financial tools. It is incredibly easy to use and its inherent intuitiveness make this is an extremely powerful tool. It even comes up with cell phone app and can be navigated from virtually anyplace. It seems like Unanet is a more advanced, technological and user-friendly version of its competitors like CostPoint and GCS Premeir.

Cons: Unanet is such a powerful financial tool that there is very little not to like about it. However, still like all softwares, it has its shortcomings and one of the major shortcomings it has is its ability to accommodate complex project setup structures that roll up and consolidate into a higher level. This makes project setups in Unanet very different and challenging and it also greatly affects corporate financial reporting.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/3/2018
Cory M.
Principal of Operations
Government Administration
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4.5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 9/7/2015

"Unanet is a great product!"

Pros: Our experience with Unanet has been excellent. We are using it to support a DCAA auditable accounting and financial practice and it is working quite well. Its flexibility as to the setup and configuration at the user interface level is outstanding. It truly allows us to create our company policies and procedures and tailor Unanet to those and not vice versa. It is a lightweight interface that is intuitive and well designed. It includes the ability to configure user roles for everyone from a basic timesheet or expense user to a Controller or CFO that oversees the entire financial operation of the business. We have especially enjoyed its ability to export financial data to CSV files, be able to manipulate those exports, and import them into payroll systems, accounting systems, and more. Moreover, it is scalable and cost-effective. It allows you to setup an operation for a startup company and scale it accordingly, including costs, as you grow. It is a 100% tailorable and lightweight ERP. It can implement as little or as much rigor as you desire into your finance and accounting operations. We are excited to further understand and eventually implement Unanet financial as it seems to be on a strong trajectory in its early stages. It is a great product that we highly recommend!

Cons: I haven't found any issues with Unanet that haven't been resolved and/or I can configure it to support for me. It is an incredibly tailorable and well thought out software product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 9/7/2015
Nabeel C.
Finance Manager
Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/8/2017

"Unanet Project Module Review"

Comments: Overall Unanet operates more like a modern day application than a traditional accounting software. With its great user friendliness and flexibility, the software seems set to keep increasing in popularity.

Pros: The Unanet Project Module is an extremely user-friendly module that redefine the meaning of intuitiveness in regards to the project setups and structure. Anyone with little to no background can pick up this module and start setting up projects and running reports. The module is organized in a neat format and the speed through which changes can be saved and projects updated add great value to the customer

Cons: The Unanet Project Module while having some great features lacks a 'roll up' feature the likes of which are found in competitor software like CostPoint. Due to this lack of functionality, the reports can often not run on Level 1 of a project since the projects below do not roll up under a parent project.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/8/2017
Jenny C.
CEO
Defense & Space, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/12/2016

"DCAA Compliance with outstanding reporting for Program Managers (PM)"

Comments: Unanet makes it easy for employees to complete their timesheets, allows notes and includes the audit trail requirements for DCAA Compliance. But what I like best is the way it supports Program Managers, who can get REAL TIME reporting from a huge number of reports and charts. You can also set budget hours at employee level or task level, preventing overruns and labor transfers.

Pros: Easy to import and export - plays well with multiple systems and they've done a great job of keeping it open. Excellent charts and reports for Program Managers (PMs), as well as people in accounting who are doing billing, project reporting, and financials.

Cons: Sometimes I am not sure of the sequence of steps and have to look it up, but it's all well documented in their online knowledge center with many examples, not just the old "a targeted rate is a planned rate."

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/12/2016
Eric F.
President/CEO
Management Consulting, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/6/2018

"Unanet is a fantastic ERP for project based organizations"

Comments: Unanet is a great value for the money and I would recommend it to any organization who has project based reporting and accounting.

Pros: Unanet is a fantastic ERP system for project managers. You have instant access to burn rates, project team hours, labor category and cost rate information. Project Managers can track progress, budget, and project profitability in real-time. It has made reporting financial and project information more streamlined, faster, and more accurate to customer and senior management. Also, because it is web-based and accessible anywhere timesheets, expense reports, and approvals can be done from anywhere.

Cons: None, the Unanet team is constantly working with their customers to enhance the product, add new features, and streamline the process.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/6/2018
Jeff U.
Controller
Research, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/7/2017

"Unanet - Best solution for real time data in one system"

Comments: Real-time data in one location and accessible by any user we give access!

Pros: Unanet as a company has set the bar on customer service and support. The Unanet product itself is a user friendly solution housing one data base for all your project and financial data. Reporting is real-time and with very powerful report criteria selection allowing you to report on any data you can imagine. Importing and exporting data in Unanet is a breeze and supports many file platforms.

Cons: The current application doe not contain a purchase order/commitment tracking module. However, Unanet is working on this solution. Unanet also doesn't have a cash flow statement in their financial module, but I'm sure with a minor investment in time, I could create a format within Excel and export the data from Unanet as needed

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/7/2017
Keith M.
President & COO
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/7/2009

"DCAA / EVM compliant timekeeping and project management system"

Comments: Unanet is good for both small and large companies and provides a single repository for all timekeeping, project, planning and personnel data with robust reporting. The integration of multiple platforms (time, project) is well executed and allows companies to see what is happening at the project/task level in real time. Expense reporting that meeting federal government travel regulations and granular permissions to ensure that users only apply expenses to those projects for which they have been assigned This is a strong product as it combines both the compliance (DCAA, EVM, JTR) and ensures that timekeeping, expenses and project reporting are accurate. It allows the delegation of responsbilities for cost rate, bill rate and project managment increase productivity and visibility.

Pros: Extremely strong timekeeping capabilities down the the task level
Granular permissions for all levels of the organization
Excellent reporting structure on all aspects of personnel and projects
Easily customizable export features
Ability to easily import data for people, projects, etc
Robust integration from timekeeping, planning, projects and tasks
Cost Effective solution with "pay as you go" model
Availability and uptime near 100% (hosted)
Excellent customer support (including complex reporting, exports, etc)
The abililty to "slice and dice" data to meeting government, commercial and internal reporting requirements
Ability to add cost structures based on company actuals (DCAA-G&A, Overhead and Fringe)
Robust expense reporting eliminating "paper expense reports"

Cons: Not able to export reports (need to cut and paste)
Tech support should provide a "tiered" pricing structure (currently one rate for all support)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/7/2009
Amy P.
Asst Director of Finance
Management Consulting, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 4/3/2019

"Highly Recommend Unanet"

Comments: We are able to accurately track project time and expenses, gather information on all our vendors and independent contractors, and report on our financial progress.

Pros: The efficiency with which you can manage projects, personnel profiles, vendors, and accounting information within one system; the ability to maintain information and generate reports (in many different ways).

Cons: After upgrading versions, there are some flaws in how the paid time off reflects and minor issues in downloading some reports, but otherwise, not much we dislike.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 4/3/2019
Debora D.
Controller
Management Consulting, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/2/2017

"System Upgrade Lesson"

Comments: We wanted to replace a home grown system for time and expense reporting and billing processes. We use QB for our accounting and financials. We were looking for more controls, better reporting, more automation, and better accountability from all levels. We started our implementation about October 2016 and went live 1/1/2017. Unanet will help us in each of the areas named, but the system is not as well designed for our needs as we had hoped. We've found a few pitfalls, but Unanet is trying to help us resolve some of them. Others are changes they have planned for future editions. Problem is, I need them now.

Pros: It's easy for my consultants to use.They like the portability of a cloud based system, and they like the security. I like that it requires people to be accountable when you set up the approval trails. Service line managers have better control over who is working on what, so they can better manage budgets, staff, and delivery schedules. We've just started looking at the reporting features (which is why the overall rating is 4 stars) and it looks like we are going to get a lot of information a lot quicker. That will save a ton of time.

Cons: The system isn't really designed for a consulting firm like ours. We have a couple thousand active projects and some of my consultants ended up with hundreds of projects on their available list. We weren't able to label our projects exactly how we wanted to. We made some consessions that we didn't want to make during the set up process. We have some concerns about how the information from Unanet is going to play with QB but we're just starting that process.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/2/2017
Andrew E.
Vice President, Operations
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/7/2009

"Unanet Provides Core Operational Functionality"

Comments: I highly recommmend Unanet as a product and a company to do business with.

Pros: The Unanet product, we use the full product suite, is easy to implement, configure, and use. It provides numerous options for configuration that supports a wide range of users from simple to complex. We began using it purely for timekeeping and expense reporting to meet Federal Government contracting requirements. We now employ a much greater range of features including the use of it as our project management tool. The product integrates with our accounting system (Aldebaron's SYMPAQ) with minimal customization. Unanet Technologies is a very responsive and customer friendly company. They regularly solicit input from their users for the development of new features. They conduct an annual user meeting to demonstrate functionality, provide an opportunity to dialog with their customers, and provide value-added presentations. Customer support is very responsive when questions are posed or problems arise.

Cons: There are some functional limitations around reporting at the task level which is important for our company in order to use the full capabilities of the tool. Unanet has listend to the concerns and are working a solution for future release. There are other minor limitations related to how we operate our business, but I would not considre a product flaw.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/7/2009
Brad E.
Director
Computer & Network Security, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/3/2019

"Unanet for a Small Company"

Comments: Overall, if you’re a small company in the services space and looking for an easy to implement cost accounting system, I’d recommend Unanet.

Pros: Unanet is easy to enter data and use for employees entering time and expenses. It’s also fairly intuitive for employees to pull reports for time and PTO.

Cons: Unanet is not intuitive for detailed reports for project managers and is somewhat cumbersome for advanced reporting.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/3/2019
Jenny C.
CEO
Government Administration
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 28/8/2015

"Unanet Projects offer powerful reporting tools"

Pros: Unanet project tracking is easy to update - can upload data from excel and also export to excel.
So many reports help me manage projects. I created my own - detail of client time charging to use when I need to document what I've done on a project over time. Also created one that shows charging with monthly totals so they can see the level of support. Have also used Unanet reporting to pass DCAA audits with a client.

Cons: would like to see them continue to expand in their markets so they can keep growing an engaged customer base

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 28/8/2015
Verified Reviewer
Controller
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/3/2019

"Upgrading to Unanet Financials"

Comments: We hope to get rid of excel based invoices and move into standardized versions. Unanet financials will also allow us to generate indirect rate statements in real time.

Pros: We were able to upgrade to Unanet Financials from an older accounting software system. As we continue to grow - maintaining fewer systems is a high priority.

Cons: I would like if it were easier to share reports between users.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/3/2019
Kaitlyn R.
CFO
Facilities Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/11/2019

"Unanet for GovCon "

Pros: Unanet is perfect for a growing company trying to keep overhead and admin staff small. Their customer support is great and they have a wealth of knowledge available online. Additionally, Unanet welcomes suggestions from customers on how to improve their software and the suggestions are actually made, when possible.

Cons: I wish Unanet would develop an app. They do have a mobile website which is really good for timesheets and expense reports - but I'd love to see an app in the future.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/11/2019