15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

Acctivate Inventory Management Reviews

About Acctivate Inventory Management

A real-time inventory management and high-volume order fulfillment add-on solution for growth-focused businesses using QuickBooks.

Learn more about Acctivate Inventory Management

Pros:

The setup and learning curve were very reasonable, daily use and upkeep is easy.

Cons:

It is also difficult when you want to edit a product when you make a mistake you will need to close the program and opend it all the way again because it does not let you continue with your work.

Acctivate Inventory Management ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
4.2
Features
3.9
Value for Money
3.8

Likelihood to recommend

7.6/10

Acctivate Inventory Management has an overall rating of 4.1 out 5 stars based on 111 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Acctivate Inventory Management before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (111)

Rafi
Rafi
Affiliate marketing in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Apparel & Fashion, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Acctivate Inventory Management

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: well

Pros:

Comprehensive Inventory Management: Acctivate offers a wide range of features and functionalities to efficiently manage inventory, including stock control, order management, purchasing, and tracking.Integration with QuickBooks: Acctivate seamlessly integrates with QuickBooks, providing a synchronized and streamlined solution for inventory management and financial operations.Customization Options: Users appreciate the ability to customize Acctivate to fit their specific business needs. It allows for flexible configuration of fields, reports, and workflows to adapt to different industries and workflows.

Cons:

Complexity: Some users have found Acctivate to have a steeper learning curve, especially for those who are new to inventory management software. The extensive features and functionalities may require some time and training to fully grasp and utilize effectively.Limited Mobile Access: Acctivate's mobile app or mobile access options may be limited compared to some other inventory management solutions. This can be a drawback for businesses that require remote access or mobile functionality for inventory management tasks.Integration Challenges: While Acctivate integrates well with QuickBooks, some users have reported challenges or difficulties in integrating with other software systems or third-party applications they use, which may require additional customization or development work.

Paul
Purchasing Manager in Canada
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Acctivate Review

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We have been using it for 6 years now. There was a bit of a learning curve. Once sorted out, we can order receive, pick and sell our product with ease. Database size has been a bit of an issue and Intuit file size management grows quickly. Great product for a mid size business.

Pros:

Acctivate brought us up to todays technology in product Inventory and sales control, at a reasonable price.

Cons:

The lack of Vendor control, and Vendor Options make things hard. Doing a Daily Sync with Quickbooks does not come with out issues, and tax rounding is Canada is a large issue. We do have SOP's in place to administrate these short falls.

Mike
Director, Sales and Marketing in US
Wholesale, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Seriously do your due diligence on this software before considering.

2.0 last month New

Comments: Works good until you start learning how things actually work in Acctivate. Customer service is terrible. They will not help you past the onboarding process, unless you pay rather large service contracts each year. Videos and help site are too generic to even help you understand how to do something. Unwilling to take feedback. Just an inferior product that will keep taking your money. We are cutting our losses and moving on.

Pros:

Ability to set tiered pricing for each customer and have it "pop up" on quotes or orders. Landed cost by weight was nice as well.

Cons:

Inventory management, especially inventory counts did not work. Basic principles of accounting did not work and/or sync correctly with QuickBooks. Their so-called "CRM" was nothing more than note taking. Inconsistencies in verbiage used across quotes, sales orders, Invoices and reports. Very few reports that actually provide good info to run a business, so we ended up running reports through QuickBooks. Or, we'd need to purchase Crystal reports and hire an experience CR programmer. Only runs in 32-bit data while most every other software runs on 64-bit data so integrations don't work well. Their "customer/invoice history" was difficult at best to determine AR issues. Customer service told us that even if Microsoft or QuickBooks were to change their coding, Acctivate would NOT fix their code so customers could continue using Acctivate. You would need to purchase a service contract and only after shelling out thousands of dollars, would they fix the software (you already purchased in full) so that it would work again. Felt like we were being held hostage on an inferior product. They make their money on service on over-priced contracts. Their arrogance was amazing!

Bruce
COO in US
Biotechnology, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Acctivate Inventory Management works well suits our needs

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Very please with our choice

Pros:

The setup and learning curve were very reasonable, daily use and upkeep is easy

Cons:

The dashboard needs to be more user friendly to setup and use (sizing and placing the report boxes is awkward) Some dropdown menus are not intuitive, but once learned easy to navigate

Gabriel
Sr. Director of Operations in US
Apparel & Fashion, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent for the Price!

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: We were able to greatly improve visibility of our performance allowing us to focus resources in the areas that needed help. The quality and consistency of our output also improve dramatically. Probably the one area that had the most drastic improvement has been our warehouse. The ACCTivate our inventory is the most accurate it has ever been and order processing accuracy has also improve dramatically with the use of the mobile scanners.

Pros:

Software is filled with many intuitive features that cover a wide variety of of business uses in everything from order processing to inventory management. Inventory management includes ability to manage using bins and multiple physical or virtual warehouses. This is a strong feature for an application in this price range. The ability to create custom fields in virtually every section of the software helps resolve many challenges, and the fields are, in most cases, can be made to appear in reports. Has a great order management module that can be customized for specific views and allow for both visibility and batch management of open sales order. Mobile/handheld support allowed our warehouse to switch from manual to scanned picking, which greatly improved accuracy and accountability. Software supports ODBC connectivity which provide a solid work around for the software's lack of strong out-of-the-box reports (see below) In conclusion, if you are a small to mid-size business that has outgrown Quickbooks, you really cant go wrong with ACCTivate. So long as your Quickbooks data is clean and organized, migration is quick and painless.

Cons:

Out of the box reporting is a bit limited depending on your needs. Very basic reports are fine and they are accurate, but if your business has complex or custom logics by which you evaluate performance, you will need to hire a report writer (Crystal Reports) to build your report templates. No real audit trail tracking/reporting so seeing who did what can be a challenge. Lacks ability to restrict certain permissions that can lead to accidental or deliberate manipulation of data resulting in order processing errors.

Acctivate Response

7 years ago

Gabriel, your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are happy to hear about the improvements across your business after implementing Acctivate, especially the visibility & productivity gains that have allowed you all to focus on the work at hand. We also continually strive to learn what businesses need and how we can enhance our software, so it is also good to know about reporting and permission based needs. - Dakota

Adam
GM / Co-Owner in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Acctivate has some powerful features for the price

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: There are many Pro's and a few Cons for each module Acctivate produces. I do enjoy their proactive webinars and online video training access. I also like we have a training company with our data that allows our new users to learn without making costly errors we need to reverse. The sales system has many options to sell a product from multiple warehouses and at custom customer defined prices using Product pricing matrices. Importing pricing from excel spreadsheets is not a big chore with saved templates Acctivate manages. We have used Acctivate since 2006 and our business has grown and yet at the same time, computer hardware, online cloud storage and major version changes from 6.0 have occurred. Being a part of the support program that has allowed Acctivate to tranform and improve has been the main reason we are still with Acctivate today. Being a key partner to Quickbooks and having these two Sequel Databases sync daily, allows me to source bookkeepers who readily trained in Quickbooks and able to spend more time on proactive analysis of our business using many standard and custom reports we have had made in Crystal reports which is the primary database query program that takes our data out and export to useful programs such as excel. One of my favorite modules is the Dashboard button which loads many crystal reports that are one page reports onto one screen and used by us daily to steer our business based on performance and reports we need to view often. Inventory management is strong, with multiple warehouse, web links and product notes can be generously added to every part number. Learning to use crystal reports to audit inventory movement can be difficult for a new user. Additional custom fields can be added such as Average Inventory turns. Acctivate does allow us to bill out our customers with masked part numbers and create a general kit with a detailed description of the work we performed without disclosing part numbers or labor. Another aspect of Acctivate I find useful is the Activity Scheduler, Alerts and Review buttons. I can generate PO's based on min/max levels or by availability and saves time. This software is still a great fit for my business.

Sean
Operations Manager in US
Wholesale, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Adequate, But Far From What It Could Be

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: Acctivate is a reasonably decent inventory management and customer service package. Expect to make significant investments in custom reporting and form layout in order to make the program work best for your company.

Pros:

Inventory tracking features are pretty solid.

Cons:

The reporting features in Acctivate leave a lot to be desired. We have had to spend a great deal in custom report programming to get information that is useful and thorough. It is obvious that the people who wrote this software do not use it daily in a real world situation. Many features are far from intuitive, and the program can be quite buggy. Alterity has also been unresponsive to suggestions that would greatly improve efficiency such as the ability to sort sales orders in SKU order, and the ability to import purchase orders.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Wholesale, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Acctivate Inventory Software preforms well

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Our inventory is able to be managed in a timely manner. Accurate inventory is key to our business.

Pros:

It is easy to process orders and maintain inventory.

Cons:

There are many helpful reports. However, I would like the ability to run my own queries to customize the information I need.

Acctivate Response

6 years ago

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how Acctivate is helping your business and enhancing your order and inventory management. Acctivate does provide the ability to customize the standard reports. The following help article explains how to add/change filtering criteria of any report to meet your needs - https://help.acctivate.com/articles/856/; and this video gets more in-depth on the topic -https://help.acctivate.com/webinars/std-rpts-july-17/. Our support team can also assist with slight modifications to standard reports. If you need more information or assistance on customizing reports, please reach out to them at 817-870-1311 or online at https://help.acctivate.com/requests/. - Erica

Ruth
Customs Broker in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Wholesale, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Software for a small company

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We started using ACCTivate in 2010 as an inventory add-on to Quickbooks. We have very much appreciated all the software had to offer. We have modified the system somewhat over time to fit our needs. We also had some custom reports created for us that have worked very well. Very pleased with the software and the support team.

Pros:

-Very intuitive product -Easy to learn -Highly functional -Crystal report software for reporting is easy to learn and use to customize your reports -Very flexible system

Cons:

-Original Reporting is lacking. Custom reports are available or can be made by a third party -Very occasional issues syncing with Quickbooks

Acctivate Response

5 years ago

Hi Ruth, Thank you for sharing your feedback. It is great to hear all you have gained and the growth in your nine years of using Acctivate. Kind Regards, Erica Avila

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Inventory is easy with Acctivate

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We were in need of an inventory software that could integrate with QuickBooks and provide a platform for our manufacturing crew to run out of. Acctivate met this need.

Pros:

I love that it easily integrates with QuickBooks Enterprise. It has a lot of options that are great for manufacturers. Their on-boarding team is phenomenal; I bugged them so much and yet they always seemed so happy to hear from me!

Cons:

It is expensive...BUT it's cheaper than most of it's competitors and from what I've seen, it's a better software than it's competitors. In my opinion, you get what you pay for; a great inventory software that easily integrates with QuickBooks.

Acctivate Response

6 years ago

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy to hear that things are going great from the ease of use to the integration with QuickBooks and service from our onboarding team. - Erica

Tori
Office Manager in US
Warehousing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Acctivate Inventory Software

2.0 4 years ago

Comments: I think Acctivate has a lot of software updating they need to do to make this software a great use for inventory tracking.

Pros:

Pros to Acctivate would be the ease of receiving inventory products and tracking where inventory items are in the process of manufacturing.

Cons:

Con's to Acctivate would be it's posting and editing capabilities. Once you decide to post something in Acctivate you cannot go back and edit that post. Also if you use unearned revenue and pay a deposit on a invoice you cannot go back and edit notes on the invoice. I think this particular software is still behind in the technology world and it could be a very useful software once they work out the kinks.

Acctivate Response

4 years ago

Hi Tori, Thank you for your feedback and we understand your frustration. We are always looking for feedback from our customers for future software development. We would also like to better understand your specific case. There are ways to make changes to posted transactions and we would be happy to walk you through those options. Please reach out to our Support Team at 817-870-1311 or online at https://help.acctivate.com/form/.

Kristen
Order Entry in US
Medical Devices, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

For the most part acctivate is user friendly.

3.0 7 years ago

Pros:

It is simple to use, easy to find items and customer accounts. Updating customer information is really easy to do.

Cons:

Has some internal errors that happen often. Will freeze up and have to restart the program a few times a day.

Acctivate Response

7 years ago

Hi Kristen, thank you for your recent input and being candid with us. While freeze up issues are rare, we look at them closely on a case-by-case basis. Our Texas-based Support team is more than ready to help understand your specific scenario so your experience can be improved. You can call Support at 817-870-1311 or open a request at http://help.acctivate.com.

Amber
Director of Marketing in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Overall great investment

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: Overall this has been a great investment. We are a medium sized company who sells multi-level assemblies as well as services, and have all of our accounting in Quickbooks. The integration between Acctivate and QB has proven quite valuable. We initially intended on putting products and services sales through Acctivate, but have since decided to keep services transactions solely in QB. The platform gives us real-time visibility into key data that we were previously tracking across multiple spreadsheets which required ongoing effort to keep updated, and yet the data was still never as fresh as you'd want. It has taken some time to settle in, but across our company folks now have their dashboards and other features customized to display meaningful info and metrics for each individuals' area of responsibility. We have already been able to change the way we make decisions, doing things more efficiently today and with a higher degree of certainty than we had in the past. The two primary cons I run into are : 1) not being able to customize the reports and templates (my organization does not have Crystal Reports), and 2) I wish we are able to select which fields display in certain activities. Both of these would make the system more user friendly, however there are certainly ways to work around each issue.

Tim
President in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Why do I love Acctivate? Let me count the ways....

4.5 8 years ago

Pros:

Top-notch functionality and support. It uses SQL for the database and Crystal Reports for reporting which are expected these days for products of this type. The amount of detail and functionality is amazing. The programmers are awesome in some of the functionality they have come with. As an accountant, I can fully recommend the product to prospects without fear of a core functionality or need missing.

Cons:

No online product, unless you use a hosting company.

James
Owner in US
Management Consulting
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Acctivate - Inventory Solution for the Growing SMB

4.5 8 years ago

Pros:

Love the fact that it is scalable, modules can be added one at a time, as the company grows. I also love the customer center as it incorporates great CRM functionality, many sales analysis at the users' fingertips, rather than having to run so many reports.

Cons:

Wish it would integrate with QBO. I also wish it would have more integration with payroll.

Tong
Owner in US
Logistics & Supply Chain
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great product

5.0 8 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use, great help from activate for setup, all customer records are transparent, well organized, so does the inventory.

Cons:

reports are always a struggle, using crystal report need some training. We have hard time to get the reports we need. Activate people are great, very helpful and personal.

Mike
General Manager in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Acctivate is very easy to use. An excellent solution for inventory managment for the QB company.

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: By implementing Acctivate, I was able to bring my company out of the small buisness way of thinkig and introduce them to an inventory managment software that is super easy to learn and use. We grew from 5-7M to over 20M very quickly and we were basically managing our buisness with spreadsheets and elbow grease. We're a company that uses Intuit QB for our financials. Prior to Acctivate we stored our inventory in QB but as the company grew, we kept crashing our file. Acctivate was the perfect scalable solution toallow us to add POS and lessen the weight on our QB file. Now 15 months after implementating Acctivate, it's hard to imagine how we operated before. Acctivate also forced us to face our own "bad habits" in the areas of process. That may be the single most valuable "pro" that comes with the software.

Vic
Owner in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Acctivate is the best inventory add on for QuickBooks.

5.0 8 years ago

Pros:

Implementation of acctivate is a smooth and painless process. Learning a new software can sometimes be stressful but acctivate is intuitive and easy to use.

Cons:

Would love it if acctivate had more manufacturing features.

Festus
procurement and logistics management in Tanzania
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

It's very easy to use

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Make cheaper in order everything small warehouse to use

Pros:

Increase profit and inventory security Highly efficiency in industry, reduce loss in the warehouse

Cons:

High expensive to implement, Need education to users, technology changed in every second so must need to go with it

sarah
customer service manager in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

A+ Easy to Use & Service is Outstanding

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: The software is easy to use. It's also very easy to teach yourself and learn new ways to use the system as well. All the self help forums are very helpful and informative. Also the remote support team is absolutely amazing. They are quick to respond and make things better if you are stuck or having an issue you can not fix.
One con I have is that you can not attached a file to an email being sent from ACCtivate. Other than that not too many cons. When I do I learn from them and then i know the system that much better.

Brent
President in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Outstanding Capability for the price.

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: The Acctivate Inventory system has been a great asset in helping our company achieve it's inventory tracking needs. The integration with our QuickBooks Wholesale Manufacturing Edition works well. We have been able to generate far more decision making reports with the help of some 3rd party customization. In the past the support was somewhat of an issue, but that seems not to be a problem anymore. Highly recommend for small to midsize companies with complex manufacturing and inventory needs.

Stacey
Owner in US
Management Consulting
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Inventory Management Software that Does It All

4.0 8 years ago

Pros:

This software is very thorough. What do I mean by that? It can do almost anything you need it to do when it comes to managing your inventory. What I like best about the Activate Inventory software is it's integration to QuickBooks. Because it integrates so well there doesn't have to be a lot of double data entry. Data flows transparently in both directions. Also, their staff are really wonderful at helping you - they're easy to talk over challenges with, and always ready to help.

Cons:

I can't think of anything that I disliked about the product.

Susan
Head of Regional Sales in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Best Customer Service!

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: While the system itself can be frustrating and is not as user-friendly or dummy-proof as QuickBooks, the customer service is fantastic. Over all, our experience with the tech support rep Eric and the customer rep John has been absolutely phenomenal. They consistently check with us and always answer any questions in a quick, professional, and friendly fashion. I would absolutely recommend based on the customer service alone.

Tonya
Customer Service in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

I have been involved with the implementation since day one and use it daily.

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: Pros: We have been able to utilize our inventory and customer information more effectively than in the past.
Cons: Some standard features are different than how our previous software worked so getting used to that has taken some time. We were surprised some features were not available.
Scott Gregory and the customer service has been exceptional in helping us resolve and understand issues as they arise.

Donna
RMA Coordinator / Accounts Payable in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Once you know the proper step procedure, the software is easy to use.

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: Pros: gives accurate data. friendly to use. You can cross reference in many areas to get the information needed. Cons: Have to know the proper step procedure to enter invoices, credits, sales order. Once you have the procedure it's easy. Can't revise a purchase order or change a purchase order past a certain step. Too many steps to correct an incorrect price on a purchase order for a vendor.