Acctivate Inventory Management Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.2 /5

About Acctivate Inventory Management

A powerful inventory, warehouse, & order management solution for QuickBooks Desktop users. Save 1+ hours a day & grow your business.

Learn more about Acctivate Inventory Management

Showing 103 reviews

David C.
Consultant
Management Consulting
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/5/2016

"A product you can rely on from a consultant's perspective"

Pros: Acctivate Inventory is a full featured inventory management system that can be added onto QuickBooks easily and cost effectively. By doing so, a QuickBooks user can extend the useful life of QuickBooks without needing to upgrade that accounting program. And it provides the same or better functionality than many inventory modules of many ERPs. This is an excellent product that is from an equally excellent vendor whose attention to customer service and details are superb.

Cons: I like the functionality of the product first and foremost and its ease of use. The vendor's training program is excellent and as I mentioned above their customer service is very very good as well. I am a business consultant to many companies and have never hesitated to recommend Acctivate,

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/5/2016
Adam H.
GM / Co-Owner
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/3/2016

"Acctivate has some powerful features for the price"

Comments: There are many Pro's and a few Cons for each module Acctivate produces. I do enjoy their proactive webinars and online video training access. I also like we have a training company with our data that allows our new users to learn without making costly errors we need to reverse. The sales system has many options to sell a product from multiple warehouses and at custom customer defined prices using Product pricing matrices. Importing pricing from excel spreadsheets is not a big chore with saved templates Acctivate manages. We have used Acctivate since 2006 and our business has grown and yet at the same time, computer hardware, online cloud storage and major version changes from 6.0 have occurred. Being a part of the support program that has allowed Acctivate to tranform and improve has been the main reason we are still with Acctivate today. Being a key partner to Quickbooks and having these two Sequel Databases sync daily, allows me to source bookkeepers who readily trained in Quickbooks and able to spend more time on proactive analysis of our business using many standard and custom reports we have had made in Crystal reports which is the primary database query program that takes our data out and export to useful programs such as excel. One of my favorite modules is the Dashboard button which loads many crystal reports that are one page reports onto one screen and used by us daily to steer our business based on performance and reports we need to view often. Inventory management is strong, with multiple warehouse, web links and product notes can be generously added to every part number. Learning to use crystal reports to audit inventory movement can be difficult for a new user. Additional custom fields can be added such as Average Inventory turns. Acctivate does allow us to bill out our customers with masked part numbers and create a general kit with a detailed description of the work we performed without disclosing part numbers or labor. Another aspect of Acctivate I find useful is the Activity Scheduler, Alerts and Review buttons. I can generate PO's based on min/max levels or by availability and saves time. This software is still a great fit for my business.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/3/2016
Shawn B.
Quality Director
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/6/2017

"Acctivate works relatively well"

Pros: Acctivate is relatively easy to use. Tracking activities, customers, and orders is straight forward and easy to follow.

Cons: The biggest challenge with Acctivate is that it seems to crash for no obvious reason and sometimes with no warning. When this happens, whatever is being worked on is lost.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/6/2017
Dick V.
Kahuna
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/3/2016

"10+ Years & Counting"

Comments: Over the years that we've used Acctivate it has always provided exceptional inventory management and control. From purchasing through receiving, sales and shipping, we've been able to easily fit our business processes to Acctivate. Plus as out business has changed over the years, Acctivate has been flexible enough to accommodate our ever evolving needs . Traditionally we have been a value-added distributor of packaging products. Now we are adding US based manufacturing capabilities and find that Acctivate easily supports our requirements for bill-of-materials and build processes. I would be remiss,however, if I did not mention the outstanding capabilities to track and manage all types of business activities within the software. While the operational portion of the software is the bread and butter of the business, the real return is found in the business activity management capability. We plan to continue using Acctivate for the foreseeable future. Our thanks to the entire Alterity team - sales, support, development and administration.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/3/2016
Gary V.
Accounts Payable Manager
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/3/2016

"Over all a very solid application. We experience a couple hiccups once in a while but very minor."

Comments: Customer service is very responsive when we need them. Technical problems are rare and sometimes are solved merely by rebooting our SQL server (so it could be something on our end). I love being able to query the database into Excel since I find it easier to write code in VBA than to work in Crystal reports (since I have 40 years of experience writing BASIC code). Plus, Excel makes it very easy to slice and dice the data in many ways without having to re-run the query. We sometimes have an issue after syncing with Quick Books that causes journal entries to be duplicated which then need to be deleted from QB and re-run the sync - that fixes it every time. System can run slow sometimes, but again, it's probably an issue that we have created with 16 active users and data that has never been compressed and archived. We have detail data that goes back to 2005 so calling up a large customer or a very popular product that has a lot of sales order history can be slow at times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/3/2016
Festus L.
procurement and logistics management
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/2/2019

"It's very easy to use"

Comments: Make cheaper in order everything small warehouse to use

Pros: Increase profit and inventory security Highly efficiency in industry, reduce loss in the warehouse

Cons: High expensive to implement, Need education to users, technology changed in every second so must need to go with it

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/2/2019
Michelle B.
Owner
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2/5/2016

"Acctivate review from a consultants view."

Pros: The software flexibility is the best thing about this product. If you work with someone who really knows this product then they can can help you with a solution that will help your business achieve the best results. The software is the best on the market that will allow you to remain in QuickBooks. Additionally, the fact that it leverages SQL and Crystal Reports makes it a truly good value.

Cons: I would like the ability to customize screens and I wish that it had API's for other connections.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2/5/2016
Sarah B.
customer service manager
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/4/2016

"A+ Easy to Use & Service is Outstanding"

Comments: The software is easy to use. It's also very easy to teach yourself and learn new ways to use the system as well. All the self help forums are very helpful and informative. Also the remote support team is absolutely amazing. They are quick to respond and make things better if you are stuck or having an issue you can not fix.
One con I have is that you can not attached a file to an email being sent from ACCtivate. Other than that not too many cons. When I do I learn from them and then i know the system that much better.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/4/2016
Jaspal S.
Director
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 9/11/2016

"Acctivate Inventory Management"

Comments: It is a smart quickbook for our inventory operations and management.

Pros: The ease of use.
it is flexible and highly scalable

Cons: More features could be added to it
It requires skilled training to operate

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 9/11/2016
Amber H.
Owner
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/4/2016

"Long Time User"

Comments: We've been using Acctivate for many years with our company and have been very happy with it. I appreciate the ability to build just the right set of modules for what we need and particularly like its ability to handle our complicated inventory system. The few times we come across issues, the support team is very quick to respond and resolve them. I would highly recommend Acctivate to other users.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/4/2016
Eric G.
President
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/4/2016

"Good for Us"

Comments: The fact that we can do so much of the business via our Magento e-commerce site that connects us to our inventory, customers and orders is the a competitive advantage. Acctivate is responsive to our general needs and can be depended on the help problem solve some of the day to day items that do come up.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/4/2016
Marty M.
Controller
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/3/2016

"Very intuitive user friendly software."

Comments: Pros: User friendly.
Handles all facets of business (i.e. Inventory, invoicing, customer management, receiving, etc.)
Stable database platform
Excellent customer service/support
Cons: Inventory management can be improved
Reporting lacks somewhat

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/3/2016
Dianna S.
Operations Manager
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/3/2016

"Does what you need ..."

Comments: My ideal answer would have been middle of the road. For the cost of inventory software Acctivate does what you need it to, but not always easily. Each additional module cost another $1000 to $1500+. It is fair cumbersome to get the right report at first until you learn Crystal Reports filtering and you can't modify or personalize reports with out purchasing Crystal Reports. Import Export options can be clunky it is all a learning curve. Syncs fairly well with Quickbooks, fairly easy to learn.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/3/2016
Christy H.
Office Administrator
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/4/2016

"Good inventory software"

Comments: For the most part we like it. Making custom reports through Crystal Reports is nearly impossible.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/4/2016
Rosmary C.
Customer Service/Purchasing
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/4/2016

"The software is easy to use."

Comments: Whereas the software is easy to use. The instructions leave out some elements that you need to know.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/4/2016
Frank S.
IT manager
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/3/2016

"it has help our company to be better organized"

Comments: no con all pro, excellent product easy to use

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/3/2016
Ross D.
Owner
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/3/2016

"Acctivate use to work Great!"

Comments: with al the upgrades acctivate does not seem to work as well. i wonder if all these patches after a while will make this software worse. Will this end up like windows??? where they just come out with a whole new version?

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/3/2016
Laura L.
payroll
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/4/2016

"Acctivate"

Comments: would like the dashboard back

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/4/2016
Tina V.
owner
Automotive, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/2/2021

"customer service is very poor"

Comments: they set everything up, even quickbook categories with no explaination and year end i had to hire a certified quickbooks person to fix my reports with no help from acctivate

Pros: clean screens not too busy. can access everything on one screen

Cons: alot of screens to update inventory, too many steps and screens to update. they do not know much about quickbooks

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/2/2021
Verified Reviewer
Accountant Office Manager
Wholesale, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/8/2018

"Acctivate Inventory Software preforms well"

Comments: Our inventory is able to be managed in a timely manner. Accurate inventory is key to our business.

Pros: It is easy to process orders and maintain inventory.

Cons: There are many helpful reports. However, I would like the ability to run my own queries to customize the information I need.

Vendor Response

by Acctivate on 27/8/2018

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how Acctivate is helping your business and enhancing your order and inventory management.

Acctivate does provide the ability to customize the standard reports. The following help article explains how to add/change filtering criteria of any report to meet your needs - https://help.acctivate.com/articles/856/; and this video gets more in-depth on the topic -https://help.acctivate.com/webinars/std-rpts-july-17/.

Our support team can also assist with slight modifications to standard reports. If you need more information or assistance on customizing reports, please reach out to them at 817-870-1311 or online at https://help.acctivate.com/requests/. - Erica

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/8/2018
Randy K.
CFO/Controller
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/8/2018

"Wolf Companies"

Comments: The Costing trail for Inventory items lacks reports that show how current cost is calculated.

Pros: Fairly easy to use. Is a good overall value.

Cons: Lack of Print screen feature which is helpful when researching transactions.

Vendor Response

by Acctivate on 22/8/2018

Randy, thank you for taking the time to let us know how things are going with Acctivate.

Taking screen shots is definitely helpful and Windows can be used to capture your full screen, as well as third-party screen capture utilities, in which many are free.

In terms of seeing how cost is calculated, the Inventory Ledger report can provide the information you need. This is found under Acctivate¿s Inventory Management Reports > Transactions. Make sure to select a beginning transaction date and the report will show the true cost calculated by dividing the resulting value by the resulting quantity on hand. If you need any assistance with this, please contact support at 817-870-1311 or online at https://help.acctivate.com/requests/. - Erica

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/8/2018
Steven D.
IT and Sales
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/3/2016

"Acctivate is Active :)"

Comments: It took a lot of work, but after putting in the time and learning all about the software, I have to say it is a great system, with so many options and ways to do things. It can be customized to work in most unique scenarios. The strongest points for us is the inventory Lot control, gives us more power over our inventory, and where its coming from, etc. The Activity feature helps us communicate and acts as a CRM for our reps. The way dropship PO's are handled is very helpful, and works almost perfectly for us. Using the mobile device changed the way our warehouse receives and picks products in a good way. Since the software's infrastructure is basically a database, it gives versatility for using with other products, like our shipping software and our website. The Reports side is dependent on Crystal reports, which opens up a world of possibilities, it does add some complexities, but the support that Acctivate gives with there product makes up for all complex situations. I have been helped and things have been fixed numerous times. The software is also in a stage where it will always be improving over time. There are a few cons. Bugs and things not quite working the way they should require a dedicated person within our company to occasionally be working with Acctivate to clean out these scenarios and learn about limitations and potential future added features. The Credit card system is very limited and makes it a little difficult with the way we do things. I find myself really loving the way it handles customers, all the different tabs to product history, comments, activities, transactions. The UOM has added a complexity that we needed when it comes to purchasing single units vs boxes vs cases. The ability to setup diff pricing for a product or a customer really helps with on sale items and contract pricing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/3/2016
Aaron M.
Laser Safety Officer
Machinery, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 5/3/2019

"Bloated software with poor support."

Pros: There are many features available, even if difficult to manage.

Cons: Support...
I have been dealing with a print error from Acctivate and have had a ticket open for over a week now with only back and forth email communication. If you call the support number, you will eventually be dumped into voicemail and they sometimes have never returned a call, when they do it takes days.
A business is not able to conduct good business with this software when support is this poor and lacking.

Vendor Response

by Erica on 15/4/2019

Aaron,
Thank you for letting us know about your recent experiences.

We strive to deliver easy-to-use features and are more than willing to assist you with any challenges. If you are not finding the answers you need on our help site (https://help.acctivate.com) for any particular feature, please reach out to the support team for assistance.

Our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with your recent support request. We are here to provide quality support, so when dissatisfaction is expressed, we use it to see how we can improve. Being that this request originated via email, we continued in that manner, so any time you would like to have a phone call please let us know and we will be happy to call you. We also respond to voicemails, if you call and do not immediately get someone on the line.

We appreciate your feedback and will use it to help in improving our processes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 5/3/2019
Bart M.
President
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/3/2016

"The Good, Bad & the Ugly"

Comments: Acctivate is a really good inventory control system and it is pretty easy to learn and it has a lot of capabilities and we love it. But here are the problems I have had. I have had numerous problems with technical support, and it has only gotten worse instead of better. In order to reach customer service now, you have go to the Acctivate website and enter a service request, and you may or may not get a prompt reply back. When we are having technical problems with this program, it can bring our entire operation to a halt and there doesn't seem to be any sense of urgency on the part of the technicians at Acctivate. This is my biggest problem with Acctivate and it the one thing that makes me very angry. My only other problem is training. This is a very complex program, and you can learn the basics pretty quickly and that will get you by. But there is no formal training to teach you everything you need to know other than videos that you can watch and some webinars. I think there needs to be a trainer that can teach new users how to use the program in depth at your facility in Arlington so that customers that have purchased the program can spend 3-4 days with some in depth training. I have had this system for over 2 years now and we are still finding new things that we have never seen or used before. When we purchased Acctivate, they do a great job of getting you up and going and answer any questions you might have, but some real hands on training would be so much better. But once you get used to the program, it's great.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/3/2016
Tim G.
President
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/4/2016

"Why do I love Acctivate? Let me count the ways...."

Pros: Top-notch functionality and support. It uses SQL for the database and Crystal Reports for reporting which are expected these days for products of this type. The amount of detail and functionality is amazing. The programmers are awesome in some of the functionality they have come with. As an accountant, I can fully recommend the product to prospects without fear of a core functionality or need missing.

Cons: No online product, unless you use a hosting company.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/4/2016