15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

Splunk Enterprise Reviews

About Splunk Enterprise

Search, analyze, and visualize data from your entire data ecosystem. Monitor, alert, and report on your operations to drive resilience.

Learn more about Splunk Enterprise

Pros:

When you need to store, correlate, and search large amounts of data, especially System Log data, there is no tool that even comes close to Splunk. It's power and flexibility is amazing.

Cons:

So, first time user it can be difficult to use it.

Splunk Enterprise ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.8/10

Splunk Enterprise has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 223 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Splunk Enterprise before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (223)

Subham
Subham
Incident responder in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Pharmaceuticals, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best SIEM in the market

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: My overall experience has been awsome so far. I would rate it 8.5/10.Splunk has been as effective soluntion when it comes to triaging and monitoring of day to alerts.

Pros:

- Easy to triage and monitor alert (Very fast and gives effective results as compared to other produts)Arcsight,Devo etc- Customer Support is excellent- Threat Hunting can be done effectively with the help of Splunk(IOC based,Corellation based etc)- Log parising is very effective & intelligent.

Cons:

- The only think i liked least about splunk is the cost involved/pricing model in case of high data volumes.

Davis
Principal Security Researcher in US
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The most expensive tool, requiring highly-skilled employees, capable of limitless value

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Splunk's SPL is a flexible, straight forward query-language with aspects of SQL, R, Python, and Bash. The fact that an analyst can learn to be an engineer through using the platform provides ease of growth. It is unmatched in its automation to make data actionable, while providing reporting and visualization capabilities.

Pros:

Splunk is provides a single tool for log aggregation, log analysis, and visualizations. Threat hunting, applying threat intelligence, and incident response are easily repeatable; pushing organizations to proactive security processes.

Cons:

Splunk is expensive, especially when an organizations is exploring and building new security or data use cases. It also requires a lot of engineering maintenance, making the quality of the data highly-dependent on the skill(s) of those supporting it. Many organizations do not maximize its benefit because it is poorly managed or supported by low-skilled employees.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

nice tool with functionality for everyone

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: very good tool to see your logging and get alerts when something is wrong.

Pros:

Splunk is easy to use, also non technical persons can also use and create their dashboards. Easy to implement and very easy to use the query language, the documentation is also sufficient

Cons:

We cannot setup the alerts for realtime. we only us it for logging and not for metrics. the maintenance of the dashboards are very time offering.

Patrick
IT Application SR Dev in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Spunk Review

3.0 7 years ago

Pros:

It allows me to bring a lot of information into one friendly view. It's a great security audit tool.

Cons:

It has limited functionality. It is a very memory intensive system. It does not integrate with Lennox.

yuval
IR Analyst in Israel
Banking, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best SIEM out there.

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

I used a lot of SIEMs in my career, Splunk is the best one out there. Comfortable, Easy to use, Great big data platform.

Cons:

Easy to use, versatile, A lot of options, dashboards

Kerry
Operations Coordinator in Türkiye
Furniture, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The only tool you need to manage production data

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: I'm very pleased with the data management capabilities Splunk Enterprise has given us. Before we implemented it, we were really struggling to make sense of some of the big data we get from our machines, but now, we can get very detailed insights into hw the machines are performing at any time. It's helped us monitor performance, issues, and opportunities much easier.

Pros:

I love how detailed you can have the dasboards and charts go. It supports tons of chart types, and custom reporting elements. But above all, with the automaetd monitoring, you can have access to continuous insights from large data you wouldn't have been able to make sense of otherwise.

Cons:

It's quite difficult to set up in the beginning. It took us a lot longer than expected to map our production data onto the system. But once you have it up and running, it works like clockwork

Ajay
Lead it engineer in India
Semiconductors, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best log monitoring tool

5.0 5 months ago

Pros:

Powerful search language Advanced visualisation Flexibility to accept logs from any source High availability Ease of administration

Cons:

The cost is too high compared to other log monitoring tools.

Jason
Head of Security Assurance in UK
Financial Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A valuable SIEM tool that aids Cyber defences

4.0 7 months ago

Comments: Overall a rather good experience based on the Customer Service we receive and the extent to which they make our use of the tool a good experience

Pros:

The saying "you only get out what you put in" is rather apt when utilising Splunk as a SIEM tool - i.e. the more logs / data you can feed into the solution the better the results. Ingesting multiple log files from numerous systems / applications is essential when reviewing security incidents and ensures everything is in one place.

Cons:

For all that is good with Splunk, the costs are rather high and could force Customers to other solutions unless they make themselves more competitive in the pricing market

DEEPAK
software developer in US
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

splunk review

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

great monitoring tool. We have been using it for monitoring puposes, creating visualizations and dashboards which helps us to keep track of how our service is behaving. easy UI and excellent search analysis

Cons:

UI can be a bit more intuitive and dashboards support can be made btr and easy

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Splunk is a solution

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

It so easy to use and it is very smart and fast.

Cons:

They want to take it to the cloud, maybe is good maybe not

THOMAS
Management Reporting and Business Analyst in Zambia
Telecommunications, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Splunk an Enterprise Business intelligent user tool

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Is a robust and intelligent management tool that enables everyone with user computer knowledge to navigate in real-time, consolidate vast data into a visualized report of dashboard features , reliable and web based, no major equipment required for setup, user need a smartphone or compute to access the platform through the web, you can navigate the system as long as you have computer knowledge without any training required(user friendly) .

Pros:

It an intelligent business tool that provided me an opportunity to customize and build report from large volume of data from different departments within the 13 Africa countries in telecommunication sectors. The platform allows data to be consolidated accordingly to the organization need and produces visualized reports of dashboard features. I also noted that the system can analyst unstructured large volume of data speedily and is reliable and web based allowing for user flexible accessible from any part of the world if you have internet. The systems have been reliable and secured from the time (2 years) I started using it without any system intermittent, system errors and cyber-attack.

Cons:

The system is built and use-able with structured and unstructured organization though the price in foreign currency could hamper small and medium organization to use it especially in most Africa country where the local currency has depreciated against the major trading foreign currency.so the Forex pricing is a challenge. The navigation of the platform will require minor training though if the user is computer proficient, they would management with minor challenge and interpretation of the data. So, first time user it can be difficult to use it It will depend on internet for access and internet tend to be pricey in most African country and therefore could increase the business cost for small and medium enterprise. It can increase business cost if not fully used

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

An excellent SIEM at a low cost

5.0 last year

Comments: We have many programs that measure the performance and quality of the operation, of the production in chevron, I think it is important that they give extra barriers to what we do and splunk is an optimal collaborator so that we can track all these programs and not get intrusions through the network.

Pros:

It is a very subtle program, when generating the setup it is not necessary to have a great knowledge of programming to install it, but to solve some configuration errors, when you start what I like the most is that you start from day one to organize your applications, then From that you can easily configure cybersecurity for each program, I particularly like the monitoring of data programs and that the program alerts you with notifications so that you see errors that sometimes jumps in the program.

Cons:

What I don't like and I see that it is something widespread is that it has very poor support in technical help, I think that the old technical support collaborators have left and people who are not so qualified have arrived to answer the tickets.For my part it is not a big problem since I am a researcher and with the information that is on the splunk website it is enough for me to generate the resolutions of problems.

vikram
vikram
Associate in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Splunk for Log Monitoring

5.0 last year

Comments: Splunk is best data monitoring and visualization tool. We can set alert for log and monitor log . It provides different modes for searching Fast, Smart and verbose. By using Splunk we are getting all system log in one place .Splunk has capability to handle large and big size data. It has best GUI , one can easily adopt and do customization and based on requirments.

Pros:

We are using Splunk for log monitoring . It is integrated with Kubernetes and pivot cloud via data bus. By Splunk we get Realtime log application. It provides best visualization of data generated by system. Splunk also provide option to filter data based on data range and time. We can configure email alert for specific issue. Splunk also provide ML model for data. Splunk use simple query to get data ,everyone can easily learn Splunk query.

Cons:

I haven't found any issue yet the only problem with Splunk I have that log in Splunk is scattered . We need to build good query or better logging mechanism at application side.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great platform for data analysis and visualization

5.0 last year

Comments: Splunk Enterprise is a great data analysis and visualization platform to show real time status with live dashboards.

Pros:

Security Information and Event management, log analytics, custom dashboards and workspaces

Cons:

Auto upgrade management and notifications for Add-ons. Leaning more towards config file based implementation instead of UI based implementation

Chetan
Analyst in India
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Splunk the best analytic tool

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: It gives best Return on Investment as analyzing the data and giving proper insights in form of Dashboards and notifying with help of Alerts if any kind of threat running in infrastructure and apart from that Deployment and use is very easy.

Pros:

There are lot of features which Splunk offers - 1) We can onboard data from any server, device or system using Universal Forwarder 2) Onboarded data are later stored in Indexers and searched further in Search Head for analyzing the internal logs 3) Using the data we can create customizable Dashboards and get proper insights of data and create Alerts to identify any kind of Threat or anomalies running in environment 4) Deployment is very easy on-prem servers 5) We can also use Hybrid Deployment on Cloud as well.

Cons:

1) As it give large amount of features but licensing is too high 2) There are lot of other Open Source software which can be used as alternative of Splunk as Analytic tool because Splunk is paid one.

Mohammed
CISO in Bahrain
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best SIEM

4.0 last year

Comments: Great SIEM that beats the competition, we utilized it for various functions

Pros:

Splunk appsStrength and capabilitiesIntegration with most solutions

Cons:

Resource utilizationLimited local partner support

Or
Sr. Software Eng in Israel
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Splunk helps us to walk in the darkness, for sure in the Prod arena

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: We are in Autodesk, use it much, as part of the monitoring tool. We like it and would like it to be improved and even more useful

Pros:

Dashboards feature is amazing, I use it much. Alerts and queries are easy to set up. Mostly it works fast so it's kind of Dev friendly so it's easy to onboard the new guys

Cons:

Alerts should have a better way to manage it. There should be a way to promote alerts to different environments - so we will be able to set the Dev/Stg/Prod Sometimes some things that we want to do take a while searching on the internet for a solution - they might think how to do it better - maybe some examples or better documentation

Mark
Network Admin in Canada
Mining & Metals, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great for log analysis

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Splunk has been key in sever major issue root causes by analyzing logs and from that being able to build reports and determine causes of issues. In addition being able to trend and look for the data in the many logs is very helpful.

Pros:

We use this tool primarily as a repository for syslog messages for infrastructure. It allows us to quickly analyze the logs and patterns to determine issues based on patterns. In addition it alerts very well from text based trigger alerts. These features are very easy to use and dependable.

Cons:

I do not have any cons for this software. Mainly as a user it does exactly what I need it to do with no overhead and confusing interfaces.

neha
Software Engineer in India
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great log analysis software

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Integrates with almost all the software seamlessly..where there is a software application that produces log, splunk can be easily integrated. Gives very powerful insights into the logs Alerts can be setup on the logs, and notifications sent out which is great again for managing the health of your application

Cons:

The query language, though powerful, has a learning curve. Particularly as one goes towards complex queries. If it could be made closer to natural language, it would be so much smoother to learn. Hope that will happen sometime in future.

Rob
CEO in Canada
Computer Networking, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Splunk vs Humio and Devo

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: The APIs and plugin are great. the parsers are just fantastic. It can log anything and everything.

Pros:

We have been using splunk for over 5 years now. nothing beats splunk in the market place. The only concern we have the pricing and the resource to support it. it's just too expensive

Cons:

Too expensive and it's too hard to manage. You have to find a very qualified and very expensive resource to support it.

Chintan
Technical Specialist in India
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Carry out data analysis with Splunk

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It has been a great experience working with Splunk , we have been using it since past 3 years.
It is integrated tool with fuse component for real time data analysis of the data flow from source system to target system

Pros:

-Easy to use tool -Simple graphical interface which makes it easy for a new user to understand the features easily -Real time data analysis can be carried out

Cons:

When we try to search for data which is more than 30 days old, then sometimes we see slowness

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Chemicals, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Efficiently manage and analyze data with Splunk Enterprise

4.0 last year

Pros:

Splunk Enterprise's versatility is highly valued by its users, as it is capable of analyzing and managing data from a variety of sources, including machine data, logs, and structured and unstructured data formats. This makes it a valuable tool for organizations with diverse data management needs. In addition, users appreciate the software's efficiency in processing and analyzing large volumes of data quickly, allowing them to make faster and more informed decisions. This is particularly important for organizations that need to respond to data in real-time, as Splunk Enterprise's speed and efficiency can help them stay ahead of the curve.

Cons:

Splunk Enterprise to be complex and difficult to use, particularly for those who are not familiar with data analysis and management tools. The software has a range of features and capabilities, which can be overwhelming.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent product

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I have worked with dozens of companies to implement Splunk. My experiences have bee overwhelming positive.

Pros:

When you need to store, correlate, and search large amounts of data, especially System Log data, there is no tool that even comes close to Splunk. It's power and flexibility is amazing.

Cons:

Very expensive. Difficult to implement until all moving parts are understood. Steep learning curve for beginners.

Parth
Parth
DevOps Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Monitoring Tool Splunk

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: With Splunk anything identified with the application backend logs and observing, it's extremely suitable to utilize, in light of which we can make different dashboards. For server Monitoring, Splunk logs are not exceptionally accommodating. It totally depends on log explanations, assuming articulation isn't organized in standard organization, and it gives mistaken outcomes.

Pros:

Splunk Light is ideal for independent on-premise organization. Augment endpoint logging. Can find and store logs from a wide range of resources. Customization of dashboards. Making applications dependent on your requirements.

Cons:

Complex generally design. Long execution time. The instrument needs to incorporate AI to comprehend the framework logs and alarming ought to be founded on the auto learning.

shaik
shaik
Associate Software Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One of the best place to check large amount of the logs information.Every companies best tool.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: make our business life easy

Pros:

The best thing about this software is i love its UI part and its dashboard where it provides the logs of all the enterprise application every business which has large amount of the transactions being held are required to maintain this tool and its logging and search frequency are very much loved and dash board has very colourful UI and easily understandable

Cons:

There is no least about this software but we are looking for some more enhanced featured like optimisation and all