15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence Reviews

About SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence

Application to help you optimize business performance by connecting people, information, and businesses across business networks.

Learn more about SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence

Pros:

Easy to set up the backoffice part of the tool.

Cons:

Error messages are often hard to decipher, in terms of actionable next steps to resolve. Some better instructions during error cases would go a long way.

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.0

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 234 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (234)

Austin
Austin
Global Operations Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Sporting Goods, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

SAP BO - the ultimate Reporting Platform

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: SAP BO has provided the most user-friendly and also complex reporting system that is available. Being a daily user, I find that the system is easy to understand and allows the user a certain level of creativity. I also appreciate that SAP maintains up-to-date changes for new data connections and patches for correcting known issues.

Pros:

SAP BO provides a vast array of capabilities for using data across our companies' systems and provides expansive tools to process and display our data. SAP BO allows us to use large amounts of data across multiple instances (such as EWM, S4, etc.) and consume the data quickly and easily. It also allows for many different reporting designs, formats, and use cases for our reporting needs

Cons:

SAP BO is a complex system that sometimes requires knowledge of the schema integration in order to solve issues. This does not allow for everyday users that are not power users to self-service issues and can lead to a developer backlog. Also, our company has run into issues that were only able to be solved by SAP and there was a large lead time in waiting for a solution.

Noam
Founder in US
Media Production, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Comprehensive SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence Solution

5.0 last year

Comments: I have been using SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence for my data analysis needs for the past few years. While the setup process is complicated and can be expensive, I have found the software to be incredibly powerful and feature-rich. With its intuitive user interface and customizable dashboards, it has made analyzing data and uncovering new insights easier than ever.

Pros:

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence is an incredibly comprehensive and feature-rich BI solution. It provides users with an array of tools for data analysis, reporting, and visualization, making it easy to identify trends and insights from data. The software also offers customizable dashboards and intuitive user interface, allowing users to quickly and easily access the data they need.

Cons:

While SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence is a great tool for data analysis, it can be expensive and difficult to set up. Additionally, it requires a significant amount of technical knowledge in order to get the most out of the software.

faaiz
Software Engineer in Germany
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A must have BI platform if you are using SAP

4.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

I really like the simplicity and interactive visuals it provides. The KPI measurement is really good and real time reporting is quite useful.

Cons:

The real time reporting can be improved.

Keith
VP, IT in US
Warehousing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SAP Business Objects - Watch your wallet

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: This company has draconian licensing and contract renewal process. They are not willing to work with consumers on any part of renegotiating a contract. For this reason alone I would never recommend this product to a colleague.

Pros:

Business Objects has a great number of features. Report scheduling, dashboarding, and data file exports were some of the major features I used in this package.

Cons:

Version upgrades are extremely difficult to perform without consulting. Troubleshooting messages tend to be cryptic which makes troubleshooting a laborious and tedious process.

William
FP&A Analyst in Brazil
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Global reports standardization

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: A good tool, but with a medium learning curve for new users

Pros:

Possibility to apply to different regions of company operations in the world, make it standard. Crosschecks rules to ensure consistent reports

Cons:

No low code It demands techinal team queue to update business needs.

Juan
Sales Manager in Peru
Retail, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

You need to take the next step.

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: In general it is a good tool, but it is becoming a bit outdated in the face of new alternatives.

Pros:

It is a tool that can be integreted with other applications, it can also work with a lot of data and build ad hoc reports. Finally, reporting creation from information cubes is friendly when youa are heavy user.

Cons:

Something that needs to be improved is the visualization of the reports, they should migrate to a more user-friendly dashboard. Another issue is that it is a bit complex to understand how it works when you just start using it.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy and Convenient

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: It's easy and fun to drag and drop columns, but as I mentioned above, the Informatin Design Tool application is a bit slow. I recommend Sap Bo in general.

Pros:

I can easily find the solution in internet. And I can easily drag and drop the columns of the tables I selected in DFX to BLX.

Cons:

Information Design Tool app to be accelerated for the designer

Brus
Brus
Head of Marketing Business Development in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

SAP BusinessObjects- BI reporting

4.0 8 months ago

Comments: One of the best aspects of SAP BusinessObjects is its easy to use GUI, which allows even those who are not well versed in SQL to create complex reports. I find it very convenient to share these reports between different people and business units. The system's ease of use is further highlighted by its Excel-based design; It works similar to a pivot table, making data manipulation simpler.

Pros:

I have been using SAP Business for reporting and data visualization, and it has been very helpful in meeting our organization's requirements. We have connected it with multiple databases such as DB2 and Sybase, and its data storage capabilties are quite robust. The platform is undoubtedly powerful and capable of handling heavy tasks with ease.

Cons:

The learning curve is long, training is needed to be able to handle it properly, the user interface needs improvement, so that it is easier and more intuitive to use.

Gordon
Senior SAP Consultant in Canada
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

This is a Key component of SAP Business One for integration and reporting

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: This is a tool that offers additional functionality for data integration and reporting in the SAP ecosystem.

Pros:

- Sap Business Objects intelligence allows you to integrated data from various sources in the SAP Business One. You can connect external systems., data sources and databases or the web into a format that can be used in Sap Business One for reporting and analysis purposes.- The data integrated from the various sources ten allows users to create reports to enhance data driven decision making. - The solution is highly customizable, allowing users to define their own mappings and data integration rules to suite their own specific needs.- This is a form of data automation that inherently reduces manual data entry which an be prone to errors. Additionally, the changes in the data from the external sources are be reflected in SAP in real time to always ensure that data is upto date.

Cons:

- The whole process of implementing SAP Business Objects intelligence can be complex and requires specialized skills and expertise which in turn leads to higher implementation costs which can be unaffordable for small businesses.- While doing the integration, there usually arise data compatibility issues which might be complex to solve.

Ankush
Ankush
Finance Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SAP BI: Build queries with ease

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: - SAP BI is a gamechanger tool for any organization. SAP BI is suitable for the organizations using SAP ERP system as it is very easy to integrate
- SAP BI is recommended for medium and large enterprises.

Pros:

SAP BI is a very dynamic and user friendly tool. SAP BI helps in developing data queries and analyze data. SAP BI save lots of time and efforts while creating reports. The best features in SAP BI are: - Automating and scheduling reports - Real time data synchronization

Cons:

Although SAP BI is very powerful tool and easy to integrate with the SAP ERP system but have following limitations: - Sometimes real time data synchronization takes time that leads to difference in actual and reporting figures - Training and understanding of SAP BI takes time and efforts

Ruby
Test Lead in India
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A great business analytics and reporting tool

5.0 last year

Comments: I have personally used this application for more than 10 years and it has been a significant report for our reporting requirements. We generate reports both in pdf and excel, depending on our requirement and the reports do contain the prompts for the checker to verify the reports if needed.

Pros:

SAP BusinessObjects is one of the best reporting tool. The tool can be well integrated with one of your main database (in our case it was Flexcube) to produce a number of reports for your clients and investors. It's very much easy to use and requires little or no training for the users to implement. Probably, one of the best features of this application is it's report scheduler which can schedule your reports as per your prompts and you can easily have them saved in a particular drive of your choice.

Cons:

One of the critical issues that I encountered while using SAP BusinessObjects is it inbox reporting. Most of the reports for a user would be available as Global reports however certain specific customised reports are sent to the inbox of the user where that user can only run the same report and will not be available for other users. While accessing the inbox reports, we often encountered issues where the user was not able to run the report or the report will get deleted automatically after some time or the report output will be very slow.

Patrick
Business Analyst in Cameroon
Telecommunications, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SAB BO Administration

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Check every the status of all the services.
Publish and schedule a report
Create a report with Crystal Report
Create triggers

Pros:

Possibility to schedule a report with different parameter and send it by mail to different user. You can send a report in many format (xlsx, Pdf, etc) Triggers features when you schedule a report

Cons:

Administration is not easy, many services to check every day. Consume a lot of Memory and CPU. In case of crash, the reinstallation is very difficult and too long.

Dhruv
Sap business object developer in India
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sap business object overall review

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: Sap business object is very ease to use for end user.there are someR very useful and user friendly tools which can be operate or handle by end user like web intelligence , explorer, lumira etc. In other end, there are other functionality and tools like dashboard,design studio , information design tool. Sap business object is platform independent and robust. Having great features of drill down,dynamic receipent ,enterprise reciepent.

Pros:

Sap business object is very ease to use for end user.there are someR very useful and user friendly tools which can be operate or handle by end user like web intelligence , explorer, lumira etc. In other end, there are other functionality and tools like dashboard,design studio , information design tool. Sap business object is platform independent and robust. Having great features of drill down,dynamic receipent ,enterprise recipient.

Cons:

Sap business object , for create the universe need knowldge of database and query and fundametals.

Guido
Digital Marketing Manager and E-commerce Manager in Italy
Furniture, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The perfect B.I. for mid-size companies

5.0 last year

Comments: It has been used as main reporting tool of the company: all the teams used to receive the automatic reports in the morning and all teams had the capability to generate on-demand reports.

Pros:

I appreciate above all its flexibility when I need to create ad hoc reports.It's very powerful, even if a bit complicated at the begining, and it really allows business users to drill down into data and get the information they need.

Cons:

It requires an adequate training in order to use it at its best.It's a bit complicated, especially to understand all its functionalities and reporting capabilities.

Pawan
Sr. Report Development Specialist in US
Biotechnology, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good tool for developing reports, but not quite nimble enough

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The overall architecture of BO XI (with UDT v14.2.7.3130) is intuitive to understand. Most of my experience, however, has been using it with derived tables for more flexibility in the clinical trial space. This is one of the features that I like because it allows me to not only deliver custom reports but also standardized reports that integrate data from different sources.

Cons:

I think that BO's lack of OLAP functionality could use some beefing up. In my company, it's usually BO, Spotfire or Tableau that are used for reporting. If BO had OLAP capabilities, processes within the company that rely heavily on other tools may also change to account for that.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Biotechnology, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

powerful and customizable analytics

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Establishing a culture of self service analytics within the organization with initial training and support as and when required.

Pros:

SAP business objects is an easy to learn and use analytical tool especially in the context of self service analytics by end users. One is able to re-use the same query and also share the query with other users as well and modify the query at any given time for customization purposes. It is also fast.

Cons:

As with any new tool, there is an initial learning curve to get ramped up - however there is fairly good documentation available for this purpose. In addition, need good network bandwidth especially when there are multiple users trying to run queries at the same time

Brittany
Controller in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Used as Central Management Console

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

We use SAP Business Objects in conjunction with Crystal Reports to provide web based links for our employees to run on their own within the constraints of the parameters. I like that it is easy to navigate and sort by file name. The organization of information is clear and straightforward and it is easy to customize how you want to see things.

Cons:

I wish there were options to add certain columns to your view. For example if I want to sort by name or last update, I can, no problem. But if i want to get any details on frequency or last time a user ran a report, i have to either go into the settings or run a report.

Wojciech
Owner in Poland
Professional Training & Coaching, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Advanced business analytics

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I create dashboard to present sales information. It's great to be able to do it with "blank paper" and add visual elements connected to externa data. It's easy to build what-if analysis ad-hoc during business meetings.

Pros:

I use SAP solutions to create dashboards and visual reports. What I like in SAP BO, that we can create powerful and innovative presentations - from 0 to our vision. I use many of all great options like: - maps - charts - gauges - sliders. Except that, it's possible to add external data and visual elements like shetchnotes and files from other formats. What is very important, reports are interactive, so we can create what-if analysis in easy way, with our vision in out minds. Dashboards can be connnected to external data sources like Excel or databases.

Cons:

It would be great to be able to work more without specific informatics knowledge. It would be great to see more options to share final work with others.

William
William
SCS in US
Logistics & Supply Chain, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Lots of layers

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I've used this platform for years and am proficient at it and because of this I'm a fan.

Pros:

SAP in our business of distribution and logistics is very complex and can gather a mass of data. It excels at drilling down to fine detail and tracking of inventory and sales down to number of turns and we use all of this data to drive our business. For this it is a great platform.

Cons:

Because of it's many layers and it's complexity it creates an environment where it can be cumbersome to create orders and quotes.

Ash
Accountant in US
Education Management, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Data minded Accounting Software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We no longer need auditors to create our own CAFR for us, the cost savings is immense, able to provide quick budget reports to end-users

Pros:

Once you know how to utilize the system, the data and information you can obtain and reports that you can set up are endless

Cons:

Very challenging for non-accounting minded folks to understand, difficult for beginners to use without lots of support, customer service is non-existent

Prince
Consultant in Australia
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

SQL, BI, Reporting&Analytics

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

You have options to upgrade, SAP Lumira is the next amazing product to always upgrade to when you are ready for the next level of analytics and graphical representation of your data

Cons:

SAP BI itself is still stagnant in its improvements, sticking on to the traditional functionalities of the product, it has a huge gap between its next level of reporting.

Ben
IT BI Analyst in US
Utilities
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

SAP Business Objects Helping Us Gain Visibility and Transparency

4.5 8 years ago

Pros:

In my opinion, not all SAP BO offerings are equal, but several are very useful. The offerings we have chosen to utilize will, without doubt, help us to transform our business. The offerings I find most useful for helping our field personnel and leadership get a better understanding of their environment are Lumira, Crystal Reports, Information Design Tool and HANA Studio. The Implementation of HANA is critical for reaching the next level of performance as well. SAP has very good customer service and the free education and learning resources are very useful.

Cons:

As with any new product there are bugs and errors. I have been frustrated at times with the newer software and sometimes even the more mature software can be frustrating.

Jill
Commissions Manager in US
Financial Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Business Objects

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I use Business Objects every day and get the data I need.

Pros:

This product give us the ability to pull reports with ease. Once you have successfully composed a report, you are able to build on the structure as needed.

Cons:

Sometimes finding a field can be difficult if you are not sure what exactly you are looking for. With time, this gets easier.

Henrijs
BI specialist in Latvia
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy BI tool

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Apart for loading speedn, its well designed, intuitive and easy to maintain.

Pros:

Easy to set up the backoffice part of the tool. Simple way how to organize and manage access rights. Perfect for dashboard customization, its even possible to add some html code and thus custom designs and outputs.

Cons:

The data universes takes some time to load. It takes time for system end users to learn how to create and format their ad-hoc reports.

Brian
Owner in Argentina
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It is a great suite of products

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: It provides an analytic suit, easy to work and with a great look and feel.

Pros:

It has different product for every user type. From excel integration to mobile funcionality. It is very complete.

Cons:

It would be better to have a strongest desktop tool to work with webis, etc. the roadmap of SAP BO tool is changing very fast.