15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About Paylocity

All-in-one, modern HR and payroll solutions that make real-time smart recommendations to help you drive better business outcomes.

Learn more about Paylocity

Pros:

I liked the integration with my tax software. I only exported my payroll information, reviewed it, and that's it.

Cons:

The dashboard is TOO confusing for some people-this is NOT technologically inept friendly at all.

Paylocity ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

7.9/10

Paylocity has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 832 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Paylocity before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (832)

Nicole
Nicole
Director of Human Resources in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

User friendly HRIS

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Paylocity has been amazing through and through. We have been able to do so many great engagement activities thanks to Community. Managers are able to submit journal entries on the go for quick responses and feedback.

Pros:

We love the mobile capability for our team. Most features are accessible from smartphones, which helps our technicians in the field.

Cons:

The benefits of EDI transfers were more of an issue that it's worth implementing. Rates changes and the open enrollment spreadsheet is cumbersome. It's our least favorite product.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Well-rounded HRIS

4.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

I've had many employees mention how easy the platform is to use. I, myself, enjoy the ease of set up and administration. Especially when it comes to implementing NEW modules, the team has been great.

Cons:

It can me almost TOO many options. But, for a certain size company, I can see the additional options becoming more important.

Victoria
Education coordinator in US
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Facebook for work

3.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: It is similar to Facebook but for work. There are chats and pages to get to. Depending on the district you fall under, you have your own work tree.

Pros:

What I like most about Paylocity is the chat with other people

Cons:

When I need to find a page and I can't find it. And that I cannot remove people from a previous chat so I see all of these chats that I can't just leave from.

Tasha
Regional Director in US
Civic & Social Organization, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Paylocity is a great tool to use!!!

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: My overall experience with Paylocity has been great!

Pros:

I really like the trainings that Paylocity offers.

Cons:

Some of the trainings that paylocity offers seems to repeat a lot of the same information over and over again.

Stephanie
HR Consultant in US
Human Resources, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great HRIS System

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

User friendly, great reporting options.

Cons:

The Performance Review setup is not very easy to manage

Sanchit
Sanchit
Software Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

An absolute disaster of a software

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: Gets the job done but Gusto is way, way better/more intuitive.

Pros:

- Pay breakdown visualization is very useful - Customer service is good - Feature rich, and i'm told the pricing is fairer than Gusto - Paperless

Cons:

- UI is terrible. Dated, and a pain to use. I used to look forward to opening gusto. I dread opening paylocity. - No export for company directory - No company holidays calendar - The time off request input form is extremely confusing. Setting up an approval chain is near impossible. - Navigating the interface is a pain, I shouldn't have to read a help article each time I want to figure out how to edit a small field. - Why do we need to enter the company ID each time we login?

Cherina
US
Marketing & Advertising
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Paylocity - Web Pay

3.5 9 years ago

Pros:

Paylocity Web Pay is so easy. I love the fact I have access to this portal from anywhere. This option allows me to transmit payroll, run reports, update records from home, vacation, etc. Adding/deleting new earnings/deduction codes can be done by me. I do not need to get the approval from Paylocity to update my account settings. Employees can easily find their way around the portal, if used frequently. It's a slow learning process but eventually they embrace it. Managers have access to their team's information so instead of me providing the info they need, they will log into the portal and look for the info. Report writing is very simple. I am able to customize my own reports. I still export into Excel and format it, but overall, pulling the info I need is easy enough to do. There is a phone app for Paylocity, which is employee friendly! This is a great option if you're not in front of a computer to update personal info and submit time off requests. Reports live on the cloud, so no hard copies are provided when payroll is transmitted.

Cons:

One thing I like least about this product is managing time off. We use a different system to track time and unfortunately the two systems do not talk to one another. We Pay does allow for me to keep into account the employee's time off to reflect their pay. Unfortunately, because of our industry, the time off submitted is always not so accurate so the system is set up to only track time off requests. I manually have to enter taken time - info based from extracting data from other system being used. I don't know if this system offers mass updates. I don't know if I can change a deduction amount across the board. For example, I had to increase each employee's medical premium by going into their records. It would have been nice if I had the ability to mass update all the employee's premiums based on specs. I would love it if I can edit a canned report. This option is not available.

Cates
employee in US
Hospitality, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Employee time tracking

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

I used the Paylocity app to track my time on the job - clocking in and clocking out daily. The ease of the app was great!

Cons:

I didn't run into any negative aspects of the app.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great payroll software

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

Easy to navigate and find paystuvs, tax forms, employee payroll info

Cons:

Would like more customization to hide features not being utilized

Megan
Sampling coordinator in US
Environmental Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Chunky but functional

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

All areas of the employee experience in one place

Cons:

Some functions are hard to use, or more difficult than they need to be

Corina
Human Resources Business Partner in US
Retail, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

So good, selected a 2nd time

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I first used Paylocity 10 years ago at a prior employer when we were changing our payroll system. When I left that company last year, we were still using Paylocity and happy with the services it provided. At my new employer, I was tasked with finding a way to leave a P.E.O. and researched several other systems before settling on Paylocity again. For the functionality and the pricing, Paylocity was very competitive for what we needed.

Pros:

The features that Paylocity offers for an entire HCM system is very easy to use and implement.

Cons:

It isn't always scalable. Some features that get rolled out are in the early stages making them difficult to implement all the time because the pieces desired are missing. We had originally planned to use the recruiting and applicant tracking system but it would take so long to set-up, it doesn't make sense to move from what we have been using that has so much of our previous history already available.

BARBARA
Corporate Controller in US
Wholesale, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very Satisfied

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Having our payroll taxes and tax returns taken care of and the assistance in resolving problems. Saves us time and worry.
Paylocity can accommodate the employees with every deposit needs and changes, which again save us time in trying to meet those requests.

Pros:

The ease of processing is what I like most about the software. It is functional to our needs, especially the tracking of hours, wages, and benefits which make reporting and budgeting easier. Best customer service.

Cons:

The most difficult to understand is the ACA tracking. Some employees always need fixing. Entering Holidays from year to year sometimes has issues in making sure that it automatically loads into employee files.

Angela
Payroll Manager in US
Hospital & Health Care, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Very Intuitive and User Frendly System

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have worked in many systems and Paylocity is by far my preference. Their implementations are smooth and their product is exactly what they promote it to be. Their robust reporting features have allowed us to better support our finance team in creating more accurate financial backup. The ease of use for our users has created more accurate timekeeping and labor cost allocations.

Pros:

Paylocity is very a very intuitive system. All of our team members, from the more computer savvy to the infrequent computer users liked the ease of use of Paylocity.

Cons:

I really don't have any negative feedback. Paylocity is very good about collecting feedback from customers and working to implement changes in the software to meet their clients needs. Many companies say that, but I have witnessed in many instances that Paylocity has DONE it.

Sue
VP, Finance and Operations in US
Financial Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Pros and Cons

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall it has been a good experience and a good value for the price.

Pros:

We are a small firm (10 employees), so we did not need a robust system to manage our current payroll. We were looking for something which would grow with us, so we wouldn't need to change systems. Paylocity offers many tools which we are not currently using, but will need in the future. It is very easy to run Payroll, Customer Service is timely in their responses and keeping the customer updated if an issue takes a little more time to resolve.

Cons:

The connection to our financial software system, QuickBooks Online, is not intuitive. Even after a year and a half of using Paylocity, the connection is still not set up properly because the heavy lifting is done by the user. It would be helpful if Paylocity would take a more active role in setting up the link.

Kelly
HR Director in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great product; a lot of personnel changes recently

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, Paylocity has really helped my organization come out of the "dark ages". I love that we are no longer a paper and pen company!

Pros:

I love the Paylocity platform! It's intuitive and I like how most of the functionality "speaks" to each other (i.e. you can send hires in the recruiting function over to the onboarding function and then over to payroll).

Cons:

Within the last year I have had a LOT of change in my account managers - both my main rep and my benefits rep. It's a bit frustrating because I was working with my old reps on stuff that the new folks don't necessarily know about and then I have to explain the issue all over again.

Eleanor
Human Resources in US
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Payroll Processing Platform with integrated human resources tools

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, my experience with Paylocity has been very beneficial. Each obstacle that our company has faced in terms of HR and payroll, Paylocity has been able to guide us through. Paylocity is a great platform for facilitating and administrating employment details.

Pros:

This software comprehensively ties together many aspects of a human resources department. This makes it easy for a small business owner who may not necessarily need to hire a individual dedicated human resources to facilitate the necessary components of providing wholesome employment. Paylocity has strong reporting and data processing in addition to robust customer support that effectively and efficiently help troubleshoot potential obstacles.

Cons:

It seems that some aspects of the software don't exactly tie together. For example, when entering an hourly employee group in HR and Payroll, I often forget to add them into employee groups in time and labor. Subsequently, the supervisor has no way of tracking the employee's timecard. Additionally managing benefits in the employee's payroll file versus the HR file. Although this may be because our company does not fully utilize the benefits package that Paylocity offers.

JOSE
CFO in US
Environmental Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Paylocity really works for us

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall the customer support is one of the best I ever dealt with.

Pros:

all the features for the price...I can post jobs, manage applicants, onboard them, and move them to Payroll with one system...

Cons:

The employee training and compliance training is lacking and I don't appreciate them charging a price for these features that seem to me should be included.

Tom
Human Resources Director in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Some flaws, but still probably the best HR system I've used.

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall experience has been positive. Can escalate service issues with Paylocity sales staff as needed.

Pros:

The system is constantly being updated. Previous issues I've had with the system, such as confusion on how job descriptions are listed have been fixed in future updates.

Cons:

Reporting can be a struggle since many standard reports from Paylocity involve merged cells without one single row of data. Customer service is very hit or miss depending on responds to the requests.

Cassondra
Senior Manager, Human Resources in US
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great for small to mid-size US organizations.

2.0 6 months ago

Comments: We did not have a good experience with Paylocity. While the customer service was good, the product is not good for international employers. Reporting was never right, because the data they put in from implementation was entered incorrectly and we could never get it fixed after that.

Pros:

Paylocity was very user friendly and pretty much plug and play after implementation.

Cons:

Paylocity is not a good tool if you have people in multiple countries, because each company is set up like a different company and they don't necessairly talk to one another.

Weston
VP in US
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great system that's flexible and I can pay for what I need

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I love the interface and intuitive location of tabs. Finding what I need is easy and the search gets me answers to most questions without having to call tech support

Cons:

I don't like that my account manager keeps changing, I understand turn over is high currently but it's much better to not have to "fill in" each person I call on whatever issue we were working on. There is currently a gap between what we can do remotely on the mobile app and what we can do in the browser based system. I need more functionality on the mobile devices.

Jacquelyn
Payroll Manager in US
Real Estate, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Payroll Service

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Paylocity has made our jobs easier, more accurate, more efficient and take less time to look up the history of an employee. If something goes wrong, Paylocity fixes it right away, their customer services is impeccable, they are attentive and very knowledgeable in the payroll and hr field. I love that they are compliant in each state which makes making sure we are compliant in all areas easy.

Pros:

I love Paylocity. The reports are easy to use, I can even create a custom report for exactly what I am looking for. I love the ease of adding a new employee, setup between multiple services is amazing and makes our job that much easier.

Cons:

Transferring an employee between different companies. That section does not work properly. I feel that I should be able to click on what I would like to transfer from 1 company to the next.

LeighAnn
HR Manager in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

You can do SOOO much better

2.0 5 years ago

Comments: None. I spent SOO much time trying to fix issues on a regular basis. Complete waste of time.

Pros:

GPS tracking for mobile punchers. Nothing more

Cons:

Oh gosh...how much time do you have??? There are so many issues. I guess I'll try to hit the highlights. The City mandated paid sick time- it took them SIX MONTHS to get this programmed CORRECTLY. My ACA forms were completed incorrectly. I received notices from the IRS for two of my four companies that the forms needed to be redone and resubmitted. Paylocity never responded to my WEEKLY requests for updates on the status of the corrections. I ended up manually correcting and resubmitting myself. We made updates to our 401k plan. It took a month for them to get the matches calculated correctly and we didn't know until Q3 that when they did the set-up, they click a box to over-ride IRS regs (WHY is there even such a thing???) so I had employees that over contributed and over matched. When raising the issue with PL, the Rep said to just refund the excess (clearly he had no idea about 401k rules). On another occassion, last check of the year, my payroll person had to re-process a check for someone with 401k. When re-running the check she noticed the 401k contribution was missing (she didn't realize he hit the yearly max) so she contacted Paylocity. The Rep told her to CHANGE THE EMPLOYEE'S DOB!!!! so the system would allow a catch-up contribution and then change it back after she processed the check. HE WAS NOT ALLOWED A CATCH-UP. Needless to say, the employee received a distribution the next year for the excess contribution. HORRIBLE response to issues.

Becky
Sr. Director of Human Resources in US
Entertainment, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Highly Recommend

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, I've been really really with Paylocity. I think they've done a really fantastic job updating the system for COVID related issues such as FFCRA, ERC, etc. For that, I am very very very thankful.

Pros:

The customer service is really great. I am able to call my dedicated service person any day of the week and they know me and my needs. If my dedicated service person is ever unavailable, then the other reps i contact are very helpful as well.... you don't see this with every HRIS system. They also seem to care about our requests for system improvements which I think is critical. I find this system fairly easy to use given my experience with other systems. The reporting is good for the most part although some custom reports cost extra which is not cool. I have really enjoyed the in-person conference offered to clients especially since they let clients meet one-on-one with the actual product developers and ask questions and make suggestions for needed upgrades. Upgrades come on a regular basis and are available to users immediately without changing "products" which is fantastic compared to some other vendors.

Cons:

The modules i am not using like applicant tracking, recruitment, onboarding, benefits management, etc. aren't really built out enough to make them worth the high price. I still have to use other software for all of those services because i've found better vendors that do most of what i need and they aren't as expensive as the Paylocity add-on. It's too bad, because I'd really like to use one system for everything. Upper management is not accessible which is disappointing. There is no way to add volunteers and independent contractors into the HRISI system for free - this is usually available from HRIS systems.

Ean
Controller in US
Accounting, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Alternatives Considered:

Fantastic all in one

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, now that everything is set up and correct, we couldn't be happier with the system. It does everything we need, plus some, and it's an all in one portal instead of having to log into 5 or 6 different systems all the time. The employees love it also since they can access everything they need in one place as well.

Pros:

This combines several different services together in one place. Recruiting, HRIS, payroll, timekeeping, and even benefit admin are all in one system. Using one database for all of these systems, there is no repeat of data entry, which lowers the opportunity for mistakes dramatically. The employees have access to their own profile and can make changes and view their paystubs and tax documents at their leisure. Getting rid of the multiple different service providers saved us a bunch of money at the same time.

Cons:

Implementation of a new system always has its issues, but the implementation team for our job seemed a little inept. There were several mistakes made that took quite a bit of time (both my team's and their's) to fix.

Jill
Financial Supervisor in US
Individual & Family Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We use the Payroll Management module primarily.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have been pleased with Paylocity and the support.

Pros:

I like that I can always call and get help if I ever forget how to access a feature or perform a task. I've also been impressed with Paylocity's ability to stay on top of the legislative changes over the past year (mainly due to COVID-19).

Cons:

We've recently seen a demonstration of a competitor that would help my co-worker in HR. The competitor's software can track when licensing, etc. is going to expire and automatically send email or text reminders to the employee and follows up to make sure they complete the task. They also have a way for employees to acknowledge receipt of documents specific to them. Paylocity's system (as of the last time I checked) only allows you to make the documents available to all staff whether or not it applies to them.