15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

IBM Maximo Application Suite Reviews

About IBM Maximo Application Suite

An Asset Lifecycle Management solution powered by AI that brings together EAM, APM and RCM for optimizing all your assets.

Learn more about IBM Maximo Application Suite

Pros:

Maximo can be customized quite a bit to fit different needs for different users. This allows you to set different priorities and Maximo will fit your specific requirements.

Cons:

The cost of maintaining a custom integration between Maximo and those systems is just to high compared to integrations between Maximo and less demanding systems.

IBM Maximo Application Suite ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Service
3.7
Features
4.2
Value for Money
3.7

Likelihood to recommend

7.7/10

IBM Maximo Application Suite has an overall rating of 4.2 out 5 stars based on 79 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used IBM Maximo Application Suite before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (79)

Greg
Greg
Mechanical Reliability Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Pharmaceuticals, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Essential for Reliability Centered Maintenance

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Maximo is an essential piece of software for any maintenance organization to track and manage work orders, manpower, and maintenance costs. Routes are especially useful for setting up preventative and predictive maintenance in the most effective and efficient manors. To get the most out of Maximo carefully plan the structure of your asset and location heirarchy and ensure every asset is included.

Pros:

Ability to track and manage work orders so you understand what is happening at your facility. Re-using and duplicating job plans takes away the tediousness of writing equipment specific maintenance procedures.

Cons:

Very powerful for building and tracking maintenance KPI's but can take training and experience to use to it's full potential.

Bima
Logistic management supervisor in Indonesia
Business Supplies & Equipment, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

theres alternatives, but IBM maximo perform at it cost

4.0 last year

Comments: As someone who has been using IBM Maximo Application Suite for the past 2 years, I can confidently say that it is an exceptional asset management solution. During this time, I've come to appreciate its intuitive and user-friendly interface, which has made it easy for me to manage my assets efficiently.One of the features that I particularly like about Maximo is its ability to integrate with other IBM technologies and products, allowing me to streamline my operations and reduce complexity. This has been a huge help in ensuring that my assets are well-maintained and that downtime is kept to a minimum.Another aspect of Maximo that I appreciate is its customization and scalability. Whether I'm working with a small asset base or a large one, I've found that Maximo is highly adaptable and can grow with my needs. Additionally, I've been impressed by the security features built into the software, which provide me with peace of mind knowing that my sensitive information is protected.Finally, I've found Maximo to be highly configurable and flexible, allowing me to easily adapt to changing business requirements. Whether I'm looking to optimize my asset management processes or simply manage my assets more effectively, Maximo has been an indispensable tool.In conclusion, I would highly recommend IBM Maximo Application Suite to anyone looking for a comprehensive and effective solution for managing their assets. Based on my own experience using the software for the past 2 years, I c

Pros:

Comprehensive asset management solution: IBM Maximo Application Suite offers a range of capabilities, from asset lifecycle management to maintenance and repair operations, that help organizations optimize their asset performance, minimize downtime, and reduce costs.

Cons:

Implementation and maintenance costs: The cost of implementing and maintaining IBM Maximo Application Suite, including the software itself and any associated services, can be substantial. Additionally, the initial implementation and ongoing maintenance and upgrades may require significant resources.

Blake
Blake
Sr. Systems Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Utilities, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Complicated Asset Management Tool

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: I feel like in trying to be endlessly customizable, Maximo is endlessly complex. We have daily issues with users not being able to execute basic functions of their job (finding old work orders, searching for an asset, setting up a custom queue, etc.)

Pros:

1. Highly customizable. 2. Runs in a virtual environment. 3. Made by IBM, so it'll be around for the foreseeable future.

Cons:

1. Very busy UI. 2. Screen-to-screen navigation is clunky (browser back button breaks) 3. The search is more complicated than it should be, nearly unusable. 4. Our company's "Quick Guide" is 45 pages long—that's saying something. 5. Need multiple IT developers and DBA's to run the software at an enterprise level.

Adi
Project Manager in United Arab Emirates
Oil & Energy
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Maximo expert started as a consultant and now at the client side

4.0 8 years ago

Pros:

Capable and has amazing industry verticals which set Maximo apart from all competitors. The addition of HSE manager was a great value and the recent Supply Chain functionalities enhancement were spot on. Overall, when it comes to having an out of the box product with deep industry understanding, Maximo is the way to go.

Cons:

##Product 1: The product lacks standards business processes, just like SAP, Maximo must ship with standard business process. Stressing on the same point, I'd rather spend time and money understanding the standard business process and using it as a starting point than having the absolute freedom to create whatever because this is where "replicating legacy systems" starts. ##Product 2: It is difficult to justify Maximo investment compared to Oracle EBS or SAP! unless you really need a specific industry vertical, Maximo is one system which require million integrations. Hence, Maximo must ship with, not only the excellent MIF capability, but also with free integration adapters to major systems from Oracle and SAP. The cost of maintaining a custom integration between Maximo and those systems is just to high compared to integrations between Maximo and less demanding systems. ##Vendor 1: If IBM is not able to provide a fully integrated ERP system, then they have to make the product more appealing by reducing the cost of getting up and integrated with the existing ERP system. Not only by offering a generic way to integrate but also to provide a set configurable integration adapters with business cases. ##Vendor 2: The licensing scheme has to be revised to become more flexibly, every product has weaknesses compared to competitors and if IBM cannot offer a full ERP then they must take it easy and compensate somewhere else.

Miley
Customer Experience Manager in Egypt
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The most comprehensive asset management software in the market

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: IBM Maximo is a powerful software that is loved by us and our clients when they figure out the ease of use and how they're capable of managing their large base of assets with the extensive capabilities of Maximo. This masterpiece from IBM is very powerful and can be used for different applications. One great example of how the software can be used is to assign tickets to different employees based on the type of work they do. Maximo allows employees to choose from a wide range of applications.

Pros:

Maximo is one of IBM's masterpieces, with true comprehensiveness to manage enterprise assets. It is powerful and versatile, and it's easy to use. It's by far the only end-to-end asset management software on the market. It can serve as a centralized database for your equipment, and it will help monitor and manage your assets. If you have a lot of equipment, Maximo is the way to go. It can help you keep track of everything, and it has all of the tools you need for managing, maintaining, and servicing your equipment.

Cons:

I find the product's ease of use to be its best feature and also the most frustrating. The user interface is confusing when attempting to learn how the program functions; modules have similar features, but not all of them are intuitive. I switch between browsers depending on which one works best for different tasks.

Rania
Technical Solutions Architect in Egypt
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Asset Management, Monitoring and Predictive Maintenance in a single tool

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: The IBM Maximo system is one of the best software that I have used. It has made countless tasks easier. There are many reports that can be customized to the needs of the company. The reports can be used to make decisions to help improve productivity and quality of service while keeping up with maintenance and failure predictions to prevent any previous failures from happening again in the future with the detailed in-depth historical reports.

Pros:

I have been using Maximo for about 2 years and have been very happy with the ease of use and the reports it generates. I have been using Maximo to track our equipment and work order requests. I have found the maintenance history reports to be helpful in predicting equipment failure. I also use it to track employee time and generate reports on individual employee work habits. It would be nice if it could compare time worked from day to day, but it does not so far.

Cons:

Maximo has many features that can be useful to businesses, but it may also be confusing for some users. The software is expensive, and much of its cost may be due to its advanced feature set.

María José
María José
Supervisora de almacén in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very powerful software, perfect for medium to large industries.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

What I like the most is: traceability, functionalities, conectivity. If you feed the software with good information, it will be a powerful tool for your company. You can keep track of a lot of things in one place. Perfect for maintenance management. Everyday I learn something new about it.

Cons:

What I like the least would be the ease of use, interface is not very friendly for user, in my opinion. When you learn two or three things you start understanding how every module works, because it's similar, but some things don't really make sense at the beginning. And some functionalities work better from one browser to other, so I keep changing browsers (from Edge to Chrome, for example)

Prachi
Prachi
IT Consultant in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good and User Friendly tool for ticketing purpose

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Essential tool for ticketing purpose. gives you ease of access to use this tool. able to generate reports and provides many features and customization as per requirement

Pros:

Able to track, create, modify, close, resolve tickets. multiple tickets can be assigned at a time, able to link tickets to one another. Easy to use, does not require much of training. able to calculate the SLA

Cons:

nothing much to dislike about this product

Jair
Jair
Voice Quality Assurance Engineer in Honduras
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great tool for company-wide activities and actives measurement.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It's easy to track progress and assign work to our team.

Pros:

It's so customizable you won't have enough time to use all its capabilities. It's a really robust platform which will benefit all you company.

Cons:

How heavy it is sometimes for my browser, it becomes so slow it is annoying. Also managment requires lot of study and support from IBM.

curt
customer service in US
Entertainment, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Maximo daily tickets and reportd

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: it was a useful ticket creation system

Pros:

creating a ticket in Maximo was easy enough. I created hundreds of tickets a week

Cons:

some required fields I could have done without . There did seem to be a log out issue where I would constantly have to log back in daily. The search feature is overly complicated and doesn't work at times.

Alejandro
IBM Maximo Consultant
Oil & Energy, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Good customization capabilities

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Good customization capabilities using application designer and data base configuration Easy to integrate with other systems with MIF. Very intuitive user interface

Cons:

Deployment can be complex Good consulting skills are key to success. Licensing model could be complicated.

rekha
SLM in India
Information Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Maximo

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: This has been widely used in IBM and other organizations, for ticketing purposes. It helps in documenting the IPC activities to the required customized level.

Pros:

This tool provides ITService management ticketing tool Options with low cost. It has features at par with competitive tools, providing Incident, problem, change modules.

Cons:

service level reporting module can be improved

Jaime
Document Controller in UK
Railroad Manufacture, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Asset tool

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Great software to keep track of your assets and the status of them

Pros:

This software is ideal for companies with a lot of assets to keep track of. I use the tool to run reports on the status of changes made to our trains but I know it has the capacity to do so much more.

Cons:

It isn't all that user friendly but with the right teacher it is easily navigated. The software can be slow at times but then I deal with a lot of data which may be why

OreOluwa
Guest Services Assistant in UK
Facilities Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Work order tracking made easy!

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, it gets the job done regardless of the time out.

Pros:

The fact that you have records of work orders/job from years ago!!!

Cons:

It sometimes takes time load, causing lagging. Also don't like how quickly it times out

Ramesh
Consultant in Australia
Oil & Energy
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

8+ Year of experience in Maximo as a Senior Consultant

4.5 8 years ago

Pros:

Maximo can be used across domains. It also come with variety of addons and industry solutions provide options to choose best fit solution. IBM keep Maximo up to date with Market trends. Maximo is very easy to configure and tweak as per business need.

Cons:

Maximo Licence Cost is on higher side compare to other EAM product.

Prashant
Project Manager in India
Construction
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

One of the Best EAM Solution

4.5 8 years ago

Pros:

Architecture is very Modern and make use of latest technologies Most of the Industry Based solution available IBM Support for Product issues Very Flexible in Customisation as per Needs Excellent Integration Framework

Cons:

Licencing needs to be made more flexible as it is now.

Jagadish
Project Manager in India
Oil & Energy
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Maximo technical architect

3.5 8 years ago

Pros:

SOA frame work,applications supports maintenance domain

Cons:

Need focus more FMEA analysis and enhance product to handle important Reliability concepts,the way SAP is coming as a single platform for enterprise giving customers to re think on having separate infrastructure for Maximo.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Facilities Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Robust FM software

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Tracking of work orders and service requests is great, also assigning job codes to preventative maintenance plans and labor hour tracking.

Cons:

Ability to make changes or customizations to software

Sam
IT Manager in UK
Utilities
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Long time Maximo user

4.0 8 years ago

Pros:

Configuration from front end. Ease of use. The envirosphere associated with the product.

Cons:

Just so much to learn for any individual, and both training and documentation are difficult to manage just because of sheer volume.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Old Fashioned Business Workflow System

2.0 4 years ago

Comments: As final user, I never enjoyed that program. It is very hard to use and boring.

Pros:

I dont have any feature I liked about the product. This might be a good solution for software engineers who are dealing with design of workflows etc but this is not a product for final user.

Cons:

User interface is really really bad. Its user interface does not encourage you to use it. Even filling a simple from for raising a ticket is becoming a headache.

Maryann
ERP Support Specialist
Utilities, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Maximo Asset Management

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: Very pleased with Maximo. Especially as we head into Asset Management. We've been on Maximo since 1997. Currently on 7.5. Upgrading to 7.6 in 2017/2018.

Pros:

Ability to capture data on Work Orders. Notes, labor, materials, purchasing, invoicing and attachments. We also utilize routes, condition monitoring, and meters. Would like to know more about Asset Heath.

Daniel
Lead consultant.
Oil & Energy, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Lessons learned

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: Multiple implantation across several industries. Maximo experience in utilities, energy, manufacturing, transport, and municipalities.

Pros:

Highly configurable. Extensive out of box functionality. Constant updates and upgrades.

Cons:

High complexity. Expert advice required for successful implementation.

Carl
Business Analyst in US
Construction, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Maximo is good but could be better

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We are not currently using maximo any longer. We evaluated the program but decided to go in a different direction. By all means, give it a test run and see if it fits your needs.

Pros:

Maximo can be customized quite a bit to fit different needs for different users. This allows you to set different priorities and Maximo will fit your specific requirements. Maximo is also very powerful, and can handle inventory and workflow management.

Cons:

The learning curve for Maximo can be quite stiff. Also, in order to customize to its fullest capacity, Maximo will require a lot of hands on work from your IT team. It can be quite a handful to get up and running.

Angie
US
Food & Beverages
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Maximo is the way to go!

4.0 10 years ago

Pros:

I like how organized it is, how easy it is to use the QBRs to fit our company's results. Projetech is a fantastic company. Everyone is so very helpful; they are very organized, and they follow up quickly to see that your issue is resolved in a timely manner. I have never worked with a more organized support group than Projetech.

Cons:

I have not used the software long enough to have a least.

Mark
Mechanical Engineer in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Maximo

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

-Extremely customizable and flexibility to enter any information deemed necessary by your organization -Strong support team -Enterprise level allows for large scale asset tracking across multiple branches of the company

Cons:

-Expensive but get what you pay for -Can be confused by all of the bells and whistles when learning functionalities for the first time