15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About Dynatrace

Dynatrace provides software intelligence to simplify cloud complexity and accelerate digital transformation.

Learn more about Dynatrace

Pros:

Very good application performance monitoring software. Fast, efficient and easy to use.

Cons:

It has many features you may not need, and it is also hard to navigate to frequently used features due to its nature.

Dynatrace ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

Dynatrace has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 52 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Dynatrace before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (52)

Pulkit
Pulkit
Software Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Standard Tool for Monitoring . Love it and will recommend it for sure.

5.0 last year

Comments: Monitor Mulesofts APIs for Organization, Integrated a lot of OneAgents for Twilio SMS Monitoring, Integrated Custom plugin for Prometheus, etc.

Pros:

Whether you're a developer, IT operations expert, or business stakeholder, Dynatrace gives you everything you need to know on a single screen to execute your job well.

Cons:

Users may need to devote a lot of time and energy to learning how to utilise Dynatrace, especially those who are new to observability or who have not previously used tools of a similar nature.

Joseph
Senior Site Reliability Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Amazing APM tool for complete issue analysis and faster issue identification.

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Great APM tool and ranks top in the market. I would prefer Dynatrace in short for below reasons- Faster Problem identification through AI - Davis- Performance Monitoring using RUM metrics- Application monitoring - 4xx/5xx , Response time, Traffic - Infrastructure monitoring - CPU, memory, GC usage- Database monitoring - long query execution, DB connection pool time- Synthetic monitoring - To mimic the customer journey and run the script for every 5 to 10 minutes

Pros:

AI alerts are very critical and highly useful. Automatic problem identification in Dynatrace is a highly helpful in identify the issue more quicker. Thanks to Davis AI engine. Useful to do a trend Analysis with the reporting - Gives site availability metrics, Response time, Error rate for each services. SLO/SLA can be tracked with these reporting. Provides detailed trace about any issue and the exact cause of the problem for any abnormalities identified with this host/services/applications. Host analysis helps in identifying unhealthy host with high CPU, memory or thread usage.Helpful in application analysis like 4xx/5xx, response time, Apdex. Helpful in application analysis like 4xx/5xx, response time, Apdex. Deeper insight provided in the distributed traces. Helps in tracking the website page performance, gives above the fold metrics - LCP, FID, VCT, etc. Response time has different aggregations - Avg, 95th percentile, 99th percentile. Gives exact cause in the waterfall to understand which element is causing the increase in response time. Full Transaction monitoring with the services flow across various layers starting from webserver, appserver, database, external systems is added advantage.

Cons:

Can add more on the RUM metrics and customer session replay in future would be helpful.Exposure to customer about the new launches and functionalities can be increased.

Matthew
Matthew
Sr. Systems Engineer - Availability in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It makes me really sad to see such good products go downhill over the last few years.

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: We are able to track availability/performance and find the root cause of both performance and availability issues.

Pros:

We selected the Dynatrace APM product over ten years ago, and I have been using their synthetic product since 2008. I love the ability to find the root cause of a problem using these products. They are both really good tools that are wonderful for getting to the core of the issue.

Cons:

I have used the original Dynatrace APM product and the Gomez Synthetic products for almost ten years. I absolutely cannot stand the way they change the menus around with the various releases. I used to be able to walk people through how to find things over the phone, but now it is almost impossible. These user design changes are not what a system administrator should be spending their time learning. I might as well select a new product that doesn't change so that I only have to learn one more additional system. We have also lost features over the years that we have used, and the reports and maintenance window configuration have an awful time with time zones, even though they have drop-downs for each report. This was once a very dependable product that has lost its way in trying to add new features and alter the user experience. Support has dropped off significantly as well. I used to be able to email or call support, now there is no option to email and when calling support they walk you through creating a case in their customer portal before even attempting to hear my question/problem. We also used to have weekly calls with our account manager to review problems and upcoming features. I have been transferred to a new account manager more times in the last few years than I have even spoken to them.

Glenn H
Glenn H
Chief Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best tool to monitor and track the performance of your applications efficiently.

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: It is an all-in-one instrument for viable multitasking such as end-to-end application observing as well as different versatile applications. It too permits us to know where the computer program needs extra changes, moving forward the reaction times of calls to administrations or databases has incredibly made strides the reaction times of the applications, furthermore within the company much obliged to the location of http 400 and 500 blunders se has overseen to bring solidness to much of the observed applications on Dynatrace, moreover inconsistency notices and expectation grant Dynatrace genuine esteem over the competition. Dynatrace has permitted us to imagine the course of our clients, know the foremost gone to regions, the foremost gone to items, and apply remedial activities and proactive enhancement to make strides the internet and versatile encounter of our clients and clients in common, through energetic observing, of our applications and reports. We are investigating app execution and observing apps, dashboards and AI offer assistance a part with this as well, and I would suggest them to any organization.

Pros:

The AI component is incredible, and whereas there are many appmon highlights we'd like to see included to the item, by and large it's incredible computer program. In my company, Dynatrace is utilized to screen the execution of our portable and online applications for our clients, much appreciated to this analytics device, we were able to degree the activity and its impact on our applications, as well as find issues and take measures to move forward the encounters of our users/customers. I also appreciate the ease with which we will create dashboards since they can be balanced agreeing to the necessities of the application proprietors with respect to the notices that must be issued to dodge challenges in these.

Cons:

Having to do a part of strolling to figure out the source of a issue, there are moreover charts that are greatly troublesome to get it at to begin with, they may well be a bit less difficult to study, and there ought to be an zone where you'll generate reports around the applications. that are watched inside Dynatrace. I don't just like the thought that labeling ought to be done at the specialist level rather than within the gui, I wish it was superior coordinates with other apparatuses, and I think it's a bit costly.

Idaly
Idaly
Project Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Semiconductors, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Surveillance with great artificial intelligence, Davis is spectacular.

5.0 last year

Comments: It is an APM software of great value for us, since the monitoring is effective, it detects problems quickly, it is a software with good AI, it offers good analysis, we have improved the performance problems of the application, in this way we improve the user experience and we fix any problem we may have.

Pros:

I like that it has great advanced observability, it's a highly automated preventative software, Davis is a great bot, it's open API, it has a very intuitive interface, it gives us great monitoring of our network, the monitoring is constant and intuitive, which can detect problems long before they become a serious problem, with this software we improve the user experience in applications, it is a really intuitive product.

Cons:

Customer service is something that should be improved, since the response is not fast, when creating a ticket we do not receive a response on time or a great solution.

Ogarekpe
Ogarekpe
Applications Engineer in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Tool for Monitoring Services and Applications

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: We adopted dynatrace in our company two years ago due to its AI powered monitoring capabilities of our infrastructure.It has been extremely helpful in enabling us to provide flawless products and services to our clients. It has enabled us to maintain stable and secure websites and applications. It has been on the forefront in enabling us to achieve better customer satisfaction and experiences

Pros:

What I like most about dynatrace is how it uses artificial intelligence to provide you with comprehensive analytics about the performance of your infrastructure. Dynatrace is very important for our devops teams as it helps them in figuring out root cause analysis of problems arising from our apps. I also like its flexibility whereby you can deploy it on premise or use it as a software as a service. I like how powerful its automation is as it can monitor thousands of systems at a go.

Cons:

You may require indepth and expansive training on its usage so as to optimize it usage. It is also pricey in comparison with similar monitoring software. It also has bugs from time to time which can give false alarms but their frequent updates try to solve this issues. Aside from that it is a powerful monitoring tool that has served us well.

Garima
Garima
Software Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Superb Production and Application Monitoring tool

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Overall very good and only tool to give you final results sometimes.. I will certainly recommend to each and everyone. Application and production monitoring becomes less overhead with Dynatrace.

Pros:

View Pure paths (transactions) from past so it is really the best tool to analyse the old production issues. Helps in displaying summary of what going on in application sever, for ex. DB hit ration. Helps identifying the bottlenecks in application efficiency.

Cons:

Slow in initialisation. Takes time to display transactions. Need to improve more on error/exception handling information.

Sammy
Regional Program Manager in Kenya
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Awesome Full Observability Product

5.0 5 months ago

Pros:

How you are able to see your whole environment from the frontend to the backend and everything in between

Cons:

While there a lot of support for various technologies we could always use a bit more inclusivity

Dikshyaraj
Dikshyaraj
Infosystem engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

BEST APM tool

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: All services health ,performance,logs of live process and olders.
A complete visibility of each single threads journey.

Pros:

In terms to monitor all servers,applications,hosts this is the best available tool now. The AI based error tracking and reporting in highly impressive ,very easy to setup.

Cons:

coming to my exp ,i felt lil tricky to create the dashboards ,the different types and usage with the queries.

Umair
Production Manager in Italy
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Manage Your IT Assets

5.0 last month New

Pros:

It is a great analytical tool to manage your IT assets and applications. Monitor and analyze the customer experience. Good customer and technical support

Cons:

I found it more expensive as compared to other options.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best Tool to explore the application environment with elegant dashboard

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Advantages:
we have a lot many advantages like we can save large amount of the time as this look over all the changes required and give us the insights in very less time.Gives us the perfect view of the application maps. we have a real confidence of the data being captured and reported.
Disadvantage:
low memory.
performance test integration is not possible
improvements required in dashboard

Pros:

The best of this dynatrace is it has a customizable dashboard views which shows our application performance and code level insights. It has very big UI experience with large amount of the options to customize our dashboards as per project requirement.It shows the performance details of the various hosts services, applications in context from one environment to another. All big enterprise and medium level enterprise applications definitely prefer working with dynatrace as its best in over all performance monitoring tools.Another great feature of the dynatrace is rather than arranging the numerous reports manually as given by various other performance monitoring tools dynatrace has a special feature it learns entire application architecture automatically and uses AI(artificial intelligence) to correlate the data and provide you the insight saving your countless hours of the time

Cons:

Dashboard UI can be much more better. As now now looking great but a more can be done.Facing few problems with performance test integration. come to memory is bit low this can also be improved and we are looking for the trial package in extending the days .

Angel
ELV Presales Engineer in Jordan
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best quality control systems for applications and websites, as well as tracking problems.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We use Dynatrace's analytics and reporting to better understand how our apps are being used, identify problems, and provide a better experience for our consumers.

Pros:

Dynatrace provides an integrated system for monitoring IT operations and performance bottlenecks in web and mobile applications, and the dashboard also provides a holistic view of real-time performance data. The best of Dynatrace is that it is automatic and intelligent that makes monitoring easier and saves staff time, as well as gives a good view of the work team, allowing always to detect problem areas immediately and implement the preventive treatment plan directly without delay. Dynatrace helps narrow down potential concerns. I appreciate the system of real-time problem notifications and automated monitoring of online or cloud-based programs, with proper tracking and monitoring of all processes.

Cons:

To be able to customize Dynatrace to your specific needs, you'll need expert training.in addition, I think that the notification system needs to be improved so that it can better determine the urgency of a problem and whether or not it necessitates immediate attention or can wait until a later date.

Danial
ZIWO Cloud Contact Center Software in Jordan
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An excellent monitoring tool for keeping an eye on your applications.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: With Dynatrace's help, we can now discover problems in software development and production more quickly and accurately than ever before. Dynatrace is a comprehensive multitasking tool that adds to anomaly detection and prediction skills, making it a powerful and effective tool that ensures to a large extent the essential workflow.

Pros:

For any work system imbalance, Dynatrace is a complete and effective solution that automates and intelligently saves employees' time, covers all job levels, and gives a good view of all team members. In addition to providing easy-to-use tools and features for optimal tracking and analysis speed, Dynatrace's contribution is greatly appreciated. To ensure that all operations are performed to the acceptable quality standards, Dynatrace is an essential instrument for corporate sustainability. Dynatrace's artificial intelligence system can do a lot with it, since it calculates, analyzes, and fixes problems.

Cons:

In general, I can't say enough good things about Dynatrace. It's a terrific tool, but it takes time and effort to develop the skills required to use it well. It annoys me that Dynatrace sometimes can take a long time to identify and analyze processes, which can disappoint you.

Joseph
Senior Experience Specialist in India
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Amazing APM tool - Love it mostly for the Purepath analysis , Dashboards and AI alert

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall experience with Dynatrace is Awesome. We did integration with custom metrics, custom plugins with ease. NGINX plugin was highly helpful in identifying the issue across all the API transactions. I would suggest to look all possibilities of integration and have frequent interaction with Dynatrace admin team

Pros:

If anyone ask me to suggest a best APM tool , I will first tell them about Dynatrace. The best tool that I have used in IT industry for our regular day to day monitoring. Key features are below* Server / Pod health status* Application level transaction analysis and purepath* Customized metrics and business transactions* AI alert via Davis AI engine which identifies any issues proactively based on deviation in trend*Best monitoring tool for doing health checks for an enterprise which has N number of applications. Believe me you can do it using a very few dashboards and few alerts

Cons:

Nothing to say as it even has the capability to get the customer experience. I would suggest getting the customer experience through a recording would be more helpful.

shaik
shaik
Associate Software Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best performance management tool which shows realistic full stack analysis, transaction reports

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The best and loveable part of this application its been used in all the core business to track their growth and their performance. It has unified monitoring for business operations and development. Dynatrace Digital performance managament(DDPM) this system will autodiscover entire IT Ecosystem in minutes. Another advantage of the Dynatrace is we can get full insights into user expierence and business impact by which we can easily monitor and manage the application and cloud infrastructure as a result we can resolve application problems before our customers are impacted.Best performance management and analytical tools all the business prefer too.

Cons:

There is nothing much least about this but still required some more additional features to development in the system and db calls ,GC and look up over scalability issues

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best APM Tool to digging any kind of issue

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We can easily find out the performance bottleneck with the help of dynatrace purepath technology. Tool has multiple filter in order to obtained desired result and get quality data.

Pros:

One of the best APM tool, I have ever used. We can create custom dashboard in dynatrace and can monitor each and every server side matrices. Dyntarce help us to monitor CPU Utilization, Network Utilization, syteam health, Memory Footprint, Sql quey, exception, errors etc. I was able to find out many bottlenecks during the load testing of web application and its UI is also user friendly if you are a beginner, you can easily understand its architecture with available videos on internet.

Cons:

I didn’t dislike anything but only few compnies are using it due to its cost, so cost might be the issue.

Brett
Brett
Software Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Robust network monitoring tool

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It allows displaying graphics and data of great value for the adequacy and preventive correction of possible failures or errors. Dynatrace provides business and traffic data and information to help the organization make scalability decisions. It has enabled significant benefits to be gained from implementing a single set of tools to monitor applications.

Cons:

For new users it is overwhelming how many features it offers, you need to incorporate better documentation to minimize your learning curve.

Rich
Web Development Manager in US
Retail, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

DRL's Dynatrace Review

3.0 2 years ago

Pros:

You get important insight into how things are working (or perhaps not working) with your internal infrastructure. The real time alerts and monitoring of our ecommerce sites were usually quite helpful, with some occasional exceptions

Cons:

Every once in awhile you would receive a false alarm and end up wasting time trying to solve a problem which doesn't actually exist at the moment. Also, the rise in pricing might cause some to look for less expensive alternatives

Jorge
Jorge
General Director in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best APM solution I've used

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: With this software I can monitor all the applications end to end, and also mobile applications, making very easy to me find where to improve the software, create alerts on performance, and also because its flexibility I can create even business driven dashboards

Pros:

You can monitor your appliction end to end checking every transaction in the system making easy to find problems, bottlenecks or code to improve easily.

Cons:

Licensing mode. Usually due to GC restrictions you tend to use more jvms and as the software is licensed by jvm, the price rises a lot

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Analysing the application performance made easy

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Great and makes the monitoring job easy and accurate results are given

Pros:

The best thing about this software is it allows the monitoring of performance and behaviour of the application. A developer can track what are the failures that occurred and where the application accessed from and by whom. We can add a dynatrace cookie to our application and we can access it either in appmon client or the one agent view where we can set up the monitors of what needs to be tracked. This can also be linked with openshift or kubernetes so that we get to know whether there is any pod restarts.

Cons:

It requires digging into pure paths to find the information but once we set up the monitors in dashboard it makes it easy to monitor and track performance.

Pradip
Pradip
Principal Business Analysts in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Dynatrace for SAP ME/MII implementation

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: SAP MII and ME performance monitoring is difficult. There is only tool wily was known to us. That was not efficient. Dynatrace gave us full visibility of the code issues which we rectified. Also, using this tool we sized the server to ensure the application is highest available.

Pros:

Dynatrace gives a full visibility of the end user activity, network performance, system performance and code issue.

Cons:

The flexibility it gives at appmon does not give the same on the web application of Dynatrace.

Diego
Production Manager in Argentina
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One of the most powerful tools in the market

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: So far it has detected so many issues, helping to detect the root cause much faster than before installing it

Pros:

It has so many key features, but AI is so important. It detects any changes and with some time it can detect what is a normal perfermance and when its not, representing this as an issue

Cons:

It's an expensive software. It depends of how big is your infrastracture (CPUs or Memory allocated in the servers you want to monitor)

Or
Or
CTO and Co-founder
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Small startups, stay away from ruxit!

1.0 8 years ago

Comments: Small startups, stay away from ruxit, I signed up with them because their pre-sale service was amazing, they spent time with me and went over very impressive ui. But once I started paying, the level of service just went down. First, the very impressive dashboard, just doesn’t provide any actionable data, yeah, it looks nice, but once you start digging, you see its just that, a good looking dashboard . The monitoring needs serious calibration it sends tons of true and false alarms. After few day I just turned off all the notifications. whenever I tried to dig dipper, and god I tried, I kept finding out that: There are tons of mistakes in the reports, whenever I reported thing like that they claimed its a bug and “They will get back to me” but never did.
Their technical support is not very skilled, when we had down time I asked them to assist and show me how ruxit can point me to where the problem is. they sent me a screen shot of the cloudflare failure screen (cloudflare couldn’t reach my servers because they were all down) and said ‘maybe it’s cloudflare’. I was shocked, I’m paying for the most expensive solution out there, and I’m getting insights at a level that my 3 years old nephew could have provided.
Not only that, when I wanted to cancel my subscription, because I was just investing time in it and got no value, they said I’m contracted with them (even though I specifically said I’m not willing to commit to a whole year). So now, on top of the hours I spent learning ruxit, and the fact that I need to research a new solution, I need to spend more time just so I stop paying them.
I have much more to say, but I really spent way too much time on ruxit already.

Pros:

The dashboard looks nice

Cons:

Everything else I wrote in my review.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Dynatrace for Monitoring

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: It is beneficial when you try to understand a root cause of a system problem.

Pros:

It is possibble to have very detailed metrics to get a deepdive analyze. Dynamic baseline thresholds provide adaptive alarm mechanism.

Cons:

Very complex workstation which is no user friendly. Sometimes slow refresh of the pages.

Tarang
DevOps Engineer in India
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Pros & Cons of Dynatrace

4.0 last year

Pros:

1. Its report on the incident is to the point and quite accurate.2. The Dynatrace AI is impressive in regards to assessing the impact on the app.3. They have some valuable features such as PurePath, which is it's patented distributed tracing and code-level analysis technology.4. All of the Dynatrace features can be accessed by a centralized hub.5. It's built to scale, it can perform automated monitoring of over 100000 hosts.

Cons:

1. The hub can be quite complex to comprehend.2. It has a steep learning curve.3. The support for cloud-based environments lacks in some areas.4. It's quite expensive.5. It has fewer features that work with metrics as compared to other software of the same category.