15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About Moodle

With hundreds of millions of users around the globe, more organisations choose Moodle to support their education and training needs.

Learn more about Moodle

Pros:

Easy to use product that was easy to integrate and allowed me to help administration of course users.

Cons:

It is really difficult to navigate and find what you are looking for. The dashboard includes courses from current and previous semesters which is really confusing.

Moodle ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Moodle has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 3,228 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Moodle before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (3,227)

India
India
Benefits Customer Service Representative in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best learning tool out!

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

It’s easy to use and has a lot of features that help you while training or taking courses.

Cons:

I have no complaints. Of all softwares that I’ve had to use for training, Moodle is by far the best and easiest.

Moodle Response

2 weeks ago

Hi India, Thanks for sharing how Moodle supported your learning journey. We appreciate your positive feedback and are happy Moodle played a crucial role in your progress. We are continuously working on improving platform to better meet your evolving needs. Best, The Moodle Team

Eladio
Eladio
Founder in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A powerful, yet old tool

4.0 7 months ago

Comments: Moodle is a powerful tool. A good and unexpensive alternative. But even if you choose a modern theme it will feel old and ugly.

Pros:

Most powerful LMS in the market. No other tool has such a wide set of tools and customization options.

Cons:

Short answer: hard to use and the interface is horrible Long answer: - For the students: the interface is not user friendly at all. Messy, full of buttons and unnecessary information. The onboarding is tough for many. - For the teachers: it is hard to grasp all the basic functions and upload resources. There are few tools to make batch changes. Maintenance is a pain. - For IT: hard to deploy. It is the WP version of the LMS world, but tougher.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Got Us Online During Pandemic in Less Than 6 Days!

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

We love our business relationship with our account manager—he handles things timely and understands our schools and their needs. Creating/uploading a course has gotten very simple. Integration with WooCommerce was a breeze. We love being able to customize the platform for our brands. We use Workspace and the regular Cloud Moodle. Workspace to supplement our programs with in-person training and Cloud Moodle for our online/live webinar continuing education courses.

Cons:

Regular support with Moodle can take a while, especially with the back-and-forth emailing. They are not very proactive to jump on a call and figure it out together. However, when it gets painfully slow - our account manager speeds up the process.

Moodle Response

2 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for sharing your experience with Moodle! It's fantastic to hear that you've had a positive experience using Moodle. The Moodle community is a vibrant space for sharing knowledge and experiences for further enrichment, support, and engagement with others. Visit us at https://moodle.org. If you want to improve, customise, or expand your LMS, we encourage you to contact our Moodle Certified Partners and Service Providers, who can provide 24/7 support. Discover how they can support your needs at https://moodle.com/solutions/certified-service-providers/. Warmest regards, The Moodle Team

Ennio
ASPP in Italy
Civil Engineering, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

MOODLE A GOOD SOFTWARE

3.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: I mainly used it to take university lessons

Pros:

Very useful for holding or following distance learning lessons

Cons:

difficult to use and very often crashes even if is a good sofware

Moodle Response

6 days ago

Hi Ennio, Thank you for sharing your experience with Moodle! We appreciate your feedback. Moodle is designed to offer flexibility and adaptability to meet your organisation's unique needs. We are dedicated to improving our platform to provide the best learning experience. Our network of Certified Partners and Service Providers is always available to provide the best assistance and customisations for your needs. Find a partner in your region easily by visiting https://moodle.com/solutions/certified-service-providers/ We look forward to contributing to your learning success. Thank you for choosing Moodle, and have a great day! Thank you, Moodle Team

Catalin
Consultant IT in Romania
Information Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Basic tool for distance learning

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: We used the tool since first versions, and i can say it's good enough to sustain training need for an amount like 5-10 courses in parallel with an affordable price.

Pros:

Affordable. Fast enough. Smooth access to courses and content.

Cons:

Lack of graphical interface. Very hard to backend administration and also very often updates that consume a lot of time (database technology updates too often).

Moodle Response

3 months ago

Hi Catalin, We appreciate you taking the time to review Moodle. It's great to know you find Moodle useful for distance learning. We are continuously working on improving Moodle to deliver the best possible learning environment. To discover the new and improved features of Moodle, including changes to UX/ UI, with our latest release, please visit https://moodle.com/moodle-4/. If you want to customise or upscale your LMS to your organisation’s unique needs, you can contact our Moodle Certified Partners and Service Providers. Find more information here: https://moodle.com/solutions/certified-service-providers/. Thank you, Moodle Team

Kierra
Director in US
E-Learning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Moodle LMS

5.0 last month New

Pros:

Moodle is great for a company/organization looking for complete control and customization. We serve kids, so this is a great plus for us. I love the available integrations and the clean look of the interface.

Cons:

As I mentioned in the pros, Moodle LMS is very customizable. However, because there are so many customization options it can be overwhelming for a company that doesn't need a lot of features. I also recommend choosing Moodle LMS if you have a tech person on your team as coding is involved in setting things up.

Moodle Response

2 weeks ago

Hi Kiera, We wanted to say a huge thank you for sharing your thoughts on Moodle. We're thrilled to hear that you see the potential in our platform! We want you to know that our team is working tirelessly to make sure that Moodle is always evolving and meeting your needs. If you require support regarding LMS customisation, expansion, or improvement, we recommend getting in touch with our Moodle Certified Partners and Service Providers who offer 24/7 assistance. You can learn more about how they can assist you by visiting https://moodle.com/solutions/certified-service-providers/. Warm regards, The Moodle Team

Tembi
Executive Director in US
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Moodle offers features comparable to big box LMS

4.0 last month New

Comments: So far I am loving my experience with Moodle. There is a lot of helpful information available online along with communities you can join on social media to learn more.

Pros:

What I like most about Moodle is the plugins. You can customize the features you need using the plugins that people are creating.

Cons:

Moodle does have a learning curve, to some people it may seem technical. It is helpful to have someone on your team who specializes in Moodle. Alternatively, there are several Moodle Partners and other companies that specialize in Moodle Configuration.

Moodle Response

2 weeks ago

Hi Tembi, We wanted to say a huge thank you for sharing your thoughts on Moodle. We're thrilled to hear that you see the potential in our platform! We want you to know that our team is working tirelessly to make sure that Moodle is always evolving and meeting your needs. If you require support regarding LMS customisation, expansion, or improvement, we recommend getting in touch with our Moodle Certified Partners and Service Providers who offer 24/7 assistance. You can learn more about how they can assist you by visiting https://moodle.com/solutions/certified-service-providers/. Warm regards, The Moodle Team

Moses F
Founder in Liberia
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best E-learning Platform

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: My overall experience with Moodle had been very awesome and I have been able to recommend this software to all of my friends because of it good UX/UI design.

Pros:

The easy navigation and it's easy to use and beautiful UX/UI design.

Cons:

There is nothing about this platform that i don't like yet.

Moodle Response

2 weeks ago

Hi Moses F, We appreciate your feedback! It's great to hear that you find Moodle's interface beautiful and easy to navigate. We're dedicated to continuously improving our platform and ensuring your Moodle journey is smooth, successful, and fully aligned with your organisation’s needs. Thank you, Moodle Team

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Moodle: The E- Learning Management

4.0 last month New

Comments: Moodle is good for institute for students to Assignment completion, attendance management, notes updation etc.

Pros:

Moodle is easy to access for the assignment, courses progress tracking and conducting the test exam.

Cons:

Moodle is not helpful for online classes

Moodle Response

2 weeks ago

Hi, We appreciate your feedback! Your insights are crucial to us. We're dedicated to continuously improving our platform, and ensuring your Moodle journey is smooth, successful, and fully aligned to your evolving needs. Thank you, Moodle Team

Heather
Connections Pastor in US
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Educational Moodle

4.0 last week New

Pros:

It was easily navigated and use was simple.

Cons:

There were some features that were difficult to find

Moodle Response

5 hours ago

Hi Heather, We appreciate you taking the time to review Moodle. We are continuously working on improving Moodle to deliver the best possible learning environment. To discover the new and improved features of Moodle, including changes to UX/ UI, with our latest release, please visit https://moodle.com/moodle-4/. If you want to customise or upscale your LMS to your organisation’s unique needs, you can contact our Moodle Certified Partners and Service Providers. Find more information here: https://moodle.com/solutions/certified-service-providers/. Thank you, Moodle Team

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A complete solution for blended learning!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have implemented Moodle LMS for many industries including Colleges, Universities, Manufacturing, Retail, Career Development Centers, Online Training institutions, Information, Media & Entertainment industries. Except the product is an open-source, I do not see ANY issues. This can be hosted in Amazon Web Services or in Azure cloud, it can be hosted in client environment. Moodle can be integrated with any 3rd party (both inbound and outbound) applications as long as their APIs are exposed. This has lot of in-built plugins/tools to manage ILT Events and Sessions, Chats, Virtual Learning Environment tools, etc. I highly recommend this low-cost solution for any type of industry.

Pros:

Moodle is a complete e-Learning platform for many industries. It is well-suited for Education Industry. I have implemented Moodle in the large universities and colleges in the world. Most inspiring features are - the course section which can be grouped based on customized categories and sub-categories - forum which can be associated with the topics at course level or at organization level - Cohort which helps the institute to manage the batch-wise students group every year and can be promoted to next level without much manual efforts - Question Bank which can accommodate more than 12 types of assessments and can also be integrated with other assessment management systems or plugins

Cons:

There is no limitation on the features, since this is an open source application, we cannot use it for GxP contents in Life Sciences and may not comply with Banking/Insurance industries.

Adonay
CTO in Mexico
Information Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

An excellent learning management system

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Although it was a bit difficult and had to figure it out on our own about the server setup, once it was working, the path to set up courses, integrating modules was pretty straight forward. Our already made SCORM resources were loaded without any major trouble and worked flawlessly.

Pros:

It has lots of features 'right out of the box', setting it up once installed is relatively easy and it has a great community where you can find answers for almost every issue or 'how to setup X' you could find. Also, there are lots of modules made for the platform that integrate really well.

Cons:

The recommended installation process (directly from server terminal) didn't work for us on any server we tried to deploy it. We ended setting all our instances via web (which is a very great option). Also, although they have lots of support about their features and setup, they don't have the same level of support on setting the platform under certain circumstances (at server level) like reverse proxies, nat, etc.

Alan
Educational Consultant in US
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Moodle - The Perfect Open Source LMS

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have used Moodle since 2005. I first introduced it to the school district I worked in. After its introduction, it became the number one online source for teachers, students, and parents. I based my doctoral thesis on the use of Moodle in our school district. I've also used it over the years, as an educational consultant, part-time college faculty remember, and educational trainer.

Pros:

First off the software is free. If you have a server, either hosting yourself or hosting service, you can easily set up a Moodle. With a little experience, you are able to have your class up and running in no time. Easily import information into your course. Finally, there are numerous free plugins that enhance your course.

Cons:

The biggest problem is if you find a plugin that you can use in your course if you don't have access to the backend to install you may run into problems with whoever administers the Moodle to install the plugins.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Flexible for designers, teachers and students

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

As an online learning designer, Moodle is a fantastic tool because it integrates multiple options for learning and collaboration between both on and off campus students. It is incredibly flexible with a plethora of both simple and advanced features which can be integrated at a teacher’s preference, and the entire teaching experience can be run through the system. It’s agile enough to integrate with multiple external software systems so is less restrictive than some LMS systems. The interface can be configured to suit individual institutions or teaching and allows a teacher to monitor all activity. As a course designer, Moodle Analytics are extremely valuable because I can see exactly what parts of the course are being accessed, how often, and if they are being completed. This allows me to know if individual components of the course are beneficial to learning or if it needs changing or replacing, without the risk of violating student or institution privacy. When working for an institution that is a Moodle partner, I like the opportunity to help shape Moodle’s future by offering submissions direct to the designers.

Cons:

Whenever updates for Moodle are released (six monthly) there are always some problems with existing content, especially with non-standard features that have been designed exclusively for a course or institution. Sometimes they are not immediately evident and can cause issues during the teaching period. Moodle is a very large, powerful system, so it can take considerable time to understand it well enough to be confident designing and teaching courses. Also, if support staff are not on hand it can be difficult to resolve issues or find ways to integrate special requests from teachers.

Dianne
Consultant in Canada
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Superb solution but difficult to set up

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I consult to clients who have tried to implement Moodle and recognise it's value but are struggling to get a practical, organised system. There are human issues of acceptance and the system isn't used, or the opposite where they have "created a monster" that is unwieldy. Once the system is structured correctly, and staff are trained in the right way to get the most benefit, it is always beneficial. Expensive paid systems force the client management team to go through a formal process of implementation including culture and planning, but a free system is often simply installed without strategy planning about how it is going to be used.

Pros:

Moodle is opensource, and therefore inexpensive and low risk to test. If a company is considering eLearning, this should be your first option as a pilot. No pre-planning is as good as actual experience. The difficulty does not lie with the software, but that an eLearning system is a complex activity and is expected to meet the needs of very different users - different education levels, different technology capabilities and with different learning methods. Moodle shows if your company is ready for eLearning, and quickly gets you up and running. A lot of older training materials are in PDF, powerpoint and other formats, and Moodle allows "drag-and-drop" and importing of zip files or SCORM files.

Cons:

This is difficult to set up, particularly if you want to make use of the assessments. You need to define your users and your strategy up front or it can become a muddle with different departments adding "courses". In a way it is almost TOO is easy to use, and individual departments create a "course" and add new categories, and dump hundreds of file with no categorisation. Most Moodle systems will need to be reorganised and "cleaned up" regularly if allowed to grow organically.

Macon
Civil Engineering Undergrad in US
Civil Engineering, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Pretty versatile learning management system

4.0 last year

Comments: Overall, I'm happy with Moodle. The assignment organization and task list has been very helpful in the new update. Moodle has been very reliable for me and I feel generally happy with how both I and my institution are able to use it.

Pros:

The biggest thing I like about Moodle that I like is that it's easy to access all of my course material in one place. Almost everything is just a couple clicks at any given point in the website. I also like the new update that reorganized the dashboard to a much more customizable setup. Overall, I'm pretty happy with Moodle and feel like it's been very reliable for me in my years of using it.

Cons:

It seems like it's hard for professors to get Moodle to accurately reflect grades. Something about getting the weighted percentages or the assignment classification seems like it could be difficult on the back end. I also wish that the course pages for classes could have separate pages within the larger page. It would help subdivide the course information more evenly.

Moodle Response

last year

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. In Moodle, we are constantly working on new ways to improve our solutions to deliver the best learning outcomes. Discover Moodle 4.0's fresh and intuitive user experience. https://bit.ly/3bgVsDC Regards.

Hèlia
Hèlia
Scientist in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great learning platform

5.0 last year

Comments: Moodle is a definitive educational platform that helped the learning process during pandemic and am pretty sure will continue to be used in the following years.

Pros:

Moodle is a very versatile learning platform that can gather all the activities a professor needs to conducts remote learning. It can host texts, media, lessons and grade activities which give an opportunity to assess students learning as well.

Cons:

Impor and export of materials to clone tasks to different courses need significative improvements.

Moodle Response

last year

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. In Moodle, we are constantly working on new ways to improve our solutions to deliver the best learning outcomes. Discover Moodle 4.0's fresh and intuitive user experience. https://bit.ly/3bgVsDC Regards.

Omesan
Senior Developer in US
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Moodle empowering virtual learning, anywhere, anytime on any device

4.0 last year

Pros:

I have used Moodle for a good few years as a learner, tutor and teacher or lecturer and I have been exposed to many of its features. The features that I like most about Moodle are 1. Moodle is able to adapt to the user needs by providing the user with options to customize layouts, themes, forums and even tests and assessments. Thus catering for the unique learning experience that one wants to bring across and transfer between educator and learner.2. Moodle provides the educator or tutor with the variety of interactive activities making virtual learning much easier between educator and learner. This feature prevents the silos that might be created by allowing for discussion forums to occurs thus breaking down the barriers that may occur when misunderstanding tasks. Communication is not just limited between educator and learner, but provides the ability for educator and educator and learner to learner communication 3. Moodle is a cost effective option for companies and learning organizations for all sizes this could be attributed to them being an open source platform. It easy to scale and expand as ones workforce grows.The analytical tools allows educators and tutors to always have insight into learners learning progress that helps the educator and tutor to target those students that require more assistance than others and personalize the learning paths and change teaching strategies

Cons:

When I first started using Moodle, it took me a while before I could grasp it's extensive features and customization options. Thus making it more of a completely new software that one needs to read the instruction manual about. Although there are alot of customization options, the user interface design is less appealing usually giving you the vibe that there is some sort of learning or work to complete. Maintenance and setup within an organization or business may require technical expertise and may incur a cost

Moodle Response

12 months ago

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. At Moodle, we are constantly working on new ways to improve our solutions to deliver the best learning outcomes. To get the best out of the platform, please refer Moodle Academy and Moodle Community. Furthermore, Moodle's global network of Certified Partners and Service Providers can provide personalised support. Discover Moodle 4 's fresh and intuitive user experience and capabilities. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SWB6xEOfG1k Regards, Moodle

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Functional E-learning with Moodle for contact and distance learning

4.0 7 months ago

Comments: Overall the platform does what it's supposed to do, which is to digitize learning and bring convenience to students. Even though the platform is outdated, it does serve its purpose.

Pros:

We had different courses and learning materials from different teachers, so the platform was definitely expansive for students who are unable to process information quickly in class for them to be able to review the lesson in the comfort of their own space. The platform served its purpose, and as learners we were proud to be the first users in our district to be using a Learning systems management platform, and with little training, the students were able to navigate the platform seamlessly.

Cons:

The user interface could do with some upgrading, the platform even though it serves its purpose, it is quite outdated and doesn't correlate with the technology/ software of today. The platform also appeared to be less intuitive and a bit buggy.

Moodle Response

3 months ago

Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you found Moodle to be a supportive tool for distance learning. We are continuously working on improving Moodle to deliver the best possible learning environment. To discover the new and improved features of Moodle, including changes to UX/ UI, with our latest release, please visit https://moodle.com/moodle-4/. If you want to customise or upscale your LMS to your organisation's unique needs, you can contact our Moodle Certified Partners and Service Providers. Find more information here: https://moodle.com/solutions/certified-service-providers/. Thank you, Moodle Team

Pamela
US
Primary/Secondary Education
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Moodle LMS - Administrator and Trainer Point of View

4.0 9 years ago

Pros:

There are lots and lots of resources for help. Almost every page on the Moodle site has a link at the bottom of it taking you to the specific documentation of what you are working with. Moodle has a huge community of worldwide users that are extremely responsive to user forums, so help is literally a couple of clicks away. Moodle is easy to figure out, even if you have never used and LMS. The site I currently administrate is at http://classes.ala.org. As you land on the homepage, you will see the list of our different divisions who offer online courses. We do this using the categories feature, allowing each of our separate divisions to be represented on the single ALA site. What you might also notice is that the login for the site is a convenient eyebrow link. If you click it, there are a variety of options for setting up your own guest credentials in addition to signing in with your official credentials granted by one of the administrators. Most user issues are simple to troubleshoot. Moodle's no nonsense layout and intuitive interaction makes it pretty straightforward to figure out user issues. Error messages tell you specifically what a problem is in plain English (or whatever language you want to set up). Most user problems are rights related in the system. Moodle allows you to restore previous courses into new courses. The backup and restore feature pretty much does everything for you. Take out the user data from a backup and you can restore the previous version of a course into a brand new course with very little downtime.

Cons:

Version 1.9 requires an older version of Java running in order to use the wysiwyg html editor (something that comes in handy for the introduction to the course and each section/Topic for the course) -- a version of Java is required, that if you are on Windows 7, has security issues that your Network Admin is probably blocking. The workaround not having an html editor is to open your web content editor (we have Drupal and Dreamweaver) and then paste the code into the setting fields. It is not difficult to do, just inconvenient. I am sure the current version 2.6 has this capability and more that we are waiting to upgrade to. You have to dig a bit to get to the settings and permissions for specific activities. For example, a common user issue is with Student access to a forum. It is not obvious that some forums are specifically for teacher announcements (meaning that students aren't able to respond, just read the announcements). By the time I get issue, the course creator has a dozen or so forums setup with participants already subscribed, which means that it is easier for me to go into each forum and override the native rights. When you have scores of courses running each containing a dozen or more forums that each need to have permissions touched, it is a lot of work from the admin point of view. The lighter side is that with the proper training, or sandbox playing, creators can discover this nuance before its' too late. The native chat activity doesn't really work in version 1.9. We use FlashChat by Host123 when our course leaders need a course chat room. In version 1.9, there is not a lot of wiggle room in changing the look and feel of the courses. You can add, subtract and move blocks around, you can assign a theme, but it is not the most modern look and feel.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Moodle for University Student

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall this is very good useful e- learning platform to any students specialy in lockdowne periods like in these corona pandamic days.I is very helpful to me to do my studies continuesly and I hope it will be very helpful to you.

Pros:

Moodle is a very good e- learning platform which can provide best space for education between lecturer and students.That is the best part of this E-learning platform which I like most because it provide many options and facilities to lectures and students to do their teaching and learning things very easily.Specialy on lockdowne periods like these corona pandamic days I produce grate platform to do distance learning and education.There for It was very helpful to me to doing my studies continuesly without any disturb even every lectures and university was postponed and closed.My lectures was able to continuesly upload the lecture slides and videos to the moodle and it supply every facilities for do the lecture in online.I am very happy for that because it was very easy to interact with those lectur videos and slides.It was very helpful to me.And it also give the facility to lectures to create online assignments and we are able to submit our answers to it through over our profile.There for lectures able to checkout our learning progress and moodle automatically give the marks which we achieved as soon as we submit our assignments.It was very helpful to me because I can know my marks quickly there for I can ready for my next assignment very well.I really like this platform.

Cons:

Still I did not found any downgrades to this platform but I do not like to Moodle mobile application.Because I has not much of function to interact with our Moodle profile like web interface.I like if this mobile or web platform inform us any new lectures or reaching a submission due dates like alarm or reminders.it has show up some notifications but still it has not this functionality which I mention previous.When I going to submit some assignment it has some file capacity limit there for I had to face many difficulties when going to compress my submission and upload it.I thought it is better to have much more uploading capacity limit than now.

Candace
Student in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My school has used Moodle for as long as I can remember, and it works well within our district!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Using Moodle has been--and continues to be--incredibly convenient for students and teachers alike in my district. Teachers can easily create online tests/quizzes that don't require the hassle of printing and making copies, then grading an entire stack of papers. Students can take the tests and quizzes with ease, and see the immediate results of the automatically-graded multiple choice questions (which saves teachers time, too!). Also, videos can be implanted into lessons, which is very convenient for pausing or rewinding at one's own pace if they zone out or don't understand the topic and need to hear the explanation again. My life as a student was made simpler with the use of Moodle, and I cannot recommend it enough!

Pros:

Moodle makes online classwork incredibly easy to create (as a teacher), as well as simple to do and turn in (as a student). All the classes a student is enrolled in are clearly displayed, and classwork within each class is organized well. In addition, being able to immediately see how one did on a quiz/test (the multiple choice, at least) is very convenient.

Cons:

When posting in a discussion/forum (my teachers called them "journal entries"), all students can see each other's responses. While this could be good for class discussion, it also makes it incredibly easy for a student to see another student's response, then copy and paste it as their own. (This happened with myself and another student, as she was copying my responses.) In smaller classrooms, this may not be much of an issue as it will be easy to spot, but in larger class sizes it can be easy for teachers to not remember every student's exact answer, and give the cheater the credit.

Samuel
Samuel
Quality Assurance Test Emgineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Moodle is the best learning system out there

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My experience using Moodle is good. Moodle allowed me to communicate with my instructor much more faster, finish exams much easier, and receive almost immediate feedback on my marks. The training resources are now much easier to access and use.

Pros:

I have been using Moodle as a student for about six years, and it manages all of the lecture materials and online tests. It is straightforward and adaptable to use. You may search for assignments due dates, course calendars, forums, and more. Moodle's organization and ease of use are two of my favorite features. There is also a small calendar that lists the dates that particular courses' tasks are due. Another advantage of using this calendar is that it will take you directly to the assignment details, saving you the time and effort of scrolling and looking for the task that is due. Additionally, you may upload your document from your smartphone and edit your work up to a few minutes after you initially submit it, just in case, making the assignment submission process quick and easy. Similar to the submission site, the interactive Moodle discussion boards make it simple to read and assess your classmates' work and give you the chance to edit your feedback.

Cons:

For a beginner, using Moodle is challenging. It is free software, but for a non-technical user, building and configuring it is challenging. I had to learn how to use all of its features and put them to good use, which took some time.

Eugene
Online School Admin in US
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Moodle for Advanced learning Experience!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Moodle is the #1 choice for those who are serious about the educational environment produced by everyone involved in the school. When this software is used right it takes the burden away from the teacher in having to produce everything their self. Many software packages are pretty, but the question is this, where is their backend? If is not there, so it may look good 'on the cover' but it simply does not have the functionality of moodle. Moodle is a platform, and you can add the front-end features with other products.

Pros:

This is the best software to implement when you need a lot of supportive materials that can be built up over the years that give this software its edge.

Cons:

Although it is very powerful in the background, it lacks everything that is style and elegance. With moodle the software is for integration of the content materials across your whole network. That makes it perfect for teachers that can produce papers and research and moodle will keep track of ever comment, and stimultae discussions and thoughts, and over the years a school will have a 'flavor' and trend of thoughts and ideas which is the goal of a good online school.

Houssem
Student in Algeria
E-Learning, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review of Moodle platform

3.0 last year

Pros:

As a user of this platform for more than 3 years,I do appreciate Moodle's user-friendly interface, accessibility, personalized learning experiences and communication tools.

Cons:

1/ From my experience, when I was new to online learning I've found Moodle navigation system confusing and difficult to use.2/ Moodle does offer some communication tools, but, I think that it's not enough for social interaction with my classmates. In addition, Instructors may not always be available or responsive to student questions or concerns, which can make it difficult for me or other students to get the help we need.

Moodle Response

last year

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. At Moodle, we are constantly working on new ways to improve our solutions to deliver the best learning outcomes. Regards.