15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About MacPractice DC

Mac OS X based chiropractic practice management software that features automated appointment reminders & chiropractic scheduling.

Learn more about MacPractice DC

Pros:

We really Like mac practice and how user friendly it is. The team easily converted our paper forms into electronic.

Cons:

Terrible user interface, difficult to learn how to implement many of the features, there hasn't been any improvement or updates to the program since I started using it 3 years ago.

MacPractice DC ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.0
Customer Service
3.1
Features
2.8
Value for Money
2.3

Likelihood to recommend

3.3/10

MacPractice DC has an overall rating of 2.7 out 5 stars based on 16 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (16)

Sort by

Have you used MacPractice DC before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (16)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Gets the job done.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

I like that the app extends to tablets for easy completion of chart notes in an office or treatment rooms without having to have a full monitor. There are also a wide variety of templates to use depending on the field of medicine, all of which are customizable.

Cons:

We had some issues with the transfer between patient notes and billing details at the office where this software was used... After a chart note was completed, the billing was submitted by the doctor, then routed to the billing specialist. With some of the errors, the doctors had to go in and correct the error, then re-route the note to the billing specialist. Luckily, our billing specialist was in-house, but it still slowed things down and was inefficient.

Jodie
Chiropractor in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

User friendly system

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Overall we like the company and the software.

Pros:

We really Like mac practice and how user friendly it is. The team easily converted our paper forms into electronic. The billing is easy once you learn it. We trained on this system over the weekend and were good to go by monday. The support team is very knowledgeable and can easily remote in to look at any issues you are having and help with them.

Cons:

Its expensive between the licensing fees, the computers, and the cost of the monthly electronic billing. Sometimes support doesn't get back to you quickly.

Meg
Director of Clinic in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Run Away

1.0 4 years ago

Comments: Fact that majority of features don’t work or have glitches that they refuse to fix. Then this year they increased my annual license by an additional $900 because they bundled features that we got rid of or don’t use because they didn’t work! Now they are wanting to charge a perpetual license fee for my data which is on a server in my office that I purchased when on initial purchase we were told our data is our data and we would have read only access forever- now they say 6 months. The lack of ability to communicate to anyone outside tech support is major problem as well!

Pros:

Ease of electronic billing and ledger. They were great in beginning of 2010 promised to do better and each year they have let us down worse than year before.

Cons:

We had started totally paperless and have over 10 years had to transition back to paper for features they never fixed. There are several problems and they won’t or can’t fix them. Support doesn’t call back at reasonable amount of time, and won’t schedule a callback time, so if you’re seeing patients- good luck unless you have an extra qualified and trained standby person for any issues. The EMR was not user friendly and when seeing 100-150 office visits it would take 30 minutes to write one note- this either held up front desk to get billing as they are linked to EMR, or required manually entering and the deleting extra charge from a note after the doc had time to write notes. 50 hours a week additional typing data on top of clients is impossible. The notes are not readily viewed either- slow, cumbersome, useless. Thus why we returned to paper SOAPS.

Joyce
Accounts Manager in US
Medical Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A daily MacPractice user's honest review.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with MacPractice has been excellent. From running a business to the customer service they provide and the online training; I am definitely more than happy with this software!

Pros:

What I like most about this software is the ability to control a medical practice from one place. It includes everything you need to properly take care of your patients i.e. send claims, manage billing, generate reports, make appointments and keep track of everything you can think of.

Cons:

Sometimes it can be confusing to learn how to properly use all the software's abilities if you are a new user.

Laura
chiropractor
Medical Practice, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Very frustrating

1.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Completely custom forms. Decent tech support Being able to print an entire treatment plan

Cons:

No visit counter so you have to do this manually. Slow. It runs worse in busy times and shuts itself down routinely. God forbid you and a staff member try to use it at the same time. They blame everything on your computer and your network when it's clearly the software that jams up the whole system. This wasn't a big deal when my patient volume was really low, but if you want to grow, it will frustrate you. The insurance estimating works sometimes for some codes on some insurance companies. Those cool forms you customize to make charting take less than 15 min/pt cost to have them created AND are a big part of the reason it takes so long for EMR to load. You have to pay extra to load the program on multiple computers. I haven't found my requests or recommendations make a difference- 7 years later and still no visit counter. Seriously, who makes a chiropractic software that doesn't count visits??

Jared
Chiropractor in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MacPractice...Good Luck

2.0 last year

Comments: Very disappointed with the software and CANNOT wait for a switch. I will never look back and miss even a single feature of this program.

Pros:

Some customizable features, billing and claims haven't been problematic.

Cons:

Terrible user interface, difficult to learn how to implement many of the features, there hasn't been any improvement or updates to the program since I started using it 3 years ago. Customer service has been sub-par. The added services aren't integrated well, and it is very expensive for features that many other services offer for free.

Thomas
PA-C in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The worst EMR I have ever used.

1.0 3 years ago

Pros:

There is nothing admirable about Macpractice.

Cons:

It was designed to be used on a phone. Imagine taping a phone to your computer screen. That's the usable space available. If you don't click compose after writing a Rx all your Rxs vanish. If you have 2 charts up your Rx may end up in the wrong chart. The schedule doesn't default to the current date, but after 3 clicks you can usually get there. It's painfully slow. It lost more than weeks worth of patient charts while backing itself up. Customer support equals, "Did you restart it?"

Jon
Chiropractor in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Not useful for cash practice

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: As a longtime Macintosh fan, I was hoping for an easy to use software program that would enable me to keep simple cash practice records with some flexibility fo me to make arrangements for me to work with employers who want to pay for certain employee treatments such as preemployment exams or physicals. It’s very awkward. I’m going back to paper records or some other software program .

Pros:

This software is not very useful for a cash practice. There is very little ability to be flexible with accounts such as billing a company for multiple patients,

Cons:

Any time you want to customize an account you have to go through their engineering staff

Josh
Doctor in US
Medical Practice
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Switching AWAY from MacPractice was the best money I ever spent

1.5 8 years ago

Pros:

Customer service was pretty good... which is good because you will use them a LOT!

Cons:

Everything. I used MacPractice for two years before I switched. Every once in awhile I have to go back into it for past notes/patients and every time I do it reminds me how much I hated using this product. Even spending 5 minutes back in there pretty much ruins my entire day. Best advice I can say is (if you're a DC at least) STAY AWAY!!!!!

Brenda
Clinic Director
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Mac Practice DC

2.0 10 years ago

Comments: I do agree that for the most part they have very good customer service. As for the software program parts were ok but we had to wait and wait and wait before we could fully use the I-pad on the floor. We always had all kinds of errors popping up on the server so many that they had to actually write a program just to monitor them and still never got it fixed. Caused all kinds of problems! Mac would say it's not us it's Eidon then Eidon says nope not us it's Mac. Felt like I was playing ping pong! So much frustration for 6K not including all the extra's that go with it. Dropped them after just 1 yr. SAD! Now we have purchased the read only and now having problems getting EOB's from the clearinghouse they use called Capario. Please think twice before purchasing this software. Wasn't written by Chiro's so that should tell you something. We learned the hard way. Apple equip is GREAT!

Dennis
Owner
Medical Practice, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Along for the long haul

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I have been with MacPractice since their original formation. Always professional, and always as helpful as possible, they have been a pleasure to work with. The staff, with very few exceptions, has been stellar in their grasp of the fine details and their quick resolution of issues; Their tolerance of my ignorance is commendable. It takes patience on their part because many of the answers are available online but calling or using the online chat is so easy, I just do that. As an Apple guy, I do not want to know all the details about the software: I want it to do my work for me without getting in my way, intuitively if possible. The MacPractice folks understand that and anticipate most every need.

Pros:

Features that I can pick and choose from when and if I need them. Each integrated with the others to improve functionality and support that can address my issues as fast as they come up.

Cons:

Software development is a constantly changing world of capabilities and compatibilities. When the ability to do something (any computer task) is not seamlessly lined up with the simplest and easiest way to get work do in the office efficiently it can sometimes be more trouble than it's worth to learn the 'shortcuts'. Offering choices need to be anchored to the process of deciding which choice to make. "There are many different ways to do that", doesn't help.

Marc
MD
Medical Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

RIP OFF

1.0 8 years ago

Comments: Tech support inappropriately had our office update to the new OS that is unsupported by MacPractice. This caused us to have to incur thousands in costs for wiping and reinstalling older OS. Macpractice even though they admitted culpability, would only offer us free support for 2 years to cover our financial outlay of costs.
They refused to put us in touch with management.
They refused to take care of the problem their support staff created.

Pros:

Relatively Cheap

Cons:

You get what you pay for. Their contract only allows for arbitration in Nebraska. Gee wonder why. Perhaps previous experiences.

Paula
Doctor in UK
Medical Practice
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

MacPractice

3.5 9 years ago

Pros:

It's clear and fairly concise. I like the graphical component.

Cons:

It can't do a lot of reports. We would like to print recalls simply.

Michael
Owner
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

MacPractice DC Software

5.0 11 years ago

Comments: I've been with the MacPractice software every since it started. The best part of the company is the support. If something is wrong or need additional training there are there for the busy office.
There are on-line videos for every part of the software. There is EHR, EMR, iPad and iPhone apps for schedule and patient information entering live with the patient. There is voice to text in the iPad version. And, videos pictures, documents test results and digital x-rays can be linked to each patient and viewed on on iPad in the treatment room with the patient.

abe
clinic director in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Horrible, not functional for a chiropractic office

1.0 9 years ago

Comments: Terrible experience, system regularly crashes during busy hours, daily notes don't save once you enter them in. the paid support has no idea what they are doing and instructed my office how to do things incorrectly costing us a lot of money. paid 6,000 for the system but have lost well over $30,000 in damages from the system. Tried to stick it out even though there were a lot of problems from the get go but can't afford to lose any more money from this awful software company.

Doug
Doctor in US
Medical Practice
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

100 % complete dissatisfaction

1.0 8 years ago

Pros:

Nothing. Very difficult software to navigate. Many tabs to click to complete a simple task. The conversion process was AWFUL. We lost a lot of our information. We were not able to take X-rays bc the "Windows bridge" never worked. We were advised to buy a new X-ray system. The software demos are completely false.

Cons:

The software for dentists and the customer service at MacPractice is awful.