15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About LiveChat

LiveChat is a complete customer service platform that creates the ultimate customer-centric experience while boosting your sales.

Learn more about LiveChat

Pros:

Livechat allows rapid communication with customers and bypasses the need for long phone call wait times. Ubiquitous among major businesses and improves customer experience substantially.

Cons:

The lag can be pretty awful sometimes...that's hard to explain to a client. Sometimes it makes us look lazy.

LiveChat ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.6/10

LiveChat has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 1,652 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used LiveChat before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (1,652)

Patrik
Patrik
CEO in Slovakia
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

LiveChat review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We set up a live chat for our customer on his eshop. Quick setup within a few minutes and the customer also quickly adopted the livechat window.

Pros:

14 day free trial version Possibility to share the screen with the customer A huge number of features such as automatic replies, switching between operators, offline messages and more.

Cons:

After the 14-day free version expires, you need to purchase the paid version. For some, this can be off-putting.

Laura
Laura
Human Resources Generalist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

It's simple and fast, so I can contact my teammates right away

4.0 last year

Comments: Livechat allows for instant, one-on-one interaction with customers, increasing the likelihood that they will become paying clients. Live chat takes a customer-centric approach and equips your company with useful tools.

Pros:

The use of real-time chat allows us to communicate with our clients in a highly productive manner. We have found that creating many agent accounts and assigning specific tasks to different teams of workers helps us do more in less time.

Cons:

Its price tag is higher than those of its rivals. The delay in getting chat messages is annoying and often leads to misunderstandings. It takes time for support to respond and fix the issue we report.

Clarke
Desktop Support Analyst in Israel
Farming, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

No More Phone Call Waiting with LiveChat

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

As Desktop Support Analyst, it has been easy for me to communicate with customers online without having to make and receive long calls.

Cons:

Integration to our website was hectic during initial setup - kudos to the vendor support team for intervention.

iam
Trainee in India
Computer Hardware, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Get Live With Live chat

3.0 last month New

Comments: As a user iam satisfied with the features and Services of Live chat

Pros:

I like all the features and Service they provides

Cons:

Net work connection is a problem that i faced in Live chat

Michele
Senior Customer Specialist in Mexico
Retail, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A versatile App

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: It has been one of the greatest apps that I've ever used to interact with customers and the fact that we're able to send the chat transcripts give an incredible peace of mind to the clients

Pros:

You can easily share files with customers, send links, or even schedule meetings - you can also set up canned responses to answer common queries. It's also great that you can transfer chats between agents, which is helpful if your business has multiple departments with different specialties (or mostly because customers tend to request to speak to an agent) It is also important to note that the messages have a layout that is similar to Facebook/messenger. the queued chats are displayed in a column on the left panel, while you can focus on a chat in the center panel. Additionally, there's a right panel where you can see all the details of the customer that you're currently helping (sites that they've visited, their device, their browser, if they're a returning customer or not, etc.)

Cons:

It can be pricey if you have several agents - there are multiple plans based on how many people you need to go live - One of the basic ones allows you to have 14 people at the same time (including admins, so this can reduce the number of agents that'll be assisting a customer))

Cheryl
BDC Manager in US
Automotive, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy way to communicate with customers and shoppers

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Would highly recommend as the software is basic and intuitive to use. Can easily train new employees within minutes of use. Customer support is excellent as well.

Pros:

Easy of use of the software as it is intuitive and basic.

Cons:

Sometime the notifications would be missed and we weren't sure if it was our hardware of the software itself.

Adrian
Chiropractor in Canada
Alternative Medicine, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Alternatives Considered:

Great product, works and easy to use.

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Good

Pros:

Easy to set up. Integrates well and is a fair price.

Cons:

Could be a it cheaper. Could be a bit cheaper. Not in Canadian dollars.

Ibtissam
Customer services back officer in Morocco
Banking, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Livechat review

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: I like everything about this application, i hope that everyone use it

Pros:

I like many options about this application : login in very fastly, make a good conversation with the clients real time managing, how you can talk and share screen while you talk

Cons:

Actually i didn’t find something least about this application it helps me a lot in my work but i would say the price

Jasmin
Jasmin Safro in Bosnia
Publishing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Jasmin Safro

5.0 last month New

Comments: It ok I use it little bit but it is ok ..that is my opinion

Pros:

That's easy question about love chat . That is live conversation

Cons:

A lot of idiots use it .that's only reason I heat about love chat

Karen
Payroll Admin in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Live Chat Review

5.0 last month New

Pros:

Live Chat is a great feature. I prefer to use live chat than to talk on the phone.

Cons:

I have already been on Live Chat and the company I was talking with was getting ready to close and they ended my conversation without finishing, because it was closing time.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Executive Office, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

LiveChat mudou minha empresa

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Our company started using LiveChat because we were losing a lot of customers due to the lack of support that was able to solve problems quickly. Before we started using the software, we used e-mail and this generated very slow communication with our customers. We implemented LiveChat just over two years ago and improved the level of our service. Since then, we have increased the efficiency of our work, reduced costs and mainly improved our relationship with the client.

Pros:

LiveChat integrated perfectly with our business, the software is fast and allows us to reduce the average service. Because we are able to solve our customers' problems more quickly, we were able to expand our customer portfolio. This means increased revenue for our company. But the most positive effect was being able to improve the way our company was seen in the market. The best thing about LiveChat is that it allows us to work and at the same time provide support to our client, because whenever there is a new interaction, the software emits an audible warning on the mobile device and this allows us to be answering questions in real time.

Cons:

Well, we currently face only a few difficulties with the usability of the app for mobile devices, because the web version of LiveChat is perfect, but the mobile version and a little limited, in my view, needs to expand the features in the mobile version, such as the resolution tags that are not allowed to be added in each contact, but the web version has this function. Another issue that implies the use of LiveChat is the cost of implementation, which is a little high by the standards of some companies.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

LiveChatInc Review

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: We are a 3rd party company using LiveChatInc app as our platform to serve our industry, and its been great. I tried several others, and there were functions I liked, but in the end, we came back to LiveChat because of their ease of use, support, and some unique capabilities other chat companies didn't have. There are a couple of important changes we would love to see to make it more customizable, but overall, I would recommend it highly.
I've tested at least 4 of the "top" live chat apps out there … and we came back to this one, as it was the best overall.

Pros:

First of all the Support team is very friendly and helpful. This is key and they have always tried their best to help, and were open to my feedback on improvements that could be made. It is very easy to use, very intuitive. Has some unique features I've not found in other live chat apps (example: auto greetings to customers are personal, and come specifically from one of my live chat experts. Other platforms I've used, it sends a generic auto invite, and the customer has to ACCEPT to chat, before they are connected with an agent. We have compared, and this one feature makes our take rate (customer engages in a chat) much higher, due to it being a personal invitation by one of our reps.

Cons:

The biggest one is the inability to customize Visitors window for our staff. An older version (which we still have to use) used to allow you to set up specific columns of info on each visitor. This way you could see how many times they visited, were invited, refused, etc… without having to click on each visitor to see this info. If you have a lot of visitors it is impossible to click on each of them in a timely manner and know whether to engage in a conversation. This is a big one that needs updated soon. It has taken a long while to have auto invites work properly on all mobile platforms (iPad, iPhone, tablets, etc). It still isn't possible on all, but on most devices now, customers will get a pop up if you send an invitation to chat. Wish you could set up a second Auto Invite (ie. at 1 minute into the visit, an auto greeting is sent … if declined, at 4 minutes, a second one is sent). Unfortunately, not possible. When you send a personal invite, it classifies it as a CHAT, even if the customer doesn't chat with you. So the archives get filled with "blank chats" that you have to leaf through. All of that said, besides the first one, it is still the best live chat app out there, in my opinion. Fingers crossed the Visitor view options will be changed back soon, to allow it to be more customizable for customers.

Alexandre
Owner in Brazil
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Perfect tool for Tupiniquim Hostel's Live Support

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use LiveChat as a reservation / general information channel for our hostel. Because of this we're able to provide a more humane support and convert these people into actual reservations. Before using LiveChat we tried like 3-4 different tools which weren't (not even by a long shot) as reliable and effective as LiveChat is. My partner did not want to sign up for LiveChat because it was like 300 % more expensive than the ones that we've being using but the cost/benefit is totally worth it. We've had an increase of 400-500 % of actual reservations because of this tool.

Pros:

It's packed with powerful features, details about customers that let us deal with them in a better way. The integration with Facebook Messenger is pretty cool (even though it should allow us to click on the person and be taken to his profile). Archiving, tagging and searching couldn't be simpler. Super powerful features for international sites (we use 6 translations). There is no software like this on the market.

Cons:

My only complain is that there is no tool for a supervisor or sysadmin to check LiveChat without being logged as a user. There was a plan to do that (I even replied the form) but apparently they shelved. Ohh, and that the app (for iOS) just deals with chats, not with tickets. I use heavily both features.

LiveChat Software Response

5 years ago

Hi Alexandre, Thank you and really happy you like using LiveChat, we do our best to make it even better, every day! If by chance, you had a moment to leave us a review at WordPress, it would help us even more deliver the best live chat experience to our WordPress users: https://wordpress.org/support/plugin/wp-live-chat-software-for-wordpress/reviews/#new-post  Cheers, LiveChat team

Jennifer
Dispatch in US
Internet, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The most convenient way to provide customer service

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We love LiveChat here. It keeps our call volume and abandoned call volume down, but also allows us to complete every function that we can on a phone call. We can set up a service call, take a message for a supervisor, turn service on and off, etc. We can literally do everything that we do on the phone but add the convenience for our customers.

Pros:

This allows customers to reach out and discuss issues that they are having with their service, or to set up new service, without calling in. It helps our company to keep the abandoned calls down, while still providing quality service to our customers. It's also convenient for those customers that need to have a conversation with us but can not be on the phone because they are at work. It provides all of the functionality of calling into our call center in a more convenient package.

Cons:

If the customer has an internet hiccup during a conversation, it will drop the conversation - though it does save the history so that they are able to come back without having to repeat everything. I would not call this a major drawback. If a customer calls in, there is a chance that they will have bad cell service and drop the call as well, without the benefit of the chat history. This is not a flaw with the product itself, but more the platform that it draws from and I would say that the flaw is equal to that of phone calls without the added drawback of abandoned calls.

Serap
Serap
Senior Business Analyst in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Livechat exceeds our expectations.

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Livechat plays a crucial role in our workflow for acquiring sales prospects and converting them into customers. Its use has significantly reduced our response time to address customer service issues, resulting in much happier customers.

Pros:

Livechat offers an array of exclusive chat tools such as message sneak-peek, eye catchers, and targeted messaging for our customer engagement activities with our app users. It also brings together our preferred messaging apps under a single platform by integrating them with Livechat, thus enabling customers to initiate engagement with us through their preferred messaging app. A further result of Livechat's vast integration capability, we are able to elevate a chat conversation with a customer or sales prospect to a voice or video call for efficient sales engagement.

Cons:

When it comes to helpdesk solutions, I would consider Livechat to be an essential software. It has not only met our business expectations but also exceeded them, in my opinion.

Jamie
Director of Operations in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great tool for online customer service support

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: One of my favorite features is being able to train the bot and see exactly what FAQs the customer are asking. We believe the more readily available we make information customers need the better service we offer. Specific to LiveChat, we love interacting with our customers in real time and not making them wait on an email reply.

Pros:

This software took some time to get set up. We started with Chatbot and only after implementation did we realize we needed Live Chat addition subscription to be able to interact with customers live. Then for the full ticketing features we wanted, we also added on Help Desk. The software does what we want but the total price added up to more than we initially expected. So far it's been great for our rapidly growing company. The story for the Chatbot is a work in progress. However, we believe we are able to provide a higher level of service to our customers who are all around the world. One of my favorite features is being able to train the bot and see exactly what FAQs the customer are asking. Another feature we love is interacting with our customers in real time and not making them wait on an email reply. It's also great that we can assign tickets directly to the person who can solve their problem reducing overall response time to the customer.

Cons:

We started with Chatbot and only after implementation did we realize we needed Live Chat additional subscription to be able to interact with customers live. Then for the full ticketing features we wanted, we also added on Help Desk. The software does what we want but the total price added up to more than we initially expected.

Douglas
President in US
Professional Training & Coaching, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

LiveChat Review

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It's been positive overall, aside from dealing with privacy concerns for GDPR, such as IP address collection and lack of admin controls for this feature. While many visitors do not use chat, some do, and those that have used it have found it very helpful, and it has resulted in some additional conversions that may have not occurred otherwise.

Pros:

- Ease of setup - Reliable operation - User-friendly operational/agent interface - Ability to customize pre-questions to gain consent for personal info collection, etc.

Cons:

- Support for options to increase privacy protection of site visitors (ie, for EU GDPR compliance) could be better. For example, disabling IP address collection requires a special support request and then it is entirely removed. It would be much better if IP address enable/disable was an admin-controlled setting that, if enabled, would only remove the last octet of the IP address (like Google Analytics does for IP anonymization) so that geo info could still be collected but without the precision that would create a personal info privacy concern. - Blocking of bot-crawlers from the customer/visitor list is desperately needed, as they present a nuisance to agent operations. - The clearing of the customer list info seems to occur at random/unpredictable points in time -- this should be explained and there should be a button to allow manual clearing of the list by the agent. - The customer/visitor view options should include an "all current visitors" option so that all current visitors , whether invited or browsing, can be seen in one view. - Filters should be expanded to work for all fields, and should be persistent and be able to be saved so that switching views or restarting the application does not cause filter setups to be lost. - There should be a master enable/disable setting to deactivate LiveChat when desired, without the need to go into Wordpress and disable the plugin. -

Ava
Ava
Marketing Operations Analyst in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Livechat has got us completely covered.

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Our chat-based customer service efforts are completely managed by Livechat. This tool offers us a multitude of options to connect with our customers and potential sales prospects through various channels. It has become an invaluable resource for our customer service team.

Pros:

Livechat connects with a variety of messaging channels, which has ensured that we are able to reach our customers wherever they are . At this moment, we are successfully reaching our customers on other platforms asides our website and mobile application , including on our Facebook page, through sms communication and even through the popular Whatsapp messaging platform.

Cons:

When it comes to engaging with customers through chat, Livechat does an excellent job for me and my team. We have yet to identify any flaws with this exceptional helpdesk tool. It has proven to be a reliable and efficient way to communicate with our customers.

Eva
Customer Experience in Kenya
Telecommunications, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simplified Customer Support with LiveChat

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Awesome tool to resolve customer requests at all times. But, sometimes I avoid logging in to avoid distractions from the pop-ups of the incoming new messages.

Pros:

Ability to resolve our client issues, even when our mail server is down. I can always use it on my laptop, tablet, and phone, allowing us to provide a 24 hours support. It has been a very useful tool to our organizations as a majority of our clients prefer to use this. With LiveChat, you do not have to worry about sending a request or response to the wrong email address.

Cons:

When we have an influx of requests, LiveChat is very slow, and most customers have to wait for long to be attended to. Sometimes if you refresh the page you might lose your current conversation. Sometimes, it can be a distraction, if new requests keep pooping up on my desktop window.

Kathy
Kathy
Customer Experience Data Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Insurance, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Livechat is essential for our operations.

5.0 last year

Comments: Livechat provides us with a simplified and low-resource cost way to engage our customers enquiries across multiple sales channels. Livechat ensure that our sales team is always a click away from potential customers.

Pros:

Livechat daily data summary notifications are crucial to having a snapshot idea of the day to day performance of my team , as regards responding to customers enquiries across our product mobile applications and every social media platform where we use Livechat , as our helpdesk solution. The data summary sent by Livechat provides information like the total number of chats our agents attended to over the past 24 hour period, the number of missed chats , percentage of satisfied and dis-satisfied customers etc

Cons:

There is no feature that I will like to see, that Livechat does not already provide. For myself and my team , I think we are happy with the quality that we have been able to extract from Livechat.

Rachel
Rachel
Director, Demand Generation in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

With LiveChat we can serve our customers in real time

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: This tool has helped us to meet the demands of our customers in record time, being able to respond to their requests through different channels such as live chat. The different integrations that allows other software, makes it a very complete software to have a fluid communication with customers. This software has allowed us to improve communication with our clients, it allows us to be aware of their needs in real time. Its learning curve is very low, which allowed us to get the most out of it in the shortest time possible. Undoubtedly highly recommended.

Pros:

I like the chat that we can use on our website, responding in real time to customer requests and questions. The software is very easy to use and very intuitive. Its reports are quite complete, with all the relevant information of incidents and reports.

Cons:

Although it is a plus that it has a mobile application, the truth is that it lacks many of the functions that its web version has, which makes it impossible for me to use it in the same way as if it were on the computer, with all its functions and tools. We had a hard time installing the software and making it work 100%.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A stylish, adaptable yet reliable chat client for teams

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: For the most part, the product works as advertised. There are a few functionality hurdles that they need to get over and given how high of a priority some of these items are for us, we might move on to something like Drift before they get the chance to address the problem.

Pros:

We're big on aesthetics and the look and feel of LiveChat is worlds better than many of their competitors. We can also integrate with Zapier and ZenDesk which is pretty swell.

Cons:

We've had a fair number of customers complain to us about elements of LiveChat that we have no control over. Namely, they can't see a chat wait time till they've committed to a chat and once they're in a queue to chat, there is absolutely no option for them to leave other than to close the entire browser window (which in our case, means exiting our app). We've brought this up with LiveChat a few times and haven't heard anything about a fix being on the roadmap. It's quickly becoming a dealbreaker for us.

Cihan
Cihan
Technical Service Engineer EMEA in Switzerland
Verified LinkedIn User
Plastics, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A handy and great tool complying to what it stands for!

4.0 9 months ago

Comments: We provide excellent customer service and can support customers immediately with specialized knowledge. Although not all problems can be solved via chat I am sure this is a big step forward to perfection of customer support. We frequently receive positive feedback from customers and can create a lot more business by being available 24/5.

Pros:

The hidden read-feature is best. You can see immediately what the customer is writing, even before it is sent. This can sometimes reveal SECRETS! And the customer himself does not even realize this.

Cons:

I do not like that a mail addresses-list cannot be added to Live Chat to directly forward the customer or topic to respective responsibility. This has to be done manually.

Emilia
Technical Support Lead in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The most feature packed support solution.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Setting up Livechat is as simple as copying the Livechat html code provided to new users during the signup process and pasting into the html section of your website code and you are good to go. Livechat is the most feature packed helpdesk support solution out there .It integrates with the most popular CRM solutions out there like Salesforce and Microsoft dynamics. I like how every chat conversation between support agents and web visitors are archived for future referencing. The sneak peek feature puts support agents one step ahead of website visitors ,by letting them see real life what a visitor is typing ; even before it is sent.

Cons:

I dislike how basic the Livechat mobile app. is ,only allowing chat conversations between agents and website visitors. Also we are unable to delete message archives ,except we contact Livechat and they delete it from their end.

Leena
Leena
Product Lifecycle Management Specialist in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Livechat contributes to our mission of making our customers happier.

5.0 last year

Comments: Livechat makes us as a company, more accessible to our customers. By integrating Livechat with platforms like Whatsapp and Facebook, our customers are provided with different options, with which they can reach out to us.

Pros:

Livechat is intuitive on all platforms and has fantastic integrations with video conferencing , sms automation and file storage tools used in my company. The feature I like the most about Livechat though is the sneak peek feature, which allows us to see everything being typed by the customer on the chat bar, before they click send. Being able to see a customer as they type, allows better anticipation of the question and also provides more time to craft a response.

Cons:

Livechat is among the very few tools I use at work, of which I have got no complaints about. It provides more than we need to engage customers through chatting.