15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About Absorb LMS

Unlock Potential with an AI-Powered Modern Enterprise Learning Management System.

Learn more about Absorb LMS

Pros:

Ease of use as both a learner and administrator. ADP integration and automation.

Cons:

When assigning courses you can only assign to a whole or sub-department, you can exclude.

Absorb LMS ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

Absorb LMS has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 273 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Absorb LMS before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (273)

Antoinette
Antoinette
Digital Coordinator in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Refreshing and innovative LMS product

5.0 last month New

Comments: Customer service team are excellent. Project implementation team also excellent. Smooth implementation process. Overall positive and professional experience with the whole team.

Pros:

The user interface. It is easy to navigate and makes good use of accessibility.

Cons:

In the course setup section I would like to see more developer integration options alongside SCORMS, TinCan, AICC etc. OCN requested compliance integrations with the product so it would be good to see something like this added in the future.

Alternatives Considered: Docebo

Reasons for Choosing Absorb LMS: Former LMS feedback indicated non user friendly interface and a lack of usage across OCNs active centres due to this.

Switched From: Moodle

Reasons for Switching to Absorb LMS: ABSORB's price was overall the best out of all for the features and functionality contained within the whole subscription price. The customer service engineers post implementation are also extremely helpful and will always provide alternative solutions or workarounds on the platform too.

Jason
Sr. Manager Learning and Development in US
Automotive, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review of Absorb LMS

4.0 2 months ago

Comments: Absorb LMS does meet our needs and the people at Absorb are always great partners. I am interested in seeing new products and how we can use Absorb more in our business.

Pros:

Absorb's customer support has always exceeded expectations when needed. Fortunately, we have needed their assistance often, but they have always been a great partner when working through any issues. A great example is working with Absorb's support as we transitioned to a new HRIS platform. I had the pleasure of working with [sensitive content hidden] and he was fantastic. Always quick to reply and willing to help! He made the migration a smooth process! Highly recommend [sensitive content hidden]!

Cons:

The new Learner Portal updates are not simple for learners to navigate. We use online courses consisting of several modules/chapters. It has become a challenge for our learners to move to the next module. Please add a button that allows them to move forward to next module.

Andrea V
Support Director in US
E-Learning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A bit clunky but in the end it does the job

3.0 10 months ago

Comments: Having to deliver training content for compliance purposes has been very easy and fast to setup thanks for the integrated content library. It is not complicated to use if the project is simple. Reporting can be s bit slow but it does its job.

Pros:

It does the job. The course creation feature is good, the authoring tool doesn't disappoint, and the free content library is perfect. This is very important for companies that need to deliver training in no time. The performance is good because it's cloud-based, so it scales well in case of need. The LMS could also be a source of revenue thanks to e-commerce tool. It comes with a lot of integrations so the system can communicate with external environments.

Cons:

The look and feel appears dated, despite constant improvements, and the administration tasks need to be done according to Absorb's logic and it could be very different from how other LMSs work.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Sporting Goods, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Partnership

4.0 last month New

Comments: It has been my team's experience that with Absorb Learning Management System (LMS) as our partners, we have elevated what the standard for online learning had been in the past. We believe Absorb offers a user-friendly interface and robust functionality that caters to our diverse organizational needs.

Pros:

The easy navigation, customization options, and learner engagement capabilities have empowered our organization to deliver impactful training programs. Backed by a solid customer support, we consider this LMS as a trusted partner in education and training, that has helped us drive educational success and innovation globally.

Cons:

We've learned that a perfect Learning Management System is not a reality. Though most functionalities are essential to our success there are many others that don't fit our particular user case.

Alternatives Considered: Skilljar Customer Education and Docebo

Reasons for Choosing Absorb LMS: Capabilities and especially promised developments where not aligned with our program's needs.

Switched From: BlueVolt

Reasons for Switching to Absorb LMS: Navigation and easiness of use felt more modern and engaging.

Marsha
Sr Mgr Learning and Development in US
Consumer Goods, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Strong LMS

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall we're most pleased with the admin functionality. The learner view displays nicely and is intuitive. We've had great customer service and always get immediate responses to questions and issues. The technical experts are true experts and have been able to help explain and resolve our issues.

Pros:

Absorb has 3 very strong features: 1. Reporting is fast and can be done across different areas of the platform. 2. Email management allows easy updates or maintenance of default and custom emails. 3. Auto-assignment functionality works very well with key fields.

Cons:

We're using Analyze dashboards which are very difficult to troubleshoot with various filter issues. For example, we have a dashboard with 5 filters and if there are no users that fall within the first filter, then the dashboard ignores that filter. This then allows incorrect data to appear for admins.

Will
National Advisor Experience Manager in Canada
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Absolutely Thrilled!

5.0 last month New

Comments: Absolutely thrilled with the customer support provided by Kirsten Spak at Absorb! Kirsten is knowledgeable, patient, and incredibly helpful. She resolves any issues we have swiftly, making the entire process incredibly smooth. Couldn't be happier with the on-going service we receive from both Kirsten and the Absorb team.

Pros:

Customer Support has been outstanding and the platform is very easy to use, our users are completely satisfied.

Cons:

Nothing, everything is suited to our needs at this point.

Alternatives Considered: Axonify

Reasons for Switching to Absorb LMS: Our users were already comfortable with the platform and Absorbs ability to customize was enough for our company, not to mention pricing was more attune to our budget.

Erin
Project Director in US
Higher Education, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Exceptional implementation experience!

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Our biggest pluses for Absorb are the integration with Salesforce and users being able to take courses directly from salesforce and the ease of use for our admins to create and manage courses. Our implementation experience with [sensitive content hidden] as our Implementation Manager was exceptional. We always felt informed, supported, and capable of transitioning to our new LMS. Customer support ranging from the development team to the billing team has been outstanding.

Cons:

The only thing we'd love to see is the ability for the Absorb design/customizations be able to transfer over to the Salesforce experience for users, for course branding consistency.

Alternatives Considered: MapleLMS and Forj

Reasons for Choosing Absorb LMS: We wanted to have a simpler process for variable pricing by audience and allow learners to access the courses directly from salesforce.

Switched From: Forj

Beth
Operations Manager in US
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A great platform and an even better implementation team!

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: The LMS is very new to us. We just launched on March 25th, so I can really only speak to the implementation process, which was an amazing experience. Our IPM was absolutely wonderful, I was sad to say goodbye when the implementation was complete!

Pros:

It's pretty intuitive from both a user and admin perspective. It's reliable and has a ton of different reporting capabilities.

Cons:

There are certain aspects of Absorb I wish were more customizable.

Tami
Director of Learning and Development in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Absorb LMS

4.0 last month New

Comments: We have been with Absorb just past implementation and we are pleased with the product. It is easy to learn and manage.

Pros:

The Customer Service for Setup and Implementation was great! The representative was knowledgeable and easy to reach when needed.

Cons:

There are many screens to click in to find what you need to set up a class. Once you learn all the little places to put things, it is not difficult.

Aimee
HR Manager in US
Real Estate, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great for first time eLearners

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: overall great experience! Bringing eLearning to our employees will be key to consistant new hire training!

Pros:

Implementation was failry easy and all staff are great with communication and getting things done. TGhey worked within our budget.

Cons:

We should have done more training on the Create portion prior to implementation.

Alternatives Considered: BambooHR and Litmos

Reasons for Switching to Absorb LMS: functionality vs. cost was the key factgor in decision making. Absorb had more Create options and was lower on cost as well!

Celia
Manager, Volunteer Partnerships & Engagement in US
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Finally, an LMS that is Simple and Customizable

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We use Absorb for an external audience - volunteers - and they have no complaints. They find it simple to use and don't require an official onboarding process.

Pros:

I love that this product is customizable according to your organization's needs. The business model is to teach you how to fish so that you own the system and can make branding updates, page templates, email templates, etc. You can customize the Learner Home to your preferences. You're not stuck with an LMS in a box where you have to rely on customer support for everything. In addition, the system is simple to learn administratively. I'm most impressed with its reporting function which has been very complicated in my experience with many other learning systems. Also, the Global Resources field is awesome so you don't have to pretend documents always belong with a course.

Cons:

The ILC course feature could use more flexibility. Would be great to have users be able to register for more than one ILC session within a course. I end up duplicating a lot of courses just to add the ability to register for more sessions.

Eric
Director of Operations in US
Professional Training & Coaching, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Absorb is a Game Changer for Any Learning/Training Usecase

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Loving every minute of our Absorb experience. We are beyond happy with our decision and as we hit the almost 1-year point, we know this is the home for our training content for years to come!

Pros:

Absorb is an amazing powerful LMS, but is amazingly easy to use as well. The dashboard customization, course settings, and user management are straightforward and impactful. And if you get some of the add-ons, you won't ever think of switching to another LMS!

Cons:

For our specific use case (recurring training vs one and done or certificate renewal), the out-of-the-box reports don't allow us easy visibility into individual chapter completions. It focuses more on course completion

Alternatives Considered: SkyPrep and Northpass

Reasons for Choosing Absorb LMS: Functionality was lacking. Customization options weren't as robust and Absorb Create was a HUGE game changer for us!

Switched From: Docebo

Reasons for Switching to Absorb LMS: Customization options. Ease of use. Absorb create

Tameka
Program Manager in US
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Absorb LMS Review

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: My overall experience has been great! I would give them a 95 out of 100.

Pros:

The ease of implementation, dedicated customer service representatives, and mid-range cost.

Cons:

I have struggled with the reporting feature, although you can pay extra for custom reports.

Alternatives Considered: Docebo

Reasons for Choosing Absorb LMS: There were too many limitations and there was a fee for any recommendation. Also, the customer service was poor.

Switched From: Crowd Wisdom

Reasons for Switching to Absorb LMS: Docebo was more expensive, and we did not need the additional feature that they offered.

Devin
Training Coordinator in US
Professional Training & Coaching, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Absorb LMS

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We had such a fantastic start up team on our project with Absorb. We had a lot of ideas/goals for our LMS and our team seemed to help us meet most of our goals/expectations! Absorb is user friendly and allows for some real great content building in dashboards and online courses! Our learners love the look/design.

Pros:

Coming from another software, we loved the customizable features of the software!

Cons:

Only honestly the reports feature. There was only ways to run mass reports, or individual person or courses. I couldn't pick various folks and run it all at once. HOWEVER being able to to download to excel file instead of CSV file was a game changer!!

Alternatives Considered: Relias Healthcare LMS

Reasons for Choosing Absorb LMS: Our contract was ending with them and we used them for HR purposes as well.

Switched From: Paycor

Reasons for Switching to Absorb LMS: The product design, the team, the support, and our data transfer.

Justina
Enterprise Learning and Development D Director in US
Consumer Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

We Love Absorb

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

Absorb has made it so easy to design custom content and roll-out training courses necessary for our organization. Absorb is easy for our learners to use, and the system has made integrations simple and straight-forward.

Cons:

We've had zero issues with Absorb implementation & use.

Alternatives Considered: Cornerstone LMS

Reasons for Choosing Absorb LMS: NAVEX did not allow for custom content creation.

Switched From: NAVEX  One

Christian
Training and Development Manager in US
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The Standard in Learning Management Systems

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: In searching for the right LMS for our organization, Absorb was the perfect fit. We have a diverse group of learners and need to provide reporting to auditors multiple times of year. With a small T&D department, Absorb proved to be just the software needed to meet the high expectations of our organization.

Pros:

Absorb provides ease of use for all learners regardless of technological skills. Absorb provides the data and reporting that our organization needs.

Cons:

Absorb is not as attractive/visually appealing as some of the other systems on the market.

Bill
H.R. Director in US
Consumer Goods, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Best training and onboarding

5.0 last year

Pros:

The main thing for me was the onboarding process with [SENSITIVE CONTENT] was fantastic. She was patient and understanding of my crazy schedule. She hit all the key points that were important to me with a new program. Also, the ability for the employees to choose their own ongoing trainings was very important.

Cons:

Cost is quite high in my opinion. I will not be using the entire program but have to pay for modules that I will not use.

Richelle
Director of Knowledge Management in US
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great product

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Pre built templates are wonderful for admins. User friendly UI experience.

Cons:

N/A no cons at this time. We have enjoyed the software and experience.

Alternatives Considered: Loopio, Coursera for Business and LinkedIn for Business

Reasons for Choosing Absorb LMS: We grew as a company and wanted to mature our products.

Switched From: Moodle

Reasons for Switching to Absorb LMS: The pre built templates really were a big sell for us.

Allison
Allison
VP of L&D Solutions in US
E-Learning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Unexpected Limitations

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall it's ok. Again we were really disappointed about the department/sub-department functionality. So if you are using Absorb for multiple clients not just internally then beware. It is definitely easier to see how many users we have in the system, who has taken what courses, our popular courses, and course evaluation scores which for us are all important KPI's. overall great value for the price.

Pros:

Absorb is really easy to use and navigate. We purchased it for the ability to have "department" or sub-companies. We provide training materials and the platform to our clients so having a multi-tenant LMS was critical. I love the ability to customize colors and layout for various clients. The onboarding process was pretty smooth and the staff is attentive.

Cons:

My biggest disappointment was that that the multi-tenancy or segregating by departments did not function as we expected causing us to have to adjust our offering and prices for clients. When assigning courses you can only assign to a whole or sub-department, you can exclude. So if 99 customers get the library and one doesn't, you have to allow 99 clients instead of just restricting one. When restricting departments they can manage only the users and courses within their department. However, this does not apply to the mercury module, Global Resources, Competencies, Categories, Message Templates, Ecommerce, and Public Catalogs. So we had to disable access to department admins for these features otherwise they would see other departments (clients) information which is terrible!!!! So instead we have to manage all of these features for our clients. So every time they want a billboard changed we have to do it for example. It puts a lot more management on our behalf that we weren't expecting. other little things we don't like are: -no course number field -can't control the order modules are consumed ina chapter only the order of the chapters. -can't change the reports on the dashboard or re-order it -resources don't have a thumbnail- makes them look empty/incomplete -no place for text on the home dashboard. -roles are not department-specific -can't change password expiry beyond 7 days -task functionality is way too basic -no ability to integrate tasks or due dates with calendars

Justin
LMS Administrator in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Absorb: Solid But With Some Shortcomings

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: (note: this review is based on our experience using Absorb 4).
At ARRIS, Absorb powers ARRIS Academy, our centralized location for all things training serving both internal employees as well as external customers. The platform has performed very well, maintaining consistent up time and performance while serving the diverse needs of our organization. Using the eCommerce integration and curricula, we have successfully launched certification programs so that customers and employees can demonstrate their proficiency in our products and thus demonstrate a marketable skill. We have also utilized the curricula feature to easily mass-enroll our employees in mandatory trainings; based on this success, we are exploring other forms of automated enrollments, particularly for onboarding new employees. Working with Absorb has been a great experience. Overall, the customer service is top notch. The team has worked with us to provide SSO and learner import solutions which not only reduces the overhead in Admin time but it also provides a more seamless user experience.
In my first year at ARRIS, we have rapidly grown in our reliance of Absorb, turning it into a company-wide hub of training needs. As such, we have experienced a lot of 'growing pains' as we discover the limitations of the current version of the platform. In particular, the reporting capabilities leaves a lot to be desired. There's no way to run a report on courses which also includes sub categories. In addition, a report on employees and their training records cannot be produced on a single page; one has to click within each employee to see what she/he has done.
Admin permissions is another area that is lacking. In order for somebody to create courses intended for a specific audience, he/she has to have the ability to affect all courses. It would be ideal to grant only very specific permissions for given category and also prevent he/she from performing specific actions for a given course. These are just a few of things that contribute to a lower score in ease of use as it does make the job of an admin more difficult than it needs to be.
As good as customer service has been, there have been times where there have been lengthy gaps between emails or phone calls and our delayed upgrade to Absorb 5 which brings down the score a bit. We are excited to see what the capabilities are of Absorb 5; we hope for many enhancements that improve the experience for all users.

Everett
Technology Integration Specialist in US
Individual & Family Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Absorb has been an easy to use platform for meeting our eLearning needs for our community.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: It allows us to engage our community through eLearning by showing courses, webinars and lesson relevant to our field of work. It allows us to keep our learners engaged, connected and kept current with ideas and best practices. It allows us the opportunity to represent ourselves as experts in out field.

Pros:

Creating and development course content in a straight-forward and simple manner. Enjoy making quick edits and updates to published courses. Ease of importing courses from various types of APIs. Support staff is very attentive and helpful with students and system issues. Administrator back end is very flexible and easy to use. Enjoy using the "impersonate" feature, which can identify problems quickly. Like that the framework of Absorb is still under development, which allows for new innovations, looking for ways to improve and stay relevant.

Cons:

Reporting features still need a bit of development to allow for more control and options for what should be saved in the report export document. Giving more options for data being displayed by a student transcript. Some features of pulling data from the metrics can be a bit tricky.

Daniel
Professional Education Program Manager in US
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Thank you to Absorb and our CSM

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Overall, it has been great working in Absorb, especially compared to my experience with other LMSs. The new releases enable us to incorporate more active learning and engagement into our courses, and our relationship with our CSM is critically helpful in building our offering of educational courses for healthcare professionals.

Pros:

The customer support- our Client Success Manager [sensitive content hidden] is always available to help answer questions, resolve issues, and suggest things we can do with our LMS. It is a load off of my mind to know that no matter the issue, we have our CSM to help us out.

Cons:

I'd like to be able to build more custom reports myself (e.g. pulling enrollment numbers and evaluation responses for certain courses automatically) but our CSM has still helped figure out workarounds to pull the information we need.

Dave
HR Manager in US
Medical Practice, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Absorb LMS - Great Product and Customer Service

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall I would highly recommend the Absorb LMS software to any company who is looking for a customized and affordable solution. They have an excellent implementation team that will work with you every step of the way until you are satisfied with the finished product. They also have a great customer service team that is always responsive to our needs and are willing to work with us to incorporate new updates to our system.

Pros:

While working with the Absorb team we were able to fully customize an Learning Management System to fit the needs of our small company within the clinical trials space. We initially worked with a great implementation team who were very supportive in meeting with us each step of the way to gather the proper requirements for our final product. Once we were satisfied with our finished product we were able to easily introduce the software to our employees to use with minimal training required. We continue to be very pleased with the level of customer service Absorb provides when we have a new inquiry or suggestion for improving our employees' experiences.

Cons:

The only con to Absorb's software was that they did not have a full suite of course content that met our needs in terms of internal training. We were able to work around this feature by uploading course content through another provider which was easily imported into our current system.

Amira
Ph.D student in Algeria
E-Learning, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Extraordinary features!

5.0 last year

Comments: My overall experience with Absorb LMS is amazing. As a user and a teacher, Absorb LMS organized my task. It provides awesome features that made me gain time and effort, such as tracking participants' attendance and performance. The electronic signature has also personalized the experience for all users and is a unique feature. Though Absorb LMS still needs improvements in some areas, It is still one of the best software I used for E-learning and virtual classroom management. Highly recommended!!!!

Pros:

* Very easy and friendly to use especially for beginners. * Absorb LMS is a great software to create and publish a course. * It tracks the participants' performance and provides reports.* Very responsive customer service. * It has an electronic signature.

Cons:

* Configuration process is a bit difficult for beginners. * Integration options are limited. * Reporting service can be tricky sometimes. * Difficulty in managing blended learning

Steve
Director of Training in US
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Absorb has provided us with a unique mix of feature and quality support helping us obtain our goals.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Speed of delivery of content to customers and users and with the ease of user mgmt, the amount of time I am spent managing the system is kept to a minimum.

Pros:

The ease of adding courses, content and attaching relevant material to this cannot be overlooked and for me is easily just one of the items most enjoyed. The built in workflow allows me to take my video production and related documents and attach them to a course that can be distributed to my users in a matter of minutes.

Cons:

Nothing really stands out as a negative. One area for improvement would be exporting reports - It would be nice to be able to customize the look and feel of reports in the tool before exporting, and it is a minor issue as a lot of this can be done via the Excel export anyway.