JobBOSS Reviews

by ECI Software Solutions

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.9 /5

About JobBOSS

ECI JobBOSS provides the necessary business software tools you need to keep your shop efficient, productive and profitable.

Learn more about JobBOSS

Showing 193 reviews

Heidi R.
CSR/Office Operations
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/5/2019

"Good for Shop Management, Has Some Quirks"

Pros: -This system does work well for managing active jobs as well as keeping all the historical information on jobs run in the past. It's easy to look up jobs in the system, see how much you've charged in the past, see what machines you ran it on, see how many times you've run it, etc.
-The visibility between the shop and the office is very helpful - we use the data collection function, and the office can look at any job and see where it's at in process and who has scanned into the job.
-System links well - you can capture labor, material, machining and outside services all on the same job easily and efficiently.
-Integrates well with quickbooks for invoicing.
-Customer service is easy to contact and fairly knowledgeable (some reps are better than others, sometimes I've had to call multiple times for the same question but I do eventually get an answer)
-System design is clean and straightforward.

Cons: -The system has a lot of quirks that you can work around but just seem inefficient (ie you can't make a machine or work center inactive. This doesn't make sense for shops that upgrade machines and get rid of old or malfunctioning ones.)
-The reports are helpful to a point - basically they are helpful if all of your information is entered exactly how JobBoss requires it to be entered. Sometimes you don't know you are entering something wrong until the report comes up looking very wrong, and it can be tricky to figure out where your settings need to be adjusted for the report to come out correctly. Once you know how to run everything, it's easy to repeat.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/5/2019
Chris R.
Engineer
Machinery, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/2/2020

"JobBOSS Daily User"

Comments: JobBOSS is geared toward small job shops. The software interface is not intuitive and is frankly unrefined. JobBOSS will suffice for a small shop running simple jobs. But if you are a larger organization with any level of job complexity beyond the most basic, look elsewhere.

Pros: JobBOSS functions well for generating basic jobs, quotes, routings, and bills of materials. Basic raw materials and purchased components can be managed as well.

Cons: JobBOSS is job centric, not part centric. If you are a manufacturer running repeat parts or part families, this software is lacking. The interface is cumbersome, and often lacking in basic functionality. For example, there are areas in the software where once you start an operation you cannot back up if you've made a mistake. You can also lose data you've typed in without realizing it until after a report is created.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/2/2020
Jim H.
IT
Automotive, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/8/2017

"JobBoss in a Mold Shop"

Comments: We have been using JobBoss for many years in a Mold shop. It takes a little time to learn the software and it's full functions, but it has been very good in our environment. We are using data collection!

Pros: East of use and Customer Support are the best in the industry. The quoting to Job to timekeeping to invoicing the job is easy to follow.
We didn't get all components of the system, but we have gradually added pieces, we added Data Collection and are very happy with it. Our goal is to have the ability to better understand the time spent on each job.

Cons: Current PAYROLL module needs to be replaced soon with replacement Red Wing Accounting Software. Users get "stuck" as logged in once an a while, and have to be logged out by Customer Support.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/8/2017
Tamara I.
Owner/Corp Secretary
Mining & Metals, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/2/2017

"Trailer Mfg., Small Company, 35 employees"

Comments: It has been frustrating and VERY long hours getting everything set up to even use. The "demo" looks great, the sales personnel does a great job in "selling" but we have found it very difficult to learn and use. The consultant they send to your place is knowledgeable but we spent a lot of time just teaching him what our business was and how we operated. We were just has frustrated when he left, as we were before he came. I would not recommend this software to companies that don't fit in JobBoss' mold. The accounting, payroll and shop floor management have all been high learning curves!!!

Pros: I have found Tech Support, and general customer service employees quite helpful.

Cons: Not a software for EVERY shop manufacturing business. Expensive mistake if it doesn't fit your needs, as we're finding out after the purchase.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/2/2017
Jack H.
Production Control
Aviation & Aerospace, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/8/2017

"CRYSTAL REPORTS ARE NICE, BUT DIFFICULT TO MAKE OR CUSTOMIZE"

Pros: Crystal reporting in JobBOSS is a huge time and money saver. They are very helpful to determine delivery schedules, and review On-Time delivery at the end of each month. We use dozens of reports that we have customized which help plan, schedule, and review.

Cons: The data on existing reports when exported to excel are difficult to manipulate. Therefore, modifying the reports has helped us, but you need to have someone with decent knowledge of Crystal to help with it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/8/2017
Joseph C.
QA Manager/IT Specialist
Mining & Metals, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/8/2017

"JobBoss works for us"

Comments: JobBoss has brought a better understanding of our business to everyone in our organization, regardless of their position.

Pros: The fact that the software is almost designed specifically for a fabrication, manufacturing shop is it's greatest attribute for our organization.

Cons: Because it is a canned software package, there are a few minor things that are missed for our organization specifically. However that by no means minimizes it's benefits to our organization.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/8/2017
Troy H.
Production Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/2/2017

"Overall good but not great"

Comments: I have used most areas of the software minus the accounting section. Overall it is good software once it has been set up. Launching jobs for quote templates work well for us, but the software has moved away from this style of launching jobs.

Pros: Once it is set up it is fairly easy to use.
Mobile data collection.

Cons: I find the scheduling module is the weakest area that I use regularly.
Our accounting department does not like the accounting module.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/2/2017
Jim L.
Poject Manager
Mining & Metals, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/2/2017

"Jobboss"

Comments: I have been using JBW for 19 years now. All & all it is pretty good.

Pros: Excellent for routing & tracking jobs.
It works well for quoting. Quotes can easily be pulled into jobs when ordered.
Training is good
Data collection works well

Cons: Poor in scheduling.
Custom reports are expensive & take a while to get done.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/2/2017
Glenn street S.
President
Textiles, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/2/2017

"Not Very Intuitive, Poor Customer Support"

Comments: We have had JobBoss for a number of years and have just put up with it. It is obvious that over the years they have just kept adding features and the system is clunky and not intuitive. I got excited when they announced a new cloud version a few years back. This had appealed to me as it appeared to be a new version, and our server needed replacement so this was the right solution at the right time. I'm based in Canada and was told it would be coming to Canada soon, but I would need to convert my Accounting to Quickbooks Online as QBO is the accounting engine for the cloud platform. That was several years ago. I've called a handful of times with no resolution, everytime it's either "We're working on it", or they encourage me to get a US address to have the Cloud but I wouldn't have Canadian Payroll, or they start giving me complicated answers about the server version being hosted by someone else.. I've also emailed a few times with no response. They've never been able to give me a clear roadmap of what to do which has been super frustrating. We have now picked new cloud-based software provider.

Pros: Nothing.

Cons: Not User-Friendly or intuitive. (Just ask them to demo their CRM to see what I mean).
Poor Customer Service.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/2/2017
Denise N.
HR Coordinator
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/4/2017

"JobBoss Works!"

Comments: It has served us for many years in a machine shop. It takes a little while to learn the software and it's full functions, but it has been very good in our environment. We are soon adding data collection!

Pros: All you need in one database. The quoting to job setup to timekeeping to invoicing the job is easy to follow.

Cons: Creating your own reports.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/4/2017
Bruce L.
General Manager
Medical Devices, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 25/9/2019

"Tailored special for machine shop"

Pros: You can run it completely job based.
No need for sales orders if that's your preference

Cons: Shop Boss and Group Entry can freeze up at times and may take a while to open

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 25/9/2019
Eddie B.
Marketing Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/2/2017

"Job Boss Cost and Functionality"

Comments: I have used several different software packages with other companies and I find Job Boss to be easy to use, very intuitive, and flexible

Pros: Very user friendly

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/2/2017
Toby B.
CTO
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/8/2017

"Simple and Powerful"

Pros: Easy to train, not bloated with bells and whistles. Each component/module is straight forward and the help files do a good job of giving an overview of that function.

Cons: The client/server characteristics, not being able to refresh but having to go out of screens and back in.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/8/2017
Jennifer A.
Executive administrator
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/8/2017

"Executive Administative"

Pros: The ease of the functionalities. Well labeled points and accuracy. The reports that can be customized to our individual use is very helpful.

Cons: The con's are that sometimes it locks up or is slow entering data. If I am working on a lengthy order it starts to slow down.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/8/2017
Peggy I.
Office Manager / Administrative Assistant
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/2/2017

"Job Boss Review"

Comments: Job Boss is user-friendly. The canned reports have too much info on them but it is easy to transfer to excel to get more concise info.

Pros: The ease of use.

Cons: Needs a better accounting package and I think the training should be more affordable. Also, need more local consultants.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/2/2017
Tawnya R.
Production Planner
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/2/2017

"All my info in one place"

Comments: I like that I'm able to keep all my information in one place. log in and see where my jobs are, if they are on track, etc. Not always having to run to the floor and talk to 4 or 5 different people to find out where a job is located, etc before I figure out what's going on. Saves me time and effort.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/2/2017
Cole B.
Shop Engineer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 6/6/2017

"Basic shop management software lacking refinement and flash, but a great overall value."

Pros: Functions well and achieves the fundamental management objectives of any small job shop or production facility

Cons: The software has glitches and hickups. It could be much more user friendly, and the asthetics are circa 1980

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 6/6/2017
Rhonda S.
Account Manager
Industrial Automation, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/11/2018

"Helpful but quirky!"

Pros: Once you learn how to use it and set it up correctly..it can be very effective.

Cons: We had to end up hiring a company to come in and customize it for our needs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/11/2018
Rachel O.
Quality Coordinator
Mining & Metals, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/2/2017

"JobBoss Review"

Comments: The product is easy to use, and the training videos are helpful.

Pros: Easy to use and has a lot of reports.

Cons: The reports are not easy to easily managed for customized information.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/2/2017
Joseph H.
Supervisor
Utilities, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/1/2019

"JobBoss: Nice middle ground"

Pros: Ease of use
Functionality
Ability to cover cost analysis without expensive software

Cons: Limited at the high end
Customization limits

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/1/2019
Linette L.
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 30/3/2012

Comments: We switched to JobBOSS in December of 2006, after attending an IMTS show and viewing the ease of use of their software. Our previous software had become cumbersome and hard to use. Implementation at the end of the year was a lofty goal, but with all hands in on the conversion we were able to migrate the data on our own in two weeks. Some modules were left unused for the first couple of months but by the 6th month we were utilizing everything. JobBOSS is easy to train on and having a "dummy" database to play with helps with new ideas or training purposes. When we implemented, half of the trainees were interns (straight out of school) but everybody was able to pick it up with ease. Our JobBOSS trainer worked at the speed we needed him to be at to be up and running with the software by January 2007- fast on some days, slow on other days. We do no seek JobBOSS customer support that often. There are the occasional bugs that you will get with any software upgrade but we have not sought additional help with their software. In my chats with other users, I have talked with " half users" of the software and wonder how they can maintain two different software and databases for everyday business functions. JobBOSS is spectacular if you utilize every module and report. It is what you put into it. Put everything into and it will let you see everything you need to know.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 30/3/2012
Ben K.
QUALITY
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/7/2019

"OHH JOBBOSS"

Pros: EASE OF USE AND TRACING INFO REAL TIME.

Cons: VERY VERY BULKY. GARBAGE IN MEANS GARBAGE OUT.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/7/2019
Kerry W.
Office Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/2/2017

"JobBoss"

Comments: We have been using JobBoss for over 25 years. Many improvements have been made over those years and we find the software easy to use and very functional.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/2/2017
Jon S.
Mining & Metals, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/2/2017

"Shop Software"

Comments: This product has helped us reduce our over head costs by 2 people.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/2/2017
Donna S.
Operations Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    2.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/8/2015

"Using Jobs, Sales Orders and Accounting"

Pros: Seems to be flexible enough for our metal stamping job shop which as over 250 unique jobs. Vendor help was readily available for set up and use.

Cons: The product is not intuitive and there were too may ways to perform the same function with no help from the vendor on how to decide the best for our shop. Vendor webinars were a waste of time. There is no lesson plan and the teachers don't seem to want to answer specific questions about the problems we were having with set up. They give you different answers to the same question without advice on the what results from each answer. They seem to want to just sell more classes, one guy spent about 20 minutes telling me his life story.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/8/2015