15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

NovaBACKUP Server Agent Reviews

About NovaBACKUP Server Agent

NovaBACKUP Server Agent is secure, local and cloud Windows server backup software with support for MS-SQL, Exchange, and VMs.

Learn more about NovaBACKUP Server Agent

Pros:

User interface is very easy and product is reliable.

Cons:

The use of the software seems simple enough if you don't do it just right it is a problem.

NovaBACKUP Server Agent ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

NovaBACKUP Server Agent has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 19 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used NovaBACKUP Server Agent before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (19)

Josh
Josh
Novabackup in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

NovaBackup is a product I depend on everyday to secure my systems and my clients

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

It is rock solid dependable. There are very few failed backups unless there is a hardware issue. It supports Windows Server, Exchange, SQL Server, Active Directory and Hyper V. Bare metal restores from a boot CD. Everything you need to protect your small to mid size business servers.

Cons:

Not much. Does everything we require.

Charles
Compliance Consultant in US
Pharmaceuticals, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Simple Backup Software

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: None

Pros:

I like the fact that it quickly and completely backs our PCs up.

Cons:

Sometimes it takes very long to complete the backup job.

Willie
owner in US
Retail, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Neutral

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: Disaster recovery.

Pros:

The backup of my system is total and complete.

Cons:

It takes a long time to do a complete backup, 12 hours for a home desktop.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy, affordable and complete backup solution

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have NovaBackup and HyperV in the same physical server, with jobs to backs up to a NAS. Easy, clean, efficient, Novastor is the best solution in the price range for this type of solutions. If I had a lot of physical machines, each of them with a lot of virtual machines it would lack a good centralized management. If the first is your use case (not much physical machines) it is probably the best solution and the best price you'll find.

Pros:

It's easy to use and deploy, in case of disaster it's easy to take backup files to another fresh installation of NovaBackup without having to transfer any configurations. Backup speed normal/good, backup compression normal/good (no deduplication), multiple backup schedule options, good speed to recover from backup (faster than deduplication options from other softwares). GREAT for stand alone solution, good panel for virtual machine backup schedule and management (I have used only HyperV version). Backup files may be easily moved/copied at file level incase of need, no need of "export" or difficult backstage tricks.

Cons:

I can't set expiration to individual backups nor retention, ie. in the case of virtual (HyperV) machines backup I can set "keep x backups" but if I want to keep one of them for whatever reason I must copy the files somewhere else before the rule deletes it, would like to have a "retain" button. No deduplication (although that's why it's easy to move the backup files and the restoration is faster). Mostly manual clean up of old backups (insufficient auto rules)

Kem
CTO in US
Financial Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Small Business Essentials

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We have used NovaBackup for quite a while now. The newer versions are faster and more efficient. We are completely replacing another vendors software with NovaBackup on all our servers.

Pros:

Scheduled Backup SQL databases with the ability to restore backups onto the recovery server.

Cons:

setting up backup jobs and the scheduling is a detached managed function. so If I edit a backup job to change something, and an existing schedule exists, i have to go to schedule to check to see that existence. If I am editing a job and i want to edit the schedule, it is a separate edit

Donald
President in US
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Dependable

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We are an accounting firm and perform an differential backup daily. This is important for tax return as well as client write-up work.

Pros:

I like the fact that I can setup the application to notify me concerning the results of the backup routine every day at a time that reminds me to review the backup results

Cons:

It takes more than twelve hours to complete an image backup. I have about 1.1 TB of data.

Steve
President in US
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Peace of mind

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I originally purchased NovaBackup for my wife's computer. I was using the basic backup software which cam with my external drive (Toshiba). Then my machine was compromised, and I purchased a second license for my computer. This was just before NovaStore offered a special deal for multiple machines, and although I called immediately to request that my second account be integrated with the first account, under the special pricing of the current deal. However, this was declined, and I was disappointed; your customer service could have done me a solid there.

Pros:

NovaBACKUP downloaded quickly and installation was simple, with no tweaking required; I set up a backup schedule 1-2-3. And everything ran without a hitch. I've looked at the backup logs, but thankfully, have never needed to use the backups to restore anything...! Just knowing the information is there brings me peace of mind.

Cons:

The menus choices during setup could be more obvious regarding image backup.

Patrick
retired in US
Think Tanks, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

NovaBackup - Keeps my home computers safely backed up

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: During my IT career at a large insurance company, I knew the critical need to backup data. In my home, I have 3 computers, with many valuable family genealogy photos, and data. So, as an IT retiree, I make certain my home projects are safely backed up. Just last month, my data server computer had a hardware disk crash at home. NovaBackup helped me restore all of my data.

Pros:

NovaBackup is a robust backup tool, which is supported by a dependable company. I've been a satisfied customer of this NovaStor company for 18 years. On the few times when I needed help, their teams were prompt at responding directly to my questions.

Cons:

One time, while tuning up my home backups, I added a "differential" layer of backups. I learned quickly NOT to mix Differential and Incremental methods for my scheduled backup of a same set of files.

George
George
Information Technology Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Decent file based backup

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall a solid product with better than average support. This product would rate much higher by me if the backup was image based and not file based.

Pros:

its reliable, does not require significant attention, communicates on success or failure.

Cons:

its a file based backup, not image based. Therefore it is slow to process backups and restoring a single file can be painfully slow.

Herman
President in US
Oil & Energy, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great backup software

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I use this to make daily backups to disk and a NVR. It does so flawlessly. I can also do a static image of the server and that makes restoring a server much easier.

Cons:

Until recently the static imaging was not available.

Bob
Owner/Developer in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fast and Easy

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: This backup system has save my bacon several times especially when I have crashed a drive.

Pros:

The speed at which it recovers files is fast.

Cons:

I have missed some backs due to lack of space on the backup drive. You really have to stay on top of the destination drive.

Andrea
custodian in US
Hospitality, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Back Up Storage

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: NovaBackUp is a pretty good system that allows you to save and store as much information as you need, for as long as you need.

Pros:

I loved how Nova offered you an unlimited supply of backup storage and it allowed you to find documents oh so easily.

Cons:

I did not like the price of this software. When I first purchased it I was using a discount code from my job, but then I found out that their were other companies that offered me the same services, with more perks, at a lower price.

Jan
Manager in US
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great backup program

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I feel confident that we will not lose our data

Pros:

Very user friendly and it works! When setting up new computer systems very easy to restore my backup to the new system

Cons:

have only 1 place to enter where you want the backup to copy and name it

gary
vice president in US
Aviation & Aerospace, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Novabackup Datacenter

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: For the 4 months that I have been using the software, I have had some problems but when support explained to me what I did wrong it has run smoothly.

Pros:

Installing the software with NovaStor techs went smoothly for the free trial period. The software has been easy to use. it was making backups almost immediately after the install. i moved from Yosemite server backup, which was obsoleted, to NovaStor Datacenter. I haven't been disappointed with this software.

Cons:

The knowledge book examples could go into more detail

Orestes
Automotive Technician in US
Automotive, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent storage and backup

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: When you need to store files and you want to make sure that they stay safe and protected, then this is the software for you!

Pros:

The most important feature with this software, is the ability to store and save as many files as I need to and I am able to store them for an extended period of time. From my business receipts to my kids pictures. This software comes in handy for so much.

Cons:

There is not anything that I have found at this point that I do not like about this software. I do not use it as much as my wife, but I have yet to hear her complain either.

Scott
Owner in US
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best backup server software

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Setup was easy and support was great.

Pros:

User interface is very easy and product is reliable.

Cons:

None, we switched from Symantec backup exec and have been very happy.

David
Owner in US
Restaurants, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Novabackup is easy to use once setup. It is on autopilot!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: It backups my data for safekeeping.

Pros:

I like the simplicity of the backup interface and once set up, it is on autopilot. It backups my data every night like clockwork. It provides me with reports when errors occur.

Cons:

Once the file is saved, you cannot open it in a directory to see what you have saved. My previous backup software allowed me to review my backup files.

Linda
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Highly capable with many extra features

5.0 13 years ago

Comments: NovaBACKUP is a backup program that we have been using for 8 months now. Users can choose either a backup wizard or manual configuration of setting which I consider very user friendly. For beginners the usage of the Wizard and the definition of the backup sets might be a little bit confusing. But this is something you need to figure out one time and then the usage of the software is easy to manage. There are four different types of backups: Full, Incremental, Differential and "Snap Shot". I think that offering these different types is a very useful feature. One of the advantages that this software offers is the great array of features and options.

Pros:

Very reliable program Online website support

Cons:

Some of the settings are confusing for beginners

Larry
President in US
Medical Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Support

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Excellent and rapid response to questions. When email is not enough the support team is willing to access your computer to help resolve your problems.

Cons:

The use of the software seems simple enough if you don't do it just right it is a problem