Workday Adaptive Planning Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.5 /5

About Workday Adaptive Planning

Business budgeting software that provides a company with the financial and operational information it needs to make better decisions.

Learn more about Workday Adaptive Planning

Showing 25 reviews of 170

Nick C.
Senior Financial Analyst
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 1/8/2017

"Adaptive has created a tool that is easy to use and provides value almost instantly."

Pros: I love the ease of creating a budget and the ability to quickly create a new forecast. Adaptive has created a formula wizard that is similar to excel, which makes it easy for excel based planners to easily adapt. Adaptive also has an excel interface for reporting, OfficeConnect which makes reporting even easier. They have also created an upload feature to easily maintain your hierarchy, dimensions and attributes. For a company as large as ours it makes the maintenance of the system easier. Since Adaptive is Cloud based there is no sharing excel files. I can work with anyone in my organization from anywhere and we are all able to access the same file. Since everything is housed in Adaptive we are able to collaborate easier and make better decisions.

Cons: There is always room for improvement and Adaptive is always listening to its customers. There are some features that make reporting a little clunky, rollups. They recently updated the reporting tool within Adaptive, but it doesn't seem as user friendly as the older version. Hopefully over time it will be easier to use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 1/8/2017
Rob G.
Manager of FP&A
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/3/2016

"Consistency and savings through use of Adaptive Planning"

Comments: When I started in my role as Manager of FP&A with an agricultural inputs company, one of my first tasks was to move our planning and forecasting processes away from Excel workbooks. Trying to manage P&L's for 200+ retail locations and departments, combined with nearly 2,000 employees, during a high-growth period proved to be challenging, to say the least. Adaptive Planning has streamlined our planning and forecasting cycles and helped us to standardize metrics, reporting and analysis. Through the use of multiple versions, we have the ability to compare plans, forecasts and actuals across the organization. My only regret related to Adaptive Planning was the timing of our implementation. We started our implementation in late-July and finished in October, which coincided with our annual planning cycle. We survived, but I would not recommend this timeline! Pros:
1) Implementation was relatively quick (even though we implemented during our annual planning cycle).
2) Affordability compared to other SAAS and on-site alternatives.
3) Flexibility allows us to mold portions of the product to our needs.
4) Customer support is excellent and timely.
5) Tool can be maintained by Finance; IT involvement is not required for installation or maintenance.
6) Ongoing product enhancements continue to improve this product.
7) Office Connect allows for creation of templates in Excel, Word and PowerPoint. Updating with current results is a simple refresh button-click.
8) Attributes and dimensions allow for unlimited slicing/dicing of organizational data.
Cons:
1) Only a single organization structure is currently available in a single-instance installation. This has caused some headaches, especially in the window of year-end close and progressing into a different organization structure in the new year. We have worked around this issue by utilizing level attributes to view our data in multiple structures.
2) The reporting side of the tool could be improved, including automating linkage to standard distribution/reporting platforms. For example, we use SharePoint for distribution of standard reports, but publishing reports from Adaptive to SharePoint is currently a manual process.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/3/2016
Alex S.
CEO
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/7/2016

"Adaptive Planning the best FP&A platform"

Comments: We implemented 20 customers using Cognos, Oracle and SAP. Adaptive was a huge discovery for us. Is an amazing solution. The best for all parties is that Adaptive is really administered for Finance people despite other software.

Pros: Ease of use.
Thought from Finance to Finance people

Cons: It´s not available for on premise environments.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/7/2016
Dan G.
Finance Manager
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/5/2018

"Awesome tool for budgeting and forecasting. We don't even maximize the product and still love it!"

Comments: The ability to ditch Excel for our annual budget process

Pros: The ability to track payroll, depreciation, and other "sheets" to roll up in the data. Also, we load actuals from our G/L to help with forecasting. Overall, an awesome product.

Cons: Not to much to say here, but there are some complex formulas that need to be written at times. Need to be very careful the data is pulling from the proper sheets when creating a new version(s).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/5/2018
Verified Reviewer
Senior Financial Analyst
Research, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 25/2/2016

"Adaptive Planning is 100 times better than an Excel Spreadsheet"

Comments: Prior to Adaptive Planning, my company used 100's of complex spreadsheets for our annual budgeting process. The system is configured to do everything our spreadsheets did for us and more. No more formatting spreadsheets for each of our 90 depts...

Pros: Add assumptions one time and all applicable areas are updated.

Cons: Version protection could be better. Some changes in assumptions aren't version specific, therefore previously locked versions are affected. This is not good for companies that use prior budget versions for benchmarking purposes. The reporting module could be a little more robust but can give you some nice basic reports.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 25/2/2016
Kelly P.
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2014

"Creating accountability for our budget"

Pros: Not only does Adaptive Planning remove the pain of consolidating spreadsheets to quickly roll up our budget, but it also gives the ownership and accountability to each of the users who enter data into the sheets. The software is very user-friendly and utilizes some of the best features of Excel.

Cons: Although Adaptive gave us a great deal of flexibility in adding as many users as we needed to allow us to think through the users and the roles, it's a very sales-driven organization, and they were somewhat pushy to have us sign contracts by the end of the quarter in order to fill their quotas.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2014
Ken H.
Senior Project Manager - Salesforce CRM
Dairy, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 9/3/2016

"Don't look back"

Comments: Collaboration and error free financials with the simplicity of Excel.
I've presented this solution to a number of financial advisers and consultants on behalf of all sorts of enterprises and they are astonished by how easy it is to get up and running and the consistent, single source of truth, information it will give them on a regular basis to help manage their businesses.

Pros: Easy to set-up and deliver results with.
Great for real-time information for planning.
Makes collaboration easier and cuts down processing or number crunhcing time.

Cons: Can take some time for users to be comfortable moving away from Excel and organisations don't often allow enough time to plan the implementation - it is simpler than competitive products but expectation management (you still need a decent plan/structure) is key.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 9/3/2016
Brian L.
Sr. Manager, Taxation and Financial Planning & Analysis
Research, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2/3/2016

"Adaptive Planning is a Must for FP&A"

Comments: Our company has used Adaptive Planning for about 2 years now. We went from a complex Excel spreadsheet based system to an organized and efficient Adaptive budgeting process. The customization and flexibility in the system is almost limitless and impressive.

Pros: Customization, flexibility, value, security

Cons: Administration - learning to build and maintain the system is complex, but that is why the system is so powerful

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2/3/2016
Igor C.
Sales Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/4/2018

"Pretty flexible and adaptive"

Comments: Adaptive is a good substitute for the good old Excel. While it may automate most of the manual work, Adaptive has a quite a room for improvement and I am very hopeful they will continue to get better.

Pros: Adaptive Insights allows to effectively manage both actual data and budget data in one place. Interactive dashboard and data visualization provide real time metric. Another good feature is that it allows collaboration on projects across various departments of the company.

Cons: There were issues with foreign currency conversions that just shouldn't be there in this type of software. It also uses Java which sometimes gives inconsistent user experience (or just won't respond) depending on the browser used and the version of Java installed. The security permissions for users were also not very intuitive to set up.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/4/2018
Rick S.
Manager, FP&A
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/8/2014

"Adapt to Adaptive"

Comments: As a FP&A analyst, I have implemented Adaptive Insight's cloud based planning software multiple times across several organizations. Each time, our end users found the tool to be intuitive while increasing the accuracy of their forecasts and budgets while minimizing the time spent in completing the task at hand. Regardless of size, complexity or organizational structure, the application can be easily customized for any organization to produce a full set of financials. Coupled with dynamic reporting and visual analytics both with drill down capability in addition to the ability to quickly crank out various scenarios based upon key financial/operational metrics, Adaptive Insights is a must for any organization that has to produce forecasts. Evolve from excel and adapt to Adaptive!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/8/2014
Billy M.
Education Management
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/8/2016

"Great product"

Comments: Its been a difficult implementation. We have been implementing for more than a year, but still no final production.

Pros: has a lot of features; great planning tool. Vision is awesome

Cons: Not user friendly; takes a lot of training to be good at it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/8/2016
Scott K.
Senior Financial Analyst
Real Estate, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 22/3/2016

"Great Software"

Comments: I am in the beginning phase of using Adaptive Insights, and I've already seen the how beneficial this software will be in our company. I've previously used IBM's Cognos TM1 software, and while that software is great, it definitely requires a lot more resources (dedicated servers, etc...) to implement it and keep it running. This software has a great, easy-to-use interface that makes building out the architecture simple and easy to follow.

Pros: Ease-of-use
Ability to connect to many data sources
Ability to create front-end user reports
Ability to add many business users with varying security levels

Cons: Office Connectivity - there is an Office Connect module available with Adaptive, but the connectivity to Microsoft Office is still limited. IBM's Cognos TM1 had more options when connecting with Excel.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 22/3/2016
Panagiota M.
CFO
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/3/2017

"Adaptive (Non-Profit)"

Comments: We are implementing Adaptive planning and forecasting in order to automate the process of quarterly forecast and connecting a complicated expense driven model along with Grant Management. Although it is complicated to set up, the end result is value for money.

Pros: AUTOMATIONS AND DASHBOARD

Cons: COMPLICATED TO SET UP

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/3/2017
Bart F.
Partner
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/10/2017

"User friendly"

Pros: Very useful product. Depending on business needs it provides the extent of capabilities to manage and govern your business both operationally and financially

Cons: The reporting side is a little light for my needs. I like flexibility in customizing my reports to my needs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/10/2017
Steven F.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/4/2017

"Adaptive Review"

Comments: Adaptive has been very helpful for our finance org. We are able to use adaptive for a single source of knowledge that can be accessed across the company at any point in time. While we are currently using it only within our finance org, I can see the potential to use it across departments. The software is very easy to use to view different facts and scenarios. The exporting ability through office connect has been amazing as well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/4/2017
Brian M.
Financial Analyst
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/6/2014

"Great Budgeting and Planning tool"

Comments: Adaptive makes it very easy to look at historical data in a nice simplified way. It allows me to effectively plan for the upcoming year as well as communicate current trends that are happening in our business at a very granual level. I do wish Adaptive was a bit more robust to be able to look at more than just planning. I often have to build several reports in excel because there is not enough opportunity to look at additional items. Such as member data/profitability, heat mapping, and product profitability. It would also be nice if it linked daily data so executive members can look at reports with fresh data anytime they want without requesting it from the Finance Department. I believe Adaptive to be a perfect product for what it is, but I think it could be capable of so much more.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/6/2014
Herman N.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/4/2016

"Easy to use, fast reporting when integrated well"

Comments: Pros:
- Fast when data is integrated well
- Flexible with different cuts of information
- Accessible via the cloud
- Office Connect is great
Cons:
- full features are reliant in a PC environment (not friendly to OS users)
- Reports feel clunky and business users resist it
- when not integrated well with an ERP system, can be very frustrating

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/4/2016
Matt B.
Sr. Financial Analyst
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 1/6/2017

"Overall positive"

Pros: Version control is extremely important in FP&A. I love how easy is it to control our docs and to see when changes have been made.

Cons: The modeling aspect can be a bit challenging. I often times find it easier to work out of excel when working with heavier modeling.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 1/6/2017
Alissa N.
Controller
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/5/2018

"Forecasting made easy!"

Comments: We were able to better forecast for a large multi affiliate company.

Pros: I love that Adaptive Insights made forecasting so easy. I liked that we could have every department contribute to the forecast and have it all roll into one easy to read report.

Cons: I don't like that changes didn't update in real time, but rather after a refresh. I believe you can have it refresh often so it can be close to real time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/5/2018
Antony W.
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/7/2014

"Very Positive Experience with Adaptive"

Pros: This is a very user-friendly product that allows you to customize your report layout. The vendor is very supportive.

Cons: The thing I like least is probably that the product does not follow the same logic as MS Excel.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/7/2014
Rene V.
Financial Analyst II
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/2/2016

"Adaptive Planning"

Comments: Adaptive Planning has been able to speed up our annual budgeting process. It has great reporting functionality and great help desk that's always quick to respond and help out with any issues you might be having.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/2/2016
Dan B.
FP&A Manager
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/2/2015

"Adaptive Insights"

Comments: Great software. In most cases you will need to use professional services from either Adaptive or an outside vendor. Once you have you instance set-up then the software is great and is very intuitive to make changes to.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/2/2015
Gustavo V.
Senior FP&A Analyst
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/5/2016

"Robust and Flexible Managment Reporting Tool"

Comments: Pros: Very flexible options regarding data connections, dimensions, attribute tagging, and overall system setup. Cons: Microsoft reporting features can be costly to add

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/5/2016
Mannat P.
SDE
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 8/11/2016

"Review of Adaptive Insights"

Comments: Best part about this that you don't need to maintain finances anymore (it is automatic). I love that it can be completely customized for the unique details of our company.

Pros: Cloud based.
Easy to change functionality.
Easy to use and update and many more.

Cons: Product is very costly as compared to others.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 8/11/2016
Jaynee T.
Sr. Fin'l Analyst
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/4/2016

"Efficiencies are gained which have resulted in more time savings and accuracy!"

Comments: I have no cons to share. The pros are to totally eliminate the usage of excel spreadsheets in the budget process.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/4/2016