Microsoft Dynamics GP Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.8 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.6 /5

About Microsoft Dynamics GP

Efficiently manage accounting and finances, distribution, projects, HR processes and customer relationship management.

Learn more about Microsoft Dynamics GP

Showing 25 reviews of 104

Una H.
Controller
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/9/2016

"Solid mid market ERP system"

Pros: It is a comprehensive solution, with solid add-ons to compensate for deficits in the core system. We run a manufacturing operation with deep. multi level BOMs and FIFO costing, GP manages it very well. AP, AR and GL are solid. The smartlists are a nice reporting tool, where you can drop the data into excel for easy analysis.

Cons: The front end has a clunky feel. On the back end trying to find the table the data is stored in takes a lot of time so the learning curve from a reporting sense is very long. The SQL tables are sparse - so you could end up having to add several tables to a query just so you can connect the one table you need. Report writing process is long and arduous initially. It is really expensive to upgrade. Other solutions in past lives have required minimal tech support to upgrade, this is a major process to upgrade and therefore very expensive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/9/2016
Wassim R.
Consulting Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/8/2020

"Reliable software"

Comments: Good experience

Pros: It's very reliable, scalable, has deep functionality and is well served by a large number of add-on vertical and other solutions

Cons: The user interface is quite old and does not resemble what modern day users would expect

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/8/2020
Arshad Z.
Senior Accountant
Philanthropy, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/9/2017

"Easy to use, convenient to have web access, but lack of features"

Comments: A decent system to use, but was disappointing due to the lack of flexibility in terms of generating reports/export functions - not as great as I would have expected from a Microsoft product.

Pros: -Web access
-Single database
-Integration with a variety of reporting suites
-A widely use system since it is Microsoft based, and a huge community to get help with if there are any issues

Cons: Not truly web-based as it relies on the program to be housed on a server;
-Limited in terms of GL reports - cannot jump ranges of accounts, or have multiple ranges in a single report like our old system
-takes a while to load reports like SmartList Favourites, and does not have as much flexibility as our old system
-freezes quite a lot
-tax limitations on the Accounts Payable module
-Desktop version slow

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/9/2017
Diem R.
Accountant
Accounting, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/8/2020

"This software is easy to function for daily accounting tasks"

Comments: I use this software for daily accounting tasks such as recording journal entries, keep tracks of payments and invoices. It is super easy to function the software. I have such great experience using this software and would recommend it to mid-size businesses.

Pros: This software is very easy to use compare with other accounting software such SAP. The price is reasonable. The worksheet is clear, understandable, less complicated. I would recommend this software to a medium size business.

Cons: The least things about this software is it cannot show the entire balance sheet of a period.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/8/2020
Vinay M.
VP Business of Operations
Retail, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/4/2017

"Needs better built in reports"

Pros: Good controls with audit trail. Has good importing function for Journal entries and inventory receipts to facilitate a 3 way match.

Cons: Needs better reports built into the system and not reply solely on Management Reporter. Preexisting list of reports added to smartlist.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/4/2017
Senando B.
MIS/I. T.
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/2/2019

"Great erp software"

Comments: When you have dynamics gp your business is kn good hand.

Pros: Dynamics gp Is a great tools that helps our company to monitor the sales, production, accounting, inventory and financial status. With this application our company runs well with organize and realible date.

Cons: A non technical person cannot configure or install it on their own. We need expert ot licensed person to implement it which is I think another cost

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/2/2019
Jennifer B.
Consultant
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 9/7/2015

"I've used Dynamics GP to manage our business for a couple years."

Pros: I like the automation tools and the reporting. We can effectively and efficiently run our business and accommodate for growth without adding people to the accounting department. We also get real time financial reports for management.

Cons: Microsoft is always coming out with updated versions. I wish we didn't have to upgrade as often.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 9/7/2015
Scott D.
IT Director
Accounting
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3.5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/9/2016

"Dynamics GP Finance and Manufacturing"

Pros: Sits on the MS stack and works well for the smaller growing business.

Cons: The amount of Add-on's required to meet all our functional needs and keeping them aligned.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/9/2016
Karen P.
Office Support Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/8/2018

"Horrible experience with this software!"

Comments: Terrible software. I would not recommend it to anyone.

Pros: It seemed like it had a lot of features at the beginning that we were very excited to implement in our company.

Cons: All of the amazing features turned out to be not so amazing once we began to implement them. For one, everything was extremely complex and very non-user friendly. Second of all, we were promised that it would do more than it was actually able to do. And lastly, it had a ton of glitches that were constantly having to be ironed out.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/8/2018
Russell M.
International Buyer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/10/2016

"Good for ERP, Bad for MRP"

Comments: When using great plains, I have found the software to be easily navigable, but fairly poor for being a robust ERP system. I work on the supply chain when I use ERP systems, and I wished it had better planning and MRP features. I ended up using spreadsheets as an MRP and planning tool!!

Pros: Easily navigable

Cons: Planning and MRP

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/10/2016
Colte K.
Banking
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/2/2014

"Like with most software, everything depends on the implementation"

Pros: Microsoft is continuously putting R&D into this product and there are a lot of add-on functionalities in the marketplace.

Cons: Microsoft didn't offer much in the way of recommending a good implementation partner.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/2/2014
Tommy B.
IT Director
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    2.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/1/2016

"Real Pain, keep dreaming of moving out."

Pros: Been supporting Dynamics GP for years, and I don't see anything good. If the migration wasn't so hard... This is a Microsoft application, using Microsoft technology, meaning it uses SQL Server as backend. Easy to backup, or copy company from prod to test. It uses SQL user, you can use it to configure your password requierments.

Cons: First, the way you need to install the client and dependencies is a real pain. From computer to computer, you just can't get it work correctly.
Also, they keep session opened, and when you GP crash, you need to "DELETE" the session, really?
Switching across companies is very... painful
They don't always ask to change the date when you keep GP open overnight. And when it does, if you switch companies, it won't change the date on the other companies if it was already open overnight...

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/1/2016
Allen V.
Sales rep
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 7/11/2016

"East,reliable ,simple"

Comments: This program has made work easier.Its a multi funtion program that has help me so much.I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 7/11/2016
Michael G.
CFO
Building Materials, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2016

"Helpful"

Comments: great tools for organizing and managing your business

Pros: great support and training

Cons: very extensive, ie: lots of options

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2016
Ed J.
Director of Sales
Chemicals, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 15/9/2015
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 15/9/2015
Kevin L.
Software Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 1/2/2019
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 1/2/2019
Sazzadun nabi S.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 8/8/2018
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 8/8/2018
Kevin J.
Owner
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2016

"I had problems with Microsoft."

Comments: I had problems with Microsoft. Specifically, Microsoft crashed on 05/16. Unfortunately, Microsoft Office had a virus. Once I removed that virus, then I may be in a market for a new Toshiba Satellite Laptop. Previously, I had owned my Toshiba Satellite Laptop since 2009. So, I owned that lap for eight years.

Pros: Microsoft Office was good for three things. First, Microsoft Office helped me keep organized. Second, Microsoft Office helped with finances. Third, Microsoft Office helped with communication.

Cons: I had problems with Microsoft.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2016
Verified Reviewer
Buyer
Machinery, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 25/11/2020

"User friendly and versatile ERP"

Comments: I really liked using and implementing this ERP as users tends to like it and adpat very easy to it

Pros: I work for several years as a consultant implementing Microsoft Dynamics and I likes how user friendly this ERP is, is compatible with every Microsoft software, it is versatile and easy to use

Cons: It is not as strong in the manufacturing module as the most famous ERPs as it lacks on some concepts for manufacturing best practices, but for a small or medium company this ERP is more than enough

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 25/11/2020
James X.
Senior Accountant
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/9/2017

"Senior Corporate Accountant"

Comments: I love GP. I have for years. I've been a GP consultant, and have been a user for eight years. Before making the decision to select an accounting package, ask such questions as: What types of financial statements do I want? How detailed do I want them? Do I want to create separate entities or will departments work? GP has a very simplistic, onboard report writer. But if you need the ability to customize your reports, you should consider FRx. I believe FRx may be called something different now. It has a very advanced set of allocation accounts that I highly recommend to anyone that has to allocate expenses.

Pros: t's role tailored software that's easy to implement and use
It looks and feels familiar to software your people use every day: Microsoft Office Excel, Outlook, and Word
It enables fast, relevant access to current and complete information about your business activities and operations
It goes beyond basic reporting and extends insight across your entire organization
It seamlessly integrates with your other technology platforms
It permits one to over 1,000 concurrent users
It's highly customizable with dozens of industry-specific solutions
It automates and standardizes recurring tasks
It's scalable, versatile and flexible

Cons: With respect to the allocations, once the expense is entered into the allocation account, you lose the ability to run any detail on just the total of the expense. It would be nice if you could run a trial balance on the allocation accounts the same way you can with regular accounts.
I've always thought security set up could be a bit simpler. It actually has gotten better through the years. Specifically, with eight separate entities, it would be nice to have a "master" setup where you could call up one group entity, assign the users rights, and then be finished. Currently, whenever I have a new user, I have to call up each individual entity and select all of the features I want the user to have. That means I have to do eight steps for each user.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/9/2017
Judith F.
Accounts Receiveable Technician / Rental Credit Officer
Industrial Automation, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 6/12/2016

"Microsoft Dynamics GP Manufacturing Rave"

Comments: I am a true believer in Microsoft GP products. This accounting software, although a bit cumbersome to initially learn, is well worth the education. The ease with which you can navigate from customer related transactions, to back end AR functions, and over to strictly financial entries, is incomparable. Many accounting software systems, although quick and easy, do not give you a clear overview of distribution and coding layout. GP allows you to clearly access what has been recorded, and makes it easy to reverse anything if necessary. The "Smart List" is one of it's finest features. This tool allows you to not only access reports, but to streamline, and create reports that are tailored specifically for your needs. I believe this is one of the best systems out there for processing of manufactured goods, and inventory control. I highly recommend Microsoft Dynamics GP - Manufacturing!

Pros: Report Building
Distribution and coding clarity
Easy navigation
Excellent Customer support

Cons: Product does bog down occasionally, if too many people are on it ( usually more a month end kind of issue)
Very detailed - makes for slower learning of system **However, in the end is worth the work**

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 6/12/2016
Michael W.
Professional Services Director
Management Consulting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 9/8/2018

"Dying product"

Comments: It is too bad that this product is being left behind as the push becomes for Dynamics 365, which is a completely different product and will require a complete reimplementation (if the features we need are even in there).

Pros: Used to be very easy to use and was cutting edge for several years. Great functionality for distribution.

Cons: Microsoft is no longer developing the product, so it has become very stale. Hardly any new features and no current online resources.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 9/8/2018
Linda R.
Procedure Control Manager
Banking, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 8/5/2018

"Microsoft Dynamics GP"

Pros: This system is laid out like a folder on your PC, making it intuitive for most users to learn. The import/export functionality is robust and allowed my organization to seamlessly integrate external website sales into the order processing/accounting module. This was possible because the solution is sequel based.

Cons: In order to share reports, the solution requires SharePoint, and there are times when the system processes slowly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 8/5/2018
Tesa D.
Administrator
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/9/2018

"Simple and easy to add SKU bulk tool. Appreciable dynamic data integration"

Pros: The easiness to start even if you've never used a ERP before and tracking things (contracts, clients and other documents) in one place for your clients is a plus.

Cons: Limits in the customization areas. licenses are restricted to full access or read only.
Not knowing the amount of data which is stored in entities is also a minus (Especially when you have a lot of data integrations and add-ons).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/9/2018
Lewis M.
I T Support
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2017

"Microsoft Dynamics Solomon Iv"

Pros: Has all accounting features,
Best for manufacturing/production
Accounts for all raw materials for manufacturing through ease of use in the inventory

Cons: Poor customer support
No ease of upgrade
Frequent error messages after longterm use which freeze or quits the system

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2017