Access PeopleHR Reviews

4.4 (353) Write a Review!

About Access PeopleHR

Take control of your HR processes. Access PeopleHR is a leading provider of HR software for small and medium companies.

Learn more about Access PeopleHR

Pros:

I most like the ease of use and basic functionality.

Cons:

Expenses section is an additional extra and is a no-go area. I spent more time on to the helpdesk to it than anything and ended up having to stop using it.

Access PeopleHR ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.1
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.6/10

Access PeopleHR has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 353 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Access PeopleHR before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (353)

Jack
Jack
Operations manager in UK
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great HR software

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use the basic functions for a HR novice

Cons:

The expenses module isn't as good as other providers

Maria
Operations Manager in UK
Arts & Crafts, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy to use, affordable HR software

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: - Applicant tracking
- Performance management
- Housing policies
- Basic reporting
- Holiday requests
- Salary information

Pros:

PeopleHR offers so many more features than most comparable software. I've been really impressed by the applicant tracking system, we've made many new hires through it and it has saved us a lot of money. Everything is in one place and it's user-friendly.

Cons:

There are a couple of bits that need refining, e.g. you can award someone half a day of TOIL but they can't enter it into the system on the same day as half a day of holiday. The performance management is good but it would be better if it were a little more customisable in format, Managers are required to enter something in every box in order to close the review, which can be a menial task if they have no comment on that particular question.

Teresa
Head of People in UK
Executive Office, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Implementing PeopleHR for acquired business

5.0 3 days ago New

Comments: Great to have everything in one place, we were using several systems previously.

Pros:

Easy and intuitive to use. Required little training for staff on the basic functions.

Cons:

The link sent to users expires after a certain time. So once everyone had been uploaded, by the time we had told everyone about it the link had expired. Secondly, it is time consuming having to re-enter everyone's email address in order to re-sent them the link and because of the first point, had to be done for every employee. I assumed there would have been a "bulk" send option but there was not.

Daniel
Director in UK
Logistics & Supply Chain, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Shocking privacy risks

1.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use, easy to set up. Fine for a company which wants unbridled access for all staff, but serious concerns around internal company privacy and security with some of the new features. Good for small, single office companies where everything is open.

Cons:

The product was looking good and then they released an app which allows the entire company to join a group chat. As a company with very careful data handling controls and locked down teams we were absolutely shocked they would roll this out. This means self service has to be disabled and renders the product almost useless. Very unsettling that a company would just role these features out without thinking through the consequences. With the planner individuals can see their managers planner and all their team mates - which may be great for a small office but a bit of a privacy breach for many people and companies. Very surprised we can't turn off planner access for their team / department colleagues. Customer service is generally intercom, intercom chat bot and links to articles so a bit hit and miss.

People Apps Response

3 years ago

Thanks for reviewing People HR. We appreciate your wish to disable chat in certain scenarios, but we have decided against developing this option. This is partly influenced by our research around engagement during the COVID-19 pandemic. But fundamentally, we believe communication is key in most organisations, and we don't want to put barriers in the way of that. Instead of building limitations, we encourage sensible use for work-related purposes. We're proud of the security our chat offers: TLS1.2+ to encrypt the messages in transit, and AES256 to encrypt the messages at rest. Our chat also helps users to guarantee they are messaging colleagues, instead of untrusted recipients. The functionality is GDPR compliant, and if you have any concerns then our Data Protection Officer will be happy to discuss them. I have a call with your colleague tomorrow, and hope to discuss this matter further during that conversation. I hope this helps. Kind regards Ranjit Customer Services Director

Laura
HR Admin in UK
Human Resources, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great software

4.0 3 days ago New

Comments: Fabulous

Pros:

Easy to use.Amazing to keep track of holidays

Cons:

Only for easy work patterns. some complex shifts harder to put on

Kristy
HR Manager in UK
Food & Beverages, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A very happy customer!

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

That they take on board the feedback from users and are pushing out really good updates. Most recently, the updated features of the logbook designer, which are fantastic from the perspective of helping to automate processes and create a better audit trail for HR/Line Managers. I can't fault the customer service, who have always come back to me whenever I have had an issue.

Cons:

The performance module is a bit clunky and isn't as customisable as other areas of the system, and could do with having the ability to reword the manager's sections. That being said we have adapted the logbook function with something simpler as this better suits the needs of our business.

Denise
Senior Human Resources Manager in UK
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great for this SME

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: People HR Saves me valuable time, it generates reports easily and gives me the confidence my records are secure and GDPR compliant.

Pros:

The cost and scale-ability was our immediate reason for shortlisting People HR. It was very important the employees could correct their own data. We like the mobile app for the team so that employee can upload expenses on the go or book a holiday at any time. As the Administrator I find the software very user friendly and bulk uploads save me many hours of work. When we first uploaded our data it was a really simple process. I use this for 3 companies with different account levels and it works perfectly for each company.

Cons:

I would like to be able to use the recruiter tools and the performance management but the permanent cost to upgrade outweigh the time they can save me when operating a small company.

John
John
IT Manager in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

People is a straight-forward and inexpensive service for managing HR needs in your business.

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: People HR pulled our disparate HR tools from an intranet, spreadsheets and various folders into a single location.
As a SaaS, the value for money is great. The team were very helpful in getting the software set up and it supports most aspects of the business that we run.
There are REST APIs that we are starting to use to allow for anything "non-standard" and these are starting to be used in our organisation.
All in all, it really has helped our business.

Pros:

It will cover almost all aspects of HR requirements including timekeeping, holidays, reviews, contracts. There are some use and "fun" metrics that you can take away about your company from the dashboard. Line managers receive regular alerts about their teams. It's a fantastic price for the product.

Cons:

Although there is a mobile app, it does need some work. Timekeeping for employees is flexible, but actually recording time is long-winded. The UI is simple and straightforward in some areas, but feels a little awkward in others

Gemma
Managing Consultant in UK
Accounting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great system

5.0 3 days ago New

Comments: Excellent and easy system to use. Great for managing HR records and performance review management.

Pros:

It's easy to navigate and and has some great functions.

Cons:

More ways to access your employee records.

Christian
Managing Director in UK
Real Estate, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent product

5.0 4 days ago New

Comments: Excellent, [sensitive content hidden] was great in walking me through the initial set up, she was very personable and accommodating, incredibly flexible around my schedule and was very quick in coming back to me with any queries. [sensitive content hidden] was a pleasure to work with and incredibly knowledgeable in her field.

Pros:

Ease of use and set up was something that really attracted me and something that has been implemented into my team with ease.I am really happy with it and I feel like it will make a huge difference to my business

Cons:

How things are not pre loaded in and that my team work a rota for weekends which is agreed a month in advance but there is no set option for this on the system so we have to do things differently on the system to log it

Rebecca
HR Assistant in UK
Marketing & Advertising, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

PeopleHR Review

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

- Good UX - Link from recruitment to staff - Ability to include a multitude of HR functions on Logbook - i.e. 360 reviews

Cons:

Areas for development: • With GDPR coming in, it would be extremely useful for PeopleHR to have retention dates on documents (this would show under the GDPR when we were required to dispose of the data) • A automated chase for feedback. For example, if we could input the date of an event (i.e. appraisal) onto the individuals calendar, we could then set up automatic chases at specific time periods before the event. • A look into how training can be better incorporated into the system • Option for admin to see all employees calendars at once (similar to google calendars) • A greater focus of customer service via phone – Online chats are good but email is time consuming. It is also helpful for the PeopleHR IT support for them and the company to be able to share screen to resolve problems • Remove gender option. There is currently only a binary option for gender. Although we can add more through logbook, those who are already classified as male or female cannot be unticked. • For admin to be able to view 2+ profiles simultaneously • When refreshing the employee page, for it to not return to the alphabetically ordered current staff view but where you left of. Or, an option to choose in settings • We have added our appraisal system via logbook. Our appraisals require individuals to refer back to a word/pdf doc. It would be great for our team to be able to access these documents through logbook when completing the appraisal. • Statistics - feedback is a fundamental part of our business and the ability to analyse, for example, who has completed feedback over a time period would be extremely valuable • For certain information to delete automatically on the day after an employees leave date. For example, work email. • For salary updates to automatically calculate the salary per year based on the hours worked for part time staff • To notify or automatically delete doubles in the ATS section

Louis
Project Manager in US
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

The good people at PeopleHR have created a feature rich and versatile Human Resources Software Suite .

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We are extremely happy with People HR 's feature rich software and easy to understand , intuitive implementation . From stem to stern this amazing software
offers summary integration of so many formally disparate Human Resource functions . We highly recommend it's use.

Pros:

From an introductory and initial stand point , we most loved the ability to effectively group and to communicate directly with top and the most competitive candidates for open positions at our company . The ATS tracking system from People HR makes this tasks quite manageable. The ATS feature has streamlined and consolidated our approach to posting new information on available positions and allows consistent and effective collection of all information relative to the hiring and vetting process. This is an absolute advantage our team is delighted to have. We also loved the attention to detail included in the software package such as the inclusion of customized signatures which can be formatted and included in all forms of email communication with prospective candidates. Finally People HR's "A C A" tracking further allows us to keep track with regulatory and compliance requirements grouped by employee as legal changes present themselves. This features keeps us as agile as we need . Finally the inclusion of a mobile app makes a fine support tool for maximum portability.

Cons:

We did find that our experience with customer service during the initial installation stages was not as reactive as we would like , but this is easily navigated through the use online tutorials and plentiful support groups to answer fundamental questions and install issues.

Sigita
HR in UK
Banking, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

A great multifeature product but needs some time to learn to navigate

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Variety of features, system works quickly and efficiently, great design Different access levels is useful to manage multi teams and locations Clear and comprehensive planner, good there is an option to auto carry over the remaining holidays Task feature handy and easy to use Very comprehensive reports/queries feature Detailed employee profiles, ability to set personalised work patterns Great service and help from the People team plus and great online training material provided

Cons:

Cannot re-route timesheets authorisations to the additional reporting line (holidays only) Would be handy to approve expenses from the email or a least to have a link ''Please log in to People to see the details'' Would be quicker to have direct link from the email into the area within PeopleHR system (e.g. to people profiles when clicking on the name) News could have a ''like'' button Notification email of New News Alert could include the title of the news, so people instantly now what is it related to Expenses app: handy features would be a possibility to enter the expenses of someone else's behalf; the app to have a scanner for the receipts which would enable to populate the fields on the expense report automatically without a need to add manually Not possible to add a link through bulk actions (document attachments only) Would be very handy to create performance reviews with different questions for the employee and the manager Org Chart: cannot delete additional information and only leave a photo and job title; cannot download pdf with org chart orientation set to left, right etc. Could have ''open in a new tab'' option

Claire
Group Recruitment Officer in UK
Telecommunications, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

From Paper to electronic

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Make sure you have a team to implement the software!

Pros:

Great to track holidays, absence and employee details. We've gone from paper to electronic with these aspects and also personal development reviews. It has been a transformation for our managers to find everything in one place and it has reduced our administration - also stopped us killing lots of trees! Eco. We can process accurate reports very quickly which helps with reporting to the Board. The ATS tracks candidates in one place, with full visibility as to where they are in the process for managers. When a candidate is successful, you can create them as a new starter in seconds.

Cons:

We also bolted on the recruitment ATS module but we cannot report on the data from this which can be frustrating. It took us a long time to get our jobs boards to feed in to our careers page which then fed in to PeopleHR to have candidates all in one place.

Alex
HR Manager in UK
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Everything I Need in One Convenient Place

4.5 7 years ago

Pros:

Apart from all the obvious multiple features, what we like is the receptiveness of the support when we have a stupid question, they are very patient even when we're sure they would prefer to let out a long sigh. We also like to see that the people at PeopleHR listen to our ideas for how the product would work better and prove their commitment to their customers by regularly releasing some real, value add enhancements! If we had to choose two favourites we have found that the simple holiday and absence management and the ease of setting up and activating performance management routines has made life easier for everyone.

Cons:

Regards the product we don't see anything to dislike, rather we would like some enhancements that would help us reach the areas we need to get to with less touch-points, such as making the dashboard more interactive and allowing managers to have more options currently only available to Administrators. Regards the vendor we can only say good things. They quietly go about their business without being pushy and only get in touch when we ask for support or when they have good news to give.

Suzie
HR Manager in
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great customer service!

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: A really great system ideal for a small to medium sized businesses where budgets need to be carefully considered. The support team are always willing to work with you to help resolve issues and even accept feature requests. I recommend this product highly - it has made the administration associated with my job much easier to handle.

Pros:

Almost instant replies from the support team which are always helpful and well thought out. Feature requests are accepted which is fantastic. The support site is full of useful 'help yourself' answers and the system has been built with HR rather than IT in mind.

Cons:

That we don't use more of the functionality on offer - there is a wealth of features and modules which I think would be useful to many businesses, unfortunately we just don't use them at the moment. I am hoping this will change very shortly.

Maria
HR Advisor in UK
Retail, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Very user-friendly system

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: PeopleHR is a great system and all employees find it very easy to use.

Pros:

PeopleHR is a very user-friendly system and it both the HR team and the employees can work with it comfortably, without any prior training. It is very easy to add new employees/remove leavers and built reports from scratch so it can help a lot with different HR metrics. You can also add different fields on Logbook which will help each user track whatever is that they need. Great customer service with very speedy replies from the Admin team.

Cons:

Not much to say here as PeopleHR offers solutions for most of our needs. It would be beneficial if there was a whole new section about probations/reminders/outcomes (instead of having to use Logbook)

kirsty
HR Administrator in UK
Legal Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

HR Functions made easy

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The system is a great core function to our business which is used through the company. It not only provides a streamline way of managing and requesting holidays, uploading and viewing documents but also allows the creation of reports which are pulled using the data contained within the system. Any queries or questions I have had the customer service is fantastic and always provide a helpful response.

Cons:

There are no cons at present, I feel it can be modified in ways that suit your own business needs...

Carl
Head of Customer Service in UK
Internet, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

People HR is a good product, but some of the feature could be improved

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

People HR is a great piece of software to organised employees data in one place easily. The system allows you to store data in a easy and confidential way, GDPR was easy because of this as it allowed us to go completely paperless

Cons:

Our company is 24 hours, so it was difficult for using the tap in/tap out system as this product works more on a traditional office environment. However, for the most part this was the only product we found which suited our needs

James
Office Manager in UK
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Don't know where we would be without it now

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

From first contact with PeopleHR I realised this was going to be a good product. They quickly arrange a one to one on-line demonstration of the product which was really good as it meant I was able to ask all of my questions and then set us up a 1 month free trial which none of the competition were willing to do. I looked at many other options and this seemed the best for us, it's scalable and as we are a growing business we need to know its going to see us into the future. We moved to People from not really having a proper system, just spreadsheets and documents but the initial data entry was quick and simple, we are now starting to use more and more features and the more I find I want to use - new ones are added all the time too. It helps to get everyday tasks done really quickly and then. The People HR team are also great, whatever my questions are they respond quickly and always call back when they say they are going to.

Cons:

Nothing, I cant say I have ever had any complaints! Which is unusual for me

Lauren
OM in UK
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Good software for medium size companies

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Good tool if you want to keep track of different contracts and tasks via the timesheet option

Pros:

It has a good customer service via chat function - support tends to be quick and have good faqs, query function and timesheet system

Cons:

Missing a good way to calculate and display holidays when employees change contract mid way through the year. A lot of features but missing things such as a clear way to log benefits such as pension, keeping track of benefits which have expired

Pauline
Coordinator in
Philanthropy, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

This takes all HR paperwork out of a filing cabinet where nobody can see it, and into the cloud where its visible and you get things done

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Their Customer Service is excellent which makes all the difference. For the cost of this product it offers a lot in terms of functionality and customer service

Pros:

I love the tasks feature, the training logbook, the ability for people to view their attendance / absenteeism, annual leave entitlement. I also love the ability to build letter templates in the system for increment / appraisal letters. Also love the reporting on who has outstanding items and the general reporting. People HR are constantly updating, improving and are also very good at communicating the changes to their customers.

Cons:

The android apps don't seem to work as well as the iOS apps. The time sheets would be better if you could view the clock in /clock out per week in one screen

Alexis
Senior HR Executive in Singapore
, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Easy to use and straight forward

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The product is easy to use and the customer service team has always been helpful. The product is always looking at ways to improve and with each new update there are always new/ improved features which is amazing!

Cons:

Some parts of the product is not too customisable to each organisations needs (Such as performance appraisal forms are quite rigid/fixed, not able to customise the form much)

Carol
HR & Payroll Manager in UK
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

User friendly value for money HRMS!

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

User friendly - great self-service functionality Value for money Integrations - Integration with RotaCloud revolutionised rota planning Modular - easily scalable to meet changing requirements by adding new modules when needed Online support

Cons:

Can be a bit 'buggy'. We generally experience down time at every release. Limited digital signature capability.

Fiona
HR in UK
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Help us with Aussie holidays

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We have struggled with getting the holiday entitlement and management of our small Aussie team right since forever! PHR, together with the great support we received has meant an end of additional spreadsheets and confused HR and Aussie people and a great solution for all concerned! Thank you support team you've changed our lives!

Pros:

Easy to use by managers and HR peeps, flexibility and customisable, with professional support when you call up. Really glad we chose it!

Cons:

The chat thing is too slow, when you need help you need it there and then, they must be there because when you phone up they can help you.