15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

DaVinci Resolve Reviews

About DaVinci Resolve

Video editing app that enables production through color correction, visual effects, motion graphics and post-production audio.

Learn more about DaVinci Resolve

Pros:

There is a limitation to 8 bit and UHD size, but the app is quite complete. Dedicated hardware created by black Magic Design integrates perfectly with DaVinci Resolve.

Cons:

If you’re a Final Cut user, this will take done time to adjust to because there is so much.

DaVinci Resolve ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.8
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

9.1/10

DaVinci Resolve has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 228 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used DaVinci Resolve before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (228)

Cushi
Cushi
Owner/Coach in Bermuda
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

high powered professional video editing software... for free!

5.0 last year

Comments: I enjoyed using DaVinci Resolve, although at this point I have decided to move back to Final Cut Pro as I am more familiar with the software and interface. DaVinci resolved has allowed me to create high quality videos for free which was a necessity as my budget did not allow for the purchase of Final Cut Pro for some time. I use the software to make YouTube videos, Instagram reels and other forms of social media video content as well as filming eCourses.

Pros:

The best thing about DaVinci Resolve is that it is a free software. It is extremely rare to find such a powerful professional grade software available for free. It is worth noting that not all features are available in the free version, although essentially every necessity is available. This is not iMove or Windows Movie Maker. This is actual world class editing software available for you to download today. There is a significant learning curve though, so if you are already used to another software, the time investment to learn a new software may not be worth your while. i.e, if you will easily use up over $299 of your time to learn this software in a basic way, so if you're already a master at Final Cut Pro, it would make more sense to pay the $299 to purchase it.

Cons:

In general, there are not many cons to this software. It has everything I could ever think of needing to make high quality video edits and much more than I'd ever use. The learning curve is probably the most difficult thing about using this software. It isn't as user friendly as Final Cut Pro, for example, but if one takes the time to do the necessary tutorials or takes a course, they will overcome that difficulty in due time.

Jean Philippe
Consultant in Canada
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The industry standard in color grading is now a superb editor too!

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Resolve is free, with very few limitations. Sink that in: you can get a very-modern, timely-updated, fully featured video workstation for free. Pros don't often use free software, mostly because it lacks support: BMD is definitely the counter to these with Resolve. The paid-version allows for greater resolutions and more customization.

Pros:

We've come a long way since the early Resolve versions. So many tools added release after release (and they also come often), it is now a full fledged one-stop video solution. Node canvas is very easy to work with. Clip management is intuitive and fast. BMD's vision is clear: they create the best editor they can to work with their own hardware, but unlike others they make it as easy to work with BMD-camera captured footage than it is with other formats. All this for a very, very cheap price and the option to actually own the software rather than renting (wink wink Adobe?)

Cons:

Resolve is a professional video workstation, and like every software of this caliber the learning curve can be a bit steep for newcomers; it takes time and practice to really master it. You want pro results? You better get studying!

Ross
Company Director in UK
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

I cannot believe it's free!

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall we as a team are delighted. This is as close you can get to professional video editing for free. For free it's just amazing what you can do. When compared to other software, which often doesn't allow you to render in 4K, which this does at no additional cost.

Pros:

There is so much to like about DaVinci Resolve! I'm surprised daily as to the features and benefits to this software. The fact that it's free is incredible! Myself and partner create YouTube videos, and DaVinci Resolve has been fundamental to our development. Near on all the essential tools are included in the free version, with the premium features behind a paywall. But the free tools are more than enough for what we need, so we're yet to pay for this product. But we would if truth be known.

Cons:

I installed it temporarily on my MacBook Pro, as the windows machine I use normal wasn't to hand. Having used DaVinci for this brief period of time, I decided to remove it, as it takes up a lot of HD space. But even following the uninstall method provided within the software, it left a lot, and I mean a lot of stuff on my machine. Loads of files and folders and clutter. This was not good. In annoying me so much in fact that I did a fresh install of my MacOS. Be aware of this. Once installed it's impossible to remove without issue.

Mark
Film Editor in US
Motion Pictures & Film, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Davinci Resolve Editing

2.0 9 months ago

Comments: Frustrating. This was an opportunity for DaVinci to do something special by combining Editing with heavy VFX, Color Grading, and Audio Mixing in the same comprehensive package.

Pros:

It’s either free or inexpensive depending on which version you use. If you buy, It’s a one time purchase, not using the “subscription model,” which I feel is exploitive. The ability to do color grading, VFX, and sound mixing in the same program is convenient, but not central to editing.

Cons:

The basic editing functions, which should be very simple and intuitive, are unnecessarily convoluted and user hostile. Too many “modes” and keystrokes. A million things must be selected or de-selected to perform the most simple of functions. It really seems that either the editors who helped develop this program were amateurs, or ignored by programmers.

Angelo
Angelo
Video producer in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Media Production, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A good editing tool but not user friendly

4.0 8 months ago

Comments: I was an Avid media composer user for long time then convinced by a friend I switched to DaVinci Resolve in 2017.
The learning curve it's very steep and after these years I still need to go back to the user manual for finding functions not so easy to discover. It's a great gear for colorists but not so easy for making simple editing.
It can be improved under many points for instance is not backward compatible so must keep a backup of your project in case of. Difficult to use in a laptop and I use it in a 17" FHD laptop. Anyhow as any software cannot satisfy everyone. I go on use it because at least the updates price (zero) is still fitting my pocket.

Pros:

The price was why I choose it at first, then after using it for a while I found it having a plenty of tools in the same box. I still use it since 2017. I Use the studio version which has good tools and permit me to complete a work even I'm alone.

Cons:

It's not very user friendly. The UI is not very easy to understand and to much tools are fit in a single screen. Unless I'm not able to discover it the different UI sections are not detachable so Timeline area results sacrificed unless do you have two monitor and move timeline to one of them.

Allen
Pastor in Canada
Religious Institutions, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Literally the best, and for free

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Resolve is the best video editing software on the market hands down.

Pros:

The free version of this software is almost 100% of the what the paid version offers. No watermarks or sly ways of getting you to pay. Simply great.

Cons:

It has a learning curve, but nothing that is greater than any other software of this caliber.

Meagan
Design Curator in US
Furniture, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Make your next video accurate and beautiful.

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Fabulous experience. I have all the confidence in DaVinci Resolve tool.

Pros:

Good are the times when a good software helps you achieve the best of your goals. I have used this software in many concepts both personal and work based. Its visual effects builds great presentations. I also appreciate the ease of use for this software. Very intuitive and professional.

Cons:

All is well with DaVinci Resolve. No complaints from my side.

Elijah
CEO in US
Computer Games, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The DaVinci Resolve Experience

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

It is a great software for free and it matches the best. Adobe Premiere Pro. It has many great quality features that you would want in a video editing software.I really like all of the functions of this software.

Cons:

The only major issue is that it can be quite hard to read and understand. I also think that it is missing some small but major features like a skip 5 seconds. It can also be hard to find certain things.

Jeff
Service and Events Manager in Canada
Executive Office, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Full featured software that is free

5.0 8 months ago

Pros:

The fact that it is free but functions like most professional software is great. Lots of Youtube videos out there to allow for easy learning.

Cons:

Not too much. On the odd occasion you may encounter certain bugs that come up, but nothing that a good reset of the software would fix. Plus software updates usually fix it.

Dustin
Designer in US
Religious Institutions, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Slowly Becoming Industry Standard for a Reason

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Great experience and huge features integrated better than Adobe.

Pros:

User interface is familiar but superior to what I have used before. Integrates with our Black Magic Atem Mini Pro.

Cons:

There was a slight learning curve coming from Premier. This is to be expected though and well worth it.

Daniel
Director in Haiti
Import & Export, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

DaVinci Resolve Review

4.0 last year

Pros:

Non-destructive editing : DaVinci Resolve allows me to make changes to my videos without altering the original footage, which is a great feature for those who want to experiment with different edits without worrying about losing their original work... Which is my case.

Cons:

Limited video export options : DaVinci Resolve has limited options for exporting video, which is frustrating for me who need to deliver my videos in a specific format.

Alejandro
Producer in Colombia
Events Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Impresive postproduction suite for free

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The price you must pay to use DaVinci Resolve is the time you need to invest learning every single aspect of each "page", as they call each tool in the software: Cut (login and pre-edition), Edit, Fusion (VFX), Color and Fairlight (audio). If you came from another NLE software, you will find that the interface looks pretty familiar, and the use of the tools is very intuitive.

Pros:

I'ts mind-blowing that you can get such powerful suite of tools for post-production for free. With DaVinci Resolve you get NLE, Color Correction, VFX tools and audio post in a single app, which is stable and runs smooth in most of the medium range laptops out there.

Cons:

Some advanced features requires paying the license, which, in my opinion, isn't too expensive.

Eero
Manager in UK
Consumer Electronics, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

It is hard to believe this is free - but it is

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It is a well-working software and I haven't found anything I need and it doesn't have. On the other hand, it has a lot of functionalities that I have never even tried, so I am sure it offers a lot for more professional users.

Pros:

DaVinci resolve offers most if not all of the tools you want to create great-looking videos. I had an old version of Adobe Premiere and this beats it, although I really liked Premiere and had a long history with it. The biggest reason for thumbs up is the price. Difficult to compete with a free product that works well.

Cons:

I found it a bit difficult to use in the beginning because I had used Premiere for a long time. Video editing software has typically a lot of bells and whistles and DaVinci Resolve is not an exception. Takes a while to get used to if you are moving from another software.

Mohamed
Lecturer in Algeria
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

An Affordable Video Editing Software with Professional Features

5.0 last year

Comments: A free software with mind blowing features that help any one edit, trim, resize and then export high quality videos in multiple formats. It does need nothing like training or courses except for previous knowledge on how to add photos, audios, animations; you feel like a movie maker!

Pros:

Davinci Resolve offers a stunning dashboard that help both beginners and professional edit their videos at ease. Its rich audio library, baffling scenes and animations made it a stand alone free software.

Cons:

Of course, its built-in features and variety of functionalties, which are free, made it hard to load sometimes. It needs at least 64 bits and enough memory. Something else, few integrations or third party plugins.

Paul
Ceo in UK
Media Production, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Buy the Studio version - so worth the pennies!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Best video editing software ever.

Pros:

Totally comprehensive, one stop platform with tons and tons of supporting tutorials available.

Cons:

The backup process, once set, is great but very difficult to work out when and where the backup fits in your past workflow.

Cody
Owner in US
Photography, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Davinci Resolve free is all you need for most small to medium scale video editing projects

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The free version of Resolve is by far the most functional and feature rich video editing software out there. It beats out Adobe Premiere in the overall feature set you get, especially when you start to get into building effects in Fusion. Each update has helped Resolve take more advantage of powerful GPUs so when you're working with VFX you're rewarded by having a high end GPU during playback and rendering. The color modification options are rich and can do incredible things with your footage. You can easily take non-log footage and apply pre-existing effects and layers to get the look you want. Fairlight is their audio editing suite, which is how this application started out as so you can imagine that the audio editing tools are amazing, and they are. One of the most convenient tools is the ability for Resolve to use audio analysis to automatically line up multiple clips from different cameras that filmed the same scene. If you find yourself often using a clapboard to align your footage, say good bye (assuming you're capturing audio from each camera). The community of creators on Resolve is massive and you can find tutorial son how to do almost anything online. It's how I got started learning how to use the software and I'm still scratching the surface of it's capabilities.

Cons:

The software is huge and cumbersome to learn. Luckily there's tons of tutorials on youtube from many creators that can show you how to do simple to super complex tasks. If you're moving from Adobe Premiere, you're going to miss the ability to import content from other apps directly inside of your project. Resolve doesn't support integration into Photoshop and whatnot so you can't go from editing an image in PS then open it up in Resolve like you can in Premiere. If you're someone who heavily relies on the Adobe apps, this will be the hardest thing to get past, but once you've adjusted your workflow it doesn't really add that much time to your projects. You're more so losing out on the convenience. In previous versions it had a tendency to crash randomly. Sometimes effects you create would go corrupt or prevent the project from successfully rendering or the Resolve to crash during rendering. This would require you to pinpoint what part of the video where the failure occurred, find the offending effect, delete and recreate it from scratch. This could be caused by something as simple as a scrolling text box. It was impossible to know what would prevent a video from rendering, which was super frustrating especially when considering the error message doesn't give you any info into what caused the render to fail. They've since made fixes to prevent this from happening, but just something to keep in mind when working in large projects: save often and test your exports.

Sugam
Sugam
Project Manager in Nepal
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A Comprehensive Video Editing Solution

4.0 9 months ago

Pros:

DaVinci Resolve has been an invaluable asset in my part-time gig as a YouTube tutorial video creator. Whether I'm editing, color correcting, working on audio post-production, or creating stunning visual effects, DaVinci Resolve has my back. Even when handling high-resolution and complex video projects, it consistently delivers exceptional performance. The fact that a free version with robust features is available is a massive bonus for someone like me on a budget. Moreover, DaVinci Resolve supports collaborative work, allowing me to work effectively with my team and fellow creators. Its extensive library of tutorials and a thriving user community have been invaluable resources for my learning journey.

Cons:

While DaVinci Resolve is a powerful tool, it can be resource-intensive, requiring a high-performance computer to fully leverage its capabilities. The learning curve can be quite steep, especially for newcomers like me, who are just starting their professional video editing journey. I've encountered occasional stability issues and crashes, but the software's regular updates have been addressing these concerns. It's worth noting that some advanced features are exclusively available in the paid Studio version, which may necessitate an upgrade for specific functionalities.

Gaia
Gaia
Social Media Manager in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The BEST free video editing suite

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

There are many pros to using DaVinci Resolve, including its ability to handle high-resolution footage, its conformant handling of RAW files, and its support for a wide range of editing software. Additionally, the software has a robust set of features that allow it to be used for numerous tasks in post-production workflows. The most important thing is that it's a FREE full-fledged suite of tools for video editing.

Cons:

There are only a few cons to using DaVinci Resolve, the most notable of which may be its price tag (for the Studio version of the software). This software is also not as user-friendly as other editing options available, so it may take a bit more time to learn how to use it effectively. Additionally, DaVinci Resolve is only suitable for professional usage and does not have many features geared toward amateur editors.

Matteo
Matteo
Motion Designer Freelance in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Entertainment, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

THE Post-Production Solution

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: AMAZING, solid, robust and (if well calibrated) unmatched!

Pros:

EVERYTHIG AMAZING. Media Pahe is really clear and useful, Cut Page is really fast, Edit Page is perfect, precise ... few shortcut but never confusing, the Color Page is Industry Standard ah really rich of functions (before Resolve I never think i would be able to colo grad in that way!). Fusion Page is practically an other software (compositing software) for VFX, Fairlight Page the same (a complete audio solution) and Delivery Page a semple, clear export function. I showed it to other professionists and ALL af those switched to Resolve. Oh.. and it's Cross Platform (even on Linux!!!)

Cons:

not for all, or maybe... NOT for all amateur... it has a particular learning curve. Especially for Project Management. It need a High performance machine... especially GPU.

Abhilash
Abhilash
Colourist in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Graphic Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Da Vinci Resolve!! The Best Colour Grading Software Out there!!

5.0 last year

Comments: Video editing application that facilitates production with tools for color correction, visual effects, motion graphics, and post-production audio.Resolve is tremendous, and is fortunately separated into different 'Pages'. There's one to actually look at your 'Media', one more to plan and 'Cut' your recording, one more to 'Alter', despite the fact that you can likewise do altering in 'Cut'. 'Combination' allows you to collect and apply impacts to cuts through a hub based interface (it's more befuddling and less direct than how different editors work with enhancements, but on the other hand it's hugely strong). 'Variety', is where your variety evaluating happens, 'Fairlight' is for escalated sound work and control, and 'Convey' focusses on sending out your completed item.Regardless of not being a significant jump in rendition numbers, this cycle of Resolve actually packs a decent lot of upgrades, from the unobtrusive connection point change, to the huge in the engine execution improvements.

Pros:

Best in the colour Grading softwaresUser Freindly UIThe software is pretty smooth and responsive in terms of rendering the FootageBasic System Requiremennts are enough to run the software SmoothlyAll the tools required to edit a video is built in the software itself which makes it easier for the user to complete the project in one software itself

Cons:

Noise Reduction is only available in paid versionWhile it has all the features ...all of them are not well integrattedpaid version costs a bit higher

Simon
Simon
Creative Head in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Broadcast Media, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Do not waste your time with others. Level up to the industry standard for unparalleled performance.

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The best thing about Resolve is it's cross-platform compatibility. Whether you're working with collaborators running Windows, Mac or Linux, you can easily sent your project across for multiple people to work on without need to transcode or convert the project files to a different format. On the other hand, you also have the ability to scale since the fully-functioned (almost) NLE is available for free, provided you have the hardware to run it. This eases the burden for first time editors who already have to deal with huge start up costs.

Cons:

The lack of marketing for the software is probably the only thing missing. It is a great piece of software that not a lot of new editors are in the know of. But then again, it is an industry standard would be adopted by even small creators eventually.

Moises
BM in US
Writing & Editing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Davinci Resolve Is Worth It

4.0 last year

Pros:

Its advanced color correction tools, powerful audio editing capabilities, and its ability to handle all aspects of post-production from editing to final delivery. Additionally, its pricing is considered more affordable than some other professional editing software options available in the market.

Cons:

Steep learning curve: DaVinci Resolve has a lot of features and can take some time to learn, especially for beginners.System requirements: DaVinci Resolve can be resource-intensive and requires a high-end computer to run smoothly.

Eleazar
Occupational Therapist in US
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The all in one video editor

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Have been making promotional and educational videos with it.

Pros:

It has everything that you need to make a proper video. From editing the video, changing the color, edit the audio and animations. It's an all-in-one package. You can start for free using most of the features and then move to the paid version once you have a good taste of it. Thankfully so far NO SUBSCRIPTION. Just pay once.

Cons:

Fusion has a high learning curve to it. have to spend a lot of time on tutorials to get to know fusion and make proper use of it.

Matthew
Matthew
Senior Video Consultant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Break free of Premiere Pro

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I've been using the software for several years, and I'm impressed by the support and development of the software package. After using Premiere Pro for a decade, I'm enjoying editing editing.

Pros:

Incredible speed and coloring. If you're a linear editing veteran, you'll adjust to the software fairly quickly. Also, being able to work through cutting, coloring, graphics, and sound design is within the program.

Cons:

Old habits are hard to break. As I said, you'll adjust quickly to the software, but there are some functions (such as Fusion) that are difficult to pick up if you've been using Adobe After Effects for many years.

Nwodo
Nwodo
Creative director in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Entertainment, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Davinci resolve the best video editing software so far

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I love davinci resolve it's worth a try for all content creators who wants a clean cinematic video edit. It's just an all-in-one app. Using templates makes it a lot easier and there are bunch of free templates on the web.

Pros:

I love the color grading feature it's the best i have seen so far. It makes my video look cinematic and have this professional look, the features are cool and easy to use if you have knowledge of video editing. Great for editing bad footage and audios. You can download free templates from the web and use to fasten your work.

Cons:

It crashes sometimes but i think it's because of the compatibly with my laptop. Davinci should consider creating versions for lower systems.