15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About Botmock

Prototype and design IVR, chatbot, and voice assistant experiences across multiple channels: Alexa, Whatsapp, Twitter, and more

Learn more about Botmock

Pros:

It additionally has generally good tooling for integrations with a kanban workflow, as well as capacity to discuss content on a node-by-node basis.

Cons:

The arrows are hard to work with. Larger designs are hard to manage.

Botmock ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

Botmock has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 13 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (13)

Sort by

Have you used Botmock before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (13)

Roc
Roc
Usability Specialist - UX Writer in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Powerful and easy to use

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Botmock is by far the most powerful prototyping tool for conversation design I’ve used. Since the first time, when I tested the trial, I was astonished by it’s easy learning curve and collaboration features .With Botmock I can design better, faster, and more collaboratively. It has reduced the number of steps required for me to design complex flows and projects.

Cons:

Maybe some UX features, like the projects' page UX, can be improved.

Sara
Data & Machine Learning Engineer in Portugal
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Botmock Review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: My experience with Botmock has been quite good so far. One of the biggest problems in the chatbot creation market is to connect conversational flows (created by content creators) to applications and allow access to flows programmatically - Botmock solves this problem and provides an application that is an awesome solution for both parties.

Pros:

-Awesome tool to create conversational flows; -Flows accessible through API; -Easy to use - from content creators to technical team; -Easy to integrate with a high range of external apps; -User Friendly UI; -Great technical support;

Cons:

- Sometimes the graphical interface crash and browser reset is needed (data is not lost); - More examples in the API documentation; - Questions Forum to increase Botmock community connection;

David
Software Engineer in US
Computer Software, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One of the best options in the space, but the space has limited options

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The graphical interface is nice Customer support is always quick and willing to help

Cons:

Features like being able to import projects are lacking Things get pretty slow when projects grow

Spencer
Product Manager in US
Insurance, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Love Botmock!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Wonderful!

Pros:

As someone who never worked on chatbots before and researched a lot of dialogue flow tools, Botmock was the easiest to learn and use! I find Botmock accelerated our ability to capture intents and define dialogue flow and works for handing off requirements to developers as well as presenting to non technical business stakeholders. If I have question I can't find in Help docs or blogs, someone always responds via chat quickly

Cons:

I don't like some of the new changes to dialogue flow space, I find it harder to add a label to connection points.

Thomas
Associate Stategist in US
Design, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Thomas Rice - AQKA Botmock Review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: From initial drafting to IT implementation, Botmock is the primary tool for our conversational design projects. Its UX has greatly improved over the past year and once you get the hang of it is quite intuitive. While it still has some bugs and potential growth areas, it has a great support staff (shoutout to [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]) who are happy to help and push out quick fixes to ease pain points when they do arise.

Pros:

I love that I can use the app to create our initial build of projects and seamlessly transition into testing the projects — both as myself validating work and for user testing with people outside fo the working team. This builds efficiencies and I have also appreciated improvements to the UI like the improved zoom function and control over the connections between content blocks. This had previously been a weak point, but is now much easier and improves how easily I can show projects to team members who only seldom use Botmock.

Cons:

We have encountered versioning issues when multiple team members are working at the same time. These can be extreme (hours of lost work) but more commonly are small inconsistencies that require one user to refresh the page. I think Google Docs serves as a best in class experience for this, and it's inconvenient to have to realize that we're in disagreement over things that are out of sync and there isn't any actual issue. The search functionality is also subpar as it seemingly only searches the titles of content blocks rather than the content within them. When I'm QAing and trying to replace all instances of a word (or something of the sort), this has a significant impact on how confident I can feel. A small thing, but I also download all projects as CSVs, and there are often far too many columns. Some are completely empty, others just seem to randomly spread out quickly reply button options, etc across different columns. I typically take a whole day to organize a final project's spreadsheet before delivery to the client.

Christina
Product owner and conversational designer in Australia
Utilities, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Simple to use

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall I'd recommend this product for anyone who doesn't have a full stack virtual assistant solution. When I say full stack I mean the design stores content and feeds directly into the test and prod environments.

Pros:

BotMock is simple to use. I like the jump to feature and the ability to duplicate flows for continuous improvement. It's great that there's a review option for users so when sharing with stakeholders there's no concern over accidental changes being made. Colour coding blocks and the notes feature is really helpful for communicating to the dev team.

Cons:

You can't move where the lines go and so often lines connecting content bubbles will run through other content bubbles and this often creates confusion for our our stakeholders and dev team. A feature to copy individual content from one board to another would also be very helpful. Also, when the last upgrade was made, I thought I had lost the notes feature. It took months to realise we could right click to get this feature and that it wasn't lost.

Shubhra
Inspirience Lead and Conversations Architect in Netherlands
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Practical solution for voice design

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall the experience is good, their regular releases of new versions always improve the platform and also take into account user feedback.

Pros:

It solves the problem - prototyping for conversational UI. In our case, we needed an interface between the linguistic conversation design team and technical voice services team. Making mindmaps or ppts was not working out. Botmock was a good choice since it also allows API integration to export prototypes into LUIS.

Cons:

It's still a bit too simplistic. As the size of the conversation grows, and more branches get added, the readability reduces, and we users start to feel lost. There should be a way to break down complex paths into pages..

Abel
Quality lead & Conversation designer in Netherlands
Automotive, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A great tool with a great overview and lots of possibilities

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The overview. It's very clear how your flow is structured. The connections, possible integrations. Also, they are developing themselves in a fast pace and they are really open for feedback. We, as Web1on1, gave them quite some feedback and most if it we do really see in a future release.

Cons:

At the moment not really to be honest. Would be cool though if the multilingual tool will be finished. The beta version was promising, but not perfect yet.

Kevin
Software Engineer in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Botmock is an innovator in conversational AI design

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, Botmock has made my life easier with a cutting edge conversation designer, however much of that tooling needs maturity and potentially a redesign from the perspective of a power user/maintainer. Simple projects are quick to stand up, but the true test of this product is allowing for complexity to be managed easily.

Pros:

I really enjoy being able to visually see conversation flows, it helps me as a visual learner understand at a deeper level how our conversational flows are laid out. It additionally has generally good tooling for integrations with a kanban workflow, as well as capacity to discuss content on a node-by-node basis

Cons:

Their newest updates that changed how the conversational nodes actually connect together visually, while good for newer projects, has made complex projects that have intricate connections laid out in the previous iteration useless. Connections that were previously easy to see now require a reorganization of the entire project. Additionally, bulk editing and shortcuts need drastic improvement as larger projects become nigh impossible to maintain with the current system.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

As a daily Botmock User

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Very easy to design user flows and journeys. Designer friendly interface. Creating intents & entities are super simple(for those who don't come from a non-technical background). I personally love the funnel feature that shows the intent mapping for the tested utterance.

Cons:

I believe the speech recognition and NLP engine could be make stronger. Nevertheless, this is a prototyping tool and serves its purpose!

Shaili
Conversational Design Expert in US
Insurance, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Botmock honest review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: It’s good. Easy to have all the designs in one place. Easy to share.

Pros:

The UI for designing is interactive and easy to use. The run feature is great which we can utilize for UX testing.

Cons:

The arrows are hard to work with. Larger designs are hard to manage. Including a search or find would help in adding members to the design as we are currently scrolling down the whole list. Undo button would be something which would add more value as sometimes we make changes we would want to cancel and there is no option to go back as they are saved in real time.

Klaudia
Implementation Lead in Poland
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good chat mockup Software

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

It allowed us to build mocks for several platforms and take their specifications into consideration.

Cons:

Export of media should not take two steps (clicking export and then,once export is ready, clicking download)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Superb service and support

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Since the outset the team tirelessly supported every question I had, of which there were lots, even on the weekend. Great service, I cannot recommend this company enough.

Pros:

This software is simple to use, intuitive and full of great functionality.

Cons:

There are some features missing relevant to my use case, but we are very niche.

Botmock Response

3 years ago

Thank you for the wonderful review, we are so happy you're enjoying your experience with Botmock