15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About Kinetic

Kinetic is an end-to-end ERP solution for manufacturers that need real-time access to decision-making data anytime, anywhere.

Learn more about Kinetic

Pros:

I like the flexibility to customize the software to fit your business. There are many features which can be incredibly useful.

Cons:

Several modules are included for improving requirements and are very weak. Example: Integration to Salesforce.

Kinetic ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Service
3.3
Features
3.8
Value for Money
3.5

Likelihood to recommend

6.9/10

Kinetic has an overall rating of 3.8 out 5 stars based on 177 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Kinetic before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (177)

Jeff
Jeff
ERP Software Implementation Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Exceptional ERP Software for Manufacturers

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Over the course of nearly twenty years as an Epicor admin in manufacturing, my experience has been fantastic. The software is simply to use, extremely flexible, and the ways that the data can be extracted (reports, BAQ's, and Dashboards) make it a VERY powerful analysis tool when the time to enter data is done properly. The support team is also fantastic...and while maintenance and support is expensive, it's worth it and you get what you pay for.

Pros:

Epicor is extremely flexible right out of the box, and is exceptionally strong in the areas of managing and tracking Production Jobs, Bill of Materials, Scheduling, Labor, Inventory, Purchasing, and Order Entry. It also has the ability to have customized development, and things like the Epicor BAQ's, Dashboards, and Business Activity Manager features allow customizes information, exportable grids, and notifications to be setup by administrators and even end users as these modules are user-friendly and fairly intuitive! The Shop Floor Data Entry Module (MES) is also very intuitive and simple to use for the users on the production / manufacturing floor.

Cons:

Epicor ERP is expensive software, and since it's such a wide product that handles so many aspects of your business, setup really must be done according to Epicor's recommendations and completed thoroughly. Also, since it's so flexible, there is a lot of it that you won't use, so it's best to create clear work instructions for your team and/or hide fields and/or functions that you will not need to use.

Epicor Software Response

4 years ago

Hello Jeff, thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear you find it flexible and intuitive. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected] to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

Alicia
Alicia
Materials Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Furniture, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Robust ERP System Ideal for Manufacturing

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We’ve been pleasantly surprised at how it is turning out to meet our business needs, while knowing the amount of work necessary to get it set how we need.

Pros:

Easily mass upload and update data. Configurable modules to meet your business needs. Responsive, knowledgeable and helpful consultants.

Cons:

Some restrictions which are costly to customize and work around. Forms are not easily edited. Many modules are an extra added cost to subscribe every year.

Epicor Software Response

5 years ago

Hi Alicia, thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear that the data mangagement aspects of our ERP is working well for you. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected] to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

Dan
Sr. Accountant in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Epicor Manufacturing, some parts are better than others

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: Epicor is a mid-market software for companies that are under 100 employees (roughly) and more than 50 who need an ERP. Version 10 is by far the cleanest version. Given the choices at this size of a company's growth, it is a viable choice. Just be careful that the VAR doesn't walk you down a road to heavy customizations that get in the way of future upgrades and cost you yearly in re-working them when you upgrade or patch the ERP. Stick to custom reports, custom user screens, and use the Business Objects provided to interface with and all should be well.

Pros:

Ease of use, E10 is cloud based, support (when in US) is good, Short learning curve, fairly flexible, highly customizable

Cons:

Highly customizable tends to get pushed to overly customized which = a mini-new ERP project with every upgrade to fix broken customizations, VAR network: some are great, some not, support for down-rev version falls off quickly, plan on extended cost of ownership, import/export functionality is limited unless add-on products are purchased, Field Service module is the weakest link in the product.

Brian
IT Support in US
Machinery, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Workflow made easy

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We used this to manage the company. We track time on projects. Keep inventory, and is used heavily in supply chain.

Pros:

This software handles all of your company needs. It does time management, inventory, project management, and more. This was very easy to roll out to end users.

Cons:

So far we have only used this for less then 6 mo. I don't have any down side at this point. There is still a learning curve that we need to over come.

Epicor Software Response

4 years ago

Hi Brian, thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected] to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

Alyssa Rose
Alyssa Rose
Software Development Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Electronics, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Epicor ERP allows the analysis of data in real time.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Epicor is a solid and highly scalable option that generates a positive return on investment. It also has a real-time data analysis. I recommend Epicor ERP thanks to all the functions that allow employees to work more efficiently and quickly. Although Epicor needs to improve the support team a lot, I'm sure to recommend it.

Pros:

Epicor ERP creates purchase orders, senders and invoices that generate a high return on investment. In addition, we have been able to accurately track work activity. Epicor meets our accounting needs. Epicor ERP is ideal for companies that buy components from many different places, so there can be traceability. A large number of departments use the system (order entry, sales, IT, finance). In addition, Epicor has a user interface with the ability to export to Excel. Epicor allows real-time data analysis and financial reporting to help make decisions faster.

Cons:

Epicor does not take advantage of innovations in the development of queries, which would allow inexperienced users to generate their own results without the help of the IT department. In addition, the software support team still needs to improve greatly in order to achieve better efficiency.

Jorge
It Coordinator in Mexico
Automotive, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Alternatives Considered:

Epicor Software

3.0 5 years ago

Pros:

it is a very complete software, it can really help you with you planning and manufacturing process, you can control your purchases and your inventory very easy

Cons:

it lack of controls, you have to customize in order to get more control of your process, the cost of customization it is very high, and the support you get for your maintenance fee is is very poor.

Lisa
Lisa
Office Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Machinery, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Epicor ERP

3.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I used this software for 6 years and so I really got to know the ins and outs of it. It's hard to say what I liked most because I didn't really like it that much. One positive is that it's a very robust product probably best suited to a much larger company than ours.

Cons:

As the out of the box product, there is zero ability to customize anything without paying another company to do it for you. It's possible to make changes if you have training or an additional module, neither of which I had. There are many security measures in place that makes it difficult to undo something or revise after you've done it.

Epicor Software Response

4 years ago

Hi Lisa, thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're sorry to hear you didn't like the software. We would like to learn more about the issues you experienced. Please email us at [email protected] with your contact information, so we can assist you. Again, we are sorry for the inconvenience you've experienced.

Brandon
Brandon
Inventory and ERP system manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We use Epicor to run our whole business.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: The customizability of this software is the key advantage for this compared to other ERP systems. They approach the company has is "we can't make it perfect for everyone, so we will let you make the changes you need for you".

Pros:

We like that it's incredibly flexible. Epicor has put a lot of work into tools to help customize the product. Each tool has a different level of complexity, and some take more knowledge than others to use, but it will get as advanced as your skill set.

Cons:

Out of the box it's fairly clunky to use. One record at a time is usually how things are done. That makes initial acceptance from users a bit of a challenge. But if you have users that are creative and can convey what they want, you usually can find a way to make things easier for them. If they just whine, not so much.

Mar
Purchasing/ administration in US
Industrial Automation, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Kinetic- It’s not for the weak

3.0 10 months ago

Pros:

Lots of different ways to do one thing.

Cons:

There is a lot of steps to do one process. -it’s bulky-it’s very unforgiving

Vilas Ravindra
Manager, Additive Manufacturing Group in Canada
Automotive, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good ERP Software

4.0 6 months ago

Pros:

Data Driven and Customizable for various departments.

Cons:

Needs to be more user friendly and software needs to be faster.

Kevin
Manager in US
Retail, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Not user friendly

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Though I think that Epicor is very over priced, and charges for any additional service you want, it is able to be personalized to each of our stores' needs. I wish there were a different system that was comparable to what Epicor can do, so I could switch, but with our specific company it integrates well and gets the job done.

Pros:

This software has about anything you could think of to help and personalize it to your business. It has so many different reports and assets to help your business. It even has the ability to link together different chains of stores owned by the same owner. They also use what is called "Bomgar" which is a system that allows them to view and control your screen on any terminal to help resolve any issue.

Cons:

Nothing is free with this software. If you want the smallest thing they will charge you. You do pay a monthly fee, just like anything else, so you do have access to a call center to walk you through things. However, depending on who you talk to, it is a hit or miss if he/she knows what they are doing and understand what you are looking for. They have different help levels so if they don't understand that can pass you up to a different help level. Sometimes they charge will charge you by hour to take to someone high up. Another CON, is that nothing is simple or straight forward. With it being such a high-tech system, if you want your system to do more than basic, you have to call the help line to help set it up. Sure, you could do it, but good look trying to figure it out and knowing what other flags in the system you need to mark so nothing else is messed up.

Epicor Software Response

4 years ago

Hi Kevin, thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We note your comments regarding personalization complexity. Please email us at [email protected] to share any additional comments.

Jack
Network Administrator III in US
Machinery, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

ERP system that is easy to setup, easy to use, and has the features you need and want.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We rely heavily on a product configurator and Epicor had the best configurator we seen on the market. Epicor has continued to improve their product, adding new features, making it available while mobile. The third party software plug-ins are great and add many time saving functions that are easy to use.

Pros:

Like the fact that it had the features we needed, was easy to use, and see continued effort by Epicor to improve it by adding new abilities and features to it. We get great support and training is available in many different forms.

Cons:

Cost was a little higher than what we initially were thinking of in our budget. However, after looking a many ERP systems we quickly found that Epicor had what we wanted and felt that it was worth the investment. It has been 10 years now, and still believe we made the right decision to go with Epicor as our ERP system.

Epicor Software Response

5 years ago

Hi Jack, Thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear the configurator has enabled better efficiency within your business. Your feedback is invaluable, and if you would like to send us an email to [email protected], we would be pleased to receive additional comments, we thank you for your continued advocacy. Sincerely, The Epicor Social Team

John
VP in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Powerful software, when it works.

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: As with any ERP - it was oversold in the beginning, and support has seemed to get more and more distant year by year. In the end, it's a great piece of software if you can support it yourself and don't upgrade too frequently.

Pros:

Epicor's service-oriented architecture is powerful - allows us to adapt their platform to our business use case and workflows when necessary. Recent versions hit at a somewhat modern UI which we're looking forward to, and the addition of the RESTful API has been a godsend.

Cons:

Lots of bugs introduced in each version - but the pace of releases is fast to keep up with them. Their support is rough when necessary. Can take literal days or weeks trying to get through to someone in the right country/right team who actually understands the failure mode and is willing to take the issue seriously.

Epicor Software Response

5 years ago

Hello John, Thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear the solution has been powerful for your business. We're sorry to hear you have experienced distant support. We would like to learn more about the issue you are experiencing so we can deliver a solution. Please send us an email to [email protected] with your contact information, so we can assist you. Again, we are sorry for the inconvenience you've experienced, and we look forward to resolving it. Sincerely, The Epicor Social Team

Todd
ERP Administrator
Aviation & Aerospace, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Very Powerful

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Over the years Epicor (and former Vantage product) has grown from a simple Job Shop system to a full blown ERP powerhouse that brings the flexibility to address most any manufacturing or distribution company.

Pros:

Built-in customization tools are very powerful - allowing detailed tailoring to company needs without direct coding. BPMs now allow excellent logic branching and very nice built in features such as email alerts. Publish & Subscribe dashboards are a great reporting option with drill down capability. Form customizations are also very easy. SQL Server DB is a big improvement over Progress and MUCH faster.

Cons:

Reliance on SSRS for reporting - although Crystal Reports still works. Does not handle really complex BoM/MoM situations well for jobs with thousands of assembly levels and hundreds of branches or indents. Projects module isn't quite robust enough to be used for complex jobs/orders.

Adam
Business Solutions Manager in Canada
Building Materials, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Strong ERP for midmarket Make to Stock / Make to Order manufacturers

4.0 last year

Comments: While sometimes ERP can feel like a necessary evil, Epicor Kinetic is mature, robust, extensible and proven. It should be a strong contender for any mid-market manufacturer considering a digital transformation.

Pros:

Epicor Kinetic is a robust, mature ERP system that is continuing to innovate. The core function and structure is sound, included modules are robust, and there is a strong and growing architecture for extensibility & customization.

Cons:

Many features have been added over the years, some via acquisition - not all are done well or at feature parity. The new UI still feels like it's in Beta, but all new features are developed for the new UI. Internal support is poor, but there is a strong consulting and user community that offsets that somewhat.

Melissa
IT Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great All Around Product

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I've been using this system in some variation for 20 years. It has been great to see it develop into the great product we have today. Epicor seems to be committed to staying on the edge of emerging technology trends that can only help all of their customers.

Pros:

Quote to cash navigation using the Open With functionality throughout the software, BPM wizards that allow you to do simple If\Then type triggers with no custom programming, BAQ functionality with subqueries, Education Courses, much easier path for version and patch updates

Cons:

Application support desk for certain modules, debugging options for customization (compile) errors, training of some of support staff seems to be lacking. 50% of time I end up figuring out the issue myself and feeling like I'm teaching their staff.

Amanda
Marketing Associate in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Our company has used this for several years and had great success.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

User friendly: We upgraded to 10.2, and the new homepage provides all the data I need instantly. I was able to adjust the layout and information on my dashboards easily. I can drill into data and use sophisticated analytics tools, which have made me more informed and productive. Super flexible: It's been a scalable solution that has supported our growing business. Easy to update and integrate with other systems Accurate forecasting Secure cloud-based data management

Cons:

Epicor's customer support hasn't always been the most prompt, but they've made some changes this year to their customer support services, and we've already noticed improvement.

David
Freelance in France
Graphic Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My opinion on Epicor ERP

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I have been using this software for 5 years and have learned to use it correctly. I liked the approach of the software despite the fact that it was necessary to take new benchmarks but that is the goal of a new software! This very versatile product would be more suitable for a larger company than mine where I worked as a team but since COVID19, I have become a freelance.

Cons:

This software package allowed me to personalize and optimize the management of my contacts. On the other hand, I was not able to make any changes easily because I had not taken the additional training module. Note that there are many security measures leaving the cancellation of certain aspects impossible for me.

Epicor Software Response

3 years ago

Hello David, thank you for your feedback on Epicor ERP. We are pleased to hear you find it versatile to use. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected] to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

Bryn
Production Coordinator in US
Machinery, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great ERP

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: It is easy to use and pick up, taught myself quite a bit.

Pros:

The ability to customize reports is outstanding. I also like that I can easily find the information I need when I need it.

Cons:

Modules. You have to purchase quite a few separate modules to be able to use everything which can cost

Epicor Software Response

4 years ago

Hi Bryn, thanks so much for your review of Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear the customized reporting is working well for you. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected] to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

Jack
Business Systems Analysis III in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Epicor ERP - Inovative solution for running our manufacturing business into the future.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Have used Epicor since the start of 2010, been very reliable for us. The improvements is speed of the system over the last 8 years has been fantastic. Like the direction the software is moving and the abilities to get to the data and analysis easily and quickly with the software they provide. Great product.

Pros:

Easy to use, Get training available, Always working to improve their product, Great support. Epicor continues to improve there software adding new features that customers are looking for, adding third party solutions to plug into their software. They are adding features before we are even ready to use them, being able to go more mobile, improving communication between users at our company. Great Product configurator, best I have seen!

Cons:

Does cost a little more than we were hoping, but the ROI made it worthwhile doing. Moving away from crystal to SSRS was a little rough, but like the change once we were through it.

Ryan
Accounting in Canada
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Epicor

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Epicor was a good solution for our business as we had a complex accounting and reporting system for our various business streams and government requirements.

Pros:

Epicor had many features which helped us manage inventory and the financials for the many facets of our business from retail gas stations to business to business fuel deliveries across the country.

Cons:

The user interface was not user friendly and could have had many improvements. Everything was in menus and there were some items that were labeled similar name which could be confusing. One upside on this was that you could create custom menus for yourself to easily find things which made it easier, however if you needed to transfer those list to a new team member you had to try and remember where each item was from originally.

John
President in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Epicor works.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Recommended for growing manufacturers who are not sure just how large they may grow. This product scales well with best practices built in that will allow you to grow without adding people and overhead.

Pros:

Easy to use. Very deep in functionality - you will likely be able to use the whole system out of the box.

Cons:

Need to manage your scope for an implementation project - it is easy to take on more given the wide capability it has. Best to manage scope.

luke
accountant
Mining & Metals, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Good, but needs some improvement

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

I like how you are able to customize things to the aspect of your company. The ability to make things unique to your own is a great feature. It's great for tracking inventory too.

Cons:

There is always a problem with any update that happens. I do not like the ticket process because it takes forever to get a response and most times the problem could be solved in a few minutes instead of being dragged out for a few weeks.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Goods, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We are a manufacturing plant that distributes products worldwide and Epicor manages it all.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Epicor allows us to manage multiple companies with multiple currencies. One system for the entire company. We use if from the manufacturing floor to distribution & sales to financial reporting.

Cons:

It's a very complex program because it does a lot. It took a team about a year to implement and users require training. It is not intuitive to use but once you understand how it works, it works very well.

Segi
Database Application Manager in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Epicor is an important piece of MRP software for our company and we cannot do business without it

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Epicor is a good piece of MRP software overall. Screens are able to intelligently link to one another with relevant right click context menus.

Cons:

When error messages appear, they are often cryptic and difficult or impossible for non Epicor employees to understand. Epicor licenses are extremely expensive and not recommended for smaller businesses.