15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About SmartRec

Gone are the days of lining up in person on registration day. Amilia makes it easy for your residents to search, discover and sign-up!

Learn more about SmartRec

Pros:

It is easy to use on the admin end. I like that it tracks online traffic to your site and that it works with Constant Contact.

Cons:

It makes it hard to write guides or standard operating procedures for software that is constantly changing.

SmartRec ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.6
Features
3.9
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

7.9/10

SmartRec has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 128 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used SmartRec before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (128)

Zoé
Zoé
Recreation and Tourism Coordinator in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Sports, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Amilia, a good and user-friendly software for every employee

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: With Amilia, we no longer have double bookings and we are offering a better customer service. Client can easily register online and manage their activities. Our staff can easily manage rentals and contract.

Pros:

Amilia is a user-friendly for company who has a lot of employees using the software. It is easy to understand, easy to learn and easy to find your way around. New employees don't need a big training, steps are pretty obvious once you know the basics of the software. The best thing about Amilia is their after-sale service. They are always contacting you to make you confortable to call if you have any question. They are listening to your concern and trying the best they could to add the features you asked for. They are always doing follow-ups with their client.

Cons:

It's hard to speak to someone when you call the technical support, you can wait a lot over the phone and finish on a voicemail. If you need immediate assistance, it's hard to get in touch with someone. It seems employee of Amilia working at the technical support are new. I had to chat with them often for technical problems, and rarely they can solve my problem. They are only opening a technical ticket and getting back to me weeks after. Most of the time, I finished by solving my problem alone and find a way around. It seems sometime I know more Amilia than the customer service.

Amilia Response

2 years ago

Thanks so much for your review Zoe - will take your feedback to the support team!

Erika
Program Manager in US
Government Administration, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Smart Rec Review

4.0 last year

Comments: SmartRec has brought our department into technology and allowed us to make our operations more efficient. The team at SmartRec is great and incredibly helpful! They have a bit to go before they become a powerhouse in the industry but they are on their way to doing so.

Pros:

We went from an antiquated software with no way for the end user to register online, the online registration platform has been a great feature for our team and members. The customer service chat and support is awesome, I typically have my issue figured out within a few hours. If not, they will follow up to help resolve. They are a newer software with limited capabilities compared to more established software's BUT they are always pushing out new features into Beta mode and willing to listen to our suggestions for improvement.

Cons:

There are features that are limited compared to more established software's. Our biggest CON is that you cannot register or make any purchases from the app, it is simply your membership card and scheduled classes. We have some end users who say there are too many clicks to get through the registration process and would be easier if it was accomplished in 2-3 clicks.

Stacy
Managing Director in US
Performing Arts, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Feedback

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, Amilia is serving the purpose we need it to. We initially thought it would offer cost savings from our previous database (Active and Mindbody), and maybe it does have some cost savings, but there have been serious issues on the backend that don't entirely outweigh the savings. I would consider leaving Amilia and choosing another service, but the learning curve of a new system is high, and we are only just now feeling like we have a handle on Amilia's offerings.

Pros:

The customer service is great. We always have a quick response and can usually find an answer to our questions after speaking with someone.

Cons:

The reporting features are severely lacking. If we are taking customers' money through this platform, there must be clear reports that show how much money has been brought in and when/how it is being disbursed to our bank account. It took us almost two years to navigate the existing financial reports to find the ones that actually showed us the information that we need. And in so doing, we found out that over $100k of payments have not been sent to our bank account. If the reporting was more clear, we would have been able to identify the issue years ago. One of the main problems is that the information in the canned reports is not uniform across the reports themselves. So, trying to compare information across reports is very challenging. It would also be nice to be able to customize reports, so that the user can pull the information that is needed at their own convenience.

Casey
Program Manager in US
Recreational Facilities & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Decent Alternative? Maybe, I guess...

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Coming to Amilia (Smart Rec) from Max Galaxy, it is a even trade off. What MG did poorly, Smart Rec does better, but what MG did great, Smart Rec can not do. I see how Smart Rec could be great. But it is "new" to the game and still has a ways to go. It is hard for me recommend to other Parks and Recreation Departments. In the first month of Smart Rec, Amilia implemented more upgrades and new features than Max Galaxy did in the entire 3 years we used it. So that being said, I have hope in Amilia as there have been a steady stream of updates.

Pros:

Customer service and trouble shooting chat portal is wonderful! There is an Amilia Staffer ready to chat with you online within a few minutes of having an issue or question. The client facing portals are attractive and for the most part easy to use. Browser based, usable/accessible from almost any device. Has an app for clients (though very limited) Creates membership cards with scan bars and photos (also accessible in client app)

Cons:

Only Merchandise goes through the POS... Nothing else does. (registrations, memberships, rentals, reservations) Shouldn't every transaction should go through the POS? Can not export financial ledger codes and payment breakdown reports by individual locations. Maybe if every transaction went through a POS, then we could report ledger codes with payment forms for that specific POS location? eChecks take 10 days to hit the bank Can not create custom payment types Reports are excel exports only. They are ugly and formatted poorly for print. CardPointe (card connect) is the only card processing service available.

Amilia Response

2 years ago

Thanks so much for your review Casey - we're happy to hear you are enjoying SmartRec and will take your feedback to the product team :)

Chelsea
Recreation Supervisor in US
Sports, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Room for Growth

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, the system has been beneficial. We've been able to consolidate and put more information into one location. Contracts are easy for all staff to access (previously they were all in a paper file system). Some of our facility bookings have been moved to online access. After we learned how to make it work the time spent entering programs is relatively small & easy to understand. The integration with our email service has also be very helpful. Long term I see the adjustments they are making as something that will keep us with this system. In the short term it has been very challenging to adapt some areas of our department to function within the limitations of this software. Specifically we struggle with the lack of reporting for facility rentals & lack of unique data with forms. We were on-boarded but had some struggles during that process with a lack of clear direction on what we needed to do prior to opening to the public. Possibly a checklist would have been very helpful.

Pros:

Two things: - Customer support is quick to assist with problems & open with their response. If it's something the system can't do they let you know & attempt to help find solutions. - They are constantly putting out new features. Since we started they have updated/launched at least 5 big updates.

Cons:

Facilities. We do 50% of our revenue in facility rentals & the process they do have is fairly limited. We are missing many reports that would help us better manage facility rentals, emails to previous renters by facility and date, custom forms that uniquely tie to each rental and more. Also online bookings / groups are limited. When we add the campground's 140+ sites this fall finding anything in there is going to take forever. (You have to scroll through everything to find the location you are looking for) While booking there is no go to date option. You have to manually tab by month to the time you want to book for, even if it's years out.

Amilia Response

2 years ago

Thanks so much for the thorough review Chelsea :) we will take your feedback to the product team.

Lindsay
Finance & Operations Manager in US
Performing Arts, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent Customer Service, Some Functionality Still Improving

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, great! As I said there are some issues in finance and reporting, but the quality of their customer service and ease of use outweighs these troubles. Plus - the development team at Amilia is constantly adding and improving upon features! I am hopeful that the troubles we have had in reporting will improve as other features have over our year of using this software.

Pros:

- Great customer service! Team is always available for questions ranging from quick pokes to lengthy problems - Easy to use; their mass edit tool has been a life saver! Overall has been easy to train staff in basic functionalities (registrations, refunds, creating activities, etc.)

Cons:

- Finance & Reporting function still needs some work. Our comptroller has continued troubles with creating reports that show with total accuracy how our organization is performing. Amilia has been helpful in pointing me in the right direction, but their reports are not very customizable. What they lack in customization is the number of reports they offer; however that is not always enough.

Chelsey
Recreation Supervisor in US
Recreational Facilities & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Why we love SmartRec

5.0 last year

Comments: We have enjoyed our time with SmartRec. We are so thankful for their customer service and the time they out in to work with us, hear our feedback, and continue to develop their program to fit the needs of Park and Recreation Agencies.

Pros:

Ease of use for our customers and backend users. We like how clean the store is and how it is so easy for our customers to checkout in an easy and timely fashion. The admin side is easy to use to input classes and track rentals and contracts.

Cons:

The reporting side could be a little more robust and user friendly. You get a lot of information but being able to tailor the reports a little more before export would help save time. Processing independent contractor (CA) class payouts though SmartRec would be nice - paid by % and not hourly rate through Staff Module.

Casey
Senior Administrative Assistant in US
Recreational Facilities & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

SmartRec the SmartChoice

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: The experience has been wonderful. The training was completely different from how we ended up using the software but ultimately its been quick and easy to learn/implement.

Pros:

The software is intuitive and the customer service is outstanding.

Cons:

I do wish this was an established recreation software as features are ever changing. It makes it hard to write guides or standard operating procedures for software that is constantly changing. I would also like to see a better reporting system. However, because the software is ever changing, they take our suggestions from what we want to see out of the software and create it. I also wish the software was split by facilities and not one large department. It makes reconciliation difficult on behalf of the whole department.

Melanie
Vice President of Communications in US
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

SmartRec is smart for us.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, SmartRec has been a great experience. We will soon incorporate more facilities management and utilize additional features of the software.

Pros:

Ease of implementation. Flexibility of customizing forms. Dynamic support from a knowledgeable team. Great training modules.

Cons:

At first, there was a bit of a learning curve for our participants to register, but they caught on quickly.

Dwayne
IT Mnager in Canada
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Software - Very valuable to any organization

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

This is an amazing software. We are using it to track registrations and transactions relating to our summer camp. This software has helped the organization throughout the summer. We are now working through the financial reporting to for the previous year. The major reason for our organization was the ability to generate RL-24 tax slips.

Cons:

There is a steep learning curve for this software. We need a few weeks to get used to all the functionalities. I would like to see some additional functions added: 1- Ability to back date transactions 2- Track and issue donation receipts 3- Send notification to different email address' based on the activity 4- More options for levels of access (ex: the ability for agent to 5- Easier/Customization financial reporting

Heather
Administrator in US
Primary/Secondary Education, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Frustrating

2.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I like the ability to duplicate classes to make a new season. I like the idea of the tags.

Cons:

For all the features, it's not as flexible as I expected. I was looking for something that would increase communication with our families, but this system made it worse. I still have teachers that have not been able to get on, so every time they need something I have to do it for them. This is more work for me. When COVID-19 hit, I needed to email all our families at once, but there was no way to do it. It was necessary to have all our families join another platform so we could better communicate with them when all our classes went online. I will be dropping Amilia as soon as our 1-year agreement is over.

Eli
President in Canada
Entertainment, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A promising software but still has some ways to go.

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

- Available in French as well as English, a necessity in Montreal - ASTOUNDING customer service! and that's coming from someone who trains customer service departments! - Decent programming flexibility for Dance studios and service providers - Space rental programming included

Cons:

- Difficult learning curve for our clients - Lack of real integration with website (only nested window) - Unintuitive purchasing process for services (and products) for clients, even those who are familiar with the software - Primitive phone app (Android & iOS) with very little functionality to go along with the main program, for both clients and administrators. - Steep learning curve for administrators who are not very tech savvy - No integration with ANY accounting software (ex: Quickbooks) - No integration with a POS system (ex: Square) - On the expensive side for what is offered compared to other companies, especially with the percentage taxing of sales they deduct EVEN if clients pay cash. - Sub par visual aesthetics and no real control to administrators to change it. - No Google bookings, which is becoming more and more important in service-oriented businesses.

Amilia Response

2 years ago

Hi Eli - thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review! We will take this feedback to the product team. Have a great day!

Joe
Business Development in Canada
Executive Office, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Amilia - Great Program

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: They have a great customer service fleet of people. They return emails in the morning, and ask if your issue has been looked after.

Pros:

The easy integration into our club. Once easily set up, we can now see who is purchasing, with all the and track what they are purchasing as well. Before it was too hard to see where they were registered in multiple classes

Cons:

Hmmm. I know there were a couple things, but don't recall...They were a couple "Nice to haves", but nothing crazy. Would be nice to have an interactive ability to send messages to all clients like TeamSnap.

Simon
Administrator in Canada
Sports, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Amilia is a time-saving platform with tons of features!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Amilia is a versatile software that is really easy to use. We could not do without it now that we adopted it!

Pros:

Amilia is an all-in-one tool that is easy to setup and to use. It allows us to save valuable time from our volunteers to focus on the development of our organisation. Other than being an online registration tool, it also manages product sales, memberships and rentals. Payments can be made online by credit card or offline by various methods. Amilia produces attendance lists, contact lists and financial reports that facilitate accounting. Customer support responds very fast and helps to set up the different features. Amilia developer team listens to the specific needs of our organization and adapts its platform to those needs. Many suggestions we have made have been implemented.

Cons:

Simplification of the checkout process would be nice, especially in admin mode.

K
Partner in US
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Amilia has terrible functionality issues and even worse customer service.

1.0 6 years ago

Pros:

There is nothing good about this software -- use at your own risk. On the plus side, it's easy to find better options.

Cons:

Amilia has terrible run-time issues and unresponsive, downright hostile customer service. The company only has 65 employees after years in business and their only investor is their CEO -- that should be telling. Amilia is no longer in Beta; they should be working to resolve their substantial SaaS platform functionality issues by now. I raised valid concerns on Amilia message boards and via their social media accounts for one of our clients for DAYS, trying to get resolutions to their platform functionality issues and was personally accosted on Linkedin by their company CMO. Shocking! Amilia doesn't understand the very basic tenets of customer service and their event registration platform -- to quote the hundreds of complaints our client has received in the past few days -- "stinks." Try EventBrite, Attendify, even a WordPress plug-in. Avoid Amilia at all costs, unless you are willing to anger and lose your user base.

Amilia Response

6 years ago

Hi Kirsten, We could not find you in our database. When we tried to ask you who you claim to represent, we were shut down. Understanding who we're trying to help is our 1st step when clients have an issue with the platform. We're very happy to report we are on track to grow to 80 employees by June 2018! We're also not sure where you got your misinformation about our CEO and equity structure. We're a private company and those details aren't publicly available. While using social media and message boards to get help may seem like a great idea, we recommend using our support line, email or chat to get issues resolved in a timely manner. We monitor calls, including yours, to ensure the level of service meets our client expectations. We help 900 organizations, 5,000 admins and 600,000 users simplify their day-to-day with registration, memberships and management needs. We have maintained a Customer Satisfaction score of 95%, which is one of the key metrics we track and improve.

Julie
Clinical Assistant Professor in US
Recreational Facilities & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Exceptional product, user friendly, fantastic tech support

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

SmartRec is easy to use. As a higher education faculty member, I was searching for a way to introduce parks and recreation software in the classroom. SmartRec was just the tool that I was looking for. Students need to be exposed to current technology that is utilized for managing staff, programs, facilities and customers. SmartRec tech support was amazing. They helped the students understand how to use the software, explore its many functions and interact with the many features and options that are available. Students really enjoy working within the activities, facilities, staffing, registration, and merchandise modules. SmartRec helped me create a meaningful experience for my college students that will be working with similar cloud base recreation software as they begin their professional careers in parks and recreation. The next classroom project using SmartRec will expose students in our budgeting class to cost recovery modules.

Cons:

Not sure if there is anything that I have not liked about the software. I am a different type of user, being from an academic setting. I have received positive feedback from students about the flexibility of the software and that many of the features are intuitive.

Lena
Founder & Team Leader in US
, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

So thankful to have found this software!

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

This software is super easy to use & operates in an intuitive way. My team was proficient in pretty much all areas of the system in less than a week. The interface is clean and easy to set up. Reports are great and allow for flexibility in how to request the information. Payment processing is easy and accounts are simple to follow. Love! Love! Love! Software usage is affordable and it offers a great value to my company.

Cons:

The checkout process has been a little unclear for some of our clients - although it's probably only been less than 5% of those that are registering that are having issues. A little more control or simplification here could be nice. A few of the financial reports could use the ability to drill down a little further into the numbers. Anything that we have asked for through Support has been addressed and I expect future modifications will fix anything that I've come up with. It would be nice to be able to customize email content without the use of HTML.

Megan
Program Supervisor in US
Recreational Facilities & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

PDOP Amilia review

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

This software is super easy to use and offers a lot of flexibility. Its so much better than our last one! I also love that I can access it from anywhere.

Cons:

Sometimes changes don't save and the gateway times out when making mass edits.

Amilia Response

2 years ago

Thanks so much for your review Megan! Happy to hear you're satisfied with Amilia :)

Kyle
Owner in Canada
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Best Online Registration product available...and continually getting better!

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: After an extensive search and intense "free trial" period with various options, we decided that Amilia was the right fit for us to manage our online registration, merchandise sales and customer database for our gymnastics facility and we are thrilled with the results thus far! From the get go, the support team guided us through the set-up and made sure we were ready for our first registration period. They went above and beyond to ensure we understood the back end of the system and that all of our current customers were transferred over from our former system. Change is always hard, but they made it as painless as possible. Amilia is easy to use and has saved us valuable time. Our team actually stared at each other in disbelief on the evening of public registration because the classes were filling and the phone was silent! Obviously our new customers found it intuitive to use as well! We actually closed the office 30 minutes early and went for a beer to celebrate :) The Amilia team is highly responsive to product feedback and they were very quick to release a feature we really needed: waiting lists. It seems like there is a constant wave of awesome new features added. Talk about pro-active; each time we ask for a new feature, it's usually in the development stage already! No need to worry...the adoption time of new features takes mere minutes with the step by step guides and support from our specialist, Marianne. We have been so impressed that we have moved our Birthday Party and Camp Registrations over to the system as well. We are very pleased with our choice and we highly recommend Amilia to anyone looking for an online registration system that is both appealing from the customer side and easy to use from the administrative side. What a great combination!

Amilia Response

2 years ago

Thanks so much for the kind and detailed review Kyle - we are so happy to hear you are enjoying your Amilia experience :)

Cat
Administrative coordinator in US
Consumer Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Fun with Amilia

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: It’s going good

Pros:

It’s easy to track sales and manage programs

Cons:

Our community finds it difficult to navigate

Dany
Directeur Général in Canada
Sports, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Perfect software with perfect service

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Great exprience overall, and amazing costumer service. Our life is so much easier since we are with Amilia.

Pros:

Easy to use, the interfaces are really user-friendly and easy to navigate, both sides of the application (client and administrator) and there's a lot of fonctionalities that fit perfectly with our needs as a cheerleading club. Also, there's plenty of useful finance reports we can easily extract.

Cons:

I don't really see any "cons". Sometimes there's mini features I would like to have or things I don't know how to do, but then their costumer service is always there to answer really quick and have it figured out.

Etienne
Trésorier in Canada
Philanthropy, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Yes Amilia helps us

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I would do it again. Unfortunately, it is not quite as efficient as promised.

Pros:

It delivers what it promises. The online support is superb. Prior to Amilia, we had separate systems for scheduling, billing, maintaining the client data base. It is now all integrated.

Cons:

It did not bend enough for the scheduling we need. Our needs could not be met as our services are more customized than the standard sport or cultural sessions offered by municipalities for instance

Jeff
Executive Director in Canada
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Amilia: Decent Product but overpriced

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: We have used Amilia for 3 seasons because of the ease of use for our members. Given the price and number of issues we are now investigating changing to a new platform.

Pros:

It is very user friendly for our members

Cons:

Missing key features. Support usually do not have answers Expensive compared to similar products

Jeremy
Owner/Head Coach in Canada
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Amilia is very user friendly for both the administrator and the clients!

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

We like how easy it is to use. We receive very few questions from customers on how to use the system. The back end setup is easy to use and accomplishes all our needs of the organization.

Cons:

Like any software there are always tweeks that need to be done. But they are open to hearing these issue and working with the clients to fix them for the future.

Amilia Response

7 years ago

Thanks for your review Jeremy! We love working with you guys and are happy to hear that both your staff and your clients find it easy to use :)

Mary
Owner in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Daily Use of Amilia

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: The experience has been positive overall.

Pros:

The software is fairly easy to use but has to be learned like any other platform.

Cons:

The reports area could be more finetuned.

Amilia Response

2 years ago

Thanks so much for the review Mary - happy to hear you are enjoying using Amilia!