15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

Microsoft Project Reviews

4.4 (1,846) Write a Review!

About Microsoft Project

Microsoft Project is a simple, yet powerful tool to manage work from quick projects to more complex initiatives.

Learn more about Microsoft Project

Pros:

As a Microsoft tools it has a great integration with other MS solution as name above, but it’s hard to integrate with externals apps.

Cons:

Simple error in typing the dates or days of activities can lead to complications if not caught immediately.

Microsoft Project ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

Microsoft Project has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 1,846 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Microsoft Project before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (1,846)

Syamir
Syamir
Administrative Assistant in Malaysia
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Planning and executing project easily

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, i am still satisfied in using this software to managing and managing our collaborative project and it really helpful for us to tracking and finish our project in the allocated time. It has increase our effectiveness in planning and executing a project.

Pros:

Microsoft Project is really good in planning and executing my project that my team and my colleague collaborate. It let us to distributing task among us and be clear which member are responsible for the task and avoid confusing while executing the project. The Gantt chart really helpful in planning the project time of completion.

Cons:

You will need quite a considerable time of training to properly get expert and get comfortable in using this project management software to the maximum usage. Some of the feature or tools is quite hard to be understand the usage and the manual is not explaining the tools in details.

yusof
IT Manager in Malaysia
Oil & Energy, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Microsoft Project

5.0 last month New

Comments: Superb. It is a 'mandatory must have' tool for all Project Manager and thier team.

Pros:

It made planning & scheduling relatively and easy with its intuitive features & flexible function. It is ubiquitous (anyplace, any time) to get project to stay on task, keep projects organized, and tracked & getting work done like Sharing files, co-authoring and editing content as well as working together simultaneously.

Cons:

tedious workflow setup especially when there's too many checkpoints of 'what if then else' decision is required

Eddie
Senior Project Manager in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Microsoft Project is an efficient scheduling tool, but that's it

3.0 last month New

Comments: Easy tool to use and very intuitive if you have ever used Excel.

Pros:

Included with most Microsoft licensing packages for businesses.

Cons:

Doe snot have the analytical tools that true scheduling software employ to help obtain critical path analysis.

Neelakshi
Neelakshi
Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review of Microsoft Project

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: As an IT company, our experience with Microsoft Project has been positive. It offers comprehensive project management tools, integrates well with the Microsoft ecosystem, and has been particularly valuable for managing complex projects. The Gantt chart visualization, customization options, and scalability have all contributed to our project success.

Pros:

Comprehensive project management features Effective task management and Gantt chart visualization Resource allocation and management Seamless integration with the Microsoft ecosystem Robust reporting and analysis capabilities Collaboration features in Project Online and Project for the Web Customization options for tailored project management Scalability for small to large projects Cloud-based solutions for remote work Mobile accessibility for on-the-go project management.

Cons:

Steep learning curve, especially for beginners. Costly, especially for the more feature-rich versions. Overwhelming for simple projects. High system requirements. Compatibility issues when sharing files with non-Microsoft users. Limited native Mac support. Less support for Agile methodologies without customization. Some collaboration features are restricted to higher-tier editions. Expensive upgrades to access advanced features. Limited portfolio management capabilities compared to dedicated tools.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Essential software for project planning and management

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: I think Microsoft project is the easiest way to project plan for engineering projects. Primavera is a strong tool, however, for less experienced planners and managers, Microsoft project is the easiest to use and simplest to learn.

Pros:

It is easy to use compared to other project planning softwares. It also integrates easily with teams and other used programs.

Cons:

It is costly, and not everyone can have access to quickly editing or working on a plan. People will default to do work in excel since it is more easily available.

Humberto
Coordinador de Infraestructura TIC in Colombia
Logistics & Supply Chain, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Project visualization and monitoring

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: For me it is the best tool for project management, it allows great visibility of the same and provides the necessary versatility for the different types of projects that can be managed in the professional field, it has allowed me to efficiently manage resources, costs and generate benefits in the projects I have managed.

Pros:

The visibility and detailed monitoring you get from the tool when managing projects, the great resource management and project costs that can be managed.

Cons:

I saw very few disadvantages within the implementation process and use of the tool, so I refrain from indicating any as it is an exceptional product for project management.

Umang
Strategy Lead in US
Packaging & Containers, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Nice tool to learn if you are a project manager

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: - Overall good experience and tool for managing medium to large scale projects

Pros:

- Good features like developing schedules, tracking progress, status updates, budgets, overdue alerts etc.

Cons:

- It is not free as you have to purchase it for monthly fees per user

Joe
Management Consultant in France
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Showing its age

3.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

Fully feautred, if not the most intuitive UI. MS Project is capable of all Project Management needs

Cons:

Does not have good compatability with othr MS software (e.g. requires expensive third party service to integrate into MS SharePoint) Difficult to publicly share/collaborate plans.

Steven
Steven
CEO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Animation, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Microsoft Project A Review in Teamwork

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Microsoft Project is one of several different project management software that can help achieve, plan, track, and manage the projects you may have on your plate. It can be a useful tool that can be used by nonprofit organizations to manage a variety of events and activities.

Pros:

One of the key features of Microsoft Project is its ability to create Gantt charts, which can helped us visualize our project schedule and identify possible issues. You can also use Microsoft Project to create task lists, assign resources, and track progress.

Cons:

It can be a complex tool to learn and use productively. It is a bit costly small teams. There are some compatibility issues that can happen when team members are using outdated versions and plugins. It is not for very small or simple projects. There are other options out there.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Manage your project on cloud

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

this tool has cool features to show the project profitablity

Cons:

This system is not user friendly and it will be not easy to learn

Mohamed Salah
Project Manager in Tunisia
Management Consulting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A Comprehensive Project Management Tool

5.0 last year

Comments: Microsoft Project is an excellent tool for project management. It is feature-rich and highly efficient, allowing users to easily create and monitor projects. The cost can be prohibitive for some businesses, but its comprehensive capabilities are well worth the investment.

Pros:

Microsoft Project is an incredibly comprehensive and user-friendly project management tool. It has a wide range of features and capabilities, making it ideal for businesses of all sizes. It allows users to easily create and monitor projects, track progress, and share resources.

Cons:

Microsoft Project can be quite costly, especially for businesses with limited budgets. Additionally, navigating the menus and settings can be a bit tricky, as there are numerous options and features to choose from.

Cesar
Cesar
Docente asociado in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Manager for the control and development of projects of great impact in the company

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Based on the experience of the use of the tool, the organizational capacity is more efficient and effective in each task, as well as the security and the status of the results offered by each member of the project. Another element to highlight is communications and how this allows improving the flow of information, thus improving the willingness of managers to take corrective action at the best times.

Pros:

Of the positive things that Microsoft Project & Portfolio Management has, is that you can use a driver prioritization module to develop workshops in which executives openly discuss the issue importance of each business controller and thus be able to prioritize the strategies according to the established objectives. that's why it's an advantage to be able to prioritize commercial drivers at any level within the organizational hierarchy Another element to highlight is the tool's management capabilities, which helps to capture the resource requirements at the beginning of the project's life cycle and all the programmed activities, providing visibility, certainty and assertive predictions about the demand future and the best thing is that it can be accessed from any device available to the members of the company.

Cons:

One of the difficulties is the development of the chronogram of the different projects and the information that is offered to the teams involved in the different projects, as well as the possibility of associating one or more plans for the execution of the project and a baseline for the project. supervision, development and management and thus be able to generate changes in the various levels in a corrective manner. In addition, the implementation of the schedule change and operational capacity is difficult and prevents providing the project teams with an updated map for the execution of their tasks and therefore the delivery of a new baseline to verify progress and manage the change programmed by the bosses.

Abraham
Active Directory Administrator in Fiji
Computer & Network Security, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Microsoft PowerPoint - By Abraham Chongkit

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: So far my overall experience with MS Project is a little more unique then expected and I would probably prefer more clarification on its compatibility and uses from Microsoft and their retail agents around the world before purchasing. The installation was pretty straight forward and I have not had any issue in regards to the application functionalities, and features. However, it did take me long to learn how to use MS Project and I would probably suggest that the help and instructional features could be adjusted to accommodate other users similar to my situation.

Pros:

The great thing I like most about MS Project is that it's interface is quiet similar to that of other MS Office products, such as MS Excel. This familiarity gives me the confidence that the product I am about to use, is very similar to other MS Office products that I use on a daily basis. MS Project integrates well with Office 365 which allows me the space that I need to work remotely from anywhere when I'm outside the office, at home or sitting at a cafe having coffee while working on a task. Even when there is no internet connection, MS Project still works perfectly offline because it is a desktop application after all and your files are stored locally which allows ease of access when you need them. In addition to the user friendly interface of MS Project and its well designed features, I also love the built in templates that come with MS Project which is ready for use when I need it. The various templates have different themes and natures which gives you the flexibility to chose from according to the task you are trying to accomplish.

Cons:

The least thing I liked about MS Project is that it took me a while to get used to the menus, and features such as the interface when i first started. It took a lot of practice and further research on how to use the product faster and efficiently because my first impression is that MS Project was not really user-friendly at the beginning. I think MS Project is a bit expensive and you need to plan and make an effective decision before you purchase the full license, and the reason I say this is because if you're a small business with a small budget then you can only afford a handful of user licenses, which means if your business will scale up in the future, then you have to purchase more user licenses to accommodate growth. Another con with MS Project that I found out is that it is only compatible with computers installed with the Windows operating system and you need to install the full licensed version to start using the full features of the application. I normally work remotely and I need an application that is compatible with other mobile devices such as android, apple iOS and Linux. I am unsure if MS Project can accommodate under these circumstances according to the application prerequisites and requirements of use for MS Project.

Gayan
Gayan
Senior Project Manager in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Project and Timeline Management done right

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: MS Project has been an absolute lifesaver when it comes to planning out projects with clear requirements.
The timelines and task tracking features give you a clearer picture of how your project is doing and if the project is going off track, allowing you to assess corrective actions you take according to the timeline changes.
It will take some time to create a perfect project plan through MS Project, but once done it will paint a clearer picture of the timelines/deadlines and what needs to be done to achieve those deadlines to everyone involved.

Pros:

The absolute best way of setting and managing timelines of projects, and defining what resources/personnel will be utilized when so that they are also aware of what needs to be done to achieve a given deadline. The tracking aspect of MS Project also helps in identifying delays and how these delays will impact the overall timelines and in turn the final delivery deadlins.

Cons:

Could be challenging for a first-time user to grasp all the features provided by MS project, so it would be wise for to watch a few crash courses/tutorials before jumping head first into using it. Some elements I feel could be more user-friendly without users having to go through obscure menu structures to find them.

Hessel
PMO in Israel
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Essential for all users of MS Project who have multiple project files that share common resources

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: The benefits to the organization have been phenomenal! Prior to the implementation of PPM it was impossible to see what individual team members were doing. The team leaders were 'king' and could do what they liked and when they liked. Our aim in implementing the product was to preserve existing process but to take the planning and execution of tasks to a new level. We found it easy to use although there was a bit of a learning curve. We had a challenge on implementing as, for some reason, there was a bug in MS Project. It took about six months to stabilize the site but once it was stable, the problem didn't return. For those who are interested, in our case it was due to not having service pack 2 installed. The challenge once we started using it, was to get management to appreciate the fact that accurate, real time reports could be generated and that they would be of immense benefit to them. It took a while until they realized it but once they did, the idea took off and requests flowed in for more views (reports) showing different aspects of the data. We use the product to track tasks of resources located outside the IT division which was also an innovation that needed time to be absorbed. The philosophy had always been that the team leader was assigned the task and that he/she would delegate it to the team members. With the browser version, resources could see their tasks, update % complete and the project manager could instantly see what was happening. This turned team meetings into shorter, more focused events as there was no need to review tasks.

Pros:

I like the way you can use it for managing resources. It is very easy to assign resources to multiple projects and to see resource assignments and resource capacity. I use resource assignments in PPM to report project progress and I find the reports easier to understand and more meaningful that the reports that generated in standalone MS Project. I also use this resource assignment ability to slice and dice data so that I can see slipped tasks, tasks that have not started, tasks with no deadlines, grouped tasks per release etc. The sky is the limit! The web-based facility means that resources can see their tasks without needing to have MS project installed on their computers and they also don't need to have any knowledge of MS Project. This makes it easy to deploy in a big organization where there may be budget constraints.

Cons:

It hasn't kept the pace with competitor projects and the various new releases don't differ substantially with previous ones. Here are a few things I don't like. I know it asks for only one, but I'd like to share some of the challenges. * You can't send messages to resources from within tasks * There is no place for discussion in a task apart from Notes, which are cumbersome and you can't then search for text in the note. * You can't sort the list of files backed up. That makes restoring files a bit of a challenge as you need to be really careful before you restore a file. * After all this time, the product is still not stable and there are still intermittent bugs to which there don't seem to be any solutions. * the filter capability of the views is limited and you can't use brackets.

Ofori
Head of Consulting and fitness in Ghana
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Empowering Project Management with Precision and Efficiency

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Microsoft Project is a project management software developed by Microsoft. It is designed to help project managers and teams plan, track, and control projects effectively. The software provides a range of tools and features to assist in managing tasks, resources, timelines, and budgets.One of the key features of Microsoft Project is its ability to create project schedules and Gantt charts. These visual representations allow project managers to define project tasks, assign resources, and set dependencies between tasks. This helps in understanding the project's overall timeline, critical paths, and resource allocations.Microsoft Project also allows users to track and monitor project progress. It enables project managers to update task statuses, record actual work completed, and compare it with the planned schedule. This helps in identifying any deviations, delays, or bottlenecks, allowing managers to take necessary corrective actions.

Pros:

Transforming possibilities into realities, Microsoft Project empowers teams to conquer complexity and achieve greatness. Seamlessly plan, collaborate, and execute with precision, unlocking the full potential of every project. From inception to completion, let Microsoft Project be your guiding light on the path to success."

Cons:

One aspect that some users may find challenging with Microsoft Project is the complexity in customizing it to meet the specific needs of their project management team. The software may lack flexibility when it comes to tailoring it to unique workflows or innovative approaches.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

User Friendly Project Management Tools

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Since I have been utilizing Microsoft Project, permits me to rapidly adjust recommendations and thoughts into coordinated ventures. This is exceptionally useful when I want to introduce a proposition since I can give a strong outline of the undertaking's thought, gauge, at the beginning phase, and control during the execution, every one of the assets and oversee and anticipate changes. The linkages, not exclusively are not difficult to utilize yet, in addition, help me while managing complex assignments

Pros:

The project incorporates amazingly flawlessly into the general Microsoft environment of work. This empowers the stage to really amplify every one of the efficiencies made by keeping your work inside one stage. The project additionally works effectively in designating and booking assets. Moreover, distinguishing basic ways for an undertaking is somewhat straightforward. Project chiefs can do explicit call-outs for key stages en route too. There is likewise plenty of extra advantages for project that helps the personal satisfaction of anybody in charge of a venture. The help of the support was extremely particular for when we needed to resort sometimes to the execution and employments of the stage. incredible usefulness was to have the option to make project layouts without going through the most common way of making recipes inside each record, something discretionary for each utilization however in our own we had equations applied to have the option to gauge explicit estimations that we really wanted. return on initial capital investment's initial estimations were precise in a high rate which assisted with explaining the scene of the undertaking region.

Cons:

The execution of the timetable change and functional limit is troublesome and forestalls giving the undertaking groups a refreshed guide for the execution of their assignments and consequently the conveyance of another standard to check progress and deal with the change modified by the managers.

Dario
Dario
CTO in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

This is the reference for Project Planning but you might find better options

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: I used this product at a large bank and they used this to keep track of every.single.thing. developers did, so it was really time consuming updating everything on a daily basis. PMs had a nightmare maintaining everybody's schedule and making little changes to the plans so they would adjust to minor variations and unexpected stuff. The bank had build an automation engine for Project so every file was crunched by it and used to calculate everything from bugdet updates to productity bonuses. It was really a grim time when some tool told you the bonus wouldn't be available to you in the current quarter.

Pros:

Microsoft Project is the 200-pound gorilla that most enterprises use, mainly because their companies already have all the Office bundle and this software might come included. Make no mistake, this is a compelling and thorough piece of software, but sometimes it's a little overkill for simple, quick tasks (like sketching a project while it's being pitched) and it really focus on being a good-for-everyone without much emphasis on usability or friendliness. Other newer options have emerged in the last years, so there's a big possibility that you could find exactly the software for your needs on a cheaper, even free option. On the plus side, MS Project supports really giant plans, as well as collaborative efforts and automation. The fact that it can be automated through code written in C# might be its more appealing feature for enterprises and large companies.

Cons:

Like most MS software lately, this can be a memory and CPU hog. It really has tons of features so finding the right tool can be time-consuming. The usability could be much better, especially for my use case which is quick prototyping of projects in order to create budgets and proposals.

Wassim
Associate Professor in Lebanon
Computer Networking, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Microsoft Project: Simple to use Project Management Software for Small Projects

4.0 7 months ago

Comments: I really appreciate the MS Project package as a first step to manage small projects before heading to learn more advanced project management packages such as Oracle Primavera.

Pros:

Microsoft Project is very simple to learn and use in a minimal amount of time. This is why I try to encourage my senior project students in Computer Science to use it in realizing the different scheduling and resource management processes during the various phases of the design and implementation of their project deliverables. Users with basic knowledge of the Microsoft Office suite can easily find their way in using Microsoft Project to manage their project timeline. Simple scheduling mechanisms such as Gantt charts are so simple to implement and track in Microsoft Project. Team collaboration is very elegantly implemented in Microsoft Project which allows team leaders to take informed decisions towards the completion of their tasks. A very nice feature in Microsoft Project is its seamless integration with the different office components such as Excel and Sharepoint. Moreover, it can be easy synched with relational databases via very simple APIs.

Cons:

Although Microsoft Project is supported by Cloud sync features in the 365 Microsoft cloud, still Oracle Primavera is much more capable in terms of cloud integration with better PaaS and SaaS services.

Lilians
Lilians
Especialista en proyectos de inversión in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I think it is a very efficient software, it has been an indispensable tool to plan my projects.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: It has brought me many benefits, among them it has allowed me to plan my projects in a faster way, since with this tool I can take control of the execution time and the budget with a clearer and more global vision, it has been a tool for me great utility and has more functions than those used daily.

Pros:

The software has several advantages, mainly it organizes my projects in a more complete way, because before using it to my Excel plans, with the difference that Project has daily the progress of the project with graphs and diagrams for a faster analysis, Without exceeding the available budget, also plan from small to large projects with the great advantage that I can link them or work them separately. I find it interesting that the project control allows to save the line of the original project to compare it with the modifications that are made in time. On the other hand you can save the file in other formats to facilitate printing.

Cons:

In my personal opinion Project is not easy to use for beginners, initially I found it a bit complicated for the basics of the program, even for other more advanced functions it should be easier, for example at first I did not understand because Project sometimes my activities with a duration in decimals even when I assigned him the full day. I think it could be used by students as a tool to plan their activities so that later in the professional field they are more familiar with the software, but for that it must be more user friendly. On the other hand, I think that its biggest disadvantage is that the activation of the license is a bit expensive.

Lance
Freelancer in Canada
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Microsoft Project is a Manager's Life-support

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I've used Microsoft Project on more than a hundred projects over the years - from 5 to 7 figure budgets. This tool will reward the small time investment you supply with a level of control and tracking that will keep your projects running, accountable and 'on time'. Your customer (internal or external) will be impressed with the time, budget and resource management that you can achieve with this tool. It may take a few videos to bring you up to speed on the features you want, but it is well worth the time!

Pros:

Microsoft Project has basic functionality that is straightforward for setting up projects and managing progress on your project. It has an interface that is a "what you see is what you get" with visual representations of your project timeline, dependencies and progress to-date. It is powerful and can be expanded to handle the biggest and most complex projects, or provide easy over-views for smaller projects.

Cons:

Like any software, it has its eccentricities. One of the challenges is that the functionality is so deep that you can get lost with features that you do not need for the level of project you are undertaking. The software is more expensive, but you get what you pay for and the functionality and level of control you can achieve is worth the investment.

shanti
shanti
Design Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Architecture & Planning, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Ideal solution for medium and large-sized organizations

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I have been working with this app for many years and I must say this in not good for new entry level people. To use this you have to take some training and have to understand its feature first.
Ms Project is very ideal for large and complex project but for small one I will not suggest you to use.

Pros:

Easy to edit and customize report according to your project need. Time allocation and tracking feature is also good and very effecting for large projects. Gratt chat feature provide a overall view to the project and with nice amount of data.

Cons:

Lack of integrations options and in app communication is also very poor.

Amy
Project Manager- Global IT Operations in
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Microsoft Project, Good tool for an average budget

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: For the cost per licence and the ease of use, Microsoft Project is my go to tool for Project Management Software.

Pros:

Most business have some form of Microsoft Suite, Project doesn't come in the standard suite but so adding additional licenses for Project is more cost effective than most Project Management Software. Because it is a Microsoft product, the user interface is like most Microsoft products, so learning how to navigate around Project doesn't take a lot of time. There is so much to this tool. You can do small and/or large project on it. The capabilities that it has are endless, you really can do a lot with this tool.

Cons:

It can be a complex tool, when I first began using Project I had a manager working with me on the Project and helped me get used to Microsoft Project. She had been using it for years, so she had a wealth of knowledge that she shared with me. Without her help, I do think it would have taken me a lot longer to get used to it and be able to use it to its full ability. That being said, the tool can do so much more than I ever thought it could.

Laila
Civil engineer in France
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Microsoft Project Online is a great tool for project planning

5.0 last year

Comments: Microsoft Project is very good for making projects' plans.I enjoy using MS Project in my work and it fulfills your requirements and it is a great tool for organizing the project tasks.
I feel that it's an important tool for every engineer as it saves time and give a clear idea about the project progress.

Pros:

With this great software, you can create milestones, WBS, time schedule and many other project management tools. MS Project can give you a clear view of your tasks and the way you are going to do it right, so that you are properly able to compare planning vs actual performance and make tracking. With MS Project you will feel easy tracking your tasks and take the required corrective action when needed.

Cons:

I have used Microsoft Project for many years and had no problems, but it would be good to watch some tutorials before using it.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Industrial Automation, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Just OK

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It is a great starter program for timelines, it does a good job calculating critical paths, or increasing or decreasing the overall delivery of a milestone as the project ebbs and flows. They also give you many options to build your chart using all of the latest buzzwords executives love to hear.

Pros:

This software was at one time the gold standard for GNATT charts. It was one of the only ones on the market worthwhile.

Cons:

It was hard to use vs. other systems. I am generally tech-savvy, and I attended a two-day training course to learn all the deep in's and out's of the software. That in itself should explain the ease of use to really use all the tools it has to offer. Once I knew them they worked well, but trying to share a sheet with a co-worker and have them adjust using the toolset I used became difficult. It was almost as if the whole staff needed to be trained. Again, that in itself is a dilmea as we all have 10% more on our plates than we generally should.