15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About Jira

With 15+ years in the agile space, Jira offers teams the top tools and best practices to provide the right foundation for growth.

Learn more about Jira

Pros:

It’s ease of use to set up different help desks or ticket requests was fairly easy. Each help desk can be unique to the department it serves.

Cons:

It can be costly and there are nasty sides on the licensing. For example, you can't use plugins for a limited number of users, and only pay for that the number of users.

Jira ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.3/10

Jira has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 14,227 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Jira before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (14,227)

Tej
Tej
DevOps Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Jira the scm management

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: I have used Jira for Project, Task, Integration, CI/CD Management. I connect Jira with Azure DevOps to use azure board, pipelines, repos, test. I found it is full fill all my requirements like restriction on user for some project , only some setting allow to developer and it's Boards which make me happy with all required tag in it.

Pros:

The user interface is the best which I like, we can customize it according to our needs. We can create customer Tasks like Epic, feature, etc. Integrety with another tool which makes Jira more special, we can connect it with like MS Teams, Azure DevOps, Etc... It Provides various extensions and other 3rd party tools that help in migration from other SCM tools like monday.com, azure boards, slack, etc It also provides a Dashboard so we can see all project reports at a single point which makes this fabulous.

Cons:

Cost is a barrier for the startup/ small size company like 10 to 20 members in an organization, it could be free for them. Some Other tools are for the same like the Azure Board which is free for 5 people in the organization. Its migration/sync was not easy and free with other tools like.. migration from Azure board to Jira take time to understand the process. There are lots of extension / 3rd party tools available that are not free and charging costs are high. Sync will automatically affect after 180 seconds of update in Azure board which is not good, or we can refresh manually by refresh button which is inconvenient.

Meelis
IT support in Estonia
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira helpful tool to track and manage your projects.

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

Jira is a great tool that helps you to track and manage different projects within your organization. I am also fond of the time tracking and project management features that offer a wide range of possibilities for the beginners and savvy users.

Cons:

Setting up your first project and workflow may be a little difficult at the beginning, but luckily Atlassian has made it as easy as possible. Also migrating from hosted to cloud instance may be a quite a headache if done incorrectly, so definitely it would be great to understand your company needs for the long run and then decide how you implement your Jira!

Alternatives Considered: Trello

Reasons for Switching to Jira: Because Jira was already understandable and everyone knew how to work with Jira.

Lucien
VP of GTM in France
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira is very hard to use with new age project management tools

3.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Jira is a tool that drastically needs to redesign in order to stay relevant. As a fast growing agile startup, choose ClickUp.

Pros:

Jira provides a unique edge given it also owns and provides confluence which is a fantastic documentation tool. Jira also has a good sprints feature with important and easy to view visualisations like burn down charts.

Cons:

Jira is so unusable and clunky it is a very frustrating platform for people who want to work fast. Once you've used Notion, ClickUp or Asana there is no going back. Previously, technical teams would favour Jira due to it's superior integrations but the other companies have caught up providing a beautifully seamless and powerful UX/UI. Once we consolidate multiple instances after M&A we will be moving away from Jira.

Luis Enrique
Luis Enrique
Project Manager in Panama
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira, a reliable platform for project monitoring !!!

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: Jira is very simple to use so the learning curve is not a problem. It has been used by tens of thousands of users and its maturity makes it very versatile.
Although it seems like a simple solution due to its look and feel, Jira allows you to manage complex workflows in heterogeneous environments and with multiple departments.
The reports are quite complete and its Dashboard presents reliable analytics that offers visibility to members of the organization responsible for decision making.

Pros:

With Jira we do not need to worry about making a personalized configuration, since we have multiple templates and this is vital to start quick and reliable planning. It takes care of the basic configuration and then we can assign resources, customize roles and privileges, and make sure people see what they need. Another incredible advantage is its mobile APP that guarantees monitoring outside the organization and allows us to always stay connected.

Cons:

Jira allows us to start with an unlicensed model to carry out tests and ensure that its use is what we really need, but after that we must consider that the licensed version is necessary for constant growth in our organization, so it is also important to consider the number of users that we are going to have to license for a successful implementation, and if we can afford it, we will have an excellent platform in our organization.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Jira: Efficient tool for Project & Team Management

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: My overall expwriwncw with Jira is excellent and positive. Once I leaened how it worked, I found it the beat tool for project management I was able to create detailed tasks, customize them, visualize them and updated their status as the work progressed.

Pros:

It helps projects and teams stay organized. Teams can easily track the task progress. Tickets can be easily created for tasks and bugs. Also they can be very effectively visualized on boards. You can have cuatomizationa to your tasks adding descriptions, start dates, due dates, priority, labels, comments and many more.

Cons:

As such Jira doesn't have a feature which I didn't liked, but when you start as a beginner it seems a bit complicated to learn but eventually when you know how to use it, it's the best tool for project management.

Alternatives Considered: Zoho Projects

Reasons for Switching to Jira: Jira is better for complex projects and have more customization abilities when compared to Zoho. Also for bigger teams Jira is more efficient.

Abhishek
Software in India
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Jira agile project management tool

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: The platform's complexity and learning curve can be challenging for some users. It's essential to consider specific business needs and team dynamics when evaluating Jira's suitability for a particular use case.

Pros:

Jira for its robust project management capabilities, issue tracking, customizable workflows, and seamless integration with other tools commonly used in software development and project management. Jira's flexibility and ability to adapt to different team structures and project requirements are also commonly cited as positives.

Cons:

Common criticisms include a relatively steep learning curve for new users, complex configuration options that may be overwhelming, and potential performance issues with large-scale implementations.

Alternatives Considered: Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira: Advanced Issue Tracking: Jira is known for its robust issue tracking capabilities, making it suitable for software development teams and complex project structures that require detailed issue management and workflows. Customizability: Jira offers extensive customization options, allowing teams to tailor workflows, fields, and permissions to fit their specific project management requirements, which can be particularly beneficial for larger and more complex projects.

Sarat Chandra
Sarat Chandra
Systems Reliability Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira is a Lifeline to Projects

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

Jira offers the most comprehensive view of Projects and ongoing Tickets. It also emcompasses several collaborative tools which makes Data integrations simpler and intuitive.

Cons:

Filtering and Search system - This could be a lot better when trying to create views for yourself or search for certain keywords together.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good tool for tracking you tasks

5.0 last month New

Pros:

I can create task for myself and for my colleague, assign it to them. Great tool for tracking my work, planning it. You can create subtasks to issue/story for even more detailed tracking.

Cons:

It is a very robust tool. For now I think I use only a small part of it. From the beginning it was a little difficult to learnn how to use, but that is something you can say about any tool.

Danielle
Danielle
Graphic Production Artist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Museums & Institutions, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Helpful for task management and tracking

4.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Working in Jira has been generally a positive experience and there was a fairly shallow learning curve - though we had onsite training, which was helpful. I like the mobile features and being able to see/make updates on the go.

Pros:

Customizable forms improved intake of repeatable requests by making them more easily trackable and identifiable Easy to add media Good at-a-glance interface to see your tasks and assign priority levels to each Able to add "owner-only" notes that aren't customer facing

Cons:

It's a bit clunky interfacing with Outlook and if a team member has not been manually added, even if tagged in the work order, they will not be notified of activity.

Rajesh
VP - Products in India
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good Agile Project Management Software

4.0 last month New

Comments: Its helped our organization to get better visibility on what we do and also helps us to view and get metrics of utilization to plan our resources and tasks better

Pros:

Dashboards, Search, Ability to link with google drive, custom fields

Cons:

Permission management is a big pain. It is very complicated

Vedarth
Tech Lead in India
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

good tool for project management

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Collaboration of our team has improved after we started using Jira, the tools helps in planning and identifying gaps while we develop features. The mobile application is really good and one can get work done from mobile app as well. Overall Jira suites our needs.

Pros:

Jira is very flexible and can be used for different use cases, eg: project management, issue tracker, road maps etc. It is quite easy to configure compared to other generic project management tools.

Cons:

The transition from old user interface to new one, it is very confusing, the UI is not consistent when we visit URLs from email notifications. Compared to other generic tools, Jira is quite easy but still it is not easy to setup, it takes quite a few days to configure the system as per needs. It would be great if there were boilerplate templates.

Alternatives Considered: YouTrack

Reasons for Choosing Jira: Pivotal tracker is very specific for project management, we needed a customisable product which we can use with our existing workflows.

Switched From: Pivotal Tracker

Reasons for Switching to Jira: JIRA was easy to configure and had all the plugins we needed, it was just plug and play.

Ryan
Software Development Manageer in US
Retail, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Extremely capable project management platform, but almost too flexible

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, it's been a great experience - but that was largely because we understood our own limitations, and kept our customization of the platform to a minimum.

Pros:

Jira offers great flexibility: it can be adapted to any custom workflow, and readily supports custom fields/attributes. Also has fantastic API support for external integrations.

Cons:

Jira's flexibility is also its achilles' heal. It's relatively easy to create workflows that aren't intuitive, or worse, leave users in "dead end" states that require admin assistance. Further, their implementation of Agile tools is still a bit awkward (probably because they acquired a 3rd-party set of plugins, and didn't really make the corresponding fields native). Finally, Jira's pricing represents a slippery slope - you can get started relatively inexpensively, but adding on options here and there rapidly adds up, and can make alternatives more price-effective.

Alternatives Considered: Pivotal Tracker, Breeze, Asana and Rally Platform

Reasons for Choosing Jira: High cost, facing even higher costs to make it really usable

Reasons for Switching to Jira: API integrations with other tools in our software development lifecycle

Glenn
Manager, Operations in US
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Collaboration Tool For Teams

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Great way to collaborate with team members and outside vendors on ticketing and projects, with a lot of integration opportunities. Would highly recommend to users not currently using JIRA.

Pros:

It is a feature packed program that helps teams collaborate using a ticketing system. Much easier way to work with team members to fix issues, deploy updates and collaborate. Using this system between employees, departments, consultants and others we have been able to streamline collaboration on projects. It also has a lot of integration, including with Slack, to expedite notifications.

Cons:

There is definitely a learning curve with this project and it can be a little hard to get the hang of, but once you do, the UI of the program will make sense.

Alternatives Considered: Basecamp

Reasons for Choosing Jira: Switched content and development companies who use JIRA instead.

Switched From: Basecamp

Reasons for Switching to Jira: More features and integrations over Basecamp.

Bram
Enterprise Architect in Belgium
Automotive, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Bram's Jira review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, the product is great to use. If your company invests in it then as a user, you should can count yourself lucky.
When you are responsible of running and purchasing the product and are dealing with organizational constraints, Atlassian Jira might not be so user friendly anymore. That's a petty, as it's in contrast with the user friendly image Atlassian Jira has with the many users.

Pros:

The ease of use is such a timesaver. Also the many integrations with other attlassian products is great, it really saves a lot of time and it's a great as documentation. Jira is the reference for software development team, and with good reason1

Cons:

It can be costly and there are nasty sides on the licensing. For example, you can't use plugins for a limited number of users, and only pay for that the number of users. Although in some cases I can understand, in some other cases it makes no sense and it's really a barrier. An other nasty side we experienced is the lost of investment when upgrading during a license term. We bought a license for 2 years, without any discount wrt the 1 year license deal. Within the year, we already needed to extend the number of licensed users so we had to upgrade the license. We then had no way to recover a part of the investment of the remaining time of the initial license ... never buy more than 1 year! One last BIG negative is the recent forced move to cloud. We have always ran Jira and Atlassian products on prem. A recent decision by Atlassian is forcing the user away from the current on prem solution. This is simply not what we want or can. I'm sure this will be an issues with several European organizations where the move to cloud wrt GDRP is not that easy or not a company priority.

Alternatives Considered: ServiceNow

Reasons for Switching to Jira: Jira has better integration with other development tooling and is much more user friendly from UX point of view.

Ogaga
Security Analyst in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

JIRA works pretty great for projects and tasks

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: JIRA has been very beneficial to us across all teams and it's very useful for service and technical management.

Pros:

I like the kanban board, it works very well and looks simple to use (but it's not easy to setup). The task management for business project is very nice and the new feature of being able to look at the overall work like in a spreadsheet, definitely beats Smartsheet for me. I like that you can easily move your work when you're done using the board view, if you like.

Cons:

Scrum/Agile can be difficult to setup because the Kanban board isn't so great when setting it up. I have run into some difficulties with it, their support board was helpful but it did not resolve the issue. Business projects do not have the ability to link to Bitbucket, it would have been nice to include task management with Bitbucket integration, it helps to appropriately follow up on tasks. The board view for tasks and sub-tasks doesn't work for me. I'd like to see that there are major tasks with steps of the child tasks (change the subtask icon too).

Alternatives Considered: Smartsheet

Reasons for Choosing Jira: Atlassian has a wider product range and it helped to keep everything with one organisation. Secondly, at the time, JIRA integrations with other tools we used, worked really great.

Switched From: Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira: There were some drawbacks with Smartsheet when we used it for a short time to try it out. Some liked it but my team and I preferred JIRA and we were the decision makers.

Brandon
Brandon
President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A robust application that can be used for everything from task management to software development

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We started using Jira for simple issue tracking for all issue types, from bugs and ideas to backlogged and in progress tickets. We have since expanded this to track our full development roadmap and to produce documentation within Confluence. We have also taken advantage of the integration with Gitlab and Sentry to help give us a more clear picture of what's going on, even when it isn't happening directly in Jira.

Pros:

Jira has a weekly release schedule which means the product is always being improved or changed. This is usually a good thing, although I will admit that sometimes it isn't. Jira is also incredibly functional for a broad range of use cases, from managing a simple to-do list, team task tracking, process automation, to software development. They do a good job of making it user friendly and easy to onboard, especially since they started making drastic UI improvements a little over a year ago.

Cons:

A consequence of being capable of so much is that it can be hard to configure initially. More specifically, which features you need and which can be disabled. There are a lot of great features but some just complicate the workflow, and it usually takes time to figure this out.

Alternatives Considered: Teamwork.com, Pivotal Tracker, Trello, Basecamp, Wrike and Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira: Jira was either more user-friendly or offered a solution that was geared more towards software development than the other applications. I also like the direct integration with Confluence, even though Confluence itself can be annoying at times.

Ariel
Product Leader in Argentina
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Personal review for Jira Software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I would prompt program item proprietors ought to utilize this extraordinary item for overseeing their ventures which can allow you more understanding into the advance of your venture. No question this stage is secure as well which bolsters different security offices - getting to git information with private get to keys, SSH certificates and username/password. You ought to too see to induce a trial or free account to play around with the apparatus and at that point on full fulfillment as it were it would be ideal if you go for a permit. I wagered once anybody employments this stage venture administration continuously choice will be Jira.

Pros:

I adore the format, checking history. Being able to channel the assignments. And we are ready to see each comment's points of interest just like the correct date. Moreover it is truly simple drag a report Being able to open the task in a modern tab is additionally so precious. Attaching cards to each other moreover makes things simpler.

Cons:

Some of the time due to the stack of errands we are taking care of it may allow us difficult time stacking a entirety page. When you attempt to look something within the look bar, it may evacuate some of the letters you're writing down may cause typo otherwise you have to be compose down the precise thing to find the right issue.

Alternatives Considered: Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira: Jira Software meets the high-end needs of software teams with the power and flexibility an agile team needs to deliver value to customers faster.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Highly flexible Agile project management tool but a little complicated to use.

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I love using Jira as I can configure it as per my project's needs and I highly recommend this tool if your team is following 'Agile Development' process.

Pros:

I have been using Jira from last 5+ years now for Backlog management, Requirements management, Bug tracking and creating Dashboards for project review meetings with leadership. It's extremely flexible tool where you can configure your own workflows and customize it as per your project's needs. It's my go-to Agile project management tool (especially for Scrum). It's so easy to create and manage user stories, bugs, technical tasks etc. You can tag your user stories as per Epics and Features, you can also add labels to each ticket. You can track the status of any ticket and also see the bandwidth allocation of various teams. In JIRA, you can add advanced search filters to view only those user stories that has particular combination of fields (like specific assignee, status, epic name etc.). Moreover, JIRA Dashboard provides a bird's eye view of the overall project status which gives the real time visibility to you and the leadership team. The UI is very clean and simple and it makes Agile Development very productive, once you get the hang of it. Plus, it's very well integrated with many popular apps like Google workplace, workday, slack etc. But there is definitely a steep learning curve with Jira. The success of this product largely depends on how your management/leadership standardize various processes and workflows within Jira.

Cons:

Jira doesn't allow you to add multiple assignee on one user story, and this becomes a concern when multiple developers are working on one story. Also, it's hard to get support from Atlassian when you are facing some technical issues. Additionally, in my experience, I have found that as Jira provides great level of customization, it can become really messy, if multiple management styles are involved during project planning phase. The workflows can get overly complicated and as a Product Owner, you find yourself stuck in updating the ticket statuses all day long.

Benjamin
VP Operations and Technology in Canada
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Advanced Project Management tool

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: As a software solutions company, we have numerous projects on the go and use Jira to track them. We use Scrum, and Jira matches up with the Scrum process well. We do weekly sprints where we review the backlog and add tasks to our sprint, and this process is easy with Jira and allows many options.

Pros:

Jira is a nice and powerful tool to track our projects. This includes all Epics, Stories, Tasks, Sub-tasks and bugs. It allows for many options as well, including labels, easy prioritization (drag and drop). Recently they have added features to help track milestones, so you don't need MS project anymore. There are a lot of different reports (good for clients) and numerous integrations available.

Cons:

After you get to so many users, the costs increase quite a bit. Confluence and some add-ons are also additional costs. We have also found the odd bug. For example, the wrong ticket is updated, or in the backlog view the mouse curser can no longer select rows (fixed by a refresh). Classic Projects vs. New Project is also a bit confusing. It's hard to get new features for some of our old projects, unless we recreate the Project from the start.

Alternatives Considered: Trello, Microsoft Project, Basecamp, Wrike and Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira: We chose Jira as our team has experience using it already.

Brian
Crew Member in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Restaurants, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Collaboration Platform

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: We are able to use JIRA to create, collaborate, test and deploy promos and emails for my company. I am able to see conversations and other notes from people I don't normally interact with, which can be really helpful in understanding issues that arise or other notes that may have been left out of conversation elsewhere. It's a great tool for us.

Pros:

I work for a large clothing retailer that often runs promotional coupons and sends out emails to customers. JIRA houses all of the collaboration for our company in creating and testing these promos and emails. What I like is that everyone, from the communications team to the Quality Assurance Team to the IT troubleshooting team can be in one place to resolve issues quickly. I love that there is the ability to tag other users and quickly get attention to issues that need a fast turnaround (emails and promos are often made within 48 hours from creation to launch). I also really like attaching 'sub-tasks' to a main project; This keeps organization a priority without having to search for every related task associated with a project. Related to this is the ability to attach documents right to any project/task for easy download. You can save searches and filters to your home page. For example, I have a filter for viewing only email projects, and another for promotional information. Once you get results, you can sort by title, date updated and a few other categories.

Cons:

At first glance, the layout is a bit overwhelming. You have a giant list of projects, and the search doesn't always bring up what you are looking for. It takes a bit of time to learn how to navigate. I would probably like to see 'tags,' or additional ways to categorize a project so that you can search for it through a few more parameters. For my needs, this isn't too important because of the short lifespan of emails and promos. But I could see other applications needing something like that.

Julie
CEO in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

JIRA Should Be Called the *Anti* Project Management Solution!

2.0 5 years ago

Comments: Our decision to transition our project management systems fully to JIRA is one of the biggest regrets I have made for our company. In addition to the cons notes above, things that should be core features are missing or available as a 3rd party plugin, for extra $$. What's worse is that Atlassian has a plugin system with half of the plugins only available for the server version and then they don't build features that should exist in the core product because they are available elsewhere... as long as you use the server version. Run AWAY from this JIRA as fast as you can!!

Pros:

If you are willing to do the work, the advanced search is useful and the user experience isn't bad except that to eliminate done tickets you have to deselect all then re-select every option except those of a done type.

Cons:

Advanced search is the only useful way to reliably get information out, making getting even the smallest view of your data onerous. The core advantage of the tool - it's lack of structure - make it difficult to complete even the simplest of tasks without a ridiculous amount of effort. It's biggest failing is that everything is too flat by default. For example, I am working on a project now and the team has made duplicate tickets because the original tickets are too hard to find and are just dumped on the screen... we have sometimes used epics/stories/sub-tasks with sprints but these are truly inadequate... in today's time why should someone have to spend 20-30 hours a week grooming the backlog and writing searches when if the tool was any good it should (!!) be able generate these views automatically. We are now investigating other solutions like Wrike (absolutely no affiliation, not even sure we will switch to it) and in 10 minutes of testing we were getting views that we have been struggling to get out of JIRA for over a year. Also, you can't do something obvious like make a reminder in the future for a ticket, so you either get flooded with reminders for just about everything or you have to go outside the product to remind you to do something in JIRA. Seriously!?!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Printing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Indispensable application...but setup is not for the non-tech savvy

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: When our internal IT Help Desk went down, we were in a bind. We needed something that we could get up and running with very little trouble and start getting help tickets going again. Despite there being a negative view of JIRA due to previous setup by non-technical users (who deemed it too complex); when the Help Desk was designed and implemented by the IT Team, there was very little talk of complication and more talk of how much better things were than the previous Help Desk. We did integrations with third-party collaboration tools and generated workflows and custom forms that made JIRA one of the best additions to our IT toolkit!

Pros:

I love the quick and easy setup of JIRA spaces and it's integration with other Atlassian products. There are also a lot of third-party integrations to help fill-in the gaps.

Cons:

JIRA is a beast. Plain and simple. Actually that's just it...it's not plain and simple. You have to have a good grasp of what you want from it to make sure you get what you really need. It is not friendly for the non-technical user looking to create a workspace.

Alternatives Considered: Trello and Asana

Switched From: Microsoft SharePoint

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

If you are doing Agile/SCRUM software development, JIRA is a must

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: JIRA was a bit tough at first to pick up, but soon you understand how it works and its features, your workflow becomes very smooth. However, I would like if JIRA had fewer technical terminologies or quick help features in case you get lost inside. They gave a tour when they introduced the 'new issue view' and you can still find it useful in the "Actions" tab on the right top of the screen. JIRA is a must if you are in the IT industry.

Pros:

My organisation uses Agile software development to do product development, it would be appropriate for me to say every one of us uses this software right from the developers, to QAs to designers to Product Managers to even the senior management. Everyone has their own work areas inside JIRA. It is difficult to say in few words what JIRA is, it is a complete suite for a software development company and I'd suggest you try out JIRA no matter the size of your team. My main work areas and familiarity are the backlog, story management and issue reporting. JIRA acts as the single source of truth with its easy to use Epic and Story feature which makes the life of a product owner very comfortable. The development teams are then able to do their story estimations and sprint planning all in the same place. I would highly recommend you to try JIRA even if you are a startup or a big software house.

Cons:

JIRA has a learning curve (at least for me, coming from a non-technical or project management background) but with a bit of training (can be done by yourself) it is not that hard to get up and running. Initially, I struggled to find my way around the software and also didn't know how to use some features and tools. But when you get accustomed to the UI, you will realise the power of JIRA.

Setareh
Electrical Engineer in US
Research, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira is an excellent tool for organizing tasks, tracking progress, and collaborating in a team

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, Jira is a powerful yet flexible project management software that has become a go-to tool for me. Its customizable features and ease of use make it a great choice for anyone looking to improve their project management capabilities.

Pros:

I use Jira at work everyday. It helps me organize my tasks, keep track of my progress, and connect with my team more efficiently. Jira allows me to customize my workflow, issues, and fields to fit my unique needs. This flexibility helps me to avoid confusions, and improve my productivity.Furthermore, Jira integrates with more than a thousand third-party tools, such as GitHub and Slack. This integration capability is very important because it facilitates cross-functional communications.Jira's reporting features are very essential. It allows me to monitor my progress, identify bottlenecks, and make data-driven decisions. The reports can be customized and exported in various formats.Jira helps me to prioritize work, and deliver value faster. I totally recommend project managers and company employees to use Jira at work. It helps you be more productive at work.

Cons:

In my opinion, there are no cons for Jira. The only thing I can mention is that the software can be overwhelming for new users due to its rich features and complex interface. It requires some training and patience to fully utilize its capabilities. However, I do not consider this as a dislike. It is a faily user-frienly software. I enjoy using Jira at work!

Josemaria
Josemaria
Vice Director for External Affairs in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

PM. Agile. Cloud. It works for me!

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: A powerful, mature, and highly customizable Project Management software that works in any scenario. Best suited to match the dynamic nature of Agile projects.

Pros:

As a Project Manager, we have a lot of things to do and think about. Good thing I stumbled upon JIRA. It is a very powerful and collaborative PM tool which supported my PM role in an Agile context. (I was on a standard/waterfall project methodology for years... Agile is rather new to me) It is highly configurable, meant to suit any niche, industry, or user scenario by combining the powers of Kanban and Scrum. You can set up just about any of your workflows, project states, fields, action/issue items, etc, via the default settings (that surprisingly some have worked out of the box), or by easy customization on demand. Data analysis is easy as well. JIRA collects from all data points you set up into a single data hub that is extractable, searchable, and comprehensive (with all your historical data). The core program and its APIs are pretty mature and with proper documentation. Our devs didn't really have a hard time since they were provided with a rich toolkit to begin with. JIRA also comes with its mobile app so that you can manage your projects on-the-go. It is cloud-based via subscription which relieves the admins from the difficult part of infra and server setup. I have not experienced any downtime as of my 1 year use of this service.

Cons:

It is cloud-based so you have to make sure you have enough bandwidth provisions to support this (rather challenging for bigger teams working on the same location at the same time). The usual loading times may take longer with poor connectivity. A rather steep price for small businesses to use. Self-hosting JIRA will also make things more expensive (and risky) as the number of users grow.