15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About CosmoLex

CosmoLex is the only cloud-based, total practice management, billing, and accounting system (no QuickBooks® required).

Learn more about CosmoLex

Pros:

We used another system before and Cosmolex is more economical and user friendly.

Cons:

No way to track date of loss and statutes of limitation. Takes a great deal of time to manage task lists.

CosmoLex ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

9.1/10

CosmoLex has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 336 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used CosmoLex before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (336)

Pete
Pete
Attorney in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

I am glad I found CosmoLex, I could not get through a day without it.

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It's easy to use, intuitive, and the customer support is outstanding. I've occasionally contacted them with feature suggestions and they usually end up incorporating those suggestions - or they might show me how I missed something that accomplishes the same thing. The product works as advertised and I have no regrets.

Cons:

It had a little bit of a learning curve but I had nothing to compare it to. I now find it intuitive, so it's hard to say. Customer support is awesome, though, and they also have videos you can watch that explain most of the problems and issues I experienced along the way.

Jennifer
Attorney in US
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Attorney Software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Great program with easy customer support (even a chat feature). The prior legal platform software we used constantly had issues with an expensive yearly update that was required. Cosmolex is cloud-based so no need for updates. there is no need for an additional bookkeeping program for your office expenses as the program will handle that along with your trust accounting.

Pros:

I like that you can handle your everyday office accounting in the same program as your trust accounting. There is no need for a separate program. Our clients love the client portal and they can upload documents directly to the client portal instead of having to bring them into our physical office. Cosmolex keeps each of your client files organized where you can save all of your emails, documents, and share the ones that you need to share with your clients through the client portal.

Cons:

We would like to be able to make one bulk deposit at one time instead of having to go through by individual dates and make individual deposits.

Aaron
Owner/Attorney in US
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Time to Switch to a New Service

2.0 3 years ago

Comments: I regret everyday not simply using Quickbooks and Clio like a lot of other law firms do. We are going to try a demo with a few other products, Abacus and CaseManager, but I really don't think you can go wrong with Quickbooks especially if you want the payroll integrations. We're basically paying twice the price of Clio and other time-management options for accounting software that does not work.

Pros:

We liked that it appeared to have a bunch of services wrapped up into one--time-keeping for billing, accounting software similar to Quickbooks with an automatic feed into our accounts, and email archiving/practice management. The time-keeping component works well although you would think it would be easier to do mixed-fee or alternative fee arrangements given that these are the fastest growing in the legal industry.

Cons:

The accounting system is a joke. The bank-feed regularly just stops syncing with no notification. We have spent so much time reconciling our books this year as a result of issues that Cosmolex refuses to address claiming its the result of their third-party vendor. We recently needed to transfer a file, and in going to export the emails, we learned that we would need to go into each email, print to PDF, and manually save! When I asked why this wasn't explained in the marketing materials as we would never have used Cosmolex for email storage if we knew that it would require this much work to actually use or access the emails, I was given instructions for how to download the emails from my Outlook account directly. Then why am I paying to use Cosmolex? Lastly, the customer service has been consistently terrible. The chat function used to be helpful--but it appears they outsource it now, and it's no longer a benefit as the users can only refer you to articles. Additionally, we are constantly being told that they will make changes in response to our feedback (and presumably the feedback of others) but the only changes that have been made in the past few years have made the program less helpful. Where were the increased integrations we were promised? Why can't they figure out the syncing with their vendor?

Karin
Office Manager/Bookkeeper in Canada
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great All in One Solution

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Both lawyers & support staff are very satisfied with the switch to CosmoLex.

Pros:

Onboarding/migration process was quite smooth; great team to work with.Easy to use all aspects of firm and trust accounting, quarterly reporting, Love the integration with Microsoft 365; getting closer to becoming 'paperless'.Can't wait to get the client portal in full use.The Live Support portal is the best I've ever used. They usually have the answer but if not the matter is immediately escalated and responded to.

Cons:

A bit of a learning curve moving from previous software. Don't switch during a busy period.Would like to see a client ledger which incorporates both trust and general expense entries on single page.

Shawn
Lawyer in Canada
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Legal Management Software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Cosmolex has increased the efficiency of my firm dramatically. From standard client letters to accounting, to tasks, the program has made all aspects of my practice easier. It is easy to learn and efficient.

Pros:

Cosmolex is by far the best Legal Management Software on the market. The accounting is superior and specific to the legal industry and the client management options are unmatched.

Cons:

There are sometimes delays as information is being entered. It is relatively minor but something I expect they will improve on.

Deborah
Attorney in US
Legal Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

DO NOT DO IT

2.0 2 months ago

Comments: The company is basically developing this software and charging you to be their testers. Basic features (like Relationships) have odd limitations rendering the feature useless. Example: you can only have a single opposing party and only a single person as opposing counsel. I have cases with 10 Defendants and we end up with 27 opposing attorneys. There is simply not a way to catalog this in the system. Renders the case management ability almost useless.

Pros:

Loved the sales pitch. Wish it worked as well as salesman sold it. Invoicing and expense tracking does work.

Cons:

Chat for help. Not there most of the time. When it is functioning, Cosmolex can't answer basic questions and requires someone else to get back with you (weeks later!). Most of the things it is supposed to be able to accomplish, do not work at all or require you to know "hidden" steps to complete.

Miranda
Office Manager in Canada
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Program!

5.0 last year

Comments: It's made reconciling accounts much easier and faster for me. I love the layout. It's also been a breeze to create invoices in (minus needing to edit them afterwards because the customization doesn't do what we'd like it to do).

Pros:

It's extremely user friendly! I love that I can print all the cheques I need on a file at the same time, or all the cheques I'm using to pay invoices at the same time.

Cons:

The invoice customization tool is the only non user thing about this program.

Michael
Attorney in US
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Software. Can be a learning curve.

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The built in efficiency. Great accounting system. Easy to generate invoices, apply payments, and print checks.

Cons:

It takes a bit to learn how to do everything and fully utilize the software. That being said, the customer service is excellent. The software is pricey and I wish there was a discounted rate for firm members who only have limited access.

Kristen
Lawyer in Canada
Legal Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best decision I made for my business

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

What I like the most is that virtually everything is in one program and it is super easy to use. It was a smooth transition to migrate files and data over (CosmoLex took this over for me)

Cons:

Used to have a feature where you could sort documents according to tabs (such as date modified, name, etc). This feature was disabled which makes it difficult to find documents within a folder, particularly if there is a high volume of documents. Please bring this feature back!

Cole
Practice Manager and Surrogacy Program Director in US
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Outstanding Practice Management Software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The greatest benefit is the inclusion of accounting functions such that the we can readily prepare the necessary reports for our CPA.

Pros:

The software is intuitive and straightforward. All necessary options are readily accessible from a simple menu structure, and the inclusion of detailed accounting functions is truly unparalleled.

Cons:

The only difficulty our firm has had has been in discerning how to remove or amend charges to clients once they have been billed and once payment has been received. However, via help and reading on the forums, we now understand this process and it is not difficult.

Noah
Legal Assisstant in US
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Noah's Review of Cosmolex

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, Cosmolex is easier to use than TABS. Certain elements are great, but the slowness of the website and lack of features regarding specialized billing can be frustrating. The single best part of Cosmolex is their customer support staff that is always quick to help.

Pros:

The best features of cosmolex are A) The intuitive nature of the platform. The categorization makes sense, and makes searching matters, seeing outstanding balances owed, and viewing trust fund balances easy. B) The accounts payable section is well put together and easy to use. C) Customer service is great.

Cons:

I don't like how slow it runs - seems as if the website could run faster, also there are occasionally glitches and I need to close the browser and restart. Also, there is no feature for running bills for outstanding amounts due for clients without billable time for the month, and there is no feature for running courtesy bills for clients with no active time or amount due, but monies in trust.

Ana
Attorney at Law in US
Legal Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Cosmolex Review

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: I became a Cosmolex customer after being a customer of another practice management system and a customer of a widely known accounting software. My law practice incorporates general practice areas ranging from real estate/title agency, personal injury, litigation, family law, to probate and estate planning. With a variety of practice areas such as my firm, the challenges of practice management are complex because each area of the law has its own set of individual policies and procedures. The program I was using didn't capture my time spent on cases, nor created a detailed bill for my clients' review that completely captured all of the work my staff and I performed on their case. Cosmolex produces an invoice for the client that justifies my legal fee, which is essential to client satisfaction, and critical for ethical compliance purposes for cases that are accepted on a retainer or hourly basis. Not only do I earn more money because I'm able to quickly track time and expenses, but I also deliver a better product. Less time is spent telling my client what I did on their case but instead, allows me to focus on the particular legal matter the client hired me to solve. Further, the biggest hurdle to launching a successful law firm (I've only had my own law firm for seven months), is bookkeeping, and I have an in-house, nearly full-time bookkeeper which is also an accountant and is even qualified as an expert in a common accounting software system. However, with all of that knowledge and expertise, so much of my time was spent on accounting, and now it's spent on practicing law and a deeper concentration on my cases. This was not and could not have been possible with other accounting software systems on the market. Trust me, I tried them, and they only created problems. The other systems in the market (even those that are tailored for law firms) simply make the law firm work for the system, and not the system work for the law firm. Cosmolex is comprehensive. It takes care of the daily task delegation, case progress, and time tracking, accounting, employee performance, and reports. My experience has been an eye-opening one. My experience is mostly a relief because without Cosmolex I would still be living in the dark-ages of unproductivity and frustration.

Pros:

Ease of use, the simplicity of timecards, layout/design, price, functionality across multiple practice areas, ethical compliance considerations, cyber security protection, and mobility.

Cons:

Lack of knowledge by customer support, inability of 24/7 customer support access, inadequate and burdensome contact importing process, access to library of forms and templates with incorporated merge fields, failure of bank integration for purposes of deposits, no app available, not synced with lexicata or another CRM service, doc mgmt could use some navigational ease of use improvement, no place for employees to insert their time for purposes of payroll, no spell checker, inability to make a matter designated as anything other than inactive or active (nice if had more options, such as closed cases, prospective lead, consultation only, referred out), migration of emails into cosmolex, lack of automatic matching of emails to correct corresponding client file (doesn't exist retroactive to joining Cosmolex at all, and once joined, the automatic email matching is rare but is much more usually manual entry, automatic base fee for commonly used tasks and expenses that would automatically be applied to each type of case's invoice for example, fax $2.50, copy cost 30 cents per page, courier fee $5.00, postage cost of $10.00, generate and open file $15, $10 document retention fee, and legal research $20.00, additional permissions for each user based on more than is listed under "role," label generator, sync with efax and adobe sign and google for work, ability to mark certain case documents as confidential and/or only for internal viewing purposes.

ProfitSolv Response

8 years ago

Hi Ana, Thank you for taking the time to detail your thoughts, it is constructive feedback like yours which keeps us grounded. You run a multi-dimensional practice and are a tech enthusiastic, full of ideas. While we currently do not offer 24/7 live customer support as you stated, this is planned for the near future. We also agree that data migration from one system to another can often be very cumbersome. Though we have automated this process quite a bit since you became a customer, we understand that this can be perceived as a major hurdle for some firms, which is why we work hard every day to improve this process. Lastly, we value your comment that "[CosmoLex] is already well beyond its counterparts and is arguably the next big leader in legal tech practice management". We can assure you that we will be relentless in our pursuit of simplifying the practice of law! Erica Birstler, Manager, Client Services Dept.

Morgan
Attorney in US
Legal Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Billing is great! Case management, not so much.

3.0 8 years ago

Comments: We are a two attorney firm with one paralegal. We chose Cosmolex for the trust accounting feature. We were looking for a program that could do it all - keep the books and manage the cases.

Pros:

I love the billing and trust accounting features. Cosmolex really shines with maintaining the operating and trust accounts separately as well as generating invoices for our billable work.

Cons:

The software is cumbersome, taking several clicks to get to information. The features I need most on the case management side are contacts and notes. The contacts drive me nuts! If I'm in Bob Jones' case, I want to see a list of all the other people involved such as other attorneys, witnesses, or other relevant parties. With Cosmolex, one has to go to a separate contacts page and link them rather than entering the information directly into the matter. The note taking feature is improving now that more characters are allowed, but it still leaves much to be desired for those who are answering client calls and wanting to log the information right away. It seems like it would be fine for a transactional practice but it's less than ideal for litigation.

ProfitSolv Response

8 years ago

Hi Morgan, I am sorry to hear that while you love the billing & accounting functions of CosmoLex, you are not as thrilled with our case management functions. Specifically, it seems like a lot of your suggestions have to do with our contact management functions . If possible, we'd love to take few minutes of your time offline to go over your specific observations and improvement ideas. Also, we can update you on many of the new features and improvements which are currently in the works. At CosmoLex, our sole focus is to provide our clients with a better product each month and your assistance would be greatly appreciated. Erica Birstler, Manager, Client Services Dept.

Joshua
Partner in US
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great for Small Firms

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Very satisfied.

Pros:

Comprehensive client management, including accounting.

Cons:

Sometimes a little hard to use some of the features, but they are always listening to feature requests.

Kristal
Partner in US
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

We chose Cosmolex because of the accounting feature

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

We chose Cosmolex because of the accounting feature along with the other case management features as well as its interplay with Lawpay.

Cons:

I would like to be able to search the calendar for a particular name. For example, if I am trying to determine when I met with a potential client, I would like to be able to search their name. To add to this, I would like to be able to add the potential client to the calendar entry when I add a consult so I can search the PC and determine when I met with them. As to the documents, I would like a way to search all the documents in the system. For example, I would like to be able to search for "Motion for Guardian ad Litem" and have all documents with that title, regardless of whose matter it is connected to. I would like to be able to pull matter balances from the app.

ProfitSolv Response

5 years ago

Thanks for your feedback, Kristal! We're thrilled to hear that you're enjoying the advantages of an integrated accounting and practice management system. We're always looking to optimize our solution, so please feel free to make a feature request on our support site. Thank you!

Heather
Managing Attorney in US
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

CosmoLex

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It saves me time each month on billing and invoicing.

Pros:

CosmoLex made going out on my own much easier. I particularly like that I don't need additional software on the accounting side of things.

Cons:

I would like an easier method of doing conflict checks. I wish there was a stand alone tab for adding consultations in for conflict check purposes only.

Rebecca
Office Manager in US
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Love it!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Very well. Customer service is excellent. Very user -friendly.

Pros:

We swapped from Abacus to Cosmolex a few years ago and its a MAJOR improvement. I love how it is continuously updated to better the program. It is very user-friendly and I love how customizable it is. I also LOVE the upgrade with the new spell check!

Cons:

Nothing right now. We are loving the latest updates!

Wendy
Paralegal/Firm Admin in US
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The accounting is very easy to use which saves time.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It helps all of our staff stay on the same page and everyone knows what is happening in each case.

Pros:

I like that the program has both accounting features and has the ability to hold all of our client's information in one. The accounting features are very easy to use. The support videos are very easy to use and if I need to speak to anyone they usually call the very same day.

Cons:

I would like the calendar to be able to send emails to all of the attorney's as right now when I calendar an event in one attorney's calendar it will not let me send him/her a reminder unless you put the event on another person's calendar. The point of putting stuff on the calendar is so they see the event and they have reminders

ProfitSolv Response

5 years ago

Hi Wendy, thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your comments.

Carlo
Owner in US
Law Practice, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Accounting is more precise and up to date.

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I chose CosmoLex primarily because it is both a client management system and accounting system in one solution. Additionally, CosmoLex pays my monthly LawPay access fee. All of this really helped my small, but growing practice save some money, while getting all the tools I need.

Cons:

I had to take down my website credit card payment link, but CosmoLex "prefers," and everything is recorded easier when, you process credit card transactions through their portal. There should be a way for me to accept credit cards on my website, like through native LawPay, or on the app.

ProfitSolv Response

5 years ago

Thank you for your feedback, Carlo! It's great to hear that you're enjoying all of our practice management and accounting features, as well as taking advantage of our LawPay offering. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review; understanding the pros and cons of our solution from a user's perspective is invaluable in our efforts to constantly improve.

Peter
Managing Lawyer in Canada
Law Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

2 year Cosmolex User

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Having a cloud based system during Covid and into the future allows our firm to be flexible and current. Although pricey, the value is still there and we enjoy using this software.

Pros:

Cosmolex integrates the accounting software and features we needed with the management of our law practice. Support takes care of any issues that arise quickly and efficiently.

Cons:

Some parts of customization are not intuitive and assistance from customer support is sometimes required. Luckily, customer support is quick and easy to access.

William
US
Legal Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Law Practice Management App

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: have been using Cosmolex since its introduction and am very happy with the application. I started using the software just for trust accounting, but found its easy-to-navigate interface so easy to use that I started keeping time and expenses and using the billing function as well. Then Cosmolex added full back-end accounting functionality and I ditched my QuickBooks app altogether. Cosmolex continues to add functionality and compatibility. It's a great app for managing your law practice.

Pros:

Easy-to-use interface Accurate trust accounting Broadening functionality Complete integration of functions Growing compatibility with other class-leading applications

Cons:

The only thing I am wishing for is the ability to generate documents from the Cosmolex database, but this is coming I am told!

Olufikemi
Lawyer in Canada
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very great Practice Management software

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: It has been very easy for me to create a matter, do my billing and invoicing, and the client portal is a nice touch that makes my clients believe that our office is sophisticated.

Pros:

I love the instant live support chat function. It helps a lot when i have absolutely no idea how to navigate

Cons:

The pricing is very high compared to the Canadian counterparts

Talon
Lawyer in Canada
Legal Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Switched from PC Law in December of 2019 and never looked back.

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Integration with other software is key to its value.

Cons:

As they roll out new features, I sometimes encounter bugs. They've got a great response time and great customer service though when that happens.

Robert
Principal Owner in US
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The ideal system for my purposes

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Cosmolex is a web based system that gives me full flexibility of where I work and on what device I access my data. Moreover, the fact that Cosmolex is a fully integrated billing, accounting and trust accounting system makes it the ideal system form my purposes

Cons:

I would like to see a more robust program for the migration of all of my prior accounting data - at least for the current C/Y of conversion so that I will have a full. accurate and consistently organized set of reports to submit to may accountant at year end. I would also like the migration to cover all of the detail for all of my Trust Accounts from day one forward to date of conversion to Cosmolex. This will facilitate any and all client or other audits of each Trust Account

ProfitSolv Response

7 years ago

Hi Robert. Thank you for your review and feedback. In regards to your note about migration. Financial Migration is never an 'easy' process. While most firms choose to migrate balances from a particular cut off date (we supply many automated tools to assist with that), you absolutely can migrate all previous transaction history. For your taxes, the current tax year is most relevant, but for your trust account you may wish to import past history. That does require additional time and labor, and cost if outsourced, but it is definitely doable. Any questions, please let me know.

Ed
Lawyer in US
Law Practice, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Essential

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Again, it's essential to my practice, and the built-in accounting is fantastic.

Pros:

I was reluctant to subscribe to a practice management solution, but now can't envision getting along without it. It has everything I need from time tracking to accounting right at my fingertips.

Cons:

I occasionally run into accounting difficulties in terms of writing off charges or editing past transactions, but I'm not sure that's a drawback of CosmoLex as much as it is my ignorance of accounting best practices.