15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About WooCommerce

Web-based open source eCommerce platform that helps in the creation of online store with themes, payment, shipping options & more.

Learn more about WooCommerce

Pros:

I liked that it was an inexpensive, easy to set up options that was fully customizable and interfaced with PayPal.

Cons:

The only thing I dislike about WooCommerce is that it does not seem possible to add multiple images to a product listing. Of, if this option is available, it's not intuitive.

WooCommerce ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

WooCommerce has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 962 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used WooCommerce before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (962)

Greice
Greice
Owner in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Light, stable and affordable

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: My experience with wordpress could not be better, it is light and can be easily run on cheaper hosting.

Pros:

The best quality of wordpress in front of its opponents is really the huge community that makes us find plugins for practically everything we want to do, and even when we don't find it we can find someone who is willing to do it for an affordable price.

Cons:

Plugins are constantly developing and can sometimes create some incompatibilities, which is normal, but the speed with which these problems are corrected is another strength of wordpress since all systems are subject to problems but quick solutions I find with wordpress.

Josephq
CTO in US
Wholesale, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best open source platform with over 60,000 plugins

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: It is far easier to use out of the box while still allowing control and customization than any other platform.

Pros:

Legible code, easy to understand and customize

Cons:

Frequent updates forcing constant development of customized code to ensure compatibility. To be fair, this is largely due to outside influences like hackers and cyber crooks targeting wordpress as a whole.

Bill
Web Developer in US
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Freemium ecommerce that racks up quickly.

3.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: For simple ecommerce setups, WooCommerce is smooth and easy to use. Again, if you have any sort of custom (even conventional) shipping, coupons, or store setups, you're stuck paying for extras that add up pretty quickly.

Pros:

For the most basic of ecommerce setups, you can't beat free for Woocommerce. It's made by the same people that make WordPress, so it integrates very smoothly.

Cons:

If you want to do anything of any complexity at all, you're stuck either writing a bunch of code yourself or paying yearly fees on their plugins.

Neels
Neels
Owner in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

For Ecommerce platforms, WooCommerce offers the best value for money by far.

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: I have been building and running many of my own Woocommerce stores over the past 15 years, personally designing, building and publishing the stores as well as sourcing the products, managing the logistics, order processing and customer care.
Over the past 5 years,, I have been doing the same for clients, including SEO and online marketing of the Woocommerce stores.

Pros:

The basic Woocommerce platform delivers all the features needed to run a successful e-commerce shop for most industries or niche services. The thousands of specialist plugins that expand on this basic platform make it suitable for any specialisation you can think of. On top of it all, the platform is free and most plugins have a free tier that is sufficient for most situations. All you need to add is hosting, a domain, some WordPress knowledge and time and you can build a powerful ecommmerce store withouot the high monthly rates of competing platforms.

Cons:

You need to invest some time in learning the basics of the platform if you want to build you own store. Alternatively, you can engage a WordPress developer at reasonable rates to build your site.

Nedim
Nedim
Digital Marketing Manager in Serbia
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great platform to integrate

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: We ll keep using it on all our WP based shops. Great value and definetely easy setup.

Pros:

We are using WooCommerce for most of our e-comm sites. Easy to integrate with third-party addons. Lot of options for customization of our shop, from shipping to advanced options.

Cons:

No issues with any of the features we are utilizing. It is recommended for beginners too.

Natan
Natan
Ecommerce Designer in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy to start, hard to optimise

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

Is the 2nd fastest tool to create an ecommerce in less than 1 hour. You are in control of your checkout process and your money, and you are not forced to pay fees on every sell

Cons:

You need to pay a lot of plugins or have your coders in order to optimise everything. There is a lot of things you cannot do without coding

Corey
Designer in US
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good place to start

4.0 last month New

Comments: It served it's job well enough but it's not ideal

Pros:

The familiarity of the name makes it easier for clients to understand the function

Cons:

Too many conflicting tips and learning is hard

Marian
IT Tehnician in Germany
Industrial Automation, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

WooCommerce for commerce

5.0 last month New

Comments: Overall WooCommerce is a powerful plugin that you can integrate with WordPress and other plugins to create a powerful and well optimized shop.

Pros:

The most powerful feature of WooCommerce is its integration with WordPress. Creating a theme with a page WordPress builder or just buying one is easy and save you a lot of time. WordPress plugins for SEO, speed optimization and security help creating a powerful website where you can sell products and services.

Cons:

With multiple items you webhosting needs to be powerful.

Liam
CMO in UK
Automotive, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

WooCommerce

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

I cant see a way to sell online without WooCommerce. There are 2 main features that i love, it combines very good with WordPress plugins, this can increase SEO, website speed and many more. Second feature are the themes, there are so many already made themes or builders to choose from.

Cons:

Hosting is important for big shops with many products. A feature to inform that you need more resources to operate will be a nice feature.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

best commerce platform

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

beautiful theme .i would like to use all services

Cons:

easy to operate ,woocommerce recomded for all friends

Emeka
Emeka
Digital Marketing Trainer in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

An Easy to Use Ecommerce website builder

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I used Woocommerce to build my ecommerce website. It was easy to do unlike starting from scratch to build the website. Also I didn't have to pay website developers to build the website for me. It could have costed me a whole lot of money had I outsourced it to website developers.

Pros:

Woocommerce is an ecommerce plugin built for WordPress. To be able to use Woocommerce one must install WordPress first. Just like the parent software (WordPress), Woocommerce is very commendable. The things I like about Woocommerce include the following: 1. Free to use: Just like WordPress, Woocommerce is free to use, though one may need to purchase some premium plugins to add some features that may not be available in free plugins. Cost was a major factor for me when I was making the choice of a platform to use for my ecommerce website, and Woocommerce was the best fit for me. 2. Support network: Woocommerce have a huge user base. There are online and offline communities where one can easily get solution to problems. 3. Ease Of Us: Woocommerce is very easy to use compared to some other ecommerce website builders I've checked out. One only have to install compatible themes and plugins to get started. It is a drag and drop ecommerce website builder, and need no technical skills to get started. 4. Security: Woocommerce websites are secure. The plugin witnesses regular updates to keep it secured. 5. Dedicated Dashboard: Woocommerce have a dedicated dashboard where one can see the performance of the website, like the number of sales, and the amount of sales. This is beautiful as I get to see how my business is going without much ado.

Cons:

One of the issues I had with Woocommerce was the learning curve. Though it's easy to use after one is done learning it, but the learning curve wasn't very easy for me. After the initial stage of learning though, it became very easy to use. Also with Woocommerce, I had to be updating the server myself unlike with Shopify. Shopify maintains the server. Shopify handles the technicalities. Another issue was the need to buy an SSL encryption. With Shopify, this wasn't an issue for me, as Shopify takes care of that.

John
Director in UK
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

WooCommerce - Great system! Not perfect! But is anything really perfect?

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I personally believe the 'pros' outweigh the 'cons' when considering WooCommerce as an E-commerce platform. I've built multiple sites using WooCommerce that would have $cost tens of thousands of dollars had a Developer been required to code all of these functions. My advice would always be - find a high quality / low-cost Developer (using one of the online labour aggregator sites e.g. Upwork) who has a wealth of recent WooCommerce experience (particularly with the functionality you are looking to achieve) and accept that not everything will work perfectly (or even be compatible) straight 'out of the box'. At the end of the day, if you priced all of the code that has been contributed to make WooCommerce what it is today - it would probably cost $billions to rebuild. So the next time you're criticising 'free' - remember that nothing is ever free.

Pros:

There are too many pro's to mention with WooCommerce, but i love the fact that it is Open Source which ensures thousands of plugins are available to extend the functionality of WooCommerce. And this is Woocommerce's biggest strength - It can quite feasibly allow a micro-size company to operate like an Enterprise (e-biz), including building end-to-end workflow automation across an entire business operation. Remarkably, this business panacea (end-2-end) can conceivably be achieved free of charge, or for only a few hundred dollars (plus A LOT of Developer and Administrator time).

Cons:

WooCommerce doesn't come without Con's, and it's vitally important to recognise them. The main 'con' for me is the fact that because you have an 'infrastructure' that allows you to 'act' like an Enterprise - the temptation is to do so. This is where cost, resources, licences, etc can start to rack up. WooCommerce DOES NOT provide everything out of the box, but rather through a series of Modules (1st & 3rd party) that come at a cost. If you purchase from WooCommerce (Automattic) you pay a premium for each module (but you get support). If you purchase from 3rd party devs you typically pay a lower cost for the module (but the support is often questionable, as are the 'upgrades', 'compatibility roadmap', etc). So, although WooCommerce is an incredible toolset for building an Enterprise-style e-commerce platform, it is not always plain sailing.

Steph
Online Marketing Manager in US
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Decent Depending on What You Need it For

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: It's great for small shops. It works best for simple things, especially affiliate products. Can be cumbersome for growing shops. You need at least some Wordpress experience. Requires a decent amount of maintenance. Overall, I'd give it a 3 out 5 stars.

Pros:

Woocommerce is a really inexpensive way to get started with ecommerce. It's great if you're just starting out and on a tight budget since it is a free plugin. It also depends what you're using Woocommerce for. It works the best for affiliate products.

Cons:

Although Woocommerce is free, it does help to have some knowledge of Wordpress and basic development skills to effectively use it. Otherwise, using a paid ecommerce software is much easier. I've used Woocommerce for years and it can become very heavy and cumbersome with the more products you add. It's gotten a lot better over the years, but the functionality can still be tricky and you need to install a lot of plugins to customize it to your various needs. Code, plugins, Wordpress, etc., can also easily break your site from updates and conflicts. There's a lot of maintenance that goes into a Wordpress site and that's maximized with Woocommerce. I find other ecommerce software to be much easier to use and be less of a headache, especially for a beginner.

Daniel
owner in US
Apparel & Fashion, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

C&U review of Woocommerce

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Positive. Would recommend to anyone.

Pros:

Easy integration with plugins and other platforms. Inventory tracking. Order management. Refunds. Shipment tracking numbers.

Cons:

Shipping profiles and actual cost of shipping rates. I find that the actual shipping rates will differ from what the customer pays to what we end up paying for a label. And in particular, international shipping costs are only available as a flat rate, and do not calculate an accurate cost. Making the difference between shipping from US to Canada the same as shipping from US to Europe.

Tolu
Tolu
Digital Marketing Consultant in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Woocommerce - Perhaps the best way to create an online store

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, Woocommerce is one of the best ecommerce platforms available today. There are endless possibilities as to how you can customize and design your ecommerce store with Woocommerce. Though some addon might be pricey, you can get a store running smoothly without paying for extra addons. You have total control over your store, it is great for SEO and offers excellent functionality.

Pros:

Woocommerce is open source and accessible to as many people that can install Wordpress on their hosting account. When compared to other ecom platforms there are no monthly fees associated with Woocommerce and it is suitable for use whether you are creating a simple store or a large store. You can also edit and customize it to your taste or branding with the help of many readily built templates. You can create a store with different product variants, easily manage your inventory, add your own SKU (Stock Keeping Unit) number to each product, and include several payment options. Woocommerce is also suitable whether you are selling physical or digital products.

Cons:

Requires some extra plugins to optimally maximize its features some of which are not be free. Requires some level of technicality to setup.

Jay
Owner/Operator in Canada
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

WooCommerce is my first choice for ecommerce.

5.0 last year

Comments: I use WooCommerce on all my person ecommerce site and my first choice for my clients sites. It is generally easy to setup and use and you can't beat the price.

Pros:

You can't beat the price. The amount of features and functionality you get for a free plugin in amazing.

Cons:

There is not anything I really like least because of the cost but certain custom functions would be great if it was included in the software by default.

Srikanth
Digital Marketer in India
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Very Old school: Platform needs lots of improvements

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I'd suggest Woo-commerce only for e-commerce merchants who are just starting out and have limited budget. It's too buggy.

Pros:

Easy to set up an e-commerce store with plugins and themes. It had bulk import option to add SKUs, so saved a lot of time.

Cons:

The website was too slow, aesthetically not good as Shopify, we couldn't optimize the website speed, and still runs on PHP

Fahadh
Fahadh
Managing Director in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Expand your eCommerce horizons

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, I would rate 8/10 for a smooth e-commerce experience WooCommerce offers.

Pros:

Whenever you hear the word e-Commerce, it brings to your mind about buying and selling items from a web platform. But, WooCommerce has easily expanded the definition by providing flexibility to expand the eCommerce usage towards more industries. Other than tangible goods, services also can utilize WooCommerce conveniently with a few customizations or with a few side-kick plugins (Plugins that help extend WooCommerce functionality). For instance, if you run a delivery service, you can let your customers can place their delivery through the WooCommerce-based website, calculate the payment based on the distance and then pay for it online. Likewise, many other industries that provide services can utilize WooCommerce as their virtual store. Especially at a pandemic time, people rely on online platforms to fulfill their needs. They use online platforms not only to order tangible products, but also to pay for services. WooCommerce has a very easy to use user interface that is self-explanatory even for a non-technical person. WooCommerce support multiple languages, so you can set it up according to the language you utilize. If you can read and understand the language, it's just matter of time to set up your own eCommerce system.

Cons:

Out of the box, WooCommerce supports sale of products and services. But to expand it to a more powerful and customized one, you need to rely on 3rd party plugins that help you expand the requirement. Some 3rd party plugins go abandoned / outdated - which might cause the functionality of the customization you've done.

Priyansh
Priyansh
Owner in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Animation, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Backbone of our whole online E-commerce Enterprise

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: 6 year after we set up our business on Woocommerce, we still haven't found any other platform that would help run our shop. Highly recommended!

Pros:

We have been using WooCommerce since 6 years now. We had considered a lot of other software but none of them fulfilled our needs like WooCommerce did. - Extremely versatile with a whole lot of customization options. - Plenty plugins, themes and modifications available for free online. - Proven and tested on millions of websites. - Can hold considerable order load without clutter. - Creates all the necessary pages and email templates on a one button click during installation. - Tax options work without additional plugins, haven't seen that in a lot of other big name systems. - The payment options don't take any cut for Woocommerce except the Woocommerce payment plugin. - Has native support for digital products which is what we actually solely sell.

Cons:

- The initial database set up is complicated. If the initial database is misconfigured, the whole installation will fall apart. - Some stuff it generates is too bare, has to be extensively edited to make it look appealing. - We used Elementor for smooth editing and creating our own pages as Woocommerce doesn't really have a good editor. - Need maintenance continuously, or an update will break the whole website. - Some plugins break native functionality as there are simply no "off" buttons for some functions provided by Woocommerce that you wish to replace.

Adam
Branding and Technology Developer in US
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

WooCommerce: Not the easiest to setup, but by far the most customizable

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Before implementing WooCommerce, we were always "making do" with the solutions that other platforms would offer. A lot of times this felt that we were not only rationalizing/making excuses for those platforms' limitations, but we were overall just settling for a less than ideal fix. WooCommerce has allowed us to offer the complete online shopping experience that we've been striving to deliver to our clients.

Pros:

After having used many other eCommerce platforms in the past (Square, Shopify, Wix etc...), I am left blown away by how completely customizable WooCommerce is. There is literally nothing that can not be done with this software - it's just a matter of figuring out how to get there. You want different shipping tables based on user IP location? No problem. Looking to have suggested items displayed depending on the purchase order? You got it! The one downside to WooCommerce is figuring out how to correctly dial in the settings to achieve the desired result. This can take a bit of time, but luckily WooCommerce's documentation and online tutorials are extremely helpful and plentiful. After having experienced the limitations of many other eCom "solutions" it truly is refreshing to have an option as robust as WooCommerce.

Cons:

As I mentioned above, dialing in the correct settings can be a bit laborious, but if you are patient and willing to do a little bit of research, there really is no limitation to what you can build.

Melle
Melle
Creative Manager in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

WooCommerce is Our Go-To For Clients....

5.0 last year

Comments: I've been working with eCommerce systems for nearly 20 years, and WooCommerce is still my go-to choice. It's the finite control over the user experience that makes it my preference, but then again, it's certainly not for everyone. If you're considering WooCommerce and you have no experience with it, my advice would be to hire a developer who does. They can help you install it, configure it, and show you how to maintain it.

Pros:

Firstly, it's free. It's completely free and open-source, so it's a great option for anyone who is starting out. Secondly, you can extend WooCommerce to do literally ANYTHING that you can imagine. Developers around the world have built extensions that you can buy or download to completely control and customize the way it works so if you need a pretty custom shopping experience, there's likely a way to put it together using WooCommerce. Lastly, the design can be very "out of the box" so you don't need an awful lot of design chops to make it look pretty amazing. It's also the standard ecommerce system for WordPress, so if you're buying a high-end theme, chances of it supporting WooCommerce are pretty great.

Cons:

The interface is WordPress, since WooCommerce is an add-on. For some people, they find the backend of WordPress a bit off-putting, but once you get going, it's a pretty easy to use piece of software (albeit not very pretty). It would be nice if the order, products and reviews could be easily popped on the dashboard to make them feel more front and center for clients with less experience. The other huge con with WooCommerce is it's hosted with YOUR hosting company, which means that you're responsible for the security of the customer's information. That's not a big deal if you work with a developer, but as a solopreneur, it means making sure you have good site security from the get-go and staying on top of that security upkeep.

Sajad
Sajad
UI/UX designer in Iraq
Verified LinkedIn User
Graphic Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The best E-Commerce Platform with Some Drawbacks

5.0 last year

Comments: WooCommerce is an excellent e-commerce platform that allows you to easily set up an online store and start selling your products. With a wide range of features, integrations, and customization options, it's no wonder that WooCommerce is one of the most popular e-commerce solutions available.

Pros:

WooCommerce is a powerful e-commerce plugin that seamlessly integrates with WordPress to help users set up and manage online stores quickly and easily. It's an excellent option for small businesses that can't afford a complex e-commerce platform and want to create a custom web store. With WooCommerce, you can build a free WordPress website and have full ownership of your entire site. The plugin also provides a user-friendly interface and a wide range of add-ons to improve your store's functionality and features, such as payment systems integration, filtering options, and cryptocurrency payment plugins. In addition, the WooCommerce community is active and supportive, providing valuable resources to help users complete tasks with ease.

Cons:

Despite its many advantages, WooCommerce is not without its flaws. The most cons that I have noticed with my +2 years of using Woocommerce, One common issue is that the platform has many external extensions that are poorly coded and can cause bloat, which may result in website crashes. Another problem is that WooCommerce is a heavy plugin that can significantly increase the load time of your website. This means that updates must be vetted in a test environment before going live, which can be time-consuming and disruptive for store owners. Additionally, some essential functionalities like one-page checkouts and quantity discounts require purchasing additional plugins, which can add to the overall cost and slow down your website. Finally, some third-party functionalities can be expensive, and the pricing model is the same for small and large businesses, which may not be the most cost-effective option for all users.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

WooCommerce: A customizable e-commerce solution with some limitations

4.0 last year

Comments: Overall, WooCommerce is a highly customizable and versatile e-commerce solution that is ideal for small to medium-sized businesses. However, it may not be suitable for larger enterprises due to its limitations and potential performance issues.

Pros:

Integration with WordPress: As WooCommerce is a plugin for WordPress, it seamlessly integrates with the CMS, making it easy for users to manage both their website and e-commerce store in one place.Wide range of extensions: WooCommerce offers a large number of extensions, including payment gateways, shipping options, and marketing tools, allowing users to add advanced functionality to their online store.Active community: The WooCommerce community is active and helpful, with many resources and forums available for users to find solutions to their problems.Cons:Can be slow: As WooCommerce is a plugin for WordPress, it can be resource-intensive, which can slow down the website's loading speed, affecting the user experience.Steep learning curve: While WooCommerce is user-friendly, it can take some time for users to learn all the features and how to use them effectively.Limited customer support: Although there are many resources available, the customer support provided by WooCommerce is limited, with no phone support available.Additional costs: While the plugin itself is free, many of the extensions needed to add advanced functionality to the online store come at an additional cost.Overall, WooCommerce is a highly customizable and versatile e-commerce solution that is ideal for small to medium-sized businesses. However, it may not be suitable for larger enterprises due to its limitations and potential performance issues.

Cons:

Can be slow: As WooCommerce is a plugin for WordPress, it can be resource-intensive, which can slow down the website's loading speed, affecting the user experience.Steep learning curve: While WooCommerce is user-friendly, it can take some time for users to learn all the features and how to use them effectively.Limited customer support: Although there are many resources available, the customer support provided by WooCommerce is limited, with no phone support available.Additional costs: While the plugin itself is free, many of the extensions needed to add advanced functionality to the online store come at an additional cost.

Gilmer
Gilmer
Marketing Manager in Argentina
Verified LinkedIn User
Food & Beverages, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Satisfied from start to finish

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Although like any plugin it can improve some aspects, I highly value its easy integration with WordPress, which is the CMS I use for my website, the great community and support available, and its basic but complete functionality to manage an online business in a simple way. It has exceeded my initial expectations to get me started in e-commerce and grow my reach to new customers. I will continue to learn tricks and customize my store to get better results month after month

Pros:

I mainly liked the ease of use and integration of WooCommerce. Being able to create my products quickly and easily, adding images and details such as colors, sizes, etc. was an important advantage when managing my online store. The customization it allows on the front-end also allowed me to adapt it to the design and style I wanted for my brand. Another functionality that I valued was natively secure payments through gateways such as PayPal, which streamlined the purchasing process for my clients

Cons:

What I liked least was the limited customization in the back-end and administration panels. Although you can modify the fields of the order forms, it is not easy to customize the structure and design of the administration area much further. This could be improved to give more advanced configuration options to those who require it. Another point to improve are some processes that are not very intuitive, such as inventory management requiring more steps than necessary

Mike
HR Manager in US
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Powerful E-commerce Interface

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: We've enjoyed WooCommerce during the last few years and have found it to be a solid e-commerce solution for our business. The system continues to improve and grow and we would recommend it to any companies looking for a powerful, customizable platform from which to launch their online sales and manage their customer base.

Pros:

WooCommerce forms the backbone of our e-commerce website and we've been using it for around five years at this point. It handles a high quantity of orders with ease and its customization options are so far-reaching that if you can dream of a plugin for the system, it probably already exists or is under development somewhere (this may have something to do with its integration into Wordpress). Recently, we've been utilizing the Subscriptions feature to more accurately manage our customers' accounts, and this feature is particularly useful for recurring transactions. Coupons are easy to create and keep track of and WooCommerce can also be linked to external systems for more accurate monetary calculations and other relevant business features.

Cons:

Reporting within the system does leave something to be desired. We've found that the reporting dashboard is fairly limited, particularly for more advanced metrics that can be found in systems like Quickbooks. However, as noted above, the system can be linked to other systems using plugins and various connectors, so it's possible to extract that detailed sales data if need be. On occasion the sheer amount of customization options can be overwhelming, as well, though this is a better problem to have than a system with too few options. The various plugins just need to be managed in a coherent fashion to ensure site stability.