Proliant Reviews

4.5 (301) Write a Review!

About Proliant

Discover the perfect balance of technology and service.

Learn more about Proliant

Pros:

Proliant software is easy to use and navigate. Any time I have questions or need assistance, the Proliant team is very responsive.

Cons:

There was quite a few 'back of the house' errors that happened as our program was set up that we encountered as I was trying to process payroll.

Proliant ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.3/10

Proliant has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 301 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Proliant before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (301)

Dorise
Dorise
CFO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Inexpensive Payroll Software

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Our previous software provider had become cost-prohibitive.

Pros:

Ease of use, PTO tracking, low cost, great customer service

Cons:

Nothing. It's a great, low-cost software.

Karen
Human Resources / Payroll in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Proliant offers a complete package

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: We are starting our 7th year with Proliant and have been very happy with the services provided. Our previous payroll company presented a few challenges which Proliant has been able to assist with solving those challenges. No real complaints about the product.

Pros:

Proliant's features help with payroll, related taxes and filings, 401k transmission, onboarding new employees, job costing. They system offers general reporting as well as the capability of creating your own customized report for whatever information you are looking for.

Cons:

there is an auto generated end date for Branch, Department and Jobs. sometimes these drop off without some sort of warning that it is going to end and then employees code their time to something else since they can not locate the correct code. It would be nice if there was a notice that something was going to end date so it could be checked to see if the end date needs to be extended.

Olivia
HR Manager in US
Food Production, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Prolinat

2.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Honestly pretty shitt. I have had to go to my account managers boss multiple times and she has helped me but I feel like if we have an account manager who does not help what is the point of one.

Pros:

Applicant tracking. This is the easiest thing in the whole program

Cons:

Nothing crosses over correctly. I am constantly auditing the system and fixing things. Also our account manager has switched 5 times.

Hayley
Human Resource Manager in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Inexpensive Service

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: My experience with Proliant is that the service offered are fairly easy to use. What I have a problem with is the Payroll Manager's you get assigned to you could improve. I currently sent two emails to my new Payroll Manager that got assigned to our account that were completely ignored. This is making me seriously consider switching to a different company that offers better customer service for issues and problems. I have had other Account Managers help out tremendously, but our current Manager could use some improving. She is a bit incompetent. Told me I needed to add dependents in our benefit section and then when the 1095C's were printed, the dependents aren't even listed. Why did I spend 3 hours doing this task at her request and they weren't even on the forms. Makes no sense.

Pros:

I like that this software is fairly easy to use and very affordable compared to other programs we have used.

Cons:

The reporting process is a bit more complex than I would like it to be.

Sarah
A/P, Payroll & HR Asst in US
Medical Practice, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great customer service

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

Any time we have had an issue, you have responded immediately and either resolved it or found someone to help resolve the issue.

Cons:

We asked that the mobile punch in and out was not available, but in order for someone to work from home we have no choice but to enable it.Ben Admin was a very rocky start with our implementation lead leaving with no notice. The new implementation lead and our ongoing Ben Admin lead have been great, but the delay in getting up and running caused us a lot of issues.

Chris
Director of Human Resources in US
Civil Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Payroll

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Very good

Pros:

Easy for payroll processing. Easier report writer function.

Cons:

Tracking employee comp time. We have to make the PTO tracking work for this.

John
HR Consultant in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Proliant is a Plus

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Proliant's service team is fantastic. Other systems I have used do not respond promptly and are much less helpful when they do respond.

Pros:

The best part of using Proliant is the dedicated service team. They respond promptly and are extremely helpful.

Cons:

We recently implemented the Benefits Advisor tool and the implementation was difficult. Now that it is implemented, it is great.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Nonprofit review of Proliant

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Cutting labor costs

Pros:

We most like the efficiencies Proliant provies for Payroll Processing, PTO tracking and W-2 processing

Cons:

Logging in can be difficult and changing passwords can be tedious.

Parker
Parker
Office Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Product to Streamline Payroll

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: No matter what size of the company, with tools such as Proliant, any company can offer benefits to employees that compare to the larger companies.

Pros:

This product gives small companies like ourselves the capability to offer benefits to our employees that compare to the larger companies.

Cons:

There is no integration with our timeclock

Ayush
Ayush
Talent Acquisition Specialist in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Staffing & Recruiting, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very user-friendly and effective HR solution

4.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

It is extremely user-friendly and precise. The application tracking and benefits management programmes are very appealing to me. Continuous updates and maintenance are performed on the software on a bi-weekly basis. The support staff is always prepared to assist you with any questions you may have or to create any reports you may want that are not readily available. The system is simple to operate, efficient, and cost-effective. We have never missed a paycheck and have always paid everyone on schedule.

Cons:

The reporting programme is my least favourite programme. It is not always easy to find the information you seek. GL integration and the ability to estimate building costs are not yet completely developed. I'd like to be able to integrate Proliant with our time clock system directly.

Sandy
Director of Human Resources in US
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Summary

5.0 last year

Pros:

The Proliant product is easy to use and features are very applicable. There are many features to create reports and follow up. Always updating their site to stay ahead of the curve.

Cons:

Sometimes their updates move icons around and you have to locate them or call Proliant. Such as adding an employee is found under employee events, but to terminate an employee you have to go the actual employee. These changes on a regular basis can be a little frustrating.

Austin
Dir. of H.R. & Admin. in US
Facilities Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Need more support

3.0 last year

Comments: I like Proliant and I appreciate all of Daron's efforts to help us. We are a needy customer, and I acknowledge that.

Pros:

The reporting tools in RPO are very powerful and work pretty well.

Cons:

Attendance on Demand is completely over engineered for our needs. It's very frustrating trying to learn the system, is not intuitive, and is inflexible for what I want it to do. I really like having a dedicated account manager, but I often feel they are stretched too thin. Training on the system has been difficult. The training documents are not helpful at all because these are not configured for our particular setup, especially as it relates to Attendance on Demand. In the reporting tool, I've asked about a DOZEN different people in different departments to help me configure one specific report: A snapshot of the active employees on a given day in history; I want to be able to pull a simple report saying who was actively employed on October 22, 2019, for example... NOT who are the active employees TODAY with data from that time period. I've requested this from my account managers (4 different people), client relationships managers (2 different people), and trainers (3 different people). No one has been able to support me on this simple request.

Elizabeth
Fiscal Officer in US
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Awesome software and customer service!

5.0 last year

Comments: Proliant has made the hiring process so much smoother and efficient. Once the kinks were worked out with the insurance integration, it has cut our time down tremendously. We are able to see issues in real time rather than them accumulating and costing us more money. Reports are available for management staff to use to make important business decisions in a timely manner.

Pros:

The software is very easy to use. The entire integration process was not without its kinks, but the entire time worked tirelessly to make sure we were ready to go on day 1. Anytime that we have a question or issue we know we can count on our customer service team to get us a response and/or fix quickly.

Cons:

We had some trouble with some items that were setup incorrectly on the time and attendance side from the get go, but those were quickly identified and fixed. We had a change in our time and attendance rep a few months ago and had some issues with him responding. The supervisor stepped in, took care of the situation, and we haven't had any issues since.

Cathie
Administrative Coordinator in US
Restaurants, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Proliant are Industry Leaders

5.0 last year

Comments: I would highly recommend Proliant for all Payroll & HR services. They have proven to us to be the industry leader!

Pros:

Proliant was the best decision for our organization in 2014 because they were by far the industry leader in understanding the Affordable Care Act. As a multi-company with mostly hourly employees we needed professionals that could guide us through the law and help us be and stay compliant. We were able to continue to be an E-verify employer with the Talent Acquisition & Hiring feature. Proliant's commitment to providing employers with tools to navigate the ever changing laws brought them to the top again during the Covid-19 Crisis and reporting for the PPP loans and tax credits. They provided weekly webinars to their clients and offered great customer support.

Cons:

Although the software is user-friendly, I would like to have available training sessions with professionals.

Donna
Accounting Manager in US
Building Materials, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Could be better

4.0 last year

Comments: It's OK but could be a lot better. A lot of work is needed with the timekeeping interface and reports.

Pros:

Most of the payroll features work well when an update doesn't break something

Cons:

The timekeeping interface is a nightmare. It works well enough on it's own but the interface is not good. The customer support for the timekeeping feature is mostly non-existent. The reports and report writer are not that great. The reports consistently leave employees out and you can't rely on the answers 100%. The report writer doesn't have cumulative total fields to create concise reports. Much of the maintenance is not available to the administrator and you have to rely of support to update your tables for payroll and timekeeping; especially timekeeping. Updates to software aren't adequately tested before turnover

Veronica
Accountant in US
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best Decision we made to Switch

5.0 last year

Comments: My overall experience has been positive and I am able to quickly help my teammates navigate the software. Being able to access resources and training links along with the support team Proliant has in place to assist with additional training or questions you may have, has made my learning of the software very easy.

Pros:

Seems very easy to learn and when you have questions, there is a section you can review how to use certain features. There are resources and training links to help you navigate the software and the support team is amazing in helping you understand how to use the software properly.

Cons:

The only con I can see is occasionally the time and labor feature times out while you are working. It's quick to get back in to the feature, just haven't asked the team about how to keep it from logging out.

Phil
COO in US
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Proliant for rapidly-growing firm, great access to data

5.0 last year

Pros:

Implementation was very easy Payroll tool is straightforward Report Writer is fantastic

Cons:

PTO management - no forecasting, review of time tracked versus requested Variable payees on payroll can be tough to manage occasionally (we have a 1099 payroll that runs once monthly, and the payees vary - often they won't show on the payroll and we have to add them every time)

Jann
Director of Operations in US
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great beginning into HRIS software for a small nonprofit.

4.0 last year

Comments: Implementation was well-guided and training was helpful. It's not the most intuitive software I have ever used, but it's not difficult

Pros:

Excel time sheets are a thing of the past, and we enjoy a timekeeping system that integrates with payroll. The Proliant set up team worked with us to track both grants and activities, which makes payroll accounting much easier. W2s and pay stubs are available for employees to access in the same system where they enter time, and they are able to make changes to their benefits allocations in the system.

Cons:

The help features are not that helpful. There is a library of topics, but it is nearly impossible to navigate. The multi-factor authentication also makes me a little nuts. Because my browser is set to limit cookies, I have to log in, get a code from my email, then answer three questions every time I log in. No other site I visit is as rigorous. I understand that there is a lot of sensitive data, but might appreciate an MFA app like Salesforce uses.

Lori
Payroll Manager in US
Individual & Family Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Senior Solutions Mgmt.

5.0 last year

Comments: I am thrilled with Proliant! I would tell anyone and everyone to switch to them. Their customer service is top notch. The easy of use of the product is above all else.

Pros:

The report writer feature. I can create my own reports and pull from any and all information in the system.

Cons:

I wish that we could receive an email when an employee is terminated. We miss sending information on garnishments, PTO payout, etc. in a timely fashion.

Lacie
Payroll Supervisor in US
Environmental Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Growing Company Looking to Reduce Emails and Automate Approvals

5.0 last year

Pros:

Flexibility and price point were exactly what we were looking for in a payroll provider.

Cons:

Integration with Intacct has been an issue when pushing and updating our employees data.

Michael
General Manager in US
Medical Devices, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Proliant

3.0 last year

Comments: Overall experience is good, but reporting and built in accountability in the system is lacking.

Pros:

Easy to search employee information. Nice features like "adjusted seniority date"

Cons:

Natural check functions are missing. For example, being able to easily see how much PTO was approved for a person vs how much was actually paid out.

Ashley
Human Resources in US
Wholesale, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent payroll software

5.0 last year

Comments: Excellent payroll solution, great for tracking benefits, scheduling and labor metrics.

Pros:

Product is easy to use and integrates well with out existing platform.

Cons:

Attendance On Demand is the time clock portion of the software and is a separate system. Occasionally run into issues between the two and need assistance to resolve.

Patti
Business Administrator in US
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Fantastic service and implementation support

5.0 last year

Comments: Fantastic. Everyone who has worked with our staff was hospitable, welcoming, and professional. Response to the very few issues we encountered was swift and accurate.

Pros:

Proliant is intuitive to use and training is included to get started. Onboarding team was fantastic to switch our payroll from another vendor's two products in a very short window. Reporting is very flexible in filtering and output options.

Cons:

I've been completely satisfied with Proliant software.

Kristin
VP Human Resources in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Not delivering what was expected

3.0 last year

Comments: If we were using Proliant to simply run payroll, I think we would be fully satisfied. It's the other areas that we constantly experience problems, and thought that by switching to a smaller company, we would have more dedicated service. It often seems our dedicated account representatives are overwhelmed with other clients, as I often have to make several attempts to reach out in order to get a response, and some issues continue to remain unresolved. Unfortunately, we have actually given up on finding solutions to several issues at this point (transfers between company locations, 401k terminations, overlapping day clock ins, and time off requests, are just several examples that we continue to experience issues with on a recurring basis).

Pros:

Payroll processing is a breeze. If that is all you are using it for, you will love its ease of use and functionality. At the price point offered, it is a very economical choice for basic functionality.

Cons:

Communication between Time & Labor and Ready Pay Online is lacking. Continued issues since day one that have still not been ironed out in regard to transferring employees to new locations, time off tracking, browser accessibility, and 401(k) integration, just to name a few.

Jamie
Controller/General Manager in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Proliant - Excellence

4.0 last year

Comments: One word "EXCELLENT": But I have to say that what makes it excellent is the Customer Support I have received over the years. I have been using Proliant for a little over 4 years and there is NO Customer Support (except Chick-a-filet, lol) that compares to Proliant - namely [SENSITIVE CONTENT] and her support when she is not available.

Pros:

Very flexible; handles all payroll needs that I have encounter.

Cons:

Here is where I think you could add some improvements: On the Multiple Entry when you want to add another earnings item and you click on that EE, it ask you to save, then you select save, then it makes you select the EE again, then it goes to single entry --- it would be nice to bounce between these two entry points with more ease. Another item that I ran across is, let say I want to reimburse an EE $200; $100 for Vehicle expense and $100 for a reimbursement for supplies; instead of creating another code, if we had a place for a brief memo and it printed on the payroll register - same for any other code especially earnings. This would save the payroll clerk from having to do this every payroll - we run three payrolls a week.