Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.8 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.3 /5

About MYOB Essentials

Small Business cloud based accounting software to automate payroll, client management, tax and all your accounting needs.

Learn more about MYOB Essentials

Showing 86 reviews

Adam K.
Director
Apparel & Fashion, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/9/2020

"not to bad...quit easy to use."

Comments: Customer service can be slow to respond. That said when you do get onto them they do know how to assist.

Pros: Simple and easy to use. A good range of add on products.

Cons: No real ability to grow with your business.
Its really only suitable SME

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/9/2020
Ivan M.
Senior Bookkeeper
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/9/2018

"A Solid Piece Of Software"

Pros: I have used MYOB for years, it's perfect for getting the job done, and easy to use.

Cons: Sometimes the ability to change or delete transactions is a little bit dangerous.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/9/2018
Adam C.
Chief Accountant
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/8/2017

"A very easy to use and follow accounting software, the flow of information is easy to follow"

Comments: This software is easy to use and organize. This software allows me to track and update information easily and in a timely manner

Pros: I like the dashboards that show the flow of information from beginning to end. Reconciling the bank is very easy to do as well as enter in new sales and purchases. It's also very easy to export data into excel if additional analysis is needed outside of MYOB.

Cons: Generating sales reports, P&Ls, and BS is a bit cumbersome. It would also be nice if it had a 'dashoboard' feature, like xero, that shows all the relevant information on one page. Having one spot to go to for most of the day's relevant information would be very helpful

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/8/2017
Mark S.
Director
Accounting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/8/2020

"MYOB Review"

Pros: I like that it has been around for many many years, and the functionality has NEVER changed or been improved

Cons: The lack of development and modernisation of the product

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/8/2020
Michele H.
Accountant
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/12/2018

"ease of use"

Comments: Makes my work life convenient

Pros: Helps a lot with accounting work for clients. Myob essential version allows me to log in and work on in where ever I’m located (as long as I have internet access)

Cons: Only worked when there is internet access available, not available offine.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/12/2018
Ellie P.
ADMIN & ACCOUNTING MANAGER
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 28/11/2018

"Friendly user"

Comments: To be more flexible on forms and reports

Pros: Editing and backup easy to manage and restore function for any error or lost of data to be fixed easily

Cons: Cannot customise report and limited on letters and character to be insert. Control on printing page is not user friendly

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 28/11/2018
Karen Y.
manager
Education Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/1/2019

"MYOB for business"

Pros: I used MYOB a few years ago. At that time MYOB seems the only one which is capable of doing accounting tasks in Australia

Cons: I used MYOB a few years ago. At that time MYOB online version seems poorly designed, not suitable for multitasking

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/1/2019
Harinder S.
Managing Director
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 3/3/2019

"Call center people don't know what they are doing or how to setup licence properly"

Comments: Horrible experience so far with MYOB, time I have waste every day to get my MYOB going is beyond limit as I have other things to do.

Pros: Overall software is not bad but support team is not trained enough to sort out all the issues customer might have. I know my licence issue not been resolved from last two months!!!

Cons: I'm trying to sort out my licence issue from last two months but unfortunately it is still keep going. I have to spend couple of hours on phone to get it sorted and they assure it won't happen again but after couple of weeks and sometime every next day it stop working and keep asking for renew your subscription.
I'm very much pissed off with support people as it seems like they don't know shit and I'm thinking to change to xero instead.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 3/3/2019
Verified Reviewer
Professional Freelancer
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/6/2018

"Good software for offline accounting. you can work on Myob for all your accounting &and Bookkeeping"

Comments: Good for accounting & Book-keeping offline.

Pros: Its functioning is good. You can easily get your Accounting data customized by preparing P&L account & Balance sheet

Cons: 1. You have to take backup by your self no self backup facility.
2. Difficult to understand the reporting process.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/6/2018
Kerry F.
Director
Cosmetics, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/12/2016

"Easy accounting"

Comments: I have used MYOB in different formats and found this the simplest and quickest to use and would recommend to anyone running a business.

Pros: Quick to use

Cons: Reports

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/12/2016
Kirsten R.
Accounting Contractor
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/10/2018

"A good option"

Pros: That it is pretty user friendly and you can do most functions you want to

Cons: You need to have a good understanding about bookkeeping

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/10/2018
Ludovic C.
Ceo
Hospitality, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/5/2017

"Very easy to set up and to use"

Pros: Payroll is very easy. Bank feed, bank rules and reconciliation help to save a lot of time. Very simple dashboard. Good support.

Cons: No scan of documents on the go. No app to use the software yet. Don't offer all the functionalities of the computer version

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/5/2017
Dave B.
CFO
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 23/1/2018
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 23/1/2018
Low J.
Student
Education Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/5/2021

"Great accounting software"

Comments: For accounting and statistical analysis of market survey data.

Pros: Feature-rich, more than enough features. Many built-in functions and formulae that can be used to speed up the process.

Cons: Design can be sleeker and more customisable, to make it more user friendly. Inability to charge bulk transactions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/5/2021
Rani R.
owner/manager
Automotive, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/3/2018

"Great software. Does everything we need it to do and more."

Comments: Great accounting, and always updating with new features. Our accountant could just log in and do our end of years immediately.

Pros: -Highly customisable for invoicing and parts inventories.
-Has great reports. We found if you knew what you wanted to keep an eye on in the business, then you could design a report for it. Not all accounting programs or workshop software can do that so easily.
-once it was set up for our workshop, it worked amazingly. Very intuitive

Cons: -We were new to this software, and it took a long time to set it up, (6 mnths), specifically for how we needed it to work. (automotive workshop), You almost needed to be a trained accountant i felt.
-Support used to take at least 1 day if not 2 to get back to you.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/3/2018
Daz
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 7/8/2013

"Okay but . . . . ."

Comments: We have been using MYOB accounting plus for over 10 years and recently upgraded to the new Accountright 2013.
The new version is very similar to the old and this makes it relatively easy to adjust to. There was a bit of dancing converting 10 years of accounting data to the new format and eventually we got that done and away we went.
The first thing that struck us was how slow it seems in comparison to the previous software. (MYOB Accounting plus v14). Data entry is not fluid and constant delays in processing. We contacted MYOB support regarding this and "they are working on the problem" so it appears it is a common problem.
It is updated with the latest reports and payroll taxes and supposedly compliant with the ATO.
There is a greater range of reports available but still the customisation options are limited. What you see is what yo get, give or take a field or two.
The "cloud" idea is novel, but due to the speed restrictions it is of little real benefit.
Payroll is the biggest change complying with the new regulations, and taxes, but unfortunately MYOB doesn't allow upgrading of the tax tables without paying for an endless subscription which equates to approximately $800 per year.
Overall if you like the early MYOB and can handle the speed reduction then its an okay upgrade. If it wasn't for the reliance on MYOB data for the previous 10+ years and the swift talking sales rep that convinced management to upgrade, I would personally be looking at alternatives.

Pros: Compatible with earlier versions.
Interface is very similar to previous versions.

Cons: Expensive for what it is!
Slow!!!!! For small or casual use it MAY be okay, but for any real data volume, its just too slow. (Even on the latest PC)
Relies heavily on the internet (could be cause of part of the speed problem)
Limited customisation

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 7/8/2013
Kate W.
Office Manager
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/9/2018

"Easy to use"

Comments: Being in the cloud makes access to this program easy. It is user friendly and easy to navigate. The cost did increase quite a bit over the 6 years I was using it but it is pretty relative to other accounting software available.

Pros: This program is in the cloud so it can be accessed from anywhere that has internet.

Cons: You couldn't do a recurring transaction.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/9/2018
Peter M.
Publishing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 12/6/2018

"An industry standard, needs better support"

Pros: This is one of the mainstream products available around and has a lot of users all over the globe. There is a great chance that your accountant is familiar with this and will be able to make great recommendations

Cons: Updates can be cumbersome and provided they work well they are easy to apply. I have had a couple of instances where we needed support and it has been very lacking. General technical support is poor with cancelled webinars and staff which appear not to know more than the most basic for troubleshooting.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 12/6/2018
Karen Z.
Director
Arts & Crafts, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/1/2017

"Mostly good"

Comments: I've been using MYOB for many years, mainly to raise invoices and purchases, plus to track the P&L and balance sheet. It's a pretty robust product that doesn't need specialist instruction to use the basic functions, but it started getting pretty annoying when I upgraded late 2013 and now one has to be connected to the internet in order to use it. That means if your internet connection is down or you're out of WIFI reach on the road, you can't do anything with your company files. That's my biggest complaint.

Pros: Fairly easy to use; robust

Cons: You have to have internet connection to use your company files.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/1/2017
Daniel T.
Surveyor
Civil Engineering, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/3/2021

"Get your act together"

Comments: works well when it does, is terrible when it doesn't with zero customer support!

Pros: Easy to use. If you have a computer, you can access everything

Cons: Glitch with reconciliation. You have to go back to the dashboard if you want to reconcile a different account (each time) have been trying to setup bank feeds for credit card for years. Have been unable to update credit card details or pay the bill for the product for 2 months. Very annoying to log into, nearly every time you have to log in two or three times before you actually log in. If you like waiting on the phone to talk to someone, only for the call to time out after 40mins or get put through to some white noise, again and again this is the company for you.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/3/2021
Nicola B.
Bookeeper
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/6/2018

"Very Simple and easy to use, lacking in a few areas but good for a small business just starting out"

Pros: Very easy to navigate and simple to use. Search function for invoices is good now that you can see POs.

Cons: Wish it would export data to excel!! Had to manually build a database of 300 invoices! Too easy to go back and delete stuff too which then doesn't stay on the audit trail, once it's gone it's gone! Would like to see some detail from the invoice when it searched for rather than having to go into it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/6/2018
Simon M.
Accountant
Insurance, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/10/2017

"Easy to use"

Pros: Basic Accounting functions for the new staff to use. Very good graphical user interface. icons are very clear

Cons: Poor budgeting modules when trying to incorporate different departments. Relies on internet with cloud service.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/10/2017
Denise K.
Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/4/2018

"Make life easier"

Pros: I have been using the web-based MYOB since its launch back in 2012. The functionalities and the interface/look have been improved over the years. I like it because it is web-based, so I don't need to export the accounts and send it to our accountant, also be able to work on the same and updated info from anywhere.

Cons: The subscription price has been increased a lot over the years. I used to pay around monthly and now it costs around. So, for a light user, it's expensive. But well, I guess I pay for the convenience. The interface is not the most intuitive, but once it's learned, it's easy.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/4/2018
Steve S.
Accountant - Manager
Accounting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 9/1/2019

"Good Alternative Cloud Accounting Package for the MYOB Faithful"

Pros: Cloud based and extremely speedy.
Bank feeds are easier to navigate and interpret than competitors.
Support is good.

Cons: Hard sell to clients who are aware of other market leaders in the cloud accounting space.
Practice level reporting and tools aren't up to par compared to competitors.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 9/1/2019
Dmitri I.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/4/2017

"Works for us"

Comments: As a small business, its got everything we need it in. The downside is that the mobile app is very limited. All you can do on it is view or create invoices and take payments, which is where it also comes in handy. We purchased PayDirect card reader for a one time payment. It doesnt have on-going chargers, like many others do, but just minimal fees for eftpos transaction and 1.95% for credit cards.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/4/2017