15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About Geotab

Geotab is an end-to-end fleet management solution that is transforming the transportation and logistics industries.

Learn more about Geotab

Pros:

Asset management, customizable, , customer service, updates.

Cons:

Example, vehicle shows that it idled for a minute at 3 am on a Saturday. I get an email and immediately think the truck is getting stolen.

Geotab ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.6/10

Geotab has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 82 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Geotab before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (82)

Scott
Scott
Vice President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A Perspective from 20 Years in Heavy Truck

5.0 last year

Comments: We approach Geotab from a different perspective than many. We have been doing professional services training, implementing, and supporting Transportation Management Systems for 20 years. We have worked with all the major competitors in that time, including Qualcomm/OmniTracs, PeopleNet/Trimble, KeepTrucking/Motive, Samsara, Platform Science, Orbcomm, and others.Geotab is a unique product. We have found it is able to solve business challenges we never through possible, like fully real-time updates and alerts within seconds of a driver situation in the field or being able to re-analyze and report data in arrears months or years after the fact, like building a zone around a section of a terminal parking lot and seeing which drivers *ever* entered that space.While we still provide integration for all the major players, we have been able to create more custom solutions and solve more business challenges with Geotab than any other Telematics system to date, and we look forward to ever-increasing capabilities and features from their team.

Pros:

Geotab captures and aggregates real-world data like no other system we've ever seen. You can watch a truck pulling out of the parking lot in real-time or look back a year ago at exactly how a driver backed into a dock over multiple attempts. You can reconstruct what happened in an accident second-by-second, or re-evaluate all the times your drivers entered or exited a specific location over the entire history of your database on the fly.They also believe the data is *yours*, to keep and use as you see fit, and give full access to their system through a completely open API. The user interface is full-featured and simple, but beyond that, it can be modified, added to, and changed endlessly, allowing you to improve the visibility and access to information you find valuable. It is a system that is uniquely unlike any other we've used in Trucking, a true paradigm shift in the technology of Trucking, and transformative for every customer we've worked with.

Cons:

Their greatest strength is also their kryptonite. The features are so forward looking and Geotab is continually releasing new ones... it can be difficult to keep legacy systems up to speed with them. "Traditional" players (Qualcomm/OmniTracs, PeopleNet/Trimble) defined how data would be fed to back-end systems over 20 years ago, and most Transportation Management Systems still use those patterns today.The quality and volume of Geotab data is in a whole new league. Finding a middle ground to emulate the "Traditional" data feeds while also updating those TMS platforms to use the data available through Geotab is an ongoing challenge, but well worth the effort.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Lots of Data, but Requires Dedicated Personnel

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We were able to become compliant with the new E-Log mandate using GeoTab as well as drive a more safer fleet with employees that understood accountability was inevitable every time they got behind the wheel.

Pros:

The features on the dashboard are similar to what other competitors offer, but the layout is much more user friendly. The drop downs are more organized and the navigation to different fields is smooth. I also liked the very near to real time updates to the gps locations and the ability to pull data from the vehicle's ECM such as CEL, hours, and seat belt status.

Cons:

Due to the vast amount of data at you finger tips its very difficult to monitor all crucial aspects as well as maintain additional responsibilities if your position requires it. I would recommend a dedicated role to benefit from the full capabilities of the software.

Kelly
Safety Manager in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Hope to see Geotab get better

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Electronic logging devices are new to our industry and of course we know there are so many new issues we are experiencing and a learning curve as well. The old problems went away with ELD's but new ones have come up that must be addressed. With each new update to the Geotab program, the device gets better and better. On a whole I would say troubleshooting has been hard, communicating with the program developers/management. Issues we have come across are not taken seriously unless you have gone through so many steps to troubleshoot half of your day is shot with one truck/driver. We are lucky if that takes a day. We have had issues take weeks. It is very micro management intense. I am looking forward to updates everyday as those elusive program developers get it right once in a while...

Pros:

Since my company leases the trucks we use, and the leasing company has gone to Geotab for the ELD of their choice. We chose this to keep drivers ease of transition from our truck to the sub truck when ours is in the shop for maintenance. The driver can use any smart device to log in to the Geotab app. This has worked pretty good. Some like their smart phones and others like to use the tablets installed in our trucks.

Cons:

We do not like the structure the Geotab company goes by. Beware who you buy from and use as your provider as anybody can provide this service and they are only as good as they want to be. Find somebody who has a great customer service reputation. We would also want you to be aware there is a disconnect between software engineers and customer needs. We as a customer, are at their mercy and we get caught up between the regulations we have to follow and a software support that will ghost you when you are having issues.

Jeff
VP, Safety in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Why did we wait so long to use GeoTab

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Our cmpany has been with 2 other ELD platforms, but GeoTab has been by far the best for the money.

Pros:

The ease of the system and the reporting capability. Real time GPS management

Cons:

Nothing is jumping out at me at this point.

Tim
System Analyst in US
Food Production, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Geotab Management of our Fleet

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: It has been an easy transition from our previous software.

Pros:

Being able to see where are trucks are at currently and looking and routes for following days.

Cons:

Importing data from the system to put into Excel.

Joy
CEO in US
Professional Training & Coaching, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Solid Telematics Software Solution

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: I've been working with Geotab products for over 8 years and have seen enough successful rollouts to know that it can be tailored to meet the needs of most fleets quite well with the proper guidance. The level of customization possible with Geotab's reports, integrations, and SDK make it a solid product overall.

Pros:

Geotab can be customized to meet a lot of different customers' needs. My favorite part of the solution is probably the custom reporting that can be done via Excel reports to tailor the presentation of aggregated data so that it is more readable and actionable when going to various groups within organization.

Cons:

Geotab seems to be trending updates toward burying common functionality under more layers of options, which has made the software a bit less intuitive. I also find it difficult to find things quickly in their system ever since they removed the colors from the navigation bar and removed other visual clues that made the UX much more pleasant (I have given this three years to try to adjust and make sure this isn't a "learners curve" issue, and I believe it is still a real issue as I still have difficulty with it after all this time).

Ousman
Software Developer in Ethiopia
Logistics & Supply Chain, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I am overall satisfied with geotab features

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Geotab is a great system, even if it has some limitations, but overall it has most of the features that most people wanted.

Pros:

It gives an update on vehicles location and their driver, who is sleeping and who is driving, plus it gives an api in almost all programing language to access it from our system.

Cons:

It doesn't give the total miles of each vehicle in a specific date range directly, what it does is it gives all the records of the odometer reading since the device is installed, and we have to calculate manually by subtracting the last reading to the first reading in a specific date range. and it is too slow to load if the date range is high and also it doesn't give option to search with more than one vehicle.

Frank
Manager of Analytics & Member Engagement in US
Utilities, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great fleet management software

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: It doers the job well. We use it mostly for fleet location alone at this point, but I can see value in the other features it offers and look forward to implementing them,

Pros:

Relatively simple to use and has tons of features. Many of those features we don't use yet, but we are excited to roll them out in the future. Integrates with our Outage Management software.

Cons:

Sometimes changes to filtering doesn't seem to take effect until you do a shift-refresh of the web page. Some of the administration screens could benefit from a makeover to make hem more usable.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

So far it is Okay

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We have only been using this software for a few months and it has a hard learning curve. It could be great with some updating.

Pros:

I like the fact that it is very easy to see where my drivers are at any time. I like that you can see when the drivers are speeding or harsh braking. I like that we have the ability to go back and track where a driver has been.

Cons:

I am not crazy about the reports section of the software. It is hard to navigate and hard to understand. My Geotab needs to take a serious look and the ease of utilizing all of the software, not just the map portion.

Salma
Project cordinator in US
Telecommunications, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Useful GEOTAG

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

What I like most about Geotab is its comprehensive and user-friendly fleet management platform. The real-time data analytics, customizable reporting, and robust integration capabilities make it an invaluable tool for optimizing fleet operations and improving overall efficiency.

Cons:

What I like least about Geotab is the occasional complexity of navigating some of its advanced features. While the platform is powerful, the learning curve for new users can be steep, and it sometimes requires more time to fully understand and utilize all its functionalities.

aaron
fleet manager in US
Wholesale, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Geotab

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Love the system and love our service provider!

Pros:

detailed tracking of vehicles is the best I've seen

Cons:

ease of use on back end...setting up reports and correcting logs

Angelyn
Fleet Services Contracts Administrator in US
Utilities, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Geotab

5.0 last year

Pros:

Our customers find the Geotab platform easy to use and the standardized right out of the box reporting functions easy to understand.

Cons:

We would like to see more options available whe. It comes to asset trackers.

Geotab Response

last year

Angelyn, thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience. We're thrilled to hear that our product and solutions are meeting your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and helps us make improvements.

Sam
Bookkeeping in Canada
Automotive, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Solution for Fleet Tracking

5.0 last year

Pros:

Advance reports and the ability to customize each report

Cons:

It is not possible now to choose what constitutes as a stop

Cristina
National Fleet and safety DOT manager in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Geotab Connect 2023

5.0 last year

Comments: It’s been great

Pros:

Asset management, customizable, , customer service, updates

Cons:

Live tracking can be quicker than 90 - 2 mins

Geotab Response

last year

Cristina, thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience. We're thrilled to hear that our product and solutions are meeting your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and helps us make improvements.

Tom
SR Manager - DOT Compliance in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Geotab

5.0 last year

Comments: Fantastic

Pros:

Easy to use both for admin and drivers. Reporting is great

Cons:

Not really to add here the product is great and when we have thoughts geotab is very open to those ideas

Geotab Response

last year

Tom, thank you for your review! We focus on improving our products and solutions and your feedback is important to our success.

Ross
Safety supervisor in US
Logistics & Supply Chain, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

NEMA Safety

5.0 last year

Comments: Great so far

Pros:

Driver logs and tracking have been awesome

Cons:

Still learning we haven’t fully switched over yet

Geotab Response

last year

Ross, thank you for your review! We focus on improving our products and solutions and your feedback is important to our success.

Thomas
VP Driver Services in Canada
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Everything you need

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The amount of potential reports and analytics you can get on your fleet

Cons:

Require good knowledge of excel to customize reports

Taylor
Operations and Technology Integration in US
Business Supplies & Equipment, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

GPS and Logs Made simple.

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The software is robust and easy to use. Whether we are tracking our day to day dispatch or managing hours of service, this software checks all the boxes. Highly recommend to anyone looking to outfit their fleet.

Cons:

N/A this product accomplishes exactly what we need from it.

kelly
Telematics Administrator in US
Oil & Energy, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Amazing Service and System

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I love our WEX team, and the assistance we get when we need it. They are the best retailer! Any issues I have had were reconciled quickly. I think Geotab does amazing things for our fleet, and the open API is also great!

Pros:

I love the ease of use, the website, and the data. The Driver Scorecard are great! We currently use this in over 2k light duty units and I am extremely thrilled we have it.

Cons:

I would like to see the ability to deactivate FOBS.

Gary
Fleet Manager in US
Utilities, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Geo Tab Review

4.0 last year

Pros:

Geo Tab does a great job with tracking and giving our company a pathway to success when operating a fleet of vehicles.

Cons:

Map features and better icons. The customer service is great once you get two tier two level. The 1st tier level needs improved.

Jennifer
DOT Compliance Manager II in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Connected with Geotab

5.0 last year

Pros:

The platform is Easy to use and very driver friendly

Cons:

There is nothing that you can’t like about this product.

Geotab Response

last year

Jennifer, thank you so much for leaving such a positive review! We are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with our product/service. We are listening to user reviews and will continue to make improvements.

Mike
IT Tech in US
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

False positives

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I like to track vehicles and see alerts for when drivers are breaking the rules.

Cons:

A bunch of false positives from slamming doors and the system thought the vehicle was in a crash. Also speeding false positives when gps signals bounce from tower to tower.

Mathias
Mathias
Technical support in Ghana
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great Value For Your Money

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It's superb. We track our fuel, and drivers, and automate pricing to suit the needs of our business effectively.

Pros:

It is easily customizable with other company software and really met our needs.

Cons:

Not really had any issues, I would say I am good so far. You just need some time to be better at navigating through things.

Trent
VP Strategic Alliances in US
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great software

4.0 last year

Pros:

Easy to use and integrate with and develop workflows

Cons:

There really isn't anything I dislike about the software

Tom
Transportation Manager in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Lumbermen's

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Everyone has been very helpful.

Pros:

I like having the ability to see drivers in real time and reroute on the fly. IFTA reporting is also a key ingredient that makes Geo Tab helpful.

Cons:

Deployment of the devices has been slower than anticipated.