15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About Desk-Net

We empower editorial and communications teams to seamlessly coordinate their workflows, from strategy to daily operations.

Learn more about Desk-Net

Pros:

The software was fairly easy to setup, maintain, and get end users on board with using. It has been an excellent tool for our editorial department.

Cons:

Too many ressorts avoid an overview (is actually a pro, because the user can choose the main ressorts).

Desk-Net ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

9.2/10

Desk-Net has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 46 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Desk-Net before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (46)

Andy
Helpdesk & Systems Tech in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Media Production, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Desk-Net has been great for story planning and collaboration in one place

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We used to have users using many different platforms or methods for planning stories, schedules, events and such. People would use Google Docs, email, calendars, Lotus Notes, and probably many other options for story planning. It made moving from one department to another challenging. It made cross department collaboration challenging. And it made supporting it as part of the IT team quite challenging. Desk-Net was easy to implement and adopt across all editorial departments to streamline story processes.

Pros:

The software was fairly easy to setup, maintain, and get end users on board with using. It has been an excellent tool for our editorial department.

Cons:

I don't think the interface is always as intuitive and modern as it could be. Other than that, we haven't had much in the way of negative experiences.

Desk-Net Response

4 years ago

Hi Andy, Thanks a lot for your great review! We appreciate it and are happy that our tool has helped improve collaborations at Tax Analysts. We've got some good news! We're already working on the interface to ensure a better user experience, and you should see the improvements later this year. Best regards, The Desk-Net team

Alfred
Deputy editor-in-chief in Netherlands
Media Production, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

User-friendly en powerful

5.0 last month New

Comments: Very good. Once you have set it up properly, the ball will automatically start rolling

Pros:

The perfect overview gives us fully grip on our production

Cons:

A directly two-way connection with our CMS is on our whishinglist

Desk-Net Response

last month

Dear Alfred, Thank you for your positive review! We're delighted to hear that Desk-Net is providing you with the perfect overview and grip on your production. Our API is open and can be integrated with other open APIs, so please feel free to contact our support team for assistance with any integration needs.

Patrick
Redakteur in Germany
Newspapers, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very useful tool

4.0 last year

Comments: The organization of the newspaper work is easier and the connection of different houses is very good.

Pros:

We have a cooperation with several other newspapers. Desk Net gives the possibility to announce, plan and deposit texts very easily. I like a lot the possibility to mark texts in colors in categories like planned or done/available,

Cons:

When texts are not connected with a detailed date then the data tends to get lost or hard to be seen. And in the my topics section done data doesn´t disappear. It would be interesting to have an overview who opened a file

Desk-Net Response

last year

Thank you for such a positive review. We are in the midst of a major relaunch and undated stories will be added to the Story List to make it easier for you to view them.

Norman
stv. Leiter Digital in Germany
Newspapers, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great tool, great support!

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: Desk-Net is a very modern tool. It enables the editorial team to plan topics transparently. Working in the editorial department without Desk-Net would no longer be conceivable. We really appreciate the direct contact with the Desk-Net staff and also with the managing director, who is always ready to listen.

Pros:

Desk-Net has a very user-friendly and intuitive user interface. There is no need to install anything on the client as it runs completely in the browser. You can configure your filters and interfaces as required by the individual employee. The system is very stable and we have never had an outage.

Cons:

I can't think of any significant disadvantages. A staging system would sometimes be useful so that you can test things.

Desk-Net Response

2 months ago

Thank you for your positive feedback - especially regarding our Customer Success Team and CEO! It's great to hear that you like the customization options in Desk-Net. With the current relaunch, we have even more exciting updates and features on the way.

Melissa
Newspaper editor in Germany
Newspapers, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Every author can easily take part on a daily newspaper planning

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Our biggest benefit is networking with our partners. We deliver our newspaper articles to an related newspaper. Out daily planning is a huge help for those colleagues - for them it is able to see in real-time, which article we are going to publish. Otherwise, we are able to see the daily planning from another related newspaper-partner and can easliy benefit. Another benefit is the communication with our freelancers: authors can easily see, which article with how much signs we need at which time. Desknet sends automatically an E-Mail to those freelancers. In the past, we had to send E-Mails via Outlook with all those information. Now, they can see everything in Desknet - including attachments and comments. Another benefit, I think, is sharing information with all. Attachments, comments, using the "Notice"-function: Every person in this room and abroad can easily take part. Desknet facilitates our daily work in a local newspaper office.

Pros:

Our biggest benefit is networking with our partners. We deliver our newspaper articles to an related newspaper. Out daily planning is a huge help for those colleagues - for them it is able to see in real-time, which article we are going to publish. Otherwise, we are able to see the daily planning from another related newspaper-partner and can easliy benefit. Another benefit is the communication with our freelancers: authors can easily see, which article with how much signs we need at which time. Desknet sends automatically an E-Mail to those freelancers. In the past, we had to send E-Mails via Outlook with all those information. Now, they can see everything in Desknet - including attachments and comments. Another benefit, I think, is sharing information with all. Attachments, comments, using the "Notice"-function: Every person in this room and abroad can easily take part. Desknet facilitates our daily work in a local newspaper office. Additionally, I like the "my planning"-function.

Cons:

We must assign a photo to a name - otherwise, our newspaper photographer doesn`t get the information. The short title is at least a little bit too short. I don`t like the new box, in which you must confirm, which state of publication a theme gets. Two clicks more compared to the "old" Desknet. We dont need the separation - we only need "accepted". But this can distinguish between users. You see: the cons are void.

Rob
Rob
National Editor in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Media Production, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

We rely on Desk-Net

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Compared to what we were using before-- Google Spreadsheets-- Desk Net is 1000% better. I searched many solutions and DeskNet was the best value for the right features. It and the staff quickly adapted to each other and now we can't imagine life pre-Desk Net.

Pros:

Desk-Net is a very easy to learn and adaptable system to keep a complicated editorial calendar organized across many employees and platforms. The interface is clear, the features are perfectly suited to what we need.

Cons:

The interface coud always be better and more Mac-like. I would love to see better integration with: 1. payroll features, so payments could be added and integrated with office payroll software 2. awards features. So stories that should be awards-considered are easy to track through the year 3. Integration with newsletter makers like Iterable so stories can flow over with a click

Desk-Net Response

2 years ago

Hi Rob, Thanks for the great review! We are in the process of completely re-designing the user-interface. A good solution for the awards features would be custom fields. There you can define and mark award-worthy stories. We've recently had a Partner & Integration Manager join us at Desk-Net. While we cannot promise an integration with Iterable, you can look forward to integrating more tools with Desk-Net. Thanks, The Desk-Net team

Beate
Medienverantwortliche in Switzerland
Research, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A useful communications planning tool

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: It is widely used in newsrooms - journalist or corporate comm - which indicates its usefulness for this purpose.

Pros:

It helps us to implement the idea of a corporate network, despite being a small team. I like the overview over my scheduled tasks and publications. We can conntect teams - and have their input of topics - that were not connected before.

Cons:

It is quite expensive for a small team.

Desk-Net Response

4 months ago

Hi Beate, Thanks for your positive review. Connecting teams to plan consistent content is one of the main areas we want to help our customers with. We're very happy that you like working with our software!

Marcel
Leiter Storytelling / Mitglied der Redaktiosnleitung in Switzerland
Media Production, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and very helpful

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Look above at the Pros section. Desk-Net is the easiest way to get an overview.

Pros:

Desk-Net is a very professional tool that allows our 150 Journalists to get an easy overview over the current planned stories and also for all the long-term based articels. We can add simply new formats, can mark and inform all persons involved into a story and everyone can see, whats going on. This is especially for 20 Minuten with 8 local offices around switzerland - even in the french- and italian speaking part - extremely important.

Cons:

The only thing that I personally dont like that much, is the fact, that functions and layout are changend by Desk-Net.

Miriam
Online-Redakteurin in Germany
Government Administration, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

It is an excellent tool

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

We are very happy with Desk-Net. It is very easy to use as well as admin or user.

Cons:

It takes some time to find out which functions and areas are useful for you. We actually only use the area under "Topics".

Desk-Net Response

3 years ago

Hi Miriam, Thanks a lot for your great review! We're delighted to hear that you found our software easy to use. The good news is that we're already improving the interface to ensure a better user experience. You should see the improvements, especially our Topics page in mid-2021. Best regards, The Desk-Net team

Samuel
Editor in Switzerland
Information Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Recommendation

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

- Easy and incomplicated use - Overview for planing - no unnecessary tools - acutal noticed topcis are immediately refreshed

Cons:

- too many ressorts avoid an overview (is actually a pro, because the user can choose the main ressorts)

Carolin
Journalist in Germany
Media Production, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Functional and easy

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The features makes it a functional software for using in the job every day.

Pros:

You can sign in every date, share it with all colleagues or just single groups or you can even hide it. Furthermore you can write in and upload textes and photos.

Cons:

Sometimes it is impossible to export the content in another system like alphamedia automatically, so you have to do this by hand.

Christoph
Redakteur in Germany
Media Production, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good software, if everyone takes care of it

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

- Easy to use - Clear structure and different Icons organize - Responsive design for mobile-use - Remind-Function - Just a few clicks to have a great overview

Cons:

Everything fine. The old problem that the page did not update itself has been fixed.

Wiebke
Redakteurin in Germany
Media Production, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

very good

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It took a little time to get used to the software completely. Meanwhile the planning of the topics with Desk-Net is simple and very clear. This also helps with creative work, because planned topics can be planned for different media channels at the same time.

Pros:

- good clarity - very good structure - media-neutral planning - many useful functions

Cons:

- connection of Desknet calendar to outlook unfortunately does not work

Armando
Chefredaktor in Switzerland
Media Production, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The software is easy to use and clear. Very suitable to work with in a team.

Cons:

Indispensable for me for daily planning at work.

Markus
Senior Editor in Germany
Newspapers, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Daily Chaos

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Very helpful and patient

Pros:

Great tool to structure the daily chaos of a newsroom

Cons:

There is No IPhone-App for Desk-Net, unfortunately

Dominic
Newspaper editor in Germany
Newspapers, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great organizing software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Organizing meetings and topics as a journalist for a regional newspaper in Germany. Desk-Net is a great help on a daily basis, connecting with colleagues and freelancers.

Pros:

- Easy handling - Great overview - Usable to individual needs - Transparent to other users from the same company (saves lots of phone time)

Cons:

No real cons. It just takes some time getting used to organizing your work with it, that's all.

Jana
journalist in Germany
Farming, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Quick and Easy Tool

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

you can work with it from anywhere: for example smartphone or computer

Cons:

there was nothing there. i have no problems

Karin
Web Publisher in Switzerland
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Using Desk-net

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use and learn. Really a good Programm.

Cons:

There is nothing negative to say except that I have to re-register each time.

Philipp
Chefredakteur in Germany
Newspapers, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Übersichtlicht, schnell und effizient

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Der Gesamteindruck ist überwiegend positiv, da Desk-Net viele sehr nützliche und gute Funktionen bietet, der Support i.d.R. zügig erfolgt und man dort auch neuen Ideen gegenüber aufgeschlossen ist.

Pros:

Desk-Net ist gerade für die Planung größerer Redaktionen mit mehreren Standorten ideal, weil es übersichtlich, schnell und effizient zu nutzen, einfach zu schulen und zügig zu implementieren ist. Es ermöglicht darüber hinaus, das Bespielen mehrerer Kanäle und die Abstimmung mit Freien Mitarbeitern und Dienstleistern.

Cons:

Desk-Net versteht sich als reines Themen- und Terminplanungstool, andere wichtige Redaktionsmanagement-Anwendungen, wie z.B. eine verbesserte Planung von Diensten, Schichten, Urlauben und freien Tagen wäre hilfreich.

Desk-Net Response

2 months ago

Vielen Dank für Ihr positives Feedback zu Desk-Net. Wir freuen uns, dass sich unser Tool als effizient und hilfreich für die Planung in großen Redaktionen erwiesen hat. Unser Ziel ist es, ein spezialisiertes Tool für die Themenplanung zu bleiben. Gleichzeitig arbeiten wir an der Weiterentwicklung unserer offenen API, um bald eine noch bessere Anbindung an andere Tools wie Schicht- und Dienstplanungstools zu ermöglichen. Außerdem möchten wir im Rahmen unseres Relaunches sicherstellen, dass die eingegebenen Schichten und Abwesenheiten besser für das Aufgabenmanagement und die redaktionelle Planung genutzt werden können. Vielen Dank für Ihre Unterstützung und Ihr Vertrauen in Desk-Net.

Andrea
Pressereferentin & Social Media Managerin in Germany
Insurance, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ein gutes Tool, das noch Luft nach oben hat

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Sehr gut insgesamt. Support habe ich nie genutzt. Preis-Leistung kann ich nicht beurteilen. Es war für unseren Bedarf das beste Tool, das wir finden konnten. Wie gesagt, es gibt Luft nach oben!

Pros:

Wir arbeiten in einem dezentralen Redaktionsteam mit der Software. Toll ist, dass wir Nutzer zulassen können und damit unsere Inhalte steuern, Aufgaben zuweisen können. Es hilft uns den Überblick über unsere Projekte zu behalten und unsere Materialien zu sortieren.

Cons:

Verbesserungsbedarf gibt es ja immer und man merkt ihn erst in der Anwendung. So wäre es toll, wenn man die Icons pro Aufgabenstellung automatisch einrichten könnte für jeden Text. So muss man die ganze lange Liste (Text, Fotos, Korrektorat, Veröffentlichung etc.) jedesmal neu anlegen. Zudem kann man z.B. bei den Inhalten die Bilder nicht nachträglich sortieren und muss somit die Bilder einzeln hochladen, wenn man eine bestimmte Reihenfolge braucht (braucht man meist, damit andere diese verstehen).

Desk-Net Response

4 years ago

Hi Andrea, Thank you for leaving a review. We're happy to hear that our tool has helped with content planning at your organization. Regarding the user interface, some admin pages have already been redesigned, and more improvements are underway. You should see the improvements and expect a better user experience in 2021. Thanks, The Desk-Net team

Pavel
Webmaster in Germany
Publishing, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Professioneller Planungstool, perfekt für eine Redaktion

5.0 7 months ago

Pros:

Desknet ist sehr flexibel, wenn man genug Zeit in die Einrichtung investiert hat, kann man alle Szenarien abbilden.

Cons:

Manchmal gibt es Performanceprobleme, werden aber schnell behoben

Alternatives Considered:

Reasons for Switching to Desk-Net: Desknet bietet eine Vielzahl an Funktionen und kann individuell an die Bedürfnisse angepasst werden.

Desk-Net Response

7 months ago

Vielen Dank für Ihre positive Rückmeldung. Besonders freuen wir uns, dass Sie die Flexibilität und Anpassbarkeit an individuelle Bedürfnisse von Desk-Net hervorheben. Wir befinden uns gerade in einem Relaunch, wodurch beides noch weiter verbessert wird. In den nächsten Tagen werden weitere Verbesserungen ausgespielt, die bestehende Performanceprobleme noch weiter verringern.

Yves
Head of Print Team in Luxembourg
Media Production, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Desk-Net als zentrales Planungstool unseres multilingualen Newsrooms

4.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Die enorme Flexibilität. Desk-Net bietet sehr viele Möglichkeiten der Individualisierung und Anpassung an alle möglichen Workflows. Selbst in unserer anspruchsvollen Arbeitsumgebung konnte Desk-Net unser altes, eigen entwickeltes und auf unsere Bedürfnisse zugeschnittenes Tool problemlos ersetzen.

Cons:

Bei Desk-Net läuft man Gefahr, zu Beginn von den vielen Möglichkeiten der Anpassung erschlagen zu werden. Doch wenn man erst mit dem System vertraut ist, sieht man schnell die Vorteile der zahlreichen Anpassungsmöglichkeiten.

Desk-Net Response

4 months ago

Danke für die tolle Bewertung. Wir freuen uns über Ihr Feedback zur Flexibilität und Anpassbarkeit, genau das wollen wir in unserem aktuellen Relaunch noch weiter ausbauen. Es ist schön zu sehen, dass das bei Ihnen gut ankommt.

David
Chef vom Dienst in Germany
Media Production, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Super Funktionsumfang bei einfacher Bedienung

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

- sehr übersichtlich mit vielen Filterfunktionen und Ansichten - nach eigenen Bedürfnissen anpassbar - Redaktionsplanung über ein gesamtes Netzwerk steuerbar

Cons:

- manchmal Ladezeiten für einzelne Ansichten oder Abspeichern von Karten zu lang

Desk-Net Response

4 months ago

Vielen Dank für diese super Bewertung. Das Ziel unseres Relaunches war es, die Bedienbarkeit zu verbessern und unseren Kund:innen mehr Möglichkeiten zu geben, die Software an ihre Bedürfnisse anzupassen. Wir freuen uns daher sehr, dass Sie genau das unter Vorteile auflisten. Wir arbeiten daran, die Ladezeiten zu verkürzen. Wenden Sie sich in dringenden Fällen gerne an unseren Support, unsere Kolleg:innen werden Ihnen so schnell wie möglich weiterhelfen.

Mario
IT Head of Systems Design Engineering in Austria
Newspapers, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alles ist planbar

4.0 4 months ago

Comments: Desk-Net ist aus dem Redaktionsalltag nicht mehr wegzudenken. Teilweise ist die Bedienung leider etwas kompliziert und die Integration mit O356 insb. Teams wäre ein echter zugewinn.

Pros:

Desk-Net ist strukturiert aufgebaut und die Module sind flexibel einsetzbar.

Cons:

Mobile Nutzung ist nahezu unbrauchbar und ein wirkliches gravierendes Manko.

Desk-Net Response

4 months ago

Vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit für eine Rezension genommen haben. Wir werden Ihre Wünsche bezüglich der Integration von Office365 und Teams an das Produktteam weiterleiten. Wir arbeiten bereits an einer iOS-App und haben in letzter Zeit gute Fortschritte gemacht. Wir freuen uns, dass Ihre Redaktion Desk-Net aktiv für die tägliche Planung nutzt und Sie die Flexibilität unserer Software schätzen.

Maria
Redakteurin in Germany
Media Production, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Super nur für unterwegs etwas eingeschränkt

4.0 last year

Comments: Ich arbeite hauptsächlich damit, dort sehe ich, wer was erledigt, wann etwas macht. Ohne Desknet kann ich in der Redaktion nicht arbeiten. Es funktioniert für mich super. Nur wenn man die filter nicht richtig nutzt, kann es unübersichtlich werden, da man Gefahr läuft, wichtige Funktionen zu übersehen.

Pros:

Der personalisierte Bereich, die unterschiedlichen Übersichtsgunktionen und die Möglichkeit unterschiedliche Kategorien zu bilden.

Cons:

Siehe unten plus dass esonerato der mobilen version eingeschränkt ist. Ich arbeite als Reporterin viel unterwegs am Handy, da wäre es super wenn desknet alles gleich gut könnte.

Desk-Net Response

12 months ago

Vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben und uns so positives Feedback hinterlassen. Wir arbeiten bereits an einer iPhone App, sodass Sie auch unterwegs uneingeschränkt Desk-Net nutzen können.