Instore software Reviews

by Instore Software

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.9 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 /5
  • Customer Service
    4 /5

About Instore software

Instore is a next-generation point of sale (POS) solution helping small to midsize restaurants and retailers run great businesses.

Learn more about Instore software

Showing 25 reviews of 37

Alex G.
Owner
Restaurants, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/9/2018

"It's been a journey"

Comments: Nice folks. If not for the fact that we're tied in to the gift cards that we've sold, we would probably experiment with different POS options. We're not convinced that other apps are better, we suspect that they all have pluses and minuses. But it would be nice to have the freedom to explore a bit more.

Pros: Generally speaking, it does what we need it to do in a way that makes sense.
We often go months without thinking about it or worrying about it.
The team at Instore genuinely cares, and while they don't listen to all of our feedback, we can see that our feedback has led to improvement.

Cons: I don't think the back end is robust enough. Sometimes it's impossible to download reports because the server times out before it processes and packages the reports.
We've never felt that the "end of day" functionality made much sense.
We'd like more flexibility with how it interacts with individual staff members.
Sometimes changes are made without us being informed that don't feel like improvements.
It would be nice if there were more flexibility in settings about how the app is set up.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/9/2018
Namil F.
Food Truck Owner
Restaurants, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/9/2018

"Overall Good product but could be much better."

Pros: Ease of use and stability. System rarely has any problems and the credit card processing is stable.

Cons: Key features missing for food service business. Missing ingredient level inventory and a feature to track waste so that your end of day numbers are exact.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/9/2018
Orlando D.
Owner
Restaurants, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/9/2018

"Easy to use and fast to setup"

Comments: good experience with my first POS ever used.

Pros: multiple locations, ability to set up different items at each location, all in one registers available

Cons: layout need to be changed to make more user friendly. I have a large menu with many categories where more category space would have been useful

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/9/2018
John W.
Owner
Entertainment, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/9/2018

"Has the opportunity to be great"

Pros: I like the easy set-up
The online ability to see up to date sales
I like the ability to be mobile with the POS

Cons: Do not like the customer service
Do not like the fact you can’t split tabs or combine them
Don’t like how easy it drops service or ability to take credit cards

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/9/2018
Lacey R.
Owner
Restaurants
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/7/2015

"Instore Hits The SweetSpot"

Pros: The customer service, while not 24 support, is extremely responsive. I have felt like I am part of my POS team instead of just an end user of a purchased product. The software is reliable and flexible.

Cons: The lack of 24 hour support has been difficult at times, but very rarely.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/7/2015
Amanda K.
Manager
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/9/2018

"Good POS system"

Pros: I like the customization features. You can tailor the app to help it function best for your store needs.

Cons: Certain features can slow you down if not utilized correctly. Customer service can be slow and take weeks to remedy bugs and fixes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/9/2018
Deanna G.
Owner
Restaurants, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/9/2018

"Instore has made it easy to train employees on register and group items accordingly yo expedite service."

Comments: No

Pros: I like how you can control the format. It’s easy to add seasonal specials, adjust employee pay, and keep track of sales remotely. We also like the rewards program option.

Cons: It was slightly confusing to update and I had to reach out to tech support. I also wish there was an option to include half a cent for prices.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/9/2018
Ted A.
Owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/1/2017

"User friendly"

Comments: Detailed features, good customer service, easy to use

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/1/2017
Dustin P.
Owner
Restaurants, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/10/2018

"Excellent POS for Bar Based Businesses"

Comments: For the money, its hard to beat Instore as a great POS system for our cigar bar.

Pros: The user interface of Instore is very simple to use. The way it presents categories and then items in those categories allows for fast input of orders for customers. The recently added Tab feature allows us to store credit card numbers without having to hold customers cards for tabs they want to run. The ability to add employee payroll cost, as well as COGS allows you to quickly see what your true profit for the day was after each shift closing.

Cons: The reporting system isn't as robust as I'd like, however the basic reporting does provide you with access to most items. I'd like to see more details around breakdown of sales per hour and day, etc.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/10/2018
Louisa H.
Owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/9/2018

"GREAT POS FOR A SMALL SHOP"

Comments: Customer service communication via email is great. Everyone is very accommodating and helpful.

Pros: It has all the features we need for a small cheese/wine/beer shop. Very easy to use, clean and simple user face. We sell cheese so the integrated scale is extremely useful. Not many other POS systems have integrated scale. Instore is always working on updates to improve the POS system. Since we've been using the system, they've added a new feature on sales tax which is quite useful for when we need to file sales tax.

Cons: There are a few features that we would like to have -- I can't easily get a master list of all my inventory, a request would have to be sent to the engineers and it takes a few days to turnaround. Customer service is great through email but not as helpful when we have issues in real time. Normally, can't reach anyone on the phone, would have to leave vmail or email and have someone return your call within 24 hrs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/9/2018
Emily E.
Computer manager
Restaurants, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/9/2018

"Good, not bad for start up"

Comments: I love the rewards.

Pros: It is very easy to create an item. Once created you can easily send it right to the pos from anywhere. I don’t always have to be at my store to up date.

Cons: There is not a very good inventory system. Or maybe it is just difficult to understand. I find myself guessing what I need because the system doesn’t let me track it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/9/2018
Susan S.
Owner
Restaurants, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/9/2018

"So Happy in Austin"

Comments: Support is great and I’m so happy I chose instore for our first shop!

Pros: Ease of use, detail of reports, reward system is loved by most, hold orders are very convenient and the overall look!

Cons: That there is no FINAL screen after the customer signs or pays . . . Something to say, “Thank you! See you tomorrow”
Customers are often confused and say, “am I done?” When it jumps to the next order screen

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/9/2018
Chris W.
Owner
Restaurants, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/9/2018

"Does Pretty Good"

Comments: I like the Instore product it is easy to use, they are constantly updating it with new features, and I like the metrics it measures. However, I am afraid my business might be a bit too busy for it to keep up with.

Pros: The overall product is very clean and intuitive. It was easy to program and is easy for my employees to learn how to use.

Cons: I have a small soda fountain and when we get busy during peak hours, the system will occasionally lag. This can be very frustrating when we have a line out the door and need to pick up the pace.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/9/2018
Sheldon M.
Chef/ Owner
Restaurants, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/9/2018

"Very user friendly"

Pros: Hand held are a great way to get orders quick and pay at the table.You can also use it off site for banquets.

Cons: You can’t ring in or split tickets by seat numbers. The printer looses communication with the iPad one or twice a week

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/9/2018
Tish J.
Assistant
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/10/2017

"Perfect for Car Wash"

Pros: The product was easy to use and they were very helpful. Had everything I needed for the car wash, even let me have add on's

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/10/2017
Laura B.
Manager
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/9/2018

"Great POS program"

Comments: At times when updates have occurred some information has been lost or repositioned

Pros: Its'simicity yet able to handle just about everything. Easy to make adjustments when necessary and communication with tech support is fast!

Cons: The lack of control we have over the rewards program, points, etc. I want to be able to handle customer issues immediately

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/9/2018
Chris M.
Restaurants
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/1/2015

"Perfect for our shop"

Pros: The Instore team is responsive to our needs and problems. Many times when I have had an issue, I have called to find them in the final stages of an update to resolve that very problem. They have a robust system that is very easy to use for our coffee shop. Menu updates are simple and can be pushed out immediately. Employee timesheets are kept automatically. They are worth every penny of our subscription, and I especially appreciate the use of third party hardware. We saved literally thousands of dollars in hardware alone. Bottom line: Instore is clean, easy to operate, easy to update, and simple. It's one less thing to consume my very limited time.

Cons: Some of the finer points of the software are a little clunky, such as item modifier management, and some of the backend is less user-friendly than desired. But again, I've been informed that a major backend overhaul is in the works to address these very issues. As far as complaints about the Vendor themselves, I have none!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/1/2015
Sarah E.
Owner
Restaurants, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/9/2018

"It's good to start"

Comments: It needs to be easier to add inventory. Ounces, containers etc.

Pros: It's easy to train employees on and easy to navigate. I like that I can see the daily reports on my phone.

Cons: My accountant doesn't like the profit and loss report at all. He said it's not a true profit and loss report.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/9/2018
Kimberly E.
Owner
Restaurants, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/9/2018

"Like it but don’t love it"

Pros: Reports are good and what I can see remotely with regards to sales

Cons: Grayscale, not really user friendliness

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/9/2018
Eric I.
Owner
Restaurants, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/9/2018

"InStore : not a great pos"

Pros: The monthly fee is reasonable, less than it’s competition. Other than that, I don’t really see too many pros.

Cons: None of the data I want is easy to access, if even possible at all. Customer data is limited, such as access to emails. Daily, monthly and annual data is hard to talley. This is not a good choice for a busy restaurant.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/9/2018
Brian G.
Manager
Restaurants, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/9/2018

"A good product that can be great with a few small tweaks"

Pros: Back-end reporting is intuitive and extremely helpful when submitting sales tax numbers quarterly. The checkout and payment process is easy to learn and simple as is time tracking for employee shifts.

Cons: Using signing up people for rewards could be easier and faster. It would be nice if the most popular items migrated to the tops of the categories automatically.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/9/2018
Maria D.
Store Coordinator
Retail
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/3/2016

"Excellent customer service!"

Pros: Employees were very nice, prompt and knowledgeable about their products.
It was very easy to understand the online presentation and make a choice for purchase.

Cons: So far I am 100% happy with the product and customer service. The equipment came nicely packet and was all brand new, and the employees have been helpful and friendly every time we speak!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/3/2016
Alexay C.
Entertainment
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/1/2015

"Hardships with InStore"

Pros: There's not much I like about Instore.

Cons: There are all kinds of glitches with the software in addition to simple common functions not included that make using this product difficult and provide a less satisfying customer experience, which in turn affects sales, repeat business, and tips for the staff.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/1/2015
Julie A.
Owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/9/2018

"Needs more features"

Comments: No

Pros: It is easy to use but needs to add more features, such as an ability to hold and sort orders. This is vital for a business that takes orders for a few weeks out.

Cons: The iPad and system together are very glitchy (I don’t know if they sell used iPads) but within six months our system became very hard to work with.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/9/2018
My C.
Bartender
Entertainment, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/9/2018

"Instore"

Pros: I like the emails we get about updates & the interface. For the most part it's really easy to use and the FAQ are very helpful.

Cons: It's not always the most intuitive POS system. It took a long time got an update to be created that allowed us to start tabs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/9/2018