15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About Sketchfab

Helps businesses to showcase their brands and products in 3D and Augmented Reality (AR).

Learn more about Sketchfab

Pros:

For us the most important was that Sketchfab use PBR rendering, include VR and have API which allow us to create our 3D Product configurator.

Cons:

3D modeling can be hard to capture the models texture but with enough patience and revisions we can get really close.

Sketchfab ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.8/10

Sketchfab has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 17 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Sketchfab before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (17)

Jan
Jan
R&D Specialist in Poland
Verified LinkedIn User
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Terma use Sketchfab as base of 3D Product Visualization since 2015

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: For years I use mostly all of the functionality which Sketchfab offers. It’s well developed with good documentation. It’s have good forum and support. So it’s good to work with it. The platform is complete so I save a lot of time to write own one and maintenance it. Here I created 3D Products Visualizators which allows you to see product in one of 250 colours. You can see it at sample arrangement, you can upload your photo to see radiator in your room or even you can make a photo on mobile device and see it there instantly with possibility of adjust and scale it. Also you can change background color, see products annotations, animation with it or even animated product or you can decide which part of it you would like to see. And at least you can see it in VR.

Pros:

Terma for many years use high tech for products presentations. In 2009 we start using adobe flash to present our products in 3D 380’ with possibility to change their colors. In 2015 we discover Sketchfab platform as a place to visualize our products in 3D with highest quality on Internet without needs to use any additional plugins. For us the most important was that Sketchfab use PBR rendering, include VR and have API which allow us to create our 3D Product configurator. Today we have more than 180 products visualized in 3D based on Sketchfab platform which our customers very like.

Cons:

For me as a programmer I miss the source code of platform to implement new ideas by myself.

Alex
Founder in US
Defense & Space, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

3D Configurator - Increased Conversion Rate and Order Size - Dramatically

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

What I like most about the software was how easy it was for us to set up and the seamless customer experience the 3D configurator makes for our visitors. Our product has over 90 different variations that can make it difficult to shop for if they were all stand alone listings. With the configurator one can easily swithc between model, color and ring to personalize the unit quickly and efficiently! We saw immediate improvement in order size, color range, and conversion rate with the configurator, it also put us light years ahead of our competitors when it comes to user exierence.

Cons:

3D modeling can be hard to capture the models texture but with enough patience and revisions we can get really close.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Arts & Crafts, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Sketchfab 3D Visualization

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: I really enjoyed using Sketchfab

Pros:

It is very easy software to use. I see my ideas come to life before me

Cons:

Extra features, brushes and shading can be added

Marcos
Head Developer in US
Computer Games, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Sketchfab: 3D platform with lots of quality models and large user-base

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Allows us to spend more time on animations/gameplay instead of making 3D models, which for high-fidelity models can take a lot of time and processing power. Easy to make some extra cash from selling models on the store too.

Pros:

Website design is sleek and modern; easy to download/upload models; quality control for bought stuff is pretty dang good; large user-base makes it easy to get sales/reach people.

Cons:

Lots of competition for selling stuff; *some* scuffed models do get through quality control in the store; a little hard to get textures working sometimes (when uploading models); only has PayPal for payouts (more options would be better)

Mitchell
3D Innovation Manager in US
Retail, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Deckers Brands SketchFab Review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Easy to use, easy to edit, easy to share, great quality results.

Pros:

SketchFab makes it easy to upload, edit and share/embed 3D online. The visualization quality is world-class and offers VR and AR with no additional effort for the user after uploading 3D models.

Cons:

SketchFab have a great color configurator and mp4/jpg generator, but it is unfortunately separate to the main SketchFab site. I would like to see these as part of the main tool. Additionally I would like to see improvements on organization capabilities of files, I work in fashion and so I need to organize files by brand, gender, category etc. Currently I can only create a folder to organize files, without ability to even have a sub-folder within that.

Zandrich
Chief Marketing Officer in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sketchfab - Premier 3D Marketplace

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Not only does Sketchfab offer the most versatile 3D viewer on the market, Sketchfab also offers the best 3D asset marketplace on the internet. The Sketchfab marketplace has been my go-to when selling 3D assets as a freelancer, and has over the years become the best place for myself and my team to purchase 3D assets for ourselves.

Pros:

As a 3D viewer, Sketchfab beats any competitor without a sweat. It supports the largest collection of file formats, and is significantly more lightweight than it's closest contemporary. As a bonus, the Sketchfab marketplace is hands-down the best-in-class, and should be the first choice for anyone who sells their 3D assets, or are in the market to purchase assets for their own projects.

Cons:

The only thing that could improve Sketchfab as a whole would be the support of more formats than is already supported.

Adam
Adam
CEO / Co-Founder in Poland
Verified LinkedIn User
Events Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent tool to build powerful 3D configurators

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We use Sketchfab as 3D engine allowing customers to define their features and accessories and to view every single detail before purchase.

Pros:

The fact that it doesn’t require any plugins to run in the browser. It just works and can be easily embedded on the website. Plus, obviously, Sketchfab API that allowed us to create a very powerful and convincing product configurator.

Cons:

Didn’t find a way to animate textures yet...

Mehmet
Digital Marketing Manager in Türkiye
Furniture, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

SketchFab Helped Increasing Our Web Leads

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The 3D design tool we developed using Sketchfab libraries changed our business for good. We currently generate 1/3 of all our web leads though that 3D design tool. It also shortened our design process significantly.

Pros:

It is fast and it works smoothly on almost all devices (minus some old operating systems and mobile devices).

Cons:

It was cheaper when we first subscribed, but then they increased their pricing.

Devin
Devin
None in US
Online Media, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Sketchfab 3D Visualization: massive amount of resources and a sense of community

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall it's provided a fantastic platform to share my creative ideas, and view/use others. Though the market varies drastically when it comes to quality and price, I can find anything I may be looking for, as well as share my own creations. It's great to receive and give feedback on creations. I would recommend this to those who want to share their work, or find a 3D model for whatever their need.

Pros:

Offers a large variety of file types to upload and download 3D model files. Their model library is very vast, with multiple categories to find whatever model you're needing. Other then offering a market to sell and buy 3D models, it provides a community for creators and buyers to fallow creators and comment on others pieces. They do provide their service for free, although you do have the option to upgrade your account for added features that can be really useful if you are a creator.

Cons:

A large percentage of their library are low quality 3D models, though some might not need a high quality model. Prices are subjective, so expect some models to be overpriced, though that can be expected when dealing with digital media.

Michael
Michael
Executive Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A must for schools and education

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

ease of use, ability to design, create and share

Cons:

I honestly cannot think of anything that I would say to the negative

Stefano
Global Innovation Senior Director in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Goods, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

User friendly 3D visualization tool

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We're using Sketchfab for digitizing some internal meetings, reducing costs related to sales samples and others. However, I think that the potentials of this tool are still unexplored.

Pros:

Extremely easy to use: no need for software downloads, no lisenses or credentials needed for the viewer, it works basically on every platform. The quality of the rendering is very good, especially if combined with a 3D generated from photogrammetry.

Cons:

I would love to see it embedded in Powerpoint.

Benoit
Brand Director in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Sports, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best platform to bring new interactive 3D experiences for your ecommerce and customer experience

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Our Goal was to bring some deph and interactivity to our customers, gamers, who are used to interact with objects daily as part of their gaming experience. Being able to showcase our product in 3D and hide easter eggs for the teasing, and actual realistic interactive 3D objects on our ecommerce has been great and provided great engagement and feedback from both our community and business partners.

Pros:

Powerful, full integration, easy to work with.

Cons:

Sketchfab is simply the best 3D viewing experience for the web.

Arindam
Podcast and Ideation Manager in India
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The all-in-one 3D/AR/VR Solution for all business needs

5.0 last year

Pros:

- Sketchfab has a vast variety of 3D Models in various formats compatible with multiple platforms and devices.- Licensing for 3D Models as Commercial, CCBY, etc.- Embedding functionality and customization for pro users.

Cons:

- No trials are available for pro plans, better pricing for tiered plans.

Ivan Harris
Ivan Harris
Gender and Development Research Officer in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

My Review for Sketchfab

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

What I like the most about Sketchfab is its visualization quality when producing 3D models, whether it is for your work or not. It has also a wide range of assets you need to produce the model you envision.

Cons:

Sketchfab has its own limitations however, especially when using it too frequently.

Tyler
Student in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

3D Tool

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: A great way to get a lot of great models but not super useful for my applications.

Pros:

It has a huge selection of 3D models that you can use for a variety of things. I use them generally for engineering purposes.

Cons:

Being an engineer, a lot of the models weren't useful for me. Most of the models are for AR, VR, videos, games, etc. Great program though.

Max
Infographiste 3D in France
Graphic Design, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Un viewer/studio facilitant

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Sketchfab est lié à beaucoup d'autres logiciels de créations, ce qui permet des imports/exports directs depuis ceux-ci. Cela facilite grandement le travail lors des links de textures ou de modèles. Son drag and drop est aussi un outil incontournable!

Cons:

Son système de recherche est néanmoins son point faible, pas de badge pour le système de filtre de recherche. Tous les types artistiques sont mélangés lors d'une recherche d'un objet en particulier.

Max
Creator in France
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Meilleur site de stockage et partage de ressource 3D

5.0 last year

Pros:

C’est une plateforme qui permet le stockage et le partage de modele 3D d’une simplicité et de manière très intuitive, je l’adore. Me permet aussi de chercher et telecharger des modèles 3D de la communauté pour certains de mes projets

Cons:

Différents plans de tarification avec différentes fonctionnalités supplémentaire suivant le plan choisi. Si version gratuite, certaines fonctionnalités essentielles sont toutefois payante, dommage