Microsoft Power BI Reviews

4.6 (1,333) Write a Review!

About Microsoft Power BI

A suite of business intelligence and analytics with reporting, data preparation, visualization, and analytics tools.

Learn more about Microsoft Power BI

Pros:

The biggest positive that Power BI has going for it is that it was included as part of my organization's O365 subscription.

Cons:

The UI is clunky, the data model is not very intuitive to set up, performance is slow, especially compared to other tools. No build in box and whisker plots was a huge downside too.

Microsoft Power BI ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

Microsoft Power BI has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 1,333 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Microsoft Power BI before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (1,333)

Matthew
Matthew
CEO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Solid option for Business Intelligence

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

WAY cheaper than Tableau, and it does a fine job. And being part of Microsoft, it's a more stable company than Domo. A strong data analyst can arm powerful dashboards using this product.

Cons:

I wish their graphs and charts had more aesthetic options.

Nikhil
Business Analyst in US
Education Management, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Power BI - A platform above the rest

4.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Power BI is a valuable tool for data modeling in addition to being a visualization tool. Here, two or more tables must be joined while taking into account their cardinality. Power Bi gives us the ability to link a variety of sources, including live data warehouses and massive data lakes, to import our data. It also provides us with the option to export the dashboards through PowerPoint. Ad hoc reporting within the user hierarchy is essential to a business analyst's role in order to deliver findings to C-suite executives and decision-makers. The platform speeds up execution compared to other visualization tools because of how simple it is to use. The way everything is set out in Power BI makes it easy for the users to understand which data type fits which visualization and how it will affect the way it is perceived. The formatting available is also simple to understand and locate. KPI monitoring is extremely important and directly proportional to the setup in Power BI. Compared to Tableau I feel Power BI has a big edge.

Cons:

I have switched to this product from another one and prefer this. I believe this is the best visualization tool in the market right now.

Osama
Customer services in Egypt
Financial Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Power BI is the best

3.0 last month New

Pros:

He is super easy and useful and has a very good functions

Cons:

customer services is good but should be better

Federico
Federico
CFO in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great tool for Data Analysis and Dashboards

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: My overall experience is great, using it to compile, perform ETL, prepare reports and create Dashboards is simply powerful.

Pros:

This is a great tool that integrates perfectly with Microsoft Excel (they are from the same family) it really makes life easy. Another great feature is the possibility to connect with a wide variety of sources such as Google Analytics, Facebook, SQL, data files, cloud files, and the list goes on. Free to use and very affordable price. Finally their visualization features are also impressive.

Cons:

Like any other tool, we found a high amount of the time required to train and master it, when you try to go beyond create reports, you would need to learn about additional tools like Gateways and Report Server. In addition, their language DAX is not the easiest language to work with, but nothing some training and research can't solve.

Babita
Assistant Manager in India
Management Consulting, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Highly recommended intelligence and analytics tool for businesses and professionals !

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Absolutely great experience so far. One stop solution for all our data analysis need with speed and accuracy. Easier to install and can be deployed anywhere, anytime. It functions with great accuracy and precision. Highly valuable tool for business analysts and businesses with big data and predictive modeling.

Pros:

Easy to operate and understand. The application is highly advanced and provide high level advanced business analytics with huge utilities. The dashboard is interactive and is not boring at all. The business insights from data analysis is of great use and has wide business utilities. Server is good enough to manage any kind of data load due to which no lag or no slow down of system is observed. Correct and accurate analytics helps in driving accurate business decision making.

Cons:

No problem. One of the best analytics and business intelligence tool in current era. Highly dynamic with wide features and numerous utilities. The tool is versatile and stable to function across any kind of business environment. It integrates well with any kind of other dashboards or other IT platform . Pulling and pushing of data is instant and accurate through Power Bi. No hassle or problem at all.

Warren
General Manager in UK
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Power BI For Business

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: PowerBI was easy to start to use, and you can expand with it as you go. It really can be as Indepth as the time you're willing to put in.

Pros:

The ease of use and wide range of data sources is fantastic, and allows for complete customisation.

Cons:

Unless you're willing to pay the premium license, unfortunately you are restricted to a maximum of data refreshing every hour.

Satya
Data Scientist in India
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Power BI, widely used Tool

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Concluding or summing it all up, I think this is by far the most convenient tool out there for performing various things such as extract data from different sources, clean, visualize, create colorful dashboards and reports. All in all, a great way to present what we have to say in words. With the use of Artificial Intelligence too, its clever enough to handle certain tasks really well.

Pros:

Most of what I like about this is the outcomes of it, it is simply brilliant as to how we get such clarity on insights with this tool. This can make businesses take the correct decisions that drives them into good decision making that profits them. A one stop BI solution tool.

Cons:

While creating complex relationships among data, it can be a little tedious to do it because if there are multiple links amongst the tables/data, POWER BI cannot handle them quite well at times. The factor of modeling the data in the right way comes in picture.

Aniket
Student Researcher in India
Research, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The Ultimate Data Visualization and Analysis Tool

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Power BI is a powerful and popular tool, it may not be the best fit for everyone, depending on their needs and budget. Power BI is a powerful and flexible tool for data visualization and analysis that is widely used by businesses and organizations of all sizes. Its ability to connect to a wide range of data sources, and to collaborate and share insights with others, make it a valuable tool for anyone working with data.

Pros:

One of the best features of Microsoft Power BI is its ability to quickly and easily connect to a wide variety of data sources, including Excel spreadsheets, databases, cloud services, and online services. Power BI can pull data from these sources, process it, and visualize it in a variety of ways, including interactive charts, graphs, and dashboards.

Cons:

Power BI can be complex and overwhelming to learn, especially for those who are new to data visualization and analysis. Power BI includes a wide range of features and tools, and it can take some time and effort to become proficient in using them all.

Verified Reviewer
Assistant Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great for data visualization, okay for data analysis

5.0 last month New

Comments: Power BI has been really helpful to track the overall sales and create reports for the same which can be sent to respective people.

Pros:

It is one of the best app to visualize a data set with easy-to-understand templates.

Cons:

As there are great tools on power BI to visualize a data set, I feel like there is a huge absence of tools to analyze the same. We have to filter out the data set from third-party software and then feed them onto power BI.

Ryan
Ryan
Marketing Analytics Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

PowerBI is fine but isn't my favorite BI tool

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: I liked the tool but out of all the BI tools available in the market, I wouldn't reach for this one first.

Pros:

In my industry, data privacy is a really big priority so most people who needed data had very limited access to it. We used PowerBI to create a single source of truth for data and reporting needs and it did limit the amount of work that the analytics team spent creating custom reports because many questions could be answered using the dashboards we created here.

Cons:

I was not impressed with the filters in PowerBI. This might seem like a really small detail but the fact that I couldn't figure out how to make the filters update when another filter was used bugged me. For example, say your company manages two websites with a variety of pages within each website. After I filter the report for one of my websites, I want the page filter to also remove all of the pages from the filtered website. Doing this in PowerBI was not intuitive and that hurt my efficiency

Deepak
BI and AI Director in Poland
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The visualization and analytics product that is constantly evolving - for the better

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: With Power BI we identify patterns, issues and opportunities in sales, marketing, operations, supply chain, people management and finance data. The ways to look at the data and the drilling capabilities make this a wonderful tool

Pros:

1. Improves with new releases every two weeks 2. Powerful insight management 3. Integration with MS products 4. Online forums and learning zones

Cons:

1. Not as intuitive as packaged applications, but getting there 2. Not a good IDE for Python / R 3. Connectors to social media need to be improved

Utkarsh
Utkarsh
Power BI Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

How Powerful is Power BI ?

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I am a Power BI Developer and have delivered many dashboards to the client in Power BI. Its Better than other Products. Its Save my lot of time by using Power BI various features. From Importing the Data to Publishing ,Its a easier platform I would suggest you to use. It contains the most trending Visuals in the market that a every developer wants.

Pros:

1)Its Easy to use, Provides a Reliable user interface . 2)Its Time efficient as most of the work Power BI does it even before you know. 3)Integration to the third party visuals and creating its own market place have already took it way further than other products. 4)A User can customize its design and can easily give the dashboard access to the public. 5)It contains the most trending Visuals in the market.

Cons:

1)Software is reliable on Latest Machines. 2)Old machines then need to be upgraded(OS, RAM) to use this software smoothly. 3) Multiple Dashboards can hang the entire system.

Verified Reviewer
Project Controls Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

New to Power BI but love it

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall I love the software and would highly recommend it. Not only does it help visualize data but also helps to keep it updated in real time with the ability to connect to a server. The automation of pulling the data on a schedule and importing it directly into the visualizations solved a huge problem for our company.

Pros:

I love how easy it is to make really powerful visualizations. The ease of use in order to basic visualizations is similar to Pivot tables in Excel. If you have a basic understanding of Pivot tables you will be able to open the software and get straight to visualizing. Once you take a deeper dive into the queries and data transformations you will uncover an entirely new world of analysis.

Cons:

The software is easy to use for basic functions but when you get into more detail it can be difficult. It is also really hard to share your work with someone that does not pay for the service. Without paying for a Power Bi Pro account it is basically impossible to share the visualizations that you have created. Also, the Arc GIS feature only works within the software. If you try to post a map visualization to a website through an embed it doesn't work.

MUHAMMAD
Database Administrator/ Data Analysit in Pakistan
Automotive, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Business Intelligence Tool Ever!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Great experience and great tool to experience has a very easy interface and can make dashboards easily.

Pros:

Microsoft PowerBI is the most easy tool to use, an non IT personnel and not a well trained personnel can easily use this tool. This tool has an interactive Graphical user interface and if you have any problem you can just google it.

Cons:

The frequent update sometimes will be much tricky to handle as if you have the newest version of the desktop and the old version of desktop so it may be tricky and the file may not upload to the server.

Ck
Software Architect in US
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Powerful BI tool

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

If you have worked with Office tools, you would grasp the basic functionality very quickly. It's very user-friendly. The power comes from a plethora of data source connectors that it provides out of the box. I am also impressed by its data visualization capabilities. It also integrates well with other Microsoft products. Best of all - it's free for most use cases. The cloud version offers a lot more options for storage and collaboration at a modest price. It's also easy to switch between the desktop and cloud versions.

Cons:

The desktop app can be sluggish at times, especially if you are dealing with large and varied data sets. Also, to utilize its more powerful features, you need to have a greater learning curve than competing products. Cloud integrations are also not very easy to configure and connections to on-prem and SaaS data sources can be challenging.

Josh
Data Coordinator in UK
Building Materials, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Flexible, inovative reporting software

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We have been using Power BI as a business for nearly 2 years now and it has spread to have reports used in pretty much every department, it still feels like there is a lot more we can get about it and we're constantly exploring new ways to use our data

Pros:

It's a great way to link data together from multiple sources and create meaningful reports that would be difficult or impossible to put together in something like Excel. It's also very user friendly once past the initial learning curve

Cons:

As with a lot of Microsoft products, direct customer support is lacking and you likely have to rely on other users in forums to help you with any issues/queries

Robert
Lead Developer in US
Construction, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Enterprise Analytics - with some gotchas

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We're using this as our enterprise analytics platform to supplement paginated reports in SSRS/PBIRS. Aside from the wrinkles mentioned, it's been a solid performer. If there was a little more "admin" capabilities around subscriptions and permissions, it'd be a home run.

Pros:

Near-constant updates and feature additions. It's exceptionally easy to throw together a Power BI Report across a bunch of different data sources and then share it with 1 or 100 people. Tons of connectivity support - if you have data somewhere it can *probably* read it into a model for consumption. The "front end" development is pretty straightforward with the ability to get very fancy with custom visuals - although you need to be a real developer to build those yourself.

Cons:

It feels like there are some (currently) missing enterprise features. We still haven't really figured out a holistic way of managing both the enterprise stuff, as well as the "power user" self service stuff that gets published around the org. To Microsoft's credit, there are pretty much monthly releases that add ne functionality and features. Some things I'd like to see include more API support and additional sources like Box, perhaps.

Verified Reviewer
Charity Njogu in Kenya
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Power BI ; Affordable Data Visualization Tool

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It is an affordable software that enables us to consolidate our data, generate reports while keeping track of all the key performance indicators.

Pros:

It is a good data analytics and visualization software and its ability to import data from multiples sources is a great feature. What I like about Power BI is that from the dashboard, we are able to get a great overview of the organization including the market analysis, the status of our current deals, track the performance of each team member, view the gross income and company financials. The ability to filter to the specific metric we are interested in is an amazing feature. It enables us to review our marketing expenses and also see how each team member's activities contribute to the bottom line. It is also easy to forecast cash inflows and outflows. Power BI makes it possible to customize the visualizations and it also has the option to upload and view data from Excel. Frequent upgrades from Microsoft keep Power BI functioning well. It has both freemium and premium versions. You can try it out and have a feel of the software before you choose to purchase it.

Cons:

It can be a bit complex due to the fact that it is a collection of various tools and you have to learn what each component does and how it relates to the rest of the structure. Working with large data sets causes lags especially when on the free version. The free version has very limited features and doesn't give you the true performance capability of the software. This can however be solved by upgrading to Pro or Premium. The user interface is a bit crowded with too many icons which hinders a clear view of the dashboard.

Dan
CTO in US
Human Resources, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The best gets better

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It's easily the most feature rich overall. Other products like Tableau and Qlik have their advantages, but I'm hard pressed to find much fault with Power BI, other than the premium licenses being ridiculously expensive. The word is Microsoft is addressing that issue later in 2020/2021.

Pros:

The features and ease of creating visualizations are top notch. Also integration with all other Microsoft products as well as pre-built connectors to many of the most popular software is hard to beat.

Cons:

There are many features not available unless you pay for expensive premium capacity.

Marco
Marketing Manager in Portugal
Food & Beverages, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best analytics software in market

5.0 last year

Comments: Nowadays we use PowerBI to work with all data from our companies.

Pros:

It is the best analytics software to work with large volume of data. It allows to connect to many data fonts.

Cons:

It is not easy to bring others to work with the software mostly to use DAX.

Verified Reviewer
Analyst in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

BI tool with the coolest features

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I have been using PowerBI from the past 3 years and have never looked back. It has helped me as an analyst to draw my clients into my stories. The automation aspect of PowerBI is hard to ignore. I have shared my dashboards and collaborated with teams which was a nightmare before. I love the addition of new features resulting from a dedicate community of PowerBI users (with very responsive Microsoft developers jumping in to solve issues). Mobile version of PowerBI is convenient and a hit with clients.

Pros:

I love everything about PowerBI! I like to think of it as a revamped version of MS Excel but with features that exceed all expectations. PowerBI lets you create data models, use DAX to manipulate and summarise and finally display these summaries in fancy (yet easy to understand) visualisations. The best feature might however be the ability to share and collaborate on dashboards. PowerBI can take data from almost all possible sources - text, excel, SQL databases etc etc and integrate it all together to form dashboards that can be shared online in the form of webpages as well as workspaces.

Cons:

There is absolutely nothing to dislike about PowerBI. The free version of PowerBI is a great learning tool and lets you accomplish almost all your reporting tasks while the paid version lets you automate all your reporting.

Verified Reviewer
Online Community Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Power BI Helps You Tell the Story of Your Data

5.0 last year

Comments: I love Power BI. The time and energy I've invested in learning it have been well worth it.

Pros:

Once you get your data in, within just a few moments of looking around or following a tutorial, you can see how easy it is to shape, slice, and show your data in a huge variety of ways. It takes seconds to just try out a visualization and see if it works for you. It takes just a few seconds more to slot in all the data fields you want in that visualization. Don't like something? Drag it back out or click an X, no big deal! Your confidence will grow the more you spend time in the platform, and soon you'll be arranging informative, visually-pleasing dashboards that tell the story of your data.

Cons:

I would prefer that individuals not directly involved in Power BI didn't have to have a Pro license just to view/do what I'd consider to be still Basic tier things. And at first, figuring out where/how to get the data into Power BI can be a learning curve. Lastly, it's not a true upload of data into Power BI as if I move, rename, or delete the source file that is still on my computer, Power BI Desktop can't pull up the report that I'd previously created from it.

Carlos
CEO in Ecuador
Primary/Secondary Education, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Power Bi its changing the way we interact with data, information and decision making

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Data is the new petroleum, Information is the new combustible; and Power BI will boost this challenging new world of information and analysis.

Pros:

For the last 30 years I have been using Excel to work with Tables, Filters, Functions, Formulas, Conditional formatting, Graphs, Pivot tables, Segmentation and VBA to register data and analyze information. That was great. But now, with the huge amount of data, available from many sources and Excel limitations, we needed something more robust and Microsoft launched Power BI. I have been using it for more than a year. Now I don’t use pivot tables and graphs for analysis anymore, I use Power BI visualizations to represent and summarize the data. With it’s impressive tools including geolocalization, I have found more effective ways to convert, transform, represent, analyze and make better decisions and planning with Power BI. It’s ecosystem composed of Power Bi Desktop, Power BI Services (in the cloud) and Power Bi apps, has allowed me to find very innovative and productive ways to monitor the performance of my business and improve communication with my clients

Cons:

It is in continuous development. The first week of each month, Microsoft releases a new version of Power Bi, so we have to keep us updated to use the program efficiently. But the pros outweigh the cons.

Luis
Luis
Senior Financial Analyst in Costa Rica
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Using Power BI in the financial sector

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, it has been able to elevate the quality of the products developed in my team, it has brought more visibility of the whole financial spectrum under my scope as well as internal controls. The software solves many of the managerial necessities which are not met with the standard reporting although it sacrifices some flexibility and can potentially lead to inefficiencies if users are not properly trained.

Pros:

The software let you build professional dashboards which are often well received during senior management meetings where it´s better to have the most relevant figures at hand instead of a detailed but confusing presentation, employees from higher positions are interested in executive summaries than can help make informed decisions faster.

Cons:

Although it supposedly helps teams automate manual processes, the software does require the user to spend large amounts of time learning how to use it, processing data, building visuals, maintaining the dashboards and every data source connected. Currently, visuals are not as flexible as other Microsoft products as Excel so it has limited customization capabilities.

Verified Reviewer
Process Engineer in Chile
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Powerful like its name

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: This software has allowed me to take my ETL skills to a higher level, it has allowed me to manage and transmit information more effectively and efficiently. The online functionality for automatic data updates has allowed me to be more efficient in reports that many people must view and that must always be updated so that any user has the most recent information no matter when this is necessary. Many times I use the software even when I don't have to make visual reports, only as a data transformation tool because it is very fast, simple and capable of supporting large quantities with an excellent response time.

Pros:

What I like the most is that it allows you to take your graphics to another level of professionalism, you can customize each element, in addition to the store where developers have included creations of other different or more elaborate visualizations than those that the software natively includes, which allows you to recreate the presentation of your data as you imagined. It is also excellent all the integrations you can do with systems, the cloud, etc. The data transformation module I find wonderful how fast it is, even with large amounts of information.

Cons:

What I like least is the color palette, I think that sometimes it is very limited, especially when they must be specific corporate colors, the RGB scale is necessary. It also bothers me a bit how slow it is to load specifically the desktop version, but this I can understand because I suppose it depends on the amount of data connected.