15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

Microsoft Power BI Reviews

4.6 (1,678) Write a Review!

About Microsoft Power BI

Power BI is a unified, scalable platform for self-service and enterprise business intelligence (BI).

Learn more about Microsoft Power BI

Pros:

The biggest positive that Power BI has going for it is that it was included as part of my organization's O365 subscription.

Cons:

The UI is clunky, the data model is not very intuitive to set up, performance is slow, especially compared to other tools. No build in box and whisker plots was a huge downside too.

Microsoft Power BI ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

Microsoft Power BI has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 1,678 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Microsoft Power BI before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (1,678)

Utkarsh
Utkarsh
Power BI Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

How Powerful is Power BI ?

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I am a Power BI Developer and have delivered many dashboards to the client in Power BI. Its Better than other Products. Its Save my lot of time by using Power BI various features. From Importing the Data to Publishing ,Its a easier platform I would suggest you to use. It contains the most trending Visuals in the market that a every developer wants.

Pros:

1)Its Easy to use, Provides a Reliable user interface . 2)Its Time efficient as most of the work Power BI does it even before you know. 3)Integration to the third party visuals and creating its own market place have already took it way further than other products. 4)A User can customize its design and can easily give the dashboard access to the public. 5)It contains the most trending Visuals in the market.

Cons:

1)Software is reliable on Latest Machines. 2)Old machines then need to be upgraded(OS, RAM) to use this software smoothly. 3) Multiple Dashboards can hang the entire system.

Federico
Federico
CFO in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great tool for Data Analysis and Dashboards

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience is great, using it to compile, perform ETL, prepare reports and create Dashboards is simply powerful.

Pros:

This is a great tool that integrates perfectly with Microsoft Excel (they are from the same family) it really makes life easy. Another great feature is the possibility to connect with a wide variety of sources such as Google Analytics, Facebook, SQL, data files, cloud files, and the list goes on. Free to use and very affordable price. Finally their visualization features are also impressive.

Cons:

Like any other tool, we found a high amount of the time required to train and master it, when you try to go beyond create reports, you would need to learn about additional tools like Gateways and Report Server. In addition, their language DAX is not the easiest language to work with, but nothing some training and research can't solve.

Manmadharaj
Assistant Manager in India
Pharmaceuticals, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

MSBI is master of businiess intelligence

5.0 last month New

Comments: There is plenty of documentation available online from creating visuals to advance functions using measures and It is easy enough for a non-developer to use and turn a mess of data into an intelligent and understandable story.

Pros:

Microsoft Power BI is a wonderful cloud-based business intelligence tool that helps us to visualize data from multiple sources. As per my view, it turns ugly numbers into amazing reports and visualizations and it doesn't require any prior high programming or technical knowledge.

Cons:

We may experience some performance degrade when we work are working with big dataset. No. of data refresh is limited per day!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Management Consulting, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

A pretty reporting tool for some (!) Microsoft Products, but pretty much useless outside of the Microsoft Landscape

2.0 7 years ago

Comments: In light of the hype around this "Tableau destroyer" in recent months, I want to highlight some fundamental flaws in data connectivity and reports maintenance of Power BI, which the Product Team so far has turned down as "not in scope". In practice, though, this renders Power BI pretty useless for getting dara from any 3rd party products, in the cloud in particular. This review reflects Power BI as of mid March 2017. I have gathered my knowledge from testing, community interaction and a dozen tickets with Power BI Pro Support. The focus lies on getting data via Web Services, much aligned with Microsoft’s «Cloud First» Strategy. 1) Power BI Online is in the cloud, but does not allow for HTTP calls. Power BI Desktop allows for HTTP calls, but only with static authentication parameters.
First of all, a distinction needs to be made between Power BI Online and Power BI Desktop. While Power BI Online is the "master" that ultimately allows you to share and publish your reports, user experience in design is diminished by HTML limitations (you may know from Word or Excel Online) and more importantly, data connectivity (Get Data) is limited to SQL Servers on Azure and about 20 to 30 plugins from 3rd party solutions at present. Take note that on Power BI Online, you cannot select or manage your Gateways, either.
This brings the attention to the Power BI Desktop client. Updated every one to two months, the Desktop client brings data connectors necessary to connect to a larger number of data sources.
With the Web connector, HTTP calls been configured, although with just static headers and parameters and Basic and Windows authentication only. Importantly, though, Power BI Desktop includes Microsoft Power Query, which you may know from Excel 2016 already. With M Scripts, you can script and customise in many ways and most interestingly, convert it into table form quickly. This is where Power Query shines. However, Power Query does not seem to call on methods for nonces and timestamps required in token based authentication (OAuth for example). (Should this be incorrect, please please let me know. I have been browsing the fora and nagging Support too long already.)
What’s really amusing here is that Microsoft Azure uses OAuth 2.0 themselves. So, you cannot run any reporting on Microsoft’s Azure AD or Resource Manager database for example, a notorious blackbox. Back to Powershell. (Power BI does not accept Powershell feeds.)
In short, while Power BI Online does not allow to get any data out of the web (except for those 20 to 30 plugins, mostly Microsoft Products), Power BI Desktop allows for Web calls, but only with static parameters and thus, basically with your user credentials.
That’s a big limitation in Data Connectivity.
2) With Power BI Online being the master, the HTTP calls cannot be scheduled or refreshed in the cloud. Now that you have configured your HTTP call (with risky user credentials), you want to publish your report and have it refreshed on a scheduled basis, say every day.
Tough luck.
While you can publish your Report to Power BI Online and subsequently a broader audience, it’s a static image of your Desktop data. You cannot schedule a data refresh in Power BI Online (because there is no Web feature anyway) and you cannot even refresh the data manually as this requires republishing the Report anew.
You risk your management looking at outdated data whenever you forgot to republish your report and sneak the new URL into your dashboards and iframes.
3) The On-Premises Data Gateway is pretty useless for Web Services.
Yes, there is the On-Premises Data Gateway. Yes, you can configure Web Services in the gateway, although it’s pretty ironic to route web calls via on-premises infrastructure.
But did you ever try it? That is, you cannot specify any HTTP headers fort he calls at all, lest writing a Power Query script. And thus, we are back at authentication via Basic and Windows only and writing REST scripts in the data source for every single HTTP call because with no Headers and Body, all parameters need to be coded in the URI.
Will you do that?
At the end of the day, Power BI is Microsoft's long overdue acknowledgement that Excel and some Dynamics Reports do not cut it for Reporting purposes. Indeed, for reporting on SQL Server, Dynamics 365 (if you want to afford it), and Excel and Access databases stored in your OneDrive, Microsoft Power BI does a neat job. However, as soon as you want to integrate with 3rd party systems or via web services in particular, Power BI presents so many limitations in authentication, Header and Body configuration, scripting, and scheduling that you need to configure an entire SQL Server environment (on Azure or On-Premises via feature poor Gateway) and write a SQL CRL interface or buy Azure Data Factory to get that data in. For some pretty reports, do you really want to buy and customise all that BI infrastructure on Azure? My advice to Microsoft: Work on Data Connectivity, especially in Power BI Online, rather than more visuals for those limited data sources. Your Microsoft clients will consider Power BI a given for the utter lack of reporting in Office 365, Azure, or Dynamics 365 (yes, pushing it there).
My advice to Users: If the connectors are not listed, look somewhere else. (And make sure it’s your use case that is listed. Power BI announced an Azure AD connector, but rather than reporting on Users, Groups, or Enterprise Apps, you can only see on a nice map where the last logins happened.)
Is it a Tableau destroyer? No. It’s a long overdue acknowledgement for necessary reporting with the potential of being a solid Business Intelligence solution ONCE focus comes to lie more on data.

Pros:

pretty visuals Power Query On-premises Data Gateway responsible Pro Support

Cons:

lack of data sources pretty useless for 3rd Party Web Sources

Osman
Marketing Support Manager in Honduras
E-Learning, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Share important information through Power BI

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

How easy it is to connect with different systems, to create dashboards, limit who can see specific data and how everything can be updated in real time.

Cons:

I would say the different cost to have the cloud version.

Martha
CEO in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Microsoft Power BI review

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Easy squeezy. Very easy to implement. Very easy to teach my team. I rather like it.

Cons:

It is not so much about not liking MSFT Power BI. There are just. There are many options on the market.

Hosam
People Analytics. in Egypt
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best self-service business analytical tool.

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Microsoft Power BI helps me turn raw data into reports and actionable insights as I pull data from various sources, including our local files using the desktop version and online data via the Azure SQL database service. I can transform this data to build interactive reports and dashboards, which I then embed into our internal Power App to visually communicate key metrics and make them available to analytics teams and across the company. I connect Power BI directly to our Azure SQL database and virtual machines to get a live view of data that are important to our business operations. My team and I use DAX and SQL for on-the-fly data queries and analysis to generate performance reports on employees, turnover, and other key HR metrics.

Pros:

Microsoft Power BI is an easy-to-use analytical tool that provides a convenient self-service data reporting and visualization solution for the average and non-technical business users. The desktop app and online service support data extraction, transformation, and visualization from various file types and offer built-in Power Platform integrations. The web service's rich AppSource marketplace provides apps and templates that help users design better dashboards more efficiently. Power BI's well-organized navigation menus make it seamless to integrate with other Microsoft solutions like Azure SQL database, virtual machines, and various Fabric Platform services for data science and data warehousing workflows. The Power BI community forums and user tutorials are helpful for new and experienced users alike.

Cons:

Managing user permissions can become a bit complex when dealing with a large number of users and varying report access levels within the same workgroup and department. Also, the increasing number of options available in the user interface can sometimes feel overwhelming.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

My Review of Microsoft Power BI

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

I like the fact that it gives me more features to be more creative in my reports and data analysis compared to other software.

Cons:

I do not dislike anything about this software

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Efficient but difficult to set-up

4.0 2 months ago

Comments: Overall, this tool is really great. It is super effective if it is used and set-up properly. If the right people operate the dashboards and pull the data in, it can be used very well and safe a project a lot of time for reporting and communication internally.

Pros:

I like the ability to pull data from multiple sources.

Cons:

It is truly difficult to set it up. It is not intuitive.

Asto
Owner in India
Market Research, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

I Suggested Microsoft Power BI Everyone

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Power BI has changed the way we used to visualise data ! It has saved us countless working hours and given so many dashboards for enhanced productivity which has resulted in revenue boost

Pros:

What I like most about Microsoft Power BI is its comprehensive suite of features that streamline the entire data analysis process, from data integration to visualization and advanced analytics. Its user-friendly interface, extensive connectivity options, and robust capabilities empower users to derive valuable insights and make data-driven decisions effectively.

Cons:

While Power BI offers extensive capabilities, its pricing structure can be complex, and some advanced features may require additional licenses, potentially limiting access for smaller organizations or individual users.

Prabhu
associate project in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Simple and highly customizable

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: 1. Dax query is highly reliable when comes to slice and dice the granular level data based on time trend.
2. Embedded report and dashboard in any kind of business applications easily and it becomes part of it.

Pros:

1. Free desktop tool for development(Power BI Desktop) and simple installation process. 2. Almost, we can connect many source to fetch the data. Ex csv,web,excel,sql,odbc etc.., 3. Specialized ETL(Extract,transform,load) to clean the raw unstructured data into structured data with help of Power Query. 4. Powerful DAX query to customized measure and calculated column to get desirable business metrics and KPIs. 5. Top standard visuals, Custom visuals(visual market) and also we can create our own visuals using reactjs. 6. Publish in cloud(azure) to view report anywhere in the world with help Power BI service. 7. High availability and low latency to view report and dashboard with help of xVelocity engine. 8. Anyone can easily create basic charts with structured data.

Cons:

1. Power BI Desktop consumes a huge amount of resource in system. 2. Service monitoring increases for larger report consumers. 3. While dealing with an enormous volume of data, constant optimization takes place.

Babita
Assistant Manager in India
Management Consulting, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Highly recommended intelligence and analytics tool for businesses and professionals !

4.0 last year

Comments: Absolutely great experience so far. One stop solution for all our data analysis need with speed and accuracy. Easier to install and can be deployed anywhere, anytime. It functions with great accuracy and precision. Highly valuable tool for business analysts and businesses with big data and predictive modeling.

Pros:

Easy to operate and understand. The application is highly advanced and provide high level advanced business analytics with huge utilities. The dashboard is interactive and is not boring at all. The business insights from data analysis is of great use and has wide business utilities. Server is good enough to manage any kind of data load due to which no lag or no slow down of system is observed. Correct and accurate analytics helps in driving accurate business decision making.

Cons:

No problem. One of the best analytics and business intelligence tool in current era. Highly dynamic with wide features and numerous utilities. The tool is versatile and stable to function across any kind of business environment. It integrates well with any kind of other dashboards or other IT platform . Pulling and pushing of data is instant and accurate through Power Bi. No hassle or problem at all.

MUHAMMAD
Database Administrator/ Data Analysit in Pakistan
Automotive, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Business Intelligence Tool Ever!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Great experience and great tool to experience has a very easy interface and can make dashboards easily.

Pros:

Microsoft PowerBI is the most easy tool to use, an non IT personnel and not a well trained personnel can easily use this tool. This tool has an interactive Graphical user interface and if you have any problem you can just google it.

Cons:

The frequent update sometimes will be much tricky to handle as if you have the newest version of the desktop and the old version of desktop so it may be tricky and the file may not upload to the server.

Satbir
Satbir
Analyst in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Self Service BI Solution to start with

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Dashboard, Reports, Data extraction/Transformations from websites, PDF's and other sources, transformations and also as an alternative to vba)

Pros:

Capability to Extract, Transform data at the desktop level in a single package. (Others solutions like have Data transformation feature inbuilt)

Cons:

On publishing your report online, it gets slightly cumbersome to configure through (like configuring gateways for auto-refresh)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

It brings the power of BI down to non-tech users

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: My job is to collect and process all sorts of data in my organization and present them to the highest management committee for policy level decision making. We are heavily dependent on MS Excel for this. I handle excel worksheets with thousands of entries every day. A year ago, I tried Power BI to see whether it can help me in my job or not. And i am hooked till now. I am most impressed with the processing power of Power BI. Huge worksheets can be processed very fast using Power BI. It also updates the reports automatically which improves my productivity significantly.

Pros:

1. Ease of Use: Unlike other BI software’s, Power BI's interface is friendlier especially to MS Excel users. You will not feel overwhelmed rather it will look familiar. 2. Powerful engine: Users who need to tackle very large datasets with thousands of entries know that MS excel gets horribly slow processing such a large file. Power BI is a God sent for these users. Its processing engine is super-fast and the speed is more noticeable when you let it handle such large datasets. 3. Excellent data presentation tools: For regular MS Excel users Power BI is a PowerPivot on steroid but a lot smarter one. Even those users who are not familiar with the complexities of PowerPivot feels less intimidated by its simple and user friendly design. 4. User friendly but powerful DAX language: To write formulas you have to use DAX language in Power BI which in my opinion is a fancy name of just natural language formula writing. However, DAX is super easy to learn and pretty much intuitive but at the same time very much powerful. 5. Schedule refresh option: Power BI has an option to auto update the report at fixed interval of time which is very helpful if you need to prepare and submit reports weekly or monthly. 6. Option to control users of the report: In Power BI you can share your reports with other users and also control how much of the report can they see. If you want you can allow only a part of the report to be seen by some user which is super convenient.

Cons:

Honestly, in my opinion, Power BI is by far the best software made by Microsoft. But considering I am a heavy user of MS Excel, it is easier to me. I think learning curve of Power BI for a beginner with no prior skill in MS Excel will be a bit steep. Then again, BI is a complex thing itself. So master any kind of BI software will be tricky by its own merit.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Power BI ; Affordable Data Visualization Tool

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It is an affordable software that enables us to consolidate our data, generate reports while keeping track of all the key performance indicators.

Pros:

It is a good data analytics and visualization software and its ability to import data from multiples sources is a great feature. What I like about Power BI is that from the dashboard, we are able to get a great overview of the organization including the market analysis, the status of our current deals, track the performance of each team member, view the gross income and company financials. The ability to filter to the specific metric we are interested in is an amazing feature. It enables us to review our marketing expenses and also see how each team member's activities contribute to the bottom line. It is also easy to forecast cash inflows and outflows. Power BI makes it possible to customize the visualizations and it also has the option to upload and view data from Excel. Frequent upgrades from Microsoft keep Power BI functioning well. It has both freemium and premium versions. You can try it out and have a feel of the software before you choose to purchase it.

Cons:

It can be a bit complex due to the fact that it is a collection of various tools and you have to learn what each component does and how it relates to the rest of the structure. Working with large data sets causes lags especially when on the free version. The free version has very limited features and doesn't give you the true performance capability of the software. This can however be solved by upgrading to Pro or Premium. The user interface is a bit crowded with too many icons which hinders a clear view of the dashboard.

Gary
IT Manager in UK
Building Materials, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very Powerful but not for the faint hearted

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: We have been rolling it out throughout the company over the past 1.5 years. It's been a journey with highs and lows but the overall result is amazing.

Pros:

It has such a broad set of features and possibilities. It's customisation abilities and close relationship with the power platform makes it a very useful tool.

Cons:

Complexity - To make it sing and dance you need dedicated skills due to the size and complexity of the product. We have someone in-house full time working on PBI. I'm often asked by smaller teams if they should use it and I often advise against it unless they have the skills internally to make it work. Can be difficult to find reports - For end users, once you have a lot of reports, it can be difficult for them to locate them or to know where to go to get specific data. Updates - MS roll out monthly updates and often make changes to menus and options which doesn't make sense. This can be quite frustrating if your not using the product every week.

Viveka
Associate in India
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Microsoft Power BI

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, Power BI is an excellent tool for data analysis and visualization, and its ease of use and integration with other tools makes more meaningful insights and informed decisions.

Pros:

Microsoft Power BI is a powerful cloud-based business intelligence tool that helps us to visualize data from multiple sources. And it is a user-friendly tool that offers drag-and-drop features and self-service capabilities. The most appealing aspect is it provides a wide range of visualizations, including charts, graphs, and maps that helps the users to understand and explore the data easily. In addition, we can also use DAX and Power Query in Power BI to perform complex calculations and analysis of the data to create insightful reports. Along with that integration is fantastic in Power BI with Microsoft products including Excel, Sharepoint, and Teams, as well as other third-party applications. And the best part is it allows users to share the created reports and dashboards with others, either within an organization or with external stakeholders. The most useful feature of Power BI is we can deploy it on both on-cloud and on-premise platforms.

Cons:

Power Bi has a limit of importing data at a time which is approximately 2 GB of data. To import greater volumes of data we need to extend our free version to a paid version of Power BI. This might be a limitation for users who can't afford to invest in a paid subscription.

Mohammed
Tech. Manager and Software Arch in Jordan
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A really useful tool for us in our quest for the best analysis to find the best solutions.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: When you use Microsoft Power BI, you can automate most periodic reports and reduce the amount of time it takes to prepare those reports. As a result, we have been able to rely on it at all times and use it for a variety of different analysis procedures and duties. It's a great aid in our search for the most accurate solutions.

Pros:

Because of its multiple options and tools for analyzing and organizing data, Microsoft Power BI is software that empowers businesses. Business teams may use it to produce all aspects of business intelligence projects, from the initial concept to the final representation. The platform is user-friendly and can import and export data from a wide range of other apps, making it ideal for people of all skill levels. Data exploration, discovery, and visualization are made easier for non-technical managers with Microsoft Power BI, which allows them to access reports and dashboards without any training. To acquire the best outcomes, everyone involved can work together more closely because the data is saved on the cloud. All Microsoft Office programs, including Excel, can be used to build an interactive data dashboard. Microsoft Power BI may be used to turn an Excel spreadsheet into a database, and PowerPoint can be used to display, store, and share the data.

Cons:

Power BI requires extensive training for all members of the team, but if you have the appropriate skills, it is a superb tool for extracting the most accurate data.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Management Consulting, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

One of the best BI softwares out there

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have created dashboards on project progress, business cases and at times, a personal dashboard of my own assets and savings just to keep track of certain things. I love that PowerBI is easy to use, and has been designed with the end user in mind. However, I would like to have a wider variety of templates to choose from, especially if I am a beginner to the whole business intelligence idea.

Pros:

Having been a user of the full range of Microsoft Office, it was only natural that PowerBI comes to mind when trying to create a live update dashboard. It is extremely easy to use - a plug and play approach comes to mind - and if you had worked with Microsoft Office before, some of the features are very intuitive to use. If the organisation that you are working with uses Microsoft Office, access issues are sorted and it becomes incredibly easy to drive adoption of this dashboard on a day to day basis

Cons:

The design of the dashboard created with PowerBI can be found to be lacking at points, compared to some of the other BI softwares. The templates available seem great, but there aren't as many options as I would like when I am creating a specific type of dashboard.

Joshua
Senior SAP Business One Consultant in Kenya
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Microsoft Power B1 is a Useful Tool in this data driven Digital World of Today

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Overall, this is a great product for data visualization.

Pros:

- Power B1 allows you to pull data from a variety of sources for your analysis. Examples of this sources are Microsoft SQL, Excel, Oracle Database, HANA database, MYSQL database, etc - In my career as a SAP Consultant, Power B1 comes in very handy especially for clients we implement SAP Business one with the SQL Database option. Power B1 helps the decision makers of a company to view their data in easy data visualization objects like KPI's and Dashboards.- The application has a general user friendly interface and many users can easily interact with it.- The fact that it easily integrates with other Microsoft Products like Azure and QL server is a huge plus. - It also offers data cleaning functionalities, helping you to to work with cleaner data for more accurate insights.- You can use Power B1 both on cloud and on premise as per your preference.

Cons:

- There is a little bit of a learning curve involved if you want to get comfortable in deploying more complex features of Power B1 and making maximum use of it.- The license cost of Power B1 may not be viable to everyone who might want to use it.- When dealing with very huge data sets, Power B1 may not be the best option. You might need other more powerful data visualization tools like HANA database.

Caspah
Data Scientist in Kenya
Financial Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Power BI review

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have been using Power Bi for over 2 years now in creating Dashboard for several items including Finance, data, Students and school data and recently I have used it in documenting poll results and Covid-19 cases.

Pros:

Power BI is great especially with data analytics and visualization. This is usually very informative especially to the senior management when creating dashboard and data summaries. For example, Its specifically important in monitoring budget and expenditure data. The most important advantage of Power Bi is how it can easily summarize, transform and visualize data through summaries and dash board reports. In addition Power BI delivers real-time reports especially when linked with production of the data. It both accessible on computer and mobile. It is also very easy to integrate with excel and other data storing softwares.

Cons:

It is somehow technical especially when writing DAX scripts and when linking several tables for relationships. Since its mainly used for Dashboards and visualizations, the presentations can be crowded considering a lot of information is supposed to be squeezed on one page. Power BI also requires complex formulas in DAX which sometimes can give wrong results from expected. It also takes a lot of time to prepare data and create visuals.

Morgana
Ceo in Brazil
Telecommunications, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Powerbi: a good choice but expensive

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: despite the price, in general I like the tool and I see several possibilities to use it even as a statistical tool

Pros:

Powerbi has many possibilities for visualizing data and making reports. it is possible to connect with simple databases and with more complex ones as well. the range of visuals and features make it the ideal tool for a company's kPIs team. the mobile option helps with routines and saves time

Cons:

it is not easy to create the metrics and what is needed is a deeper training so that the Dashboards are smart, fast and functional. the premium license is very expensive and an intermediate license could be made, with fewer features, but which is more affordable for small businesses

Beth W
Beth W
Digital Creator in Kenya
Verified LinkedIn User
Entertainment, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The ultimate best tool for accurate business analytics.

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Microsoft Power BI helps us to run our business efficiently by giving us insights which allows us to understand which areas that are performing well as well as areas which need much of our attention. Moreso, it helps us understand our performance in the market and thereby develop strategies to help us remain competitive in the gaming market.

Pros:

With Microsoft Power BI, we are able to run full analysis on our entire business and this keeps us on the light about how every part and department of the company is performing. The reports we get are easy to read and understand and with the visualization options available like graphs, we get to capture insights easily from them. It has well defined and dynamic security functions which guarantee the security of all our business data by making sure thag we are the only ones with the access to these confidential information.

Cons:

Am yet to experience the downside of Microsoft Power BI and there has been nothing that has ever gone wrong with it.

Njoki
Njoki
Press Machine Operator in Kenya
Verified LinkedIn User
Printing, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Insights you can trust.

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Microsoft Power BI always shows prowess in business data analytics and this has enabled us to achieve a better understanding of our business operations. With the insights we get from Microsoft Power BI, we are able to make informed decisions, plan and do forecasts to prepare ourselves for situations deemed to happen before they do.

Pros:

In data analytics, the insights are only important if one can understand them and for that i like how Microsoft Power BI offers easy to understand data visualization tools which makes it easy to read and understand the insights about the business. It allows easy creation of reports which we use to demonstrate how our business is performing as well as understanding areas in our business which needs improvement. The data analysis tools uses AI and drag and drop technology which makes it easy for anyone to use it for the analysis.

Cons:

Nothing at all from me. Using Microsoft Power BI has been so simple and it has very responsive features.