15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

Viewpoint Spectrum Reviews

About Viewpoint Spectrum

Spectrum is the go-to construction management software for contractors looking to improve profits and streamline project operations.

Learn more about Viewpoint Spectrum

Pros:

Easy to navigate between the tabs. I like that multiple tabs if the same can be opened at the same time.

Cons:

It does not integrate well into our other software, ServiceTrade, which runs our inspection and service department.

Viewpoint Spectrum ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Service
3.5
Features
3.7
Value for Money
3.5

Likelihood to recommend

6.7/10

Viewpoint Spectrum has an overall rating of 3.9 out 5 stars based on 406 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Viewpoint Spectrum before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (406)

Keith
Keith
Inspection & Service Sales in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Viewpoint Spectrum works well for our business

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: I highly recommend Viewpoint Spectrum to construction professionals seeking a reliable and efficient software solution. We use it daily for work orders and then billing customers.

Pros:

The software also offers comprehensive project cost management, including budgeting, change order tracking, and subcontractor management, ensuring that all aspects of a project are carefully monitored and controlled.

Cons:

It does not integrate well into our other software, ServiceTrade, which runs our inspection and service department.

Benjamin
SYSTEM COORDINATOR in Canada
Mining & Metals, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great system for small/med company 1-250 employees

4.0 9 months ago

Comments: its been okay, a learning curve but after 3 years we have found ways around the items that we were not able to resolve with viewpoint

Pros:

the ability to export most reports to excel. and the abilitiy to connect with Power BI.

Cons:

Payroll. not the best way to run payroll, if an error is made very difficult to resolve. lack of ability to email paystubs.

Marie
Project Accountant in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

General Usage of Spectrum for Construction

2.0 10 months ago

Comments: Its okay, but hard to get things accomplished some times. Too many stiff programs, not workable like excel spreadsheets are. I worked with Deltek products for Engineering and they're product for building jobs was Excel based and was easy to maneuver around so you were able to copy things and place them where you wanted them to be. It was like you had the whole job/report in front of you at once and could place things where you wanted them to be instead of putting in a transaction and finding out afterwards where it sits or how it looks by running a report. To set up a job with cost codes, etc in Spectrum is a bit scary if your not used to it. Once you do some things in the setup, it cannot be changed, or easily changed. It feels like a big production if its a big job with a lot of phase codes and a lot of moving parts. if it was as easy to create as an excel spreadsheet, it wouldn't be so hard and not as scary, then you wouldn't feel like your going to really screw it up.

Pros:

I had no choice in using Spectrum for this company and do not know about other programs for construction other than Sage products.

Cons:

I do not like the fact that you can't drill down from reports to get information without having to open up another tab to go searching for the info your requiring. Sage 50 was wonderful in that respect. You could find exactly why a number was appearing on the report and where it came from or why it was there. Many errors were caught that way and were able to be changed before they began to snowball.

Brad
Controller in Canada
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

More than just an ERP

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Overall has been very good, far more information available through reports than our previous system. much more expansive in data that can be collected and processed. You can see how projects are doing on a daily basis. Transition from the previous system excellent. Overall very pleased

Pros:

It's a robust system that captures a lot of data in a timely fashion. It can be integrated in real time from sites, although we haven't progressed to that level yet, it is our intention to do so in the future. integrates all accounting functions as well as Payroll, PO's and equipment tracking. AP invoice scanning helps eliminate paper. Built in reports are very good and lots of customizable options as well

Cons:

Mostly geared for a General contractor, so some of the functions and reporting takes some work arounds as a subcontract. Our time capture for payroll is with another system which needed some customizing to integrate. Not always intuitive in its structure (voiding cheques in AP or payroll especially a direct deposit). limits to selecting multiple items ie.A/P vendors can only select up to 4 at a time unless you make grouping s or select all.

Shelby
Controller in US
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Pros and Cons

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: Rough beginning, but we learned a lot and still are learning. It is a detailed system that requires dedication to learn and to use. If you don't plan to spend enough time and resources to roll it out, it's going to be a difficult time. However, the more we learned about it the more we liked it. It will do what you tell it, but you have to learn how to do that. Definitely challenging, but stay the course and commit to constant improvement and you will be successful.

Pros:

Spectrum really does a great job tracking job costs, and when the system is used properly does anything we need it to and then some in relation to jobs. Helps us organize everything and has some great job cost reports built in. Also appreciate the ease of importing data.

Cons:

Crystal reports are not ideal, no easy flexibility with report editing, bare minimum financial reports included, clunky processes to post transactions to GL and antiquated feeling user interface. And it's a small thing, but there are several fields that are way too short. Probably a fourth of our vendors have names that don't completely print on the checks. Also don't like the CONSTANT push to purchase add on products.

William
VP in US
Consumer Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Geiler Company

2.0 4 months ago

Comments: Overpromise. Slow to adopt

Pros:

Great for construction project management and construction accounting

Cons:

If you do service work this is not the program to buy

Kayla
Controller in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Spectrum Review for Electrical Contractors

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: Spectrum has treated us well so far. However the migration and implementation was a terrible experience.

Pros:

Large upgrade from Procontractor, but I liked the functionality or workflow of Procontractor better.

Cons:

How each module is separate from the general ledger, becomes a pain!

Louise
Administrative Supervisor in Canada
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Spectrum

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Overall Spectrum has streamlined and made our entire experience easier start to finish. As long as the information going in is correct the end product is correct - garbage in garbage out. The support system is great as well as the external support such as the Viewpoint Network, connecting you to peers is fabulous

Pros:

Ease of use, eliminating multiple programs, live data update, split screens

Cons:

having to do multiple steps to update invoices, not being able to access all information in one module. Some of the reporting is convoluted.

Josh
Controller in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Viewpoint Spectrum is very functional

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: We are still implementing it but it seems to have all the features we need to operate more efficiently and to move off of some of our spreadsheets.

Pros:

I love that we can have project managers approve invoices digitally, easier to keep track of what's out there. I also love that subcontracts and bid schedules can be uploaded to Spectrum and you can bill off of them, makes it easier to make sure pricing is accurate.

Cons:

I don't love how difficult it is to move costs to different jobs. Maybe I just need to play around with it more, but I wish it was easier to adjust.

Katie
Accounting Associate in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

So far, so good

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: We switched from our old system in January 2023. The difference in the speed of the program has greatly improved our efficiency office wide. There are great tools for our program managers to track every aspect of their projects.

Pros:

Speed of processing. Help function is very easy to use and a great tool. Haven't had to call their help desk once. Integration from our old system was quick with minimal hiccups.

Cons:

Only issue we are having is with getting additional invoice forms created.

Meredith
CAO in US
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Viewpoint Spectrum Assessment

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall we have very few problems and almost no downtime. Our employees can access the system from any internet connection which has saved us during hurricanes, covid and such. We have never missed a payroll even during those times. It is easy to use and our employees are able to get their jobs done as needed relatively efficiently. It has open APis for pushing data in and pulling data out. They are focused on improvements to make the overall job of construction from the field, PM level and back office better and run more efficiently.

Pros:

The product is mostly user friendly so it's easy to train new employees. single entry that feeds all the pertinent modules is key. The linking of the documents to transactions and then being able to see them throughout the modules is awesome and has saved time in the support functions to not have to pull copies of documents for others that need to see it. Also, the menu that allows you to jump from one thing to another on the same project without having to reselect the project number in a new screen is great. The ability to setup template views for inquiry screens and reports is nice as well for having consistency throughout the company. They are also very end user oriented. There are advisory boards to discuss possible changes to the system that allow users to give feedback. They have a campaign now where they are having meetings with clients to discuss new programming possibilities and get feedback on proposed look and feel. They initiate surveys, have an enhancement request panel and have a on-line network environment where customers can pose questions to others using the product for help and ideas.

Cons:

There is no option to post in detail to the GL in some of the modules and some transactions, even though coded to a job, do not show the job number on the GL side. The job cost transactions do not show the GL codes on the transactions. Therefore, it can be difficult at time to reconcile things between the job and GL. Also, even though the JC transactions pushes to the T&M module, there is not a direct unique link between the two so trying to create reports that have the cost and revenue associated can be tricky and is not always exact. There is an issue between how committed cost is handle for the purchase orders versus the subcontracts that can cause you reports to be out so you really have to understand this when viewing the job cost reports. Would like the ability for security to be able to have some more granular controls on what users are allowed to see. For example, you may want to allow the purchasing agent to run job cost reports to check non-labor activity but you do not want them to be able to see any labor costs. You can't do that right now. So then you have to create custom reports to separate the cost types and give them access to only those custom reports. Overall security needs to be revamped to a more true role based model. It can be challenging in setting users for rights within a module and keep segregation of duties in place.

Trimble Response

2 years ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a thorough review. We really appreciate your feedback, Meredith!

Amy
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice
2.5 11 years ago

Comments: Our business has two divisions - Commercial Construction and Service Maintenance. We’re based in Pennsylvania and have been operating for about 28 years. The computer system we had been using prior to switching to Dexter + Chaney was outdated for our uses. After carefully reviewing all the options, Dexter + Chaney was high on our list. One of the main functions we were looking for was something that would tie together both divisions of our company. We liked what the sales team told us about the software, and it seemed to better suit our needs than the system we had. We were told it had modules that would make it possible to tie in both of our divisions, with great customer support, reports that were easy to use, and to meet all of our needs, etc. We started with Dexter + Chaney in 2005 (about 8 years ago), having high hopes that Spectrum (or Forefront as it was called at that point) could perform all the functions we were looking for, and more. We spent several months preparing for the change over/familiarizing ourselves with the screens/and inputting information. Every Vendor/Employee/Client had to be reentered manually, which was very monotonous, but relatively simple. Some of the modules were similar to the program we had used prior, but others were more difficult and required calls to support. It took us several months to feel comfortable using Forefront, and probably a year+ until we felt like we really had a decent grasp of it. Since we’re a smaller business, we have the ability to notice problems with reports/programs more easily than a company with hundreds of employees. After we went live with Dexter Chaney we came across several issues, but attributed most of them to new user errors. As we have become more and more confidence with Spectrum, we have found several major bugs in the system that were unknown to Dexter + Chaney, or they had thought were resolved. On a few of these occasions, we had to really push for them to investigate and resolve the issues. One of the biggest problems we’ve seen is that the new Versions seem to be released before they are thoroughly checked, and there are repeat problems.

We have received some good, and some lacking, customer support. There are several really knowledgeable reps who have helped us through our problems quickly. We have also spoken to other reps and management in support that have been very difficult, ignoring our concerns and refusing to listen or respond to our calls/emails. At one point, we were not getting updates on a problem and logged onto their website to see if anything new was posted for our issue. We didn’t get an answer, but instead found a string of emails they had accidentally posted, making it clear that our problem wasn’t being taken seriously on their end. Something as simple as calling in to support has proven to be a hassle since Dexter + Chaney only allows 3 people on the contact list, and we have 6 regular users.

Some of the programs cannot be used to the full extent of what they are shown. Example: Payroll is set up so you can do multiple check sequences in one pay run for an employee. The problem is that it’s not set up to calculate the correct taxes/deductions if you do this. If they are paying a tax/deduction that reaches the limit in the first check, it will also be taken out of the second check, and there’s a possibility for the reports to be wrong.
We purchased the Infolink module a few years ago to help us write reports in Excel using Database Query. We were told by the sales team that it would be easy to use and we could create reports with the exact information we wanted. The training we received on it barely covered the basics. It’s far from easy to use, and many of the reports that come up cannot pull the requested information. Overall, I would say Dexter Chaney is average at best. We are able to use Spectrum for most functions, but not as easily as we were promised. Support in general is lacking, as is our confidence in the product any time there is an upgrade. It’s not as good as we were led to believe.

David
Sr. Staff Accountant
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Full featured software package

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: As with any large, complex and flexible software package like Spectrum, it can be rather complicated to set up and train users in operating it. We have been overall pleased in using it since we switched back in 2009. During this time our business has just about tripled in size and we do not feel as if we have out grown it.

Pros:

Lots of modules available with a fairly robust implementation, continuing active additions of new features and improvements, document imaging allows easy access to attached documents, security rights for employees can be adjusted down to individual menu selections if necessary, customer support is very good and transparent (we are notified if something doesn't work as expected with suggested workarounds - even if we didn't report the issue), and the ability to create custom reports in Crystal.

Cons:

While subscriptions for updated US and state income tax tables are available, local income tax tables are not. When a sales/use tax code is entered into the screen, it cannot be marked inactive if it is no longer used (there are some other setups with the same issue). If a report has been previewed or exported in one form (pdf, for example), it cannot be immediately exported in another (such as Excel) without re-running the report. While most reports run quickly, there are some that can take a while and having to wait the additional time for the same information can be frustrating.

Lori
Manager, HR in US
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Viewpoint works well for us

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, we have had very good experiences with Viewpoint Spectrum. We have been on board since 1996 and so we are very well versed in it.

Pros:

Ease of use; job cost accounting; ability to have multiple companies

Cons:

I do HR and payroll, so I do feel there are features in HR that could be improved; Viewpoint, in general, works very well for what we do. Since we have had the system since 1996, there have been many integrations since we purchased and I feel like some of our processes are older and support doesn't know as much about the older processes. For example...the way we set up union codes and wage codes....evidently our way go back many, many years and there is a more supported way of doing it now, but making the transition is tough.

Trimble Response

2 years ago

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad that Viewpoint Spectrum has been able to grow with your business throughout the years. That's amazing you've been using Spectrum since 1996 - Thank you for your business and support!

Elizabeth
CONTROLLER in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Spectrum Reviewed

4.0 10 months ago

Pros:

Spectrum does a great job of job cost management, record management, and the onboarding of employees directly to software with the help of HR Management.

Cons:

The payroll features and reporting are more complicated than most software I have used in the past and their are a few ways that this should be made easier for a payroll specialist. It is missing or overcomplicates the pulling of employee data that causes issues when specific report information is needed for governmental entities. Customized reporting would be helpful.

JOAN
Business Manager in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A daily tool

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Spectrum gives me an instant look at open POs or subcontracts, payment history, job and equipment costs, helps to manage compliance (licensing, current COI, etc.), time reports, timecards, vendors, phase/GL/job codes. I can instantly find out whether an invoice has been paid, when we invoiced a customer, whether new equipment has been added to inventory. We have nearly eliminated paper files using Spectrum and digital files. In the past couple of years, Viewpoint has created an outstanding suite of user support that ranges from daily updates, web-based free training, and a responsive staff that helps find learning resources or the right technician/trainer to answer questions. The Viewpoint Network was a game changer for me.

Cons:

The reporting function is limited if you don't know Crystal Reports, and the reports aren't consistent. Some are available in comma delimited format, which makes it relatively easy to structure the information in Excel. Others download only as preformatted Excel reports, using an older version of Excel, which is awkward to use.

Lora
AR in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

From an AR Perspective

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall Spectrum is a time saver. It has helped bring project management into the loop of being able to resolve customer issues.
The best part is it has allowed me to be able to work from home two days a week for a year now!

Pros:

The navigation make it so you can figure out what you need to do next with a minimum amount of training on how to use the system. The customizable reports are a great asset. Billing reports are easy to pull together.

Cons:

Draw Request is my least favorite in this system. When you open draw request it shows you in the upper right in financials you have previous work. The total schedule of values is NOT showing. If you have amounts in both this period and materials stored the system will not give you a total of combined for the draw. Also when you are in the draw the entire line needs to highlight while scrolling down for the line you need. It gets very frustrating at times. When something is entered into job cost under the wrong phase, there needs to be a way to change the phase and not have to do multiple entries for negative to to incorrect phase and a positive to the correct phase. That would be ha huge time saver.

Stephen
Chief of Staff in US
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Viewpoint Spectrum Overview

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: We are improving our use of the software's many features and use Spectrum's reports to track, report, and monitor financial and job performance on a weekly basis.

Pros:

As a construction accounting software package Spectrum offers solutions for most of our essentials. With help from a knowledgeable consultant we've been able to to modify or create the reports we need.

Cons:

Timesheet entry is missing mobile components and approval processes offered by third parties. Project and document management is not as robust as Procore. Scheduling for labor, tools, and equipment and comparing against estimate, budget, and actual doesn't functionally exist. We are spending a lot of time, money, and effort to research, source, purchase, and integrate third party applications.

Trimble Response

2 years ago

Hello Stephen, Thank you for the feedback and taking the time to leave a review! We want to make sure you're aware of our customer resources including Viewpoint Academy, The Network, and more. Follow the link for more information on these resources. https://info.viewpoint.com/rs/623-NDA-487/images/Customer-Success-Resources-2022-07.pdf

Jay
Service Billing/AR in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Service Billing Review

3.0 10 months ago

Comments: It works. My only comparison is Maxwell. I would not rate this platform better or worse than Maxwell. Each program has/had its issues.

Pros:

I assume that Payroll and Job Cost are why this product was purchased. I do not use those modules. I do like the Contract module (other than actually creating Contract invoices - that's not so good).

Cons:

Work Order and Service Contract are the units I use. Cost reports cannot be collapsed, information saved to the Cloud constantly disappears (not deleted - just, poof, disappears) when work orders are loaded on the local machine. Work order invoicing (especially batch processing) is lacking. Contract invoicing is awful.

Gord
controller in Canada
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Expensive but mostly user friendly

3.0 10 months ago

Pros:

AP, AR, Multiple company setups, intercompany transactions,

Cons:

Job costing does not work well, major failure. Difficulty with credit transactions in AP and AR. No ability to match AR and AP from same customer easily

Sonia
Safety Coordinator in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Let's get organized

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: It's great once you know how to use the product.

Pros:

everything is easily accessible, in order. There are multiple ways to get the results you need.

Cons:

There aren't instructions in the software to assist me if I ever get stuck.

Cecilia
ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ceci's review

5.0 10 months ago

Pros:

It's easy to use but there are some reports that we have to build ourselves b/c Spectrum doesn't produce them.

Cons:

the WIP isn't working for us and I'm not sure why. Haven't been able to figure this out.

Donghyuk
Project Manager in US
Civil Engineering, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

So good so far.

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: As I mentioned in the title, so good so far.Viewpoint looks like specified for construction project management. My boss and our team members like this program now. Except for the cons that I typed.

Pros:

The best pros in Viewpoint are connection (Sync) and update. All the update is synced right away. So this was so helpful to me to work on a computer or mobile phone.

Cons:

Regarding Uploading and downloading the pictures.Our company stop using picture with Spectrum. Because of how hard it is to download and research it.I know you guys make "Tag". But it was not the solution to the work. Also, the Login system makes me so stressful. Every time I need to log in again and again. I hope you can handle this issue.

Myra
Job Cost/Accounts Receivable in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Spectrum Review

2.0 5 years ago

Comments: Our experience with Spectrum hasn't been the best. There was great support/conversations during the process to determine if we should go with the software. Then, upon implementation there was a drastic difference. We had a support person come to our facility for a week for a quick overview, but we had to get ourselves up and running. After a short time, the support person was "unavailable" for questions/issues. Our implementation process was done on our own. Most of the times when we called the support center, issues weren't resolved quickly. At times the person on the other end of the phone was less than courteous. We pretty much ceased calling for assistance and worked around any problems by ourselves.

Pros:

Easy to use. Reports and documents look clean.

Cons:

The Materials Management and Job Cost integration is very cumbersome regarding the Scale Ticket process. Much has to be done before importing ticket files into Spectrum, and it leaves itself open to errors due to the amount of steps needed to complete for job costs, special customer pricing, etc.

Delmas
Manager in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Excellent construction accounting software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Our experience with Spectrum has been good over the 6 years we are using the software.

Pros:

This software does a good job of integrating our construction operations. We do not use the project management part of it though. We do a lot of job costing for our projects.

Cons:

I think the inventory module should be modernized and brought up to current standards. It is not very easy to use.