15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About Cumulus Retail

Easily manage your store and website as one; mobile point of sale, eCommerce, marketplace integrations, inventory, promotions, loyalty.

Learn more about Cumulus Retail

Pros:

The training staff, Quinn in particular, have gone above and beyond when it comes to getting us ready for the transition into a new system.

Cons:

No gunsmith support yet. No simple offline mode (local servers are optional, but if cloud based, there isn't a temporary cache to allow operation when the internet fails).

Cumulus Retail ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

Cumulus Retail has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 20 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (20)

Product Rating

Product Rating

Countries

Countries

Sort by

Have you used Cumulus Retail before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (20)

Bob
owner in US
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Alternatives Considered:

Cumulus Review

5.0 8 months ago

Pros:

POS functionality and ease of use once one get familiar with all its options. Searching and drilling down for specific items, brands, etc is very helpful. Reporting is extensive if you get the report design package. Staff extremely knowledgeable and helpful down the line: sales, implementation, and customer service.

Cons:

Just getting familiar with program. I don't have any cons.

Daniel
Manager in US
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Above and Beyond!

5.0 last year

Comments: As I said, the employees have gone above and beyond to make sure our transition was as easy as possible while still keeping business running as usual.

Pros:

The training staff, Quinn in particular, have gone above and beyond when it comes to getting us ready for the transition into a new system. He has gone over things more than once when they werent clear, as well as spending extra time to make sure things during the transition, everything was set up promptly and correctly.

Cons:

I feel like the back office could be set up a little better and clearer when it comes to the different applications.

Russell
Owner in US
Sporting Goods, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Be Extra Cautious, What was covered in the sales pitch couldn’t actual be done

1.0 2 years ago

Comments: The overall best part was signing the termination of the contract three years after we started. After it was determined that the software would not do what they said it would do and they agreed in writing it couldn’t do what it was sold to do they would not terminate the contract and refund thousands of dollars spent on a system. So we paid for 36 months on a system that never processed an actual transaction. We also revoked ACH authorization for payment in writing and they still continued to ACH. We also tried to reach out to members of the leadership team and all of our communications including communications that were mailed physically were never responded to or acknowledged.

Pros:

This software in theory is great but it does not actually get going

Cons:

The features that were pitched to us in all of the sales presentation turned out to be things that could not be delivered and implementation. Almost 9 months of back-and-forth with the implementation teams never could get system running.

Kat
Office Manager in US
Sporting Goods, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Cumulus retail review

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Very good! No bad experiences throughout the system!

Pros:

Fast & easy to use! Efficient in sale tracking and customer management!

Cons:

We have no complaints about the platform!

Traci
Inventory Specialist in US
Sporting Goods, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Cumulus/Celerant Review

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Overall, when the system runs smoothly, it is easy easy to navigate and helps us keep track of our inventory more efficiently and creates a faster checkout process for our customers.

Pros:

How easy it was to learn to navigate the back office and POS.

Cons:

It freezes up and kicks users out at random, causing the user to have to clear the cache, and log back in. All work is lost when that happens. Which can be time consuming if it happens repeatedly.

Celerant Technology Response

3 months ago

Thanks for your review and feedback! It refreshing to see how easy it was for you to learn and navigate. I'll also share your feedback on your system freezing with our support team; that should not be happening and we will get it addressed.

Connor
Owner in US
Sporting Goods, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great products and service!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: THE PRODUCTS AND SERVICES THEY PROVIDE ARE PORBABLY SOME OF THE BEST OUT THERE. THEY WERE ABLE TO GET ALL OF THE SAME ITEMS I DROPSHIPPED THROUGH RSR GROUP AND PUT THEM ON OUR WEBSITE AND THEY COVERED A LOT OF THE PROCESS. THEY MADE THE TEMPLATE AND TOOK CARE OF THE RED TAPE TYPE OF STUFF, ALL YOU HAVE TO DO IS ADD YOUR PERSONAL FLAIR AND IMAGES TO IT. ONCE YOU GO THROUGH THE TRAINING IT BECOMES A LOT EASIER AND QUICKER TO GET THINGS DONE THEY CAN BE A BIT PRICEY FOR A SMALL BUSINESS AND YOU WILL NEED TO PLAN ON SPENDING MUCH MORE THAN THE $350 A MONTH AND MAKE SURE YOU READ WHATEVER CONTRACTS THEY HAVE YOU SIGN COMPLETELY. I WAS UNAWARE OF A FEW DIFFERENT THINGS THAT I SIGNED UP FOR AND ONLY REALIZED AFTERWARDS THAT I REALLY COULDNT AFFORD IT LONG TERM.

Pros:

THE POS SYSTEM IS VERY IN DEPTH INTERGRATIONS WORKED WELL WITH MY VENDOR/WHOLESALER GREAT WEBSITE DESIGNS GREAT EMPLOYEES AND TRAINERS VERY PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCED IN MANY INDUSTRIES FIREARMS AND 2A FIRENDLY

Cons:

A LOT OF THINGS YOU HAVE TO COORDINATE LOTS OF ACCOUNTS TO MAKE WITH MANY COMPANIES NOT THE BEST COMMUNICATION BETWEEN DEPARTMENTS UNEXPECTED COSTS LONG TERM CONTRACTS CUAGHT ME BY SURPRISE

Celerant Technology Response

4 months ago

Thanks for the review and our partnership!

Tjaden
General Manager in US
Sporting Goods, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

implementation experience

4.0 last year

Comments: Fantastic, having this product has made my daily operations more smooth and streamlined. Great reporting and tracking with ease of operation.

Pros:

[sensitive content hidden] are two of the best implementation professionals that I have ever worked with. He makes understanding everything easy and is always there when I have questions or issues

Cons:

There are a few categories I would like to go a little deeper in classification

Paul
Owner in US
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great product, with lots of features.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: As we were one of the first adopters we had a few issues, but they were addressed in a timely manner. We converted over to Cumulus from Retail Star, and I was a little disappointed that some of the main features that I used on a daily basis were not accessible on day 1. After some updates these features are accessible now.

Pros:

Ease of use with a host of features. Cloud based allows for Inventory access from anywhere with Internet access.

Cons:

We had the local server option install for redundancy, but this service can be slow at times. Plus any updates to products are not instant.

Celerant Technology Response

5 years ago

Thanks for the review, Paul!

Roxanne
Manager in US
Apparel & Fashion, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Happy with our new POS

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

All my products transfered over to the new data base, my empolyees love our new touchscreen cash register monitor, customer support and training people are awesome to work with! Overall the product is super easy to work with.

Cons:

When ordering on a PO I wish there was a way to see "on hand" items on the same screen as the PO. (I heard that this will be in an upcoming update though). Also, I wish I could just hit the ENTER button when doing searches (instead of mousing up to the search button).

Celerant Technology Response

5 years ago

Thanks for the review, Roxanne! And, yes, we have now added that feature to our software. You can now see "On Hand' items on the same screen as the PO. Hopefully you have already upgraded to our current version, if not- please reach out to our Updates Department and we can schedule your update!

Clayton
Owner in US
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

A Must Have System

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: This experience was way better than what I was expecting. There is a lot of information to learn, but if I can do it in a week, anybody can do it! [sensitive content hidden] is the best! He explained everything thoroughly and was there to assist anytime I needed it.

Pros:

Offers all the options you could ever want in a Inventory & POS system.

Cons:

Nothing yet, I'll get back to you after I use it for awhile.

joshua
managing member in US
Sporting Goods, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Smoke and mirrors sales with ghost town support

1.0 5 months ago

Comments: Every time you contact customer support its always something cant be done. The entire product is a series of work arounds. Nothing is fluid or easy. The search functionality is beyond broken. I was led to believe that all my old sales data and information from my old system would be ported over no problem, later find out nope cant port sales data. After importing serialized products we realized that many of them were imported with there own individual part number. when I have 5 of an item with 5 serial numbers I now have 5 separate items with 5 separate part numbers. During implementation i was told i could not have my old POS and the new POS installed at the same time. Took weeks to get them to do it and thank god we did. the search function is so horrendous that I have to search for the product in my old system then use the part number or UPC to find it in the new system. the POS sales screen does work surprisingly well as long as you can scan a barcode. after hours product support is of no real help. don't get me wrong the people are always very nice but I don't care about nice. I want results. We were sold on the ability to order directly from Celerant with many of our wholesalers. What we weren't told was that the ordering is only based off of whomever has the most in stock not the best price. This can and will break a business in todays marketplace. this is another instance of we don't care we wont change it.

Pros:

The sales pitch was pretty good. easy to close out till and track cash. That's really about it though

Cons:

its a toss up between the product and the lack of support.

Mayur
CFO in India
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Best POS for all online business.

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Loved the inventory management and order management feature. It syncs all the data from my store to the POS easily.

Cons:

Till now not find any disadvantages of this software.

TODD
Owner in US
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

The transition to the Cumulus platform was easy and seamless, the staff ensured we were completely satisfied.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Simple to use, easy to learn and well supported by a professional staff. Implementation was a breeze

Cons:

The website development did not end up meeting our expectations but, they were willing to work with our chosen developer

Celerant Technology Response

5 years ago

Happy to hear it, Todd! We value you as a client!

Jamie
Owner in US
Consumer Goods, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Web/POS

5.0 last year

Pros:

The integrations with other software that we use. Easy to maintain while being loaded with features. Our trainer [sensitive content hidden] did a great job before, during and after with any questions we had.

Cons:

The only con is we that we didn't do this sooner.

Eddie
Pres in US
Apparel & Fashion, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

President

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: CSR made this change over tolerable! They seem to understand our needs and concerns and in my opinion, they have been extremely helpful.

Pros:

I feel that the combination of our Cumulus operation system and our website, our 65 year old business might be able to come of age in the 21st century.

Cons:

This system is much slower when it comes to saving and finishing at the pos and back office compared to Retail Star.

Celerant Technology Response

5 years ago

Thanks, Eddie! We appreciate your great review and more importantly, your partnership for so many years!

Hunter
OWNER in US
Sporting Goods, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Celerant is great

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

The customer support is great [sensitive content hidden] Rocks it out.

Cons:

I would of liked if Stephanie Would of been able to come on location.

Alison
owner in US
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Worth the learning curve

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I like having the ability to work in remote locations. The pre set reporting helps with inventory control.

Cons:

I miss the customizations from Retail Star and the ability to access older information from customer store credits and gift cards.

Celerant Technology Response

5 years ago

Thanks for the review, Alison! Considering Cumulus is web-based, you can access it from anywhere, anytime- and we're happy to see you are taking advantage of that!

Scott
Owner in US
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Excellent for medium sized shops

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Everyone I've dealt with has been extremely friendly and helpful during the setup and training process. The support after the sale when minor issues have arisen has been excellent as well.

Pros:

Tons of features Shooting range management Inventory Management Built in bound book software Smartwaiver integration i4473 integration Training course management Fairly intuitive interface Helpful and quick to react tech support

Cons:

Not as easy to set up as the bargain guys (as expected) No gunsmith support yet No simple offline mode (local servers are optional, but if cloud based, there isn't a temporary cache to allow operation when the internet fails)

Celerant Technology Response

5 years ago

Thanks for all the positive feedback, Scott! Its much appreciated and we love hearing what a great experience you have had with our customer service and support teams!

Darrin
ceo in US
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Vary easy to use once I got the hang of it

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This has everything I need to run a indoor shooting range and gun shop. Once products are imported correctly it is vary easy

Cons:

I wish it was easier to take in used guns through the system. every once in a wile i can use the same log in and have to use another.

Celerant Technology Response

5 years ago

Thanks for the review, Darrin! It's much appreciated!

Rohit
Owner in US
Apparel & Fashion, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Review of Cumulus

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Nice layout, and very good features for a retail store. Love that my website is connected with the point of sale system.

Cons:

Lots of glitches in the beginning. Also Tech support not mac save even though product is being offered.

Celerant Technology Response

5 years ago

Thanks for the review, Rohit! We appreciate your partnership!