15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

Morro Data CloudNAS Reviews

About Morro Data CloudNAS

Offers cloud-first global filesystem for simple backup & recovery, cross-site file sync & lock, and consolidated cloud NAS file storage

Learn more about Morro Data CloudNAS

Pros:

Ease of use, file processing to remove duplication from cloud storage, cost.

Cons:

We have issues at times keeping users connected in two of our offices, but are still uncertain of the issue (whether network or something else).

Morro Data CloudNAS ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

Morro Data CloudNAS has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 27 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Morro Data CloudNAS before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (27)

Ben
Director of IT in US
Oil & Energy, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Morro Data

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We're sharing Autocad DWG files, including complex xreference hierarchies between offices. We were very concerned going in about how well this would work, but for the most part it has been really great. The few times that we've had issues, Morro's tech support has been extremely responsive and able to solve the problems quickly.

Pros:

We setup cache drives in offices located in two different cities. Setup is very easy and the drives have worked very reliably. We were able to integrate with our on-prem ActiveDirectory, enabled DFS drive mapping, then moved files over from our file server. It's been very smooth sailing ever since. Having multiple backups of files automatically available has saved us many times.

Cons:

There aren't too many things I haven't been happy with. We do sometimes run into files (PDF in particular) where we wish we could see who has a read/write lock on the file, as we could in Windows Server.

Michael
CEO in US
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of the best Network storage services you can have that covers ALL the bases.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Been great and all of my clients love it! We offer to our clients and of course we are a user.

Pros:

The ease of setup and the common sense ease of backup and the ability to make easy changes and see the "flow" of everything all in the software. Love the sharing and the restrictions you can put on it. Love the software app on your devices to access the cloud when you are away from your LAN. And the ease of use to get to the cloud when you don't have access to either of the above!!

Cons:

I wish on the cloud version you could download from it. You can't but you can "share" which is very cool and limit what the person can do. So if I want to download it when I am away from my LAN and I don't have the APP on the PC I make be using I just share it. If I am on my LAN, it is just like a network drive though and if I am off of my LAN there is a software on my LAPTOP/Surface.

Morro Data Response

3 years ago

Hi Michael, Thank you for your review! We look forward to working with you closely in the future!

Mel
IS MANAGER in US
Medical Devices, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

IS manager

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Flexible, ease of access at each site. ..

Cons:

Sync with Dropbox. Some errors in the system that tech support had to fix.

Morro Data Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your review. We are working with our best effort to deliver the product with the feature set fitting our customers need; also to support our product for the customers' success. Please check out the upcoming 4.0 release for new features and improvements. Regards, Team Morro Data

Richard
Sr. Design Engineer in US
Civil Engineering, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

So far, support has been super responsive to any questions or issues we've had using the service.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: It helps us keep a single set of data files across different offices and allows us to keep file locking abilities while working collaboratively.

Pros:

Easy to use and fast. Users don't need to worry about conflicts and file locking... it works similar to our server file share. It syncs between three sites without having to worry about it and it lets us work collaboratively. There's a cloud backup (actually, the master copy) that maintains versioning so we can always rollback to a version if someone accidentally deleted or overwrote a file.

Cons:

Minor issues - compatibility with our workflow - but they are working hard at fixing them! AutoCAD sheet set manager issues have been fixed now. Our engineering software being unable to save a file has also been fixed. We are testing Revit worksharing and working to get that workflow resolved.

Morro Data Response

6 years ago

Thanks Richard for your review. We are working with our best effort to deliver the best product with the feature set fitting our customers need; also to support our product for the customers' success. Please check out the latest 3.0 release and stay tuned for the workflow optimization. Regards, Team Morro Data

Wendy
CEO in US
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Customer experience on product

5.0 last year

Comments: Migration from the previous product is seamless, and painless. Use model fits the existing model. Technical support is excellent. The product is very stable. Update process is easy. Pretty much no maintenance effort is required.

Pros:

Product is stable. Easy to use. No maintenance effort is required. Migration is easy. Excellent technical support.

Cons:

Can't think of any negative points. Maybe the company is small and the use model is simple so we have not really stretch the product to the limit.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Aviation & Aerospace, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good product for keeping large amounts of data in the cloud and still having files on-site for use

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: It allowed us to go from using a massive server to store all of our data, to a simple Hyper-V environment that allowed us to minimize our HDD storage. Instead of having to store all of our files on our servers here, we are able to make the NAS big enough to store what we need and some extra, while being able to keep the data that we don't use very often in cloud, but still accessible for when we do need it. There are a few things that can be worked on to make it even better, but this software is a great addition to any company that may have storage need limitations or if they need to keep files synced between multiple sites. We also have a second site which needed to be kept up to date with all of the files and this software made it easy because you put it in at 1 site and it will replicate over to the other site as well.

Pros:

Easy to setup When 2 of the servers are paired together, it replicates easily Allows for AD Authentication on folders (this is a must in our environment), if you don't have an AD environment it allows for its own permissions on folders Users don't notice a difference when accessing files, some large files can take a while if they need to be fetched

Cons:

After initial setup we couldn't increase the drive size, we ended up having to re-setup the NAS to increase the drive size Not being able to stop jobs from happening when there is a long que

Chris
National IT Manager in US
Real Estate, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Exacta Review of Morro

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, it's been everything I could have asked for.

Pros:

Easy to use. Custom tailored customer service. Intuitive interface.

Cons:

Nothing major of note. We have issues at times keeping users connected in two of our offices, but are still uncertain of the issue (whether network or something else)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy access to files from anywhere I am

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Files are secure and synced to a cloud where they are easily accessed from anywhere in the globe. Device performance is also considerably good.

Pros:

Mainly the ease of use. Once the files are synced to the cloud, they are readily available for access from anywhere if there is an internet connection and a computer.

Cons:

When the device is connected to a local network for longer periods of time, sometimes the devices becomes inaccessible from local network. Might be due to ip address conflicts that occur overtime.

Morro Data Response

6 years ago

Thanks for the review and feedback. Assume a reboot of router (or switch with DHCP service) solved the IP address conflicts... Regards, Team Morro Data

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Love the seamless multi-office file sync with an awesome tech support.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Sharing files with multiple locations/office spaces seems so easy and efficient.

Pros:

- Simply Drag and Drop - If you have multiple locations the files will sync across all the location and they can be accessed any time incredibly quickly.

Cons:

- Setting up the box seems a bit complicated. - There is a mild learning curve to understanding the process.

Morro Data Response

6 years ago

Thanks for the review and the feedback on setting up the box. We do our best to make the CloudNAS simple. You may reach out to us at Morro for further feedback. In general, the VM-based appliance is for advanced users. Would highly recommend hardware appliance for plug-n-play simple set up. Regards, Team Morro Data

tom
Systems Administrator in US
Civil Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Better with time

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Constantly improving and open to feedback

Cons:

Basic Support is slow.and when things break it bring company to a halt. Have to purchase better support for quicker responses

Jim
Sr Director of IT in US
Semiconductors, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

TPI

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Cost effective; ease of use; multi-site provision

Cons:

file share link takes a long time to complete.

Morro Data Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your review. We are working with our best effort to deliver the product with the feature set fitting our customers need; also to support our product for the customers' success. Please check out the upcoming 4.0 release for new features and improvements. Regards, Team Morro Data

Christopher
IT manager in US
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Cloud storage, with local access and enterprise features

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Excellent, they offer features that only very large organizations offer at a entry level price point. The more you use it, the more expensive it is, but to get started its a fraction of the competitors. Excellent support and they listed to feedback from users of important features that need improvement or things we would like to see. You can also pick your own cloud storage.

Pros:

Deduplication, compression and multisite

Cons:

It takes time to migrate lots of data...

Morro Data Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your review. We are working with our best effort to deliver the product with the feature set fitting our customers need; also to support our product for the customers' success. Please check out the upcoming 4.0 release for new features and improvements. Regards, Team Morro Data

George
Director in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A fairly quick learning process. Wonderful feeling having your data backed up so easily.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Customer support is fast. Thorough and prompt response either via mail or phone. The service is friendly and knowledgeable .

Cons:

Just typical learning curve for a new product. I guess it is one of the drawbacks to early adoption. Nonetheless it's growth and growth potential is invaluable.

Morro Data Response

6 years ago

George, Thanks for the review! And yes, we at Morro Data are doing out best to improve the product based on customers' feedback. Please check out the CloudNAS 3.0 release with bunch of new features and a refreshed UI. Regards, Team Morro Data

Richard
Senior Engineer in US
Telecommunications, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Security is key

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: It's a great system there are minor things but they are working to improve the solution to cover these concerns.

Pros:

This solution ensures your files are safe and secure and always backed up. It's a great feeling to know your files are always somewhere.

Cons:

When the site looses internet they loose file access.

Chris
marketing and operations in UK
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

suits our small business set up

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: positive. the support is excellent and the product itself is easy to deploy and maintain

Pros:

it's flexible, intuitive and good value for money.

Cons:

nothing really, we're pleased with it and would recommend it

Morro Data Response

5 years ago

Thanks Chris for the review! Please note that the O365 SharePoint Sync feature is available now and fits Microsoft applications. We will keep working on the roadmap making the product better. Regards, Team Morro Data

Mike
IT Manager in US
Market Research, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Morro CloudNAS Review

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: We have offices that we plan to close down and instead of moving them to an older server or to manage we decided we would like to move it to the cloud. I would call this a hybrid cloud when still behind our firewall, but the data is stored in the cloud. I like what I see so far, only using it for a month, but easy to use and setup...

Pros:

Ease of use Support was great for an issue we were having with sign in Being able to share files\go back in versions

Cons:

The issue we had with sign-in, support did an update to fix though

Morro Data Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your review. We are working with our best effort to deliver the product with the feature set fitting our customers need; also to support our product for the customers' success. Please check out the upcoming 4.0 release for new features and improvements. Regards, Team Morro Data

Alan
IT Consultant in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great experience

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

It is a great experience although we are seeing some issues with certain aspects of the software that I would like solved.

Cons:

It is a great experience although we are seeing some issues with certain aspects of the software that I would like solved.

Matthew
Controller in US
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great value solution for cloud services. Functionality lacking and syncing issues often frustrating

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Value. UI. Presentation. Value for services is great. However, value does come with some limitations. User interface is extremely friendly and able to be customized to look as close to the office's network drives as possible.

Cons:

File Syncing Issues. Download/Upload times. With an organization having multiple users across the country and multiple offices, file syncing issues become quickly apparent. You will have to learn new self internal management processes to overcome loss of data procedures.

Christopher
Development Manager in US
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent solution for remote / satellite offices

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, our organization has been extremely satisfied with the solution. We have a total of 4 devices, all at remote locations, allowing our users to all access the same data. User functions are well thought out, and setup is extremely easy.

Pros:

Ease of use, file processing to remove duplication from cloud storage, cost

Cons:

limited data migration options to get large datasets into the cloud

Morro Data Response

5 years ago

Hi Christopher, Thank you for your review! Please stay tuned for the new release in a few weeks with tons of new features including JumpCloud DaaS integration and Morro Migrate... Regards, Team Morro Data

Robert
CTO in Kenya
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very easy to use and simple installation.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Easy and quick installation, reliable speeds and secure data

Pros:

the technology is amazing, simplifies backup and and backup security as a whole. The speeds and are alo good and the hardware is reliable

Cons:

licensing using credit cards, have a different alternative for this part. Have license key and have them for 1-3 yrs renewable

Morro Data Response

6 years ago

Thank you for the review Robert, At Morro Data, we do our best to deliver the simple, affordable Cloud based Global File solution. Check out the latest CloudNAS 3.0 release. Regards, Team Morro Data

Roger
Senior Engineer in US
Environmental Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

OK to use. Not as seamless as logging in to a website.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Ability to work remotely.

Pros:

Easy to learn, intuitive interface. Makes access to company files possible for those of us who work remotely.

Cons:

Being limited to uploading / downloading one file at a time. Makes my work more time consuming. Having a severely restricted viewing pane with no options on how folders are displayed. I would like the option to view folders by name only ('list' option in File Explorer) so I can see more of them on the screen at one time.

Grant
Grant
IT Manager in US
Nanotechnology, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

CloudNAS great idea, needs more time

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: We are trying to solve the problem of cloud-backed, but NAS presented file shares. We need the speed of local network access, but desire a time-based tiering as well as backups and multiple location access. Similar to a Nasuni, but on a much smaller scale. Microsoft has AzureFS, but does not automatically download new files to all locations, pre-staging the data for fast access. MorroData seems to cover everything.

Pros:

The software is easy to setup and install. Web-based, the application is easy to understand and configure. Attachment to on-premise AD was extremely easy and effective.

Cons:

Unfortunately in our test case, performance was poor, compared to a local file server. After some analysis, MorroData determined that we had a large amount of small files. Apparently, their cloud caching algorithms have a bias towards larger and fewer files. They said they have a fix coming soon.

Mark
Journalist in UK
Media Production, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Cloud cache solution that works

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Depending on the situation the CloudNAS could be highly useful, although it could do with SSD based storage and the ability to dual-target the backup to a local storage device. The Morro approach is both original and refreshing, although the company needs to be less vague about exactly how much space companies use in general, and what they end up paying each month for their service.
Businesses generally like up-front costs, not flexible terms, so a pricing grid would be useful.

Pros:

Relatively simple to configure and mostly jargon free

Cons:

No Google Drive support. Surely backup up a Google business account isn't that difficult?

Morro Data Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your review. We are working with our best effort to deliver the product with the feature set fitting our customers need; also to support our product for the customers' success. Please check out the upcoming 4.0 release for new features and improvements. Regards, Team Morro Data

Anthony
CIO in US
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Morro Data works for me

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall it is a great secure way to share files with Clients and wide spread teams

Pros:

The ease of use for the end customer. Looks like a drive for them

Cons:

I had a problem with the initial setup, but it was my fault. Once I fixed that everything worked correctly

Derek
Senior Environmental Compliance Project Manager in US
Environmental Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

My company uses Morro to store project related files.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Morro Data is very simple to navigate and figure out how to transfer files with drag uploading, as well as downloading.

Cons:

The sorting functionality is poor. The files do not appear to sort alphabetically. I can find what I am looking for, but at times takes time. It freezes up from time to time.