15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About Juniper Square

Juniper Square is the leader in partnership enablement for the private funds industry.

Learn more about Juniper Square

Pros:

Been thoroughly impressed by the product's robustness - Data Room, Investor Reporting and CRM all in one user and graphically friendly interface.

Cons:

Not sure I could say we have any cons at this time.

Juniper Square ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.8
Customer Service
5.0
Features
4.7
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

9.8/10

Juniper Square has an overall rating of 4.9 out 5 stars based on 61 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Juniper Square before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (61)

Chris
Chris
Managing Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Our 1st Year with Juniper Square

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Our experience has been excellent. The Juniper staff is energetic and responsive and we have enjoyed all of our interactions with the team. We especially like that we have a dedicated support person to contact and that they regularly reach out to us - both via phone and physically coming to our office.

Pros:

We are a relatively small firm with just 5500 units under management and no dedicated person handling Investor Relations. Prior to moving to the Juniper Square platform, we kept all of our investor information spread out in unsecured Excel files. The best aspect of Juniper is that it provides us with the tools necessary to let our investors feel like we are more "institutional" (in the best meaning of the word). We are now able to provide regular and consistent professional correspondence with our investors, regarding asset performance, tax matters, etc. We have also been able to streamline our distribution process by moving toward making all distributions via ACH. Furthermore, we now have a much more organized and professional platform with which to present new investment opportunities to our investors. For us, the change over the past 12+ months has been revolutionary, and we could not be more pleased with the product and the team behind it.

Cons:

There is a lot of functionality built into the software so learning how to best utilize the software took some time. However the customer service is very responsive and supportive, so whenever we had questions we just reached out to the Juniper team and they provided us with the necessary direction. The software is not cheap, and it takes some time to both organize the data (before uploading) and getting to know the software. But once you ramp up the learning curve there is tremendous payback.

Tina
Investor Communications Manager in US
Real Estate, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Juniper Square - Highly Recommend!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, we've had a very positive experience with Juniper Square. Their customer service is outstanding and always available to help.

Pros:

Juniper Square offers our team and our investors an easy way to communicate, share important news and information and produce quarterly investor statements. Our investors like being able to access their current and historical investor information on their own schedule and the Juniper Square portal is intuitive and easy to use. It is a secure way for us to communicate with investors.

Cons:

We would like the quarterly statements to be more customizable with regards to the layout and data fields we can include on the statements.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

the JS platform has been a great addition to our business

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

customer success team is great; software is very easy to use and administer; the functionality for creating multiple offerings has allowed our group to keep track of prospects during fundraising and dispositions that are running concurrently.

Cons:

customization to a unique fund structure has been challenging; could use slightly more automation in the future; no calendar feature to keep up with key milestones and dates

David
Director of Investment Capital in US
Real Estate, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Thumbs Up for Juniper Square

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The whole team has been extremely happy with Juniper Square. It greatly increased the efficiency in multiple aspects of our business.

Pros:

Intuitive interface ties together well its complex and multi-purpose functionality. Very comprehensive coverage of nearly all aspects of real estate development. Extremely responsive and helpful customer support.

Cons:

More suggestions than dislikes: would like better support for mezzanine debt; more flexibility in customizing columns showing in list views and for exports.

Joe
Joe
Vice President, Investments in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Juniper Square enables us to manage 500+ investors and 1,500+ investor positions across 30 deals

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Over the past 8 years, the Atlas portfolio and investor network has grown to a robust network of 500+ individual high-net-worth investors. Prior to launching Juniper Square over a year ago, we managed investors through a combination of bulk emails, Dropbox, and password protected documents. Not only was it burdensome, it was a poor and unprofessional experience for our investors. We began looking for an investors management solution in 2014. Over the next 24-months, we tested every investor management software. Nothing met our criteria. Either the software was not built for the real estate industry and/or didn't have the depth and ease of use we needed. However, in early 2017 a friend of ours introduced us to Juniper Square, a purpose-built real estate investment management software. Several demo's and calls with references later, and we were hooked! We signed up in late February and launched 3-4 weeks later. Juniper has been a game-changer for us, as it's allowed us to scale our investor base and continue to acquire deals without building out a large operations or investment management team. The features we like best are the slick investor summaries, ability to tie multiple contacts to an account, the efficient document upload process, secure document storage, and robust investor dashboard. We're constantly receiving feedback from our ultra-high-net-worth investors saying this is the best, and simplest, investment management tool they've ever used.

Cons:

The software is great and has few deficiencies. In fact, what's been most impressive is the pace with which the team rolls out new features. One of the advantages of having a large and highly focused client base is that Juniper is able to get large amounts of feedback and determine which new features to build. As an example, we thought the investor subscription and document signing process was a bit clunky. We provided the Juniper team with feedback and over the past 6-months, they've rolled out several features to make the process simpler and more streamline for investors. Although the software is not perfect, it's incredibly impressive today and continues to improve on nearly a weekly basis.

Kyle
Kyle
Vice President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Juniper Square -- A Multifaceted Solution to Investor, Accounting and Investor Relations Headaches

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: CRM & Reporting -- I have a database with hundreds of contacts that used to be organized in a spreadsheet. The CRM functionality allows me to track client interactions, tag contacts for faster classification and sorting and provide custom messaging. For example, each quarter I was having to craft and send over one hundred unique emails with distribution information that is now done with two clicks and zero errors. The document repository allows me to send financials and reports via a link versus emailing large PDF files. Our clients have commented on how much our transparency has improved over the past year since we started using Juniper Square. The platform puts all the information they need about their investments at their fingertips. Distribution calculation and processing: Once we determine the total amount to distribute, Juniper Square applies a number of different calculation options to deliver accurate and error free cash flow to our clients. This function was previously executed via a number of spreadsheets, was error prone and time consuming. We no longer have to print checks. Waterfall calculations: Waterfalls are entered into Juniper Square straight out of the partnership documents, eliminating potential distribution errors. The customer service is second to none. My rep is always highly responsive to any inquiries and the help pages offer clear, concise instructions. All in all we have had a fantastic experience with Juniper Square.

Pros:

Ease of use is what I like most about Juniper Square. I liken the functionality to the first time one uses an Apple product...it is simply intuitive. Yes, the different functions such as CRM, performance calculation and reporting, and distribution processing are all very well done by themselves. However, the seamless integration of all those functions via an well-designed user interface sets this platform apart.

Cons:

There is not anything I do not like about this software after using it for approximately one year.

David
David
Private Capital Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fantastic and intuitive product

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Juniper Square is a 10/10 product that I would highly recommend to anyone in the real estate industry.

Pros:

Juniper Square is an incredible product for admins and investors alike. It's an all in one data repository, investor management system, and investment database. Our investors love the thorough and easy-to-use portal. The integration process was seamless and it has been a huge upgrade over our previous systems.

Cons:

I have had very few issues with the software, and the Juniper Square team is incredibly responsive and helpful in addressing any issues.

Tara
Tara
Acquisitions & Asset Management Intern in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Intersection's Review of Juniper Square

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Juniper Square has been a great tool to implement into our operations as a firm. I would highly recommend Juniper Square to any firm needing to incorporate an investor platform into their operations. It is truly a great tool to streamline investor communication and outreach.

Pros:

Juniper Square enables our firm to maintain organization with investor and entity documentation, streamlines investor communication, and acts as an investor platform.

Cons:

Sometimes within Juniper Square, there are multiple ways to complete a task. For example, one can upload documents to an investor position or to their contact, I think streamlining those capabilities to only one option might eliminate confusion.

Ryan
Ryan
Vice President - Investor Relations in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Practical and well designed software solution that's easy to use and incredibly reliable!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Ease of use and streamlining workflows.

Pros:

The combination of the CRM with back-office accounting and reporting has helped to streamline our operations. We appreciated the fact that it's a software tool built by real estate professionals. They constantly are working to improve the system and their customer support team has been nothing short of amazing.

Cons:

We'd like to see an iPhone / Android app, but know this is in the works. From a CRM standpoint, we'd also like to see a bit more of a robust platform in terms of understanding a client's relationship to the firm. Currently this is data that we export and manipulate on our own.

Melanie
Melanie
VP IR/Tax/FP&A in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

JS is a huge upgrade from our previous platform, streamlined our back office, our investors LOVE it!

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

It's extremely easy to both learn and use. I'm an accountant by training and have used many ERP systems, and Juniper Square is by far the easiest. With Juniper Square you get all the functionality but with an interface that is very intuitive. Their customer support is world class. Best of all, they understand real estate!

Cons:

There are no negatives that we've come across; I just wish they had more software to help streamline other areas of our business!

TK
CEO & Founder in US
Commercial Real Estate, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best in Class Product & Support

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Great overall experienced: Data Room and CRM to support capital raising/markets team - great tracking and reporting - multi-functionality for outbound emails, as well as emails received from clients and prospects. 24/7 online reporting portal - easy to use and modify - streamlines marketing and ops for future capital raises. Online incorporation with DocuSign.

Pros:

We tested Juniper's two closest competitors and actually engaged one of them initially, solely based on price. After 3 months of frustration, we left the competitor for Juniper Square and haven't looked back. Been thoroughly impressed by the product's robustness - Data Room, Investor Reporting and CRM all in one user and graphically friendly interface). Love, love our account rep, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] - knows her stuff inside and out, and always goes well-above and beyond to resolve any questions or issues in an extremely timely manner. If she doesn't know the answer, she finds it!

Cons:

No IT team or person; they really need to address this ASAP. A smart phone App is also very much needed - a must have for any FinTech company, especially with Institutional clientele.

Kelsie
Director, Capital Formation & Investor Relations in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Juniper Square is the best investment management software for real estate!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Juniper Square has helped us streamline several processes including distribution delivery, investor reporting, and tracking investor communications. Two features that are currently saving me time are:
1) Fundraising- Being able to take our fundraising process online, from sending out an email blast about the opportunity to tracking subscription document delivery, has made every acquisition more efficient and less stressful for our team. Everyone involved in the process can easily see how much equity we’ve raised and the status at all times.
2) K-1 delivery- This was infinitely easier this year thanks to Juniper Square’s ability to confirm electronic delivery approval with our investors and then automatically splitting the pdf packages into multiple documents and matching them to the correct investor. This process used to take me days and now takes minutes!

Pros:

On the front-end, the investor interface looks professional and is very easy to use. Our investors definitely appreciated the switch to Juniper. The fact that I can have confidence in the accuracy of the information they’re seeing and the quality of the presentation is invaluable. I also can’t say enough about the Customer Support team. They’re always extremely helpful and ready with a creative solution to a problem or answer to my question.

Cons:

There have been a few disconnects with regard to our internal processes and the software. However, the team at Juniper Square has almost always found a work-around. They are also very receptive to feedback and are always updating the software with new features.

Natalie
Investment Team Manager in US
Real Estate, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Life Changing Software & Support!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We cannot speak highly enough about the Juniper Square implementation and support team. After researching several similar software companies and implementing other software within our organization, Juniper Square is hands down the best we have ever come across! The implementation team made the process so smooth and the support team is always there to help and provides the necessary assistance in a timely fashion. I never have to worry about someone being available to address any questions - the support team always picks up the phone and our Customer Success Manager always goes above and beyond to ensure we are taken care of! We consider JS a part of our team!

Pros:

The transparency of the investor portal is priceless! Our investors can login and see all activity and documents related to their investments without having to contact us. This saves my team a lot of time and energy on repetitive, general questions. The portal also aids in conversations we have with investors from us pulling investor reports to tax documents.

Cons:

The distribution reconciliation is currently manual which takes time to change the status of hundreds of distributions each quarter. We are moving to 100% ACH which will remove this CON from our list!

Ben
Associate in US
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Highly Recommend Juniper Square!!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I enjoy using Juniper significantly and cannot see myself operating without it. The amount of time it has saved and the data it houses and organizes, really exemplifies its sophistication. I've received numerous complements from Investors about the space - ease of use, sleekness, looking sharp etc. and am very happy with the choice.

Pros:

Juniper has saved our team an enormous amount of time tracking, organizing and communicating with Investors and prospects. The software itself is extremely user friendly, Customer service is A++, and they show genuine concern in improving/customizing the product to our needs (i.e asking for feedback, rolling out new features, training, etc). As a customer of Juniper's I feel that my priorities are not taken lightly and that the Juniper team strives to continue catering to our business's needs.

Cons:

The software has a wide range of functionalities and capabilities in a beneficial sense, but can sometimes open the door for highly active users to demand more from the software (i.e. new features), which requires time to see implemented.

Carol
Director of Investor Relations in US
Automotive, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great Platform Enhanced by Exceptional Customer Service

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Very good experience overall for us; about 50-75% of our investors have appreciated the use of the portal.

Pros:

The software provides more than 75% of the functionality we were looking for in an investment/financial management suite. By far, the consistently supportive customer service experience has made the investment a positive one. We have utilized the expertise of our dedicated AE - Representative - 100x more than initially anticipated - and have always been treated with courtesy and kindness. This is especially impressive considering the multiple 'basic' functions that required repetition in the first six months of on-boarding the platform.

Cons:

All the waterfall calculations and reporting have to be manually entered - likely a function of our internal investment structure. The Help/FAQ/tutorials could use a huge overhaul and do not provide the ability to 'print to pdf' for study separate from screen viewing, without requiring a ton of manual 'cut and paste'.

Christina
Senior Manager, Investment Management in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Juniper Square is one of the best functioning investment management platforms we have found.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Juniper Square is easy to use, has a great layout and interface, and our private investors absolutely love it. The platform has really impacted our private investor relations and back office portfolio management for those investors. The Juniper team is always quick to respond to any questions or issues you may have, and is ALWAYS looking for ways to better the platform and experience for the customers. I cannot praise the customer service enough.

Cons:

There have been a number of items that come about that we want Juniper Square to be able to accommodate over the last 18 months, and I can honestly say that when we reach out to the Juniper team on these items, they are quick to get them fixed or start working on a solution or function to add to the platform to accommodate. I wish we had learned about Juniper Square sooner than we did as it would have saved me several years of time and work!

Jasmine
Head of Investor Relations, Partner in US
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best Platform in the Business!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We realized that there were a ton of blind spots and things that our team didn't know that they needed to know that they in fact need to know and we didn't need to spend any time in sharing it one by one. The information is available in real-time to everyone. That efficiency has been transformative and allowed us to grow exponentially. We saved so much time with respect to document sharing, data analysis and distributions that we have grown twice as large with half as many people.

Pros:

Where to begin? I love the customer service, the design/ease of use, constantly improving product, empowering and life-altering - get ready to go from the experience of a Honda to a McLaren - if you apply yourself as a user.

Cons:

There is nothing that I dislike. I just want more!

Chris
CEO in US
Real Estate, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Juniper Square has significantly reduced the burden of raising and managing capital.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

We have over 100 investors and Juniper Square has allowed us to automate a number of formerly manual and tedious processes--from fundraising to subscriptions to investor reporting. That has been a remarkable time saver for our team during a period of rapid business growth. With Juniper Square, we've increased our fundraising productivity by about [50]%. Our investors constantly tell us how much they love the portal, and it has saved us countless hours previously spent compiling and emailing investor reports. All together, Juniper Square has been a game changer for our business.

Cons:

We only wish we had found Juniper Square sooner! There are several items we have realized would be useful as we continue to use the product, Juniper Square has a great feedback loop with our team and we believe they will keep updating the software to meet those use cases.

Brian
Controller in US
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Juniper Square Gets It Right

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: The best (least painful) system migration that I have ever experienced. We moved transaction level detail for 10 years of fund operations over to JS and they made it easy for us. The platform is intuitive and easy to use. Moving to JS cut our time to process investor distributions and distribute distribution notices from one full day to less than an hour. Ongoing support is fantastic - we always get a timely response and are provided with competent help when we have questions. JS is more than just a software vendor, they are a true business partner.

Pros:

Ease of data migration and use. Fantastic customer support. Juniper Square is more than a vendor to us, they are a collaborator that works with us to drive success.

Cons:

Patiently waiting on enhanced features in support of open-ended funds.

Dave
Principal in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Juniper Square is a great product that really helps our team stay lean and highly productive.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: It has streamlined many of our processes and centralized all the investor data. Now when we get requests for information from investors we can direct them to their portal, which is often easier for our staff and more efficient for the investor.

Pros:

Juniper Square anticipated some needs we didn't even know we were going to have. As we grow and add more investors and assets to our portfolio, the ability to automate a lot of communication and reporting has been incredible.

Cons:

There are a few things we would like to see to better facilitate our internal processes (like expanded email capabilities within the platform), but the team at Juniper Square is constantly making upgrades and is very responsive to our feedback.

Nicole
Finance Administrator in US
Real Estate, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

One of the best software products I have ever used.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with Juniper has been extremely positive. My co-worker and I have decided that it is always a good day when you get to work in Juniper.

Pros:

Juniper Square is so easy to use. I feel like the team at Juniper has thought of everything - the software is so robust and intuitive. Not to mention that every time I pick up the phone to call customer support, I am met with a friendly, knowledgeable team member who will walk me though any issue or question I may have.

Cons:

The only area that I feel needs improvement is the communications capabilities. Our marketing department would like to be able to send branded, professional level communications to our investors, and the ability to do that is lacking in Juniper. I believe that Juniper is working on improving this.

Melissa
Investor Relations in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Juniper Square Review

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I appreciate the excellent customer service, as well as the openness to support requests for future updates. Rep. has been exceptional. He is great at following up with my team, and a very nice person. JS has been a great asset for the company, and I am very happy we went with the platform. Reporting is often very challenging and can bring up a host of issues and take up a lot of time. We have solved the problems that have existed in the past with Juniper Square, and our investors are very pleased.

Pros:

Juniper Square is easy to use and very thorough. We had a smooth transition from previous software, the information is presented well to investors and to staff. There are a lot of tutorials to walk one through the new process as needed, and the platform is structured well.

Cons:

There are a few functionalities that don't exist yet, but the staff is very receptive to requests.

Kendall
President in US
Real Estate, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

We've been able to provide an institutional-quality reporting platform without increasing headcount

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

One of our goals was to improve the experience of our investors, and the platform has more than delivered in that capacity. Our investors appreciate the portal, and allows us to provide a polished, professional service while spending less time responding to ad hoc investor requests. The CRM functionality is also great as we build our investor base and maintain and grow new relationships. It is impressive how frequently new features are added and how intuitive and easy the software is for us and our investors to use. It's also really flexible which means we can use Juniper Square alongside our fund administrator - a huge plus.

Cons:

The team is still adding functionality, and have been very receptive to suggestions and quick to roll out new features.

Lorna
Project Coordinator in US
Real Estate, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

TOP NOTCH CUSTOMER SERVICE

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

This software is VERY easy to learn and use. Our customer success account rep, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has helped our team tremendously! We are reorganizing user roles and need to be taught a lot about the "best feature" for the right role. The support line is also extremely helpful for immediate answers. Thank you [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] for keeping our team up to speed!

Cons:

There have been a few features that we wish were in existence. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and team assured us that some of those minor features will be included in the development road-map.

Nick
Partner in US
Real Estate, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Overall Platform

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It has been a great experience and our investors have been pleased with our roll out of the system.

Pros:

The ability to manage and communicate with our investors and provide them real time information on their investments in centralized location.

Cons:

There is a learning curve on setting up of the deals and investments in the right way to make sure the full value of the system can be used.