15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

Wolfram Mathematica Reviews

About Wolfram Mathematica

Technical computing system that provides tools for image processing, geometry, visualization, machine learning, data mining, and more.

Learn more about Wolfram Mathematica

Pros:

Its great for visualizing the data and creating/viewing both 2D and 3D graphs. Ideal for technical computing.

Cons:

While Mathematica doesn't have the worst error checking I've seen in some programming languages, it lacks on-the-fly error checking.

Wolfram Mathematica ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.7
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.3/10

Wolfram Mathematica has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 169 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Wolfram Mathematica before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (169)

massimo
massimo
Assistant Professor in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It's the Macintosh of the interpreted software languages, it just works right out of the box!

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The most critical feature of Mathematica (and Wolfram products in general) is that everything is seamlessly perfectly integrated. Everything is curated and maintained up to date. Competing platforms like Matlab sure offer a larger set of functionalities, but the integration of the many "packages" is too often very poor. In Mathematica, every package is fully integrated with the rest of the platform like no other software. Maybe you can say that Labview somehow reaches the same level of integration. Mathematica is a very flexible and multi-purpose software language that can be used for programming pretty much anything. New functionality like "Cloud-deploy" allow anybody to run algorithm made in Mathematica from anywhere in the world, from any device, with the only need of having an internet connection and a compatible browser.

Cons:

Some secondary functionalities like the Presentation notebook are not so well developed, yet. That said, I doubt many will ever use it.

Jonathan
Graduate Student in US
Research, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Engineering Grad Student Review of Mathematica

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overal really useful if you know how to use it and particularly strong at analytical calculus and symbolic equations. Otherwise the language is a little clunky. If more people used it, it would be more valuable.

Pros:

Mathematica is really great at solving symbolic math equations. Unrivaled in my opinion. Analytical solving is a breeze with this and it is intuitive how it all appears, as if you wrote it on a sheet of paper. That is its best feature. Otherwise it has a lot of really cool math functionality for analzying data. I particularly have used it for signal processing.

Cons:

Well it is like learning another programming language so you have to get over that barrier. It is hit or miss with other people who know how to read the software or even use it. The only reason I used it was because I found Wolfram Alpha online as an undergrad and when I became a grad student I found out the previous grad students used it. I'd say its programming language is a little clunky, compared to some competitors. And its not open software.

Morgan
Student in US
Civil Engineering, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Wolfram solving your calculus headaches!

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: I used Wolfram frequently as a student in calculus courses. It has helped me complete homework assignments.

Pros:

The best features of Wolfram Alpha at the free level are the simple search bar for calculation. It was extremely useful in calculus 3 courses, mainly because it presents integrals and derivatives of equations. My favorite aspects is that it provides graphical representations of the equations, which is a visual learning tool.

Cons:

I have tried out using Wolfram for non-mathematic topics, including historical figures. The presentation style of these, including showing the "queries", is not preferable to a simple web engine search about the person you are looking for.

Arshad
MS. Student in Pakistan
Higher Education, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Wolfarm Mathematica.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I like wolfarm mathematica for its powerful exceutional engine that makes it able to simulate or visualize data very well.

Pros:

Mathematica has a great graphics user interface, and it does a fantastic job. It also has a lot of other advantages. It has a huge array of codes and library, though complex but powerful. Mathematica is without a doubt one of the most powerful programmes we use and has a very large and active online society to help in problems.

Cons:

What I find difficult about it is its learning curve, as Wolfram is a large language that can take some time to understand and use comfortably. Apart from that, I have no complaints about Wolfram Mathematica because it meets all of my requirements.

Jon
Instuctor in US
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Mathematica Pros and Cons

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: Generally good. Have used it since it was called SMP so familiar with most of it. However, even after 30 years I can still have trouble getting some of the tools to behave like I want them too - so expect a long learning curve.

Pros:

Useful in teaching vector calculus. Manipulatives help in showing how vectors and tensors change over time.

Cons:

1) Error messages are nearly worthless. 2) The canvas drawing tool works poorly and unpredictably - especially in the latest version. 3) The fact that [sensitive content hidden] feels the need to put the "Wolfram" signature on everything is arrogant at the very least - this is the one complaint that tempted me to switch to other, competing products. 4) Typesetting is still nowhere near what a good LaTeX engine can do. Major disappointment.

Fabian
Fabian
Polymath. Engineering, R&D; student w/ encouraging projects. in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Good tool for students/professors at sciences and engineering

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: It was helping me out with my learning and check if I did well an exercise or if the result is similar, how it did get there.

Pros:

Ït's offline. It tells the way to solve some exercises and share its result, save it as capture image and so. It is not heavy for our device. A bit quicker and easier to use than another calculator with its features like solving integrals and derivations. Not programming knowledge needed.

Cons:

IYou must be cautious with what and how you write your equations because of syntax and priority solving by the mathematics and the program itself.

Emanuela
Emanuela
Junior PM in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Differential geometry problems visualisation

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The latest version is packed with advanced algorithms in geometring computing and is develope geometric computation. Wolfram Mathematica version13 is a package of symbolic mathematics wich integretes cartesian geometry and euclidean geometry, parametric geometry and differential geometry. The new features emphasize shapes and performance and let me to easily model geometric regions and analyze them. For the first time I can to fully integrate generation, analysis, and rendering of geometrical structures. The same regions can also be used as specifications for many high-level solvers, including algebraic and partial differential equation solving. The possibilities of Mathematica are endless.

Pros:

I became familiar with the "Mathematica" calculation tool, used for numerical and symbolic computation and for 2D and 3D graphics. I learned to apply it to geometry, to differential calculus and to the management of experimental data in physics Only with intensive use of Wolfram Mathematica , I've see Einstein's theory of relativity in real life and the Riemann Tensor and the Curvature of Ricci , after designed ellipses, torus, hyperboloids and Calabi- Yau spaces. Wolfram Mathematica it's a special tool for the visualization of differential geometry.

Cons:

1.By default, autosave to a Mathematica notebook is missing and the notebook can disappear along with several hours of work, when I forget to manually save. 2. It happened to me. I have imported a dxf file generated in AutoCAD into Mathematica and processed it, when I exported it, the file doesn't load successfully in AutoCAD.

Daniel
Daniel
Asistente ejecutivo superior in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Wonderful!without wolfram I would not have approved the course of calculus applied in the university

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

wolfram is a marvel, just transcribe the equation in the software and in a few seconds not only solves it, but also explains step by step the resolution of the exercise and the different ways of doing it. I consider that it is the best ally for the student at any level of academic training. It is useful for students of engineering, economics, business administration, accounting, physics, mathematics.... in wolfram mathematical and physical equations can be solved. no matter the complexity of an integral or a differential equation, wolfram solves it

Cons:

Sometimes it can be somewhat difficult to transcribe an equation in the software. Maybe if the programmers of wolfram add some integrals and predetermined equations, it could help to mount the exercises more easily

Richard
Richard
Product Manager in Colombia
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Wolfram Mathematica makes it easier to develop knowledge in the area of mathematics and programming.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: The ability to develop equations and to learn step by step how to solve them. Wolfram made my job easier and more practical and helped me save time and to create new projects by using programming.

Pros:

Resolution of equations well explained and organized step by step as well as graphs that are self explanatory and have the possibility to add annotations and to choose the type of graph to be used. It also has the possibility of storing data in the cloud and to access it anywhere. Wolfram Mathematica is great for programming and it gives the possibility of exploring other areas such as language and geography by using mathematics and programming.

Cons:

Takes a while to learn the basics commands of some areas of the software such as introducing equations into the system or start programming if you are still learning.

Jeremy
Jeremy
Mechanical Engineer in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Defense & Space, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The best multi-purpose mathematical solver

5.0 last year

Comments: Well designed, insanely well integrated and functional. The most powerful mathematical solver software I have ever used.

Pros:

The sheer versatility of the product. It has so much depth and can be used to program and develop mathematical models with ease like no other product I have used before. To be able to call on information from the internet within your code or to add to your solution is mind-blowing. The well designed interface allows any user to easily keep track of their work and report the required results

Cons:

The only con I can say for Wolfram is that from time to time especially with too many variables and complex modelling the software would take some time to calculate and output. But the time is nothing compared to other platforms attempting to do the same projects.

Harald
CEO in Denmark
Research, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

What would we do without it?

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Mathematica is used as a "canned data" version to process RADAR data. Of course it cannot do real time but that is not the requirement. With Mathematica we have a tool to see almost instantaneously if any new idea has a perspective to work or not. I am personally using Mathematica since 1990 using the "good old" Version 1.2 on a MacIntosh...

Pros:

It is a really sturdy workhorse for any purposes. We do lots of RADAR data evaluations, FEM simulations, recently also NN modelling. The general strategy is to implement an algorithm in Mathematica and use this as a benchmark when the same algorithm will be transferred to c++. In contrast to other commercial available packages the output of integral transforms can be adapted to the culture (e.g. signal processing versus mathematical parameter sets for Fourier transform) and we get exactly the envisaged behavior. Generally, one can get algorithmic packages to run in one working day that take a man month to be implemented in c++. In addition, we have own packages to generate Gantt charts, project plans, 3D printer code, PCB circuit layouts.

Cons:

Documentation is a bit thin, especially newly added functions tend to be poorly described. Neural Networks work fine but the description of the details is dismal! Please improve with some example networks. It took us eternities to grasp the stuff. Plotting even moderately complex 3D Regions (implicit or discretized) is very unstable and it is really a nuisance. It mostly ends with error messages and a complete breakdown of the kernel...

Francisco
Francisco
Customer Representative in Guatemala
Retail, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I'm a computer science student, can't believe how useful this learning engine is!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Well my study sessions are way more effective, almost every question is answered by Wolfram. My grades are doing well, can't exclude Wolfram for that, this software has helped me a lot through the University and I'm super satisfied with it.

Pros:

Everything you need regarding math is in there: derivatives, integrals, closed integrals, matrix and vector operations... The list goes on and on! I really this program has helped me countless times with Calculus study sessions and passing through linear algebra courses. The procedure is printed in a ordered way and it does it step by step.

Cons:

The UI and operation input should and could be way better. I've used Symbolab and other apps and they are way better than Wolfram's input system. Please change it! Would really love to see you guys actually improve that.

yehuda
Research in Israel
Computer Networking, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Good for (almost) everything

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Use it daily for more than 30 years now

Pros:

This software allows you to think and program at the level of the problem at hand. The possibility to combine, symbolics, numerics, great visualization and wonderful smart programming languages is unique. In addition, the front-end allows you to easily document and structure your thoughts along with code.

Cons:

Only one programming model I found missing - discrete event style

Rodrigo
PhD in UK
Research, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The best software for symbolic mathematics

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I have solve a wide variety of problems, from simple calculations to very complicated symbolic analyses. In the faculty is normally favoured for more abstract analyses which don't necessarily involve finite precision arithmetic, but it can obviously be used for that as well.

Pros:

This software is extremely well suited for symbolic mathematics. Where MATLAB excels in numerical handling, Mathematica excels in symbolic mathematics. I have used this software for stochastic analysis, namely Markov Chain analysis. It is very useful as well for topology and graph theory and not only helps by solving complex systems but makes beautiful graphs needed in topological analysis. I have also used it in optimization contexts, to draw the feasible regions of complex functions. It is simply an extremely robust and versatile piece of mathematical software.

Cons:

At the beginning is not very easy to use because small errors in syntax will render a big function useless; hopefully for simple things it is well integrated with Wolfram Alpha, which can interpret more natural expression the transported to Mathematica.

Miguel
CEO in Portugal
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simply the best mathematics tool available

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: - The ability to manage symbolic functions
- The incredible amount of built-in advanced mathematical functions and operators
- The flexibility of importing, exporting and managing data in a variety of formats
- The speed of the solver
- The help. It contains a huge amount of examples and information

Pros:

- The ability to manage symbolic functions - The incredible amount of built-in advanced mathematical functions and operators - The flexibility of importing, exporting and managing data in a variety of formats - The speed of the solver - The help. It contains a huge amount of examples and information

Cons:

- The plots are pretty low-level. Could be improved. - The error messages are almost impossible to understand.

Tomas
service engineer in Czechia
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Helpful software for solving mathematical problems

4.0 last year

Pros:

It is very helpful program to solve hard mathematical problems with nice feature of graph rendering. Only with few skills of programming is user capable to reach results.

Cons:

I my opinion annual price is high for personal use. Also using different expressions for mathematical formulas could be from beginning quite confusing. It take some time to learn this properly.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A great environment for elaboration and validation of algebraic models

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: During the development of some models of neural networks for massive data processing, it was necessary for us to search for a solution in the cloud capable of supplying our demand for a competitive price due to the lack of funds available. Based on this, and in light of other solutions such as AWS and IBM Watson, Mathematica was the choice that was able to meet our financial criteria and also enabled us to write a very relevant work within the company

Pros:

The ability to use the system both online through the cloud infrastructure, as well as offline

Cons:

The documentation, although extensive is still not very intuitive for people who are starting their projects

Christopher
Student in Mexico
Education Management, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

An useful math program

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

It is a very intuitive program, you can watch what is happening with all the equations that you want to know the answers, you can sort out the equation step by step and see whats wrong and fix it manually. It is simply the best option if you want to sort out any equation or any math exercise. Also let the user watch in a graph or chart the full data.

Cons:

The price is the only issue that I see in this program, people would prefer use another program due to the expensive price of this program and I not blame them, all the people want most of the ocassions will want to use a free to use program instead of a very expensive app

Jason
Student in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very Effective Math Tool

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

There are so many things that you can do with Mathematica because of the Wolfram foundation. It's completely free-form, so you can use it in whatever way you like and achieve results: from contour plots to simple arithmetic and anything more simple or more complex. There are built-in functions to help you if you make a mistake in your code or if you need help figuring out what to do to achieve your goal.

Cons:

The tough part is learning all the aspects of the software. The way you have to write your functions and expressions are slightly unconventional to regular maths. And there's no way to know you did something wrong until you've messed up and it prompts you on how to fix it. Sometimes having too many functions is detrimental if there isn't enough support to help the users learn how to start.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Research, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Beautiful program for coding

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: So far I am really happy to use Mathematica to do some simpel data processing and produce nice plots

Pros:

The nice thing with Mathematica is the fact that it is very artistic and very easy to get publication quality plots

Cons:

Everyone will agree that Mathematica tends to be slower than other programming languages

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Wolfram Mathematica

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I use Mathematica for data handling and modeling. It has been very useful.

Pros:

The language used here is similar to other commonly used machine languages. So as a person who know them somewhat, Mathematica helped me on subjects such as physics when it comes to modeling.

Cons:

There is a long learning curve. But then again there always will be a lerning curve for a software like this. Therefore no big complaints

Olga Cecilia
Lawyer in Colombia
Legal Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A free math tutor

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Everyone can understand mathematics with this app, it helps you with equations, graphics and stats. I really like that they show you how to do the problem, making it easy to understand. As soon as you have master it everything about this app is great

Cons:

Wolfram has a really hard interface, even people who use this app daily has trouble when it comes to using the interface. Wolfram can be really difficult to use for new people

Morteza
Student in US
Research, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A must-have for engineers

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Mathematica is amazing! When you're not sure if an integral has closed form solution or not, then Mathematica can help you in just seconds! It's very powerful and is very handy. It's also very easy to learn! Definitely recommend it.

Cons:

When working with MATLAB, all functions are in small case. But in Mathematica, the first letter of predefined functions are usually in capital case. So it's a bit creepy when working with both simultaneously! It would be more than great if these two helpful software have same syntaxes.

Pawan
Self in US
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Very versatile (desktop version)

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

This software helped me get my bachelor’s degree in mathematics... I used it to solve a differential equation that got me an A in the class. The prof was happily impressed with how I used the tool to solve the problem. It was a simple problem, in retrospect: a block of salt in a water tank with fish and bacteria. The optimal flow that saved the fish but killed the bacteria was the “solution” - pun totally intended!!!

Cons:

It’s been a while since I last used the software; suffice it to say that it left a good taste in my mouth, so to speak.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Research, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Must Have mathematics package

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Complex algebraic expressions manipulations 2d/3d data and functions plotting and also numerical work. It is just great !

Pros:

It does almost everything related to algebra / numerics. For professional and beginners this is the right platform to practice maths.

Cons:

It should be more affordable or have limited but with features free version.