15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About PDF-XChange

PDF solution for creating industry-standard PDF files that uses virtual printer for document preview, conversion, and printing.

Learn more about PDF-XChange

Pros:

It's very fast in converting and editing files, integrated in Word, easy to use and the price beats all other similar software.

Cons:

The application has a weak point, when you upgrade the program, it will overwrite some files, what you customized, example titrules.js.

PDF-XChange ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.4
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.9/10

PDF-XChange has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 250 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used PDF-XChange before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (250)

Scott
Scott
Principal Consultant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Don't see myself ever going back to Adobe Acrobat

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It sounds corny, but I now look forward to working with PDF files. The software has worked flawlessly. With it, I get my work done quickly and easily. As I said, for some reason, the work (at least, this part of my work) almost seems fun when using PDF-XChange.

Pros:

Like most folks, I frequently need to view PDF files as this is how most documentation is deployed. On top of that, I also need to print out Microsoft Word documents and combine the files together into user manuals, as well as edit them. This software lets me do all of that and more. Even though PDF software might have the features you need, I want them to be intuitive. It's frustrating to spend a lot of time hunting and searching for what you need. PDF-XChange has done a pretty good job making it easy to accomplish what you set out to do. Finally, I guess that I am a "power-user". I get annoyed when I cannot customize the user interface so that just the tools I want are quickly available. For PDF software, this becomes even more important because I want to be able to easily configure the screen layout for reading different types of documents -- and the navigation tools have to be convenient and intuitive as it seems I'm rarely reading sequentially through the pages like a novel. I'm happy to say that PDF-XChange allowed me to customize the user interface with an extremely high degree of flexibility. It seems to let you configure almost anything - but, I didn't find that it was too difficult to figure out. Overall, I can't speak too highly of their software.

Cons:

I'm struggling to find a fault with the software. Thus far, I haven't found a feature that's disappointed me. Oh, I know one, it would be great if they offered a version for the Mac OS!

Geraldo
Admonistrativo in Angola
Telecommunications, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Evaluating PDF-Xchange Features

4.0 last year

Comments: PDF-XChange is a highly rated and popular PDF management software. It offers a wide range of advanced features including editing, annotating, encrypting and digitally signing PDF documents. The software is considered to be easy to use and efficient for managing documents in PDF format. However, there are areas where the software could be improved, such as integration with other software and workflow automation features.

Pros:

The most important features of PDF-XChange depend on my needs and goals. However, some features that I find very important include:Advanced editing toolsannotation and collaborationfile conversionInterface customizationdocument protectionAs for ease of use, I find PDF-Xchange to be relatively easy to use, especially for me who already have experience managing PDF documents.As for the integration with existing business processes, it was easy, from the experience I carry with this software, however, this may vary for other users depending on the software or systems used by the user.

Cons:

As mentioned earlier, some areas where PDF-XChange could be improved include integration with other software, real-time collaboration, workflow management, user interface and automation features. However, it is worth noting that the software already offers many advanced PDF management features.I find the user interface of PDF-XChange easy to use,It's important to carefully evaluate your business needs before choosing a PDF management software to ensure it meets your specific needs. However, this integration was easy.

Tracker Software Products Response

last year

Thank you, Geraldo, for the great review!

Tawanda
Tawanda
Child Wellbeing Tracking Officer in Zimbabwe
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Competent alternative to Adobe Acrobat

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: Accessible tools for use in pdf documents, life has been made easy when it comes to productivity capabilities of pdf-xchange. This product was made with the daily pdf document user in mind considering all the features at the user's disposal

Pros:

The ability to extract pages from a document is most impactful in my view and I have found it to be more useful for my use cases. Secondly, PDF-Xchange has a lot of features and tools to work with on a pdf document. Its also easy to use and offers a free version with all the basic tools

Cons:

The UI can be improved. There just isn't an appetizing document viewer despite all the editing tools in the menu

Marco Antonio
Marco Antonio
Ass. Jurídico in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A very good PDF reader and editor

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have been using PDF-XChange Editor for years and this software has met my needs well. I started using the free version and, realizing the advantages of the full version, got the license. It is even possible to do some tasks with other free software, which I have come to see, but with PDF-XChange is much faster and practical. It really is software I recommend.

Pros:

- open very fast - open very large files - allow advanced edition, like cut, extract and insert pages

Cons:

- the changes in the features in the last editions.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Besy PDF reader and editor

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: I am very comfortable to use the reader due to its functionality. I believe it will keep evolving for days to come.

Pros:

I can do every possible thing I may expect from a PDF editor. For instance, I can edit, change, sign, and convert.

Cons:

It is quite expensive. It needs to add some more features like a tick mark, etc.

Tracker Software Products Response

7 months ago

Thank you for your review! I've sent your proposition about "tick mark" to our dev team. If you wish to have other new features, please send a feature request to [email protected]. Also, bring us any questions about features and we will help you to navigate in its use. I hope you enjoy using PDF-XChange and I am sure you can find that PDF-XChange will be not too expensive for you (compared to Foxit or Adobe - as for a company of 1000 employees PDF-XChange Editor PRO starts from 16K USD, Foxit (PRO) - 159K, Adobe - 240K. Also, we offer a great discount for Academic Campus Licenses)

Brett
MD in Australia
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

pdf Exchange - better than Acrobat?

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: I love this software and switched from Acrobat. I found Acrobat had "dumbed down" the interface so much i was continually looking through menus to find a function. Not to mention the outrageous cost of Adobe products in general.

Pros:

It is very powerful and customizable. Improves workflow

Cons:

Some powerful features are hard to find and implement. Also the default setup/ interface didnt suit me but if you go into settings its possible to have it start and operate exactly to your preferences.

Tracker Software Products Response

8 months ago

Thank you, Brett, for the review! If you have any questions about features, please do not hesitate to ask us [email protected] We have a great support team to help you in using PDF-XChange Editor

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Civil Engineering, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

PDF Xchange - So easy to handle .pdf files

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I have used numerous PDF software for PDF and PDF-Xchange is something special for me. There are 100 reasons available to referrer someone to use PDF-Xchange for everyone. Everyone should try PDF-Xchange.

Pros:

I'm working in Civil Engineering Design firm and making and review reports are essential and I have to handle 100s of PDF documents daily basis. I love PDF-Xchange just because it's optimized performance. Opening and closing of PDF files and too quick when compared to other PDF software. Scrolling and PAN features are works smoothly and making comments on PDF are looking good. It helps to converts word and excel files without taking too much of time and also we can converts image files to PDF quickly. Organizing and re-arranging options also available in this PDF Xchange.

Cons:

I'm using PDFXchange for my every PDF works except editing PDF documents. I'm badly missing this feature in this software and I want to use Adobe for editing PDF files. I hope this feature will be introduced in future.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Research, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Time to change your PDF editor to PDF-XChange

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: very good and hope to keep using PDF-XChange in near future

Pros:

PDF-XChange is a terrific package which addresses almost all the commonly used features of a much more expensive and popular PDF editor software at a fraction of cost. The user interface has also improved a lot over the updates. They also offered me an 'academic user discount' !

Cons:

I haven't had any issues with this software.

JAZE
JAZE
Systems Administrator in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Architecture & Planning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

PDF-Xchange

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I appreciate having this tool because it always comes in handy when I need to edit my PDFs, it has been nothing but a pleasant experience for me.

Pros:

This software is simple, user-friendly and extremely cost effective which is super convenient for all that it does. I am able to edit PDFs quickly and without any hassles, and that's all I ask for.

Cons:

I have no cons to add about this software, I found it to be quite indispensable, I can't see why any business wouldn't want to try it out at least to see how much of an asset it really is. One thing you should note though, the free version does have a watermark enabled on it.

Abhijeet
Abhijeet
Senior Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Read, write, modify pdf with xchange

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience is good with this service. We are using this on daily basis and it is filling our demand exactly.

Pros:

Watermark, qc check, updated information combination of PDFs, extraction of PDFs

Cons:

I think addition of pdf in a single pdf is that area where company can work properly.

Tracker Software Products Response

2 years ago

Hi Abhijeet, Thank you for your review! Please send us more detailed request for the features/options you would be happy to have. ("Cons: I think addition of pdf in a single pdf is that area where company can work properly." ) [email protected]

Michael
n.a. in Japan
Writing & Editing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The only one (pdf software)

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Simply: this is the best.

Pros:

It gives me all the necessary functions I need, rearranging, deleting, adding pages. I can add memos, passwords whatever is necessary. I still haven't used all the possibilities (like adding signatures, backgrounds, ...) but I know that I don't need any software else for my pdf needs.

Cons:

That it doesn't run natively under Linux. I tried Wine-Ubuntu but it didn't work well. It was some years ago, I think I will try again. Here and there are some shortcomings like I cannot add pictures as memos.

Jeff
CISO in US
Banking, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great alternative to other high priced products to manipulate PDF's

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use PDF-XChange throughout our organization in various departments and rarely have any issues at all. We have never had to call tech support for assistance and users pickup functionality with minimal effort. Product has saved our staff 100's of hours manipulating and organizing PDF documents.

Pros:

The ability to quickly manipulate existing PDF's or simply create a new one from scratch was amazing. We work with thousands of in-house PDF's that are always being modified, therefor ease of use was a major requirement. Did I forgot the mention the price is 1/3 of what some of it's major competitors are charging. A commonly not used gem of a feature is the ability to shared PDF's in a library format so same PDF's are not getting overridden, therefor highly suggest using this feature if in multi users environment.

Cons:

Creating form fields can be a little complex, but to that fact, i have not found any software that does an exceptional job of this other than Adobe Pro's auto create form fields function.

Baiano
Computerised Systems Validation SME in South Africa
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simply the Greatest of All Time (GOAT) PDF Editor

5.0 last year

Comments: It's a great software app - superior to even Kofax Power PDF Advanced v5 (as at April 2023). While I use this app 90% of the time, and 10% use Kofax Power PDF Advanced v5 for automatic creation of Fillable Forms, my goal, and hope is to switch over to this app 100% - hoping the features mentioned in Cons can be addressed.Overall : Simply the GOAT Pdf editor!

Pros:

It is a very lightweight software app. It consumes fewer system resources, it's fast, responsive and most of all customizable.No other software app out there is customizable as this one - this software lets you customize even the User Interface colors.Merging and re-arranging pages is just a seamless Drag & Drop, and the OCR is extremely accurate.Features such as 'Open file location' and 'Rename file' from the current file tab make navigating back and forth between this app and file explorer seamless.Seamless Copy/Paste with Ctrl + Drag - a feature commonly available in Microsoft products - this makes like easier.User Interface is clean, and all controls and tools are logically placed - for cracking your skull figuring where to find any tool.This app is a

Cons:

AUTOMATIC PDF FILLABLE FORM:The only shortfall this app has is the inability to automatically detect and create fillable forms.It would be tremendously incredible to open a PDF file, and with a click of a button, have the app automatically create fillable forms, which the user can add/remove/edit later. (this feature is called FormTyper in Kofax PDF Advanced v5).Currently, it's a pain to create a fillable form in a file with 20+ pages because you have to add form components manually - as a result, I have to use Kofax PDF Advanced v5 to automatically create forms using FormTyper, then do the fine-tuning with PDF Xchange Pro to achieve what I need.WATCH FOLDER:The app has Tools as an additional app - which works 100% for additional tasks such as the bulk conversion of files to OCR. However, this feature needs user intervention in that, you have to click a button. The software does not do automatic processing, where you just do the setup, and have it monitor and process all new files added in a specific folder.Also, the source folder for bulk OCR processing has an option where you select subfolders, however, the output folder, the same source folder structure is not maintained - all files from the source folder and subfolders are output into one folder (subfolder-less folder).I hope these cons above will be added in the future

Tracker Software Products Response

last year

Thank you, Baiano, for such great detailed review! About your Cons comments: 1. We are happy to inform you that the next build (Version 10) will include Automatic PDF Fillable Form. 2. Also, we already have Watch Folder. In PDF-Tools in Main Menu click the Options and choose Folder Monitors. The information about settings is available in our Online Manual https://help.tracker-software.com/pdfxt9/ If you need any help, please email us at [email protected] or use Live Chat on the website.

Anthony
Mechanical Engineer in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review of PDF X-Changw

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I prefer this pdf viewer and editor over all the others I have tried. The available tools have been very useful for conveying what I need to show on my engineering drawings.

Pros:

Our company has adobe acrobat but I prefer X-Change for all my PDF markups. I can easily add approval stamps, highlight, circle, draw arrows to and do all this with various fonts and colors. The text boxes with arrows are key to me when helping indicate something important and I don't recall seeing this option in Bluebeam or Acrobat.

Cons:

I would like to have the color selection option to remember what I selected from the prior use. Also, when I use the textbox with arrows, the arrow leaders do not easily switch from side of the box the arrow is pointing from.

Paramveer
MD RESIDENT in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PDF Xchange editor is a cheap alternative to adobe acrobat

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

i moved from adobe acrobat to pdf- xchange after seeing that most features provided are comparable in quality and latter is so much cheaper and no subscription. I made this move 2-3 years back and happy ever since. - feature set at par with adobe acrobat - can do text redaction, extraction, customized printing options available - pellet of highlight color available, so i can switch from one color (yellow) to red in just one click - does not take excessive hard disk space - vertical scroll instead of horizontal scroll has made scrolling long pdf's a breeze - does not lag and system remains stable - colors are natural - frequent updates - learning curve is not high since it uses ms office template of options - swiftly integrated with outlook to send pdf in an email - has pdf protection features - can flatten comments - has features to make form in pdf file - can edit pdf text and can make a pdf file from scratch - has inbuilt ocr

Cons:

- the pen tool needs improvement, which is why another pdf application is required for touch screen laptops - cannot extract highlighted texts - does not have highlight tool in full screen mode - not many :-)

Dave
realtor in US
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

WAY better than adobe acrobat!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: With PDF XChange I can mark up a pdf just like it was a piece of paper. Very helpful in real estate.

Pros:

Intuitive interface. Rich feature set. Fabulous support. I sometimes wait until regular business hours to email support because I swear these guys will send a spot-on answer with annotated screen grabs even late at night and I don't want to bother them!

Cons:

Nothing I dislike. Simple tasks are simple but has great power to do complicated tasks.

PikoosBenzie
Director in Australia
Financial Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My most important Business Tool

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: My work involves sending documents to clients, as well as receiving documents. Being able to quickly highlight important sections and fast turn around is critical. I would hate to have to try and find a replacement PDF tool

Pros:

I love the functionality of the program. The ability to easily add text, signatures, and generally make use of PDF files. I use PDF Exchange viewer more than any other program, to view, edit and manage PDF files. I most probably open it 50 -100 times a day. I like the simplicity and speed of use! I have recently started using it to draw plans for my wood work projects.

Cons:

I only use about 10% of its capabilities... But knowing there is a lot more I can do is very daunting :-

Santiago
Senior Analyst in Germany
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best alternative to Acrobat

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have been using the paid version of PDF-Xchange for the last 4 years as a replacement for Acrobat and overall I am quite satisfied. With the exception of the small quirks, I have arrived to the conclusion that there is nothing better in the market.

Pros:

PDF-XChange offers all the functionality present in other software, I have never missed something. The key point is that it does not feel bloated. The interface uses a nice ribbon design, making it very familiar for windows users. The companion PDF-Tools is extremely useful for batch manipulation.

Cons:

There are some small quirks such as the software not remembering the size of my signatures, I have to resize them manually every time. Additionally the editor merges text elements and I have not found a way to disable this feature.

Sal
Consulting in US
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great PDF Progam

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It helps me create and edit PDF files.

Pros:

They have great support and you can upgrade by just staying current with your maintenance subscription. Then it is the ease of use as the software is better than all the PDF programs I tried.

Cons:

Sometimes I like the look of other competitors software but they have a cumbersome interface for my needs.

Riad
Adv. in Israel
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Using daily. Arabic and Hebrew languages supported (RTL) in the Editor

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: For my law office, I need the possibility to type above existing pdf files in both Arabic and Hebrew. The only software I know that make this possible is Tracker Pdf Editor (included in Pdf-Exchange Pro) and Adobe Acrobat Pro (not sure if all versions of Adobe Acrobat Pro are compatible). I am very satisfied with Tracker Pdf-Exchange Pro. I use it daily also for arranging pdf pages; making one pdf file from several files, extracting pages from pdf files, exporting pages to jpg when needed, and the list goes on. The unique function for me is the ability to use Arabic and Hebrew correctly, from right to left and in the correct order. In the big market of pdf software only Tracker Pdf Editor does that with "normal" price tag, while Adobe Acrobat Pro is much more expensive. I recommend the software from all of my heart.

Pros:

Arabic and Hebrew languages supported (RTL) in the Editor

Cons:

Positioning the typed text above an existing pdf file while using Arabic or Hebrew could be improved.

Kimberly
Kimberly
Geologist in US
Environmental Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great PDF Viewer and Editor

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall I am very happy with PDF-XChange. It definitely makes my job easier than it was before we started using this program.

Pros:

I use PDF-XChange every day. I have tried other PDF software, but this is by far the most user friendly, and effective when it comes to editing or revising PDFs. Primarily I use PDF-XChange to edit printed documents or maps. I like all the options it gives for adding things on-top of a PDF (shapes, text, images, stamps etc.) and the ability to add comments or notes. I like that the program allows you to add on passwords to lock a document for editing, copying or printing.

Cons:

I wish there was a function where you could insert documents in bulk. The function on my PDF-XChange program only allows for the insertion of one document at a time.

Olivia
office manager in Canada
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My favorite software to work with

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Excellent commenting and bookmarking tools, drawing and measuring. Great featured editing the document, plus security (even simple Redaction can protect the private information). I also can work with XFA Forms, and then convert my PDFs to Excel, PowerPoint etc.. or share through Dropbox, Google Drive, SharePoint, email... I can work with many types of documents, not only with .pdf, and can work with Portfolio , I need it often. New Ribbon UI makes my work more comfortable, clear. Great software, heartly recommend

Cons:

I would like to have version also for Apple products. I can work with portfolio but cannot create a portfolio. Maybe I would like to have more tutorial videos.

Albert
Broker/Owner in US
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Everything you need for a fraction of the Price

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I've been using for a couple of years now and it's absolutely one of the wiser options I've chosen. We're in a market where subscriptions nickle and dime you away, but this is definitely not one of them.

Pros:

You are able to choose the top of the line product with all the bells and whistles you need in a pdf reader and editor for literally a fraction of the price.

Cons:

Rarely, very rarely do I have a older style pdf's that I need to open with another solution because for whatever reader the font doesn't show up. Not sure if I just need to update or what but I'm talking literally twice over a couple years and I use this all day long.

Travis
Travis
Senior Project Accountant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best value software and ease of use

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

User interface easy to use Quick and easy organizing pages Very good OCR engine for optimizing files

Cons:

Lots of buttons everywhere so it takes time to get use to where everything is.

Hamdi
Software in France
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

good choice to read pdf

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: i used on my personal computer to read pdf always

Pros:

i use this software free version on my personal computer, it so good to read pdf books compared to other products

Cons:

Read only pdf files i wish if they include other file types like epub in the future so i can use this to read all docs