Microsoft Teams Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.2 /5

About Microsoft Teams

Cloud-based application developed for business communications that helps manage chat, meet, file sharing, and more.

Learn more about Microsoft Teams

Showing 5,326 reviews

Soumia D.
Technical Support
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/1/2021

"Teams review a Microsoft 365 administrator"

Comments: Microsoft Teams is considered a time and a lifesaver for me, I use it more than any other application and I enjoy using it and explaining how it works to others

Pros: as an administrator, I like how I can create teams, channels, add members and even assign owners from the admin center and make it easier to gather employees in specific groups.
restrict document sharing and guests inviting.
as a user and a CSP technical sales/ support representative, Microsoft Teams is my favorite application and it has helped me tremendously during the pandemic in scheduling and hosting business meetings in a mater of seconds, as well as providing support to customers and being able to have a live look at their screens, having the option to request control to resolve their issues.
another cool feature is the meeting recording option which automatically uploads the video to my Microsoft Stream and gives me a chance to go back to the meetings and share them with others if I want to.
my favorite of all time is the ability to share a document and collaborate with other team members, and it gets better when you just add a tab of the important file instead of looking for it in files every time you need it.

Cons: it requires some assistance for end-users to get familiar with it and use it to its full potential.
it is not considered a user-friendly app for those unfamiliar with it.
the fact that it is a part of other 365 plans, makes customers prefer other single applications

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/1/2021
Zach C.
CTO
Real Estate, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/3/2021

"Feature Rich but it has its Quirks"

Comments: Overall, it serves our needs. I'm not overly excited about some of the complications we've run into, but it still seems to be the best fit for our team at the moment.

Pros: I like that meetings, scheduling, chat, and calls within our team are all seamlessly integrated into this one application. It is easy to get a call or meeting started with teammates, share screens, even control another teammate's screen remotely. I also like some of the features such as the "Meeting Notes" and "Whiteboard" that can be used during a meeting, and it is all saved for future reference.

Cons: Individual user account management is a nightmare. The process is overly complicated and seems to be glitchy due to the complications. It was an extremely difficult process to get our team upgraded from the "Free" tier to the "Business Basic" tier, and it required hours of work and multiple customer service phone calls. I also don't like that the "Meeting Notes" is not real-time collaborative to have multiple people writing in it at the same time. I think it still lacks more sophisticated integrations with 3rd party products.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/3/2021
Stever jose G.
PMO
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/7/2018

"organization and collaboration of work in a single tool"

Comments: It is a software that is easy to handle and helps teamwork to flow faster and more efficiently.

Pros: the use of Microsoft Teams gave us the integration that we were lacking in order to integrate several solutions into one. the way of collaborative teamwork becomes a reality! In our company we have been using it for about 2 years and it has helped us to have a better control over the project's orientation.
You can organize each area in a team
Within each team you can have different channels
each channel is autonomous and has its space for chat (which is very complete with text format options)
each channel has an associated email address to receive mail and they are in the same panel as the chat.
You have availability to be each channel a site in Sharepoint Online to be able to assemble the library of documents for the documentation of each project or teamwork and can be accessed from teams or via web.
we can add wiki, onenote, etc. functionalities
complmenetos add on how to add a shortcut tab to Power BI, SP, MS Office, Planner, Jira, Open Agora, Youtube, VSTeamservices etc. which allows us to access any of these tools and more from the same channel.
It has a direct Chat integrated with Skype For Business and allows you to have 1 to 1 - 1 to n and make calls and conferences.
when creating the team, it has an associated agenda and you can conduct meetings via Skype for business without needing to use the Skype Forbusinees application.
adicioanla has notifications, file repository for each chat, I really recommend it as a functional tool for teamwork.

Cons: that the conversations when it happens a lot of time to have had them, the files and notes exchanged disappears from the panel, is one of the few things that would change him. the mobile client is a bit unstable, I imagine it's a problem of being so new.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/7/2018
Verified Reviewer
ICT Systems Coordinator
Music, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/5/2019

"Back and Forth Conversation Emails Are a Thing of The Past!"

Comments: Teams has signalled a shift in the way those in our business communicate with one another. It has meant that instead of emailing back and forth, users now use Teams to IM one another. No longer do users attach files to emails and send them to one another; now they simply share files quickly and easily through Teams. This increased communication between colleagues and departments along with increased sharing of resources and collaboration on work projects has improved productivity significantly.

Pros: Teams is a very user-friendly application that facilitates communication between individual users and whole departments. IM capabilities mean that users can message one another to collaborate on projects and share ideas. Files and documents can be shared with others, and Teams also has audio/calling conferencing capabilities (part of Microsoft's vision to deprecate Skype for Business in favour of Teams) meaning users can meet and share ideas even if they are at home or away from the office. The mobile app allows you to chat to colleagues when you aren't at your desk. If users are part of a departmental team, they can view these teams within the app; they can message other team members, share files, and use other Microsoft-specific apps such as Planner or SharePoint if they have been set up. Meeting scheduling is also available from within Teams, linking up with your Outlook calendar. For administrators, it is easy to deploy and maintain the Teams application using GPOs, and the application itself is self-updating on startup.

Cons: Teams currently installs to the user's 'AppData Roaming' folder, which means that it is installed separately for every user that logs into the computer. It is quite resource intensive to run the applications compared to other communications apps. However, both of these issues have been flagged for review on the Microsoft Teams suggestions and feedback website, suggesting they will be rectified in a future release.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/5/2019
Dan C.
Director Of Information Technology
Wholesale, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/9/2019

"Microsoft Teams crushes Slack!"

Comments: We wanted to get ahead of the sun setting of Skype for Business and realize the benefits of Teams collaboration capabilities.

Pros: Microsoft Teams provides all of the functionality of Skype for Business, but with a better user experience. The audio and video quality is excellent. The collaboration features are by far the best I've experienced. Simple to deploy, easy to use, I cannot say enough good things about Teams.

Cons: Without proper governance, this product will sprawl easily within your organization. Take some time to setup business rules and remove the default permissions, enabling the proper security and administration of the application.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/9/2019
Sampath C.
Executive - ICT
Textiles, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/10/2019

"Microsoft Teams is not only for conferencing its bunch of application"

Comments: Teams is good product for business work. This is coming with Office 365 as bulk product. Most of the time our internal roaming meeting are handle by MS Teams. Voice and Video quality is good, Screen sharing is working with low bandwidth conditions. Social Chanel activities like Facebook & Twitter are integrated with same application this is good feature for cooperate communication teams.

Pros: Microsoft Teams is not only conferencing app its integration bunch of application. With single application we are able to access most of the Microsoft service one-drive Calendar, One note, planner etc. Believe this is grate alternative for MS lync, SFB. Spaciously channel creation is very help full to discuss internal issues and and share our ideas. Team meeting work as slimier to Skype for business. video and voice quality is very clear and seems this is working with using less bandwidth. Product is getting attractive among the users and admins. it’s using AD credential for sign in.

Cons: Software startup time is slow have to wait little time to complete work. some time application environment complex for basic users that time we have to help them to find out application features. As a user and admin Cons are very less with the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/10/2019
Verified Reviewer
SW QA Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/11/2019

"Collaborative development - Microsoft teams to the rescue"

Comments: It is a great software for communication. Saving a lot of effort and time. Building applications collaboratively.

Pros: It is very easy to use, convenient and user friendly. It is a very light weighted software and does not take much of your space. It is great for internal communication in a company. It supports features like polling which is very useful. It has various apps and connectors to integrate with other software. It supports sharing of all types of files. It is great for scheduling and holding meetings. It supports the functionality where different channels could be created for different departments and teams under a company and promote collaborative development. Also supports excel and other ms documents.

Cons: Sometimes while sharing files, the software freezes and have to try sharing the file multiple times. It saves the files by default to a teams folder in the system and does not ask for a path to store the file. The UI when attending demo calls should also be enhanced, it just shows the number of people in the call.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/11/2019
Sean T.
Tax Manager
Accounting, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 1/3/2020

"Best Collaboration Tool for Your Team"

Comments: Overall, I think this far surpasses Microsoft's previous tool, Skype for Business, and has brought a new level of collaboration to Microsoft. I appreciate the attention to detail that Microsoft has put into this product and feel it would be a wonderful product for teams of all sizes.

Pros: As a tax manager in public accounting, my team is virtual, mobile and ever changing. With MS Teams I am able to create virtual team channel where we can collaborate, keep files and track assignments. My very favorite feature of this software is the ability to put documents into my team channel and then work on them at the same time as my team members. For example, I can upload an excel workbook with a clients tax return workpapers and then each person on my team can be in the file working on this at the same time. This is a HUGE game changer.

Cons: All things considered, I don't have a lot of criticism about this software except for one feature. In teams, the notification options are a bit limited. For example, when I receive a message from a coworker I have two options: 1) I can get a banner notification in the bottom right of my screen that will show the name of the sender and a few lines of the message or 2) no notification at all. What I think is missing here is the ability to have a banner pop up in the bottom corner that just shows that you have a new message. My reason for this is because I am often sharing my screen or have people who can see my screen - I want to be sure that confidential information is not displayed or that a more private message is not sitting in the corner of my screen for anyone to see.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 1/3/2020
Mohammed S.
Systems Developer
Pharmaceuticals, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/4/2020

"Microsoft's fantastic solution for team collaboration"

Comments: Microsoft Teams has been designed from the ground-up to help businesses get their employees to communicate with each other more efficiently and effectively. In my personal experience with Microsoft Teams, this has been one of the main reasons of the company purchasing this software and using it as a central pillar for the IT teams. The various parts of IT (software team, infrastructure team, business analysts team) have been able to set up their own channels in which they can communicate with each other and send information relevant only to that team. In addition, other channels have been set up in which the entire IT department can share content with each other. In this way, the efficiency of communication has been solved with this one piece of software from Microsoft. The benefits have been realized as teams are now able to spend more time working on relevant things instead of going through content which may be irrelevant for them. The Microsoft Teams 'channels' feature has been instrumental in allowing this to happen. In addition, Microsoft Teams has allowed for colleagues to communicate with each other from one place. This is because the software allows for chat/video/audio/content sharing facilities from within Microsoft Teams.
what benefits realized?

Pros: There are many features to like about Microsoft Teams, which I personally have experienced: -The overall design of it is very minimalist, simple and clutter-free. This makes it very easy to use and work with on a daily basis
-The 'channels' feature is a fantastic feature which is dedicated for conversations regarding specific topics (and for specific recipients)
-Skype video and audio calls can be made directly from Microsoft Teams, thus saving valuable time
-You can share messages, pictures, files, and links with anyone within a conversation
-The 'slash command' feature is a fantastic shortcut tool to anything you want to get done
-Microsoft Teams has a special email view in which you can see the main parts of an email without actually leaving the conversation/chat
-Microsoft Teams is available on both Android and iOS so that you can collaborate from wherever you are
-Microsoft Teams integrates perfectly with Microsoft cloud platforms such as OneDrive and SharePoint. For example, you can actually see and access files that are on the cloud directly through the Teams interface
-Dark Mode looks great!

Cons: To be honest, Microsoft Teams contains virtually all the beneficial features that one could want from a collaboration tool. The interface is fairly simple to use as it has a minimalist design. However, there have been a number of bugs that Microsoft Teams has been affected with, however. Although subsequent Microsoft software updates have solved a lot of these issues, it can get quite frustrating for system administrators at times. A reason why a company may not want to use Microsoft Teams is that there are other solutions such as Discord and Slack which have been popular for quite some time and do offer some good features for free. With Microsoft Teams for example, it is only free if there are less than 300 users and also there is a fee involved if a company then purchases the enterprise licence.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/4/2020
Audrey B.
Business Analyst
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/5/2020

"The integration with the Office 365 suite is a great advantage"

Comments: My team was using Microsoft Teams before we had to switch to remote work due to the current situation (we already had a flexible remote work policy so it was not uncommon for team members to attend meetings remotely). We are using it as an internal collaboration/communication tool to conduct meetings, share our screen and have informal conversations to ask a quick question or resolve an issue.
We also use it as a communication tool with clients: we ask questions to stakeholders and share documents with our clients via Teams and our clients have adopted it seamlessly.

Pros: Document management: Teams leverages the features of SharePoint for document management and allows to modify Office documents in real-time with multiple collaborators.
Easy definition of access rights to content/teams: Access rights can be defined at the team and at the channel level which allows to give access to Teams to clients while having separate areas within the team for internal conversation (which reduces the clutter for clients who would otherwise receive notifications for irrelevant conversations)
Multiple forms of communication: Teams allows to communicate via direct chat with another team member, within a channel, create group conversations and via conference calls.
Conference calls/webcast: High-quality webcast/videoconferencing with the ability to record a meeting and have this meeting saved to Microsoft Stream
Outlook integration: Ability to schedule Teams meetings from Outlook and vice versa

Cons: Access to meeting notes: when meeting notes are created during a meeting, they are associated directly to the meeting instead of being associated to the team. Having the option to take notes from a meeting that are added to a notebook shared by the team would allow to easily refer to these notes after the meeting (instead of having to look for the meeting to access the notes).
Notifications disabled by default: When part of multiple channels, it's easy to forget to enable notifications for each one. Conversations where the user or the entire channel is mentioned can go unnoticed.
The functionality that allows to toggle between Microsoft Teams organizations when you are part of multiple often causes errors that require to restart Teams.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/5/2020
Alain D.
Digital Communications / Multimedia Specialist
Oil & Energy, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/9/2020

"The better business tool for communication and collaboration"

Comments: While Teams wasn't always a smooth ride, I've seen Microsoft make some pretty great changes in recent months to improve the user experience. Even something as simple as being able to make a chat window pop out of frame was a big deal for me in terms of being able to multitask.

Pros: I love that Teams ties in with the Microsoft Office suite and Sharepoint. It allows mulitple users the ability to edit and share a document simultaneously, while having a call or sent messages back and fourth, all without having to leave the tool. There's also a built-in calendar and task manager, so collaboration and accountability have a high level of visibility for the userbase.
Managing user accesses is also a breeze.

Cons: My biggest gripe: File management can be a NIGHTMARE. I'd love to see some work done by Microsoft to make it easier to find previously shared items. If you lose track of which conversation thread you shared a file in, finding it can be a lot of effort, involving retracing multiple steps. If there was a better/quicker way to search for shared items, it would be awesome.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/9/2020
Vadiraja T.
Project Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/8/2020

"All round solution for remote connections"

Comments: Just to explain in one word, this is perfect.

Pros: > The speed of the connection is really super fast compared to any of the other software.
> The main thing which I have seen this doing best is screen share and video calls. Normally the software take some time to connect to the channel or meeting, but the teams exceeds them all. The lag-less connection anywhere around the world is really mind-blowing.
> The ease of use (one of the primary needs during this lock-down) is really fantastic.
> The flexibility in chat, meeting and groups is really good.
> The file sharing and the encryption which I personally use the most is better in front of its peers.

Cons: The main thing is audio connection. As compared to other software, this should explore the options which I personally found lacking in the teams. As soon as we connect to any meeting, there should be an option to connect outside audio connection like mobile phone to join. That would be a better solution as I found perfect.
Other than that, this is perfect.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/8/2020
Scott D.
Wetlands & Permitting Manager
Environmental Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/9/2020

"Bring the Team Together"

Comments: Teams has allowed the compant to work remote and still come together through video conferences and webinars. Also file sharing through Teams has reduced the need for google docs and other additional spreadsheets.

Pros: Microsoft Teams allows you to set up on your computer and phone. It works on a variety of platforms. It makes it easy to chat with remote team members and share files. Also, you can do video conferences on the go. Similar to Facetime for IOS but a lot more functionality.

Cons: The issue may be fixed now, but Teams was having a hard time allowing outside parcipants who did not have a Teams account. We needed to bring in clients and it seemed to hang up frequently.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/9/2020
Andrew C.
Managing Editor
Publishing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/10/2020

"Perfect for Staying Connected in 2020"

Comments: Teams has been a great tool for our company to share messages, whether between two people, a division of people, or across the entire company of 100+ employees. Our company switched over from Slack as we grew in numbers, and while the UI has taken a bit of time to become acclimated to, Teams has been invaluable for us for all of the available features and the integration with Outlook calendars and our other Microsoft applications.

Pros: Teams has been perfect for my coworkers and me in 2020 when everyone is working remotely. We can effortlessly communicate with one another through the chat feature. We have created teams for our various work teams, departments, societies, and even for interests outside of work. Teams has enabled us to continue our biweekly meetings directly in the app. In a training session the other week, through screensharing I was even able to take control of the other user's screen, which was a remarkable feat. Teams also connects seamlessly with our Outlook calendars, which is a great deal of help when someone is asking in the channel about my availability or when a Teams meeting is on the horizon.

Cons: My only real con with Teams is that I wish it were easier to set a status - the status auto-changes to away after five minutes and sometimes has issues coming back to available. Any away or out of office statuses aren't as readily visible as I would like. The UI overall could be a bit more user-friendly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/10/2020
Pierre louis F.
IT manager
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2020

"Great collaboration tools"

Comments: I use Microsoft Teams as principal collaboration tools for video calls, screen sharing and the apps is great. For example you can invite someone with any emails addresses in an online meeting even though the app isn’t install on his/her phone or computer ...it is easy to use in a web browser.

Pros: Microsoft Teams is a great tools, it is one of the app in the Microsoft 366 package (former office 365 ), you can use it for conferences call, sharing documents, creat group,...Microsoft announced Teams will replace Skype fo business summer 2021.

Cons: They could offer options to subscribe to Microsoft Teams as a stand alone app also, instead to pay for the whole Office 365 package.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2020
Jon A.
Head of Global Customer Advocacy
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2020

"At last! Teams is now the defacto standard for collaboration"

Comments: Having use countless, similr solutions like Slack and WebEx, at last MS comes up trumps with a super, seamlessly integrated product in Teams. Having used Cisco WebEx and Slack, I was dubious about using teams, and when it was rolled out, I realised just how brilliant its become. I always derided MS products as being a but clunky and unable to compete with some of the "cooler" brands, but I am happy to report Teams has changed my mind. From the way you can just start a call right from teams, to how you can bring people in to your call, share files stored in SharePoint and create public and private groups - it's just so quick and easy. Now it's not to say everything is perfect, there is room for improvement like making it easier to customize your background without having to root around in the System32 folder (danger!). But for flexibility, collaboration, instant messaging, file sharing, conference calling and integration into the MS suite, you just don't need products like WebEx anymore, and I have also uninstalled Slack. Genuinely impressed.

Pros: So easy to start a conference call, simple to schedule from Outlook, great conferencing features and IM tools. Integration with Yammer is great!

Cons: Some features need looking at, especially notifying the person who may be on mute for example, as well as having better capability on the whiteboard.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2020
Andy T.
Technical Support Engineer
Media Production, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/2/2021

"Excellent communication and productivity app"

Comments: My small team was already using Teams before the pandemic and we liked it. When the pandemic hit, we made the decision to finally tell everyone that Teams was the preferred communication method during work from home and people took to it really well. It's easy to use and our users adopted it quickly. We still use it every day and I can't imagine it won't be a big part of things even as work situations return to normal.

Pros: Teams is great because it combines a lot of different things together. All of the video chat and voice chat features have obviously been great during work from home, but my team was using it when we were in the office, and it was great then as well. The concept of channels is great. All of the different MS products you can tie in like Planner or SharePoint are great. If you want it to, it can really be a one stop app for many of the MS products you use on a daily basis. It's got a nice easy to use interface and they are frequently adding new features and integrations to it.

Cons: We've experienced issues with not being able to use Bluetooth headsets with Teams as easily as we'd like. Especially with the mic not working. Also, while I love all the integrations it offers, some of them are just slow enough in loading that it's easier to use the native app. By the time it loads some of my OneNote pages, I could easily open and start doing things on the native app. I'm sure that will get better and it's still nice to have th in one app when I want it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/2/2021
Verified Reviewer
Principal Consultant
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/3/2021

"Excellent collaboration tool for teams"

Comments: Since we are already using Microsoft office 365, it was an easier jump for us to adopt and onboard Microsoft teams.Being satisfied with the tool, it also helped to get cost savings and tight integration with the Microsoft ecosystem we have already adopted. I would prefer Teams any day over the alternatives purely for the peace of mind since it is more secure.

Pros: Microsoft teams provides all the functionalities like chat, message, call, audio/video meetings to enable collaboration among geo-distributed teams. We already had Microsoft business 365 setup, hence getting Teams was a breeze. We actually moved away from Skype for Business and adopted Teams for entire enterprise. It integrates well with our Microsoft ecosystem like Outlook, Azure DevOps, etc. Also it is very secured as compared to other alternatives in the market.

Cons: Microsoft teams UI seems outdated, it will be perfect to have a lightweight UI for desktop as well as mobile app for faster startup times for meetings. Also it will be great to have a centralized UI for all internal and external team org users

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/3/2021
Robbi J.
Learning Systems Specialist
Insurance, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/4/2021

"Game-Changer for Remote Workforce"

Comments: We're still working mostly remotely, so nearly all of our meetings and communications happen through Teams. We currently do not have meeting video enabled due to infrastructure limitations (upgrades are in progress), but regularly participate in video meetings with our parent company. Since about 80% of our workforce is remote in (sometimes very) small offices around the country, we were expecting multiple issues - but it's all gone very smoothly. We've experienced very few interruptions (one), and although we do have the odd glitch (one person may drop out, or have sporadic audio issues), we have FAR fewer communication issues through Teams than we did before (using a combination of Jabber, Remote Desktop, landlines, conference lines, Adobe Connect meetings, etc.).

Pros: We implemented Teams early because of the pandemic. Long story short, Teams saved us. We had a large remote workforce before the pandemic that swelled to a 100% remote workforce overnight. There were some challenges with existing solutions in the first week, but once we implemented teams, we were able to pick up as if nothing had changed. If anything, our communication IMPROVED - I connected with every company employee to troubleshoot training issues using live screen sharing, easily see who was online, send quick chat messages instead of emails, book meetings, share files, etc. We do everything over Teams now - filesharing, task management, video storage - it's definitely been a game-changer! Teams is just... EASY. Notifications can be configured so you never miss a contact or due date. It's definitely improved the way we work.

Cons: Teams has a lot of capabilities, and it can be a bit daunting to navigate at first. My team produced the initial roll-out training, and even WE got lost occasionally when it was initially implemented. In hindsight, I would have created a guide on how the pieces fit together (e.g. files shared in a meeting can ALWAYS be found by returning to an instance of that meeting; files shared with people can be found in Chat, etc.). Expect a bit of confusion when you first roll it out, but once people get used to where to find things, it becomes second nature.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/4/2021
Chris L.
Lecturer
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/5/2021

"Great, but navigation is difficult"

Comments: We have to use it for our college to remote teach our students as it was mandated by the college themselves, and after a bit of a learning curve, it does do what it needs to, but there are ways that the program could be made more efficient and easier to navigate through.

Pros: The ability to take remote classes in this program without having to have a separate application is a real positive - I used to teach remotely before Covid times, and used a combination of my own Virtual Learning Environment, Slack for text communication with the students, and a live stream on youtube. This does put everything in one place, and integration is great with OneDrive!

Cons: There are a few difficulties with Teams. While there is a search function, finding what you need means learning the structure of where things are - each "team" is a class, that then gets further divided down into channels, within these you have the assignments, etc - it can be complex. Recording lessons was only being saved for 30 days, but this can now be set to save permanently now.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/5/2021
Gerald S.
Student
Design, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/5/2021

"Teams a virtual office building"

Comments: I really enjoyed using teams especially during remote learning and work. I feel like it is a virtual office because every part of my organization is there and it also speeds up communication through direct messaging instead of emails pre-pandemic. The functionality is also great and caters to the different formats of my work. I will keep on using teams and will recommend it to anyone who needs a platform to communicate and collaborate with their organization.

Pros: I really like the integration of other Microsoft software. Since I am a student, I constantly have to work on different assignments on different formats, and so the integration really helps with having a range of features that are available. Additionally, I enjoy the ease of having it structured to fit for classrooms, such as the "assignments" feature, it really creates a seamless integration of all the required communication demands of my organization.

Cons: I wish that we can still contact people from outside the organization to participate in calls or chats because I regularly have meetings with people outside of my institution too. Additionally, the way the files are organized are is really tedious, I noticed that every time I want to go back, I have to go back from the first step when navigating, especially when closing documents.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/5/2021
Verified Reviewer
Managing Director
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/6/2021

"Out-standing and all in one online meeting application"

Comments: With Microsoft teams, we are able to do effective document management and efficient communication. Microsoft teams allows us to do calender scheduling and with this, we are able to organize events effectively.

Pros: Microsoft teams shines in a number of features. The following are the features that we find outstanding in Microsoft teams: 1. Screen sharing.
It allows an individual to share the specific window he/she wants to share while doing a presentation. With sharing, members in the same meeting are able to follow on what the presenter says and does practically.
2. Ability to give control
The presenter can allow a member in the meeting upon request to do some practicals and movements on the shared screen.
3. Call transfer
This feature enables one to switch a call from one device to another. Let's say you call using your phone then later you realize that you need to use your computer to share some document that is not in your phone or vice versa. Transferring the call will be of help in such a case.
4. Document sharing
During a meeting, one can share a document or documents with other members in the chat section. One can also share links for documents. There is also the ability to limit access to the shared files that is an external person cannot be able to view them.
5. Group creation
This is effective when you have different departments within the organization. Members of the same department can be allocated a group in which they can be communicating and sharing information pertaining their group.
6.Session recording
There is a feature for recording a meeting for future reference. If during a presentation you miss out something you can referr to the recording for reference.

Cons: Microsoft teams is 'heavy'. It uses a lot of memory space but again since it is efficient then one can expand the device memory to accommodate it well so as to avoid having the device run slowly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/6/2021
Imi C.
CIO
Government Administration, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/6/2021

"MS Teams is more than the VC conferencing tool but it is a greedy applicaiton"

Comments: Being using this app from its inception and it keeps growing daily, however the app is memory intensive and sometimes slows down my phone or laptops. Overall, it is a business drive software that will become the swift army knife for remote working.

Pros: Teams provides several features of with the ability to integrate with all of the other Office 365 application is the best.
MS Team for meeting leads with an integrated calendar.
MS team for chatting about a document stands out over other application.
MS Team for sharing an email directly to a channel group members for their feedback is most productive in my environment as compared to the broadcasting of an email to several colleagues and waiting for a replay in your inbox.
Mobile application is good, once you can afford a good high end Android phone.

Cons: The app is memory intensive.
The app is bandwidth intensive.
I cannot quite complain about the functionalities at this point, as they are a growing list of new and improved application and functionalities all tied into the Office365 platform.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/6/2021
Laxmi S.
Graphic designer
Graphic Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/5/2021

"Good for kids online classes during pandemic period"

Comments: We got to use it on daily basis as nothing best yet than this app for children online studies

Pros: We uses it daily for chat in between online class.
For online exams
For discussion in class.
my kid specially enjoys it as its the time to meet and see her school friends face to face in corona lockdown

Cons: Many things i dsnt like about this app 1)- class or exam link is broken sometimes , and we get hangs and moves to whatsapp Student group for asking help for additional link to same class/ exam 2) average people have weak internet and this app runs good only on good to strong internet ,which causes video freeze , link dsnt open , ejection of student while running class and poor audio /video quality 3) if we get ejected from class before the class going to end we dsnt see the class link anymore in calender option.. teacher get annoying at us and we explains her the
very helpless situation of app .
4)- we have to re request class link if we get ejected before the class ends, as calender option stop showing meetings links if time almost finished to re join.which is unfair

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/5/2021
Alhassan A.
Research Coordinator
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/7/2021

"opens entirely new world of possibilities on how to boost productivity in team settings"

Comments: Microsoft Teams has helped us maintain our level of productivity in these uncertain times of remote work, where team supervision and monitoring protocols have been completely overhauled. The collaboration and practical communication tools it offers has helped us improve in certain areas of our workflow.

Pros: The best thing about using Microsoft Teams is that it runs perfectly with almost all of the tools we use regularly in our day to day tasks such as the Office Tools; allowing for real time editing, sharing and location of relevant documents as meetings are being held.

Cons: The specifications that enable remote control assignment should be revised to allow for lower capacity devices capable of running Microsoft Teams to equally execute this function as well. Also, the installation process could automatically adjust the system settings of the operating system that may hinder the execution of this function fully.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/7/2021