Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.4 /5

About Netwrix Auditor

Gain complete visibility and control over IT infrastructure changes and configurations

Learn more about Netwrix Auditor

Showing 138 reviews

Glenn J.
Sr. Systems and Security Architect
Research, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2018

"A good product for the money"

Comments: We have been quite happy with Netwrix and staff are starting to rely on it for detailed auditing.

Pros: Netwrix Auditor is a good product that audits all of the items we need to audit. It will audit file servers, database server, Active Directory Servers, SharePoint servers and a whole lot more. We use it for all of these items and the price did not go up because we added more machine types.

Cons: Netwrix can be a bit finicky at times. We have has it stop auditing a server because the configuration on the server was changed. It took a bit of work with support for them to realize that it shouldn't have stopped due to the configuration change and once they figured that out, they fixed the problem. Once we got the auditing to start, it picked up all of the items it missed while it wasn't auditing, so we lost nothing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2018
Jordan D.
IT Manager
Consumer Goods, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/10/2018

"Great tool for network visibility"

Comments: I find visibility to be one of the greatest tools as a network manager. Netwrix gives me the ability to monitor file actions as well as account actions that may tip me off to a security breach on the network. Or, if an employee wants to know the exact reason a file went missing I am able to query Netwrix and provide an exact answer, even a screen capture of the event in progress if I wanted. With customizable notifications I am able to get on the spot information when specific events occur, like somebody attempting to log into a Domain Administrator's account without authorization. Though a little expensive, it is better to have the security Netwrix auditor provides than to allow a network breach go unnoticed until it is too late.

Pros: Easy to setup
monitor AD, Logs, Events, etc
customizable notifications
visibility into files, Group Policy, Active Directory, Office 365, Azure, etc
advanced features that help track down file actions, like screen captures or recordings of the actual event

Cons: The interface is sluggish
can cause some network interference if not tuned properly
cost

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/10/2018
Richard W.
IT Mgr
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2017

"Great software that reads your event logs and makes it easy to read, break down and report on."

Comments: Know exactly what is happening in your network so you can detect problems and intrusion attempts before they get bad.

Pros: This software takes your computer and server event logs and breaks them down into reports that you can easy view and understand exactly what is going on with your environment. You can also record what anyone does on your servers as a video. All reports can have real time notifications of events you select like multiple failed logins etc. It is also an amazing price for all that you get.

Cons: The only thing i have had is that the new version doesn't support Windows Server 2003-2008 so what i did was spun up 2 VM's for this software and ran an older version on one VM and the newest version on an other so I can have the old version monitor the 2003-2008 servers and the newest version monitor 2008 R2 to 2016.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2017
Matthew F.
Senior Systems Engineer
Education Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/7/2017

"Netwrix has helped revolutionize our processes and simplify environmental monitoring and management."

Comments: We are able to easily spend our time on innovation as opposed to "fire-fighting."

Pros: Netwrix makes the process of auditing changes within our Active Directory environment very simple. We no longer have to spend additional time chasing down problems and what caused them. We can quickly evaluate what has recently changed, who changed it and then evaluate the best resolution without wasting time. This allows us to focus on the most important aspects of our jobs!

Cons: Netwrix does not have a lot of features that I do not find amazing. The only item that I can find that comes close to being a "con" involves the way that data is processed. I would love to find a method of auditing active directory and servers that do not involve granting Domain Admin rights to an account used for the product. It is understandable, though.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/7/2017
Glenn J.
Sr. Systems and Security Architect
Government Relations, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/4/2018

"A lot of features at a good price."

Comments: It has been used to show my company does take securing sensitive information seriously.

Pros: Netwrix Auditor audits a lot of different products such as SQL Server, Windows Servers, Active Directory and NetApp file servers. It is very consistent in its runs and produces reports and alerts that our US government clients fully accept. It has helped my company receive numerous accreditation for performing auditing properly.

Cons: It can be difficult to configure and sometimes fails during a heavy load. Although it may fail every now and then, it will go back and gather the information it missed in the last run and get backup to date on the audits.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/4/2018
Eric K.
Systems Administrator
Consumer Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/7/2017

"Very nice product that helps with finding activity on your network"

Comments: insight into the things that change on our network that you do not know about

Pros: Ease of use is one, The functionality that it has in it is far beyond what we could have written. It covers a lot of ground on your network. The ease of finding what changed within a file server for me is key.

Cons: Like any software, how it is licensed. Licensed by how many active AD objects you have, well we have some active objects that do not get logged into or touched but they count against us.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/7/2017
Kevin K.
Network Sys Admin
Warehousing, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/1/2018

"Product has consistently worked and is very reliable"

Comments: Saved a lot of time with end users.

Pros: The product has always worked for us and is extremely easy to manage. The cost was definitely right for the product.

Cons: Only problem is that I haven't explored all the options that Netwrix has to offer. The have a wide range of products and I've just scratched the surface.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/1/2018
Stephen K.
IT Manager
Legal Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/1/2019

"IT Manager"

Comments: You can't go wrong with Netwrix Auditor! It is a good products among a line of good products.

Pros: I like that I have can a "one-stop shop" for all my auditing needs. Very easy to use and the support folks are great!

Cons: That I had to remove the old version - which was a big pain.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/1/2019
Stan M.
Network Administrator
Consumer Goods, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/7/2017

"I have found the most reliable feature of the software is "No data is available ""

Comments: The visibility on changes in Active Directory is incredibly valuable.

Pros: When the software works as advertised the information collection and reporting is far easier than attempting to extract the date from convoluted Microsoft logs using problematic scripts. The advertised data collection is extensive, and covers the most critical areas needed by a small business IT department with a limited staff. The active directory reporting is incredibly valuable and should be a mandatory for any business with or without a dedicated IT department.

Cons: Getting the data collection to work, and then keeping the data collection working is almost nothing short of an exercise in futility. The purpose of the software is to collect and report data, and yet Netwrix does not seem to hold back on making the process seem like a customer problem by providing numerous dead end resolutions. The lack of data collection troubleshooting tools does not go unnoticed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/7/2017
David W.
System Adminsitrator
Financial Services, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/1/2019

"Great Product"

Pros: Has a versatile use for auditing and other tracking and reports.

Cons: Some things need to be bought in packs and you can buy them separate.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/1/2019
Antonio O.
Adminsitrator
Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/7/2017

"With the new 9.-0client setup and monitoring has become much easier"

Pros: I like how easy it is to deploy and upgrade. The new 9.0 interface is a great improvement over the previous version.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/7/2017
Faraz S.
Client Solutions Analyst II
Pharmaceuticals, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/7/2017

"Easy to setup and easy to use. Gets the right information easily"

Comments: Easily able to monitor changes to our AD environment

Pros: Simplicity of the product. Pre canned reports. Alerting of various changes such as group memberships etc. API availability.

Cons: There are no simple options available to customize existing reports beyond the fields exposed in the console.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/7/2017
Majid I.
Sr. manager
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/7/2017

"i have a complete knowledge of what is happening in my Infra"

Comments: complete knowledge of what is happening in network infra

Pros: it helps you with the various reports which helps you to track events in infra. able to record admin activity on server. alerts on some important events

Cons: Need more flexibility in terms of email alerts exclusion of specific systems from alerts. need real time dashboard atleast for domain changes which can be monitored on screen

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/7/2017
Jay P.
CIO
Banking, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/7/2017

"Excellent Product"

Comments: Compliance mostly, but also managing engineers and having some insight on what is happening on the administration of the network that I am not directly involved with.

Pros: The automation is great. We love the videos of admin. The examiners love the reports and the history as well.

Cons: A little pricey to add seats and have to do it in groups or sets of end user client licenses. Will budget more next year.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/7/2017
Ray T.
Manager of Technology
Higher Education, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/7/2017

"Works well in helping to audit our Active Directory"

Comments: We are able to get a far greater understanding of what id happening in our Active Directory environment. Makes us and the auditors much happier.

Pros: Pretty straight forward to get on and use. I have several less technical individuals successfully on it.

Cons: Requires client install. Would be much easier for many of the auditors to use a web interface instead.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/7/2017
David H.
IT Services
Mining & Metals, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/1/2019

"Audits made easy"

Pros: The daily reports that are customizable has proven to be very beneficial for our team. We can head off brute force attacks due to the notifications.

Cons: The user interface is a little clunky but is manageable. Also, it could pull a bit more info from server event logs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/1/2019
Rick P.
I.T. Mananger
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/7/2017

"Works as advertised"

Comments: I use the file server auditor, so being able to see who deleted/moved what file/directory is very beneficial to me from an HR perspective.

Pros: Saves audit data to a database for easy searching, emailed csv files make it easy to archive audit data.

Cons: Database options are limited to microsofts offerings only, would like to see an option for MySQL/MariaDB as well

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/7/2017
Andy S.
Network Admin
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/7/2017

"if you need to monitor users you need this software."

Pros: The ability to monitor changes without going through tons of event logs. The time saved is well worth it.

Cons: Cost could be a bit less on the licensing side. More custom reports would be good, sometimes the canned reports are not enough. Better report scheduling.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/7/2017
Laura B.
System Administrator
E-Learning, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/7/2017

"We use this to remind remote users when to change their passwords. It's great!"

Comments: Fewer helpdesk calls for people who have not changed their passwords

Pros: We can customize the email message end users receive, to specify exactly what steps they need to take to change their password so they don't have to call us each time. And we can customize when to email them.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/7/2017
Michael L.
Sr. System Engineer
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/7/2017

"Was okay product. Did what we needed. Started giving us problems towards the end and stopped."

Comments: Provided a daily inactive user report and help manage AD passwords.

Pros: Nice logs of account expirations. Daily reporting of users was great. Password management portal was very helpful.

Cons: Wasn't alway accurate for some of our external domains. Reported inactive accounts were actually still valid users.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/7/2017
Tilmon H.
Vice President
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/1/2019

"Amazing Audit control"

Pros: Know what's happening in your environment

Cons: Setup a bit hard. But great once the software is going

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/1/2019
Rahul P.
Senior Systems Engineer
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/9/2018

"Disappointed"

Comments: Was hoping to leverage it for audit and compliance. Does collect all the logs, but reports and data handling has lot to desire.

Pros: Provides all the features you need......

Cons: The features are there, however, reports hardly work, constant bug fixes or upgrades.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/9/2018
Christopher M.
Consulting Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/1/2019

"awesome software"

Comments: very easy to audit AD and what changes are made. use it all the time for domain admin reports, domain admin changes.

Pros: very easy to use, easy to train people. the software runs on autopilot.

Cons: can't customize the reports, not able to search for specific items that you know is in the database.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/1/2019
Sasko Z.
Director of IT
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/7/2017

"Grrat product, lot of features"

Pros: This software has everything he needs to make my job easier. Easy Active directory integration, keeps track of all file changes, keeps track of all user activities. The daily Reports are fast to display. I like the option of exporting and saving the files in PDF format.

Cons: Configuring the reports do not work all the time. It takes multiple times to do the configuration for the report to work.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/7/2017
Deidre D.
Network Security Admin
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/7/2017

"We have never had a software that gave us this visibility into your network. I love it."

Comments: Network visibility and reporting is amazing.

Pros: I love the ability to create almost ANY report you can dream up. I am a newbie, I cannot wait to see what all this application is capable of. I want to get wait deep in this and learn, learn, learn. I thought it was very easy to set this up out of the box. We are getting reports within the first 24 hours of install.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/7/2017