15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About Salesforce Platform

Build around the customer with AI-powered apps to create amazing experiences.

Learn more about Salesforce Platform

Pros:

Lightning view took Salesforce to a whole other Level. It is cleaner and sharper and over all a better easier way to navigate through the platform.

Cons:

Having a hard time finding some of the features I typically use and sometimes have to default back to classic but after a little more training I should have the hang of it.

Salesforce Platform ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Service
3.9
Features
4.3
Value for Money
3.8

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Salesforce Platform has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 322 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Salesforce Platform before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (322)

Dennisse
Dennisse
Operations Manager in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Salesforce as CRM and HR ATS

5.0 last year

Comments: I love this software, it's part of my day to day and it is key for my organization to execute and track performance effectively.

Pros:

Salesforce features continuously improve and grow overtime. It allows us to integrate even external apps via API. I have been using Salesforce both as a user and as admin.

Cons:

I have nothing i do not like although i hope to see more improvements on SFDCs email marketing outreach features.

Alternatives Considered: Zoho CRM and NetSuite

Reasons for Switching to Salesforce Platform: It's the leading CRM and i know how to build and use it more than any other software.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Philanthropy, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Selected platform for our business processes

4.0 6 months ago

Comments: We decided upon a platform approach for digitizing our business processes. We went though a significant procurement exercise to identify the most appropriate tool based upon our business requirements and salesforce was the decided solution. We initially implemented on one key process within the organisation and then have prioritized and adopted other key business processes as we mature using the system.

Pros:

Our approach means that we have all key business processes (and subsequent data) in one location. This also provided consistency in approach and allows us to transform our processes as we adopt onto Salesforce. The tool itself is incredibly flexible and powerful, and has never failed to meet our needs.

Cons:

Development / developers need to be expert in Salesforce code, a non-technical user is not able to configure the system, even with 'easy' requirements. It's not a massive issue BUT one that small/medium size organisations need to plan for.

Ryan
Sales Executive in US
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Salesforce Review

5.0 last month New

Comments: Worth the money and the time investment once you have it set up.

Pros:

It can do anything you need it do and it can be customized to multiple business units.

Cons:

The cost of getting things set up the way you want them is large from both a time and monetary perspective

Michael
Manager in US
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Powerful Once You Learn How to Use It (But Expensive)

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Salesforce is the backbone of our company. It is tied into everything and used by every team. It is incredibly customizable and it seems they have a way to do almost anything you need. We use it for Sales, Support, Marketing, and product feature usage. We have it hooked into other apps and other saas products. This is the product that will scale with your business and can support a company at any stage of growth. There are a ton of integrations out of the box (on their salesforce exchange) and their APIs allow savvy developers to build custom integrations that aren't available.

Cons:

When the company initially implemented it, they tried to "wing it" and it was a complete mess. You really need someone who knows what they are doing to setup, administer, and maintain the software. It is also expensive. We got grandfathered into some great pricing, but if we weren't, we're not sure we would be able to continue to use SFDC as we grow. SFDC also loves to gobble up other apps and brand them with the SFDC name. So they have become a jack of all trades - however, some of the things you can't do are surprising (just go check out their community page for all of the list of enhancements that haven't been implemented). For example, we use cases for our help desk, but there is a lot of functionality missing compared to a best in breed help desk software like ZenDesk. Support is terrible here by the way. They really push you toward self-service or community based service. You're lucky if you ever get a response.

Connor
Finance Lead in UK
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Salesforce transformed our contracting and invoicing

4.0 4 months ago

Comments: Salesforce has completely transformed our contracting and invoicing processes. As a fast growing start up we needed a solution to our contract management. Previously, all contract information used to sit in a huge g-sheet, which made monthly invoicing quite the task and not completely free from error. However, with Salesforce we're more able to audit contract information and download custom reports that slot straight into our invoicing process. This saved our FinOps team days in month end.

Pros:

- Easy to navigate huge volumes of contract data - Custom downloadable reports that feed straight into our invoicing process - Fully customisable to accommodate our ongoing business changes

Cons:

- Off the shelf it is a bit clunky and so a Salesforce Admin is key to getting it how you want, which is obviously an additional cost (but worth it!)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Medical Devices, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Salesforce Platform Review

3.0 7 months ago

Pros:

Aspect is the emphasis on data management and analytics.

Cons:

Salesforce's extensive capabilities mean that it can have a steep learning curve, particularly for new users. It may take some time and training for employees to become proficient in using the platform to its full potential.

Valentina
Finance Manager in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Salesforce Platform Is an Incredible CRM Solution

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

I am impressed by the features of Salesforce Platform. Salesforce Platform has our marketing and makes our work easier.

Cons:

Salesforce Platform has been so exceptional. No dislikes for Salesforce Platform.

Marco
IT Expert in US
Consumer Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Salesforce Platform Gives Us Value For Money

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

I love the efficiency of Salesforce Platform. Salesforce Platform works so well for us because it has been so effective.

Cons:

I do not dislike Salesforce Platform. Salesforce Platform is efficient.

Oparanya
Finance Manager in US
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Salesforce Platform's Capabilities are Excellent

5.0 last month New

Pros:

I am impressed by the ease of deployment of Salesforce Platform. Salesforce Platform works so well for us.

Cons:

I like the effectiveness of Salesforce Platform. Salesforce Platform is amazing.

Anne
Sr Strategy Advisor in US
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Connecting to customers

4.0 last month New

Pros:

Ubiquitous platform familiar to a wide audience of users.

Cons:

Works OK to manage data, campaigns, outreach to customers.

Sean
Marketing Manager in US
Food & Beverages, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Salesforce Platform Review

5.0 5 months ago

Pros:

Salesforce App Cloud is a comprehensive platform that offers a suite of tools designed for building, managing, and deploying business applications. It integrates various services including Heroku, Force.com, and AppExchange, making it versatile for different types of app development. Key strengths include its strong integration capabilities, allowing seamless connection with Salesforce's CRM and other third-party systems. This feature is particularly beneficial for businesses looking to maintain a unified ecosystem. The platform also offers robust security features, ensuring data protection and compliance with industry standards. The user interface is intuitive and user-friendly, facilitating rapid app development and deployment, even for those with limited coding experience. This is enhanced by a rich set of pre-built components and templates available through AppExchange. Overall, Salesforce App Cloud is an effective solution for enterprises looking to streamline their application development process, particularly those already invested in the Salesforce ecosystem. Its robust features and integrations make it a powerful tool for creating a wide range of business applications.

Cons:

The platform may present a steep learning curve for beginners, and the cost can be a consideration for small businesses or individual developers.

Chris
Saalesforce Administrator in US
Wholesale, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Enterprise Platform for nearly all industries with a Enterprise-sized Price Tag

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

I love how they have turned a database program into an interactive place where companies can create a singular source of truth surrounding every aspect of business operations.

Cons:

Some limitations are common sense additions that have been neglected in favor of flashy, new features. Reporting is limited and has many issues, one of which is they barely support it currently with little/no improvements while pushing users towards their Analytics Add-On - which has many improvements that were requested on Reports.

Alternatives Considered: Odoo, Magento BI and HubSpot Sales Hub

Rob
Salesforce Manager in UK
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Customisable Platorm for Enterprise business needs

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Excellent experience with Salesforce for our complex business needs.
Meets our current and future platform strategy alongside having Salesforce themselves drive forward into new functionality and technology.

Pros:

The platform is hugely scalable and adaptable for the majority of business needs. Our requirement for business process automation and data integration is complex and not met by the majority of providers. The Salesforce platform is integral to our strategy and meets both our current and near future needs.

Cons:

The scale of the platforn does require the correct knowledge to get the most out of it. Whilst its plug & play for basic reuqirements, for anyone with a good level of systems ecperience, to get a complex use case designed and built and maintained requires significant investment.

Jorge M.
Jorge M.
Tech Support in Panama
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Hardware, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Everything in one place

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Before lightning, we had 2 software, one for chat and email, another one where we create the cases and logs, now everything is in one place.

Pros:

Email, chat and logs platform in one place, you can chat with your customer, sent emails and reply, attach files in the logs (cases), this software have embedded the ScreenMeet software and works great, you can have remote connection.

Cons:

In the start some bugs and errors, they were fixed couple months after. Chat: no timer added yet, you don't know how long is the current chat. If you have 2 chats, they are open in 2 tabs, if one customer close the chat, you don't know it until open the tab, should be great if there is an alarm or sound.

Steven
Account Executive in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Lightning never strikes twice

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: The Lightning platform works for sales organizations that have a large number of employees, only because companies can afford to have missed opportunities strictly because of the excess number of sales reps. Transparency is limited, with many features locked or non-existent.

Pros:

While I was used to the traditional salesforce platform, and quite partial to it- Lightning was useful for being able to bring new leads/opportunities into your sales pipeline and a fast speed, without having to create and dig through reports, but the results were hit or miss. The platform is much more simple, and perfect for a large corporation who would perhaps need to limit access to certain reports and files.

Cons:

Using artificial intelligence to find the best opportunities to pursue may sound like a good idea, The results were hit or miss, with miss being the more likely of the two. This leaves little to no room to be strategic in finding the best leads to pursue at the right time. Certain common features seemed to be available but did not produce content- such as the “follow” option for opportunies/accounts to see when the stage or opportunity owner or anything else had changed, since there is no news feed to view this in.

Karan
Business Development Representative in India
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A world-class low code platform to create our key applications!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: A platform serving right for our business needs, a powerful tool that is being highly leveraged to build out required processes. Way more powerful than their competitors in terms of capability & performance.

Pros:

The process customizations and the pre-defined integrations on the platform are phenomenal making it perform to our needs. User and workflow management is easier than ever giving us all the required data. We pull up reports to better suit our understanding & interpret data efficiently. We use the Salesforce platform across several teams/geographies to help run all processes smoothly.

Cons:

To be able to use the platform to the fullest, one has to be extensively trained enough which makes this time-consuming to adopt. The pricing is also on the higher side compared to its competitors.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good But Could Be Better

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: This program is extremely helpful for storing information, keeping track of clients, and using these tools to assist another co-worker if you are not familiar with a client's needs. It is also a great central access point with remote/field reps that may not have access to specific reports, files, data, etc.

Pros:

The search feature is good, it pulls everything associated with what you are looking for.

Cons:

Sometimes there are serious delays. The program will need to reset and what ever you just did does not save. The email link does not carry over the information from the email. It will log the email with the title but will not transfer the body of the email into Lightening. Not sure if this is specific to my job's version or not. Certain aspects of the program convert back to the original Salesforce Classic look

Austin
Founder
, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Excellent Platform, Robust, but Complex

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: There's a saying that "nobody ever got fired for picking Salesforce" for a reason. It's an excellent, safe choice.

Pros:

Salesforce is the most robust CRM in the market, a point that isn't debatable in my view. For an enterprise organization with complex needs, Salesforce is hard to beat. The sheer number of native integrations is a huge advantage over any other solution. The reporting you get with Salesforce is remarkable.

Cons:

It's so robust, it can be overwhelming for those without Salesforce expertise, or a dedicated CRM manager in-house. The permissions are flat out hard. This is more of a con for a small business than a mid-sized to enterprise business with more internal resources. Expect to pay huge hourly rates for a consultant if you don't hire in-house.

Kamil
Kamil
Salesforce Administrator and Developer in US
Construction, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A Work in Progress with a Great Future

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall it has been very good and allowed our company to solve complex, repetitive problems without having to enter a separate Visualforce page with an entire development lifecycle behind it. The component-based architecture helps my development time by reducing the overhead required for any remotely complex requirement from users.

Pros:

The component-based development, instead of Classic's page-based ideals, are a breath of fresh air and a sign that Salesforce is looking forward to the future. Having the ease of creating a component and being able to reuse it everywhere in your environment is a great feeling. The components all follow the same style (if done correctly) and don't affect the loading speeds of each individual page, it just works.

Cons:

The Lightning experience is definitely not complete, which is understandable as it is a work in progress, but the worst of all is the *initial* loading time. Just after logging in, the wait time is considerably higher than Classic's and is very annoying to sit around while it loads with the latest update's mascot watching your frustration.

Sarah
Sr. Customer Success Manager in US
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Can’t do my job without it!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It’s a great experience to use Salesforce. It allows our teams to better understand the customer health so leadership can see if accounts are at risk and need more attention or a reassessment on goals and initiatives.

Pros:

I love how much you can do with salesforce. It’s our main hub for account notes, account health, support cases, renewal opportunities and more. I love how easy it is to navigate! I use it daily to update my meeting notes so I have everything in one place. It also makes it easier to transition accounts along to other members in the Customer Success and Sales departments.

Cons:

It can be a lot to learn because there is so much that goes into the platform, but long term it’s worth it.

Matt
Customer Service Manager in US
Biotechnology, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent system for a wide range of functions, but pricey

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Ability to handle the sales process, marketing, and support of complex products. We also created a knowledge base which allows agents access to the most up to date details on the products.

Pros:

Ability to generate custom objects, processes, and communication across a wide range of departments makes SalesForce the ideal tool for any size company. The plus is the cloud location allowing customers and employees access around the globe.

Cons:

The pricing and add on fees for certain functionality can quickly explode the budget set by your company for this solution. Be sure to think about all functions you might need and negotiate with your SalesForce contact to obtain the best pricing possible. Bundling can be powerful!

Brad
Brad
Marketing Technologist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great platform for managing your business and a fantastic UI upgrade from Classic

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Lightning is definitely the future of Salesforce and the vast majority of their new features and resources seem to be going towards Lightning. If you have not yet made the switch from Classic to Lightning, I would recommend doing it soon. And if you are getting into Salesforce for the first time, start with Lightning so you don't have to switch later.

Pros:

A lot more user friendly and a much better UI than Salesforce Classic. It came out with a lot less features than classic, but in the past few months and years they have dedicated a lot of resources to improving Lightning to not only compare to Classic, but I think it now has even more features.

Cons:

There is a learning curve to getting Lightning up and running. I would definitely recommend spending some time in the SF trailheads to get the ins and outs of Lightning before you switch from classic or sign up to start.

Brooke
Founder in US
Food & Beverages, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Lots of Moving Parts

3.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Access around the world, integration with gmail (although that needs a few fixes).

Cons:

We find Salesforce to be a great tool to manage our database and to store information about contact with our clients and prospects, but there are so many moving fields and different views, that it can be difficult to align across multiple sales people in multiple countries. We're also frustrated that we cannot assign multiple email addresses to a contact or lead, which has ramifications for our marketing team. We sometimes wish there was a simpler more pared down version of Salesforce, that streamlined the information exactly how we need or want it.

Rob
Adviser in Australia
Financial Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

They conned me into signing up

1.0 2 years ago

Comments: One of the worst experiences I have ever had with a software provider.

Pros:

None. I spent 2 years building the software to meet the specifications, however every time they update their software, there are glitches in what I built. Unless you have a team of 10 people working full time to integrate this software into your business, avoid it like the plague.

Cons:

They promised the world and it is so obvious their sales team is on huge commissions. They did not even deliver a tenth of what they promised.

Jennifer
Billing team in US
Financial Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sales force in Solar world

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: I love SF- easy to use / dashboards make so everything has its own place

Pros:

Easy to use / updates quickly - room for several dashboards - everything under one system . Easy to edit

Cons:

It takes a lot of steps to change or update dashboard . Limited amount of dashboards . So we have to rearrange dashboard when implementing new procedures