15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About ELMO Software

ELMO Software is the trusted provider of HR technology solutions to 3,000+ organisations and two million end users across ANZ.

Learn more about ELMO Software

Pros:

This software is so simple to implement and once implemented it has saved myself and other managers so much time.

Cons:

One issue was with external training as this was very limited for what we need it for.

ELMO Software ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.3/10

ELMO Software has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 241 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used ELMO Software before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (241)

Tom
Tom
OT Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A happy user

5.0 last year

Pros:

Dashboard, online form and online course.

Cons:

None

ELMO Software Response

last year

Thanks so much for your review, Tom. We hope you continue to enjoy using ELMO Software. Kind regards, ELMO

Alan
Alan
Human Resources Generalist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and updates team on policies and procedures

4.0 5 months ago

Comments: Before an HRIS was implemented, most records were kept in printouts and physical copies rather than in a centralized location. Since ELMO has been introduced, it is simple to look up an employee's past and see how their performance has been handled.

Pros:

Superb Customer Service and Support Staff: Throughout both the pre- and post-implementation phases, I received assistance that was competent, fast, and effective. Simple Leave Request Form with Leave Balance View. And to conduct evaluations for supervisors to examine. The dashboard is also quite helpful for data retrieval.

Cons:

One email will be sent upon enrollment in a new course. As a gentle reminder, I prefer many reminders. The employee data part is not as aesthetically pleasing as the rest of the screen display.

Andrew
Administration Assistant in Australia
Individual & Family Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

ELMO - The 21st Century nightmare of HR

1.0 3 months ago

Comments: Hate is a strong word. Would prefer to use despise, which is frankly worse. Cannot believe that anyone would pay such a huge amount of funds towards such an underdeveloped project. I guess we got pulled in by the sales team that marketed with ' Yes we can ' to later find out that they could actually not, worse than that, that option never existed. Felt like a test dummy for Xero integration, with nobody really knowing how to fix the issue and is still unresolved 3 years later.

Pros:

Forms provide flexibility in development. Employee management of documentation is easy.

Cons:

Lost most of my hair setting it up, lost more trying to change how departments wanted it to run, and more when trying to sort out their software bugs for them. It is badly managed, badly put together hodgepodge of software that has no place in being part of the HR realm.

Katie
Capability & Engagement Manager in Australia
Wine & Spirits, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Very happy with the software and the service offered by ELMO

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The implementation was seamless and the staff at ELMO go over and above to ensure you get the most out of the system. We have gained the most benefits out of the Onboarding, Learning & Performance modules.

Cons:

Some limitations in the rostering software but ELMO are very proactive in continuously developing and improving the software

ELMO Software Response

2 years ago

Thanks for a great review, Katie! We love to hear that you have found ELMO's Implementation team and cloud-based solutions helpful to your oranisation. We look forward to continuing to support your business. Kind regards, ELMO Team

Varun
Service Delivery Lead - ICT & Cloud in Fiji
Telecommunications, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

360 Employee Management

5.0 last year

Comments: ELMO provides you a platform to manage your daily HR operations through a system driven governed process. From on-boarding, recruitment, leave management, performance tracking and internal workflow management to handling employee exit.

Cons:

Some fields require manual addition to sections. Option for duplicates not present.

ELMO Software Response

last year

Hi Varun, Thanks for your review and for your feedback. We've passed this on to our Product Development team. We hope you continue to enjoy ELMO's Performance Management. Best wishes, ELMO

celine
Registered Nurse in Australia
Hospital & Health Care, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

10

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: excellent

Pros:

easy learning and keeping the the record of my health learning

Cons:

Each time entering username and password

Andrey
Data architect in Australia
Insurance, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Pretty intuitive and easy to use.

5.0 8 months ago

Pros:

ELMO Software is a standout tool in HR management. Its comprehensive suite of solutions is incredibly user-friendly, covering everything from onboarding to payroll and performance management. The versatility of the platform truly shines when coordinating a multitude of HR tasks. The real-time data insights provided are second to none, allowing for actionable decisions to improve workforce engagement and productivity. Additionally, ELMO's commitment to integrating with existing systems makes implementation smooth and hassle-free.

Cons:

Cannot really think of anything, the whole thing is pretty intuitive and easy to use.

Coeli
Bookkeeper in Australia
Accounting, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Bookkepper

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: It was great, less than a month of using but it help us. user friendly

Pros:

The leave monitoring and the update from the management. You will be updated and know what happen to the management. Specially for the offshore team

Cons:

When i first log in my other password that was in my computer was remove

Sunny
Assistant Accountant in Australia
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Feedback

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: User-friendly

Pros:

User-friendly and I like the design, easy to get started but can be improved in the future to be more powerful.

Cons:

Sometimes, the function is not clear and makes me confused.

Caitlin
Administration Officer in Australia
Government Relations, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent and efficient software.

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: excellent and easy to use very happy.

Pros:

Easy to use, efficient for time-management and to enter new / old employee details.

Cons:

Individual link sent for first time access, confusing.

Frank
Learning & Development Manager in New Zealand
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great overall quality of platform for money spent with good customer service and support throughout.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Centralised HR Platform where we can design, manage and report on the three critical people stages for us in our business, which are Recruitment, On-boarding and Learning.

Pros:

I think the ease of use and implementation of each of the three modules we currently have; recruitment, on-boarding and learning (including course library) is the main benefit for our business wanting to design and deploy learning modules quickly to our employees, but also makes it easier to implement best practice processes for these which improve workplace efficiencies in how we manage our most important resource, our 'people' component. The features and functionality of the learning management system I think are really seamless and useful in getting learning modules quickly and effectively produced for our network, so then we can data-mine on this for reporting purposes and auditing. Having nearly everything automated and available in the end-to-end process of HR, makes it extrememly beneficial for a business to manage the processes and have one portal with all the critical information gathered into. In addition, since the system is a cloud-based software and being client-centric, when we have enhancements to voice, the ELMO Team consider these for future changes and iterations of the platform, making it better and evolving it out for the clients it's designed for.

Cons:

The ELMO Survey tool and functionality requires some further enhancements to be made to ensure that it provides more granular data for clients (e.g. like Survey Monkey's design), as this will assist us in drilling down further with certain users/learners of the portal to see for example, how long and how many attempts they take for completing compliance modules etc.

Maile
Regional Administrator in Australia
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

ELMO Software Is Great

4.0 last year

Comments: Excellent experience. Deployments have been made easy

Pros:

Easy to Navigate and Access. Summary of all data is clear and easy To understand

Cons:

Limited only to Australian platforms when it comes to Finance and Banking.

ELMO Software Response

last year

Hi Maile, Thank you for sharing your experience with ELMO! It's great to hear you find ELMO's cloud-based solutions so easy to use. Kind regards, ELMO Team

Caroline
Head of People and Culture in Australia
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Head of People and Culture

3.0 11 months ago

Comments: I don't feel we have what we were sold. We moved from Employment Hero which I feel was simple and intuitive had all the basic features and was a better system for core HR , however not for onboarding or performance.

Pros:

The Onboarding and Performance modules are the only good modules we have used in ELMO

Cons:

There is no option to save pdf's or other documents (emails) in employee's profile , believe it or not, so we have to compile employee files separately which defeats the purpose for the system . After many conversations with our account manager there has been no definitive timeframe to rectify this huge problem. Also the salary doesn't automatically feed to key pay (our payroll system) , so we have to add the salary in both ELMO and our payroll system separately . Setting up ELMO has been complicated. When sending pay or leave related emails the link doesn't work. Again no timeframe to rectifying this problem.

Vicki
People and Culture Manager in Australia
Human Resources, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy of People Management

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: All staff that I have had the experience of working with have been extremely professional and helpful along the journey of implementation. Could not speak higher of them as a team.

Pros:

Ease of use and ability to implement product is very high

Cons:

You currently don't have the ability to have two managers

ELMO Software Response

2 years ago

Thanks for the wonderful review, Vicki. It is great to hear about how the ELMO team has supported your organisation through the implementation process. Your feedback has also been passed on to our Product Development team. Kind regards, ELMO

Kseniya
People and Culture Director in Australia
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

ELMO HRIS: Review Snap-shot

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, our feedback is very positive and staff across all levels are happy with the introduced HRIS

Pros:

Great customer support team: very responsive and efficient

Cons:

Some visibility features are yet to be improved (e.g. display of data, attaching additional data, etc.)

ELMO Software Response

2 years ago

Hi Kseniya. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a great review. Your feedback has been passed on to our Product Development team. Kind regards, ELMO

Carol
Senior Manager Learning and Development in New Zealand
Civil Engineering, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

We use the standard modules available from ELMO and edit them in the Editor software provided.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Easy to use and maintain. Good coverage of learning topics within the 400 topics available.

Pros:

Good range of topics, covers the basics for compliance and has a mix of information and quiz items all of which can be modified/edited to our company needs. Simple to use and easy to maintain.

Cons:

While the modules have sound instructional design and get the job done, they are not highly sophisticated or overly glossy. Having said that, we paid for a good solid offering to cover the needs of people on the go, who need to get the information quickly and efficiently.

Deborah
Learning Advisor in New Zealand
Banking, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to implement learning management system

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Improved functionality from previous LMS, automated email reminders and easy to access cloud based system and course builder tool from anywhere.

Pros:

Cloud based meant the system was easy to implement with little support required from internal IT resources. Very intuitive for end users with a clean interface, and most don't need much help to navigate around the system. Great support from implementation team even though it was phone based. Already experienced updates that have improved the functionality which is reassuring with product road map. Reporting really visual and easy to understand especially for managers. Very good value for money.

Cons:

Data migration of learning records very manual but only a one-off pain point. Face to face event management is buried in system so not as intuitive for administrators and little visibility for facilitators that aren't administrators.

Andre
Head of Department in Australia
Real Estate, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Software

5.0 last year

Comments: A very user friendly software that helps with my daily work

Pros:

Easy to use for my employee's performance review

Cons:

I don't have encounter any during my usage

ELMO Software Response

last year

Hi Andre, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It is great to hear that you find ELMO's Performance Management solution helpful and easy to use. Best wishes, ELMO Team

Trish
Implemenation Specialist in New Zealand
Government Administration, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and administer HR system

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: One centralised HR system, one interface for usrs

Pros:

User interface is familar and appealing Performance and Learning modules are really simple and users like them Workflow is simple for administrators Account management support from ELMO is great ELMO delivers to their roadmap, so things that are "coming" do happen

Cons:

Recruitment module needs enhancements (they are coming) Reporting could be more customisable Would be good to have internal and external options for branding

Javier
Workshop Technician in Australia
Computer Hardware, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Nice software to check my pay every week

Pros:

Easy to use, simple interface, not to many animations

Cons:

basic colours, sometimes took to long to charge

ELMO Software Response

2 years ago

Hi Javier. We really appreciate the time you've taken to write a review and thank you for your feedback. We've passed this on to our Product Development team. Best wishes, ELMO Team

Anu
IT Procurement in Australia
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

User Friendly Application

4.0 last year

Comments: Leave management and performance management has been a breeze with this application.

Pros:

Very user friendly application and easy to navigate. Great to monitor processes and progress.

Cons:

No feature which has been identified with an issue to date.

ELMO Software Response

last year

Hi Anu. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. It is great to hear how ELMO's Leave Management and Performance Management solutions have benefitted you. We hope you continue to enjoy using ELMO! Best wishes, ELMO Team

Ben
HR Administrator in New Zealand
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Solid product overall

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Great software overall with strong support. tickets are generally actioned quickly and extra support is always there for urgent issues

Pros:

The Course Builder is a great tool with lots of customisation and its easy to use

Cons:

one issue was with external training as this was very limited for what we need it for. There are heaps of comments about this in the help centre but we haven't seen any improvements yet

Sharron
Local area coordinator in Australia
Government Relations, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great all round platform

5.0 last year

Comments: One stop shop easy to use

Pros:

Easy to use great support available, has numerous functions for all companies

Cons:

the worst thing about the prduct is the amount of time it took my company to take advantage of ELMO

ELMO Software Response

last year

Thanks so much for your review, Sharron! We hope you and your company continue to enjoy the benefits of using ELMO Software. Best wishes, ELMO Team.

Maria
Practitioner Sales Consultant in Australia
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Elmo Software - Never Used Better Software

5.0 last year

Comments: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Pros:

Easy to use and navigate around - on both iPad and computer. Love the home page with lots of options to tap into!

Cons:

Nothing really to mention here… the software system is so easy to use.

ELMO Software Response

last year

Hi Maria, thank you so much for your great review. We are happy to hear you are enjoying using ELMO Software! Kind Regards, ELMO Team

Taylah Marie
Employment Consultant in Australia
Government Relations, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Review

5.0 last year

Comments: Great

Pros:

I like everything about elmo, it helps with my training

Cons:

I dont have any real complaints about ELMO

ELMO Software Response

last year

Hi Taylah. Thanks for your review. It is great to hear your positive feedback and that you find ELMO's Learning Management System helpful with your training. Best wishes, ELMO Team