About Productboard

Productboard is the customer-driven product management system that empowers teams to get the right products to market, faster.

Learn more about Productboard

Pros:

Easy integration and linking of external tools.

Cons:

Searchong for already submitted requests can be difficult. Constant moderator required.

Productboard ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

Productboard has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 139 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Productboard before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (139)

Joshua
Joshua
CTO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Events Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alas! We found our product management solution

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Over the past two years, we've tried about every product management solution under the sun. While many have been good, we hadn't found the best solution for *us* (a small team, 3 product people, 5 engineers). This is the first solution that's been adopted by the entire team, a big part due to the easy shared inbox for customer insights.

Pros:

In order of benefit, here's what I like most so far about Productboard: (1) Aggregating product insights / customer requirements across all of our inboxes + Slack into one place (2) Ability to build a quarterly roadmap w/ existing tickets in Jira + w/ ability to write new features back to Jira as tickets (3) Ability to outline all of the components of our platform w/ features under each component - something we've never had before.

Cons:

Some small nit-picks around interactions (eg. bulk selecting rows), but so far customer support has responded instantly to guide me in right direction.

Alternatives Considered: ProductPlan and ProdPad

Reasons for Choosing Productboard: After trying many other solutions we resorted back to spreadsheets. Ultimately, it becomes managed chaos in spreadsheets, so we knew we needed something to fit our growing team. We went back to demoing solutions and productboard fit our needs best.

Switched From: Google Sheets

Reasons for Switching to Productboard: See above. All were good, but productboard wound up fitting our specific needs the best. The quick support during our trial period helped seal the deal.

Eric
Eric
Chief Product Officer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Simplest way for sophisticated insight consolidation, prioritization, and roadmap management

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We had an alignment and communication problem that we had to solve. Plain and simply, productboard gives us a clear way to communicate and collaborate on our product roadmap. And gives our team insight into how we think about and prioritize initiatives.

Pros:

Consolidating insights from myself, our customers, and our team. I also really like the different views I can create and ways I can prioritize things by release and various scores. The public feedback forum is also really, really nice. Then the beautiful roadmap view is just icing on the cake.

Cons:

Doesn't integrate to Clubhouse, which we are moving to from JIRA. We also didn't use the JIRA integration because we were on New JIRA. Which is why we are now on Clubhouse, which I'll save for another review. Also, I feel there are a couple of elements missing when looking at reporting and ongoing maintenance of tickets... but that's hard, and is probably something they're thinking about.

Alternatives Considered: Aha!

Reasons for Choosing Productboard: Well, JIRA isn't really a great tool for roadmap planning and prioritization. So the reality is that we _needed_ to do more strategic product planning, and JIRA didn't cut it.

Switched From: Jira

Reasons for Switching to Productboard: Aha! was simply just too much software for what we needed. productboard gave us exactly what we needed at our stage, and was more intuitive to pick up and get going.

Hana
Product Owner in Czechia
Cosmetics, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The billing mechanism of individual plan is awful experience

1.0 3 years ago

Comments: After spending some time on working with the tool and really enjoying its quality, I was sure that I would stay with it. But experiencing tricky non-transparent billing is just cold shower making the tool same as any other, just half way through to full value.

Pros:

It is for sure well thought through tool.

Cons:

It is not mandatory or sole source ... so charging individual for adding member without any alert or notice that just selecting someone as member from drop down menu automatically apply charging to your card is really awful experience ruining any value for the product

Rakesh
Rakesh
Project Officer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A great bridge for bright product idea and its launchpad

4.0 4 months ago

Comments: Productboard allowed me to easily organize, understand, bucket feature requests and feedback the items from customers. As a project lead, I have to understand where the customers are facing difficulties and what additional features they might require. This software is really helpful in gathering insights and trend analyzing.

Pros:

Productboard has a lot of built-in features (Objectives & Drivers) and is super simple to customize. It helps one in planning and prioritizing effectively. UI is very intuitive and clean, l personally feel good that they are always updating to the latest features based on users requests.

Cons:

They are constantly bringing new features to meet the requirements of the users. However, the integration with the Gitlab has been missing is a setback for my project. Also, the upvoting features are little cumbersome to use.

Alternatives Considered: Jira and Notion

Switched From: monday.com

Kaan
Product Manager in Turkey
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A simple yet powerful tool for managing and communicating the product roadmap

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Productboard did enable us to create a manageable, customer value driven product roadmap that is in alignment with our corporate objectives and product vision. The communication of our product roadmap to different stakeholders is much easier now thanks to the customizable and stunning views.

Pros:

Productboard has a very easy to use user interface, but still manages to provide you the functionality of customizable views with its powerful aggregations, filters, tags and view options. With the insights feature of productboard, it is very easy to parse the ideas and requirements of customers to product features and keep track of the customer demand for each feature in detail. The beautiful roadmap views which you can export for presentations are also a real timesaver.

Cons:

An internal file viewer for common file formats (e.g. pdf, doc, xls) is needed for attachments. It would be preferred if the internal insights could be seperated from customer insights when calculating the user impact score which we utilize to measure the customer demand of features.

Alternatives Considered: Jira, OpenProject and monday.com

Reasons for Choosing Productboard: We could not maintain our product roadmap in a structured way. The release and objective models of productboard were really useful for managing and presenting the data for us.

Switched From: monday.com

Reasons for Switching to Productboard: The simple to use interface despite the underlying complex features and aggregations was the biggest selling point for us.

Jeff
Product Strategist in US
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Fills a major hole in most product development toolbelts

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Most product and project management tools focus on 3 views: roadmap of what's ahead, kanban view of what's currently in motion, and backlog of all the things you could possibly do. What's majorly lacking in almost all of these tools is the toolset to effectively prioritize the items that go into each of those views. What you're left with is a giant list of things to do and a lot of supplemental tools (xls files, gannt tools, etc.) to try and do prioritization work. The whole point of product development is to figure out what the highest value things could be getting worked on and when/why, and thus, by focusing on "here's what is being worked on" over "here's what we should be working on and why", many other tools largely miss the mark. ProductBoard's tools are custom built to solve the prioritization problem - you can choose company objectives, track customer segments & customers, score features by value/effort, and then slice & dice these things all sorts of different ways in order to best determine the right work to focus on when. At its core, it feels like software that was designed by and for product managers, which is refreshing when compared to other tools in the space that feel like they were designed for the abstract goal of "getting things done".

Pros:

* At it's core, it's just a well designed & enjoyable piece of software to use every day. * Its prioritization toolset allows you to effectively sort/filter/schedule features along all sorts of different dimensions in a way that no other tool I've seen allows for. * Its "insights" inbox allows you to way more effectively manage the influx of requests/feedback than other tools.

Cons:

* Though the tool is easy to use, getting started can be tricky because of needing to figure out how best to map your product to the very flexible data model that ProductBoard allows for. * I wish it had more integrations and/or a public api for syncing engineering tasks - it connects to the big ones (Jira/Pivotal/Trello) really nicely, but many folks use other tools.

Alternatives Considered: Jira, Trello, ClickUp, Wrike, Aha!, Asana, Shortcut and ProdPad

Reasons for Choosing Productboard: Aha actually does try and solve a similar problem to ProductBoard (i.e. more focus on planning than on execution), but in my experience, it's both harder / less enjoyable to use and less flexible when it comes to the things that matter to PMs.

Switched From: Aha!

Reasons for Switching to Productboard: There are a slew of tools in the project & product planning space that are fine project management tools (here are lists of tasks by status) but clearly miss the mark when it comes to product management (here are tools to help you plan and prioritize).

Marc
Product Manager in UK
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

It's simply a joy to use every single day!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: ProductBoard helps our multiple teams stay aligned. We have visibility of what each team is working on and can quickly see where there are overlaps. It helps us keep feedback all in one place and not lost across endless Google Docs/Sheets

Pros:

The design and UX of the app makes using ProductBoard on a daily basis super easy and enjoyable. Creating custom views that you can call up when you need to is great. But the most powerful part of ProductBoard is being able to highlight specific parts of a users feedback and easily attaching it to the relevant feature idea, while still being able to jump to the full feedback if you need more context. On top of that the Portal view for customers is beautiful and we've found that this really encourages users to provide more detailed feedback, instead of some other solutions out there that just relies on voting

Cons:

Not much! There's only a small number of features that would help improve things. Critically the ability to hook up to something like Segment to push more live customer data across. Also being able to have conversations directly to customers would help smooth out those times when you need that extra bit of detail on their insight to truly understand their pain.

Alternatives Considered: ProdPad

Reasons for Choosing Productboard: At the time Receptive worked a bit like a Forum, where users could read each others comments. This became quite hard to maintain and if there wasn't a response it from the product team it would give the impression to the user that we didn't care.

Switched From: Receptive

Reasons for Switching to Productboard: It was more aligned with the way we do things at Veeqo.

Seth
Product Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Helps tell our product story

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: This is helping us prioritize our features. A little help on our bandwidth and if we have the pipeline full. This helps us have a clean deliverable to stake holders. Very easy portal feature to better engage company and clients. Helping us manage our large client feedback pool from multiple sources.

Pros:

Very visual. It can handle the large influx of customer feedback and help funnel that to the right part of our product. Helps other departments feel involved in the product evolution and road map. Great way to keep people in the loop to what we have cookin. Love the portal aspect. Very powerful feature set there. Can't wait to engage our client based with a full portal of where we are going, where we are, and where we've been. Easy self on boarding. Great sales process. Great overall.

Cons:

Not too many cons yet. I don't anticipate too many. Not sure how fast they crank out new features yet.

Alternatives Considered: Aha!

Reasons for Choosing Productboard: Needed more functionality, funnel customer feedback, and a better way to communicate the road map.

Switched From: Smartsheet

Reasons for Switching to Productboard: Newer, Fresher, Easier to digest, seems more like our company culture. Growing feature set.

Ewan
Ewan
Product Manager in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Saved us from accumulating insights and doing nothing with them

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It has helped us move on from the disparate storage of customer insights which we were accumulating but not putting to use. It's now the primarily a tool we use to inform our roadm map and has very strong features to help you align with overall strategy.

Pros:

We can channel Slack messages, support tickets and input from across all our teams to one central location.

Cons:

The reporting is very customisable and you can reach in and grab data quite easily, the only limitation we found is between customer insights and their assigned customer segment, for example, an option to present the priority of feature requests over an entire customer segment isn't readily available.

Alternatives Considered: ProductPlan

Reasons for Switching to Productboard: Our primary goal wasn't to make a Road Map out of a collection of customer insights but commit to maintaining the insights we receive and calling upon the data we can gather when planning development. Productboard did seem to be the slickest for managing insights, processing details and linking to other platforms e.g. Trello, JIRA and Slack

Hayley
Product Team Lead in UK
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great tool for centralising product information

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

A place to put all the feedback where it won't get lost and forgotten since it can be linked to specific features and used to inform planning.

Cons:

Nothing major. There are features we'd appreciate in future like objectives on timelines, user story mapping, etc but they're not vital.

Alternatives Considered: ProductPlan, Craft.io, GLIDR, airfocus, Hygger, Roadmunk, Aha! and ProdPad

Switched From: Asana

Reasons for Switching to Productboard: It scored highest on our criteria and was better looking than our 2nd highest (Aha!). We prioritised for multiple views for different teams/people, visual prioritisation matrix, having Objectives as a standalone thing, feedback library and various integration needs. AirFocus scored as well on roadmap aspects but had no feedback functionality, the cost of standalone feedback tools ruled this out.

Nicolay
Product Manager in Australia
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

We evaluated a number of products before choosing producboard. One of the best decisions we've made!

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I wanted to save this for last, but I'd hate myself if people didn't read it because of my lengthy post. productboard is beautiful, simple and extremely powerful! As our products matured, and our customer base grew, there was never a shortage of customer feedback and ideas on how to improve (or introduce new) features. Our backlog (in Jira) was growing, and processing feedback (categorising, evaluating, prioritising) was becoming a cumbersome (if not impossible) task. It was hard to collate feedback on the same feature and/or trace it back to the customers who requested it. As we were seeking to embrace a Dual-Track Agile approach to how we do product development, we needed a tool that powers our Discovery stage. We found it in productboard. It allows us to easily assign new ideas/feedback to the respective feature. productboard generates a user score based on frequency and importance. You can also map the features to different customer segments, strategic drivers and any other custom fields you need. Map your features to releases and voila, productboard generates a stylish, digestible roadmap. Even better - two clicks on the roadmap view, and you can drill down to the original feedback. No more 'Oh, where did this come from?' Brilliant! Very importantly, productboard works well with your ecosystem. We kept our existing feedback forms (Google Form) and use Zapier to sync them with productboard. We also use the Jira and Slack integrations. They work awesome!

Cons:

At some stage we'd like to drop our Google Form, and start collecting feedback in-app. And while product board already makes it convenient to collect feedback from Intercom conversations, it might make it easier for some customers if they had a simple, embeddable form. Another challenge product board needs to think about is related to closing the feedback loop, i.e. feeding information back to the original requestors. Whether it's via a portal, or an integration with a customer engagement product (like Intercom), that would be a powerful addition. That said, these are currently nice-to-haves for our business.

Timoté
Head of Product & Marketing in Belgium
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Clear and structured way to track product related activities

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Clear and structured way to track product related activities

Pros:

- Very simple to implement - Help to build transparency across the organisation and customers - Very efficient to track product activities

Cons:

- Miss an integration with Gitlab - Pretty weak on the customer feedback management

Alternatives Considered: Aha! and ProdPad

Reasons for Choosing Productboard: No one in the organisation liked ProdPad.

Switched From: ProdPad

Reasons for Switching to Productboard: Best UX & UI

Sean
Product in US
E-Learning, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Finally one that works.

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Easy to hack and smash without corrupting data. Linkage between other systems that doesn't get in the way. Different views for managing tactical & presenting strategic (using the same set of data). It doesn't look or behave like Jira or Aha! (I feel like your designers must scrutinize everything).

Cons:

I'm not sure there's anything bad to say

Benjamin
VP Product in US
Information Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best product management platform

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

It is the best system of record for PM related information and to build a process in. A great way to ensure all stakeholder feedback is captured & organized. Then primary source information can be linked to as many ideas (features, stories etc.) as desired and they can be prioritized very powerfully. Enables stakeholder communication at scale effectively. Let's me do almost everything I want, in the way I want to.

Cons:

It perhaps has too many features and options! The responsibility is on the user to not over-complicate the implementation. It's best for folks who are comfortable with a good degree of information.

Miroslav
Product Manager in Switzerland
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Amazing helper for every organization1!

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

- central location for gathering all your product feedback from several locations - easy collaboration with a team (e.g. comments) - data driven decision support (e.g. user impact score, driver impact) - roadmap preparation capabilities

Cons:

There are definitely minor thing to improve, but nothing that would prevent us from using the tool efficiently. Really, we love using Product Board on a daily basis.

Kasey
Senior Product Manager in US
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Amazing for roadmap management!

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Very easy to create and maintain roadmaps for all of our products (web, apps, internal tools).

Cons:

It would be great to have more exporting options, i.e. ability to customize text size, number of sprints shown, etc.

Lise
Product Manager in France
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great tool to collect feedback and help in prioritization and discovery

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It helps me prioritize my development by collecting feedback from the CS team and classifying them into relevant job stories and contact the right user to investigate a specific topic. It is really part of my daily job !

Pros:

Productboard is friendly and easy to use, and really helps me keep track of the feedback our teams and myself collect from the customer. Thanks to the various integration I can never miss feedbacks: - Salesforce integration helps us keep track of lost deals - Slack integration helps us keep track of feedback shared during a conversation between teammates - Intercom integration send us what is collected via the support And then of course our dear CS and Sales team help us by writing notes after talking to our customers!

Cons:

I can spend a lot of time reviewing the insights and assigning them to the right collection ... but I mean better more customer feedback than not so it's not really a problem

Verified Reviewer
SDR in Madagascar
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great software to follow-up on product advancement

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: Very good experience - it's truly a gem of a software. It helps the product team, team up with other teams in the company.

Pros:

Productboard is an amazing tool. It permits our team to stay in touch with the product team and give feedback. It also also allows us to track down where they are at in terms of development of the product itself. Another thing is that, you can link it to external software like Slack to give direct feedback and "push" things to product board. Product team also have a roadmap of important and not so important things they work on, we can based on that give our point of viw and help them set priorities.

Cons:

This tool isn't essential for all the tools IF the product team doesn't teach others how to use it. Once everyone understand how valuable of a tool it is, it's hard to use something else.

Gus
Gus
Product Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Helps us organize our feedback and stay aligned

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Productboard has been a game changer for both our roadmap and for capturing insights from across the business. I love having the ability to categorize insights, assign them to users/companies, and attach them to features or ideas on the roadmap. Having a dynamic roadmap that I can assign these insights to makes it incredibly easy to recognize areas of opportunity.

Cons:

I would love some form of persona management, and a way to categorize insights and feedback by persona.

MELANIE
Senior Production Manager in US
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Intelligent + Intuitive

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Love it. It's giving me an easy and centralized place to gather all the information about my product for the team and stakeholders, and creates a more streamlined way to plan our roadmap.

Pros:

The way the software works is very intuitive for a Product Manager, and feels as if someone was inside my head when they built the software. It has smart features that accomplish things other products or spreadsheets never could. The ability to link and adjust different views for different audiences is very helpful. Insights tool is in and of itself valuable in linking different email chains or conversations to single features or requests.

Cons:

Jira integration could use some work. It seems a bit too simple sometimes and I wish there were more fields that I could set in Productboar because it's not super seamless to push a ticket - always need to go into Jira and finish everything up.

Peter
Product Manager in Denmark
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A no-brainer for PMs in start ups and mid-sized companies

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

A structured place for user insights, that linked to features keeps reminding me off ALL of our insights, and not just the last 10-15 discovered. A flexible, powerful way to organise features, which can be viewed and filtered in many ways that fits the context needed.

Cons:

It has a bit of a learning curve, but once passed you will never go back.

Andrew
Product Manager in Canada
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Amazing Flexibility and Customer Service

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I was trying to produce a centralized product backlog and tool for managing the development of requirements through to hand-off to the Dev team.
Additionally, I was looking for a way to communicate the product roadmap to clients. ProductBoard rocked this requirement!

Pros:

I love the flexibility of the product. Whenever I have had a need that I think did not quite fit - the team has been able to show me how I can configure the product to meet my request. The customer service is fantastic! Response time has always been incredible. They also seem to take suggestions for new features and improvements seriously. Sharing their product roadmap with their customers (using their tool to do it) really shows the power of using their tools.

Cons:

The only thing I would say is a 'con' so far is that their exports could be improved. This is on their product roadmap though.

Verified Reviewer
Product Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great tool to keep PMs organized

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

- Sleek UI - Easy to use features and functionalities - Like that features export directly to a roadmap - Portal submission allows internal and external users to easily submit feedback

Cons:

- There is some redundancy of the way a feature can be "scored" - Wish there were more integrations (with Jira, Phabricator, etc)

Eliel
CRO Specialist in Sweden
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A good prioritization Product management software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very positive experience, I use it almost daily and also to weekly check the developments. Would add a progress bar or % on the tasks to better indicate the status.

Pros:

Very visual, it's easy to understand how to use the tool and also to absorb what you are seeing as a user if the tasks are already organized.

Cons:

Takes some time to understand how to handle all the options, the organization of the tasks is quite easy but the other options are a little bit counter-intuitive.

Daniel
Product Manager in US
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to capture the best ideas for your product

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It has helped me develop a strong process for product.

Pros:

Product Board allows me to capture all ideas from my users/customers and prioritize them with complex scoring drivers and weight them differently by product. It allows me to objectively decide what is the best feature to focus on and illustrate that decision with metrics.

Cons:

Somewhat expensive, I'd like all people in my organization to be using it but we have to limit it to essential users.