About Productboard

Productboard is the customer-driven product management system that empowers teams to get the right products to market, faster.

Learn more about Productboard

Pros:

Easy integration and linking of external tools.

Cons:

Searchong for already submitted requests can be difficult. Constant moderator required.

Productboard ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

Productboard has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 137 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Productboard before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (137)

Joshua
Joshua
CTO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Events Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alas! We found our product management solution

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Over the past two years, we've tried about every product management solution under the sun. While many have been good, we hadn't found the best solution for *us* (a small team, 3 product people, 5 engineers). This is the first solution that's been adopted by the entire team, a big part due to the easy shared inbox for customer insights.

Pros:

In order of benefit, here's what I like most so far about Productboard: (1) Aggregating product insights / customer requirements across all of our inboxes + Slack into one place (2) Ability to build a quarterly roadmap w/ existing tickets in Jira + w/ ability to write new features back to Jira as tickets (3) Ability to outline all of the components of our platform w/ features under each component - something we've never had before.

Cons:

Some small nit-picks around interactions (eg. bulk selecting rows), but so far customer support has responded instantly to guide me in right direction.

Alternatives Considered: ProductPlan and ProdPad

Reasons for Choosing Productboard: After trying many other solutions we resorted back to spreadsheets. Ultimately, it becomes managed chaos in spreadsheets, so we knew we needed something to fit our growing team. We went back to demoing solutions and productboard fit our needs best.

Switched From: Google Sheets

Reasons for Switching to Productboard: See above. All were good, but productboard wound up fitting our specific needs the best. The quick support during our trial period helped seal the deal.

Eric
Eric
Chief Product Officer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Simplest way for sophisticated insight consolidation, prioritization, and roadmap management

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We had an alignment and communication problem that we had to solve. Plain and simply, productboard gives us a clear way to communicate and collaborate on our product roadmap. And gives our team insight into how we think about and prioritize initiatives.

Pros:

Consolidating insights from myself, our customers, and our team. I also really like the different views I can create and ways I can prioritize things by release and various scores. The public feedback forum is also really, really nice. Then the beautiful roadmap view is just icing on the cake.

Cons:

Doesn't integrate to Clubhouse, which we are moving to from JIRA. We also didn't use the JIRA integration because we were on New JIRA. Which is why we are now on Clubhouse, which I'll save for another review. Also, I feel there are a couple of elements missing when looking at reporting and ongoing maintenance of tickets... but that's hard, and is probably something they're thinking about.

Alternatives Considered: Aha!

Reasons for Choosing Productboard: Well, JIRA isn't really a great tool for roadmap planning and prioritization. So the reality is that we _needed_ to do more strategic product planning, and JIRA didn't cut it.

Switched From: Jira

Reasons for Switching to Productboard: Aha! was simply just too much software for what we needed. productboard gave us exactly what we needed at our stage, and was more intuitive to pick up and get going.

Alex
Software Engineer in US
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great for iterating on customer feedback

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Productboard is a great tool for software companies looking to build a process around their customer feedback.

Pros:

Productboard's insights are a great way to process customer feedback and group that feedback into actionable features for our engineering team. The user impact score helps us prioritize this feedback based on needs, and when a feature is complete we can circle back to the insights and see everyone who requested the feature.

Cons:

Sometimes the customization options can be overwhelming. It would be nice to have a templates feature that lets you reuse certain processes & functionality between views. I sometimes think I'm doing something the 'wrong' way because there are so many ways to accomplish it.

Alternatives Considered: monday.com, Asana and Notion

Reasons for Switching to Productboard: Productboard had the best approach to high-level feature planning, and it has a clear process for managing customer feedback. The Azure Devops integration is a nice bonus.

Hana
Product Owner in Czechia
Cosmetics, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The billing mechanism of individual plan is awful experience

1.0 3 years ago

Comments: After spending some time on working with the tool and really enjoying its quality, I was sure that I would stay with it. But experiencing tricky non-transparent billing is just cold shower making the tool same as any other, just half way through to full value.

Pros:

It is for sure well thought through tool.

Cons:

It is not mandatory or sole source ... so charging individual for adding member without any alert or notice that just selecting someone as member from drop down menu automatically apply charging to your card is really awful experience ruining any value for the product

Jacob
Content manager in US
Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

New on the market but still plenty of room to grow.

4.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall the team at Productboard are amazing! They are a joy to work with and their product just looks so good. However, you can’t judge a book by its cover, their is still a lot of room for growth, and until then, there is a bit too much to be desired with Productboard

Pros:

The staff at Productboard is incredible and their product is beautiful. One of the nicest roadmap views you will ever see!

Cons:

Lacking some of the features we are looking for. The team said they would be able to build them out, but we are still waiting, specifically around customer feedback management. The insights are not the easiest way of tracking customer feedback.

Alternatives Considered: Jira

Reasons for Switching to Productboard: Price and easier to work with their team. Also the athletics of the product.

Kaan
Product Manager in Turkey
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A simple yet powerful tool for managing and communicating the product roadmap

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Productboard did enable us to create a manageable, customer value driven product roadmap that is in alignment with our corporate objectives and product vision. The communication of our product roadmap to different stakeholders is much easier now thanks to the customizable and stunning views.

Pros:

Productboard has a very easy to use user interface, but still manages to provide you the functionality of customizable views with its powerful aggregations, filters, tags and view options. With the insights feature of productboard, it is very easy to parse the ideas and requirements of customers to product features and keep track of the customer demand for each feature in detail. The beautiful roadmap views which you can export for presentations are also a real timesaver.

Cons:

An internal file viewer for common file formats (e.g. pdf, doc, xls) is needed for attachments. It would be preferred if the internal insights could be seperated from customer insights when calculating the user impact score which we utilize to measure the customer demand of features.

Alternatives Considered: Jira, OpenProject and monday.com

Reasons for Choosing Productboard: We could not maintain our product roadmap in a structured way. The release and objective models of productboard were really useful for managing and presenting the data for us.

Switched From: monday.com

Reasons for Switching to Productboard: The simple to use interface despite the underlying complex features and aggregations was the biggest selling point for us.

Jeff
Product Strategist in US
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Fills a major hole in most product development toolbelts

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Most product and project management tools focus on 3 views: roadmap of what's ahead, kanban view of what's currently in motion, and backlog of all the things you could possibly do. What's majorly lacking in almost all of these tools is the toolset to effectively prioritize the items that go into each of those views. What you're left with is a giant list of things to do and a lot of supplemental tools (xls files, gannt tools, etc.) to try and do prioritization work. The whole point of product development is to figure out what the highest value things could be getting worked on and when/why, and thus, by focusing on "here's what is being worked on" over "here's what we should be working on and why", many other tools largely miss the mark. ProductBoard's tools are custom built to solve the prioritization problem - you can choose company objectives, track customer segments & customers, score features by value/effort, and then slice & dice these things all sorts of different ways in order to best determine the right work to focus on when. At its core, it feels like software that was designed by and for product managers, which is refreshing when compared to other tools in the space that feel like they were designed for the abstract goal of "getting things done".

Pros:

* At it's core, it's just a well designed & enjoyable piece of software to use every day. * Its prioritization toolset allows you to effectively sort/filter/schedule features along all sorts of different dimensions in a way that no other tool I've seen allows for. * Its "insights" inbox allows you to way more effectively manage the influx of requests/feedback than other tools.

Cons:

* Though the tool is easy to use, getting started can be tricky because of needing to figure out how best to map your product to the very flexible data model that ProductBoard allows for. * I wish it had more integrations and/or a public api for syncing engineering tasks - it connects to the big ones (Jira/Pivotal/Trello) really nicely, but many folks use other tools.

Alternatives Considered: Jira, Trello, ClickUp, Wrike, Aha!, Asana, Shortcut and ProdPad

Reasons for Choosing Productboard: Aha actually does try and solve a similar problem to ProductBoard (i.e. more focus on planning than on execution), but in my experience, it's both harder / less enjoyable to use and less flexible when it comes to the things that matter to PMs.

Switched From: Aha!

Reasons for Switching to Productboard: There are a slew of tools in the project & product planning space that are fine project management tools (here are lists of tasks by status) but clearly miss the mark when it comes to product management (here are tools to help you plan and prioritize).

Marc
Product Manager in UK
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

It's simply a joy to use every single day!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: ProductBoard helps our multiple teams stay aligned. We have visibility of what each team is working on and can quickly see where there are overlaps. It helps us keep feedback all in one place and not lost across endless Google Docs/Sheets

Pros:

The design and UX of the app makes using ProductBoard on a daily basis super easy and enjoyable. Creating custom views that you can call up when you need to is great. But the most powerful part of ProductBoard is being able to highlight specific parts of a users feedback and easily attaching it to the relevant feature idea, while still being able to jump to the full feedback if you need more context. On top of that the Portal view for customers is beautiful and we've found that this really encourages users to provide more detailed feedback, instead of some other solutions out there that just relies on voting

Cons:

Not much! There's only a small number of features that would help improve things. Critically the ability to hook up to something like Segment to push more live customer data across. Also being able to have conversations directly to customers would help smooth out those times when you need that extra bit of detail on their insight to truly understand their pain.

Alternatives Considered: ProdPad

Reasons for Choosing Productboard: At the time Receptive worked a bit like a Forum, where users could read each others comments. This became quite hard to maintain and if there wasn't a response it from the product team it would give the impression to the user that we didn't care.

Switched From: Receptive

Reasons for Switching to Productboard: It was more aligned with the way we do things at Veeqo.

Ewan
Ewan
Product Manager in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Saved us from accumulating insights and doing nothing with them

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It has helped us move on from the disparate storage of customer insights which we were accumulating but not putting to use. It's now the primarily a tool we use to inform our roadm map and has very strong features to help you align with overall strategy.

Pros:

We can channel Slack messages, support tickets and input from across all our teams to one central location.

Cons:

The reporting is very customisable and you can reach in and grab data quite easily, the only limitation we found is between customer insights and their assigned customer segment, for example, an option to present the priority of feature requests over an entire customer segment isn't readily available.

Alternatives Considered: ProductPlan

Reasons for Switching to Productboard: Our primary goal wasn't to make a Road Map out of a collection of customer insights but commit to maintaining the insights we receive and calling upon the data we can gather when planning development. Productboard did seem to be the slickest for managing insights, processing details and linking to other platforms e.g. Trello, JIRA and Slack

Nicolay
Product Manager in Australia
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

We evaluated a number of products before choosing producboard. One of the best decisions we've made!

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I wanted to save this for last, but I'd hate myself if people didn't read it because of my lengthy post. productboard is beautiful, simple and extremely powerful! As our products matured, and our customer base grew, there was never a shortage of customer feedback and ideas on how to improve (or introduce new) features. Our backlog (in Jira) was growing, and processing feedback (categorising, evaluating, prioritising) was becoming a cumbersome (if not impossible) task. It was hard to collate feedback on the same feature and/or trace it back to the customers who requested it. As we were seeking to embrace a Dual-Track Agile approach to how we do product development, we needed a tool that powers our Discovery stage. We found it in productboard. It allows us to easily assign new ideas/feedback to the respective feature. productboard generates a user score based on frequency and importance. You can also map the features to different customer segments, strategic drivers and any other custom fields you need. Map your features to releases and voila, productboard generates a stylish, digestible roadmap. Even better - two clicks on the roadmap view, and you can drill down to the original feedback. No more 'Oh, where did this come from?' Brilliant! Very importantly, productboard works well with your ecosystem. We kept our existing feedback forms (Google Form) and use Zapier to sync them with productboard. We also use the Jira and Slack integrations. They work awesome!

Cons:

At some stage we'd like to drop our Google Form, and start collecting feedback in-app. And while product board already makes it convenient to collect feedback from Intercom conversations, it might make it easier for some customers if they had a simple, embeddable form. Another challenge product board needs to think about is related to closing the feedback loop, i.e. feeding information back to the original requestors. Whether it's via a portal, or an integration with a customer engagement product (like Intercom), that would be a powerful addition. That said, these are currently nice-to-haves for our business.

Seth
Product Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Helps tell our product story

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: This is helping us prioritize our features. A little help on our bandwidth and if we have the pipeline full. This helps us have a clean deliverable to stake holders. Very easy portal feature to better engage company and clients. Helping us manage our large client feedback pool from multiple sources.

Pros:

Very visual. It can handle the large influx of customer feedback and help funnel that to the right part of our product. Helps other departments feel involved in the product evolution and road map. Great way to keep people in the loop to what we have cookin. Love the portal aspect. Very powerful feature set there. Can't wait to engage our client based with a full portal of where we are going, where we are, and where we've been. Easy self on boarding. Great sales process. Great overall.

Cons:

Not too many cons yet. I don't anticipate too many. Not sure how fast they crank out new features yet.

Alternatives Considered: Aha!

Reasons for Choosing Productboard: Needed more functionality, funnel customer feedback, and a better way to communicate the road map.

Switched From: Smartsheet

Reasons for Switching to Productboard: Newer, Fresher, Easier to digest, seems more like our company culture. Growing feature set.

Will
Managing Partner in US
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fantastic way to communicate and manage your roadmap

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have worked with productboard at multiple companies, and it's always been received well. People like the feel and organization of it and how much of the process it can help with; parts that just don't get enough attention with other products.

Pros:

The best part about productboard is how teams can vet and plan improvements to their products based on how much those improvements support and achieve a company's objectives. It's so easy to get things in, annotated, and shaped that you actually do it; you don't just say you will eventually. To start, you can use just the parts that are the most important to get up and running, and then you can use more of it as your team begins to integrate productboard into their process. And it's not hard work to get your ideas and backlog in and move forward—it's cathartic.

Cons:

The biggest thing for me is performance. Sometimes some parts of the UI feel a little sluggish when lots of items are displayed and clicks get delayed. It would also be a little nicer to have the Drivers feature available at the lowest level of pricing.

Simon
Director of Product, Core Experience in Denmark
Computer Hardware, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The end of feature spreadsheets and a great single source of truth!

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The ability to link customer insights directly to the different pains and feature requests. Before Productboard much of the insights we had to go on when designing/developing solutions would be anecdotal evidence from the commercial team or the few interviews we could do with select customers. Now we have the ability to see customers' own words about their requests before we start building, without a huge effort to dig through various conversations in Intercom or our CRM. An easy example was when I recently got a new PM joining my team. I pointed out a few of the requests that we're coming up a lot and asked him to do scoping + initial estimation on what the feature would require. Using the customer insights he could make a detailed description of the problem we needed to solve and how we could go about it. Another benefit is the more quantitative view of the most requested things, however the visualization of this is not great as I'd like to be able to better track and visualize the change in requests over time. Last but not least it's good to help project manage the work of the PM team as we can more easily track the stages that a feature or pain is in and what more scoping we need to do before we involve other stakeholders from the product team.

Cons:

There are some great missing pieces that would hugely improve the product, such as a CRM integrations, an API and a proper Zapier integration (in lack of the first two). Right now Productboard is valuable in itself, but it would extend the value so much further if we could properly link it to our other systems.

Timoté
Head of Product & Marketing in Belgium
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Clear and structured way to track product related activities

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Clear and structured way to track product related activities

Pros:

- Very simple to implement - Help to build transparency across the organisation and customers - Very efficient to track product activities

Cons:

- Miss an integration with Gitlab - Pretty weak on the customer feedback management

Alternatives Considered: Aha! and ProdPad

Reasons for Choosing Productboard: No one in the organisation liked ProdPad.

Switched From: ProdPad

Reasons for Switching to Productboard: Best UX & UI

Hayley
Product Team Lead in UK
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great tool for centralising product information

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

A place to put all the feedback where it won't get lost and forgotten since it can be linked to specific features and used to inform planning.

Cons:

Nothing major. There are features we'd appreciate in future like objectives on timelines, user story mapping, etc but they're not vital.

Alternatives Considered: ProductPlan, Craft.io, GLIDR, airfocus, Hygger, Roadmunk, Aha! and ProdPad

Switched From: Asana

Reasons for Switching to Productboard: It scored highest on our criteria and was better looking than our 2nd highest (Aha!). We prioritised for multiple views for different teams/people, visual prioritisation matrix, having Objectives as a standalone thing, feedback library and various integration needs. AirFocus scored as well on roadmap aspects but had no feedback functionality, the cost of standalone feedback tools ruled this out.

Steven
Product Manager in Colombia
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best software for Product Managers!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Problems business solved:
-Backlog centralization
-Prioritization decisions
-Roadmap visibility

Pros:

I receive a lot of different input across many channels. With Product Board, I can use my Chrome extension and send everything there. Once a week a specific time is designated to search across all input and find the most valuable insights. The flexibility is also a great benefit, I highly use custom tags and split different views based on our needs for prioritization decisions, market reach or competitors gap. All our product management is around this tool.

Cons:

Nothing particular, the team keeps adding great features on new releases.

Alternatives Considered: Jira

Reasons for Switching to Productboard: Product board is more specific to solve our needs.

Guy
Directir of Product in Israel
Legal Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of my favorite tools

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Reallt great

Pros:

helps with roadmapping and input management. Help me organize, explain my priorities, and share internally. They are also an example of how product mgmt should be - from new features, communication of value, ux and more

Cons:

Slightly hard to get started. Might create duplications with Jira and other tool. Great for PMs but not always for the rest of the team

Alternatives Considered: Airtable

Reasons for Switching to Productboard: Just better

Verified Reviewer
Head of Customer Success in Germany
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Very powerful tool

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I love that with Productboard you can collect all the customer feedback easily and customize it according to your needs. Thanks to this, it's easy to see what should be implemented first and which requests can wait

Cons:

It can be a bit overwhelming at the beginning as it has a lot of different functionalities. However, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was amazing on the calls and explained to us how everything works.

Alternatives Considered: ProdPad

Reasons for Choosing Productboard: Price, UX of the tool, integrations

Switched From: ProdPad

Pieter
Product Master in US
E-Learning, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Invaluable for those who really care about user input

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Linking user insights to feature development; Making insights available to developers, designers and others that are working on a feature; Communicating the roadmap with users; Collecting insights from portal as well as other channels in one place."

Cons:

It still lacks multi-language support (any other language than English) and the ability to directly interact with user insights.

Sean
Product in US
E-Learning, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Finally one that works.

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Easy to hack and smash without corrupting data. Linkage between other systems that doesn't get in the way. Different views for managing tactical & presenting strategic (using the same set of data). It doesn't look or behave like Jira or Aha! (I feel like your designers must scrutinize everything).

Cons:

I'm not sure there's anything bad to say

Hartley
CEO in UK
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Productboard review

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We'll be using productboard for as long as our company is in business

Pros:

Ability to create a home for product feedback Ability to organise feedback against the product's hierarchy, which then completely objectifies what to build next -> productboard is the only product that can do this Creating a publicly available portal

Cons:

You can't automatically link your userbase and their orgs, meaning that you have to manually create a new organisation each time you receive feedback from a new company The roadmapping section hasn't been great (no gantt view), however, it's about to be released

Inga
Product Analyst in Ukraine
Broadcast Media, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Constant feedback and feature management

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I'm amazed by productboard UX that is totally covering the needs of PMs. And, eventually, the needs of the users. We can easily track all the insights and convert them to features. Amazing customer service btw.

Cons:

Hm..have nothing bad to say about it. I'm using it around a year now and have never experienced any issue.

Verified Reviewer
Product Manager in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Legal Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Life saver for product managers everywhere

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Product board is an easily-navigable single source of truth for all product ideas along with a single source for all product feedback. Saves so much time and hassle for product managers whilst bringing together all stakeholders from around the business.

Cons:

Can't really think of anything to be honest.

Alternatives Considered: Craft.io

Reasons for Switching to Productboard: ProductBoard is flexible so I didn't feel locked into a specific workflow. I could make ProductBoard work for me.

Gregory
Product Manager in South Africa
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best of breed Software

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

There is no better way to record your feedback and, more importantly, link your feedback to a feature that a user has asked for. Also: the ability to strategically view all features is amazing.

Cons:

There is no way to record conversations (actual audio) and save it. Some of the filters are slightly confusing.

Andrew
Andrew
Product Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Venture Capital & Private Equity, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Curate your user feedback and manage your backlog

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Productboard is an excellent tool to help you make sure your roadmap is driven by real user feedback and value to your customers.

Cons:

Productboard is a fairly young company and is still building out some "no brainer" features, but they also release fantastic updates often!

Alternatives Considered: Jira, ProductPlan and Aha!