Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.8 /5

About Personio

Centralized HR platform that performs all core HR jobs that are key to every company's success: HRM, recruiting, payroll and more.

Learn more about Personio

Showing 113 reviews

Leonie K.
HR Director
Management Consulting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/1/2021

"Very satisfied"

Comments: Just great. It makes our life so much easier.

Pros: It is easy to handle. Customer Service is excellent.

Cons: "Berichte" does not deliver everything we need.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/1/2021
Elena L.
Head of People & Culture
Computer Games, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/9/2019

"One of the best HRIS in Germany"

Pros: It's the best HRIS that I've tried so far. It has tons of features, attributes and process that we can customize according to our needs. The support is very fast, helpful and friendly.

Cons: Sometimes it is a bit complicated to use, but it comes with all the features and configuration possibilities. I am missing a couple of features, like an overview of the employee's promotions/titles and reports indicating promotions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/9/2019
Sonja G.
Management Assistant
Logistics & Supply Chain, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/7/2019

"Great, user-friendly HR-Software for SMUs"

Comments: We are a small start-up with no designated HR manager and needed a system that would allow management to manage all kind of absences (illness, holidays, business travels) and track attendance of student employees. We wanted a solution that would allow employees to manage most of the data themselves, only to be authorised or checked by management. Personio is perfect for this use. Employees can keep track of their digital personnel file, see who is in the office or absent thanks to a good all-company-absence-calender, see how much holidays they have left and plan their paid holidays (which can be authorised or declined in the system by management), upload sickness certificates and even track the worked hours. We are very happy with the performance of the system and are confident missing functionality will be developed by Personio within the next months (app etc.). I would definitely highly recommend the system.

Pros: The software is very intuitive, has a very attractive design and makes it fun to use it. The service ist outstanding - from the first contact with Personio all staff was super attentive, pro-active and solved all problems within hours. The implementation process was quick and easy (thank you representative!), great online tutorials are available.

Cons: I am missing a mobile app (in development). In some aspects the software is perfectly designed for a designated HR manager - message configuration options should be optimised for small start-ups with multi-functional staff - but nothing that could not be "solved" with a bit of trickyness ;).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/7/2019
Verena L.
Head of HRM
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/1/2020

"Overall an easy to use and good HR software"

Comments: We are currently using personio to file all employee data, track onboarding and absence periods. It helps us a lot to quickly access and generate reports and also easily maintain our customer data base.

Pros: Easy implementation
Continuous improvement of the most important HR functionalities
Good reports
Very friendly and quick customer support

Cons: FTE report grouped by Cost Center would be very helpful

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/1/2020
Michael S.
Recruiter
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/9/2019

"Powerful product with great potential, good customer service and support"

Pros: Personio covers most aspects of HR and thus delivers an all-in one solution for HR in SMEs. The platform is GDPR compliant and price/value is great. Customer service is always very helpful.

Cons: Some parts of Personio, especially the recruitment and analytics part, lack some important functions. However, functions are added on a regular basis and Personio is a fairly young product. Moreover, there are some edge-cases in user rights management which can not be implemented at the moment.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/9/2019
Verified Reviewer
Managing Director
Consumer Goods, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/7/2019

"Very solid Software which meets basic HR requirements"

Comments: We managed as a startup to setup HR processes for the first time, even with limited resources. Personio covers our daily needs.

Pros: - implementation process quality
- saving a lot of HR & team resources
- digital documentation of all HR processes (recruiting, sick days, holidays..)
- improving employee retention

Cons: - no compelling usability
- UI/UX not state of the art and very "German"
- no relevant improvements over time

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/7/2019
Franziska M.
Talent Acquisition Manager
Management Consulting, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/8/2019

"Perfect solution for HR- and Recriutig departments"

Comments: I had a great implementation support. Personio offers a solution, which really helps in day to day HR business.

Pros: Many possibilities to make daily work easier, simple usage, easy understandable, great implemantation team, very good customer support, perfect solution for recruitment activities

Cons: At first the software seems quiet complex, but with the support which is offered, you get into the tools very fast

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/8/2019
Andreas H.
quality manager
Design, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/6/2017

"great flexibility,"

Comments: easy access to all information of a hr team

Pros: -easy to learn for everyone,
-good support from the devoloper
-clean interface
-good export functinality
-possible to create own worklfows

Cons: -list feature must be more simple
-recruitment part must more flexible
-some fields are without access
-creation of templates needs easier steps

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/6/2017
Christian F.
Co-Founder & COO
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/2/2019

"Great help in everyday HR work."

Pros: - We at ORDA use Personio over one and a half years now and by now this tool has become an essential part of all of our HR processes. Therefore we can highly recommend the product.

Cons: - In the beginning there were some usability issues which are mostly resolved by now.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/2/2019
Jonas J.
Head of People
Human Resources, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/7/2019

"Excellent One-Stop-Shop for HR Administration - Makes everything you don't like doing a simple task!"

Comments: I am alone in doing HR administration and using Personio removes a work load of about 0,5 FTE from our company, so we are saving tremendously on salary costs. Furthermore it gives our team members a voice and makes it easy for them to navigate the administrative hr jungle by having a one-stop-shop for all their needs, too.

Pros: Covers all the important bases in terms of functionality: - Employee File
- Salary Administration
- Team Calendar
- Attendance & Absence management
The menu is intuitive and compared to other solutions it does a great job of making navigation easy.

Cons: It takes a while to understand how it all works together, but that is to be expected by a software that brings together that many functions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/7/2019
Monique N.
Head of HR
Legal Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/9/2019

"Good Usability and easy to train"

Pros: easy to train for new team members
clear layout and processes

Cons: sometimes too many clicks
not able to save settings from the working process before
more flexibility for different layouts in job postings

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/9/2019
Erica A.
Sr. HR Manager - People Services
Financial Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/6/2017

"Still a young tool, but quickly improving/expanding; great, fast and very friendly customer support"

Comments: Time saver and faster work flow, data protection, faster administration of employee data

Pros: Easy to use for employees; easy, no frill design, good configuration possibilities; improvement ideas are always forwarded to the Product team and, if possible, implemented quickly

Cons: Sometimes very long loading times; reports function not ideal (can be fixed with work arounds but needs extra time)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/6/2017
Rohit K.
Head of HR
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/11/2018

"Excellent customer support"

Comments: Excellent experience so far - We are currently growing in MENA region and Personio team was very happy to adapt settings for us to make it usable in Jordan and Lebanon.

Pros: Easy to use and to adapt to our needs - definitely recommended

Cons: Since we work with multiple cost centres per employee due to project funding, it is tricky to use Personio to manage this.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/11/2018
Theresa H.
Executive Assistant
Management Consulting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/7/2019

"Top team"

Comments: We have not had any sort of HR system implemented. Personio has competent employees that take their time to adapt to your needs. It has so far increased productivity and employee satisfaction.

Pros: The design as well as structure / set up. Their support / help page is one of the most useful and helpful I have used.

Cons: As there are so many options, it does take a moment or two to get your head around the complexity.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/7/2019
Stefan R.
Business Development Director
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/3/2018

"Great user experience which guides every department"

Comments: Helps me hiring the right people and keep track on the recruiting process

Pros: Easy to use and intuitive while capable of handling all HR related processes. Especially recruiting works perfect

Cons: I think there should be a native app for this solution which has the same quality than the web version

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/3/2018
Laura K.
Executive Asstistant
Internet, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/12/2020

"Great tool and an easy communiaction!"

Comments: It is a very good experience.

Pros: The Overall possibilities of Recruiting, onboarding/ offboarding, Management of data

Cons: Maybe it is a Little bit complex in Setting up

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/12/2020
Ligita Z.
Assisstenz
Consumer Goods, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/1/2020

"Beste SOftware"

Comments: Very good support!

Pros: It is easy and understandable! It has best function we needed.

Cons: Nothing to say. We think software had best feature

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/1/2020
Teresa H.
Senior Manager Finance & Accounting
Printing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/6/2019

"Perfect Customer Service"

Comments: absence, preparation of payroll

Pros: Personio Customer Service supports a lot! Thumbs up

Cons: In some features personio could be more detailed

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/6/2019
Ann-kathrin D.
Executive Assistant
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/6/2017

"Many good features to organize your HR activities"

Comments: Good overview of all aspects regarding HR. Employee information, employee development, recruiting etc.

Pros: Good overview, many helpful features. You see all your employees with all the information needed, you can upload docs. Other colleagues can use Personio with limited access. The recruiting section gives a good overview of your job ads and all incoming applications and the applicants.
Personio gives very good support to the administrator and has many helpful videos and documents to explain the software.

Cons: It's not always easy to find all the features and it takes some time to understand the settings. I had a hard time with the access authorization for other colleagues for example. And I still find it hard to enter the right bonus system.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/6/2017
Lydia K.
HR Manager
Warehousing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/2/2020

"Just perfect"

Pros: What I like most about the operating system is that it contains a variety of functions, and as a result, covers the entire Personnel Department. From holiday requests to recruitment, every function is included.
Since we have started using Personio, we have realised that we now spend more time on other HR tasks instead of a large chunk of our day being dedicated to administration tasks.
I particularly like that our employees are required to work together with our department, and are automatically informed if they have failed to provide a doctor’s note for sick leave for example. Previously, we needed to constantly chase-up employees for documents such as these. Additionally, we now have a system that all employees from our Accounting and HR Departments can access, and no longer need to rely on confusing MS Excel spreadsheets.

Cons: I would say that I like everything about Personio. What I sometimes wish for would be an instant messaging option that could be used to send messages directly to employees via Personio. Besides this, we are very satisfied with the operating system.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/2/2020
Florian E.
CFO
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/9/2019

"Game Changer in our HR Efficiency"

Comments: Actually, as a fast-growing company 2 years ago, we were just looking for a recruiting solution and found Personio. Already during the two-week test phase we had all our employees with many individual attributes live on their own and only on the basis of the educational Videos. We now have a vast variety of templates so we can do a lot of manual work more efficiently through Personio and focus on strategic HR topics. And this, although we do not use some features because they do not fit our processes, such as Performance or payroll.

Pros: Ease of use
Excellent UI
Great flexibility with templating, Attributes etc.
Automatisation of the Recruiting Process
Highly efficient

Cons: No Datev interface
Many of our suggestions were received as feature requests, without feedback and without implementation
Many new developments, especially in recruiting, have not led to an improvement, but have taken the clarity

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/9/2019
Florian B.
Co-Founder & CEO
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/2/2019

"Best overall HR solution for growing and established companies"

Pros: Personio covers all key HR processes. No matter if it is recruiting, time tracking, vacations or payroll. We really like that everything is at one place and in order. As a growing company we need a coherent HR and recruiting process to reach our growth goal. Personio really helped us to set up and implement a processes based on their best practices. Great customer support. At the beginning we had some struggles setting up Personio. Their support and implementation team always were available and reached out proactively. I feel that they really care for their customers and want to help us improve our HR processes. Easy to use and well accepted by everyone in the company. The SSO was really helpful for that

Cons: At the beginning we were sceptical about the time it needs to implement the software. However, the few phone calls/video conferences in which we set up Personio with their help proved to be key for us to adapt the software to our processes. A mobile app does not exist yet. Particularly for incoming applications, it would be great to access them mobile through an app

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/2/2019
Natalie E.
Head of HR
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/7/2019

"Flexibel Tool with great functions"

Pros: - its very flexibel and you can add various fields e.g. training data
- you can send out reminders to the departments and supervisors
- we included our on- and offboarding process also in the tool
- very friedly and helpful team

Cons: - some little bugs but nothing serious.. :)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/7/2019
Christian B.
CEO
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/10/2019

"Price increase of more than 30%!"

Pros: It is really a great software with many very good features and finally a good interface design.

Cons: The software is constantly being further developed and regularly has new functionalities. A price increase is justified. But a price increase of more than 30% from one day to the next is very unusual and annoying. Especially, because the software was not one of the cheapest tools even before the price increase.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/10/2019
Dr. martin B.
Global Director of Talent Management / Head of HR
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/8/2018

"Excellent value for money and world-class CSM team!"

Comments: We really managed to establish the foundation of HR compliance thanks to Personio. A huge step forward in terms of organizational growth.

Pros: It is super fast to implement, has no slow back-end and allows you to work with all the stuff you need to scale your organization. It allows a lot of good self-service workflow steps to make life in HR much easier.

Cons: A bit weak on the reporting side, especially when it comes to the recruiting function.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/8/2018