Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.8 /5

About Personio

Centralized HR platform that performs all core HR jobs that are key to every companys succes: HRM, recruiting & preliminary payroll

Learn more about Personio

Showing 25 reviews of 108

Anne W.
HR Manager
Internet, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/6/2017

"no more excel files, all informationen together when we need it. webbased!"

Comments: We have more time to spent in other subjects, no more excel lists and very important. All the informationen are current all the time and available to everyone from anywhere at any time.

Pros: It is very easy to use, even if you are not that talented in software/IT, it is very very dynamic and adaptable and the combination in Admininstration and recruiting is perfekt.
Personio saves almost half of all work steps and you can include the employee excellent in many of the processes. The allocation of roles works very well and is very thoughtful. And what we really have to highlight. The Customer Support!! Very helpful, professionell and friendly!!! And a very good thing. The Webinare!! this is a perfekt way to get to know everything even better.

Cons: There is actually nothing i do not like about the software. It ist very very complex and I still have the feeling that I only know and use 50% of it. But that is a problem I have!! It is not about the software. I have to spent more time on it! Maybe one thing: holiday: if there is a termination and I I finish the employment relationship in Personio the paid vacation days are still the same and do not automaticaly reduce.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/6/2017
Verified Reviewer
Chief Growth Officer
Internet, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/8/2020

"Clear recommendation for SMEs"

Pros: - As we were one of the early adopters, we got personio for quite a cheap rate
- There was no tool that was as comprehensive and could be used without GDPR issues
- It saves a lot of time vs. our setup before, which was Excel

Cons: - There are a few open requests from our side regarding more flexible reportings
- There is an obvious bug in the dashboard that just doesn't get solved (always shows that "everyone is in the office today")

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/8/2020
Kathleen L.
OM, HR & EA
Financial Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/9/2019

"We love this product!"

Comments: We use Personio for daily HR tasks, payroll and recruiting. I find the tool fairly easy to navigate and I really like the recruitment feature. So, the tool itself is really good.
My favorite part about using Personio is the Customer Service/Technical Support Team. Any time I have a question or request, I normally get an immediate, friendly, very professional response. They are always helpful and when the CS representative I am speaking to cannot help me, they always connect me to someone who can.
I would say Personio's Customer Service/Technical Support Team is one of their greatest assets.
Keep up the excellent work!

Pros: I love the recruiting and payroll features.

Cons: It is difficult to understand how the tool calculates, e.g. vacation days. I have made the same mistake a few times with manually adjusting vacation days for on-call work.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/9/2019
Sandra S.
HR Manager
Marketing & Advertising, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/7/2019

"All in one solution for all HR issues"

Comments: As an HR Manager I'm working with Personio every day. I really like it very much. It's quite intuitive and offers a range of options for structuring HR processes. We're now employing around 100 employees - and I'm only working 25 hours per week - Personio makes it possible! You have the whole data within one profile which is very clear. Adapting data to new structures is no problem - you can easily add and change attributes.

Pros: - flexibility
- Very competent and fast customer support
- easy to learn - intuitive
- combines the whole employee life cycle - from recruiting to offboarding - in one platform
- Reports and Exports enable fast analyses
- interface to payroll Providers make the payroll really easy to handle

Cons: - some reports don't work properly - but customer service always fixes problems very fast

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/7/2019
Anne I.
HR Manager
Human Resources, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/9/2019

"Good"

Comments: Good

Pros: - good usability
- good customer support

Cons: - some user cases could be improved, but that's jut a small number

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/9/2019
Alessandra M.
Chapter Lead HR
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/8/2019

"holistic HR software for basic user needs"

Pros: holistic HR software, many interfaces for data exchanges (payroll etc.) it's easy to use and adjustable for customers needs. You can drive the speed of implementation without customer support.

Cons: It's covering basic functionalities, not enough reporting functions to visualize data history and changes or detailed recruiting KPIs(especially for personnel development and salary development). For some functions (for example data changes in the past) you need work arounds to insert data.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/8/2019
Annemarie C.
HR Manager
Internet, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/7/2019

"Great usability that covers our company's needs"

Comments: Great customer service, always helpful, friendly and professional. They go above and beyond.

Pros: Usability
Customer service
Logical Interface

Cons: sometimes you have to build a feature/rule/ process (onboarding/offboarding) from scratch yourself with different bricks, takes some time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/7/2019
Joseph M.
Sales and Partnerships
Food & Beverages, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/8/2018

"Review of Personio Software"

Comments: Personio is great as it is simple to use and has powerful funcionality.

Pros: The Personio software was really easy to get acquainted with. We had a short on-boarding with our company and afterwards everything was clear and easy to start with. The interface is very clean and easy to understand and as an employee it is clear when there are tasks that I need to complete. It is also really easy to request vacation and even choose a replacement directly in Personio. I also really like the fact you can easily integrate your entire teams holidays in Google Calendar - this helps a lot!

Cons: The security of the software is very high and so I often get asked to fill in a security token when I get my password wrong. Not a con per se - just be sure to keep knowledge of your password!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/8/2018
Jonas H.
General Counsel
Automotive, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/12/2019

"unu review"

Pros: functionality compared to other solutions for a company of our side
customer service and personal connection to founder

Cons: responsiveness and speed of the product
product release cycles

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/12/2019
Julian K.
Co-Founder
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/7/2019

"Amazing Crew"

Comments: Covers everything we need as an employer

Pros: 1.) An amazing implementation Team
2.) The software covers all aspects of employees - from hiring to payroll!

Cons: Nothing - its a great and versatile product

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/7/2019
Miriam R.
HR Manager & General Affairs
Automotive, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/8/2019

"introduction of Personio"

Comments: user-friendly
transparency reg. pricing

Pros: Personio team adapts to needs continuously

Cons: There is no App available yet but as I heard it will be issued soon

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/8/2019
Rebecca V.
Head of Customer Care
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2018

"Amazing Tool"

Comments: It gives us, as a young business the overview that we need. Of people. working and absence periods, as well as employee growth and fluctuations and other great tools for tracking performance- on an individual basis, as well as for the entire business.

Pros: Easy to use, very intuitive and self explanatory. Additionally, nearly EVERYTHING is adjustable to suit your individual needs and even unusual company set ups. Great reporting functions. Implementation process was clear and super pleasant,our rep did a fantastic and very patient job!

Cons: Cannot currently be linked to Datev, a software for calculating wages.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2018
Marcelo B.
Senior Software Engineer
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/10/2017

"Lots of features but poor implementation"

Pros: Personio is a nice tool in the overall, it has the majority of the expected features of such a tool. It has a decent UI, and most of the times help you to perform the tasks. The calendars and holiday scheduling things are good, the holiday "calculator" is an example of a nice implementation.

Cons: It is very unstable and unpredictable, there are a lot of features, but they are not very well implemented. For example, things like email scheduling, report of email-threads, message exchange and interview-reviews are not good, frequently you have to send a message more than once, or you receive duplicated entries on your calendar... The interviews-reviews are very poor, you don't have options to create evaluations for different types of interviews, templates or any sort of automation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/10/2017
Flora O.
Office Manager
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/10/2019

"Very helpful tool"

Pros: The Software is easy to use and intuitive. In case you don't know how to handle something there is the very friendly customer support that is very helpful with any issue. I'm always happy and satisfied after calling them. Go on Customer Support! :)

Cons: Can't think of anything. Very happy about the way it is.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/10/2019
Fenna S.
HR Operations Manager
Renewables & Environment, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/2/2020

"Great software and amazing customer support!"

Comments: Our experience so far is excellent.

Pros: The features are very easy to understand and use.

Cons: Sometimes the software is a bit slow, I suppose when too many people use it?

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/2/2020
Jasmin F.
Head Of HR & Administration
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/8/2019

"Great Software"

Pros: The Software Interface is easy to understand and to use. I like that there are options to customize the software.

Cons: The Reporting section should be more flexible and should be possible to customize to the company needs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/8/2019
Yvonne F.
Admin
Events Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/12/2020

"Person great tool for personnel administration"

Pros: Features can be customized as we like it. Overviews and functions are easy to use. Report function is super. It´s self explaining.

Cons: Upload of documents at the moment not possible several at once.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/12/2020
Verified Reviewer
CEO & Founder
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/5/2018

"Personio is a tool used by many SMEs and every employee doesnt know why."

Pros: It lets me as an employee book my calendar vacations. That is literally it. and even that feature is not perfect.

Cons: It is ugly, the UX is not well thought. You have to keep asking for help to find where is what. It is expensive for the low quality that it provides.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/5/2018
Elena L.
Head of People & Culture
Computer Games, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/9/2019

"One of the best HRIS in Germany"

Pros: It's the best HRIS that I've tried so far. It has tons of features, attributes and process that we can customize according to our needs. The support is very fast, helpful and friendly.

Cons: Sometimes it is a bit complicated to use, but it comes with all the features and configuration possibilities. I am missing a couple of features, like an overview of the employee's promotions/titles and reports indicating promotions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/9/2019
Sonja G.
Management Assistant
Logistics & Supply Chain, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/7/2019

"Great, user-friendly HR-Software for SMUs"

Comments: We are a small start-up with no designated HR manager and needed a system that would allow management to manage all kind of absences (illness, holidays, business travels) and track attendance of student employees. We wanted a solution that would allow employees to manage most of the data themselves, only to be authorised or checked by management. Personio is perfect for this use. Employees can keep track of their digital personnel file, see who is in the office or absent thanks to a good all-company-absence-calender, see how much holidays they have left and plan their paid holidays (which can be authorised or declined in the system by management), upload sickness certificates and even track the worked hours. We are very happy with the performance of the system and are confident missing functionality will be developed by Personio within the next months (app etc.). I would definitely highly recommend the system.

Pros: The software is very intuitive, has a very attractive design and makes it fun to use it. The service ist outstanding - from the first contact with Personio all staff was super attentive, pro-active and solved all problems within hours. The implementation process was quick and easy (thank you representative!), great online tutorials are available.

Cons: I am missing a mobile app (in development). In some aspects the software is perfectly designed for a designated HR manager - message configuration options should be optimised for small start-ups with multi-functional staff - but nothing that could not be "solved" with a bit of trickyness ;).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/7/2019
Verena L.
Head of HRM
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/1/2020

"Overall an easy to use and good HR software"

Comments: We are currently using personio to file all employee data, track onboarding and absence periods. It helps us a lot to quickly access and generate reports and also easily maintain our customer data base.

Pros: Easy implementation
Continuous improvement of the most important HR functionalities
Good reports
Very friendly and quick customer support

Cons: FTE report grouped by Cost Center would be very helpful

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/1/2020
Michael S.
Recruiter
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/9/2019

"Powerful product with great potential, good customer service and support"

Pros: Personio covers most aspects of HR and thus delivers an all-in one solution for HR in SMEs. The platform is GDPR compliant and price/value is great. Customer service is always very helpful.

Cons: Some parts of Personio, especially the recruitment and analytics part, lack some important functions. However, functions are added on a regular basis and Personio is a fairly young product. Moreover, there are some edge-cases in user rights management which can not be implemented at the moment.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/9/2019
Verified Reviewer
Managing Director
Consumer Goods, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/7/2019

"Very solid Software which meets basic HR requirements"

Comments: We managed as a startup to setup HR processes for the first time, even with limited resources. Personio covers our daily needs.

Pros: - implementation process quality
- saving a lot of HR & team resources
- digital documentation of all HR processes (recruiting, sick days, holidays..)
- improving employee retention

Cons: - no compelling usability
- UI/UX not state of the art and very "German"
- no relevant improvements over time

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/7/2019
Franziska M.
Talent Acquisition Manager
Management Consulting, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/8/2019

"Perfect solution for HR- and Recriutig departments"

Comments: I had a great implementation support. Personio offers a solution, which really helps in day to day HR business.

Pros: Many possibilities to make daily work easier, simple usage, easy understandable, great implemantation team, very good customer support, perfect solution for recruitment activities

Cons: At first the software seems quiet complex, but with the support which is offered, you get into the tools very fast

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/8/2019
Andreas H.
quality manager
Design, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/6/2017

"great flexibility,"

Comments: easy access to all information of a hr team

Pros: -easy to learn for everyone,
-good support from the devoloper
-clean interface
-good export functinality
-possible to create own worklfows

Cons: -list feature must be more simple
-recruitment part must more flexible
-some fields are without access
-creation of templates needs easier steps

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/6/2017