15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About Sage 100

Sage 100 is an ERP platform for growing and medium-sized sales and manufacturing companies.

Learn more about Sage 100

Pros:

It can integrate with other products easily and is easy to use once trained.

Cons:

You'll notice lag in the system regardless of the hardware resources assigned to it.

Sage 100 ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Service
3.7
Features
3.9
Value for Money
3.8

Likelihood to recommend

7.2/10

Sage 100 has an overall rating of 4.1 out 5 stars based on 321 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Sage 100 before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (321)

Hillary
Hillary
Sales Assistant in Romania
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Sage 100 is an Intuitive Accounting and Financial Management Tool.

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Sage 100 compliance management functions are impressive and its and effective project cost management platform with nice budgeting capability.

Pros:

Through Sage 100 tools is very effective to track project expenses and create clean and accurate financial data reports. The tool also allows easy project financial management and its billing and invoicing capabilities are excellent.

Cons:

Easy Accounting tool and nothing for me to dislike or underline as a usability issue. Very functional and powerful.

Blake
Blake
Ecommerce & Consumer Products Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Mining & Metals, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Huge improvements over earlier Sage products

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We've been able to greatly improve how our manufacturing processes across various locations are reflected in our budgets and accounting practices. It's saved us thousands of hours per year in terms of extracting the data, manipulating it, and putting it back into Sage for final reporting. You can now do that within Sage 100.

Pros:

Our organization moved from Sage 50 to Sage 100 and wow, what a difference! We thought Sage was the issue, but really the business had just outgrown the more base version of the software. Sage 100 can fully handle complex costing and processes present in a modern day manufacturing business. It can collect data at various nodes in the process and roll them up for budgeting and forecasting.

Cons:

We use a lot of agile software platforms on our sales and ecommerce side of the business, and Sage 100's API catalog doesn't really keep up with what's needed to move quickly in 2020.

Hailey
admin assistant in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Perfect software for any business

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

I think the thing I like most is that fact that everything pertaining to the specific job is kept all together and easily accessible.

Cons:

When using job cost, only one person can access at a time unless we purchase another license, but its not a huge deal.

Yuan
Geschäftsführer in Germany
Wholesale, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Software is bad, service partner is worse.

1.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: outdated technology, lack of transparency, psuedo subscription without meaningful updates. Poor quality of the service partner network leaves much to be desired.

Pros:

the name of the software. But don't be fooled by that.

Cons:

On paper it has all the functionalities. In reality none of them works properly. You endup with countless customizations from a Sage partner and become very dependent on their partner. They are neither good nor cheap.

Doreen
Sales Manager in US
Environmental Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to use software with a lot of accuracy

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Financial reporting has been made easy with the software as I am able to generate budgets and financial reports with a lot of flexibility and accuracy. Invoicing is also efficient with the software.

Pros:

The software has an impressive capability for managing project costs. It ensures that the cost of a project is well taken care of through proper budgeting and tracking of project expenditure.

Cons:

I have nothing that I don't like about the software. Our accounting and financial needs are well taken care of by the software.

Stosh
owner in US
Sporting Goods, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

To many steps to do simple daily process

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Sage works, support companies and eide bailey sold it to us did not do there due diligence in my opinion selling us the software we needed that would handle what we do. Integration problems and being told to use a certain card processing that did not work without a bridge with fusion costing us more money and have had it out 4 times in the last week.

Pros:

The accounting portion is probably the most complete.

Cons:

To me there is several cons we have found after the purchase. My biggest complaint being the amount of time it takes to do simple process. Example: when we have price changes and adjustments to make, it can not be done from a central place. As a dealer that is retail and wholesale both, we have to change retail in one screen, wholesale on another, and finally cost in a completely different location. When you have 30k items this takes 4 times longer than other systems. My other major complaint is dealing with several different companies to get everything you need to support sage for daily operation. We have experienced finger pointing back and forth from the support companies of whose problem it is and nothing gets corrected for months. As I say we are over 2 years from our sign up and it has been a multitude of issues and we are still not complete. Delays on large orders put into fusion portion are a time killer.

Jim
CFO in US
Wholesale, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sage 100 Review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We migrated from QuickBooks Enterprise to Sage 100 in 2015. We have had no regrets on this migration and believe we have much better control of our inventory which drives our financial results.

Pros:

Sage 100 has all of the features that our small business needs. We require inventory management with bills of materials and work orders. Sage does an excellent job handling this.

Cons:

It is not a case of dislike but more of under optimized. The general ledger system is not fully developed for drill down capability. All of the information is in a relational database but accessing inquiring type information is more cumbersome than it needs to be. We have written Crystal reports to accommodate this need.

Shawn
VP in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage 100 Love Hate Relationship

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: It has been a mixed bag. Having used since Mas 90 4.05. We are "comfortable withe the software and it does the job for us. Currnetly running Sage 100 2019. Upgraded from 2017 because we had to due to payroll module support. For a small business this is very expensive software and I often feel that we could do what we need with less expensive software. For what we pay annually to Sage and what we pay every 2 years to a Support company for basically mandatory upgrades, I am not sure we get our moneys worth. This will probably be the last upgrade we do for a Sage product. Will start looking for an alternative, more modern feeling cloud based solution with plans to rollover in 2022 unless something changes with our current platform.

Pros:

There are a lot of features that help us run our business

Cons:

Many of the features are inconsistent in the implementation. Lack of standardization in reports.

Kathryn
Acctg & Benefits Mgr in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

waiting for many enhancements Sage 100 Contractor

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: been a struggle and had to create many manual systems outside the software to operate and manage the business

Pros:

covers all the basic functions

Cons:

missing many key functions, has too many restricted areas that need to be more user-friendly, that were not designed by real life users

Milla
Management in Austria
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Sage Live Saver 1000

5.0 last month New

Comments: The customer support is exceptional, the webinars are always available and we don't need to run around if we need help, just an email or call away from assistance.

Pros:

It's comprehensive features, user-friendly interface and reliability,

Cons:

At the start of using it was a bit complicated, but once the training commenced, it went well, we expected it to be easy to understand from the start, but we managed.

Kenneth
Vice President in US
Maritime, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage 100c 2017 - 2019 review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Company replaced Platinum for DOS which had been in place for 20+ years. So moving to Sage 100c and having the ability to drill down into the data is a great feature. Being able to email invoices/purchase orders have improved the productivity of employees (they no longer have to go look for hard copies).

Pros:

First off is the User Define Fields (UDF), if a field is not in the software or you have something unique that needs to be captured, as an end user you can add the field without custom programming or use of a VAR. The next feature would be Visual Integrator (Import/Export utility), this feature is great for either uploading data into Sage or exporting data for analysis. Memo Fields are great! Paperless Office is great along with the ability to email invoices, purchase orders, etc. Sage Intelligence is a love/hate relationship: Very easy to build reports, but the runtime for running reports takes a long time (i.e. most of my reports 1-2 minutes) versus the standard Sage financial reports of 10-15 seconds.

Cons:

The Extended Description for inventory items. For the life of me, not sure why Sage still uses the Extended Description in inventory. This makes it very difficult for data imports or exports. If your company does drop shipments then really understand how it works. On the inventory side you end up with a black hole. Moving invoices from one batch to another is limited utility due to no one can be in the batch, so we end up moving invoices after hours. When running the Period End process for a module locks users out, so this normally has to be done during none business hours. Sage is weak in the inventory physical count area (i.e. cycle counting).

Bill
Controller in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Software that is easy to customize to fit your exact needs

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: All in all, this is a good product with options for growth as your business needs change.

Pros:

Sage 100 Advanced ERP allows you to create data fields that are unique to your business and have the data flow through the various processes and data files. We have added over 100 fields to our invoicing forms, and the data flows from the sales order to the invoice, to the accounts receivable history. The data entry screens are easily modified to add any custom fields you need. The forms for printing documents are also easily modified via Crystal Reports. We utilize Crystal Reports to perform error checking at the order entry point to alert the order entry and billing clerks if there any issues with the order that needs to be corrected. We check to see if purchase orders are required. If they are, is one on the order? We check to ensure the sales tax code is correct for the shipping address. There are easily a dozen things we check, all utilizing the tools built into Crystal Reports. We have been using this software since the mid-1990's and have upgraded year after year. The upgrades are much easier than they used to be and the features that have been added over the last few years are great additions to the software.

Cons:

Some of the processes are more complicated than they need to be. Recording pre-payments on A/R or A/P invoices is a prime example. The process for both should be re-evaluated, and the process should be the same for any pre-payment that needs to be recorded. Some of the module pricing doesn't make any sense. The asset module is way too expensive when compared to other options available.

CHERRY
OFFICE ADMIN in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

EXCELLENT SOFTWARE

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: ALOT

Pros:

EVERYTHING EASE OF WORKING .. BALANCING BOOKS

Cons:

PAYROLL - YOU HAVE TO RUN 2 DIFFERENT PAY PERIODS SEPARATE

Kimberly
Marketing, Director in US
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A Well Travelled Work Horse

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Its a great product for the small business client looking for audit-compliance, reporting and a trust-worthy product without spending a lot. If mobility is not a huge concern for you and you want to keep your operating costs low, choose Sage 100.

Pros:

Sage 100 is very well suited for financial record keeping, distribution management and reporting on these business operations. Functionally, it is very reliable and straight forward to use. It was the first accounting software I ever used in a professional setting and I continue to think in terms of the way items are processed in Sage 100. Because it has been around for decades, there is a substantial amount of knowledge available to new users by way of Sage City and the number of consultants available for support is also a huge asset. The subscription pricing makes it very simple to purchase and include as an operating cost for the lifetime of the business and there are great integrations available in the channel.

Cons:

I wish there was a mobile app that gave access to the approval functions and other areas of the product that would be convenient when traveling away from the office - or even just working remotely. Remote accessing a server is very inconvenient and there are so many browser-based systems in business already. Sage 100 feels behind the times without this functionality.

John
Director, Finance and IT in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very good software. Has gotten better over time. Still room for improvement

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: I've been using Sage 100 for more than twenty years and it's a great tool most of the time. Databases were improved module by module several years ago and that made a huge difference in stability and reliability. Work flow is consistent across modules. Once you understand Sage's way of managing workflow, it translates to other software modules, so there is less to learn.

Pros:

Full featured. Has what you need in most modules to run a typical company. Decent implementation of Paperless office. Print and linking PDF copies of most documents is great.

Cons:

Workflow can be frustrating or cryptic in rare cases. Implementation of paperless office, particularly for PDF invoices and uploaded documents is really good, but not great. Needs better inventory work order management. Basic integration is terrible, GREAT integration is too full featured. We need something in between. Just a basic Work order process that actually works.

brittany
Management/Bookkeeper in US
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Accounting and Inventory Ability

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

We went with Sage because we needed an accounting software that would also keep inventory stock. The fact that Sage has build able modules and customization available is pretty much the biggest asset available. I use Accounts Receivable, Payable, Sales Order, Inventory Management, Purchase order, General Ledger and Paperless office. I like that it allows me to more permanently close out accounting days and keeps track of all reports for later use.

Cons:

It is a time consuming software to learn, definitely keep a professional on standby when installing and learning the system. Although I like being able to close out days and orders, it does make it a little harder to fix any mistakes. There are occasional bugs with the system but nothing that hasn't been able to be fixed with a phone call to our Sage installer.

Yanet
Operations Coordinator in US
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage 100cloud from a non-profit user

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: It has met all of our AP and AR needs.

Pros:

All the modules are located on the left side of the home screen. It may not seem like a big component; however, when you're wanting to go in and out-things it's a game changer. Some days, I have up to ten different windows in which I'm cross referencing. I can reconcile while looking at my AR and AP. Making entries and printing checks is a breeze. The steps are easy to follow and the tutorials are simple.

Cons:

Be sure to double check modules when updating software. We updated and quickly realized some modules hadn't carried over correctly. It was taken care of fast but could've caused problems down the road. It would be nice to have a checklist of when everything is being updated to see when changes did/didn't occur.

Dvon
President in US
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Very Sad!!! Very Very Sad!!

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: I would never recommend this software. Any looking for a way out. I know other companies who use this software and are taking the same approach. Maybe after enough people leave their service, they'll start acting like a customer friendly company; not a company that says ...... "I gotcha!!" Time to take the ride!!!

Pros:

It is a sturdy platform. Served its purpose. Has good features .... a good overall solid mid sized company package.

Cons:

As in previous reviews, they are now price gouging with huge support price increases. Can't get any update without getting support plan. They do not have a "pay for support" option only for the experienced user of their software. Now we can't get phone support. Only support given is through web chat. That really sucks!! Imagine trying to teach someone how to use the Report Writer feature through web chat. Very Sad!!!

Kara
Accounting Manager in US
Machinery, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage 100cloud Software

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Sage100cloud takes a bit to get used to; but the every-day functions are not difficult to maneuver. When you get into deeper more complex functions (which Sage offers) then it becomes quite difficult to learn how everything works together. It's a muscle machine and can handle a lot of data (we are in the manufacturing business).

Pros:

We have used Sage for over 10 years. Our primary business is manufacturing. Sage has a wide range of tracking and amazing functions that can be done. If you need a robust program and have the budget for it, this is the one to go with.

Cons:

Learning how to use all the completx functions proves to be difficult and training & software are very spendy.

Albert
CONTROLLER in US
Design, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage 100cloud review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: sales analysis, inventory slow moving analysis, gross profit and specialized reporting analysis

Pros:

Visual integrator to import files and Sage intelligence for customized reporting needs

Cons:

some of the standard built in reports such as sales orders by item and product line are not very excel friendly and look better on paper.

Don
Software Consultant
Management Consulting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Affodable step up from Quickbooks

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: i have used a variety of ERP software packages in my career, including Quickbooks and Microft Dynmaics' Navision, and Sage 100 provides a full feaured ERP package at an affordable price. Cost's per user for a month's subscription for the Essentials core accounting package (GL, AP, AR, Bank Reconciliation) and a little more for the Advanced Bundle (Essentials plus Inventory, Purchasing, and Sales Order), and more for the Complete Bundle (Essentials plus Bar Code, Return Materials Authorization, and Bill of Materials). For manufacturing, you can add the Complete Plus Bundle (Work Order, MRP, Job Cost, and Time Card). There are additional add-on modules such as Paryoll with Direct Deposit, 100c Manufacturing (formerly JobOps), CRM, Sage Intelligence Reporting, and eBusiness Web Services. Each package includes Library Master, Business Insights (Drill Down Inquiry, Reporting, and Dashboard), Paperless Office, Custom Office (to create User Defined Fields and customized screens), Visual Integrator (to Export and Import data to/from Excel and Sage), and Crystal Reports.
The Windows Explorer type menus make navigation easy, and the workflow follows the menus. Sage 100 is designed for 1 to 50 users, and supported the creation of multiple business entities or companies. The software has many configuration options, and can be tailored to the company's use, so because it is flexible there is also a learning curve due to its sophistication. Sage has been the number one accounting software recommended by CPA's for many years.

Pros:

Affordable, flexible, stable data base, excellent module integration.

Cons:

Does not have a Point of Sale option, or a full featured Web Store, or user friendly API tool.

KIMBERLEY
Contoller in Canada
Accounting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage - Tacking your Companies costs

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Sage is easy to install and can be used for all types of industries from small to medium sized. Easy to train and configure to your companies needs. Highly recommend this product

Pros:

Sage is easy to setup. The ability to customize your invoices to include Logos and what is required to be shown on your invoices is essential. The ability to setup your fonts and how you want reports to print and look makes it very personable.

Cons:

I would like the ability to copy a Journal entry to reuse as opposed to saving as a stored entry. Coping entries on the fly is much faster. When a credit appears you cannot back out of this (no choice to exit) can make a mess of your gl

Cherechi
Sales and Business Development Co-ordinator in Nigeria
Government Administration, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

This is one of the best ERPs I have used in a while, it makes working a whole lot more fun and streamlined.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Despite the whole full and complex look and feel, Sage 100 is still quite easy to understand in about 3 tries(if self teaching) but under an experienced hand , I’d probably give a day a day and half max.

Pros:

The best thing about this software is it’s streamlined nature. An ERP that can help completely monitor from manufacturing to storage to logistics to HR and even customer relationship and satisfaction. This is one top of the line software.

Cons:

It is still a bit jumbled up. Once loaded, it still looks like a whole lot on the eye. Icons and folders can still be properly arranged and sorted properly. Still a lot of addons that are not really needed.

Joleen
Office Manager in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

2020 Review of Sage 100 Cloud

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall we are very pleased with Sage 100 cloud. Our IT consultant finds it easy to help us trouble shooting if needed, and customer service has been very helpful. We have also found it easy to adapt to our company needs. The upgrade to Sage 100cloud was seamless.

Pros:

The product is user friendly, the pull down windows are very helpful for new employees. New employees were easily trained to use the product.

Cons:

It would be a great enhancement if all reports would not close after print/print preview. Our checks are not standard laser printer checks, and it was a little challenging to set up to print correctly. Smart printers would not allow the adjustments. Final fix was to purchase an inexpensive printer.

Christine
Manager of Finance & IT in US
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It works

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: We have Sage 100c...not cloud.

Pros:

What I like most about this software is that it's not worse. I've used worse, but I have definitely used better.

Cons:

This software is not easily customizable. Some simple things that could be better are just a pain. For example, posting entries, one should never have to go through several steps to post every single time. I've worked with softwares where you can set it to the level of steps you want. If you want to print and post, you should be able to do that all in one step.