15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

Oracle PeopleSoft Reviews

About Oracle PeopleSoft

Comprehensive system for managing dispersed IT assets. Integrates with Oracle financial and CRM IT Help Desk systems.

Learn more about Oracle PeopleSoft

Pros:

Have been using peoplesoft at a client site for AR monitoring and assessing credit applications. Very good upward and downward integrations with many give and get exchanges.

Cons:

I find PeopleSoft to be somewhat difficult to learn. I don't find it to be intuitive and the interface appears outdated.

Oracle PeopleSoft ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Service
3.9
Features
4.0
Value for Money
3.7

Likelihood to recommend

7.1/10

Oracle PeopleSoft has an overall rating of 4.1 out 5 stars based on 276 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Oracle PeopleSoft before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (276)

Blanca
Blanca
Especialista de RRHH in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

People Soft

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: My experience has been excellent with Oracle to fulfill the functions related to the tasks I perform daily, in this system I get information that my supervisor asks me, useful information to accomplish tasks assigned by other departments, income movements and expenditures among other assignments .

Pros:

The Oracle system is an excellent tool to comply with organizational processes. It is very important to keep the organizational structure in order and to ensure that when making a movement within the structure the changes are made as accurately as possible without affecting the business in any way.

Cons:

I do not consider that the Oracle system has disadvantages, it is necessary to have an administrator who knows the regulations so that no changes are made without authorization. It is a system that allows you to do everything related to the entry and exit of personnel as well as all the movements of promotions and transfers.

Anthony
HRBP in US
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Peoplesoft Review

5.0 7 months ago

Pros:

It was easy to use and an HRMS system. It was straight forward.

Cons:

Right now it seems Peoplesoft is outdated. Systems like Workday is the state of the art now.

Jenny
Brand Director in US
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I used PeopleSoft for nearly 4 years at my last job at an advertising agency.

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I like that there's such a wide breadth of what can be accomplished within PeopleSoft time sheets, expense reports, financial reports, PTO portals, opening job numbers for projects and much, much more. I like that our company used it as a main medium for so many different things. It's much easier when things are centralized in one platform. Once you know how to use PeopleSoft, it can be one of your best friends. It can be a guiding tool to help better so many departments of a company. It helped me understand the ins and outs and track financials of projects much more vividly than I'd be able to otherwise. My most productive and proactive days at my old job included getting the most out of PeopleSoft and checking in on all of my various jobs (financials, open / close statuses, new jobs, etc.).

Cons:

PeopleSoft is not user friendly until it's knocked into your head. I was given a manual when I started working at my old company and I had to reference this manual for literally years until it became second nature. There are too many steps and too many clicks to get to the finish line in nearly any task on PeopleSoft. And you have to know what buttons to press to yield a certain result. There are no guides to help you along the way. If you don't have a manual from someone at your job in your SPECIFIC position, you will undoubtedly be lost for a long time. The buttons to press are jibberish, honestly. Often times the buttons you need to press to get to the next page during a process of a task are just random numbers or random letters. I got so used to the program so I knew exactly what to press and when to press it but it took a very long time to get to that point. Even when I did, though, I found the program tedious and overly time consuming.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Food & Beverages, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

People Soft is a must have

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

It makes the job easier, you can obtain many different reports, forms and basically an all in one helper

Cons:

I love this product so much there is nothing I truly disliked

Jared
Jared
HRIS Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good Product with Lots of Features But Difficult to Maintain

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: A very good tool, that was feature rich and allowed you to build custom business process, but you could you shoot yourself in the foot with the customization, and get stuck doing custom processes.

Pros:

I like how customizable the tool is to match whatever business process you have. It has strong reporting capabilities and can handle very complex process.

Cons:

With the customization we had to do lots of regression testing when new updates came out. Sometimes this broke our customization and required much more work.

Sabrina
Sabrina
Department Business Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Decent product by a leading provider

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall it is a decent product, there are some inefficiencies within the program; however, I believe this could be fixed based on the buildout for the organization and what developers identify is needed.

Pros:

One of the main features I love about this product is the development of reports and queries. It also allows reports to be exported into various formats as well.

Cons:

Some of the processes within the program are redundant. Requesting information can be a bit inefficient because the program requests various steps to produce one report or functionality within the system.

Deepali
Deepali
Software Development Analyst in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Peoplesoft is a ERP tool which make easy organization work.

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: it helps to make organization work easy.

Pros:

I have done work on peopleosoft financial as developer .Oracle has given almost everything in ERP. What is good in this tool it make easy to track any organization work.Good thing is it makes easy to understand application for both i.e for developer and for client because both knows the functional of application so client easily can tell what is exact their requirement and as developer knows about ERP so for them it is easy to do changes what exact client want.For any organization it helps to reduce extra cost and time on organization finance system or HR system because Peopesoft ERP handle everything.

Cons:

it is very old ERP now I prefer to select workday or fusion over peoplsoft because they have lot of new features which make easy to understand ERP but in peoplesoft it is little bit time taking process to understand functional. Many bugs you will get and for them Oracle has not given any patches in new release.

Erica
Erica
Advising and Admissions Coordinator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PeopleSoft is the system I use daily to fulfill my daily tasks in higher education

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Fulfilling my daily tasks in my position of higher education more easily than with other systems, This software is most important to my job.

Pros:

The versatility of the system and ease of use makes my daily tasks in higher education quicker. I use this system everyday to help my students navigate their educational goals. I use it to run reports, admit students, track students, and advise students.

Cons:

The system can be cumbersome in some aspects of it's use in terms of areas speaking to one another, but over all there are not many cons to list.

June
June
Talent Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good software with lots of reporting functions.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Robust software with great reporting and streamlined processes.

Pros:

Integrated with online applications well, great reporting options and easy export to Excel. Process is streamlined and easy to enter notes, add orders, customers, etc.

Cons:

Reporting is great but seems to be hard for many people to grasp as there are so many options to choose from when running a report. Does let you save reports but if you need to tweak, most people need a Subject Matter Expert to help them.

Matt
Matt
Human Resources Business Partner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good holistic HRIS

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Very good and Oracle provides a holistic suite of options which makes this a nice product to have if you are thinking about going to one vendor for all needs.

Pros:

The ability to manage all HR needs - compensation, performance, reporting, HRIS, etc. It was a very powerful tool as well and had lots of ability to create custom fields for extensive reporting capabilities.

Cons:

The interface, especially the reporting query portal, was difficult to learn and navigate.

Bonnie
instructor in US
Higher Education, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PeopleSoft

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: I have used PeopleSoft (PS) since 2005 and in various positions/capacities at two different institutions. I've worked through three major upgrades, two HR/CMS splits, and COUNTLESS bundles and test runs. I've used helped design brand new pages, update/upgrade/improve the information and functionality of existing pages, created security tables, granted users access, entered data, and manipulated/created other data so that others could query that data for their needs. I've trained dozen of faculty and staff how to navigate through PS and how to use PS to access needed data and/or run pre-formatted queries and reports. It is robust database management system and I could not do my job without it!

Pros:

I've used PeopleSoft both in what some would call the "vanilla" version, and also a "modified" to fit the specific needs of the organization, and/or department level version. What impresses me is that it is just that - modifiable, and can be programmed (if you have the people and know-how) to program it to do what you need. Being able to query data from many different tables can really save time and effort, which in turn saves manpower hours/money.

Cons:

It's a silly wish, but I wish PeopleSoft allowed the users to change the color of their individual display and settings - like the color of the background, or the size and type and color of font. I'm sure there's a way to do it, but it is managed by the SUPER Administrative users and "powers that be".... and it's probably an all or nothing kind of thing. I'm in the program 8 hours a day, and all that WHITE background and tiny font...let me jazz it up and make it my own like MS allows.

hedaia
Planning Manager in Jordan
Construction, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Long-term human resource management systems

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: As a result, you may use this tool to plan your human resources, and it can also help you find a solution to your problem. Always go with the option that is most beneficial to your company's long-term survival.

Pros:

In terms of ERP and HRM, PeopleSoft is a top-notch solution. Employee data serve as the basis for this cloud-based application, which is used to manage numerous business requirements. Anyone can use it because it has a simple user interface. By using several IDs, you can search for an employee and get all the records they've kept while working for you in PeopleSoft. To put it succinctly, I admire Oracle systems because they place a high value on the long-term viability of the organization as a whole.

Cons:

In spite of the fact that this isn't always a bad thing, you must always stop working while technology specialists provide technical support, which is inconvenient at times. I also think the user interface's simplicity is outdated and needs to be updated, as it frequently bores me.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Robust, customisable and one of the most reliable ERP product available in the current market

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It is very robust ERP tool with lot of potential and stability

Pros:

PeopleSoft happens to be in the market since early 1990s and is one of the most used and most reliable ERP product available in the market. With the constant updates from Oracle and impactful Oracle support you are never going to face any grey days with your application. It have very stable customisation options and can be used for wide range of users. HCM, HRMS, Finance are the most reliable modules available with PeopleSoft. Also with the recent versions of PeopleSoft, support for the Cloud is also been introduced with PeopleSoft which makes it more usable and easy to deploy.

Cons:

Old technology Old User interface Less availability of experienced resources in the market. No clear end of life date from Oracle Costly updates

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

PeopleSoft

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

There is a lot that can be done with this software. My current job requires us to use this software as well as the university where I am currently a student. Part of my job is to generate expense reports or fund equity reports as well as create and update vouchers through this software and so far it has been productive.

Cons:

When I generate reports, it takes about 3 minutes per report. I usually have to generate reports for multiple departments so in order to save time, I like to initiate the process for all of them so that I can multitask and save time. Unfortunately when I do that, the system gets confused and doesn't register when I pick a different department and ends up generating 2 of the same report. I think that is something that they can optimize better.

Shana
Office Coordinator in US
Higher Education, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Oracle PeopleSoft Complicated but Functional

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall it was challenging first but once you get the hang of it the Software has so many uses and makes my job a little easier that I don’t have to use so many different platforms to access my information as well as the students

Pros:

I use Oracle PeopleSoft is a multifaceted Software and has so many different capabilities and options that keep everything on our campus streamlined from payroll, personal data like direct deposit performance evaluations, queries, student worker data and many more options

Cons:

Since there are so many options and capabilities Oracle PeopleSoft is intimidating at first glance/use. It took some time to get used to navigating between the different screens, learning shortcuts, which buttons to use and when. Still learning all that this Software has to offer

Colette
Fin Aid Assistant in US
Higher Education, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PeopleSoft the way of the People

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I am a user since 2014 , the software is an integral part of my day to day work functions. PeopleSoft has streamlined our institutions daily functions. I.E. Student Accounts, Satisfactory Academic Process, Access to Unit Loads, all the essential data that an institution needs to better serve it's students. Students also have access to their data at a click of a mouse.

Pros:

Accessibility , user friendly, collaborative , our students information access, and ability to review and resolve issues.

Cons:

Some students find it difficult to use , It would be better if tutorials were better presented and distributed to student users

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Environmental Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PeopleSoft user for 11 years

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, the tool serves it's purpose well and meets the basic needs of the company.

Pros:

We utilize PeopleSoft for accounting, travel and expense reimbursement, procurement, asset management, vendors, lease administration and procure-to-pay. The latest version of the software is much better than the old classic interface but still seems to be trailing other solutions.

Cons:

My biggest challenge with the tool is the amount of internal IT resources and outside consultants that it takes to accomplish even the most mundane fix or improvement.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Restaurants, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PeopleSoft HR Best Friend

5.0 last year

Pros:

Very good and simple, it has many modules that help the running of business very accessible, HR and Payroll, invoicing, inventory and many more task

Cons:

The cloud option could be better, also entering information has to be done line by line

Laura
BOC in US
Medical Practice, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Users Opinion

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: There are good and bad qualities to all products/systems. The more you use it the easier it becomes to navigate. Oracle was great about changing their view of the product to be better at being visually appealing to the eye and reading/navigating for the older generations who join the team at later times.

Pros:

For the most part user friendly. Most updates are straight forward.

Cons:

Some features are limited. There could always be better explanation on how to use those features.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Peoplesoft has made managing employees super easy. The customization features are excellent

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: It helped manage employee profiles, benefits, talent, and performance management.

Pros:

Being able to customize this product has made setting it up for my company simple and easy. The administration of the product is not too complicated for most individuals. This product is also great for the managers to keep track of their employees.

Cons:

This product is primarily for bigger organizations, which means that the cost is too expensive for the smaller companies.

Gina
HR Analyst in US
Marketing & Advertising, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great for reporting!

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: The system is better than some and not comparable to others. Just make sure you do your due diligence before signing up and doing a system's conversion.

Pros:

PeopleSoft is great for reporting. Users are required to do a little more work on the front end while entering, so that back end reporting is easy and very helpful. I have used HRIS software in the past, and reporting always seems to be a sore spot. PeopleSoft has mastered the reporting function which makes the entry process a little more understandable.

Cons:

The entry process can be a little cumbersome. For example, there is also no auto fill on fields which helpful to avoid miskeying / misspelling. This would be a great feature to have should they ever look into expanding their system's functionality.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Pharmaceuticals, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Peoplesoft really a good Software and Good for Business outcomes

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Talking about overall Ecperince i am good with Oracle Peoplesoft. many good features available to use and implement. Price wise, I'm not happy with Oracle People soft.

Pros:

I have used Oracle Peoplesoft for 4-5 years and find this very good and easy to use. There are many modules we can use as per out business requirements.

Cons:

Some issue with the reporting dashboard and integration with another application.

sheetal
BSA hr systems in US
Human Resources, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good product but very slow

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: Okay for some legacy company’s but need to look outside what other are using.

Pros:

It’s good product ,but having experience in cloud based systems you find this very slow,pale interface,not intuitive.i would say only few companies are using it as their legacy.

Cons:

Slow,less intuitive.not user friendly and features are there but difficult to find.its sturdy but very dull user interface.

Taylor
Cash Applications Specialist in US
Accounting, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great for managing accounts

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use this to manage premium payments, bonus money, commissions, and other monetary transactions as needed for a large insurance company.

Pros:

It’s pretty simple to use once you get the hang of it. A lot of stuff behind the scenes that seems to be customizable to your company’s needs. As a front end user, I’m able to manage various payments to accounts in multiple departments smoothly.

Cons:

It takes some time to learn everything, and when you’re short staffed it can make you wish it was a mute elf explanatory user experience, but nothing we couldn’t work around.

Taraiya
HR Business Parner-Compensation in US
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Peoplesoft For HR is ok if you have full training and know the customization

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Used peoplesoft to for Human Resources to hire new employees, set up compensation, and work assignments, classify them with a specific position number.

Pros:

I liked the ability to house different employee groups, hourly and salary. I also liked the option of having multiple work assignments set up for a single employee to show the different position, along with compensation, ability to track anniversary dates, and the automation of the pay lines that created based on the updates to the employee.

Cons:

The system is complicated and has many layers. I didn't understand the need for the multiple modules for employee groups, and the many screens you had to update to complete updates to an employees persona data. Specifically, updating emergency contact, education info, or address changes were entered on different screens, in setting up new employee instance. I would like the same ability to make those updates enter at the same time same screen since it still personal data. But this could be because of the customization of the organization.