15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

Deltek Costpoint Reviews

About Deltek Costpoint

Deltek Costpoint is an ERP and accounting solution for leading Government Contractors.

Learn more about Deltek Costpoint

Pros:

Customer support and responsiveness, ease of use.

Cons:

It take a lot of time to correct certain errors that you may make.

Deltek Costpoint ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Service
4.0
Features
3.9
Value for Money
3.7

Likelihood to recommend

7.3/10

Deltek Costpoint has an overall rating of 4.0 out 5 stars based on 207 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Deltek Costpoint before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (207)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Military, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy-to-use program for tracking hours worked.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I used this program daily to track my hours worked for each pay period. It was pretty easy to use and did not take much time out of my day.

Pros:

This program was very simple to use to track your hours worked. It was efficient, easy, and did not take much time to learn or to use it daily.

Cons:

I cannot think of anything specific that I disliked about this program.

Phil
SQL DBA \ ERP Administrator in US
Oil & Energy, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Deltek Costpoint 8.1

4.0 8 months ago

Comments: Deltek Costpoint is our corporate Enterprise Resource Planning system, as well as our primary Business Intelligence tool for Accounting, Financial, and Project Status reporting. There are also flexible options for implementing security, both at the user level as well as the user group level.

Pros:

Extensive number of fields available for entering data, highly normalized database structure, Project-based accounting, ability to customize product using built-in Extensibility. Costpoint can be integrated with other products by using the built-in Web Services tool, as well as a number of data pre-processors.

Cons:

Some aspects of product are not intuitive. Some processes can take considerable time to complete. Recent version upgrades have been buggy, sometimes containing new bugs that were not present in previous versions. It can take considerable time for bug fixes to be released.

Hosan
Senior Accountant in US
Government Administration, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Reliable and consistent

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: I started using Deltek costpoint since 2019 and I use it daily. Most of the features on Deltek is intuitive and easy to use. When transferring data from Deltek to Excel, it is easy to transfer.

Pros:

Customer service. Especially zoom meeting to resolve issues. Transferring information from the software to excel in an easy manner.

Cons:

Frequent update regarding software upgrade.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Any review above 1 star is suspect

2.0 last month New

Pros:

Nothing I can think of. The only reason to use Costpoint is when a company I'm employed with forces me to use it.

Cons:

Outdated UI from 1995, no thought whatsoever about the user experience or flow, very unintuitive and clunky, the mobile app is even worse.

Jamie
Director of Business Systems in US
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Cumbersome

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, I wish the system retained it's functionality with an easier to use interface. The reporting in the Costpoint system should be more customizable without having to be a report writer and be forced to use the business intelligence module to build reports from the ground up.

Pros:

The system can do almost anything you want it to in terms of setup. There are more options and specifications than any one company could ever need or want.

Cons:

Because the system is so customizable from an admin side, it becomes very cumbersome. A single update needs to be made in multiple screens in order for it to show up everywhere and be accessible to everyone. The User Interface is complicated for everyday users and troubleshooting issues is difficult and time consuming because of all the areas where there could be an issue.

Juliana
Director of Finance in US
Aviation & Aerospace, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Costpoint

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: This was a lot more time consuming to implement. Other softwares we surveyed before going with CP had a tool that would export our data from quick books into their system. Not sure why CP doesn’t have this feature.

Pros:

The reporting feature. We really liked the cognos relationship, and the ability to export directly to excel as well as upload from excel.

Cons:

The revenue to income statement. I have never worked with an accounting system where once I created and posted an invoice, the total revenue for that product on the income statement is different then what was billed. I do not understand why I have to tell my system to recognize or “pick up” my revenue. It’s redundant and causes a lot of headaches.

Tina
Tina
Manufacturing Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Defense & Space, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy-to-use but doesn't work for every situation

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I use costpoint daily at my job and the software is very easy to navigate. I have no issues searching for BOMs (Bill of Materials) and costpoint interacts relatively seamlessly with the systems that we use for engineering drawings and shop floor instructions.

Cons:

A lot of the materials in the BOMs seem to be controlled by effectivity dates. This may work well for companies that have interchangeable parts with planned obsolescence dates, but the industry I work in has variable production schedules where it'd be preferable to control materials by engineering drawing effectivity.

Kent
Configuration Management / Document Control in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Defense & Space, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Deltek

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Deltek Costpoint is a great software tool to manage parts, inventory, finances and cost reports. It is very easy to use if you are aware that the first priority of Costpoint is a financial tool. It is customizable to link to other software for ERP and MES solutions.

Cons:

There is a dedicated support team, but for an enterprise solution there aren't many options for individual sites.

Philip
Philip
Travel Reporting & System Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Defense & Space, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Deltek Costpoint

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: It gets the job done for my role within the company. It is good for timekeeping tracking as well to split across projects.

Pros:

It can be used with third party systems to manage expenses and payments.

Cons:

It does not produce the best reporting of amounts when there are negative entries.

Stuart
Stuart
IT Solutions Architect in Kuwait
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Costpoint Hard to use

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The best thing of CostPoint was that it was good to generate reports really quickly

Cons:

A lot of features could easily be improved on the UI/UX side of the house. There is a massive learning curve and the system just is clunky and very hard to use.

Nicholas
HR analyst in US
Defense & Space, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Deltek Costpoint Review

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: It has been a decent system overall but there is a lack of customization, predictive features, poor reporting features and no updates for several years so other HRIS systems are way ahead of this particular system.

Pros:

It is a pretty simple to use software for HRIS data and has a lot of fields to enter. It is great that there is a reporting system to allow for standard and custom reports. There is an immediate entry into the system once changes are made so it is great to get an immediate response.

Cons:

There are several cons with the system. First, it has not been updated over several years and no upgrades have been made to keep up with the times. It feels like the system is dated back to the 1980's. There is no predictive searches for employees, there are too many windows for different types of employee data so it is hard to find certain employee data. The reporting is also hard to create custom reports as you have to understand extensive knowledge of Cognos, hard to search fields for employee data and it is clunky. There are no workflows or business rules that can be setup in order to allow for notifications for certain events regarding employee self service.

Heather
Sr. HR Director in US
Aviation & Aerospace, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The system is very straight forward and easy to navigate.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: It meets all my HR Technology needs.

Pros:

From an HR standpoint, the system is very easy to use and well thought out. The reporting is easy to do for mandatory compliance. It makes our jobs easier. We just starting using the Talent Management last year for applicant tracking and onboarding. Once we go live with the integration from Talent Management to Costpoint, it will create efficiencies for HR and payroll departments.

Cons:

Once some is entered and saved in someone's record. It can be hard to remove that person. There also seems to be a lot of hotfixes, but it does make the system better in the long run.

Jason
Managing Director in US
Management Consulting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Ultimate GovCon Compliance

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Deltek pushes this ERP solution to all Government Contractors now, no matter the size of the business. As a GovCon accounting/business system SME, I would not recommend this system to businesses with less than 100 FTE / 5M annual revenue.

Pros:

The Costpoint ERP system is well integrated depending on the features/add-ons you purchase. It drives compliant practices if you've set it up correctly.

Cons:

Setup and maintenance is not for the average user. Training is a bit scarce unless you hire a consultant. Very expensive if you want full integration. Support from the manufacturer is fair at best.

Jim
Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Comments on Costoint

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I find Costpoint to be the most effective and comprehensive Government Cost Accounting system available. Contains many related back office functions that are integrated within the system. It is an government approved system.

Cons:

User interface needs improvement for non finance and accounting users. It should be easier to use for basic functions such as daily timesheets, expense reports, and approvals of these two items.

Sarah
HR Analyst in US
Civil Engineering, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A few kinks but easy to use

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The platform is decently organized by Employee/Salary information and Leave information - managing either is simple and the accrual process is easy as well. I manage employee data and leave data but I am not an expert on any of the other system capabilities.

Cons:

We've had issues with file feeds that have taken a long time to resolve. There are a few manual processes that need to be done during the accrual process that seem like they should be automated (i.e. removing duplicate beginning balance records when an employee goes from one type of leave to another in the same year).

Reese
IT Governance Analyst in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Terrible timekeeping system for employees and my company.

2.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This software is useful, when it works, to bill time for which I will get paid (hopefully). That's about it (and the former requirements aren't being met to guarantee that outcome).

Cons:

I used deltek about 6 years ago and now again (it's changed for the worse). Always had a single charge code to worry about, so that's easy. That said, basic functions of this iteration (account set-up, log-in from various browsers, password reset, etc.) are abysmal. I've had to contact my company at least once a day regarding issues simply logging into my sheet (various browsers, two different computers) and once just to find my charge code. Corporate always has to get involved or intervene. This is supposed to be a timekeeping system for logging hours you get paid for. Who is paying for all the work to deal with the problems of this unreliable software? It shouldn't take me numerous attempts across different browsers and devices to access an application with a single username, password, and domain log-in. My company shouldn't have to "help" its employees enter in their own time.

Tina
Contract Administrator in US
Aviation & Aerospace, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Incredibly inefficient system

1.0 6 years ago

Cons:

The amount of keystroking required to complete a simple task is staggering. It takes hours to complete a simple task that should only take minutes to complete due to the number of separate steps required. It's like working with 1970's technology. The system will not allow even minimal customization, i.e. menu fonts/set-ups. I would rather work in an old DOS program than this one.

David
IT Director in
Philanthropy, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Work Smarter not Harder

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

The Costpoint enterprise suite allows a complete set of tools that can influence critical business decisions in a vertical business. What sets this software apart from others, is the tools available to customize the software using Extensibility.

Cons:

Limitations on customization unless you have in-house experience or willing to pay for consulting which is a consideration.

Lisa
Director of Contracts in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An Accurate Way to Track Time

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Easy capture of time to various charge codes and projects.
Easy to navigate between indirect and direct charges.

Pros:

Deltek is pretty intuitive and is a good way to capture your time at work. I like the breakdown of multiple charge codes and projects and the easy search features.

Cons:

Sometimes I have a hard time signing into the software remotely.

Kalli
Sr. Financial Data Analyst in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Costpoint is very complex but quite easy to use once you are familiar with it.

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

I like that the many different modules are so integrated. The query parameters that you can create for yourself and/or others makes it easy for monthly tasks.

Cons:

I would like Costpoint even more integrated Time & Expense...one database. The reporting functionality needs to be made even more user friendly.

Mark
Software Developer in US
Government Relations, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Deltek is a reasonable timetracking tool

3.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It does what it needs to do. It is pretty simple to use and get setup, and allows you to track what needs tracking.

Cons:

All time tracking is harder then we would like. Deltek at times needs work to be configured to be as helpful as I wish it could be.

Tawnyia
Financial Analyst in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I have used Deltek on the Project side and the Accounting side. Very positive experience!

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The software is intuitive and very easy to use. All modules seem to flow together from project set up to billing.

Cons:

There is not very many things that I do not like about Deltek Costpoint. Compared to other accounting software it is the best!

Heather
Senior Accountant in
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Good product that meets our needs

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Deltek is always making sure they are improving the software. Lots of add-ons fit about any need or want the customer may have.

Cons:

Pricing structure is not great for our small business. Add-ons are great, but come with additional cost (of course)

Anne
Accountant III in US
Insurance, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Big fan of Time & Expense

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We moved from an Excel, paper-based expense reporting system to Deltek and it has drastically reduced the number of errors we see (and the number of expense reports we send back to employees for revisions). We are spending less time processing expense reports and employees are getting paid faster. Like any new software, there's been a learning curve with our users but overall, most people prefer this system over our old method of reporting.

Pros:

Hard edits prevent people from making many of the mistakes we saw with our paper-based system, the approvals are automated and done electronically

Cons:

You can't have more than one window open at a time (unlike CostPoint).

Diana
Assistant Controller in US
Retail, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

From Costpoint 3.1 to 7.1.1

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Costpoint allows us to easily track costs by project.

Pros:

Easy of use and love the ability to copy into excel. So much easier now than in the old CP versions.

Cons:

Change Management and having to clear cache all the time.