15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

Intercept X Endpoint Reviews

About Intercept X Endpoint

Enables you to detect and block malware providing real-time threat intelligence and complete web, device, and data control.

Learn more about Intercept X Endpoint

Pros:

DLP(Data Lost Prevention) features are useful and easy to implement on workstations. Useful Web application filter to implement specific rules to users and/or equipments.

Cons:

Portal and setup can be confusing with not too much concise and simple documentation.

Intercept X Endpoint ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

Intercept X Endpoint has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 216 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Intercept X Endpoint before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (216)

Daniel
Daniel
Managing Partner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Number One and Smartest Solution

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Best solution that you can even sell over other AVs as an add on even if they are on a current contract.

Pros:

It is the best software I have found for COMPLETE ransomware protection.

Cons:

Price for Endpoint, Intercept X and EDR all adds up fast and can scare clients.

Sophos Response

5 years ago

Glad to hear you've been having success with Intercept X. Thanks for the review!

Forrest
IT Systems Administrator in US
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sophos Intercept X just works

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: So far we have been very pleased with the Intercept X endpoint protection product and intend to keep using it as it is easy to deploy and manage using the online portal.

Pros:

One of the things I like most about the Sophos product is that it is easy to deploy and easy to use. I also like that the endpoint agent doesn't use a ton of computer resources like some of the competitors products that I have used in the past. I also enjoy the comfort in knowing that they continually are monitoring for the latest threats and release those updates into their product streams in a timely fashion, I also think that the way the product works in response to threats is superior to other products and have not experienced any catastrophic issues since we have been using their product.

Cons:

So far the only issues I have experienced is when installing software sometimes you will need to get the tamper protection code from the console in order to disable the desktop agent while you install software which is an extra step but also one that protects from users being able to disable it.

Alex
PACS Support Assistant in US
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great protection, however...

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall it is a great protection option if you are looking for a big company, depending on your work, purpose of it and if you don't mind having to constantly request access to blocked applications... other than that, good product.

Pros:

Sophos offers great overall protection, specially for big companies and networks. It is worth the money and value.

Cons:

Only con I found with this product, which is to me a big pet peeve, is the need to contact our IT department because Sophos tends to block several applications and software used on my work space. Only way to get authorized to continue with my work is by contacting IT (product administration) so I can get allowance to continue through these checkpoints.

Glenn
Director of IT in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great product within a top tier suite of hardware and software

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Considering that this is one piece to an overall package, we have been very happy and the end to end visibility is unmatched when researching threats in our environment. What few downsides are present are miniscule when packaged together with the rest of the offerings.

Pros:

The deployment capabilities and consistency in using MDM deployment has been very important to minimize the opportunity for devices to be put into production without properly being secured. not all MSI packages are deployed the same and we have had products in the past that have installed well on some machines and not on others so consistency is key for the deployment.

Cons:

The agent has not yet had all services re-branded after the Hitman acquisition which led us down an unnecessary rabbit hole. My only other complaint would be that the agent runs heavy on workstations and in many cases, has pushed us to upgrade to m.2 drives for machines that otherwise didnt need them.

shabbir
security analyst in United Arab Emirates
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sophos : A leader in Next Generation detection and response with deep visibility

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Sophos is way ahead compared to other products in machine learning and analytics-based attack prediction, analyzing the threats and sandboxing. Threat hunting with Sophos is exceptional and Memory usage by the agent is less feedback from end-users. It makes an analyst's job easy when it comes to an incident analysis by through the end device logs. It is only hard to pitch as it is a cloud-based platform for governments.

Pros:

Sophos capabilities as detection and response to the Malware attacks are excellent. very deep insights into endpoint devices where it provides later movement, deep analysis, and storyline of the attack. It is a step ahead of predicting zero-day attacks.

Cons:

Sophos is currently moved everything to cloud pitching for Government customers is hard because of data restrictions they want to implement on-premises. cost wise is Sopho's intercept X is higher compared to other vendors.

Siddhesh
System Administrator in India
Utilities, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good XDR Solution in market

4.0 last year

Comments: Overal Sophos XDR solution have helped us to keep safe network.

Pros:

Threat hunting and analytic dashboard gives insights of the threats observed in the company network and the actions performed to stop the same.

Cons:

Does not support some older version of OS which needs to be supported and product EOL should be atleast 10 yrs

Steven
Steven
Operations Support Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy to deploy inclusive protection

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The software was very easy to install and configure. We have not had any issues with viruses or malware. We also have not had anything flagged by other solutions we have tested alongside Intercept X.

Pros:

For such a sophisticated software approach it was surprising how low a footprint Intercept X was on our computers and networks.

Cons:

The concept of non-database driven antivirus/antispyware solutions takes some time to wrap your (and others) heads around, but once you look into the process it is quite impressive.

Justin
Justin
Chief Operations Officer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Terminator for Malware

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: MOST EXCELLENT, overall experience. Cloud-based control panel and 24/7 managed support helps provide peace of mind no matter what size deployment you're working with.

Pros:

Signatureless, Deep Learning, Neural Network based protection unparalleled by anything else in existence. Protects against today's threats and zero-day threats; even protects against threats yet to be seen. Not ONE single Sophos-protected machine has ever fallen victim to ransomware.

Cons:

I honestly cannot think of anything that can be improved, or that I didn't like.

Michael
Director of Operations in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Intercept X will secure your endpoints!

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Intercept X is great, it saved our bacon when we were hit with the kaseya ransomware even though it is on the more expensive side of things

Pros:

Easy set up and deployment with an RMM Threat response shows the attack vectors stops ransomware in its tracks

Cons:

Price was much higher than others that provide most of the same features

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Pharmaceuticals, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Strong Protection and Centrally Managed Make For A Great Experience

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We wanted a A/V solution that provided AI and cloud management.

Pros:

Sophos Endpoint has been a great addition to our organization. It makes AV management far simpler than we could have imagined. With a centralized interface, we can manage PC's and deal with any issues with little knowledge to the end user. It integrates wonderfully with our AD and our Sophos XG Firewalls. The protection it provides is fantastic.

Cons:

Occasionally we do encounter some issues with updates not always reenabling the endpoint. but it's rare and fixed easily. I do wish there was an easy way to push out the installer. Support from Sophos is slow, can be on hold for hours.

Sophos Response

5 years ago

Thank you for the review. We're glad to hear that you're finding Sophos Endpoint (and XG Firewall) a good fit for your business!

Michael
Jr. Systems Administrator in US
Plastics, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Does the job really well, but at a cost to computer resources

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Sophos Intercept X is easy to install and doesn't interrupt the user with pop-ups unless there is a legitimate reason. The admin portal is also very useful. It is easy to know where things are in the portal and it is easy to read. When the users are set up properly there are a lot of tools for keeping track of the status of each user. It can show you what problems may be occurring on a user's machine, and it can even show you if their behavior (types of websites they are visiting, etc) is risky behavior.

Cons:

Intercept X requires a lot of resources from the computer it is installed on. It does frequent scans throughout the day, often eating up a big chunk of memory. I have not found a way to minimize the impact on memory during these scans, and there isn't a built in option to delay a scan. Setting up users in the admin portal can also be tedious. If you don't add every user in the same way it can be difficult to keep user data as far as what you can see in the user interface. It helps to send each user their own link and to make sure you have a good naming convention for all of your computers. Before we started adding macs to our active directory every mac's name was the same and it was difficult to know who's computer it was from the directory unless it was properly assigned to a user. A lot of these difficulties were user error from us as the admins, but it wasn't easy to clean up and organize.

Keith
IT Operations Manager in UK
Retail, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Product for your Endpoint peace of mind

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Really positive experience of using this product and deploys easily. Support and online community is great and you can get the answers you need quickly

Pros:

The product is very feature rich and allows us to, in quite a bit of granularity stop, block and allow devices to do things - the product is very intuitive and when testing against other products found threats quicker

Cons:

As with everything there is functionality that is "gated" behind extra licensing requirements

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Sophos, best protection

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Sophos supplies top security with maximum functionality

Pros:

Sophos allows us to protect all the devices on our domain and keep them free from virus'. Sophos comes with a simple installer that can be used on either Windows or Mac OSX, this allows for quick, easy installations so we can quickly configure our devices to ensure less downtime. Sophos allows us to create multiple different profiles depending on the user or department. Once the profiles are configured, the permissions will be applied against the device instantly. We can also approve individual websites or applications, this allows us to keep a close eye on devices across the group whilst ensuring security is tight.

Cons:

We have noticed with some hardware, although the are the same model, Sophos seems to block one but not the other. Obviously the hardware differs slightly but Sophos should recognise the model. Due to the number of users we have, this is a constant maintenance task.

Mike Lester
Systems & Methods Head in Philippines
Real Estate, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of the best security suites

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Fingers crossed, I have never experienced a glitch in our security after deploying Sophos to our endpoints. I hope it continues to do so.

Pros:

What I liked about Sophos is the enterprise readiness of the solution to provide an all in one solution for the entire security landscape. It is a very robust and scalable solution for our company and with other companies I know who have deployed the solution. It even has its own Data Leak Protection mechanism.

Cons:

Maybe the least liked about the software is the resources it eats up, when I have used it on an older machine (laptop). It really bogs down the system to the point there is not much to do while the program is doing its thing.

Mary
HR Manager in US
Staffing & Recruiting, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A Must Have Business Security Tool - Best Endpoint Security Features

4.0 last year

Comments: The software makes endpoint protection easy and also comes with encryption features. It has made it easy to keep Threats away.

Pros:

What makes Intercept X Endpoint different are the many endpoint features it offersUsing Intercept X Endpoint is straightforwardIt comes with computer security featuresThe software makes encryption easy

Cons:

Not a single issue as Intercept X Endpoint has been performing as it should

Tom
Senior Front-End Developer in Denmark
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

No more Virus

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have been happy with Sophos and it has been on of the pieces of Anti-Virus software that has required the least maintenance and attention.

Pros:

It's great for me as a user. Easy install with a installation package and easy to maintain. I basically don't have to do anything and any update is automatic. I can run the scan manually but it's also done automatically. The ease is perfect and I don't have to use any time within the application. I can ask IT to run the automatic scan at a different time and create a policy for you as the scan do take a lot of cpu.

Cons:

The scan is pretty heavy on the machine but you can get around it with policies. I have asked IT to run the scan during lunch. It's working like a charm besides the heavy CPU usage.

Tabrez
Business Development Manager in United Arab Emirates
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Daily user

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: My overall experience is very good and satisfied. I use to recommend to my known IT professionals about Intercept X Endpoint. SO that, they can be benefited by this software product.

Pros:

Intercept X Endpoint is a very trustable software in the case of security and endless support. You can install this software and secure your organization every time.

Cons:

Least means less, where i didn't finad anything till now. In markets each and every software comes with different perception. But Intercept X Endpoint has a good level of perception according to us.

Zach
senior computer support specialist in US
Computer & Network Security, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

sophos

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: solid product with many protections. Cost isn't unreasonable and with added appliances for firewall protection

Pros:

we use sophos to protect several hundred endpoints and 10's of servers. It alerts us to outdated versions or missed updates. Blocks many intrusions and allows for people to be grouped into policies based on network access needed.

Cons:

Machines often need to be rebooted to stay current on updates and end users dont always restart leading to emails of outdated products

dave
SAE in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The complete package

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall security to make sure people do not do things they are not suppose to, and people are not trying to get into the network that shouldn't be.

Pros:

Sophos products simply just work, and they work well. I have nothing to fear with Intercept X installed on machines. The great thing is, it ties into the Sophos firewalls, so if anything happens, the firewall can isolate that machine.

Cons:

Nothing... no negatives about this software at all. Sophos has the complete package.

Stephen
I.T Administrator in Jamaica
Food Production, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Obvious Choice

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Automatically detect and prioritize potential threats

Cons:

The difficulty in creating exceptions...

Matthew
IT Manager in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Feel safe with Sophos. Great value for the price.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

It just works. There are not too many things I can say that about. Sophos is by far the best Anti-Virus software I have used and I have tried them all. Having it deployed in a corporate environment the past 7 years I can tell you it does work fantastic.

Cons:

The Enterprise Console can be a bit laggy and clunky at times and give false information about which machines are updated. But the software works very well overall.

Jakub
IT Specialist in Czechia
Automotive, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

so far so good

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Mass deployment is quite easy, but you should be aware that you cant download whole client, so if you deploying Intercept X over whole domain, your network will get quite bussy as every endpoint start downloading whole package, so you better plan accordingly. Otherwise Intercept X for Endpoint (and Server) is great modern antivirus with all features you would expect. In latest version, you can even decrypt SSL trafic right on endpoint, so you can stop users visiting potencialy bad websites right at its roots. Also management in Sophos Central is pretty cool.

Cons:

mass deployment part, where you cant download whole client.

Ivan
Sales in Bulgaria
Food Production, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We are using Sophos Endpoint Protection for a couple of years and yes it keep us out of trouble

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Sophos Endpoint Protection is very easy to use product with management console in the cloud. Easy to use - applying policy's to all users has never been easier. The endpoint protection is not signature based but behavior based solution. It can catch zero-day threats.

Cons:

We had few machines with outdated software - with Windows XP and we cannot use the Sophos protection on those.

Petar
Data Analyst in North Macedonia
Consumer Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Feel Safe Browsing

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

This software is amazing at what it can do. Works in the background and keeps your browsing safe to the MAX. Blocks any intrusions, keeps you away from bad site, doesn't allow you to make a wrong turn anywhere on the huge highway that is the Internet.

Cons:

It can be hard to set up, but that's why there is a dedicated Customer Service to help you out on the way. Sometimes it can be to extreme when blocking, but that's why you pay for it to do.

Sophos Response

5 years ago

Thanks for your review. We're glad to hear that Sophos Endpoint Protection is keeping you secure!

Mark
IT Engineer in United Arab Emirates
Environmental Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Awesome Product

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: He have a very good experience with this software since we use it. We are now more relaxed knowing that Intercept X Endpoint will protect us 24/7.

Pros:

What we like with this software is the total protection we are getting from them without worrying too much on future threats.

Cons:

Nothing so far, we are satisfied on the performance of this software.